User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 104
  2. Negative: 6 out of 104

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Identity has a rapidly paced plot and actors that give impressive and fascinating performances in this thriller.
    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
  2. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Identity has a first rate cast that fit well and the movie will keep you guessing until the end.
    -----------------------------------------------------
  3. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Identity is an ingeniously structured thriller, one of the best I've ever seen with a terrific cast.
    =================================================
  4. Sep 11, 2014
    10
    An Atmospheric thriller with amazing twists and a great cast.
    ........................................................................................
  5. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    Identity has smart twists and a cast that have only worked on this movie together, it Is a classic.
    ..................................................
  6. Sep 1, 2014
    4
    A thinker, a real complex thinker. Not at all a bad thing; however, when the audience is neglected and one too many turns are made, it no longer is enjoyable.
  7. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    Identity has many twists in a whodunit mystery that will have you racking your brain until the final scenes. All the actors are potent and every character is likable. The thrills in the movie are original and what the movie is really saying is tough to unravel. If more thrillers like Identity were released, the theatres would be jammed. Identity is a brilliantly constructed horror thriller that piles surprise after surprise. The movie is a work of genius. I think the actors should collaborate on another movie but they've yet too. Expand
  8. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Identity is a thriller about 10 people who are stucked due to a rainstorm in a hotel. Though it has great suspense the ''twist'' is not something really good. All these theories about the people who have psychological and they create many personalities was a little bit weird and confusing. However the whole atmosphere and all that dark climate were extraordinary. The idea was something new and i was impressed after I learnt who the killer was. It is a really good thriller with a great cinematography and it was really dark which is a good thing for a thriller like Identity Expand
  9. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    Solid acting by the cast with Cusack easily being the star of the film. The plot twist added some much needed interest into the film, which was lacking through out, and actually made it some-what worth watching. I just didn't care for it that much, It wasn't as good as I hoped it would be.
  10. May 25, 2013
    9
    Two, seemingly unconnected, plotlines run throughout Identity. In one ten travellers are forced to seek shelter in a remote motel following a sudden torrential downpour. It soon turns out that there may be killer among them as one by one the guests start to go missing. Meanwhile in an office elsewhere a late appeal is being heard to decide the fate of serial killer Malcolm Rivers.

    Featuring an excellent cast Identity does an excellent job of keeping the audience guessing throughout, almost everyone seemingly becoming the number one suspect at some point. When the reality eventually unfolds it is a truly unexpected twist that importantly holds up on second viewing. A tense, clever thriller Identity is certainly one to watch.
    Expand
  11. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    "Identity" is both a refreshing and engaging thriller, following the horrific and mysterious events that take place after a group of strangers end up stuck at a run-down motel in the middle of a rainstorm. The performances by all the actors are very good, especially from John Cusack and Amanda Peet, and the third act is actually pretty fantastic. The first twist was quite predictable, but to my entertainment, it didn't stop there, and succeeded in closing on a truly unforeseen final reveal that is an honestly wonderful sleight-of-hand. The depths to which this movie takes you into the killer's mind is truly surreal and creative, and surprisingly enough makes you sympathize with the guy and understand just how lost his mind really is. It's a great little find and well worth a watch. Expand
  12. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    "Identity" is a 2003 James Mangold Directed film about 10 strangers who meet at a seedy Nevada motel and soon realize that they are being killed off one by one. Let me start off by saying that I love a good thriller. If you have an intriguing premise and a good touch of tasteful twists here and there, I'll ultimately find the movie to be, to some degree, good. "Identity" definitely possessed the former, but tricked me with the latter. From the moment this movie starts you are almost immediately pulled into it's fascinating plot. And as the movie goes on, twists ensue, leading you to reconsider every view of every character in the film. However, the last twist of this film, in short, angered me. I found the final twist of the film to make sense, but it was the most unsatisfying ending I could have imagined this film to present. The film presented an incredibly new type of plot for me and in my opinion fudged up the ending a bit. However, every minute up to the last 5 were pretty thrilling and intense. All of the actors did a good job in their roles and their lines were fairly well written. The direction by Mangold is really quite beautiful - he really creates some unsettling imagery here. Overall, I can say that "Identity" was a enjoyable movie. . .up until the end. Expand
  13. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    Plays like a classic game of Clue, but don't get me wrong. This baby is exhilarating and fresh. You'll like everything it gives you.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Cusack is especially good in a role that's got more (and less) going on under the surface, while Peet offers up another coltish, trash-mouthed vamp.
  2. 80
    Managed to pull the rug out from under me about three-quarters of the way through, and I still hadn't found my feet when the credits rolled.
  3. A slick, bloody thriller, but it's also, to its credit, a genuine whodunit.