• Release Date: Jun 9, 2004
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JulsdelaC.
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    A riotous laugh trip...yet very disturbing for the typical Filipino viewer. Very well made and very focused on Imelda's persona.
  2. harrym.
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    One of the best documentary I've ever watched. I can say, Philippine's best.
  3. SuzetteA.
    Jul 9, 2004
    10
    I am very proud of Mrs. Marcos, despite of what she did or didn't do. The Marcos' changed the Philippines fot the better...so, no matter if she stole millions, she helped the Filipinos in her our own way. Its a game. All the politicians play.
  4. MMR
    Oct 4, 2004
    8
    This documentary is an engaging account of Imelda Marcos and her life before, during, and after her time as the wife of former President Marcos. I was so pleased with the way the documentary was made. The visual presentations, the commentaries, coupled with footage of the Philippines during and after the Marcos' reign created such an influx of thoughts and emotions. At the end of the This documentary is an engaging account of Imelda Marcos and her life before, during, and after her time as the wife of former President Marcos. I was so pleased with the way the documentary was made. The visual presentations, the commentaries, coupled with footage of the Philippines during and after the Marcos' reign created such an influx of thoughts and emotions. At the end of the documentary your jaw hurts from laughing or simply being stunned, and your head aches at the absurdity of the Marcos family and what they did to the Philippines. I strongly recommend this documentary. Expand
  5. RJS.
    Jul 27, 2004
    9
    One of the most engaging documentaries I have ever watched. It is insightful, intriguing, and infuriating at the same time.
  6. TamadA.
    Aug 25, 2004
    0
    This film is boring! i just took a nap in this movie lolz!
  7. regiee.
    Sep 15, 2004
    9
    I developed love/hate affections to our former first lady after watching the documentary. this docu portayed the True Imelda:a flawlessy elegant but blissfully ignorant (?) powerhungry woman, a peace- loving human rights violator, someone who loved democracy so much that she fully supported the martial law. She so symphatized with the poor masses that she even had their bloody tears I developed love/hate affections to our former first lady after watching the documentary. this docu portayed the True Imelda:a flawlessy elegant but blissfully ignorant (?) powerhungry woman, a peace- loving human rights violator, someone who loved democracy so much that she fully supported the martial law. She so symphatized with the poor masses that she even had their bloody tears immortalized in her Harry Winston tiaras and necklaces. A modern day Marie Antoinette: I dress beautifully to inspire the poor to dress better. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Pete Vonder Haar
    80
    Eminently successful at portraying the former first lady's flaws because it allows her to describe them herself.
  2. Reviewed by: James Greenberg
    70
    Captures a complex and contradictory world figure. Imelda is by turns humorous, insightful and infuriating.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    60
    A balanced, evenhanded film about a subject who has always managed to provoke intemperate reactions.