Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: When Brooklynite Seth takes his girlfriend Andie to his family’s weekend house in upstate New York for a romantic getaway, they are unexpectedly joined by his estranged father Gil, and his much-younger new girlfriend, Vicky. The women carefully negotiate emotional minefields as they persuadeWhen Brooklynite Seth takes his girlfriend Andie to his family’s weekend house in upstate New York for a romantic getaway, they are unexpectedly joined by his estranged father Gil, and his much-younger new girlfriend, Vicky. The women carefully negotiate emotional minefields as they persuade father and son to share the house for the first time since the summer vacations of Seth's childhood. This unexpected family reunion in the great outdoors, fraught with tensions old and new, pushes them all to realize the bonds of family are always stronger and stranger than expected. (Cinedigm / Flatiron Film Company) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Nov 12, 2012
    80
    A quiet, nearly plot-free drama enlivened by beautifully nuanced performances by its four-person leading ensemble, In Our Nature depicts familiar dysfunctional family dynamics with a welcome lack of melodrama.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Dec 11, 2012
    75
    As prophetic as it is provocative, exploring dysfunction, in a recognizable but no less satisfying way.
  3. Reviewed by: Leah Churner
    Dec 12, 2012
    67
    A study in fine gradations of resentment in the great outdoors, In Our Nature is a little too subtle for this genre. Country-house-fiasco films are only satisfying when the shit truly hits the fan.
  4. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Dec 5, 2012
    58
    Brian Savelson's small-scaled domestic drama In Our Nature evokes a specific, fairly common experience: when two young lovers expose a still-blossoming relationship to their relatives' stifling attention.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 7, 2012
    50
    Nuanced work by the great John Slattery ("Mad Men") as an emotionally distant dad isn't enough to sustain more than sporadic interest in Brian Savelson's underwritten, slow-moving indie, which plays distressingly like a photographed off-Broadway drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Pete Vonder Haar
    Dec 4, 2012
    50
    By the time Savelson has hit all the obligatory checkpoints (unplanned pregnancy, dying parents, bear home invasion), the reconciliation we all saw coming has been achieved.
  7. Reviewed by: Diego Costa
    Dec 7, 2012
    25
    In Our Nature's visual style seems plastered on or allocated, not developed with any sort of authorial singularity.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    I've just watched it and I'm truly amazed how psychologically accurate this film was... The difficult father- son relationship is showed in aI've just watched it and I'm truly amazed how psychologically accurate this film was... The difficult father- son relationship is showed in a both subtle and complex way... All the dialogues seemed really natural and fitting the events on the screen. The acting was superb, all 4 leads couldn't do a better job and I can't really understand why this film didn't get a wider recognition. I would love to see more pictures like this, moving family dramas, telling some important truths about relationships with people we love and yet find it so difficult to communicate with. Collapse

Trailers