IFC Films | Release Date: July 24, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 96 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
79
Mixed:
10
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
NRNSWDec 26, 2015
well written with excellent performances throughout, this is a must see movie. In particular, Peter Capaldi and Tom Hollander are stand-outs...........
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobApr 5, 2014
Went into the movie blind and I gotta say it was pretty enjoyable. A few funny bits here and there, Likable characters as well. Overall, It was simply a very satisfying movie and I'd definitely recommend checking it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Nesbitt10Jan 30, 2013
The pace is fast and the approach is uncensored. "In the Loop" conveys a sense of instability and speed. The dialogue comes in cascades of exuberant comic language. Characters indulge in frantic and absurd monologues. The language isThe pace is fast and the approach is uncensored. "In the Loop" conveys a sense of instability and speed. The dialogue comes in cascades of exuberant comic language. Characters indulge in frantic and absurd monologues. The language is brilliant, and the laugh lines come so quickly that your going to have to watch the movie twice to start to pick them up. Although concealed beneath the splendor of comedy is a vision of self-serving people, who are self-absorbed and unable to see past their own interests.
The United States and Britain are rushing to war, in this pointed British satire, and everyone in government, on both sides of the Atlantic, is scrambling for position. Quietly underlying these amusing interactions and laughs is the implication that the Americans are wealthy and entitled, and that the Brit's are merely junior partners.
The movie follows a litany of characters but mainly centers around Simon (Tom Hollander) as he struggles to maintain his balance. Simon unintentionally refers to war with the Middle East as "unforeseeable", then tries to correct what he has been told is a terrible gaffe. His attempt to smooth things over only makes things worse, when he proclaims that Britain "must be ready to climb the mountain of conflict." Because he is against the war, he comes into contact with American undersecretary (Mimi Kennedy), and a pacifist American general, played by James Gandollfini. At the same time, Simon has to appease his own government's apoplectic communications director Malcolm Tucker (Peter Capaldi), whose performance is priceless-boarding on legendary.
"In the Loop" is uncompromising in its speed and audacity. Even among the moderate characters, there seems to be hardly any awareness of the true cost of war, loss of life, and what this all entails. These functionaries are lost in the fog of government, incapable of seeing past their petty grievances and career concerns. What a terrifying thought that this is possibly closer to reality than we care to think of it. The film is adapted from the critically acclaimed BBC series "The Thick of It."
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
misterdogOct 18, 2012
If your idea of being entertained, is listening to a 100 minute long saga of people cursing and shouting on eachother, you are better of with the jerry springer boxset. Yes the dialogues are snap, but they loose their edge very quicklyIf your idea of being entertained, is listening to a 100 minute long saga of people cursing and shouting on eachother, you are better of with the jerry springer boxset. Yes the dialogues are snap, but they loose their edge very quickly because of all the potty-mouthing. And the concept is not very new either as political games and their hypocrisy behind the scenes, were already portrayed in good movies such as wag the dog, which is far more entertaining.

I feel like i wasted 2 euros on this (bought it cheap), even tough i'm a big fan of Tony Soprano...
Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
IyunzustoNov 4, 2010
The problem with this movie is it has 4 writers.. and probably 3 of them are funny. The fourth is a pretentious wanker and their influence taints all of the otherwise funny cracks with a sort of pompous self importance that renders themThe problem with this movie is it has 4 writers.. and probably 3 of them are funny. The fourth is a pretentious wanker and their influence taints all of the otherwise funny cracks with a sort of pompous self importance that renders them boring. You will sit and acknowledge each joke one by one while not raising so much as a chuckle, but recognising that underneath, they had something. It's a shame. Some people say this movie's too smart for most people and you have to be intelligent to 'get it'. The irony is, if you're really intelligent, you're past getting it. You've had it.

Here's an example of a joke: Him: "You look beautiful", her: "Oh thank you, I bet you say that to all the girls.", him: "I do. And some of the soldiers, too." ha ... ha?
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
avt_12Aug 26, 2010
anyone who likes to indulge in the lighter side of politics will LOVE this movie. those giving bad reviews are simply too thick to understand!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
T.M.Mar 29, 2010
This movie may be "true to life", as the documentary-style camerawork was probably trying to say, but considering it's supposed to be a satire, it missed the fact that satire is supposed to be funny. I did not laugh once. Admittedly I This movie may be "true to life", as the documentary-style camerawork was probably trying to say, but considering it's supposed to be a satire, it missed the fact that satire is supposed to be funny. I did not laugh once. Admittedly I only watched 25 minutes of it, but that was as much as I could stand. All the characters were (intentionally?) either hateful creeps, stupid twits, or both simultaneously. Can't believe this script was nominated for an Oscar! It sounded great "on paper", but don't waste your time. It. Was. Not. Funny. Dr. Strangelove it ain't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PhilipB.Mar 8, 2010
Brilliant performances and a razor script full of memorable lines, the film would have still worked just as well with a bit less swearing but I still spent most of the duration in hysterics or at the least captivated amusement. I've not Brilliant performances and a razor script full of memorable lines, the film would have still worked just as well with a bit less swearing but I still spent most of the duration in hysterics or at the least captivated amusement. I've not actually seen "In The Thick Of It" yet but it's been bumped up my list now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulDFeb 22, 2010
This is some of the best satire in ages. A terrific comedy for anyone who's into politics on either end of the pond. What a great script - there are so many classic lines in here!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisSFeb 15, 2010
Peter Capaldi is always a pleasure to watch, but this felt a bit silly and over long. Not as good as The Thick Of It. All this speculation about the Iraq/Afghan war gets rather tiresome after a while. Sometimes I think we give the officials Peter Capaldi is always a pleasure to watch, but this felt a bit silly and over long. Not as good as The Thick Of It. All this speculation about the Iraq/Afghan war gets rather tiresome after a while. Sometimes I think we give the officials a little bit too much credit when it comes to global conspiracies (something TTOI usually highlights). The government has difficulty keeping minor leaks under control let alone something like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenD.Feb 2, 2010
The very foul dialogue usually doesn't fair well with me like movies like the Coen Brothers make (which are all good anyways besides the cussing), but you cant help but to laugh all the way through. The plot was not weak, it was a huge The very foul dialogue usually doesn't fair well with me like movies like the Coen Brothers make (which are all good anyways besides the cussing), but you cant help but to laugh all the way through. The plot was not weak, it was a huge satire that they pulled off perfectly. Only way not to love this movie is if your a fan of the Scary Movie type movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GeorgeO.Jan 21, 2010
I fully agree with Anthony Lane from The New Yorker... except it only took me 20 minutes to want to get away from this dog.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GerardZNov 25, 2009
The foul language does nothing for the plot. It really gets tiresome. An interesting plot that needs 90 minutes at best. I kept wishing it would end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KidFrameOct 13, 2009
This is the kind of dialogue I was expectiong from Tarantino´s Inglourious Basterds. If only someone could mashem up...very clever satire. Great editing and directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveDSep 20, 2009
The profanity almost made me walk out as well. And I'm glad I stayed. The plot developments in the second half made the movie worthwhile. I recommend it, especially for people interested in politics, the UN, and war mongering.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
nickjSep 13, 2009
The funniest movie in a very long time. A sharp, extremely witty script that draws brilliant parallels to the Iraq war. Very well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ArmondA.Aug 24, 2009
When I read that a British comedy about the political fools who got the US and the UK into a war with Iraq was showing at the local art house I ran right out to see it. Boy was I disappointed! Comedy is a very iffy thing. A film can have all When I read that a British comedy about the political fools who got the US and the UK into a war with Iraq was showing at the local art house I ran right out to see it. Boy was I disappointed! Comedy is a very iffy thing. A film can have all the right ingredients to suit a person's taste and yet fail to deliver the laughs. That's what happened in this case. The British humor was all there, the political slant matched my own views, the pace was brisk enough to prevent boredom. And yet... and yet I just didn't laugh. Maybe my popcorn was stale. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JohnC.Aug 22, 2009
If profanity is the only way to express humor then this movie has it; personally I like a movie with less profanity, more plot, and one that doesn't leave you with the desire that the movie would end soon!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarrenLAug 22, 2009
