Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: September 1, 2006
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 182 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
33
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MikeWJan 16, 2009
I'll still be discussing this film with my buddies 50 years down the road - I've never had any other film provoke so much thought about the direction of mankind and society as Idiocracy has. The irony of this film is amazingly I'll still be discussing this film with my buddies 50 years down the road - I've never had any other film provoke so much thought about the direction of mankind and society as Idiocracy has. The irony of this film is amazingly well-hidden under a thick veil of fart jokes and anatomical references, intentionally hidden from the two audiences that it seeks to satirize: the snooty crowd that probably didn't make it through the first 30 minutes of the film (and likely rushed home to their computers so they could write some very negative reviews), and the mainstream crowd that was too busy laughing at "OW, my balls!" to notice that they're the heel of the humor. Mike Judge proves, once again, that he is the true spokesman for my generation. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful
10
CarletonB.Sep 8, 2006
Social satire at its best! Is it any wonder that Fox - the brethren of FOX NEWS - is dumping this so unceremoniously? It is a brutal political smack down in comedy clothing. Genius and really ambitious. Another cult classic like Office Social satire at its best! Is it any wonder that Fox - the brethren of FOX NEWS - is dumping this so unceremoniously? It is a brutal political smack down in comedy clothing. Genius and really ambitious. Another cult classic like Office Space, with a dose of seriously cautionary tale-telling (veiled as broad comedy). Support this movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CantandresJul 31, 2015
Possibly the most humorous movie I've ever seen. It's just too bad that what makes it so funny is the truth behind the story. It was reportedly turned down by nearly every studio to which it was presented because of a fear of insulting stupidPossibly the most humorous movie I've ever seen. It's just too bad that what makes it so funny is the truth behind the story. It was reportedly turned down by nearly every studio to which it was presented because of a fear of insulting stupid people. Well, there ya go...STUPID PEOPLE NEED TO BE INSULTED!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MikeSep 1, 2006
Pretty funny stuff. Dumb humor, but that's the point of the movie. Judge must have really rubbed someone wrong to have the movie cast aside like this, because there's nothing wrong with the product on-screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VitoSep 6, 2006
Some reviewers don't get this movie, and some bad reviews aren't even real reviews at all, just lame synopses without any real editorial content. Watch this movie for yourself. If you already understand the sort of extremely dry Some reviewers don't get this movie, and some bad reviews aren't even real reviews at all, just lame synopses without any real editorial content. Watch this movie for yourself. If you already understand the sort of extremely dry satire that is Mike Judge's specialty, you'll probably like it. If you don't, you'll hate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbertC.Jan 12, 2007
To use reveiws from the theatrical release of this movie is an outrage, since the DVD is garnering a whole new set of reviews. I for one do not believe for one second that Josua Rich from entertainment weekly actually watched this movie To use reveiws from the theatrical release of this movie is an outrage, since the DVD is garnering a whole new set of reviews. I for one do not believe for one second that Josua Rich from entertainment weekly actually watched this movie before he reviewed it. I would recommend havind a word count on reviews. To everyone who is thinking of seeing this movie... do so, it's really great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomV.Jan 10, 2007
No movie comes closer to Terry Gilliam's "Brazil". Idiocracy's satire, however, is loud, brash, and brutal -- a spot-on match for modern culture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NotSureMar 29, 2007
All science fiction is about the present. Really a fantastic job, I was laughing and creeped out by the dead-on observations the entire movie. Maya Rudolph's character was a weak point but didn't stop it from being solidly All science fiction is about the present. Really a fantastic job, I was laughing and creeped out by the dead-on observations the entire movie. Maya Rudolph's character was a weak point but didn't stop it from being solidly enjoyable. It's like an optical illusion, if you only see one movie you need to look harder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelL.Oct 13, 2008
So frighteningly close to where the world stands today intellectually, you might find it hard to laugh. But it's brilliant, biting satire with some of the funniest visuals in recent memory. The cast is uniformly excellent, and if this So frighteningly close to where the world stands today intellectually, you might find it hard to laugh. But it's brilliant, biting satire with some of the funniest visuals in recent memory. The cast is uniformly excellent, and if this film doesn't make you run out and read a book, nothing will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephSAug 7, 2008
Selling products depends on dumbing people down to the point where they will buy pretty much anything at the company's price. The film exposes this, hilariously, and that is why, when Fox figured it out, they pulled the plug. There is Selling products depends on dumbing people down to the point where they will buy pretty much anything at the company's price. The film exposes this, hilariously, and that is why, when Fox figured it out, they pulled the plug. There is an even darker strain to this movie, which is the horrible implications for democracy when the people raising the most children tend to be the ones least capable of being rational citizens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ReneeV.Sep 16, 2006
A belly laugh worth your money. Actually made me want to open a dictionary more often.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulaS.Sep 5, 2006
I have not laughed this much in a film in at least five years. Yes, the effects are terrible, yes, the acting is often marginal, yes, the movie is stupid, but never before has a stupid movie been so smart, or so funny. I laughed so hard I I have not laughed this much in a film in at least five years. Yes, the effects are terrible, yes, the acting is often marginal, yes, the movie is stupid, but never before has a stupid movie been so smart, or so funny. I laughed so hard I almost passed out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChuckW.Jan 10, 2007
I can see how difficult it would be to make a movie like this without the satire becoming annoying (as it did at times). But overall I think this movie worked. And at the rate this country is going, I doubt it'll take 500 years for the I can see how difficult it would be to make a movie like this without the satire becoming annoying (as it did at times). But overall I think this movie worked. And at the rate this country is going, I doubt it'll take 500 years for the Fox News anchors to be working shirtless! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillBNov 9, 2007
This is a hilarious anti-corporate anti-cronyism comedy that deserves more recognition. Any studio executive in his right mind would bury this movie, and they did! I only happened to watch a few minutes of it when it was showing at 11:00pm This is a hilarious anti-corporate anti-cronyism comedy that deserves more recognition. Any studio executive in his right mind would bury this movie, and they did! I only happened to watch a few minutes of it when it was showing at 11:00pm on a Friday night on TV and the more I watched the better it got. All hail President Kumatro! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZenOOct 8, 2007
Pretty decent heavy-handed satire with some funny moments. For those rating the film a zero, I would say you likely didn't understand the movie was about you, you've never seen Freddy Got Fingered, or you saw Freddy Got Fingered Pretty decent heavy-handed satire with some funny moments. For those rating the film a zero, I would say you likely didn't understand the movie was about you, you've never seen Freddy Got Fingered, or you saw Freddy Got Fingered and thought it was a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoelW.May 21, 2007
This movie is hilarious! It's the thinking-man's stupid comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobL.May 6, 2007
Very funny social commentary on U.S. culture that was rushed through theaters. Bears repeated viewing - lots of great lines, and many minute touches to go with the broad comedic strokes. Has all the markings of a sleeper.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewJ.Nov 1, 2008
Absurdly funny, although clearly not for everyone. There are a few parts at which I practically rioted in my living room with laughter, which recompensed some of the film's shortcomings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MovieBuffJan 6, 2008
I thought this was a funny movie, and a creative way to display the direction our youth are going. This might be a little extreme, but I think we are becoming a very dumb nation!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JHJan 6, 2008
I must say, this movie is an eye opener. I have to laugh at the people who are giving terrible ratings. I think this film touches to close to home with them (i.e. idiots ). This was a very creative, and humorous way to display how stupid and I must say, this movie is an eye opener. I have to laugh at the people who are giving terrible ratings. I think this film touches to close to home with them (i.e. idiots ). This was a very creative, and humorous way to display how stupid and lazy we are becoming - this of course takes things to the extreme, but if it was every day life - who would watch it. We need an eye opener, corporate America is already taking over and we already have an idiot for President (not to get too political) - Hopefully it opens some eyes.. Scary but very funny movie, with a couple of drawn out parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
annoniemouseSep 10, 2006
It has plenty of ideas to keep you laughing as you warily navigate through the real world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FilmfanSep 13, 2006
The critical reviews on this film are misleading- the film is very funny. The fact that it is clever satire elevates it way above fart joke movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DuchessofDorkSep 19, 2006
Great satire! This movie was very funny, and every character was extremely likeable, which is not an easy feat to accomplish. It was clever and biting (especially toward corporate America), and the logic of the premise was nicely laid out Great satire! This movie was very funny, and every character was extremely likeable, which is not an easy feat to accomplish. It was clever and biting (especially toward corporate America), and the logic of the premise was nicely laid out from start to finish. Overall, it was a very well done piece of social commentary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianR.Sep 6, 2006
Absolutely hilarious and smart. The humor is so dryly satirical that I am saddened that most critics who finally got to see the film were so dismissive. I guess Fox's "strategy" to not review the film put critics in the mind that this Absolutely hilarious and smart. The humor is so dryly satirical that I am saddened that most critics who finally got to see the film were so dismissive. I guess Fox's "strategy" to not review the film put critics in the mind that this would be dreck. Hardly. Though the style/look of the film is awful and Judge certainly doesn't have an eye for live action, the idea and script make up for everything else. I actually really enjoyed Wilson who is nowhere near a favorite of mine, and thought Shepard was fantastic (though I have to say I have real issues with Rudolph's character.) Overall, can't wait to own this film and make sure others of like-mind get to see it. It WILL be a DVD classic, just like Office Space. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BeatyW.Sep 7, 2006
One of the funniest movies of the year. Fox blew it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasonJ.Jan 17, 2007
OK, you can trust my review. The first 45 minutes of Idiocracy gets a 10. I've never laughed so hard, especially at the beginning portions of the 2505 part. This movie, had the plot taken the right turn, would have been the cult classic OK, you can trust my review. The first 45 minutes of Idiocracy gets a 10. I've never laughed so hard, especially at the beginning portions of the 2505 part. This movie, had the plot taken the right turn, would have been the cult classic of the decade. However, the plot goes south when the President and his cabinet become the focus. Watch the first half for the best comedy ride of your life, then watch the last 45 min as Judge takes you into formulaic comedy for the simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayC.Jan 31, 2007
One of the funniest movies this decade. Its funny listening to the cinematic complaints about this film. It's South Park, obviously B & B, and Albert Brooks all rolled into one. Yes, it may be simple, but I really thought the acting was One of the funniest movies this decade. Its funny listening to the cinematic complaints about this film. It's South Park, obviously B & B, and Albert Brooks all rolled into one. Yes, it may be simple, but I really thought the acting was great, the writing piognant and scarring. Yet, under it all this is a movie with hope. The Smackdown President, crazy as he may be, has his priorities right. He cares about his people. His main goal is not power, but the betterment of his people. I only wish our current leaders would be so inclined. Another point is that given all human traits 50/50, or the most average man possible, one would choose what's best for the people instead of self empowerment. Are people good or evil. This movie is biting in its honesty yet hopeful in its ideals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamieS.Feb 13, 2007
Hilarious and scary at the same time. Some of the acting IS poor (Luke Wilson just seems vague) but Dax Shepard is brilliant as an idiot lawyer; even his body language seems retarded! There are moments where you will laugh out loud, I Hilarious and scary at the same time. Some of the acting IS poor (Luke Wilson just seems vague) but Dax Shepard is brilliant as an idiot lawyer; even his body language seems retarded! There are moments where you will laugh out loud, I couldn't help myself. It's scary though because the future they show seems almost inevitable; in fact it seems to be starting now with good old George Bush as a front runner. Don't miss it; don't have high expectations, watch it if you just want to have fun -- and you will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimboH.Feb 24, 2007
Has some funny moments, on par with Office Space. As with Office Space, there's probably a lot of jokes you don't fully get until you meet someone who does. As a social commentary it does great. "How can you stand to live in a Has some funny moments, on par with Office Space. As with Office Space, there's probably a lot of jokes you don't fully get until you meet someone who does. As a social commentary it does great. "How can you stand to live in a world where your trying to blow up the only person trying to help you?" Was pleasantly surprised considering I never heard of it until it came out on video. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelS.Feb 8, 2007
The hits are worth it when compared to the misses; the opening 15 minutes that explain the basis of the movie are very funny, but terrifying. There is a strange conflict derived from laughing at a movie that sometimes so accurately depicts The hits are worth it when compared to the misses; the opening 15 minutes that explain the basis of the movie are very funny, but terrifying. There is a strange conflict derived from laughing at a movie that sometimes so accurately depicts stupidity - even more so when you laugh at the things that the stupid characters in the movie have established as society. That's make what makes it good satire - it is what it wishes it wasn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LisaT.Mar 6, 2007
Nothing can compare to the brilliance of Office Space, but this movie is to be recommended for Judge's dystopic vision of the America of the future. If the story had as much bang as the rest of the elements of the film, I would have Nothing can compare to the brilliance of Office Space, but this movie is to be recommended for Judge's dystopic vision of the America of the future. If the story had as much bang as the rest of the elements of the film, I would have given it a 10. I suspect that Fox dismissed the film because Idiocracy names all the brand names of major corporations in disgusting and hilarious ways! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulMOct 27, 2008
cutting satire about American "culture". A must watch for any member of the mtv generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RuthPFeb 10, 2008
Hilariously funny and a horribly scary vision of the future at the same time. Stumbled across it by accident - you can see immediately why this film was not given decent promotion. I urge you to watch this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JuanRMar 21, 2008
Have seen it in Brasil in cable. Marvelous!! Hilarious!! Gigantic and intelligently made. Very well thought at all. Pity the powerful cutted its pace into the usual movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonKJul 29, 2008
Definitely one of the funniest satires I've ever come across in my lifetime. The parallels are so dead on it's scary. Those of you rating this movie 0 most likely missed the underlying message. This movie should be required viewing Definitely one of the funniest satires I've ever come across in my lifetime. The parallels are so dead on it's scary. Those of you rating this movie 0 most likely missed the underlying message. This movie should be required viewing for every incoming highschool class. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidLNov 26, 2009
Very original and funny. A few minor changes would have made it a great film. Mostly, the whole subplot with the prostitute that came with the main character should have cut out. Most of the jokes and acting that did not work in this movie Very original and funny. A few minor changes would have made it a great film. Mostly, the whole subplot with the prostitute that came with the main character should have cut out. Most of the jokes and acting that did not work in this movie where with her. Just my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonaldM.Oct 16, 2006
This movie is hilarious and brilliant. Goes up there with Dr. Strangelove as one of the great cinematic satires of all time. Watch: this will be discovered on DVD for the masterpiece it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErikJNov 14, 2007
Almost a 10/10 on the president's opening line to the American People: 'SHUDDUP!' I think this movie is hilarious, and at the same time scary and depressing. I usually don't find any sort of movie scary, but this one Almost a 10/10 on the president's opening line to the American People: 'SHUDDUP!' I think this movie is hilarious, and at the same time scary and depressing. I usually don't find any sort of movie scary, but this one actually gave me the chills, often while laughing hysterically. If you've got lots of kids, or don't think a lot, this isn't the movie for you. I never thought I'd think of Mike Judge as a good filmmaker, but Office Space and this are making me reconsider. Careful people, this could easily be the future. 'But its got electrolytes and that Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PamG.Feb 12, 2007
Hilarious from start to finish. I laughed through the entire movie. I am stunned that the reviews are either hated it/loved it. I still laugh thinking about it. I think I'll go have a latte now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaraFeb 16, 2007
There's nothing I love more than social commentary wrapped in the guise of comedy.. I LOVED Office Space and I now ADORE Idiocracy. It was HILARIOUS, smart, and welldone.. No piece of the set was too little to be forgotten and Mike There's nothing I love more than social commentary wrapped in the guise of comedy.. I LOVED Office Space and I now ADORE Idiocracy. It was HILARIOUS, smart, and welldone.. No piece of the set was too little to be forgotten and Mike Judge does a great job at covering the holes and making what could be a ridiculous premise very believable. SEE IT! RENT IT!!! We aren't that far away from that future now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnA.Feb 18, 2007
This movie was very funny, but not the best from Mike Judge. It is on par with some of the better satirical pieces by Trey Parker and Matt Stone. The concept was stellar, and some aspects of the delivery are very very funny and definitely This movie was very funny, but not the best from Mike Judge. It is on par with some of the better satirical pieces by Trey Parker and Matt Stone. The concept was stellar, and some aspects of the delivery are very very funny and definitely memorable, but overall, while one shouldn't confuse this movie with the culture it is trying to parody, it is difficult for it not to slip into some of the pitfalls that it is lampooning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BigR.May 26, 2007
This movie never made me laugh out loud, but it did keep a half smirk/smile on my face for the entire running time. Shame it never got the release it deserved. It kind of scared me too. Don't try and compare it to Office Space. Nothing This movie never made me laugh out loud, but it did keep a half smirk/smile on my face for the entire running time. Shame it never got the release it deserved. It kind of scared me too. Don't try and compare it to Office Space. Nothing is going to be another Office Space. If you think this movie sucked it's only because the whole premise went over your head. You are the ones they are making fun of in the movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidM.Aug 31, 2007
Destined to be under-appreciated by all people who have good reasons to feel insecure about how well their brains work, Mike Judge's 'Idiocracy' seems to tip its hat to C.M. Kornbluth's 'The Marching Morons' (a Destined to be under-appreciated by all people who have good reasons to feel insecure about how well their brains work, Mike Judge's 'Idiocracy' seems to tip its hat to C.M. Kornbluth's 'The Marching Morons' (a must read) in the same way that Terry Gilliam's 'Brazil' tipped its hat to George Orwell's '1984'. Thus it's no wonder that the gigantic, mildly to severely retarded (both mentally and morally) corporation that helped Mr. Judge to realize his vision...should do virtually nothing to promote the film. Ironic but predictable. Okay, so when is genuine art NOT controversial? Thanks, Mr. Judge, for making yet another excellent movie that makes one care about "WHO'S ass is farting...and why." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EsFJul 25, 2008
Best movie ever!! I own it, It makes fun of all you and it's dead on true! I use my slang dictionary more then my regular dictionary, because people have forgotten to speak proper english!! When I hear a big word coming from a young Best movie ever!! I own it, It makes fun of all you and it's dead on true! I use my slang dictionary more then my regular dictionary, because people have forgotten to speak proper english!! When I hear a big word coming from a young person, it makes me gasp!! Now get off the damn couch and read a book, instead of tv and video games!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EnanAug 23, 2010
Imagining a future void of intellectuals or leaders is not that hard. In Idiocracy, the priorities of the populous are grounded in spectacle and pleasure. Set almost 500 years from present day, Uh-merica has become disadvantaged by its ownImagining a future void of intellectuals or leaders is not that hard. In Idiocracy, the priorities of the populous are grounded in spectacle and pleasure. Set almost 500 years from present day, Uh-merica has become disadvantaged by its own breeders. The film astutely points out how ignorant people, by nature, will continue to reproduce at alarming rates. Survival of the fittest is turned upside down when considering the sheer number of people uncomprehending of consequence. Stupidity infesting the world like cockroaches is all too relevant.

Our President is most certainly an idiot. We are forced to put up with his gross misconduct and abuse of our countries name because he has disguised his ignorance as faith. Unfortunately, the people steering Bush into destroying the free world are all too aware of their actions. While the world of Idiocracy is unjust and uneffective, at least it lacks the evil genius. The president in the film is Mr. T and Ludicris rolled into one. I cant help but think a president dependent on threats and demands plausible considering the direction we are currently headed. Idiocracy appropriately does not deal with faith because without peddlers smart enough to deal intangible truths, there is no use for it.

Comparable to the fall of Rome, Uh-merica finds itself existing without knowing to what end. There is no sense of unity or hope for the future, but only an acceptance of shallowness. In essence, writer and director Mike Judge deals with how flavor has replaced purity. As we have come to learn, spin can alter events globally. In Idiocracy, entertainment and free love are as holy as it gets. Altering the mundane is condemned in the film, as even Starbucks perseveres 500 years only to provide affordable and expedient sexual gratification. A combination of ebonics and hillbilly has usurped the English language providing a flashier and less coherent means of communication. Ralph Waldo Emerson wrote, To be great, is to be misunderstood. In Idiocracy this sentiment is taken to a thought provoking extreme.

The film delivered ample laughs. It was glaringly uneven, but the short running time helped me forgive some inadequacies. Like Office Space, I enjoyed the characters and premise enough to wade through some of the filler. Mike Judges film will undoubtedly appeal to low brow audiences. However, seeing as the film lacked any endorsements or hype at all, there is something to be said for the exclusivity associated with even knowing about it. The film would have done well if Luke Wilson and Mike Judges previous success had been exploited to sell it. Instead, I shared the theater with maybe seven others on its second day of release. Despite the crude jokes, I couldnt help feeling like my own aptitude had earned a unique and enjoyable viewing experience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nohoboboNov 15, 2010
Not too many movies are so funny and so disturbing at the same time. I am still thinking about scenes from this movie weeks after seeing it, both the laughs and the social commentary. My wife and I refer to it almost daily, whenever we seeNot too many movies are so funny and so disturbing at the same time. I am still thinking about scenes from this movie weeks after seeing it, both the laughs and the social commentary. My wife and I refer to it almost daily, whenever we see Jersey Shore or hear that 20% of Americans think Obama is Muslim, etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ScraperJan 20, 2014
Totally original comedy. This movie is a brilliant return-fire against everything that sucks. This is our little secret against the blaring egos and consumerism of today's culture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RickmanxSep 28, 2015
Loved this movie when it first came out, and still catch it at least once or twice a year. One of the funniest, thought provoking movies I've seen in a long time. I cannot count the number of times I've heard people quote this gem, and thisLoved this movie when it first came out, and still catch it at least once or twice a year. One of the funniest, thought provoking movies I've seen in a long time. I cannot count the number of times I've heard people quote this gem, and this will definitely be one I will recommend throughout my life. Kudos to Mike Judge, Luke Wilson, and so many others on such an awesome film! And on a side note: That Brawndo product is actually pretty good! LOL Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PahnJan 26, 2013
in 2505, they'll watch this old movie and wonder how we predicted the future. Then, they'll look for the Time Masheen and wonder where they can find Brawndo. Upgrayedd!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mmmoviesFeb 5, 2012
Horribly underrated, smart, and way ahead of its time. Idiocracy is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. If you haven't seen it yet, rent it online...NOW.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Plain_janeOct 4, 2012
This is quite possibly the most brilliant comedy movie I have ever seen. Every part of it is funny and thought provoking. I would recommend this to all my friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sepp_mMay 10, 2014
great movie. the truth abought Amerika. this will be a exact history movie in the year 2500. so keep on consuming amerikans. Well the names a not correct it will be monsatos, gogle, mcdonald,..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AndrewdeekingJan 9, 2015
This is the future of America. Plane and simple.

I didn't give it a 10 because of loop holes in the story and the acting could be better. But over all, it is a very good satire of the bleak out look on the future of America if we continue
This is the future of America. Plane and simple.

I didn't give it a 10 because of loop holes in the story and the acting could be better. But over all, it is a very good satire of the bleak out look on the future of America if we continue to praise good looks and shallow things over things that actually matter.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dualbunnyMar 5, 2016
I can see why this film has so many negative reviews, but as a person from the future, i will rate this 10/10. This basically became a documentary. We are ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoApr 27, 2016
Idiocracy is a fun satire that makes the most out of its amusing premise. A few of the jokes fell flat, but on the whole, there were plenty of laughs to be had. The cast were great, particularly Luke Wilson, Maya Rudolph and Dax Shepard. AtIdiocracy is a fun satire that makes the most out of its amusing premise. A few of the jokes fell flat, but on the whole, there were plenty of laughs to be had. The cast were great, particularly Luke Wilson, Maya Rudolph and Dax Shepard. At first glance, it may appear to be nothing more than a parade of low-brow gags, but it actually makes some smart jokes about the direction that humanity is heading in, delivering all the social satire that director Mike Judge has become known for. Overall, Idiocracy is an entertaining social commentary that's already on its way to becoming a reality. Fun movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DocadiNov 11, 2016
This film is becoming more and more true at each day that passes, at each new show, at each new idiot uneducated celebrity, at each new election! In 1980, in an article in Newsweek entitled "A cult of ignorance", Isaac Asimov was alreadyThis film is becoming more and more true at each day that passes, at each new show, at each new idiot uneducated celebrity, at each new election! In 1980, in an article in Newsweek entitled "A cult of ignorance", Isaac Asimov was already analyzing the US society by his famous quote: “There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there has always been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.” This movie follows the prediction by even more precise predictions! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BiopunkDec 31, 2016
You can really tell that this is from Mike Judge.Just like Beavis and Butt-head,its writing is focused on making fun of stupidity that we come across every day.Unlike Beavis and Butt-head,though,it features two normal protagonists in aYou can really tell that this is from Mike Judge.Just like Beavis and Butt-head,its writing is focused on making fun of stupidity that we come across every day.Unlike Beavis and Butt-head,though,it features two normal protagonists in a society of morons,rather than two moronic protagonists in a society of normal people.And it does this setting very well.The society of 2505 really feels like what the world would come to if it was run by idiots.News reporters are half naked,the president is basically Hulk Hogan,the most popular film is a still shot of someone's ass,and so on.It really makes you reflect on yourself and think if you're contributing to society becoming like that.Makes you rethink if the things you like,people you admire,the way you talk or the food you eat make you an idiot.For that,the movie's depressing,but it's the constructive kind of depressing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews