Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Nov 12, 2011
    38
    The movie's self-importance is further inflated by the usual pseudo-Wagnerian score and occasional narration by John Hurt.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Nov 11, 2011
    38
    The Immortals is without doubt the best-looking awful movie you will ever see.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Nov 10, 2011
    38
    The film manages one grand "300″ moment, Cavill rallying troops for battle, doing his best Gerard Butler. But the lack of humor, the confusing, stumbling story and limited color palette blunt the film's 3D slo-mo shots of heads exploding and torsos torn asunder by the sword.
  4. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 16, 2011
    30
    The Greek myths, of course, will endure. The same cannot be said for Singh's silly, self-serious, instantly forgettable, and inaptly named Immortals.
  5. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Nov 11, 2011
    30
    This never rises above the level of a plodding sword-and-sandal adventure, peopled with chiseled young beauties and bored industry hacks. Singh is a talented and eccentric visual artist with no creative future in the movie business.
  6. Reviewed by: Paul Brunick
    Nov 10, 2011
    20
    Immortals is the latest disaster of post-conversion 3-D, a projected spectacle so dark it is literally hard to see. This is an ugly, burlap sack of a film, stitched with jagged seams and overstuffed with computer-generated chintz, gold-lamé leotards and fetishistic headgear.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 241 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 92
  2. Negative: 16 out of 92
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    A decent flick; nothing special at all. The acting was average. The story was a bit boring: what ruined it the most (for me at least) was the romance between the protagonist and one of the main characters. I find that it was unnecessary. In this day and age, however, romance is a must, so I can't remove points there. Plenty of action scenes as the trailer suggested, except that most of them were dull, save for the one right at the end. The characters were flat: they were all either passive or aggressive, so all of them were quite extreme. I found the main villain rather engaging, but that's up to you to decide. The acting wasn't too shabby. The ending.. wasn't too good. All in all, a pretty regular movie, as expected from Hollywood these days. Full Review »
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    Haha. What the **** Just simply, what the **** Don't get decieved by the posters ladies and gentlemen. Tarsem Singh's "Immortals" isn't exactly like "300", although it tries to be with it's rich visuals. It can never be like "300" because of the crappiest Greek God script I've seen in YEARS. What kind of ****ing story flushes down characters like **** and adds fight scenes every 5 seconds? Haha, the movie gave me a good laugh though. Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    This story line was a little dull and the movie didn't have much depth, but the visuals, effect and gore were top notch. Gave me that 'God of War' impression. Full Review »