Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Driving, lost and tormented in the night, primal fears of the dark and the unknown give way to fear that you have let the evil in, or that it is already there.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Nigel Floyd
    Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Lovering’s taut direction and editor Jon Amos’s skilfully modulated cutting wring the maximum suspense from cinematographer David Katznelson’s multi-camera set-ups, tapping into deep-rooted psychological and primal fears.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Nov 20, 2013
    80
    Writer-director Jeremy Lovering, in his feature debut, keeps a skilful handle on technique — his film is a calling card that could give you paper cuts.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Mar 6, 2014
    80
    Economical in the extreme — but without appearing cash-poor — this tightly wound thriller proves that minimal resources can sometimes produce more than satisfying results.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    Mar 7, 2014
    63
    A good ride for the most part, but not much more than a ride; still, genre fans will be keeping their eye out for whatever Lovering does next, with good reason.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Staeger
    Mar 4, 2014
    60
    In Fear traffics in suspicion, ratcheting tension, and shocks — including a few really effective ones — more than in satisfying explanations.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Nov 20, 2013
    60
    Jeremy Lovering’s tense debut might have worked better had it left more to the imagination. Still, crisp camerawork and amplified sound yield paranoia aplenty.
  7. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Mar 4, 2014
    40
    All the pieces are in place for a gripping indie horror flick, but this pointless, motivation-free film just goes around in circles.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Dec 1, 2014
    10
    This movie was awesome! The suspense and jumps comes from fear of the dark, the shadows, and the what weird thing is going to happen next.This movie was awesome! The suspense and jumps comes from fear of the dark, the shadows, and the what weird thing is going to happen next. Kept me jumping throughout. When the game of cat and mouse escalates between Tom, Lucy, and the crazy - I was on the edge of my seat. Love that this movie scared me without resorting to gratuitous gore! We got into a heated discussion once the movie ended about all the wrecked cars Lucy found and the ultimate question of did she or didn't she? Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    Summary: In Fear is a horrendously underrated horror film that deserves more recognition for its superb performances and cleverly disturbingSummary: In Fear is a horrendously underrated horror film that deserves more recognition for its superb performances and cleverly disturbing moments. 100/100 [A+]

    Tom and Lucy are both happy young adults eager to set out on their first weekend getaway as a couple. They set off for a planned stay at a remote hotel but quickly find themselves getting lost in a maze of backwoods roads. However they soon discover that they are at the mercies of an unknown tormentor that is eager to take advantage of their vulnerability and distance from civilization. I hate to give perfect ratings, I'm not lying, check out my user profile. This astonishing film deserves it. Such a disturbing ride! In Fear is awesome because most of the shocking scenes came from just inside of a car.

    It is a very well done low-budget film, that doesn't even look like a low-budget flick. In Fear proves that horror films don't need a big cast or an expensive budget, they just need the right director, a talented cast, and a smart script. It is a slow ride, but it kept me entertained and interested all time. The characters are likable and they also have some Irish charisma. Iain De Caestecker (Tom) and Alice Englert (Lucy) are two wonderful actors, they were excellent in the whole movie and they gave their best, especially Alice Englert, her screams made me have chills; I dare to say that her performance is Oscar-worthy.

    It's sad that a huge part of the audience bashed this gem. Maybe it was too different for them. Audiences nowadays want to jump out of their seats by cheap jump-scares and they are starving for lots of gore and violence. In Fear is not this type of horror film at all. It is just a strange, well-acted and painfully disturbing movie, without any significant flaws in my opinion. That's why I gave it a perfect score, it delivers what it promises. This movie freaked me out so much. I saw it a year ago and I still remember every frame of it. I will remember this little flick for years, it affected me so much, seriously.

    As I said, most of the memorable scenes set place into a car. It's awesome how the director takes advantage of his small cast and budget to create an absolute masterpiece. Once you read the plot synopsis of the film, you may think that it is a boring movie, (Two people in a car, being scared) but it wasn't boring at all, it surprised me so much. I also love it because it doesn't show too much of the violent scenes, the scariest moment in the film (near the end) was a completely unseen scene, but it proves that imagination can be as scary as anything onscreen. In Fear is just my type of horror movie.

    Jeremy Lovering has just made an instant classic. Some people complain about the lack of an ending, but I really don't care, you can make your own ending! That's why I love this film. It's hard to say that you will enjoy it, but please give it a chance. You may love it as much as me. Do not expect lots of gore and jump-scares. Just expect excellent performances, disturbing moments and screams out loud. In Fear is an effective and quite disturbing ride, an instant classic to me. I hope you like it! It's the best horror film of 2014 for me, above The Babadook, Under the Skin and Oculus. Such a terrific piece of work. [A+]
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    8
    I watched In Fear last night and I thought that it didn’t look a bit of the low budget indie flick that it actually is. A pleasant surprise onI watched In Fear last night and I thought that it didn’t look a bit of the low budget indie flick that it actually is. A pleasant surprise on how a minimalistic execution and a good plot, casted by believable actors could result to something atypical; a rebreather from the formulaic horror-genre flicks we’ve been seeing lately. Though not everything works in In Fear; a couple of loopholes in its plot, characters that are unsympathetic we couldn’t even bother to care more-so root for their survival, they make up for the thrill and realistic originality that we haven’t been seeing for awhile. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2014
    7
    Once things get started there are quite a few good scares. The film has an incredible ability to play off of our fear of the unknown. The darkOnce things get started there are quite a few good scares. The film has an incredible ability to play off of our fear of the unknown. The dark roads our characters travel cause a feeling of isolation and paranoia. The mind can't help but play tricks on us as we wonder what's hiding just outside their car window. There's some truly great stuff going on here.

    However it all starts to unravel as it progresses. Shortly after the scares begin they seem to just slip away as we begin to get more of a grip on what's happening. The strength here really lies with leaving us in the dark as to what is actually going on. The movie still never tells us the whole story, like as to why it's all happening, but what little info it does reveal removes what fear it had. Another issue the plot has is that our lead male actor's character is completely unlikable. I really didn't care about his fate. His girlfriend is more likable.

    It's a good horror film. One that manages to scare unlike so many other horror movies do, even if it does only for a brief moment of time. Perhaps the biggest flaw is that it feels like it's trying to say something, but can't quite get it out. There are moments here where I felt like it was trying to get some sort of message out. Overall it doesn't succeed. However I did enjoy this film and am looking forward to more from Lovering in the future. He's crafted a good horror movie. One that I recommend. My total score for it is a 7.4/10.
    Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2014
    7
    Really good, it is one of the most original movies ever made. "In Fear" does know what scares you, it is nothing supernatural, but realisticReally good, it is one of the most original movies ever made. "In Fear" does know what scares you, it is nothing supernatural, but realistic enough it could happen, although the reason behind it all is kind of silly, but interesting enough. I found "In Fear" a hidden talent, and I'll be looking forward to the next project from Jeremy Lovering. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2014
    5
    "In Fear" is made of hits and mistakes, which gives in tension gives in yawns.
    In the end, it seems that not only the characters walked in
    "In Fear" is made of hits and mistakes, which gives in tension gives in yawns.
    In the end, it seems that not only the characters walked in circles, but also the movie.
    Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    switched in off after 10 minutes because the lead guy was so annoying. Not in an 'I can't wait for him to be stalked by dark forces orswitched in off after 10 minutes because the lead guy was so annoying. Not in an 'I can't wait for him to be stalked by dark forces or whatever' type of annoying, more a kind of, 'he's making me cringe and not want to watch this film' kind of annoying. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers