IFC Films | Release Date: July 24, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 96 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
79
Mixed:
10
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
avt_12Aug 26, 2010
anyone who likes to indulge in the lighter side of politics will LOVE this movie. those giving bad reviews are simply too thick to understand!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
keithwJul 25, 2009
Smart-Fast-Very Funny-A MUST SEE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlieWJul 27, 2009
Like 'the office' but set in transatlantic politics and everyone has tourettes. This film is so brilliantly offensive you wonder how it was made, let alone released. The dialogue is painfully good and delivered by a cast of Like 'the office' but set in transatlantic politics and everyone has tourettes. This film is so brilliantly offensive you wonder how it was made, let alone released. The dialogue is painfully good and delivered by a cast of commited maniacs that hold your attention even when the plot wobbles. If this is even close to representing our dual systems of government I'm terrified. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomM.Jul 27, 2009
Extremely enjoyable. Portrays a believable universe where statecraft is more influenced by subterfuge than facts. Also hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GilroyH.Jul 29, 2009
Oh yes! Some prolonged laughter (mine and everyone around me) that actually stepped on what would have been yet more laughs. And what a deep bench for a cast--Mimi Kennedy's mortifying retreat from a meeting deserves mention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormGAug 2, 2009
Obviously inspired by the fact U.K. "intelligence" helped support the Bush administration's plan for invading Iraq, In The Loop, is a fast paced super funny comedy that will be over the heads of 92% of the average young American movie Obviously inspired by the fact U.K. "intelligence" helped support the Bush administration's plan for invading Iraq, In The Loop, is a fast paced super funny comedy that will be over the heads of 92% of the average young American movie going public. Lotsa curse words, looks of foul jokes but still very intelligent. It can work if you write a will rounded comedy which covers all the bases. Which is what In The Loop is. Because of the rapid fire British accents I missed some of the dialogue. I am looking forward to the DVD and subtitles. If you think The Hangover is the gold standard of comedy skip In The Loop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidDAug 17, 2009
Perfect for political junkies and fans of West Wing-style intrigue. 'In The Loop' offers tons of laughs but leaves you with a bitter truth: the greatest evil stems not from masterminds, but from the sum totality of a thousand Perfect for political junkies and fans of West Wing-style intrigue. 'In The Loop' offers tons of laughs but leaves you with a bitter truth: the greatest evil stems not from masterminds, but from the sum totality of a thousand slavish thoughts and craven actions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HamrikLAug 18, 2009
I loved this film.So funny with intelligent humour.This is a spin off from the BBC TV series The Thick of it.If you watch that first then you can decide to see the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdSAug 18, 2009
Loved it, and laughed out loud throughout. "Brilliant," as the Brits would say, in the tradition stretching back to Hogarth and Gillray. And, like all great satire, it doesn't stray far from the truth! Only sour note was the miscasting Loved it, and laughed out loud throughout. "Brilliant," as the Brits would say, in the tradition stretching back to Hogarth and Gillray. And, like all great satire, it doesn't stray far from the truth! Only sour note was the miscasting of Gandolfini, but his bit with the talking calculator more than redeems this faux pas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenGAug 21, 2009
This movie never really convinced me it knew what it was talking about (which the very best satires do), and it really doesn't give you much insight on how government runs (other then the idea that critical decisions and policies are This movie never really convinced me it knew what it was talking about (which the very best satires do), and it really doesn't give you much insight on how government runs (other then the idea that critical decisions and policies are made and run by people who shouldn't be doing so), but still it's an amusing and clever story which I guess is based on the fimmakers concept of how these things work. And on that level, the movie works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneNAug 21, 2009
Bloody brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarrenLAug 22, 2009
Funniest movie I've seen this year. Banality of evil, indeed. I loved "The Thick Of It" (thanks, You Tube!) and it was great to see Malcolm and Jamie back to their old tricks again. Unlike "The Thick Of It", however, the other Funniest movie I've seen this year. Banality of evil, indeed. I loved "The Thick Of It" (thanks, You Tube!) and it was great to see Malcolm and Jamie back to their old tricks again. Unlike "The Thick Of It", however, the other characters were a little less interesting, and some of the scenes dragged on a bit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
nickjSep 13, 2009
The funniest movie in a very long time. A sharp, extremely witty script that draws brilliant parallels to the Iraq war. Very well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveDSep 20, 2009
The profanity almost made me walk out as well. And I'm glad I stayed. The plot developments in the second half made the movie worthwhile. I recommend it, especially for people interested in politics, the UN, and war mongering.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KidFrameOct 13, 2009
This is the kind of dialogue I was expectiong from Tarantino´s Inglourious Basterds. If only someone could mashem up...very clever satire. Great editing and directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenD.Feb 2, 2010
The very foul dialogue usually doesn't fair well with me like movies like the Coen Brothers make (which are all good anyways besides the cussing), but you cant help but to laugh all the way through. The plot was not weak, it was a huge The very foul dialogue usually doesn't fair well with me like movies like the Coen Brothers make (which are all good anyways besides the cussing), but you cant help but to laugh all the way through. The plot was not weak, it was a huge satire that they pulled off perfectly. Only way not to love this movie is if your a fan of the Scary Movie type movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulDFeb 22, 2010
This is some of the best satire in ages. A terrific comedy for anyone who's into politics on either end of the pond. What a great script - there are so many classic lines in here!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilipB.Mar 8, 2010
Brilliant performances and a razor script full of memorable lines, the film would have still worked just as well with a bit less swearing but I still spent most of the duration in hysterics or at the least captivated amusement. I've not Brilliant performances and a razor script full of memorable lines, the film would have still worked just as well with a bit less swearing but I still spent most of the duration in hysterics or at the least captivated amusement. I've not actually seen "In The Thick Of It" yet but it's been bumped up my list now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Nesbitt10Jan 30, 2013
The pace is fast and the approach is uncensored. "In the Loop" conveys a sense of instability and speed. The dialogue comes in cascades of exuberant comic language. Characters indulge in frantic and absurd monologues. The language isThe pace is fast and the approach is uncensored. "In the Loop" conveys a sense of instability and speed. The dialogue comes in cascades of exuberant comic language. Characters indulge in frantic and absurd monologues. The language is brilliant, and the laugh lines come so quickly that your going to have to watch the movie twice to start to pick them up. Although concealed beneath the splendor of comedy is a vision of self-serving people, who are self-absorbed and unable to see past their own interests.
The United States and Britain are rushing to war, in this pointed British satire, and everyone in government, on both sides of the Atlantic, is scrambling for position. Quietly underlying these amusing interactions and laughs is the implication that the Americans are wealthy and entitled, and that the Brit's are merely junior partners.
The movie follows a litany of characters but mainly centers around Simon (Tom Hollander) as he struggles to maintain his balance. Simon unintentionally refers to war with the Middle East as "unforeseeable", then tries to correct what he has been told is a terrible gaffe. His attempt to smooth things over only makes things worse, when he proclaims that Britain "must be ready to climb the mountain of conflict." Because he is against the war, he comes into contact with American undersecretary (Mimi Kennedy), and a pacifist American general, played by James Gandollfini. At the same time, Simon has to appease his own government's apoplectic communications director Malcolm Tucker (Peter Capaldi), whose performance is priceless-boarding on legendary.
"In the Loop" is uncompromising in its speed and audacity. Even among the moderate characters, there seems to be hardly any awareness of the true cost of war, loss of life, and what this all entails. These functionaries are lost in the fog of government, incapable of seeing past their petty grievances and career concerns. What a terrifying thought that this is possibly closer to reality than we care to think of it. The film is adapted from the critically acclaimed BBC series "The Thick of It."
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobApr 5, 2014
Went into the movie blind and I gotta say it was pretty enjoyable. A few funny bits here and there, Likable characters as well. Overall, It was simply a very satisfying movie and I'd definitely recommend checking it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NRNSWDec 26, 2015
well written with excellent performances throughout, this is a must see movie. In particular, Peter Capaldi and Tom Hollander are stand-outs...........
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews