Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 17, 2004
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 20 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
2
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MarcD.Feb 20, 2005
No doubt, there are many cliches in this one, but there's just enough genuine human emotion to make it worth it. I still don't think that Hirsch has the skills to pull off his character, but Sigourney Weaver more than makes up for No doubt, there are many cliches in this one, but there's just enough genuine human emotion to make it worth it. I still don't think that Hirsch has the skills to pull off his character, but Sigourney Weaver more than makes up for it. What a great actress she is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jul 3, 2006
"Imaginary Heroes" is "Ordinary People" with a different brittle, unloving parent, but solid acting trumps originality in this case. In the Robert Redford film, you could imagine that Mary Tyler Moore's character was on valium; here, "Imaginary Heroes" is "Ordinary People" with a different brittle, unloving parent, but solid acting trumps originality in this case. In the Robert Redford film, you could imagine that Mary Tyler Moore's character was on valium; here, the subject of drug use is decidedly more blunt. Sigourney Weaver's episode with pot matches Patricia Clarkson's in "Pieces of April" for laughs. It's a comic highlight along with a priceless self-criticism about minorities and tokenism late in the film. And that's the film's saving grace. It's not a total bummer. "Imaginary Heroes" needs a reevaluation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MHJan 23, 2005
A really awful movie becuase it never made a case for why I should care about some upper middle class white family and how depressed and wretched they are.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarilynJFeb 11, 2005
There is so much melodrama and unrealistic events crammed into two hours, it is almost like a parody of a good drama. i think the only reason we did not see spousal abuse and rape tackled is because they ran out of time. it feels like the There is so much melodrama and unrealistic events crammed into two hours, it is almost like a parody of a good drama. i think the only reason we did not see spousal abuse and rape tackled is because they ran out of time. it feels like the filmmakers are holding up a big sign begging for an oscar. thankfully even with miss weaver's casting, i do not think anyone is listening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BeauM.Mar 30, 2005
How some of you are dissing this movie is just a testament to how people are unable to recognize good efforts. This was a wonderful movie...not a perfect one, mind you, but this was a fantastic effort with great performances and an excellent How some of you are dissing this movie is just a testament to how people are unable to recognize good efforts. This was a wonderful movie...not a perfect one, mind you, but this was a fantastic effort with great performances and an excellent script. I fully intend on watching it again in theaters, and possibly even buying it on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnK.Jan 26, 2005
Well it sucks if MH couldnt relate to it but that doesn't mean it's a bad movie. I thought I was watching a portal into my own life -- I was riveted. Great movie if you care about examining the roots of unhappiness and depression Well it sucks if MH couldnt relate to it but that doesn't mean it's a bad movie. I thought I was watching a portal into my own life -- I was riveted. Great movie if you care about examining the roots of unhappiness and depression in dysfunctional families. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Feb 9, 2005
Fantastic script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RoyT.Jul 19, 2005
Slow, drowsy, horrible theme, weird, awkward and very depressing BUT great acting, empathic characters, unique type of comedy and drama, really deep, so in a way a good movie worth your while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelB.Jul 30, 2005
A refreshingly honest film that doesn't shirk from some of the brutalities of family life. Sigourney Weaver excels in her role as the mother/wife.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TonyB.Dec 28, 2005
This is an exceptionally well-acted film, but Emile Hirsch is in danger of being type cast. If you've seen some of his other work, you probably know what I mean. The plot about yet another dysfunctional upper middle class suburban This is an exceptionally well-acted film, but Emile Hirsch is in danger of being type cast. If you've seen some of his other work, you probably know what I mean. The plot about yet another dysfunctional upper middle class suburban family has more subplots than it can handle and so never really fully realizes any of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshL.Dec 29, 2005
I'm amazed at the truly vicious detractors of this movie; I throughly enjoyed it, largely from the great direction, brilliant acting from Weaver, Hirsch, and Daniels, and the engaging story that really compelled me to keep watching. It I'm amazed at the truly vicious detractors of this movie; I throughly enjoyed it, largely from the great direction, brilliant acting from Weaver, Hirsch, and Daniels, and the engaging story that really compelled me to keep watching. It made me laugh and think and I think a movie that accomplishes that as well as 'Imaginary Heroes' did deserves to be advocated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SarahC.Feb 18, 2005
This movie is just so bad it's hard to describe!!! It is guilty of having contempt for the audience. It thinks we are so naive and dumb that all of these unlikely events and cartoony characters will milk sympathy and tears. But instead, This movie is just so bad it's hard to describe!!! It is guilty of having contempt for the audience. It thinks we are so naive and dumb that all of these unlikely events and cartoony characters will milk sympathy and tears. But instead, all it got from my audience was bunches of sighs and yawns and people walking out early. I regret staying! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffLJun 13, 2005
The human emotion and characterization are very well done. The story is unique and always entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful