In Good Company

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 179
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    Somehow, In Good Company hits all the right notes for me. It's funny and uplifting yet also extremely sad. The characters on offer here are not the usual rom-com black and white; they all have their own shades of grey. Impressive writing and acting also do their jobs well and (thankfully) the whole thing wraps up without shmaltz or over-sentimentality. In Good Company is a vastlySomehow, In Good Company hits all the right notes for me. It's funny and uplifting yet also extremely sad. The characters on offer here are not the usual rom-com black and white; they all have their own shades of grey. Impressive writing and acting also do their jobs well and (thankfully) the whole thing wraps up without shmaltz or over-sentimentality. In Good Company is a vastly underrated film and one I never seem to tire of. Expand
  2. KarissaE.
    Jan 15, 2005
    9
    I thought it would have been a 10 if they had put a better ending on the movie. I wanted to see what happened to Alex and Carter! The movie just kind of stopped, and all my friends and I were like, "What? They can't just end it like that!"
  3. Sep 17, 2014
    8
    Topher Grace and Dennis Quaid are really good in their role.Meanwhile there is some awful characters like the wife of Quaid's character.The movie has one of the most simple story and simple scenario,but somehow the movie is not so good.
  4. Aug 28, 2014
    7
    In Good Company is just that... good company. A pleasant film in most regards. There are obvious nods to past films (including but not limited to The Apartment, 1960).
  5. DaveF
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    The film offers few surprises, but it's a joy to watch. Funny and winning, even if you can see every plot twist coming a mile away. And Scarlett Johansson is such a BABE!
  6. MarcD.
    Jan 16, 2005
    7
    It's a pretty good film, but not nearly as good as I thought it might be. The acting is uniformly solid, but the writing is just not there.
  7. ScottG
    Jan 19, 2005
    7
    I liked this movie, but agree with others that it came close to being significantly better. Solid performances, interesting characters and an amusing, though hit-and-miss script. I love movies that don't easily fall into a genre; this one tried to be more than it was, but got too heavy-handed with "the message" and the script ultimately took short cuts--the final sequence with DQ and I liked this movie, but agree with others that it came close to being significantly better. Solid performances, interesting characters and an amusing, though hit-and-miss script. I love movies that don't easily fall into a genre; this one tried to be more than it was, but got too heavy-handed with "the message" and the script ultimately took short cuts--the final sequence with DQ and TG could have been cribbed from any of a dozen movies in the last few years. All that criticism for a movie I gave 7 stars should tell you--it came close to being a great memorable film. Expand
  8. JackFrost
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    Very real. Great acting and camera work.
  9. MarkB.
    Jan 20, 2005
    8
    I'm clearly not the person to view this movie from anything resembling an objective or dispassionate stance, and I knew that going in. Regardless of how good Paul Weitz's last film, About A Boy, was, the subject matter here (and what I preceived was going to be their treatment of it) just cut too close to the bone. I've worked at a company that was "rescued" by one of those I'm clearly not the person to view this movie from anything resembling an objective or dispassionate stance, and I knew that going in. Regardless of how good Paul Weitz's last film, About A Boy, was, the subject matter here (and what I preceived was going to be their treatment of it) just cut too close to the bone. I've worked at a company that was "rescued" by one of those corporate cut-and-slash Mr. Fixits; not only were many dear friends and good people unnecessarily chloroformed, but the "results" turned out to be largely fraudulent, and the long-term effect on a person I loved and admired turned out to be irreversibly tragic. So I wasn't exactly in the mood to see what I thought was going to be a cutesy corporate romp with maybe a vague, noncontroversial "downsizing isn't nice" message tacked on at the end as a sop to the Michael Moore crowd, and I definitely wasn't in the mood to see the corporate hitman played by that sweet, goofy kid from That 70's Show. (Apparently, some of my audience agreed with me, because when Topher Grace's character suffers a couple of surprising mishaps in the first 20 minutes I heard applause.) But I vastly underestimated Weitz; even more so than in About A Boy, he's detailing the immature boy-man who's his central character's sometimes painful road to self-discovery, purpose...in short, adulthood. The business stuff is accurately and wittily handled--if hundreds of thrillers over the last 30 years could be superficially described as "Hitchcockian", and a few dozen feel-good comedies as "Capraesque", In Good Company at its best is smartly written and wise in the ways of the world but subversively humane enough to draw pleasant comparisons to Billy Wilder. Less successful is the romance between Grace and Scarlet Johannsen as the daughter of a former department head (Dennis Quaid) reduced to being Grace's "wingman"; it's contrived and "movielike", even if Johannsen is typically excellent. I also wish that the movie's general tone, especially at the end, had been more one of impassioned outrage rather than weary resignation; David Paymer, who's good as a sad-sack colleague of Quaid's, plays a potentially resonant role that ultimately gets short shrift. But there's no doubt which side of the fence Weitz is on when, in the climax, he casts a certain actor who's made his reputation playing sinister or evil roles as a corporate high muckety-muck (since he goes unbilled, I won't spoil his identity for you, but you'll know what I mean when you see him) and then lights him like a Universal Pictures movie monster from the 1930s. (His clueless misinterpretation of the real meaning of the current business buzzword "synergy" is delicious.) I made a New Year's resolution not to be so argumentatively political, and now I'm going to break it: I've had an absolute bellyful of certain red-state bluenoses who howl about morality when it comes to, say, a fraction of a second at a Super Bowl halftime show, but are admiring (or worse, completely silent) when it comes to the psychopathic social Darwinism of "Chainsaw" Al Dunlap, Jack Welch and their acolytes. The Michael Medveds and Cal Thomases may deliberately ignore the fact that Grace learns far more from devoted husband and father Quaid and his household than they do from him; certain conservatives may deny it, but In Good Company is a film about family values that genuinely walks the talk. Expand
  10. KentK.
    Feb 25, 2005
    8
    I thought it was suprisingly funny. I can se how it may seem formula, but it was better than most box office garbage.
  11. JeffreyL.
    Feb 9, 2005
    8
    Uncommonly thoughtful, smart, and entertaining comedy set in the all-too-recognizable world of corporate downsizing, the depersonalization of workers, and giant conglomerates that seem to exist only for the purpose of swallowing up other giant conglomerates. Dennis Quaid gives one of his warmest, and finest, performances as a fifty-something executive who is in charge of selling ad space Uncommonly thoughtful, smart, and entertaining comedy set in the all-too-recognizable world of corporate downsizing, the depersonalization of workers, and giant conglomerates that seem to exist only for the purpose of swallowing up other giant conglomerates. Dennis Quaid gives one of his warmest, and finest, performances as a fifty-something executive who is in charge of selling ad space for a Sports Illustrated-type magazine, until a corporate merger leaves him with a boss (Topher Grace from That 70's Show) half his age. Quaid is wonderful at portraying a man trying to maintain his dignity in the midst of professional humiliation, but the film wouldn't succeed half as well as it does if it were simply a screed against corporate America. Writer-director Paul Weitz (About a Boy) does an equally fine job at portraying Grace's character not as a jerk or lackey, but as a basically decent young man full of barely concealed self-doubt. What he really needs isn't a pat on the back from the CEO but the love and acceptance of a family - even if it is Quaid's (including wife Marg Helgenberger and daughters Scarlett Johansson and Zena Grey). If the romance between Grace and Johansson seems a little convenient to the plot, and the ending just a bit too tidy, I'm not complaining. This is a terrific comedy with a brain and a heart, as well as a lot of laughs. Expand
  12. Ani
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    Excellent romantic comedy, a rare one in which the sappy moments are easy to swallow.
  13. DermN.
    Dec 23, 2004
    7
    A clever, charming film reminiscent of Billy Wilder. Grandpa can actually sit and watch with this movie with his teenage grandchildren and no one would be disappointed. Cute without being cloying. Satirical without being bitter. Good acting from Quaid, Johansson, and a surprisingly solid star-turn from Topher Grace. Plus, the send-up of Big Business politics is spot-on. Overall: entertaining.
  14. LiamS.
    Jan 11, 2005
    8
    This movie is brilliantly acted. I disagree completely with another reviewer who said that Dennis Quaid "mailed in" his role. Quaid did a wonderful job, as did the other actors. Admittedly, the premise for the movie is quite silly, and the movie is not in the same class as "About a Boy." None the less, the movie still warrants praise for being brilliantly acted and well delivered.
  15. KathleenQ.
    Jan 14, 2005
    8
    Highly enjoyable - well written and while very funny, did not go for "easy" laughs or simple wrapped up ending. My only issue was with Scarlette J's performance - it's like she came back from seeing Bill Murray in Japan and still has jet lag.
  16. VinceH.
    Jan 15, 2005
    7
    Topher and Dennis make this movie. Their performances are so effortless, convincing, and involving that it brings to mind great acting ensembles of yesteryear. Like everyone else says, the plot is old hat and the armchair-business-satire stuff is pretty much no different than the same stuff Dilbert has been doing for ten years, but still this is a highly entertaining movie. The Weitz Topher and Dennis make this movie. Their performances are so effortless, convincing, and involving that it brings to mind great acting ensembles of yesteryear. Like everyone else says, the plot is old hat and the armchair-business-satire stuff is pretty much no different than the same stuff Dilbert has been doing for ten years, but still this is a highly entertaining movie. The Weitz brothers are highly underrated, and a closer look at their filmography will reveal not a single dud in the crop. The movie didn't completely enthrall me like say "About a Boy", with its beautiful and addictive Badly Drawn Boy soundtrack, but this is still a good way to start off the new year if your a filmgoer. Expand
  17. JoeA.
    Jan 15, 2005
    7
    A solid recommendation. Nice comedy-drama w/ a few good storylines and character development. I was pleasantly surprised by the less-than-fairytale wrapups.
  18. DanB.
    Jan 19, 2005
    8
    A realistic, if somewhat unsatisfying ending. A funny movie which also had relevence on a deeper level.
  19. VikramM.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    In Good Company is a soft comedy. Soft comedies are not raunchy in any way, it was not screamingly, obnoxious funny, it was soft funny. It made people laugh and people clapped at the end but it was a soft comedy. I liked In Good Company a lot, for one reason becuase it was funny and it made me laugh and another reason is the relationship between Dennis Quaid and Topher Grace. That held In Good Company is a soft comedy. Soft comedies are not raunchy in any way, it was not screamingly, obnoxious funny, it was soft funny. It made people laugh and people clapped at the end but it was a soft comedy. I liked In Good Company a lot, for one reason becuase it was funny and it made me laugh and another reason is the relationship between Dennis Quaid and Topher Grace. That held the movie together with that first detesting relationship then liking then hating, it made the movie go. This movie was great and I would reccommend it to anyone. Expand
  20. KevinE.
    Jan 20, 2005
    7
    Competent, beautifully acted, nicely written, but overall such a subtle film that I wondered: at what point do we resent paying $10.50 for such a tepid experience? It's impossible to find anything bad to say about this movie. Maybe that's not so good? This would be a nice rental to curl up with on a lonesome day.
  21. JeffM.
    Jan 2, 2005
    8
    Loads of charm, with great performances by all the leads. a very neat humanizing of the corporate world.
  22. DarcieR.
    Jan 25, 2005
    8
    An excellent movie. Topher Grace and Dennis Quaid made it worth watching twice - they were perfect.
  23. PatW.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    Greatest Movie.
  24. JeffJ.
    Jan 29, 2005
    7
    Not great but entertaining and worthy of two hours of your time. Scartlett Johansson is always worth watching and getting better by the movie (although Lost in Translation is my favorite); her character is a little underdeveloped here. Dennis Quaid and Topher Grace are good and pretty watchable as well.
  25. T.M.
    Jan 31, 2005
    8
    I take off 2 points for the following: The blatant product placements (at least 4 noticeable ones!), the unnecessary slapstick elements (characters continuously falling, dropping things, spilling things), poor attention to detaile or poor editing in spots (the younger daughter was poorly introduced and her character was unnecessary), and Scarlett Johannson's character being I take off 2 points for the following: The blatant product placements (at least 4 noticeable ones!), the unnecessary slapstick elements (characters continuously falling, dropping things, spilling things), poor attention to detaile or poor editing in spots (the younger daughter was poorly introduced and her character was unnecessary), and Scarlett Johannson's character being underwritten (particularly since Johannson received top billing after Quaid). I give it 8 points for the acting, particularly that of Quaid and Grace; for the sharp, poignant comic dialogue; for the excellent character development of Quaid's character and particularly of Grace's character; and for the unashamed criticism this film makes of the corporate mentality and corporate downsizing. Overall this was an enjoyable, intelligent little film that defies cookie-cutter categorization because it worked as a mixture of comedy, character study romance, drama, and social commentary. Expand
  26. ChadS.
    Feb 2, 2005
    7
    "In Good Company" is a likable middle-of-the-road, too-eager-to-please comedy-drama that needed Carter(Topher Grace) to be more ninja-assassin, and less of a sadsack naif. Sure, he fires people, but we have no real emotional investment in those that get canned. Firing someone higher on the film's food chain would've presented a stronger roadblock for the film's pivotal "In Good Company" is a likable middle-of-the-road, too-eager-to-please comedy-drama that needed Carter(Topher Grace) to be more ninja-assassin, and less of a sadsack naif. Sure, he fires people, but we have no real emotional investment in those that get canned. Firing someone higher on the film's food chain would've presented a stronger roadblock for the film's pivotal romance to exist. But this is the movie we're presented with and as mainstream entertainment goes, "In Good Company" is reasonably intelligent with a hint of what this film could've been with the performances by David Paymer and Selma Blair, in small, but succinct roles. I like Blair's bedside epiphany when Carter says "stepping stone". Expand
  27. MoviebuffILovefilms
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    I thought it was hilarious! I loved the film. I liked Topher and Dennis on screen. They had chemistry and intrigued me to believe this story. I also thought that it was dramatic and real. The realism is how kids sometimes don't think. The entire situation between Grace and Johanson's characters could have been avoided had they just talked to Dan. However, that in my opinion was I thought it was hilarious! I loved the film. I liked Topher and Dennis on screen. They had chemistry and intrigued me to believe this story. I also thought that it was dramatic and real. The realism is how kids sometimes don't think. The entire situation between Grace and Johanson's characters could have been avoided had they just talked to Dan. However, that in my opinion was real sometimes young people are secretive and they don't think about things before they do things. Also, I liked the fact that the wife became pregnant later in the game when she already has one child in college and a preteen. That is very believeable and happened to a couple of my friend's parents when I was growing up. The funny think is when the older sibbling is carrying the infant around people assume they are the parent. However, that seems like an entirely different film. Great movie. I love the part where Teddy K didn't know how to answer Dan and he decided to leave it up to everyone else. That was typical of how a lot of companies are ran. Many don't have talent and they sponge off the ones who actually have talent, passion, and knowledge of how to do their jobs. I enjoyed it. I am a huge fan of Paul Weitz. Expand
  28. RyanH
    May 11, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie. I wish that Marg Helgenberger had a bigger role
  29. PaulaV.
    May 22, 2005
    9
    Excellent film. A great story about the phases we go through as we adapt to change compacted within a short period of time. Wonderful dialogue, great acting. Finally a really good Dennis Quaid film.
  30. Tanya
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    Awesome!
  31. MarcK.
    Dec 22, 2004
    7
    Very entertaining, but a bit too Hollywood-ish. Topher Grace does an outstanding job.
  32. DaveG
    Jan 17, 2005
    9
    Good movie for its type. As a guy, I couldn't really ask for a better date movie. Quaid and Grace give outstanding performances and the ending was honest, not sappy.
  33. CraigS.
    Jan 21, 2005
    8
    Worth the money-insightful, entertaining.
  34. DavidD.
    Jan 23, 2005
    8
    Very entertaining - definitely worth the price of a ticket.
  35. NathanG.
    Jan 28, 2005
    9
    Funny, heartwarming, and most importantly intelligent film. Great entertainment value and Johansson graces the screen with her amazing presence. Hats off to Topher Grace and Quaid as well for their warm and humorous portrayals of what could have been mere caricatures.
  36. JulieC
    Feb 14, 2005
    8
    Perfect casting and a pleasingly unpredictable plot give shape to this smarter than normal romantic company. Topher Grace gives his best performance to date, squeezing out audience amusement and empathy with his endearing awkwardness. The film
  37. MathiasC.
    Oct 16, 2006
    8
    Come on, this is a sweet film, and its message that it shouldn't always be about the money is refreshing during these increasingly self-centered, cut-throat times. Let's call it "The Graduate" meets "Father Knows Best," and you'll be getting the right idea. All said, it's a warm tale that deserved better praise, a nice tonic after viewing "Enron: The Smartest Guys in Come on, this is a sweet film, and its message that it shouldn't always be about the money is refreshing during these increasingly self-centered, cut-throat times. Let's call it "The Graduate" meets "Father Knows Best," and you'll be getting the right idea. All said, it's a warm tale that deserved better praise, a nice tonic after viewing "Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room," not to mention the president's State of the Union address, for that matter. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Weitz gives all his actors room to shine.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    A smooth mixture of satire and sentiment that owes an obvious debt to "The Apartment," not to mention "Jerry Maguire."
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    An often lively comedy-drama that lands some nice jabs at the mega-corp ethos, In Good Company makes for pretty good company until going soft when it counts.