Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: April 1, 2011
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 44 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
9
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ugisupriatnaJun 8, 2014
"In A Better World" is a rich melodrama, richer than any melodrama in recent memory. It brings modern human themes into the deep, such as family, marriage, parental, friendship, death, morality and professionalism. This film successfully"In A Better World" is a rich melodrama, richer than any melodrama in recent memory. It brings modern human themes into the deep, such as family, marriage, parental, friendship, death, morality and professionalism. This film successfully mixing, comparing and contrasting two different world between adult and children and two strong stories in Africa and Denmark. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
skyhunkNov 30, 2013
I'm quite baffled by some of the critics' negative reviews. It would help so much if they gave reasons/examples of why they dislike the movie, but it seems to be not forthcoming. For god's sake, the movie won an Oscar. What is it that youI'm quite baffled by some of the critics' negative reviews. It would help so much if they gave reasons/examples of why they dislike the movie, but it seems to be not forthcoming. For god's sake, the movie won an Oscar. What is it that you get but I don't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
fichotJan 17, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just a great film. Emotional, dramatic story about two different worlds (Denmark and Africa) and how violence exists in both of them. Great performances, great cinematography, well deserved Oscar (best foreign 2011). One thing that confuses me is the difference between the original title meaning revenge, and the English one. The later makes more sense and gives depth to the story as it opens a different perspective from the obvious one. With it in mind I thought of the movie as a fairy-tale of sort happening in a better world than the one we live in. No matter the dramatic events the film ends with a surprising happy end (just like in a Hollywood movie some would say, hence the Oscar win). In our harsh reality i'm sure the doctor would've been slayed by the warlord when he made demands on him. I mean these are people that butcher pregnant women for fun. Elias would've died - he was just so close to the car when it exploded, Christian would've jumped from the silos roof (cause there wouldn't be Elias's dad, the doc, to save him). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
layolaAug 20, 2011
This is beautifully shot film full of talented actors. The core of the story is about revenge: that act of a man which is highly valued in tribal societies but can be also seen as an universal way of coping with rage and honor. Even in soThis is beautifully shot film full of talented actors. The core of the story is about revenge: that act of a man which is highly valued in tribal societies but can be also seen as an universal way of coping with rage and honor. Even in so called better world, in quite safe Denmark, sometimes you d think the easiest way is to answer violence with violence, to injustice with injustice. This film can be also seen as essay on masculinity considering the physical power and the ideals of a man as a protector. There are cultures which are focused to maintain a man ´s honor in showing aggression and, in the other hand, there are also cultures which embrace self-confidence and controlling one ´s anger as a sign of strength and high social status. As you can see, individuals raised in those two cultures grown up to be totally different in the way they see the world. And when those cultures face each other there are some questions you should ask: how far you can go with your pacifism in a culture that doesn ´t appreciate that kind of response but see it as a sign of losing ones honor and sometimes, losing one s life? How a man, who has been taught to control his weakness trough destructive behavior which initially leads to the complete destruction of his manhood and humanity, can be seen in a western culture which at least on some level appreciate very much the idea of all men being equal? Are those cultures and societies that emprace that kind of destructive behavior also equal? To put it anohter way: Why should you save the life of a mass murderer? We are living in the time of globalisation and people are truly dealing with those questions when meeting people with different world views and moral responses -it is not just a matter of individual free choice between fear and love, but most importantly: how our children should be raised in this world in order to make it better? How we embrace the culture that makes it easier to forgive, to face one ´s weaknesses and feel empathy to one another? This movie asks hard question and to in order to be able to answer those questions you have to put down your weapons and face your fear, and face the death. If that means to you the same thing as surrending, then you are in the middle of loosing it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
nutterjrJul 5, 2011
In a better world they would make more movies like this one. A thought provoking film, provides no answers, let alone easy ones. Deservedly nominated for best foreign film at the Oscars and although it was not my favourite pick of the finalIn a better world they would make more movies like this one. A thought provoking film, provides no answers, let alone easy ones. Deservedly nominated for best foreign film at the Oscars and although it was not my favourite pick of the final five, it eventually went to win the statuette. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
wishmasterJun 7, 2011
movie with an excellent message, touching, inspiring, with a dramatic plot and shows what is currently happening and how hard life is in some places and how to move forward, overcoming problems and people. amazing
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleApr 6, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Truly an excellent film which deals with so many important issues (bullying, a child's reaction to a parent's death, infidelity, tribal feuds, medical ethics) in such an artful way. The young male actors are terrific, and all three parents play their roles with such skill and compassion. The visuals in this movie are also outstanding. Several shots took my breath away. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
eddie1987Apr 1, 2011
I enjoy watching this film, it was amazing story. violence, friendship, love, happiness. great actors, this movie is such Oscar worthy! I love European movies!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews