Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set against the backdrop of the Bosnian War that tore the Balkan region apart in the 1990s, "In the Land of Blood and Honey" tells the story of Danijel and Ajla, two people from different sides of a brutal ethnic conflict. Danijel, a soldier fighting for the Serbs, and Ajla, a Bosnian held captive in the camp he oversees, knew each other before the war, and could have found love with each other. But as the armed conflict takes hold of their lives, their relationship grows darker, their motives and connection to one another ambiguous, their allegiances uncertain. "In the Land of Blood and Honey" portrays the incredible emotional, moral and physical toll that the war exerts both on individuals and people as a whole, and the terrible consequences that stem from the lack of political will to intervene in a society stricken with conflict. (FilmDistrict)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Dec 19, 2011
    83
    The most impressive thing about In the Land of Blood and Honey is that Jolie makes you feel it.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Dec 20, 2011
    80
    Occasionally, the movie italicizes its points with heavy musical drones, but its tone is remarkably even and concentrated: It makes sense that Jolie excels at stewarding the scenes she usually tears apart onscreen: two people struggling in an emotional death grip, the camera up close.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 26, 2011
    75
    Danijel, who cares for Ajla while at the same time carrying out his mission of ethnic cleansing, is the least fully explored character in the movie, which leaves a big blur at its core. Still, this is an impressive piece of work that doesn't flinch from the atrocities that no doubt motivated Jolie to make the film in the first place.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 29, 2011
    63
    At times, Jolie rises to the pulpit when she should stay on the ground. Her theme is too complex for her scattered screenplay to encompass. It's as a director that Jolie shines.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jan 12, 2012
    63
    If viewers are left feeling just as impotent as many of the characters, that may be precisely what Jolie intended for a film that asks nothing more of its audience than to bear witness.
  6. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Jan 5, 2012
    50
    The tendency that often sinks Angelina Jolie's performances - overemphasizing certain naturalistic behaviors at the expense of well-rounded characterization - more or less sinks her first film as writer-director.
  7. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Dec 20, 2011
    10
    The denouement that sorts it all out moves from predictable tragedy to ludicrous redemption; closing titles confirm that the motivating intent in making In the Land of Blood and Honey was activist rather than artistic.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 29
  2. Negative: 15 out of 29
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    I shows the war for what it was and glosses over nothing, the cast are fantastic and for a first directorial debut Jolie has done a fantastic job. Sure the love story does get a bit bogged down within the torture being shown but the war is more than a backdrop for the movie, it is its own character. Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    I just looked at Angelina's film "In the Land of Blood and Honey" and I can say that the movie is fantastic. Well done Angie, you said everything the way it is ... The international community did nothing to stop genocide and ethnic cleansing, about how the war started, not to mention ... smart and educated people know the truth. As for the rape scene, I was frankly a lot of throwing up babies from six months through the window because she was crying ... The film should look at all those who have passed the war, and especially those who speak of him and discussed, and it did not feel any trace. Congratulations to Angie debut on my behalf and on behalf of all my citizens of Sarajevo! "Unlike a number of smart, who will speak to these days or you do not need to go see a movie, I'll tell you - look at their eyes, hear with their ears. If you do not know whether it was indeed shown that - I'll tell you, the first person singular, is - everything I saw and experienced his eyes. to you to accept the truth or to entertain false hopes that we do not live in the land of blood and honey ... it hurts, tough, arduous and at times nauseating movie . But even we were on holiday from 92-95. However, some are. and they especially do not recommend the movie because they will be increased pressure and will say - peace, peace, no one to blame. Until next time .... " Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    This movie is intelligent, strongly executed, well-crafted, intense, graphic, and compelling. It is one of the best movies of the year. Jolie did an excellent job for a first time director. I will write a more detailed review later. She was brave for tackling this controversial subject. It is from the victim's point of view and should be viewed circumstantially instead of taking any sides politically or religiously. Zana Marjanovic gives an Oscar-worthy performance. It was so heartbreaking. I was horrified, moved, saddened, and even enlightened at times. It was such a powerful and thought-provoking experience. God bless those people affected by the Bosnian War. It also sheds a light on rape was used as weapon in war. It shines a light on atrocities and brings awareness. I decided to contribute to relief efforts in Bosnia and Yugoslavia after watching this film. This is a fine achievement and should be critically acclaimed especially when compared to fluff like The Artist which got high reviews and is incosequential in comparison. This is the type of movie that could have done well at Cannes. It is a shame she has to overcome media corruption, personal misconceptions, and slander. The nasty comments on Rottentomatoes was really upsetting. Plenty of users gave excellent reviews but the site is just displaying two inflammatory post from her haters who believe lies about her and those type of comments shouldn't even be allowed. You could tell some people were just flaming her and have not seen the film. She is NOT a homewrecker and that bs shouldn't even brought into discussion of the movie anyway. No other actress has to deal with that. That lawsuit had no legitimacy and was based on a false, far-fetched claim
    but now you have Fanistons bombarding Rottentomatoes & other sites with ugly attacks that have no basis in truth. Those inflammatory comments should not be allowed on that site. I also want to make note of the fact that Peter Travers review for Rolling Stone was labeled positive here but gotten a rotten rating on the tomatometer. He or the other site needs to fix that. The Salon review was also positive here and labeled rotten on the tomatometer. There is a discrepancy. The rottentomatoes site needs to fix this asap! I really hope by 2012, the ratings will be higher, at around 60% on both sites.
    Expand
  4. May 11, 2012
    4
    Shame, shame, Andrew O'Hehir of Salon.com for rating this film with an "80." You should know better. The script is terrible - it's so bad that all the good things about the movie are irrelevant. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Anglelina Jolie has absolutely no taste in directing a film, no taste. In the land of Blood and Honey is awful, it's script has very little violent story bits to deliver along with violence and depicted war in a romantic setting. The film points in weird direction in its 50 minutes but then tries to fix itself in the climax but doesn't succeed. The climax is very, very hairy when they show disgusting grisly images! I mean is this supposed to be a violent war film or romantic film! Make us understand Ms. Jolie! The climax is not sad but the film makes it terribly sad. In the middle of the movie there are several sexual scenes that are supposed to be in the film? So far we have got Romance, War, Bloody Violent War and sexy stuff. Must Be Kidding. This is a one for my review because the movie was a clichefest but only, only the acting was good. Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    If Angelina wanted to tell a story she should have told it from both angle, because every story has two sides. Bosnians committed crimes during that war also, but nobody mentioned that. Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Shallow and banal. Typical Hollywood version of a war. No wonder it has 3.3 on IMD. Rambo and James Bond movies are art for this peace of garbage that is directed by Angelina Jollie. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews