I'm So Excited

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Nevertheless, I’m So Excited (in Spanish, the title is Los amantes pasajeros, meaning both “the fleeting lovers” and “the passenger lovers”) looks fabulous, talks dirty, and sometimes makes you laugh, which is really all you can ask of a fleeting lover.
  2. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Jun 27, 2013
    60
    Almodovar is in party mode here, and if you liked his 1990 comedy "Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down!" you'll probably love I'm So Excited! for its candied pastels and its impishly clever design, which transforms the plane into a theater and its galley into a staging area for those three theatrical stewards.
  3. Reviewed by: Zachary Wigon
    Jun 25, 2013
    60
    I'm So Excited! is characterized by a distinct brand of unsuccessful yet ambitious storytelling, the kind often found in minor works by major masters.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    May 3, 2013
    60
    Whether or not the metaphorical aspects excite you, an unshakeable tolerance for high camp and lowbrow humour may be required to fully appreciate Almodóvar’s broad, bawdy comedy — even for fans of his early, funny films.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 3, 2013
    60
    It's all watchable and pretty funny, and the big setpiece is the three wildly queeny stewards Joserra, Fajas (Carlos Areces) and Ulloa (Arévalo) going into a drug-fuelled song-and-dance routine: a rendering of the Pointer Sisters' I'm So Excited.
  6. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    May 3, 2013
    60
    Full of fizz, filth and fun, I’m So Excited! is like an ’80s retro-blast. Its scattershot comedy may not impress latecomers to Almodóvar’s career, but old-school fans will love it.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jul 25, 2013
    50
    The movie's fast pace, and the three gleeful central performances, keep I'm So Excited! mostly painless. But the rest of it has a whiff of the sort of desperation that can make an exclamation point in a title seem like a good idea.
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 28, 2013
    50
    This farce set mostly aboard a transatlantic flight stuck in midair never launches.
  9. Reviewed by: Michal Oleszczyk
    Jun 28, 2013
    50
    A trip recommended strictly for Almodóvar's hard-core fans. Throughout the movie, I wished not so much for the plane to land, as for the movie to finally take off.
  10. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 27, 2013
    50
    While the plot strives to be a raunchy-clever sex farce, it feels more like a leaden repurposing of Airplane with drunken pilots, mile-high dalliances and dancing flight attendants.
  11. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 14, 2013
    42
    A gleefully over-the-top celebration of silliness too in love with its outrageous characters and premise to make them gel. Scene after scene features a self-satisfied kookiness akin to spending time with a terrible comic unwilling to give up the mic.
  12. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 1, 2013
    40
    It's pretty obvious that Almodovar at least was having fun making I'm So Excited. Ditto for his actors, who admirably go all-in for these roles. I'm glad they're having a good time. After all, somebody has to find a reason get excited about I'm So Excited.
  13. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Jul 11, 2013
    40
    The gags are stale, the characters uninvolving and bits meant to titillate don’t.
  14. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 27, 2013
    40
    The journey generally drags because the spinning characters, with their tired jokes and familiar melodramas, soon feel so mechanical, like the automated parts in an Almodóvar machine.
  15. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 3, 2013
    40
    I’m So Excited! is vertiginously disappointing in the way only bad films from great filmmakers can be.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    3
    I'm So Excited is as a outdated, passé film. Typical Spanish jokes without flair. 80's is passed, now is in 2013. Almodóvar should do aI'm So Excited is as a outdated, passé film. Typical Spanish jokes without flair. 80's is passed, now is in 2013. Almodóvar should do a revision about his cinema-style. "The Skin I Live In", "Volver" or "Broken Embraces" are dark and good-styling but Almodóvar return to comedy films is wrong. Sorry, Almodóvar, I like your films but this time not. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    There is nothing at all here to get excited about. Pedro Almodovar's new film shows him to be in a light holiday mood and subsequentlyThere is nothing at all here to get excited about. Pedro Almodovar's new film shows him to be in a light holiday mood and subsequently producing one of his duds. The high camp humour and unbelievably juvenile, not to mention, repetitive crass jokes do not bear the signature of the director of such movies as 'All about my mother' and 'Women on the verge of a nervous breakdown', but is more reminiscent of a bad Carry On' film that the British were still making in the 70's. The film is virtually plot less and the trailer's promise of some musical fun sky high is relegated to one number, the title song, which is flatly delivered and actually no fun at all. Towards the end of this never ending 90 minutes one of the stewards proclaims that it is 40 minutes to landing. In reality this plane crashed on take off. Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2014
    7
    Almodóvar’s latest offering after his posh genre thriller THE SKIN I LIVE IN (2011, 7/10) is an outré farce which is evocative of his earlierAlmodóvar’s latest offering after his posh genre thriller THE SKIN I LIVE IN (2011, 7/10) is an outré farce which is evocative of his earlier output in the 80s, almost exclusively restrained inside a plane, more specifically, the cockpit and the business cabin, I’M SO EXCITED! is a hilarious parody of AIRPLANE! (1980, 6/10). We all know economy is depressing and life is governed by austerity measures in Spain nowadays, so it wouldn’t be a more opportune time for a screwball comedy to satirise the circumstances and offer its audience tons of fun, Almodóvar is a dab hand to achieve this mission, the film not only potently leads us to break away from the grim reality for 90 minutes, but also conducts its cunning metaphors for the aftertaste if one is familiar with the social contexts in Spain.

    read rest of the review on my blog, google cinema omnivore.
    Full Review »