Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 304 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In a future where time is literally money, and aging stops at 25, the only way to stay alive is to earn, steal, or inherit more time. Will Salas lives life a minute at a time, until a windfall of time gives him access to the world of the wealthy, where he teams up with a beautiful youngIn a future where time is literally money, and aging stops at 25, the only way to stay alive is to earn, steal, or inherit more time. Will Salas lives life a minute at a time, until a windfall of time gives him access to the world of the wealthy, where he teams up with a beautiful young heiress to destroy the corrupt system. (20th Century Fox)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Oct 27, 2011
    100
    Coming now, today, In Time is not just satisfying. I wouldn't go so far as to say it's important, because that would overstate it, but it certainly feels like part of the national conversation. It arrives in theaters at a time when people are camped out in New York saying the same things as the people in the movie. It's weird the way films often anticipate the near future.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Oct 29, 2011
    70
    A pleasing, often rousing movie for the 99 percent, In Time is not without flaws.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 28, 2011
    63
    The problem with In Time, to the extent that it is a problem, is that an intriguing premise turns into window dressing for a somewhat routine "Bonnie & Clyde"-meets-"Robin Hood" action thriller with car chases, heists, and gunplay.
  4. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Oct 26, 2011
    50
    Much like Niccol's "Gattaca," in which genetic perfection rather than time was the weapon a small group of snobby, unworthy elites used to hold down the meek masses, In Time is a chilly, stiff movie where clever ideas are delivered as self-righteous sermons.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Oct 31, 2011
    50
    It's a great idea that Niccol can't translate into a great movie.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Oct 27, 2011
    50
    What's missing are the kind of moments that actually matter, the ones that are so gripping that you want desperately for time to stop - to savor them, to feel the fear, the passion, the regret. Ah, well … maybe next time.
  7. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 26, 2011
    16
    Niccol fashioned an uninspired and downright dull sci-fi gimmick and doesn't even explain how it happened.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 84
  2. Negative: 14 out of 84
  1. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This movie is incredible. Negative reviews about this movie just reflects how much people can't enjoy life for one second. This movie is veryThis movie is incredible. Negative reviews about this movie just reflects how much people can't enjoy life for one second. This movie is very rich in profound values. Without spoiling anything, I can definitely tell that the relationship in the movie between the rich people living forever at the cost of the poor people's life is a direct reflection of our world's rich people making millions/billions while paying ridiculous salaries to their employees. In the end, the movie simply illustrates that humans should enjoy every second of their life to the fullest and to not hold back on anything because life can be taken away from you anytime. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    In Time tells the story of Will. Will lives in a world where you stop ageing at 25 and time is currency, we each have our own personal clock,In Time tells the story of Will. Will lives in a world where you stop ageing at 25 and time is currency, we each have our own personal clock, once that clock is up we die. The world is split into 12 districts each getting poorer as you go up, Will lives with his mother in District 12 the poorest district. Will and his mother wake up everyday with barely enough time on their clocks to make it through the day, their huge hours of working shifts help to keep them alive day by day. But when Will saves one of the richest people on Earth from some thugs he is given the mans remaining time as a gift, 100 years. Will decides to move to the richest district in hope of a new life but instead gets caught up in a fight which his father started with a man with over a million years on his clock. With the man's daughter will and she must try to survive with only hours on their clocks and give the man's millions to the poor. The story is enchanting and mesmerising, even if it lacks in certain areas of detail. The casting is unlikely but works well and gives a very varied cast. However great this film is, I cant help but think this would have been better as a TV series rather than a film. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    A very well-done movie, and a very original idea. I like the creation of this world with buying and selling time, and how this idea soon getsA very well-done movie, and a very original idea. I like the creation of this world with buying and selling time, and how this idea soon gets corrupt. Very intriguing movie. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    In time was a good movie. The idea alone was great but the movie fell through. They overused the word "time" throughout the whole movie. TheIn time was a good movie. The idea alone was great but the movie fell through. They overused the word "time" throughout the whole movie. The cast did not fit the kind of movie it was supposed to depict. The lack of story and a predictable ending. I did not have high hopes from this movie but it still turned out fine. It wont stand out in my memory but it was still fun to watch. Expand
  5. May 25, 2014
    6
    I have owned this movie for a long time on dvd now but i just never got around to watching it and the only reason i got it was because OliviaI have owned this movie for a long time on dvd now but i just never got around to watching it and the only reason i got it was because Olivia Wilde was in it. Well i finally got around to watching it and for the most part i actually liked it but i do agree that the movie does have layers and layers that it tries to set up but fails to deliver a adequate story for them all in a movie that is less then 2 hours. Maybe if it was a 2+ hour movie then it really could have been something great but its not and its ends up being another average movie. Justin Timberlake does a solid performance in this movie i have seen a lot of his movies but this was the best acting i think he has done so far. To be honest i was expecting more from Cillian Murphy from a villain standpoint granted that his character is a cop so it couldnt have been that great but still i was still expecting more from him. I did like that in the end that him and Amanda Seyfried ended up becoming a Bonnie and Clyde type.

    Overall i give it a 6.0 also Amanda Seyfried and that eye makeup was so mesmerizing
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2011
    4
    This is one of those sci-fi flix with a cool concept and lousy execution. Justin Timberlake and Amanda Seyfried live in a world (notThis is one of those sci-fi flix with a cool concept and lousy execution. Justin Timberlake and Amanda Seyfried live in a world (not necessarily the future by the looks of the low tech design) where time is literally money and people stop aging at 25. Everybody has a countdown timer on their arm (the only neat element of the film), which keeps track of the minutes and hours until they die. The duo teams up to become renegade Bonnie and Clyde time bandits. All that sounds good, butâ Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2014
    0
    One of the ABSOLUTE WORST movies I've ever seen, especially considering the cast and budget of this movie. The one thing this move has goingOne of the ABSOLUTE WORST movies I've ever seen, especially considering the cast and budget of this movie. The one thing this move has going for it is the setting, which LA fits nicely.
    The whole "time" premise is fantastic (it had to much potential!), but it's implementation and writing is awful. A terrible, horrendously predictable, cliche storyline provides the backbone. The characters are stereotypes and are so predictable it hurts. They are not developed at all, and their personalities resemble those of cartoon characters. In fact, the whole movie is so cartoonish it seems suited better to 10 year olds than adults.

    Now, I have no problem with a movie with a political agenda, but this has preachy, overbearing, extremely in-your-face political themes, and they are so hilariously childish it makes my brain melt. Topping it all off is the extensive list of gaping logic/plot holes, which really ties together this steaming pile of utter garbage. It's hard to take a movie seriously when the logic behind the main concepts of the movie are totally undeveloped and not addressed whatsoever.
    Also, the few special effects they have are horrible. This movie is a huge, festering, rotting pile of hopes and dreams.
    Expand

See all 84 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.