User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 79
  2. Negative: 51 out of 79

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    I was personally really touched by Angelina's movie, and to me the first 30 minutes of the movie seemed dense and intense. After the first 30 minutes the movie becomes a little tenacious. I understand that some people acuse Angelina to be biased for the benefit of the muslims, but she tried showing both sides. Perhaps it was her intention to emphasize the sorrow of the muslims especially the women's. This is also a point I really like about the movie, that it focuses on women. In some reviews it sais that the violence scenes in the movie are too intense. I do not doubt that the real occurence was less violent, it could have been even worse, so don't blame Angelina for beeing realistic at least in this point. Overmore I don't think someone would have ever complained about that if she wasn't an feminin actress.
    Now comes a point that I missed in her movie: although the movie starts from a womens perspective, the main character seems to be Danijel. The spectator has much more chances to identificate himself with him, because he expresses his feelings and the spectator can observe his development. There are many situations in the movie, were I expected Ajla to express her feelings and to tell the spectator her view of the things. But she remains somekind of unaltered throughout the movie. This is a pitty, as Angelina had the chance to show a woman, who really sufferd, not only as a victim but also as a person that still has the freedom to cope with her situation.
    Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Anglelina Jolie has absolutely no taste in directing a film, no taste. In the land of Blood and Honey is awful, it's script has very little violent story bits to deliver along with violence and depicted war in a romantic setting. The film points in weird direction in its 50 minutes but then tries to fix itself in the climax but doesn't succeed. The climax is very, very hairy when they show disgusting grisly images! I mean is this supposed to be a violent war film or romantic film! Make us understand Ms. Jolie! The climax is not sad but the film makes it terribly sad. In the middle of the movie there are several sexual scenes that are supposed to be in the film? So far we have got Romance, War, Bloody Violent War and sexy stuff. Must Be Kidding. This is a one for my review because the movie was a clichefest but only, only the acting was good. Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    For all the nimrods on here giving this film a 0 or 1 for apparent political reasons, it is not a damn documentary. This is a very watchable film. It is long, but holds your interest. This comes from a viewer that is not a fan of foreign films, simply because I grow tired of reading. Anyway, please refrain from downgrading a film to make some sort of misplaced political comment.
  4. May 11, 2012
    4
    Shame, shame, Andrew O'Hehir of Salon.com for rating this film with an "80." You should know better. The script is terrible - it's so bad that all the good things about the movie are irrelevant.
  5. Feb 28, 2012
    7
    Ignore all the negative user reviews, most of them are made by ultra nationalists Serbs that are full of hate. This movie realistically pictures war crimes done by Serbs in Bosnian war. THESE CRIMES HAPPENED and whoever denies that is no better than people who deny holocaust. Sure directing could be better but this is Angie's first movie and she did a great job for a first one. As someone who lived on Bosnia during the war (and I still live here) I am surprised with level of Realistic details that are put together in this film. Thank you Angie for caring. A solid 7. Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2012
    3
    Sadly, a very predictable and simplistic film which could have been much more. No surprise the Academy has ignored it. Simple in that all Serbs are "bad" and all Muslims are "victims". Nothing could be further from the truth. That error ends up diluting this film to one of entertainment with no historical context or perspective. Too bad. The fact is that barbarity was endemic on all sides. Especially amongst the Croats who murdered and raped with the best of them. the Bosnians were no different. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    I think the background of the story is something well-informed people should be aware of. This was another Holocaust, although of a smaller scale. I love the fact that Angelina Jolie chose such a serious topic for her directorial and writing efforts. Kudos to her.
  8. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    I just looked at Angelina's film "In the Land of Blood and Honey" and I can say that the movie is fantastic. Well done Angie, you said everything the way it is ... The international community did nothing to stop genocide and ethnic cleansing, about how the war started, not to mention ... smart and educated people know the truth. As for the rape scene, I was frankly a lot of throwing up babies from six months through the window because she was crying ... The film should look at all those who have passed the war, and especially those who speak of him and discussed, and it did not feel any trace. Congratulations to Angie debut on my behalf and on behalf of all my citizens of Sarajevo! "Unlike a number of smart, who will speak to these days or you do not need to go see a movie, I'll tell you - look at their eyes, hear with their ears. If you do not know whether it was indeed shown that - I'll tell you, the first person singular, is - everything I saw and experienced his eyes. to you to accept the truth or to entertain false hopes that we do not live in the land of blood and honey ... it hurts, tough, arduous and at times nauseating movie . But even we were on holiday from 92-95. However, some are. and they especially do not recommend the movie because they will be increased pressure and will say - peace, peace, no one to blame. Until next time .... " Expand
  9. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    If Angelina wanted to tell a story she should have told it from both angle, because every story has two sides. Bosnians committed crimes during that war also, but nobody mentioned that.
  10. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    It shows the war for what it was and glosses over nothing, the cast are fantastic and for a first directorial debut Jolie has done a fantastic job. Sure the love story does get a bit bogged down within the torture being shown but the war is more than a backdrop for the movie, it is its own character.
  11. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Excellent movie, great cast, true story abut bloody aggression on Bosnia; some people can't stand a truth and would greatly dislike this movie, which should not be any proof on quality of the movie itself. Worth of viewing.
  12. Feb 12, 2012
    0
    this movie is bunch of lies and wrong interpretation of bosnian civil war .bosnian muslims talks about 100000 raped women and 200000 killed , it s not true , and serbs are not only bad guys....
  13. Feb 9, 2012
    0
    This movie is superficial, shallow, boring and and untrue. Every civil war is tragic with a lot of suffering and if somebody is making a movie first one supposes to learn real facts. AJ made one sided view with lack of understanding what really happened and history in this region- cheap Muslim propaganda with insulting Serbian people and Serbian victims. To bad for somebody who calls herself "humanitarian". Collapse
  14. Feb 3, 2012
    5
    No point of making any movie on this subject without knowing these facts unless you just want to ignore them. The must read actual facts address given by the late General Pierre-Marie Gallois on March 25, 2009, in Paris. http://www.balkanstudies.org/articles/understanding-balkan-wars. If you want to make a movie not based on historical facts, than it might as well be a comedy. I was not expecting AJ to be this disrespectful towards victims on all sides especially since she saw real suffering. 5 stars for the cast and the good cinematography. Too bad, this was the opportunity to say something powerful from a romantic perspective. Everyone there was guilty, including the international community, the ones that did nothing and the ones that caused the whole thing and got involved later; (emphasizing Serbs as main villains is not the reality. Showing violence done just by one nationality and expecting to unite people there? All sides were extremely violent. This war is a typical - book example of a divide and conquer situation done by superpowers. As a result you have many head-cases self-elect themselves to do the tortures in the "name of their nations". Horrible reality.

    I don't think that the goal of the writer/director was a divide and conquer. Lack of knowledge- yes. After centuries of suffering, damage and dissecting of the Balkans by superpowers conquer what? Another superpower match over who will rule the skies above and the Adriatic? While the citizens in the area end up being just casualties of war!
    Expand
  15. Jan 28, 2012
    0
    Poor Angelina, been blind for the rape, blood on streets in her own neighborhood, homelessness, poverty , racism, helpless to do anything for her own kind, she goes to a far away country she knows nothing about, to talk about their story.Story she can't understand, less make a movie about. Thus is not surprising that pictures in the movie can't bring anything but brutality, which are not even shocking. To make great movie you have to have some abilities to be intellectual, educated, wise, mature and she has nothing of that. She is not even a Lady, less close to Lady D , she hopes to be. Balkan people are what they are , be muslim, catholic, orthodox Christians they are the same - in way how they love , hate , relate to each other. They share the very same genes, blood, names , language and history and they will continue to have hate and love relationships forever, no matter what other people think . Expand
  16. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Angelina chose the wrong direction to be 'madeâ
  17. Jan 26, 2012
    0
    Movie made from one sided view, without any desire to understand and explain to the viewers reality and tragedy of all sides involved in that tragic war
  18. Jan 26, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Shallow and banal. Typical Hollywood version of a war. No wonder it has 3.3 on IMD. Rambo and James Bond movies are art for this peace of garbage that is directed by Angelina Jollie. Expand
  19. Jan 26, 2012
    0
    Utter tripe, people. Very one sided, cheap, gritty and violent. Shows none respect to the victims of the other side, instead the Serbs are shown as penultimate badguys.
  20. Jan 20, 2012
    1
    For the trained or informed viewer the message becomes utterly predictable only after the introduction part of the story. After that it is highly insulting for the Serbs and all factually informed people who personally know about civil war, especially about that tragic region more than what the average Western viewer will ever be allowed to know via their usually available media sources that are not
    objective no matter how many times they are keen to repeat that fib.
    Seriously good acting and good standard directing for a cherry-popping
    movie for Jolie... I wish Angelina could have done it so much better
    and fairer with her not really informative story line in her debut that
    smells of dubious and occasionally even obvious subjectivity during her
    "research" period. On the other hand; if Madonna can get a Golden Globe
    for a song nobody really knows, I would not be surprised if she gets an
    Oscar for a movie nobody will remember. As long some positive PR spin
    done for US policy no matter how deeply stereotypically hypocritical it
    is. It's all a game for that part of that franchise; a cruel game of
    mirror-mirage distortion in pursuit of the Holy dollar no matter how
    dirty or otherwise contaminated the financier's banknote really is and
    where it is coming from. Really exposing debut for such a talented
    actress and director but from an unexpected and rather dark angle...
    Expand
  21. Jan 20, 2012
    0
    Hollywood history. Topic of this story is subject to much heated debate among historians, lawyers and politicians and one, Hollywood actress is trying to tell us the story in oversimplified and one sided way, which wouldn't be too dangerous if this was some action movie. But this film, pretends to be serious and historical, and one by watching it does not get the full pictures about the events during the period. Expand
  22. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    This movie is intelligent, strongly executed, well-crafted, intense, graphic, and compelling. It is one of the best movies of the year. Jolie did an excellent job for a first time director. I will write a more detailed review later. She was brave for tackling this controversial subject. It is from the victim's point of view and should be viewed circumstantially instead of taking any sides politically or religiously. Zana Marjanovic gives an Oscar-worthy performance. It was so heartbreaking. I was horrified, moved, saddened, and even enlightened at times. It was such a powerful and thought-provoking experience. God bless those people affected by the Bosnian War. It also sheds a light on rape was used as weapon in war. It shines a light on atrocities and brings awareness. I decided to contribute to relief efforts in Bosnia and Yugoslavia after watching this film. This is a fine achievement and should be critically acclaimed especially when compared to fluff like The Artist which got high reviews and is incosequential in comparison. This is the type of movie that could have done well at Cannes. It is a shame she has to overcome media corruption, personal misconceptions, and slander. The nasty comments on Rottentomatoes was really upsetting. Plenty of users gave excellent reviews but the site is just displaying two inflammatory post from her haters who believe lies about her and those type of comments shouldn't even be allowed. You could tell some people were just flaming her and have not seen the film. She is NOT a homewrecker and that bs shouldn't even brought into discussion of the movie anyway. No other actress has to deal with that. That lawsuit had no legitimacy and was based on a false, far-fetched claim
    but now you have Fanistons bombarding Rottentomatoes & other sites with ugly attacks that have no basis in truth. Those inflammatory comments should not be allowed on that site. I also want to make note of the fact that Peter Travers review for Rolling Stone was labeled positive here but gotten a rotten rating on the tomatometer. He or the other site needs to fix that. The Salon review was also positive here and labeled rotten on the tomatometer. There is a discrepancy. The rottentomatoes site needs to fix this asap! I really hope by 2012, the ratings will be higher, at around 60% on both sites.
    Expand
  23. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    A startling, engrossing, unflinching war drama that is well executed and well acted. If you didn't know who was behind it you'd never guess that it was by a first time director. It can stand alongside other war dramas like The Pianist.
  24. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    I shows the war for what it was and glosses over nothing, the cast are fantastic and for a first directorial debut Jolie has done a fantastic job. Sure the love story does get a bit bogged down within the torture being shown but the war is more than a backdrop for the movie, it is its own character.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 3, 2012
    63
    With its broad strokes, this invitation to an important discussion is hard to ignore, but the blood and honey on the table is an unpalatable mix.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 19, 2012
    63
    The bloody narrative has an oddly bloodless effect. But that's not surprising – not when a film is so eager to double as a lecture.
  3. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jan 12, 2012
    63
    If viewers are left feeling just as impotent as many of the characters, that may be precisely what Jolie intended for a film that asks nothing more of its audience than to bear witness.