I'm So Excited

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Katie Walsh
    Jun 16, 2013
    83
    While there’s drugs and sex and drinking and dancing, for sure, if one looks at I’m So Excited as a metaphor for the ills of society today and how we react to it, it becomes a much more poignant and biting satire of the state of our world, and how we as a people decide to react to it.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 27, 2013
    80
    Almodóvar isn’t just flashing back, retro-style, to the era of “Pepi, Luci, Bom” and “What Have I Done to Deserve This?” He’s also returning to a core principle of that era and of his work, which is that human sexuality, as much as it drives us crazy and makes us do stupid things, is also a force for the liberation of the human soul.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 25, 2013
    80
    It’s high time Pedro had a lark. The buoyant and bawdy I’m So Excited plays like a to-hell-with-it-all riff from this seminal Spanish auteur, an excuse to gather his stock company for a breezy 90-minute party.
  4. Reviewed by: Ben Walters
    May 3, 2013
    80
    I’m So Excited is the closest Almodóvar has come in years to early romps like ‘Labyrinth’, ‘Pepi, Luci, Bom’ and ‘What Have I Done to Deserve This?’
  5. Reviewed by: Jonathan Holland
    Mar 8, 2013
    80
    Longtime Pedro Almodovar followers who have secretly been hankering for a return to the broad, transgressive comedy of his early work will be thrilled by I’m So Excited, a hugely entertaining, feelgood celebration of human sexuality that unfolds as a cathartic experience for characters, audiences and helmer alike.
  6. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Jul 3, 2013
    75
    I’m So Excited! is random, episodic and essentially meaningless, but it’s also a hoot. And if that’s all you’re looking for, you might as well get it from the master.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Jul 10, 2013
    70
    It’s light and loose in ways that Almodóvar hasn’t let himself be in decades. Unsurprisingly, it’s also a lot of fun, a relentlessly entertaining lark that, like its setting, soars into the clouds, then discovers it doesn’t really have a way to get down.
  8. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jun 27, 2013
    70
    I'm So Excited! will not stand as one of Almodóvar's defining works. But for some completely frivolous, naughty nonsense, it may be just the ticket.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 27, 2013
    70
    I just can't hide my disappointment, though, that the movie doesn't sustain anything like the brilliance of its best scenes, or even the promise of its preface.
  10. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Jun 25, 2013
    69
    First and foremost I’m So Excited! is late night cabaret – funny, filthy and more than a little bit sloshed.
  11. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 1, 2013
    67
    Writer-director Pedro Almodóvar crammed actors he’s worked with over the years into a movie so wacky it defies analysis.
  12. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jul 24, 2013
    67
    Even though I’m So Excited! doesn’t soar, the film is a fun flight. Maybe it needs a central character in whom the audience can invest themselves instead of flitting among a rogues’ gallery of kooky archetypes.
  13. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    Jun 26, 2013
    67
    After establishing a jaunty tone with its candy-colored, Saul Bass–style opening credits, the film racks up a high strain-to-laugh ratio; there’s a sense Almodóvar can’t quite keep track of all his gags.
  14. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jun 26, 2013
    67
    The actors are charming, but the movie is like a helium balloon with a leak in it.
  15. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 25, 2013
    63
    It’s amusing fluff, but from an Oscar-winning dramatist, this return to comedy is a bit of a letdown.
  16. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 16, 2013
    63
    I’m So Excited! is probably its director’s most forgettable work. But it has its trashy pleasures, and it beats an in-flight movie — the one place you can bet it will never be seen.
  17. Reviewed by: Nick McCarthy
    Jun 24, 2013
    63
    Pedro Almodóvar's diverting pop-art bauble firmly placing the "relief" in comic relief and the "cock" in cockpit.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    3
    I'm So Excited is as a outdated, passé film. Typical Spanish jokes without flair. 80's is passed, now is in 2013. Almodóvar should do aI'm So Excited is as a outdated, passé film. Typical Spanish jokes without flair. 80's is passed, now is in 2013. Almodóvar should do a revision about his cinema-style. "The Skin I Live In", "Volver" or "Broken Embraces" are dark and good-styling but Almodóvar return to comedy films is wrong. Sorry, Almodóvar, I like your films but this time not. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    There is nothing at all here to get excited about. Pedro Almodovar's new film shows him to be in a light holiday mood and subsequentlyThere is nothing at all here to get excited about. Pedro Almodovar's new film shows him to be in a light holiday mood and subsequently producing one of his duds. The high camp humour and unbelievably juvenile, not to mention, repetitive crass jokes do not bear the signature of the director of such movies as 'All about my mother' and 'Women on the verge of a nervous breakdown', but is more reminiscent of a bad Carry On' film that the British were still making in the 70's. The film is virtually plot less and the trailer's promise of some musical fun sky high is relegated to one number, the title song, which is flatly delivered and actually no fun at all. Towards the end of this never ending 90 minutes one of the stewards proclaims that it is 40 minutes to landing. In reality this plane crashed on take off. Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2014
    7
    Almodóvar’s latest offering after his posh genre thriller THE SKIN I LIVE IN (2011, 7/10) is an outré farce which is evocative of his earlierAlmodóvar’s latest offering after his posh genre thriller THE SKIN I LIVE IN (2011, 7/10) is an outré farce which is evocative of his earlier output in the 80s, almost exclusively restrained inside a plane, more specifically, the cockpit and the business cabin, I’M SO EXCITED! is a hilarious parody of AIRPLANE! (1980, 6/10). We all know economy is depressing and life is governed by austerity measures in Spain nowadays, so it wouldn’t be a more opportune time for a screwball comedy to satirise the circumstances and offer its audience tons of fun, Almodóvar is a dab hand to achieve this mission, the film not only potently leads us to break away from the grim reality for 90 minutes, but also conducts its cunning metaphors for the aftertaste if one is familiar with the social contexts in Spain.

    read rest of the review on my blog, google cinema omnivore.
    Full Review »