Columbia Pictures | Release Date: April 25, 2003
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 338 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
306
Mixed:
25
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
drlowdonMay 25, 2013
Two, seemingly unconnected, plotlines run throughout Identity. In one ten travellers are forced to seek shelter in a remote motel following a sudden torrential downpour. It soon turns out that there may be killer among them as one by one theTwo, seemingly unconnected, plotlines run throughout Identity. In one ten travellers are forced to seek shelter in a remote motel following a sudden torrential downpour. It soon turns out that there may be killer among them as one by one the guests start to go missing. Meanwhile in an office elsewhere a late appeal is being heard to decide the fate of serial killer Malcolm Rivers.

Featuring an excellent cast Identity does an excellent job of keeping the audience guessing throughout, almost everyone seemingly becoming the number one suspect at some point. When the reality eventually unfolds it is a truly unexpected twist that importantly holds up on second viewing. A tense, clever thriller Identity is certainly one to watch.
Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Plays like a classic game of Clue, but don't get me wrong. This baby is exhilarating and fresh. You'll like everything it gives you.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
KivaAug 8, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Identity is a thriller about 10 people who are stucked due to a rainstorm in a hotel. Though it has great suspense the ''twist'' is not something really good. All these theories about the people who have psychological and they create many personalities was a little bit weird and confusing. However the whole atmosphere and all that dark climate were extraordinary. The idea was something new and i was impressed after I learnt who the killer was. It is a really good thriller with a great cinematography and it was really dark which is a good thing for a thriller like Identity Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
nicklJun 25, 2010
One of the most unique movies ive seen and very well done.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
WriteFilmLive21Dec 9, 2012
"Identity" is both a refreshing and engaging thriller, following the horrific and mysterious events that take place after a group of strangers end up stuck at a run-down motel in the middle of a rainstorm. The performances by all the actors"Identity" is both a refreshing and engaging thriller, following the horrific and mysterious events that take place after a group of strangers end up stuck at a run-down motel in the middle of a rainstorm. The performances by all the actors are very good, especially from John Cusack and Amanda Peet, and the third act is actually pretty fantastic. The first twist was quite predictable, but to my entertainment, it didn't stop there, and succeeded in closing on a truly unforeseen final reveal that is an honestly wonderful sleight-of-hand. The depths to which this movie takes you into the killer's mind is truly surreal and creative, and surprisingly enough makes you sympathize with the guy and understand just how lost his mind really is. It's a great little find and well worth a watch. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
R.L.Feb 18, 2009
Let me star off by saying that with this movie you don't get what you expect. You buy this movie expecting a good slasher mystery thriller, that's not what you get here. Identity stars John Cusack, Ray Liotta & Amanda Peet as three Let me star off by saying that with this movie you don't get what you expect. You buy this movie expecting a good slasher mystery thriller, that's not what you get here. Identity stars John Cusack, Ray Liotta & Amanda Peet as three of the ten strangers trapped in a run down motel during a savage thunder storm. The film starts off by introducing the characters, and then showing how they all got to the motel. The York's had a a family crisis, the limo driver was in an accident, the actress on her way to Hollywood for a small TV gig, the newly married couple with martial trouble, and the cop transporting a convict. These ten people have nothing in common, nothing except all there names are of places & they all have the same birthday. But now all ten of them are trapped in a motel with nowhere to go. Soon enough one of them turns up dead and they realize that there's a killer among them, now the nine have to find out who is trying to kill them before there's none of them left. Identity is a fast-paced extremely entertaining movie with a great idea and a bad story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
horcrux2007Mar 14, 2015
If you've ever read And Then There Were None, you know what you're getting into... for the most part. This movie starts out on autopilot, pulling out a lot of whodunit cliches, until the last half of the movie goes off the rails into its ownIf you've ever read And Then There Were None, you know what you're getting into... for the most part. This movie starts out on autopilot, pulling out a lot of whodunit cliches, until the last half of the movie goes off the rails into its own twisty and intense thriller. The little twists and turns surprised me and kept me invested in the plot, and the twist towards the end, while not mind-blowing, is a nice change for this type of movie, if only it wasn't revealed so early. The final ten minutes of the movie is slightly confusing, and the "shocker" ending is almost laughable. It's on Netflix, so if you're looking for a suspenseful and fun movie, I recommend it. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
WJSJul 25, 2015
Entertaining "who-dun-it", with a great cast and lots of fun twists and turns. The major problem that I have is that each individual characters story line seems to fall out of a soap opera.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
anshumanrJan 30, 2010
I was entirely blown away by the script ,cucak is in his full elements.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenjaminB.Jul 1, 2007
The problem with this movie is that you don't get what you expect. If you expect a typical horror-mystery thriller, you will not become happy with this movie, because in the end it is almost a psychological study. So if you are open for The problem with this movie is that you don't get what you expect. If you expect a typical horror-mystery thriller, you will not become happy with this movie, because in the end it is almost a psychological study. So if you are open for genre-mixtures, you will get a good movie. I give it a 8, because for me it was too obvious who was the murderer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesK.Jul 15, 2009
Although the final plot twist is slightly lame, the premise is interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpangleMar 5, 2015
Entirely unique, Identity is a film that rides on its twists and turns, which will leave you on the edge of your seat throughout. A perfect example of psychological horror, this one will bend your brain as you try to put the pieces together,Entirely unique, Identity is a film that rides on its twists and turns, which will leave you on the edge of your seat throughout. A perfect example of psychological horror, this one will bend your brain as you try to put the pieces together, and then actually let you snap them together before finally punching you in the brain at the end. The direction from James Mangold is very good, as he managed to help this film not get lost with its complex and unique premise, which is impressive to say the least. I also really liked the cinematography here, really captured everything beautifully. The acting from John Cusack, Ray Liotta, Amanda Peet, and John Hawkes, is really good, though the whole cast is pretty strong as a unit. Overall, Identity is one that will have you questioning what is going on throughout and while it is not one that will eat you up inside for a few days afterwards with questions, it is one that will stay with you thanks to the impeccable last half hour and, hell, strong first hour preceding that. This is one that sets you up very well and then pulls the chair out from underneath you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Pokey81Nov 9, 2015
I'm usually good at figuring out movies. This one had me totally stumped. I was very surprised at the ending but really enjoyed the movie. Highly recommend seeing this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
viparesMar 7, 2016
One of the best films I never planned to watch, but when I did, I was (positively) shocked and amazed!
Film is interesting enough to get you hooked up to the story, but real thing comes with the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews