Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Katie Walsh
    Jun 16, 2013
    83
    While there’s drugs and sex and drinking and dancing, for sure, if one looks at I’m So Excited as a metaphor for the ills of society today and how we react to it, it becomes a much more poignant and biting satire of the state of our world, and how we as a people decide to react to it.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 27, 2013
    80
    Almodóvar isn’t just flashing back, retro-style, to the era of “Pepi, Luci, Bom” and “What Have I Done to Deserve This?” He’s also returning to a core principle of that era and of his work, which is that human sexuality, as much as it drives us crazy and makes us do stupid things, is also a force for the liberation of the human soul.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 25, 2013
    80
    It’s high time Pedro had a lark. The buoyant and bawdy I’m So Excited plays like a to-hell-with-it-all riff from this seminal Spanish auteur, an excuse to gather his stock company for a breezy 90-minute party.
  4. Reviewed by: Ben Walters
    May 3, 2013
    80
    I’m So Excited is the closest Almodóvar has come in years to early romps like ‘Labyrinth’, ‘Pepi, Luci, Bom’ and ‘What Have I Done to Deserve This?’
  5. Reviewed by: Jonathan Holland
    Mar 8, 2013
    80
    Longtime Pedro Almodovar followers who have secretly been hankering for a return to the broad, transgressive comedy of his early work will be thrilled by I’m So Excited, a hugely entertaining, feelgood celebration of human sexuality that unfolds as a cathartic experience for characters, audiences and helmer alike.
  6. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Jul 3, 2013
    75
    I’m So Excited! is random, episodic and essentially meaningless, but it’s also a hoot. And if that’s all you’re looking for, you might as well get it from the master.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Jul 10, 2013
    70
    It’s light and loose in ways that Almodóvar hasn’t let himself be in decades. Unsurprisingly, it’s also a lot of fun, a relentlessly entertaining lark that, like its setting, soars into the clouds, then discovers it doesn’t really have a way to get down.
  8. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jun 27, 2013
    70
    I'm So Excited! will not stand as one of Almodóvar's defining works. But for some completely frivolous, naughty nonsense, it may be just the ticket.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 27, 2013
    70
    I just can't hide my disappointment, though, that the movie doesn't sustain anything like the brilliance of its best scenes, or even the promise of its preface.
  10. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Jun 25, 2013
    69
    First and foremost I’m So Excited! is late night cabaret – funny, filthy and more than a little bit sloshed.
  11. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 1, 2013
    67
    Writer-director Pedro Almodóvar crammed actors he’s worked with over the years into a movie so wacky it defies analysis.
  12. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jul 24, 2013
    67
    Even though I’m So Excited! doesn’t soar, the film is a fun flight. Maybe it needs a central character in whom the audience can invest themselves instead of flitting among a rogues’ gallery of kooky archetypes.
  13. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    Jun 26, 2013
    67
    After establishing a jaunty tone with its candy-colored, Saul Bass–style opening credits, the film racks up a high strain-to-laugh ratio; there’s a sense Almodóvar can’t quite keep track of all his gags.
  14. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 26, 2013
    67
    The actors are charming, but the movie is like a helium balloon with a leak in it.
  15. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 25, 2013
    63
    It’s amusing fluff, but from an Oscar-winning dramatist, this return to comedy is a bit of a letdown.
  16. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 16, 2013
    63
    I’m So Excited! is probably its director’s most forgettable work. But it has its trashy pleasures, and it beats an in-flight movie — the one place you can bet it will never be seen.
  17. Reviewed by: Nick McCarthy
    Jun 24, 2013
    63
    Pedro Almodóvar's diverting pop-art bauble firmly placing the "relief" in comic relief and the "cock" in cockpit.
  18. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Nevertheless, I’m So Excited (in Spanish, the title is Los amantes pasajeros, meaning both “the fleeting lovers” and “the passenger lovers”) looks fabulous, talks dirty, and sometimes makes you laugh, which is really all you can ask of a fleeting lover.
  19. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Jun 27, 2013
    60
    Almodovar is in party mode here, and if you liked his 1990 comedy "Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down!" you'll probably love I'm So Excited! for its candied pastels and its impishly clever design, which transforms the plane into a theater and its galley into a staging area for those three theatrical stewards.
  20. Reviewed by: Zachary Wigon
    Jun 25, 2013
    60
    I'm So Excited! is characterized by a distinct brand of unsuccessful yet ambitious storytelling, the kind often found in minor works by major masters.
  21. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    May 3, 2013
    60
    Whether or not the metaphorical aspects excite you, an unshakeable tolerance for high camp and lowbrow humour may be required to fully appreciate Almodóvar’s broad, bawdy comedy — even for fans of his early, funny films.
  22. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 3, 2013
    60
    It's all watchable and pretty funny, and the big setpiece is the three wildly queeny stewards Joserra, Fajas (Carlos Areces) and Ulloa (Arévalo) going into a drug-fuelled song-and-dance routine: a rendering of the Pointer Sisters' I'm So Excited.
  23. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    May 3, 2013
    60
    Full of fizz, filth and fun, I’m So Excited! is like an ’80s retro-blast. Its scattershot comedy may not impress latecomers to Almodóvar’s career, but old-school fans will love it.
  24. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jul 25, 2013
    50
    The movie's fast pace, and the three gleeful central performances, keep I'm So Excited! mostly painless. But the rest of it has a whiff of the sort of desperation that can make an exclamation point in a title seem like a good idea.
  25. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 28, 2013
    50
    This farce set mostly aboard a transatlantic flight stuck in midair never launches.
  26. Reviewed by: Michal Oleszczyk
    Jun 28, 2013
    50
    A trip recommended strictly for Almodóvar's hard-core fans. Throughout the movie, I wished not so much for the plane to land, as for the movie to finally take off.
  27. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 27, 2013
    50
    While the plot strives to be a raunchy-clever sex farce, it feels more like a leaden repurposing of Airplane with drunken pilots, mile-high dalliances and dancing flight attendants.
  28. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 14, 2013
    42
    A gleefully over-the-top celebration of silliness too in love with its outrageous characters and premise to make them gel. Scene after scene features a self-satisfied kookiness akin to spending time with a terrible comic unwilling to give up the mic.
  29. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 1, 2013
    40
    It's pretty obvious that Almodovar at least was having fun making I'm So Excited. Ditto for his actors, who admirably go all-in for these roles. I'm glad they're having a good time. After all, somebody has to find a reason get excited about I'm So Excited.
  30. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Jul 11, 2013
    40
    The gags are stale, the characters uninvolving and bits meant to titillate don’t.
  31. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 27, 2013
    40
    The journey generally drags because the spinning characters, with their tired jokes and familiar melodramas, soon feel so mechanical, like the automated parts in an Almodóvar machine.
  32. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 3, 2013
    40
    I’m So Excited! is vertiginously disappointing in the way only bad films from great filmmakers can be.
  33. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 28, 2013
    38
    A rare dud from great Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar, I’m So Excited! is a campy, sex-obsessed spoof of airborne-disaster movies that never really gets off the ground.
  34. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jul 18, 2013
    25
    The times have caught up with Almodóvar, who is now 63: He thinks he’s still pushing the envelope, but he comes off as old-fashioned and outdated.
  35. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jul 5, 2013
    12
    Despite its plentiful and playful sexuality, this dose of Spanish fly is anything but exciting.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    3
    I'm So Excited is as a outdated, passé film. Typical Spanish jokes without flair. 80's is passed, now is in 2013. Almodóvar should do a revision about his cinema-style. "The Skin I Live In", "Volver" or "Broken Embraces" are dark and good-styling but Almodóvar return to comedy films is wrong. Sorry, Almodóvar, I like your films but this time not. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    There is nothing at all here to get excited about. Pedro Almodovar's new film shows him to be in a light holiday mood and subsequently producing one of his duds. The high camp humour and unbelievably juvenile, not to mention, repetitive crass jokes do not bear the signature of the director of such movies as 'All about my mother' and 'Women on the verge of a nervous breakdown', but is more reminiscent of a bad Carry On' film that the British were still making in the 70's. The film is virtually plot less and the trailer's promise of some musical fun sky high is relegated to one number, the title song, which is flatly delivered and actually no fun at all. Towards the end of this never ending 90 minutes one of the stewards proclaims that it is 40 minutes to landing. In reality this plane crashed on take off. Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2014
    7
    Almodóvar’s latest offering after his posh genre thriller THE SKIN I LIVE IN (2011, 7/10) is an outré farce which is evocative of his earlier output in the 80s, almost exclusively restrained inside a plane, more specifically, the cockpit and the business cabin, I’M SO EXCITED! is a hilarious parody of AIRPLANE! (1980, 6/10). We all know economy is depressing and life is governed by austerity measures in Spain nowadays, so it wouldn’t be a more opportune time for a screwball comedy to satirise the circumstances and offer its audience tons of fun, Almodóvar is a dab hand to achieve this mission, the film not only potently leads us to break away from the grim reality for 90 minutes, but also conducts its cunning metaphors for the aftertaste if one is familiar with the social contexts in Spain.

    read rest of the review on my blog, google cinema omnivore.
    Full Review »