Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: April 20, 2007
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 22 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
8
Mixed:
9
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LoverofGrinderOct 5, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't let the critics sour you on this utterly captivating film. What do critics know anyway? Carter, his life in shreds in LA, has a chance to fly to Michigan on family affairs and meets the family across the street, Mom who has advanced cancer, pretty Lucy who has relationship issues with her mom, and her cute and precocious younger sister, Paige who wants to marry Carter. The dialogue is effortless and charming and deftly delivered by everyone involved. One young guy's chance to invade a hitherto unknown realm for him and get to better understand the workings of those mysterious creatures we call women. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
birdmannavyJun 18, 2014
Absolutely superb. This film is Kasdan through and through, though it be written and directed by a son of the great Lawrence Kasdan, Jon Kasdan. It is not a light romantic comedy, nor is it really a comedy, or even a "romance" per se. WhatAbsolutely superb. This film is Kasdan through and through, though it be written and directed by a son of the great Lawrence Kasdan, Jon Kasdan. It is not a light romantic comedy, nor is it really a comedy, or even a "romance" per se. What it is is a good drama and well worth the Ten that I have given it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
masterjohnson1Jan 29, 2014
Stay away from this movie, it is not good at all and its not often I will say that.
If you are looking for a comedy don't watch it because I didn't find it funny at all
I am giving it a 3 because Meg Ryan did a great job and that is it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BitBurnOct 22, 2007
Methinks this was a cute film to watch with the wife on a Sunday night!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
OrdepZ.Apr 26, 2007
The trailers blow this movie to be somehting of a big heart warmer but in reality the blowing up did nothing for the movie. I was disapointed at Adrien Brody's performance. I mean I know he is young and what not but still there are The trailers blow this movie to be somehting of a big heart warmer but in reality the blowing up did nothing for the movie. I was disapointed at Adrien Brody's performance. I mean I know he is young and what not but still there are people who are just his age and have the whole acting thing down pact. His performance in my opinon was the worst in the movie. Meg Ryan's character also was a bit out of place I didnt understand her, its almost as if her character didnt have any common sense. Well overall the movie was a disapointment even though it came out with good intentions I think there could have been a better performance overall. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Apr 23, 2007
If "In the Land of the Women" wanted to put more distance between itself and Zach Braff's "Garden State", Carter Webb(Adam Brody) had to get happy in order for us to see if his relationships with Sarah(Meg Ryan) and Lucy(Kristen If "In the Land of the Women" wanted to put more distance between itself and Zach Braff's "Garden State", Carter Webb(Adam Brody) had to get happy in order for us to see if his relationships with Sarah(Meg Ryan) and Lucy(Kristen Stewart) would alter any. Braff's character had an everyman quality, but Carter is different; he's a chick magnet, a sad chick magnet, whose forces of hotness even when set at hangdog, manages to pull a mother and daughter irrevocably towards his lips. When Carter was dating Sofia(Elena Anaya), his hot Latina model-girlfriend, would he have deemed these Wolverine State gals as being below his station? Let's not forget that Carter Webb was born and bred in Los Angeles(his mother, played by JoBeth Williams seems a little snobby). Nevertheless, "In the Land of the Women" withstands the negation of a litmus test for Carter's actual persona, and the "Terms of Endearment"-like trick of reconciling a feuding mother and daughter, to earn the title of "Garden State"-lite replete with one inspired moment(hint: John Hughes' ouevre is mentioned and there's a payoff to the film's name-dropping). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BlancoA.Apr 23, 2007
It's a little movie, sure, but it's worth seeing. I'm glad I checked it out (with the "2" other people in the theater). Brody is solid in this role, and the writers didn't take the audience down the most predictable It's a little movie, sure, but it's worth seeing. I'm glad I checked it out (with the "2" other people in the theater). Brody is solid in this role, and the writers didn't take the audience down the most predictable paths. [BTW: if you're from LA, the character probably went to Crossroads, which is a little interesting. Am I right J.K.?] Meg Ryan's character could have been fleshed out a bit more, but her relationship with the Brody character is really interesting. And while the teenage girl isn't totally believable, her anger & frustration with her mother is fleshed out well, and it services the conclusion of the film nicely. Oh yes, and Olympia Dukakis is a hoot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SarahP.Apr 21, 2007
At least it's better than watching the OC. which doesn't say much but it does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful