User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 251
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    Haha. What the **** Just simply, what the **** Don't get decieved by the posters ladies and gentlemen. Tarsem Singh's "Immortals" isn't exactly like "300", although it tries to be with it's rich visuals. It can never be like "300" because of the crappiest Greek God script I've seen in YEARS. What kind of ****ing story flushes down characters like **** and adds fight scenes every 5 seconds?Haha. What the **** Just simply, what the **** Don't get decieved by the posters ladies and gentlemen. Tarsem Singh's "Immortals" isn't exactly like "300", although it tries to be with it's rich visuals. It can never be like "300" because of the crappiest Greek God script I've seen in YEARS. What kind of ****ing story flushes down characters like **** and adds fight scenes every 5 seconds? Haha, the movie gave me a good laugh though. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    A decent flick; nothing special at all. The acting was average. The story was a bit boring: what ruined it the most (for me at least) was the romance between the protagonist and one of the main characters. I find that it was unnecessary. In this day and age, however, romance is a must, so I can't remove points there. Plenty of action scenes as the trailer suggested, except that most ofA decent flick; nothing special at all. The acting was average. The story was a bit boring: what ruined it the most (for me at least) was the romance between the protagonist and one of the main characters. I find that it was unnecessary. In this day and age, however, romance is a must, so I can't remove points there. Plenty of action scenes as the trailer suggested, except that most of them were dull, save for the one right at the end. The characters were flat: they were all either passive or aggressive, so all of them were quite extreme. I found the main villain rather engaging, but that's up to you to decide. The acting wasn't too shabby. The ending.. wasn't too good. All in all, a pretty regular movie, as expected from Hollywood these days. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2011
    4
    It was decent nothing to special about it boring at times but terrible story telling a few scenes of true exciting action but I think 300 was way better in content and script writing.
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    Well, i am disappointed. The only colourful person is Mickey Rourke, all other actors are just boring.

    And the design is simply annoying - the armor is made of plastic, the helmets of the gods are ridiculous, and you always feel that the movie has been completely made in a studio or designed by computer. OK, in the end the titans get sliced, smashed and choped in any possible way and
    Well, i am disappointed. The only colourful person is Mickey Rourke, all other actors are just boring.

    And the design is simply annoying - the armor is made of plastic, the helmets of the gods are ridiculous, and you always feel that the movie has been completely made in a studio or designed by computer.

    OK, in the end the titans get sliced, smashed and choped in any possible way and here and there is some nice cruelty and a few naked breasts in 3D, but there are no memorable highlights. For example the scene before the final battle, where Theseus makes his speech to encourage the army. He just says some shallow blablabla and the people start grunting to hide he is only talking rubish. If you compare this to other blood, gore and iron movies like Braveheart, Gladiator or 300 this Theseus is just a plain schmock.

    I have to give it 5 points because my girlfriend insists - she liked the nude boys and one of the actors played in Twilight.
    Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2011
    6
    Overall Movie: 3 Acting: 0 Storyline: 6 Notes: Special effects: 10 Wow, does this movie blow you away with it's epic special effects. In the mood for a good movie? NEVER WATCH THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! In the mood to have fun and ignore the bad acting and stupid storyline, and just enjoy the special effects? IMMORTALS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    Apparently anyone who gives this film anything above a 5 or 6 hasn't ever seen a good movie let alone a great movie. For every good thing this film does style wise it does something bad in every other area (sound, acting, direction,dialogue, etc).

    It can be entertaining at times but most of the time it's "been there, done that, have the t-shirt".
  7. Apr 13, 2012
    6
    Immortals was decent enough but it had the potential to be so much better. Henry Cavill did well as Theseus but Mickey Rourke could've been more menacing as King Hyperion. I mean he (Hyperion) was definitely a demented psychopath but he seemed to be more thoughtful and measured than off his nut which seemed more warranted but hey, I didn't direct this. The slo-mo highly stylized scenes ofImmortals was decent enough but it had the potential to be so much better. Henry Cavill did well as Theseus but Mickey Rourke could've been more menacing as King Hyperion. I mean he (Hyperion) was definitely a demented psychopath but he seemed to be more thoughtful and measured than off his nut which seemed more warranted but hey, I didn't direct this. The slo-mo highly stylized scenes of ultra-violence were done well, human obliteration looked more authentic than ever, and this is one of the film's elements I think worked well. My biggest disappointment was with the gods, they were played simply by normal humans with little to no special effects augmentation. If I were director, at a minimum, the gods would've been an impressive 20-ft tall then it's just discretionary elements from there but that's not what they did. The film is fine as a rental for a few bucks, but it's not a keeper. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    Beowulf tried to one-up 300, They FAILED! Clash of the Titans tried to one-up 300, THEY FAILED even worse. Do i even need to repeat myself for this one? The acting is mediocre, there is action but it doesn't help the story, which has a worse plot than that of the power rangers movie or Barney.
  9. Nov 14, 2011
    5
    Several holes in the script and fluctuating epic. good special effects that cover many gaps in the film. A film that ultimately makes you just say these words .. and then? very disappointed
  10. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    The movie was pretty decent, and honestly this 6 is because of the well choreographed fight scenes and the cinematography, especially towards the end. The characters were boring, and the time spent advancing the thin plot felt like filler, because you really dont care about the characters, and dont even get me started on the costume design. Overall if u go to this movie expecting someThe movie was pretty decent, and honestly this 6 is because of the well choreographed fight scenes and the cinematography, especially towards the end. The characters were boring, and the time spent advancing the thin plot felt like filler, because you really dont care about the characters, and dont even get me started on the costume design. Overall if u go to this movie expecting some great greek epic, you may be disappointed but if you want to see some awesome action scenes then go for it. Expand
  11. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I wanted to like this movie more than I did, the first half was engaging but the last half fell short for me, i agree with what a lot of ppl are saying about it but in the end I still liked 300 much better, theres not much in theaters right now so if your looking for something to do its worth it but if your tight on funds id save the money for a rental or download
  12. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    This movie had promise in the beginning. However, it quickly went downhill. I would call it extremely loosely based on mythology, as the gods are borderline pathetic. When it came down to the last fight in which they were finally "intervening", they were merely glorified warriors. This movie is also extremely patriarchal, the women are useless and only serve to bear sons - getting so tiredThis movie had promise in the beginning. However, it quickly went downhill. I would call it extremely loosely based on mythology, as the gods are borderline pathetic. When it came down to the last fight in which they were finally "intervening", they were merely glorified warriors. This movie is also extremely patriarchal, the women are useless and only serve to bear sons - getting so tired of that. Te only positive is the main guy, I solid performance as well as very good looking. In any case, hollywood has either been spewing worse and worse movies or it's maybe my standards that have gone up. Expand
  13. Nov 17, 2011
    6
    The story was slow and plodding. The plot was supposed to be about keeping a magical bow out of the evil King Hyperion's hands (played by a mumbling Mickey Rourke), but the bow really didn't come into play much. King Hyperion gets his hands on the bow and uses it once to break open a gate and that's it. I also have an issue with poor audio and actors mumbling their words so that youThe story was slow and plodding. The plot was supposed to be about keeping a magical bow out of the evil King Hyperion's hands (played by a mumbling Mickey Rourke), but the bow really didn't come into play much. King Hyperion gets his hands on the bow and uses it once to break open a gate and that's it. I also have an issue with poor audio and actors mumbling their words so that you couldn't understand them. The acting ranged from mediocre to good. I'm still giving the movie a pass because the visuals were great. The 3D was slightly above average, but the computer drawn vistas looked superb. The fight scenes were gory and exciting. If you liked 300 you will probably like this one. Expand
  14. Nov 18, 2011
    4
    It's definitely cool looking, but sometimes that's just not good enough. The acting and the action scenes were both patchy, the plot was ridiculous to the point of unintentionally funny, the 3D was weirdly flat, and easily 2/3 of the scenes could have been cut without the movie losing anything. Though I had to add a point for Mickey Rourke, who was awesome.
  15. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    Like 300 with a magic bow and arrows...that doesn't get shot nearly enough...oh, and rabid Titans. Note to self: if someone gives you a magic bow with unlimited ammo arrows? Hold it with both hands...
  16. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    Gods and mortals tangle in this classic mythological tale told with sumptuous style and up-to-date action. Director Tarsem Singh is known for his lavish and inventive visual expression and he's applied his unique images to this stuffy story. Theseus (Henry Cavill) is a peasant who leads the mortals in battle against a bloodthirsty king (Mickey Rourke). The buff golden gods occasionallyGods and mortals tangle in this classic mythological tale told with sumptuous style and up-to-date action. Director Tarsem Singh is known for his lavish and inventive visual expression and he's applied his unique images to this stuffy story. Theseus (Henry Cavill) is a peasant who leads the mortals in battle against a bloodthirsty king (Mickey Rourke). The buff golden gods occasionally drop in from Olympus and their final scene kicks some cool CGI butt. The dialogue is stodgy and the drama slows the pace, but the violent action and the imaginative look make it fun to watch. Expand
  17. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    Entertaining fight scenes! They were nicely filmed and interesting camera shots. The movie looks great, and I found the 3D effects were well used except for the ocean scene. As mentioned elsewhere, the romance in the movie was painful but helped tie things up at the end. Good way to burn 2h of your life and 15$.
  18. Dec 9, 2011
    6
    There is something lacking with the story line. The choice of words for the spiels were contemporary sounding. If it wasn't for the good visual effects, fight scenes and costumes--this movie could have been so dull.

    movienotesbook.blogspot.com
  19. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    The performances were all pretty good with Mickey Rourke standing out for me; he has such a great screen presence. A very violent film with plenty of claret on show, which will please all the splatter-fest fans. It
  20. May 16, 2013
    6
    Immortals is really awesome, but that's about it. First things first Immortals is not 300. True, it shares some producers and it’s a swords-and-sandals epic packed with tons of visual effects, but that does not mean it’s not its own creation entirely.
    Immortals particularly the 3-D version is an ambitious adventure in epic, myth-fueled filmmaking and in visual effects. The R-rated
    Immortals is really awesome, but that's about it. First things first Immortals is not 300. True, it shares some producers and it’s a swords-and-sandals epic packed with tons of visual effects, but that does not mean it’s not its own creation entirely.
    Immortals particularly the 3-D version is an ambitious adventure in epic, myth-fueled filmmaking and in visual effects. The R-rated movie, which opens Friday, is prettttty. Problem is, it’s hard to tell if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.
    Using brilliant strokes, director Tarsem Singh (The Cell) has painted an intricate canvas that combines the world of Zeus and the other Greek gods with that of the grimy, war-ravaged world of mere mortals. From the hyper-realistic deaths by sword to the pristine marble worlds of the heavens above, it’s gorgeous. The tale of Immortals is, well, old. Hundreds of years before the common era, a peasant named Theseus (played by Henry Cavill) is secretly trained by Zeus to be a great warrior. Theseus ends up leading his people in a massive battle against King Hyperion (Mickey Rourke), who is essentially at war with humanity and searching for the magical Epirus Bow to unleash a wave of destruction. The bottom line is that Immortals is a great battle epic well-acted, gorgeously shot, etc. which is cool if you’re into that sort of thing. It’s an interesting take on what can be done with 3-D visual effects: The things done with multidimensional sunbeams and heavenly battles are incredibly cool to look at if you’re into that sort of thing. Also, you get to see the Wrestler beat the pulp out of the next Man of Steel, who, for what it’s worth, is so cut that shots of his abs make the movie appear to be in 4-D. And that’s amazing if you’re into that sort of thing. What you don’t get is anything more than that. Immortals is excellent Friday-night popcorn fare that one day will look brilliant on your 70-inch flatscreen TV. It’s a cool step in the evolution of mythic storytelling with modern effects. Go see it with your friends. But don’t be surprised 10 years from now after many more evolutionary clicks in visual effects, which seem less revolutionary each time when Immortals looks more like 300 than ever.
    Expand
  21. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    Been there, done that. Cavill is boring, Pinto is nice to look at, and Rourke is the only half-way interesting character in the entire film. Visually the film is a success. There are some stunning shots and special effects here, but that's about it. The story has a lackluster, old-hat, hand-me-down feeling to it, and I couldn't help but compare this film to 300. Although 300 was moreBeen there, done that. Cavill is boring, Pinto is nice to look at, and Rourke is the only half-way interesting character in the entire film. Visually the film is a success. There are some stunning shots and special effects here, but that's about it. The story has a lackluster, old-hat, hand-me-down feeling to it, and I couldn't help but compare this film to 300. Although 300 was more flashy and charismatic, I think Immortals could use a good dose of that mentality. Expand
  22. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    It is a bad omen for a movie if its poster proudly proclaims, â
  23. Dec 3, 2011
    5
    "Immortals" is a decent film with nice visual flair and extravaganza but a muddled and boring plot ruins the movie. The special effects, the action, and the CG sequences are all great and dazzling but the story is very boring. The actors give a good performance is the script is good but the plot just ruins the whole thing as it is very uninteresting. Overall, Immortals is a great movie to"Immortals" is a decent film with nice visual flair and extravaganza but a muddled and boring plot ruins the movie. The special effects, the action, and the CG sequences are all great and dazzling but the story is very boring. The actors give a good performance is the script is good but the plot just ruins the whole thing as it is very uninteresting. Overall, Immortals is a great movie to watch for and entertainment fix. You will see some great action but don't expect it to stay in your mind forever as it is not an amazing movie. Breakdown for "Immortals": Presentation: 5, Plot: 4, Acting: 6, Script: 5, Lasting Appeal: 4, Verdict: 4.8 out of 10 "Average". Expand
  24. Jan 28, 2013
    4
    Skimming the user reviews, I noticed more consensus than usual with "Immortals." Most reviewers seemed to agree that the film features stunning visuals with weak storytelling; what they disagreed about was the relative value of these qualities. Those handing out eights and nines tended to assert (or imply) that strong storytelling was unnecessary--possibly even detrimental--to an actionSkimming the user reviews, I noticed more consensus than usual with "Immortals." Most reviewers seemed to agree that the film features stunning visuals with weak storytelling; what they disagreed about was the relative value of these qualities. Those handing out eights and nines tended to assert (or imply) that strong storytelling was unnecessary--possibly even detrimental--to an action film. Some claimed that criticizing the script was exposing shameful ignorance of what makes an action movie great: spectacle, gory spectacle, and really gory spectacle. Red-zone reviewers, on the other hand, claimed spectacle was enhanced by strong storytelling--or even, in some cases, dependent upon it. My rating identifies me as one of this latter group--though perhaps not as adamant as some. In part because I'm so charmed by the enthusiasm of green-zone reviewers ("more awesome than Zeus and Chuck Norris fighting to the death on a cloud of Ferraris"), I have genuinely tried to understand how good storytelling could be irrelevant to--or, more puzzling, could detract from--the visual and visceral thrills of a great action movie, but my own viewing experience seems to prove the opposite. I simply can't think of a single action film that I would call great--or even good--despite weak storytelling. Which brings me to the truly inexcusable fault in "Immortals," which is that, in the character of Theseus, the filmmakers have strong storytelling already in hand. Through plays, poetry, and prose, modern filmmakers have inherited an array of fabulous stories about the gods, demigods, mortals, and other creatures of Greek mythology. Especially the great warrior-king! So why don't they use them? This is not pedantry; it's genuine bafflement about why filmmakers would ignore rich, dramatic, coherent stories, all thousands of years beyond the reach of copyright, in favor of thin, sketchy, incoherent assemblages that, to add insult, they have to pay for. I'm waiting for someone with Tarsem Singh's visual genius to tackle, say, THE BACCHAE, using Euripides's script. THAT would be more awesome than Zeus, Chuck Norris, Bruce Lee, and Sol Invictus fighting after death--and after a feast of nectar, ambrosia, and soma in Valhalla--on a cloud of Lamborghinis and Aston Martins! Expand
  25. Mar 6, 2012
    5
    What could you expect of another Greek mythology hodpodge with heros, baddies and gods? well a lot of myths of course. Forget the limp story (do you really need screenwriters for this kind of film?) and cut to the high contrast slick sets and the battle mayhem. It's 300 with titans to spare.
  26. Mar 8, 2012
    4
    Acting is very disapointing, The script is incredibly corny and honestly is a little bit funny towards the end of the film because its that bad, Action scenes were good but lacked originality (think the slow-mo action scenes from 300). Their re-imagining of the gods didnt sit well for me at all. Overall, Its just another film trying to re-capture what 300 had and it fails to do so (FYI -Acting is very disapointing, The script is incredibly corny and honestly is a little bit funny towards the end of the film because its that bad, Action scenes were good but lacked originality (think the slow-mo action scenes from 300). Their re-imagining of the gods didnt sit well for me at all. Overall, Its just another film trying to re-capture what 300 had and it fails to do so (FYI - it was produced by the producers of 300), Just another disapointing action film imo. Expand
  27. May 5, 2012
    4
    Very poor performances, this important detail was ignored by management. very messy sound track, a story that exhausted so worn that this, in itself, the story has no validity mythological as personification the characters in a very unwise, especially the Titans. good: photography and visual effects.
  28. May 24, 2012
    5
    Was not epic nor was it worth watching again. It wanted to be 300 in the worst way, but it just never hit the mark. 300 had better actors, script and fight coordination.
  29. Jul 20, 2012
    5
    Immortals has some fantastic visuals, with stylishly brutal Ancient Greek action that out-300s 300 (if that makes sense). It also has some striking and creative visual effects, particularly in the way the gods of Olympus transform from their mortal to divine forms. Henry Cavill and Mickey Rourke make a convincing action hero and entertaining hammy villain respectively, and John Hurt andImmortals has some fantastic visuals, with stylishly brutal Ancient Greek action that out-300s 300 (if that makes sense). It also has some striking and creative visual effects, particularly in the way the gods of Olympus transform from their mortal to divine forms. Henry Cavill and Mickey Rourke make a convincing action hero and entertaining hammy villain respectively, and John Hurt and Stephen Dorff's gravelly tones add a little interest to the film's less than inspiring dialogue. The film's story, however, is all over the place both in terms of pacing and original ideas - stop-start-stop-start, hit-miss-hit-miss, until it finally strikes the right balance in an entertaining final act. Frida Pinto is left with very little to do as the only feminine presence in a world fuelled by testosterone, and it's a little insulting to the viewer's intelligence to believe that a celibate oracle would abandon her vow of chastity for the first handsome man she meets. The costumes and CGI-extended sets are striking, but also a little jarring - a little like watching Ancient Greece via the Star Wars prequels. Like his previous feature The Fall, director Tarsem Singh demonstrates that he has some interesting ideas, and a good eye for colourful, unusual visuals, but is not as skilled at bringing the whole package together as a full, workable film. Immortals has a lot to like, but it's too flawed and incomplete to make any real mark. Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    The main story is the worst part of this film. This includes the predictable character arc, the forced romance, and the spotty acting. Mickey Rourke makes his villain as interesting and memorable as the hats he wears. The whole movie looks great, but it's a turd covered in glitter.
  31. Nov 13, 2012
    5
    If you like this genre, you should enjoy this film. It was too dark (literally and figuratively) for my taste and the spurting blood gets to be old very quickly. It says a lot about a movie when you are relieved to see the credits roll.
  32. Dec 7, 2012
    4
    All style, but no substance. I really like Tarsem's visual vision for his films, but Immortals made absolutely no sense. The plot was jumbled, making the action awkward and ineffective. Disappointing.
  33. Jun 9, 2013
    5
    I'm going to compare this Immortals to 300, I can't help myself. The film was marketed as 'from the producers of 300' so they can't blame me. If you want to watch a Greek mythology based film loaded with impressive visuals and special effects then watch Zack Snyder's.

    Don't get me wrong, director Tarsem Singh delivers some eye-popping visuals and fight scenes that rival those of Snyder
    I'm going to compare this Immortals to 300, I can't help myself. The film was marketed as 'from the producers of 300' so they can't blame me. If you want to watch a Greek mythology based film loaded with impressive visuals and special effects then watch Zack Snyder's.

    Don't get me wrong, director Tarsem Singh delivers some eye-popping visuals and fight scenes that rival those of Snyder but in truth the rest of Immortals really falls short of being anything close to a great movie.

    Soon to be Superman Henry Cavill looks the part as Theseus but I thought he was pretty wooden although he certainly wasn't working with an award winning script. The army rousing speech scene (think 'tonight we dine in hell' with Gerard Butler, no acting great either) made me pity the guy for having to read the lines. Unfortunately, Mickey Rourke doesn't fare much better either, his performance made even more comical by his venus fly-trap/playboy bunny headpiece. Seriously, what were they thinking?

    Immortals didn't even manage to hold my attention for the duration, which for me is almost unheard of, but hey, it looks good right.
    Expand
  34. Jun 21, 2013
    6
    The plot is moderately exciting, even if weakling and with some incongruence. But the real reason for see Immortals is how the story is told: A framework moving with slow-motion effect, where the landscape is a still life and battles of the beautiful dances.
  35. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    "Immortals" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

    The Good: As expected, there were several great fight scenes and nifty effects. The gods were also well done and you paid more attention whenever they appeared. Mostly brainless, but solid movie when you're simply in the mood to see people duke it out video game style. The Bad: Hollow story with little imagination. It is two parts "300",
    "Immortals" 10 Scale Rating: 6.0 (Decent) ...

    The Good: As expected, there were several great fight scenes and nifty effects. The gods were also well done and you paid more attention whenever they appeared. Mostly brainless, but solid movie when you're simply in the mood to see people duke it out video game style.

    The Bad: Hollow story with little imagination. It is two parts "300", one part "Clash of the Titans" and comes across very much like an intended combination of the two. Drags on a little at times and that should never happen during a movie like this.
    Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 16, 2011
    30
    The Greek myths, of course, will endure. The same cannot be said for Singh's silly, self-serious, instantly forgettable, and inaptly named Immortals.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 13, 2011
    75
    The film is as faithful to Greek mythology as Thor is to tales of the Norse Gods, but it ultimately doesn't matter. Tarsem's goal is to give viewers an experience a little different from the norm and, to that end, he succeeds. The "wow!" factor is in full evidence.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Nov 12, 2011
    38
    The movie's self-importance is further inflated by the usual pseudo-Wagnerian score and occasional narration by John Hurt.