Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Mar 31, 2011
    90
    One of the places where In a Better World is especially successful is comparing and contrasting the moral worlds of children and adults, showing how difficult but essential it is for each group to learn from the other.
  2. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 12, 2011
    88
    Anton has a sad, gentle detachment that allows him to turn the other cheek literally through a series of slaps.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    May 4, 2011
    88
    A most deserving Oscar winner and a film that could provoke discussion anywhere it is shown, anywhere people of any age are being bullied.
  4. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Apr 29, 2011
    83
    The acting is superb across the board, and the film moves dreamily yet with razor-sharp precision, building to a sequence of deeply felt climaxes.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Mar 30, 2011
    83
    A fine example of Danish filmmaker Susanne Bier's (Brothers) talent for weaving together accessible domestic melodrama and issues of ethical awareness of the world beyond our doorstep.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. May 1, 2011
    6
    One of the recurring themes on this season's "Glee" has been bullying. In this Oscar winner (Best Foreign Film), the Danes tackle the subjectâ
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    "In A Better World" is a rich melodrama, richer than any melodrama in recent memory. It brings modern human themes into the deep, such as"In A Better World" is a rich melodrama, richer than any melodrama in recent memory. It brings modern human themes into the deep, such as family, marriage, parental, friendship, death, morality and professionalism. This film successfully mixing, comparing and contrasting two different world between adult and children and two strong stories in Africa and Denmark. Full Review »
  3. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Just a great film. Emotional, dramatic story about two different worlds (Denmark and Africa) and how violence exists in both of them. Great performances, great cinematography, well deserved Oscar (best foreign 2011). One thing that confuses me is the difference between the original title meaning revenge, and the English one. The later makes more sense and gives depth to the story as it opens a different perspective from the obvious one. With it in mind I thought of the movie as a fairy-tale of sort happening in a better world than the one we live in. No matter the dramatic events the film ends with a surprising happy end (just like in a Hollywood movie some would say, hence the Oscar win). In our harsh reality i'm sure the doctor would've been slayed by the warlord when he made demands on him. I mean these are people that butcher pregnant women for fun. Elias would've died - he was just so close to the car when it exploded, Christian would've jumped from the silos roof (cause there wouldn't be Elias's dad, the doc, to save him). Full Review »