Immortals

Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Nov 11, 2011
    88
    Dashing across the screen in all its bloody, gilded glory, the awesome and beautiful Immortals marks an all-win scenario.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Nov 10, 2011
    80
    Spectacle and spectacular are often confused for one another in stories of epic adventure, but Immortals is the rare film where they are one and the same.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 13, 2011
    75
    The film is as faithful to Greek mythology as Thor is to tales of the Norse Gods, but it ultimately doesn't matter. Tarsem's goal is to give viewers an experience a little different from the norm and, to that end, he succeeds. The "wow!" factor is in full evidence.
  4. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Nov 11, 2011
    75
    What saves Immortals as a moviegoing experience is the exuberant, kid-in-a-candy-store virtuosity of its director, former music-video wunderkind Tarsem Singh (The Cell).
  5. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Nov 12, 2011
    67
    As mythic spectacles go, it beats "Clash Of The Titans," particularly in the areas of intimidating villainy and actual Titan-clashing. Nonetheless, it isn't any smarter than its inspirations, just prettier.
  6. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Nov 10, 2011
    63
    Thrills are in short supply, but so are annoyances. This is a maintenance-free ride.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 95
  2. Negative: 17 out of 95
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    A decent flick; nothing special at all. The acting was average. The story was a bit boring: what ruined it the most (for me at least) was theA decent flick; nothing special at all. The acting was average. The story was a bit boring: what ruined it the most (for me at least) was the romance between the protagonist and one of the main characters. I find that it was unnecessary. In this day and age, however, romance is a must, so I can't remove points there. Plenty of action scenes as the trailer suggested, except that most of them were dull, save for the one right at the end. The characters were flat: they were all either passive or aggressive, so all of them were quite extreme. I found the main villain rather engaging, but that's up to you to decide. The acting wasn't too shabby. The ending.. wasn't too good. All in all, a pretty regular movie, as expected from Hollywood these days. Full Review »
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    Haha. What the **** Just simply, what the **** Don't get decieved by the posters ladies and gentlemen. Tarsem Singh's "Immortals" isn'tHaha. What the **** Just simply, what the **** Don't get decieved by the posters ladies and gentlemen. Tarsem Singh's "Immortals" isn't exactly like "300", although it tries to be with it's rich visuals. It can never be like "300" because of the crappiest Greek God script I've seen in YEARS. What kind of ****ing story flushes down characters like **** and adds fight scenes every 5 seconds? Haha, the movie gave me a good laugh though. Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    This story line was a little dull and the movie didn't have much depth, but the visuals, effect and gore were top notch. Gave me that 'God ofThis story line was a little dull and the movie didn't have much depth, but the visuals, effect and gore were top notch. Gave me that 'God of War' impression. Full Review »