Funniest movie I've seen this year. Banality of evil, indeed. I loved "The Thick Of It" (thanks, You Tube!) and it was great to see Malcolm and Jamie back to their old tricks again. Unlike "The Thick Of It", however, the other Funniest movie I've seen this year. Banality of evil, indeed. I loved "The Thick Of It" (thanks, You Tube!) and it was great to see Malcolm and Jamie back to their old tricks again. Unlike "The Thick Of It", however, the other characters were a little less interesting, and some of the scenes dragged on a bit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneNAug 21, 2009
Bloody brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenGAug 21, 2009
This movie never really convinced me it knew what it was talking about (which the very best satires do), and it really doesn't give you much insight on how government runs (other then the idea that critical decisions and policies are This movie never really convinced me it knew what it was talking about (which the very best satires do), and it really doesn't give you much insight on how government runs (other then the idea that critical decisions and policies are made and run by people who shouldn't be doing so), but still it's an amusing and clever story which I guess is based on the fimmakers concept of how these things work. And on that level, the movie works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdSAug 18, 2009
Loved it, and laughed out loud throughout. "Brilliant," as the Brits would say, in the tradition stretching back to Hogarth and Gillray. And, like all great satire, it doesn't stray far from the truth! Only sour note was the miscasting Loved it, and laughed out loud throughout. "Brilliant," as the Brits would say, in the tradition stretching back to Hogarth and Gillray. And, like all great satire, it doesn't stray far from the truth! Only sour note was the miscasting of Gandolfini, but his bit with the talking calculator more than redeems this faux pas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HamrikLAug 18, 2009
I loved this film.So funny with intelligent humour.This is a spin off from the BBC TV series The Thick of it.If you watch that first then you can decide to see the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidDAug 17, 2009
Perfect for political junkies and fans of West Wing-style intrigue. 'In The Loop' offers tons of laughs but leaves you with a bitter truth: the greatest evil stems not from masterminds, but from the sum totality of a thousand Perfect for political junkies and fans of West Wing-style intrigue. 'In The Loop' offers tons of laughs but leaves you with a bitter truth: the greatest evil stems not from masterminds, but from the sum totality of a thousand slavish thoughts and craven actions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillNYCAug 10, 2009
Utterly obnoxious characters plot, curse and threaten each other in this non stop demonstration of how the US used the Brits to fabricate intelligence justifying the US invasions of Iraq. The speed of the dialog delivery is either Utterly obnoxious characters plot, curse and threaten each other in this non stop demonstration of how the US used the Brits to fabricate intelligence justifying the US invasions of Iraq. The speed of the dialog delivery is either "brilliant" or covers up a very weak plot line. I wanted to escape the theater shortly after the opening tirade. The film's dialog fairly screams the thoughts of the authors: "look how very clever we really are" - for the entire duration of the film. Too much, too fast, too loud. Shame about the hundreds of thousands of dead. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MikeWAug 9, 2009
Went with 6 people. We all hated this movie, walked out in the middle and got our money back. The reviewers presented on this website must have seen a different movie than we did.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
NormGAug 2, 2009
Obviously inspired by the fact U.K. "intelligence" helped support the Bush administration's plan for invading Iraq, In The Loop, is a fast paced super funny comedy that will be over the heads of 92% of the average young American movie Obviously inspired by the fact U.K. "intelligence" helped support the Bush administration's plan for invading Iraq, In The Loop, is a fast paced super funny comedy that will be over the heads of 92% of the average young American movie going public. Lotsa curse words, looks of foul jokes but still very intelligent. It can work if you write a will rounded comedy which covers all the bases. Which is what In The Loop is. Because of the rapid fire British accents I missed some of the dialogue. I am looking forward to the DVD and subtitles. If you think The Hangover is the gold standard of comedy skip In The Loop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GilroyH.Jul 29, 2009
Oh yes! Some prolonged laughter (mine and everyone around me) that actually stepped on what would have been yet more laughs. And what a deep bench for a cast--Mimi Kennedy's mortifying retreat from a meeting deserves mention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomM.Jul 27, 2009
Extremely enjoyable. Portrays a believable universe where statecraft is more influenced by subterfuge than facts. Also hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlieWJul 27, 2009
Like 'the office' but set in transatlantic politics and everyone has tourettes. This film is so brilliantly offensive you wonder how it was made, let alone released. The dialogue is painfully good and delivered by a cast of Like 'the office' but set in transatlantic politics and everyone has tourettes. This film is so brilliantly offensive you wonder how it was made, let alone released. The dialogue is painfully good and delivered by a cast of commited maniacs that hold your attention even when the plot wobbles. If this is even close to representing our dual systems of government I'm terrified. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
keithwJul 25, 2009
Smart-Fast-Very Funny-A MUST SEE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful