Inception

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 3700 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. AlexN.
    Jul 16, 2010
    1
    Funny how people think complex equals smart and intellectual. This movie was a big bag of hot wind. Matrix was better.
  2. Aug 17, 2010
    2
    I thought this movie was not as good as people are saying. Because we knew it was dreams inside dreams the over the top fight scenes had no bearing. Who cared? As a result the movie became boring and repetitious. I would be very hard pressed to recommend this movie to anyone. Stay away.
  3. ShannonC
    Jul 19, 2010
    2
    Remember that episode of ALIAS, directed by Cronenberg, called "Conscious"? That's what this movie was like. Only this was looooong, and boring. I give it a two 'cuz it looked pretty. Okay, and it was like that movie Dreamscape.
  4. MikeV.
    Jul 18, 2010
    0
    I honestly can't even begin to fathom how this "film" is getting the positive reviews that it seems to be getting. With such a rich set of tools to work with, a film in which literally ANYTHING can happen since it is set in a dream, you'd figure Nolan could have came up with something better than some folding streets and 3 or 4 9boring) storylines,
  5. JoshuaC
    Jul 19, 2010
    3
    Inception is nice enough to look at; the DP is Wally Pfister, who frequently collaborates with Nolan, and he makes those Parisian streets, in particular, look very pretty and bright. But the deeper you get into the movie, the more its polished visual surface feels like a deception. Nearly every moment in Inception is so big, so fattened-up, that nothing has any weight; because every Inception is nice enough to look at; the DP is Wally Pfister, who frequently collaborates with Nolan, and he makes those Parisian streets, in particular, look very pretty and bright. But the deeper you get into the movie, the more its polished visual surface feels like a deception. Nearly every moment in Inception is so big, so fattened-up, that nothing has any weight; because every little thing is of the gravest importance, there Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2010
    0
    THIS movie is completely overated. Watercooler prestige for those who sit through & pat theirsleves on the back at oh what smarty pants they are. This movie is crap that drags and is no where near as intersting as the nap & dream I took before it ended. Dreams are abstract, impossible to set up house in, one persons flying burritos and chairs with ship sails makes sense to them only.THIS movie is completely overated. Watercooler prestige for those who sit through & pat theirsleves on the back at oh what smarty pants they are. This movie is crap that drags and is no where near as intersting as the nap & dream I took before it ended. Dreams are abstract, impossible to set up house in, one persons flying burritos and chairs with ship sails makes sense to them only. Original? Ive seen better folding cities in the Matrix and Dark City.Its down right sad that spew like this and Monsters are loved by critics and yuppies everywhere when their comlplete dribble and will only contribute to the horrible drought of anything decent. DO yourself a favor rent Dark City & skip this nap maker. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2011
    0
    Extremely overhyped, no actual intellectual content. Good if you want to pretend that you're watching an intelligent movie without actually having to use your brain. For those who enjoy actual stories with characters you care about or original ideas with relevance over pretentious, overthought, and purposely "complex" (not really) crap, this movie should be avoided. Unless you're a wannabeExtremely overhyped, no actual intellectual content. Good if you want to pretend that you're watching an intelligent movie without actually having to use your brain. For those who enjoy actual stories with characters you care about or original ideas with relevance over pretentious, overthought, and purposely "complex" (not really) crap, this movie should be avoided. Unless you're a wannabe intellectual, don't watch this. Action scenes would earn it a 5 (it's actually a decent popcorn movie), but amount of hype and intended audience make it get a 0 from me. Expand
  8. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    The film is both ill conceived and ill produced mess. It's to be expected that Hollywood will throw awards upon efforts which appear to be smart, though really aren't. I enjoyed Batman Begins. Memento was ok, but highly over-rated for the same reasons. This thing was nothing but a painful POS. An offensive turd.
  9. LionelL
    Jul 22, 2010
    2
    I walked out. It was gibberish. Diarrhea. Any critic who liked this movie loses all credibility with me.
  10. Jan 21, 2015
    3
    This is not just Nolan's weakest film to date, I feel it's one of the most overpraised movies of this century. Inception has got to be the most insultingly superficial and unimaginative depiction of the human mind ever put to celluloid. The characterisation is terrible. In fact there is no characterisation. Nothing is revealed about the supporting characters. Their motivations andThis is not just Nolan's weakest film to date, I feel it's one of the most overpraised movies of this century. Inception has got to be the most insultingly superficial and unimaginative depiction of the human mind ever put to celluloid. The characterisation is terrible. In fact there is no characterisation. Nothing is revealed about the supporting characters. Their motivations and intentions are left blank and there's not a shred of humanity in any of them. Half the characters have only one task - to explain the plot to the audience. It almost feels like Nolan distributes the expository dialogue among the unimportant characters and saves the actual bit for the important characters. They're merely subjects to experimentation. And Nolan still doesn't know how to write adult women. Nolan's women tend to be ruled by their lady feelings before ultimately capitulating to the men around them. Mal is, by far, the worst example (so far). Anne Hathaway's Brandt would be second. And this is where Nolan's exposition spins wildly out of control. He spends the first half dictating all the rules of the dreamland and then spends the other half dictating how to break all these rules. And why do all these dreams feel like James Bond movies? I never understood why Inception is soooo action oriented. It almost feels like a video game at times. And there's not a shred of depth to it. I keep asking myself "why did nolan go to such great lengths to make this movie? what is he trying to convey through it?" And the answer is nothing. He's just created a world with no ideas. That's why the movie feels so cold and mechanical. And keep in mind Nolan is often praised for dealing with dark philosophical ideas (especially in Memento and his first 2 batman movies) but Inception doesn't bother with that. It's not just superficial, it's pretentious. This is the perfect example of a film that can fool people into thinking it's profound and deep. It's not. Expand
  11. AndrewJ.
    Jul 19, 2010
    0
    Gotta agree with the naysayers, this is nolan's worst film. it's only thought provoking because you'll find yourself finding at least a million errors in the way nolan imagines the mind. in the end it's an action film that's not really that great that pretends to be an intellectual thriller.
  12. SammyP.
    Jul 18, 2010
    1
    I didn't like it. First and foremost the audio was horrible! I went and talked to the manager of the theater and he said that they were getting a lot of complaints and said that they just got a new sound system last month. One of the few movies that had me knodding off to sleep. If you asked me what this movie was about, I honestly could not tell you. I think I understood one I didn't like it. First and foremost the audio was horrible! I went and talked to the manager of the theater and he said that they were getting a lot of complaints and said that they just got a new sound system last month. One of the few movies that had me knodding off to sleep. If you asked me what this movie was about, I honestly could not tell you. I think I understood one sentence that was coming out of Ken Wanntanaba's mouth. I would not recommend this movie. Expand
  13. MattE.
    Jul 19, 2010
    3
    Very disappointing film. I was actually looking forward to this a few days before it came out. The movie doesn't totally suck because of the plot but because the plot is taken so seriously like it may be actually possible or something. Action scenes were boring. Dreams aren't important and neither is this movie.
  14. WillW
    Jul 19, 2010
    3
    This movie is crap and too absent of logic too make sense. I could go into why but I don't want to spoil it. I feel like I need to go watch Predators again just to clear my palet.
  15. BobK.
    Jul 19, 2010
    1
    Computer Graphics gone ape. To use the terminology of the movie, the plot content of this film is but a "projection".
  16. KimM
    Jul 19, 2010
    0
    Terrible. The best part about this movie was when the lights came up and I walked out of the theater.
  17. TomW.
    Jul 20, 2010
    1
    Possibly one of the most tedious movies I've ever seen. I looked forwards to seeing it, but after 20 minutes I wanted to leave, and I kept asking myself that every 10 minutes after that. Scores of giant plot-holes and lapses of logic; practically every other minute I saw something that didn't make sense. The entire premise doesn't make sense, because dreams aren't like Possibly one of the most tedious movies I've ever seen. I looked forwards to seeing it, but after 20 minutes I wanted to leave, and I kept asking myself that every 10 minutes after that. Scores of giant plot-holes and lapses of logic; practically every other minute I saw something that didn't make sense. The entire premise doesn't make sense, because dreams aren't like reality: that's what makes them fascinating. But in Nolan's world, dreams look everyday, except for huge gigantic events that happen that get to be rendered in CGI. There wasn't much thought about this world he created, except how to make it bigger, flashier, and noisier. Think about real dreams - they're eerie and strange, and illogically logical. Bunuel captured them well; so also did The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. This was a boring world without any kind of sublety. The soundtrack was probably the worse I've every heard - a loud uberWagnerian rant that squelched any sense of real drama. The actors were fine, but since the script was full of idiotic lines, they couldn't win. And the ending was completely obvious - no surprises there. Expand
  18. ChesterL
    Jul 20, 2010
    0
    One of the absolute worst movies I have EVER seen. Ive never been tempted to walk out of a movie before until seeing this pile of trash. Bad acting, lack of humanity and a convoluted plot not worth caring about. Simply awful movie.
  19. PaulM
    Jul 22, 2010
    1
    Long, boring, and pretentious. It's sound and fury, signifying nothing.
  20. JenniferR
    Jul 18, 2010
    1
    This movie was just talky, boring nonsense that made me want to gouge out my eyeballs. While everyone around me seemed (or pretended) to understand the plot of this piece of crap, I sat there trying like hell to understand just what the f*** was going on. Also, who are these people...?? What "agency" do they work for...? And, the plot line between Cobb and his wife: also utterly contrived This movie was just talky, boring nonsense that made me want to gouge out my eyeballs. While everyone around me seemed (or pretended) to understand the plot of this piece of crap, I sat there trying like hell to understand just what the f*** was going on. Also, who are these people...?? What "agency" do they work for...? And, the plot line between Cobb and his wife: also utterly contrived CRAP. I had no preconceived notions, but a lot of optimism about this movie. I feel very let down. Expand
  21. JeffF.
    Jul 19, 2010
    0
    I dreamed i went into a movie theater and watched 2 1/2 hours of incomprehensible pointless nonsense and then i woke up and reallized i wasn't dreaming.
  22. mattd.
    Jul 19, 2010
    3
    Very disappointing film. I was actually looking forward to this the week before it came out. The movie doesn't totally suck because of the plot but because the plot is taken so seriously like its actually possible. Dreams don't matter much in real life so this movie shouldn't matter that much either. The way nolan films is just annoying and he never slows down which makes Very disappointing film. I was actually looking forward to this the week before it came out. The movie doesn't totally suck because of the plot but because the plot is taken so seriously like its actually possible. Dreams don't matter much in real life so this movie shouldn't matter that much either. The way nolan films is just annoying and he never slows down which makes the action seem less important. Expand
  23. RayR
    Jul 21, 2010
    0
    Louis D, you are suppossed to tell us why you gave this movie a 10, not scold people who disagree with you and found this movie to be crap crap crap. Don't be so insecure.
  24. AmyC
    Jul 29, 2010
    2
    Was expecting a lot more from this film. My overall feeling is that Nolan has intentionally and pretentiously complicated the whole plot, forcibly added a lot of unnecessary elements and scenes in order to make it a "big" movie. Would have been much better if kept simpler. The role played by Ellen Page was a total mis-cast as she seemed to be completely out of place. My 2 stars go to Was expecting a lot more from this film. My overall feeling is that Nolan has intentionally and pretentiously complicated the whole plot, forcibly added a lot of unnecessary elements and scenes in order to make it a "big" movie. Would have been much better if kept simpler. The role played by Ellen Page was a total mis-cast as she seemed to be completely out of place. My 2 stars go to DiCaprio. Expand
  25. Feb 11, 2011
    3
    everybody hyped this movie up so much but man were they wrong this is one of the slowest moving most boring movies I've ever seen what little action is in it is good but I could barely keep my eyes open waiting for something to happen
  26. RoganK.
    Jul 29, 2010
    2
    Was looking forward to watching this movie so got me a ticket. The movie is about people working for an organisation thalt go into other peoples dreams to steal data. Movie goes on forever and is both boring and confusing and full of filler, only gave it a 2 for special effects.
  27. JectorP.
    Jul 17, 2010
    1
    I'm sorry, I understood this movie the first time. There was nothing to understand. A guy goes into a dream, then goes into another dream, then goes into another dream, then he may have died in one dream, while living an eternity in another, or the whole thing was one big dream, or parts of his psyche are sleeping while other parts are awake, and the whole thing might be an endless I'm sorry, I understood this movie the first time. There was nothing to understand. A guy goes into a dream, then goes into another dream, then goes into another dream, then he may have died in one dream, while living an eternity in another, or the whole thing was one big dream, or parts of his psyche are sleeping while other parts are awake, and the whole thing might be an endless torrent of cognitive disruption. Either way, Nolan did nothing new. And don't get me started about that cross-cutting bs. Have you seen Time Code? Okay, so there are people have done what Nolan has done before. If you only read the review, you are going to buy the hype because that's all there is, is hype. Expand
  28. ChrisR.
    Jul 29, 2010
    3
    Why do I keep forgetting how overrated Christopher Nolan is? Why all the praise? Please, someone explain. MEMENTO is brilliant, but that's it. I respect him for his ambitious productions, but his post-Memento writing & directing skills are ...mediocre at best. He has the mind of a pretentious mathematician, and his films are cold, soulless, and without heart. The "romance" in this Why do I keep forgetting how overrated Christopher Nolan is? Why all the praise? Please, someone explain. MEMENTO is brilliant, but that's it. I respect him for his ambitious productions, but his post-Memento writing & directing skills are ...mediocre at best. He has the mind of a pretentious mathematician, and his films are cold, soulless, and without heart. The "romance" in this film is more like an intellectual exercise. The characters are stiff, and speak glib 50's dialogue. This surreal heist story is too convoluted for its own good, and I don't enjoy experiencing a story through constant explanation. I understood (most of) it, but there is a difference between 'understanding' and 'feeling'. I didn't feel the forced stakes in this film. I wasn't invested in the characters until nearly the end. There are some interesting moments and a couple of daring ideas. A few really cool visuals... but not as many as I was expecting (all are revealed in the trailers). Overall, the majority of the film left me bored and unengaged. The last half hour picks up, but not enough to reverse course. Dammit, I am obligated to see the next Batman film. But after that, someone please remind me how I feel about Nolan. Expand
  29. HW
    Jul 18, 2010
    2
    Disjoineted plot. Could not carel less about the characters. Stale dialogue and nothing interesting. Director trying to be clever by confusing audience, so when the end comes you sit and wonder what the hell you just saw.
  30. LallyR.
    Jul 29, 2010
    2
    There is a great idea for a film here. Too bad the film they made is so terrible.
  31. JarrodC.
    Jul 29, 2010
    3
    An absurd and boring movie. Remember being 8 years old and writing a story with the ending "...but it was all a dream"? Inception is similar, but tells you that it's all a dream right from the start, thereby making it impossible to become emotionally involved in the plot, and therefore the characters. Ken Watanabe's acting is appalling. Don't waste 10 bucks going to see this.
  32. AngelicaR.
    Jul 16, 2010
    2
    Whoever is giving this film high marks is either a TDK Nolan fan, or a moron. Even from an objective Nolan fan it deserves maybe a 5 at the most. I give it a 2 because in comparison to his other movies, this one was weak, convoluted, oddly structured, and didn't have enough originality to keep me rooted. People who say it is imaginative should go rent the Matrix and Existenz and the Whoever is giving this film high marks is either a TDK Nolan fan, or a moron. Even from an objective Nolan fan it deserves maybe a 5 at the most. I give it a 2 because in comparison to his other movies, this one was weak, convoluted, oddly structured, and didn't have enough originality to keep me rooted. People who say it is imaginative should go rent the Matrix and Existenz and the Thirteenth Floor. I mean if imaginative is "extracting" other people's ideas, then I guess this movie was imaginative. Expand
  33. JordiT.
    Jul 19, 2010
    0
    This movie just shows how un-intelligent Nolan fans are. These are the same people who thought Shymalan couldn't be touched after the Sixth Sense, and now look at him! They finally have caught on that he's a terrible filmmaker. So is Nolan. These morons bought the hype before the film came out, were really disappointed by the movie, and now are repressing their letdown. Wake up, This movie just shows how un-intelligent Nolan fans are. These are the same people who thought Shymalan couldn't be touched after the Sixth Sense, and now look at him! They finally have caught on that he's a terrible filmmaker. So is Nolan. These morons bought the hype before the film came out, were really disappointed by the movie, and now are repressing their letdown. Wake up, children! Expand
  34. RodneyM
    Jul 18, 2010
    0
    In my Top 10 of worst movies and most overhyped of all time. It is so scary how the critcs and the viewers think this is a good, smart movie when it is boring, long, confusing. I don't know what other movies you have all seen, but you must not have seen many good movies in your time. Music was horrible, way too much dialogue, too much exposition. Lots of crying going on but I In my Top 10 of worst movies and most overhyped of all time. It is so scary how the critcs and the viewers think this is a good, smart movie when it is boring, long, confusing. I don't know what other movies you have all seen, but you must not have seen many good movies in your time. Music was horrible, way too much dialogue, too much exposition. Lots of crying going on but I wasn't emotionally attached to any characters. Action, which was very little, was too confusing. You don't know who is who or doing what. Joseph Gordon Levitt was wasted in this and Ellen Page miscast. Expand
  35. Dec 10, 2010
    0
    This is a review within a review that's trapped inside another review. Only a defibrillator can release the real score within my subconscious. So I improvised and reconstructed a score of zero based upon my memories of other movies like Glitter, Ishtar and My Giant.
  36. Jan 17, 2011
    3
    Wow! What a tedious, confusing, mess! I have loved many movies with dreamlike sensibilities--"Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," "Twelve Monkeys," and "Brazil" come to mind--movies which prompt the viewer to question reality and ponder their place in the universe. "Inception" is clearly attempting to be one of these movies, but it fails miserably. Piling layer upon layer of plotWow! What a tedious, confusing, mess! I have loved many movies with dreamlike sensibilities--"Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," "Twelve Monkeys," and "Brazil" come to mind--movies which prompt the viewer to question reality and ponder their place in the universe. "Inception" is clearly attempting to be one of these movies, but it fails miserably. Piling layer upon layer of plot and exposition doesn't make a movie more "intelligent" or "thought-provoking," but that is what director Christopher Nolan seems to be doing. Instead of provocative, metaphysical sci-fi we get scene after scene that resemble outtakes from "Mission Impossible 12." None of it adds up to much, except that is, for confusion and boredom. Sure, there are some awe-inspiring CGI sequences of dream worlds folding over onto themselves, and edifices collapsing into nothing, but mostly what we get is meaningless, uninspired action and head-scratching explanations about the why these convoluted events are occurring. If I cared even a little bit about these characters, maybe I could forgive the filmmakers for some (though certainly not all) of the ridiculous plot contortions, but I didn't. Expand
  37. Jan 22, 2012
    3
    Clearly over thought concept, blockbuster budget and all star cast list makes the film feel like its trying too hard to impress. Nolan desperately tries to make the film awe inspiring with genius seeping out of every crevice of the plot. Unfortunately this is all counter productive, making for a very laborious and lacklustre watch.
  38. Mar 24, 2013
    3
    A complicated mix of a twisted drama.
  39. Oct 29, 2013
    0
    Just a heap of excruciatingly long and dull action sequences that drag on and on, and in between them there's pseudo-intellectual explanatory dialogue that has no life or feeling to it. That's the whole movie.
    It's amazing what this generation views as a "masterpiece", a movie with no real plot or story, no character development, depth, or emotional engagement; just boring scenes that
    Just a heap of excruciatingly long and dull action sequences that drag on and on, and in between them there's pseudo-intellectual explanatory dialogue that has no life or feeling to it. That's the whole movie.
    It's amazing what this generation views as a "masterpiece", a movie with no real plot or story, no character development, depth, or emotional engagement; just boring scenes that play out like a video game, "Complete this dream level... now on to the next dream level..." It has no soul, it's a borefest from start to finish.

    True as some say, it has awesome special effects, but so do cologne commercials. When will people understand that special effects don't make a movie?

    And to anyone saying it's a "smart" movie; that understanding it makes you more intelligent than people who don't; trust me on this, you're an idiot. There was huge hype surrounding this film, you were told how it's targeted at the intellectuals, how "it's not a movie for everyone", and the goal of this was to convince simpletons like you that understanding the plot makes you intelligent, and that anyone who didn't like it was because he's too stupid to understand it. That couldn't be further from the truth, you are a complete idiot as you are unable to see when people are playing mind tricks on you. I can't help but to think how they laughed at all the people who bought into the hype they created, how they made people overlook what a boring piece of trash they made with simple psychological marketing.

    tl;dr: This movie was made to make stupid people feel smart.
    Expand
  40. Carmela
    Jul 17, 2010
    1
    Would have given this a zero, but gave it a 1 since I was able to catch a good nap during it. What a wanna be metaphysical bunch of crap! The only way to enjoy this movie is if you were dreaming while you were watching it.
  41. VitoM
    Jul 18, 2010
    0
    Worst movie of 2010. Terribly confusing, bloated, overlong. Music is horrible, Ellen Page is mis-cast. Best Picture worthy? Must be a bad year for movies. Dialogue goes on and on and on. Too much expostion, confusing action scenes. Did I mention boring? Indifferent acting, none of the plot makes sense.
  42. JonathanJJ
    Jul 28, 2010
    1
    Inception tries to be clever but gets bogged down in over complex dialogue constantly having to explain itself. It seems to be inventing its plot as it goes along in order to fit as much dream mumbo jumbo as possible. When the 'guru' in the opium den dream theatre refers to his 'addicted dreamers' and announces - who's to say whether or not their dreams are Inception tries to be clever but gets bogged down in over complex dialogue constantly having to explain itself. It seems to be inventing its plot as it goes along in order to fit as much dream mumbo jumbo as possible. When the 'guru' in the opium den dream theatre refers to his 'addicted dreamers' and announces - who's to say whether or not their dreams are reality or not in other words - are we therefore in the dream - I got up and walked out - if I wanted that kind of teenage logic I ll go and watch Nightmare on Elm Street. Expand
  43. PaulJ
    Jul 30, 2010
    2
    Overated and over complicated. Never has such a talented cast gone to such waste.... none of the characters had any depth and the story telling was non-existent. Its hard to fathum what people enjoyed about this movie and how Nolan has gained such a big reputation. I went to see this movie with friends - had I been alone I would have left the theatre 50 mins into the film. Never have I Overated and over complicated. Never has such a talented cast gone to such waste.... none of the characters had any depth and the story telling was non-existent. Its hard to fathum what people enjoyed about this movie and how Nolan has gained such a big reputation. I went to see this movie with friends - had I been alone I would have left the theatre 50 mins into the film. Never have I been so disinterested in the outcome of a movie. The hero (Di Caprio) explains that you can never remember the beginning of a dream, and that dreams that seem to cover hours may only last a short time. Unfortunately, this nightmare last a full 2 1/2 hours!! Expand
  44. JackH.
    Jul 16, 2010
    0
    Folks, this the first movie I've ever walked out of half-way through. If you like a confusing plot, typical Hollywood visions of urban destruction, complete with large-calibre handguns killing people randomly and disjointed rambling dialogue by cut-out characters... you'll love this movie.
  45. Aug 12, 2010
    0
    was like a writing exercises by Nolan.Lacks depth in the characters and action sequences were poor,could have been better if Nolan gave more emphasis on direction department
  46. DavidB
    Jul 18, 2010
    0
    Lisa M is spot on. For a film to depict dream content in such a prosaic and visually unimaginative way -- especially given the budget available to Mr. Nolan -- is a major failure.
  47. Aug 8, 2012
    0
    The story of this movie is one that is not realistic whatsoever and it's not interesting in any way either. The movie itself is so boring it made me hope it would end soon. I think there is one joke in this movie and there are 2 smiles. It is a complex story partly because everything takes so long to explain itself. I really had a bad night at the cinema,. Nolan's style is really horribleThe story of this movie is one that is not realistic whatsoever and it's not interesting in any way either. The movie itself is so boring it made me hope it would end soon. I think there is one joke in this movie and there are 2 smiles. It is a complex story partly because everything takes so long to explain itself. I really had a bad night at the cinema,. Nolan's style is really horrible if you ask me. That's my honest opinion. Expand
  48. LisaM.
    Jul 18, 2010
    0
    If this movie makes someone think, they probably haven't had many thoughts before. Basically recycled ideas wrapped in some boring nonsense ("exposition") intercut with action sequences that aren't even that spectacular and quite boring CGI. Whoever thinks these ideas are fresh, needs to read more and watch better movies -- Existenz, World on a Wire, Dark City, The Thirteenth If this movie makes someone think, they probably haven't had many thoughts before. Basically recycled ideas wrapped in some boring nonsense ("exposition") intercut with action sequences that aren't even that spectacular and quite boring CGI. Whoever thinks these ideas are fresh, needs to read more and watch better movies -- Existenz, World on a Wire, Dark City, The Thirteenth Floor, Matrix, even something like Last Year at Marienbad which manages to have complex ideas about memory and human mind and complex arresting visuals before CGI even existed. As to the originality of the visuals -- the New York Times reviewer was too kind to the movie but he was right -- dreams and the subconscious aren't that literal and obvious. If the subconscious was so literal, it wouldn't be the subconscious. And the visuals in something as crappy as "The Cell" were much more interesting. Expand
  49. Aug 28, 2010
    2
    We went because we enjoyed Memento, once we read a 3 page analysis of it; and Metacritic's high "score". But it was a disappointment. Where Memento was confusing but clever, and, once comprehended, brilliant.......Inception is confusing and boring, and way too long. The entire Alpine dream could have been eliminated with affecting the story line. Who was shooting who, anyway, andWe went because we enjoyed Memento, once we read a 3 page analysis of it; and Metacritic's high "score". But it was a disappointment. Where Memento was confusing but clever, and, once comprehended, brilliant.......Inception is confusing and boring, and way too long. The entire Alpine dream could have been eliminated with affecting the story line. Who was shooting who, anyway, and besides, who cares? I actually dozed off during this sequence. The chases scenes were also overdone and relatively uninteresting because it didnt much matter who got hit and who didnt. It is a dream, after all. The CGI is clearly clever and the links between the physical world and their effect on the dream world, amusing. But visionary? No. Entertaining? Only briefly. Expand
  50. DustinN.
    Jul 17, 2010
    0
    This movie was utter garbage. If there were no Dark Knight, none of you would care a lick about Nolan or Inception.
  51. DanJ.
    Jul 17, 2010
    0
    You guys are nuts. You really want to believe this is the best movie ever? This movie was shallow as a kiddie's pool.
  52. RamonT.
    Jul 16, 2010
    0
    Crap. Crap. Crap. Crap. Hey, can one of you guys who liked this movie so much, pay me for my lost time?
  53. Oct 16, 2010
    3
    A tedious and unoriginal spectacle. Completely saturated with blindly complementary hype and build up but I'm afraid it didn't take the biscuit. Perhaps a film for ITV 4 in 5 years at 10 on a Wednesday night - but truly undeserving of mass takings at box office
  54. Nov 15, 2010
    2
    Go see the Matrix - again - and save your effort. Same movie as Matrix but now takes place inside a dream. Really unoriginal. Drags on far too long. This movie never should have been made.
  55. Dec 31, 2010
    3
    Talk about the emperor's new clothes, Nolan's oeuvre is the emperor's whole wardrobe. Although i did like Batman Begins, Inception, like that last Batman film is a big convoluted mess. Having read many complex narrative and metafiction novels, i love complexity when it's delivered by a talented artist with a capacity to deliver, Nolan can't. Who cares about richy rich and his dying father?Talk about the emperor's new clothes, Nolan's oeuvre is the emperor's whole wardrobe. Although i did like Batman Begins, Inception, like that last Batman film is a big convoluted mess. Having read many complex narrative and metafiction novels, i love complexity when it's delivered by a talented artist with a capacity to deliver, Nolan can't. Who cares about richy rich and his dying father? Who cares about the "kicks" being executed? And the security in the unconscious is paramilitary shootouts? What!? That is devoid of imaginations. Why aren't we seeing Leo's relationship with his wife? That might be a film. But Nolan has never shown any capacity to reveal intimacy so i shouldn't be too surprised. Collapse
  56. Jan 29, 2011
    3
    Brilliant concept, but so much action and violence it just seemed tiring after a while. This apparently is the only "reality" Hollywood knows how to produce, even with the opportunity to go "three layers deep". Not hard to follow or understand if you were paying attention. It was "disappointing". I thought it offered something on a deeper level. It's just a *movie* NOT a "film". KindBrilliant concept, but so much action and violence it just seemed tiring after a while. This apparently is the only "reality" Hollywood knows how to produce, even with the opportunity to go "three layers deep". Not hard to follow or understand if you were paying attention. It was "disappointing". I thought it offered something on a deeper level. It's just a *movie* NOT a "film". Kind of felt I wasted 2 hours of "real" time being I am used to films on a much deeper level that don't rely on action, violence and a bunch of shoot-em-up-bang-bang to take one through the movie's concept. Granted its better than most Hollywood movies out there, but still disappointing that it wasn't more on its own without following typical movie footsteps - you'll know what this means by the end of the movie. That's the idea I hope gets out there to save us from more disappointment. Expand
  57. Feb 26, 2011
    3
    No offense, because we all have been 12 years old, but the only way you can consider this film mind blowing, smart, creative and blah blah blah is if you are 12 or below. I give it 3 points because of the city landscape and some well done effects. Everything else is quite vague and boring.
  58. Apr 2, 2012
    1
    A horrible movie. I don't really care if I didn't comprehend it, it still wasn't interesting to watch. There have been plenty of movies that had complex story lines that I still found intriguing to watch. It was so boring. The only semi good thing was the music. Too long to.
  59. GaryR.
    Jul 18, 2010
    3
    Overly complex and hard to understand. I want to be entertained by a movie, not challlenged to see if I can keep up with the plot. And then, at the end, is an overdone James -Bond like scene with snow and a military fortress, which has no meaning at all. Even all the senseless gunfire is not entertaining at all. I want my money back.
  60. markf.
    Jul 18, 2010
    1
    Easily one of the worst movies ever made.
  61. joer
    Jul 19, 2010
    0
    I should have taken the $10.50 and wiped my butt with it. Other than Momento, Nolan's work stinks. I fell alseep during the Dark Knight and dozed off here. It's that bad. I'm tired of big budget junk. I'll stick to the indie films. Don't see this movie. You have been warned!!!
  62. PhilipL
    Jul 19, 2010
    1
    One of the worst movies I have ever seen. It is too complicated, too violent, too long, and very difficult to understand what is happening. If this is a masterpiece than our country and the film industry is in very bad shape!
  63. JustinB
    Jul 19, 2010
    2
    Look, this movie was nonsense. In no way is this movie worthy of all the praise it is receiving. I keep reading reviews saying how it's so deep, challenging, and meaningful. Why? It's not complicated at all. I think people try to say it's complicated because they want to make themselves feel smart or try to find some deep seeded meaning to relate to their lives. It's Look, this movie was nonsense. In no way is this movie worthy of all the praise it is receiving. I keep reading reviews saying how it's so deep, challenging, and meaningful. Why? It's not complicated at all. I think people try to say it's complicated because they want to make themselves feel smart or try to find some deep seeded meaning to relate to their lives. It's also very annoying how the movie says what it will do, then it does it. Great, so now you told me you were going to make this dream scheme work, then you follow through with it and make it work. That's just so compelling. And then to leave the movie hanging at the end? All I could think was, who cares if it falls or stays up! Expand
  64. RebeccaS.
    Jul 19, 2010
    0
    Don't kid yourselves, Nolan fans. This was a movie, not a Mensa test. It was easy to follow, though oddly structured. Nothing deep or wonderful about this movie. Got it the first time. People who say "You just didn't understand it," are repressing how badly this movie sucked.
  65. ML
    Jul 19, 2010
    0
    Hated it! Way too confusing and complicated (and I'm an engineering grad from an Ivy League school.) Shouldn't have to work this hard.
  66. CarlF
    Jul 21, 2010
    3
    Brilliant, masterful tedium. Never before has so much genuine talent and expertise been applied to the film making process with such dull and dismal results. Inception should get an award just for that. Someone please take away the big hollywood money Mr. Nolan has to work with. The more money he gets, the worse his movies are.
  67. May 23, 2014
    0
    Even if you watch 9/11 tapes while reading conspiracy theories on the internet and listening to Silencer, you won't have a more depressing, humorless, dull, pseudo-complex, deadly serious experience than Inception. This movie proves that Chris "Just doin' it for money" Nolan doesn't know what a joke is. His daddy raised him to be a true no-nonsense businessman, and businessmen can neverEven if you watch 9/11 tapes while reading conspiracy theories on the internet and listening to Silencer, you won't have a more depressing, humorless, dull, pseudo-complex, deadly serious experience than Inception. This movie proves that Chris "Just doin' it for money" Nolan doesn't know what a joke is. His daddy raised him to be a true no-nonsense businessman, and businessmen can never lighten up! They also cannot make art, they can make only carefully engineered, emotionally inept, heartless blockbusters. Expand
  68. tomM.
    Jul 16, 2010
    0
    What a waste of time & film. As we left the movie we asked what did the people understand about the movie - confusion is probably the best reply. Your critics' review system "blew" this one - bummmer.
  69. JudithR.
    Jul 17, 2010
    1
    One note movie-- mostly an unvarying level of all- out action throughout, and loud, bombastic soundtrack too, so it gets more and more boring to sit through. Not all dream sequences needed to be like Nazi horror dreams; but the few scenes in which Nolan introduced less noisy interactions were short and not very engaging. Not for thoughtful viewers.
  70. MaryB.
    Jul 17, 2010
    0
    I thought the plot was boring and gimmicky. The characters lacked depth. The whole movie felt like a collection of trite special effects.
  71. Bill
    Jul 17, 2010
    1
    One of the worst movies of the year. Unoriginal, non- inspiring performances. Very thin story. Very slow moving. Effects were cool, but have been done numerous times before. The Matrix blows this movie away. Nothing new here. Very predictable. Knew how it would end a half hour in. If you are intelligent, avoid this one!
  72. MitchG.
    Jul 17, 2010
    0
    Completely ridiculous story with a thousand flaws in logic, compounded by the fact that it's completely impossible to follow. Two hours of my life I wish I could have back. Total waste of the gazillion dollars they spent making this baloney. Save your money!
  73. JimboG.
    Jul 16, 2010
    0
    Warning: this movie is basically two-and-a-half hours of talky, pretentious exposition intercut with boring, generic summer-blockbuster-gunfight/car-chase action scenes. (Also, the good guys here are armed with the same Magic Hollywood Bullets that enable one nearsighted cowboy to singlehandedly kill a hundred Indians.) As for "visually stunning," don't believe the hype---it's Warning: this movie is basically two-and-a-half hours of talky, pretentious exposition intercut with boring, generic summer-blockbuster-gunfight/car-chase action scenes. (Also, the good guys here are armed with the same Magic Hollywood Bullets that enable one nearsighted cowboy to singlehandedly kill a hundred Indians.) As for "visually stunning," don't believe the hype---it's the same now-familiar CGI crap you've seen everywhere from "The Matrix" to car commercials on network TV. Expand
  74. JonathanP.
    Jul 16, 2010
    1
    This film has made ma lose my faith in humanity. I thought movie goers would be intelligent enough to see through this drivel.
  75. JoelF.
    Jul 18, 2010
    1
    Toy Story 3 is way better.
  76. RandyS.
    Jul 16, 2010
    0
    Absolute crap. You critics have lost all credibillity with me. And those that like it. Obviously you are not in reality.wake up!!!
  77. Aug 24, 2010
    1
    Can't for the life of me figure out why this movie got such high ratings. Another movie rigged by reviewers to get people in seats. DO NOT SEE THIS IN THEATERS. Wait for the DVD if you must. The plot is stupid and confusing, the characters are annoying and far-fetched, the premise is so unbelievable it boggles the mind. Whoever came up with this should be shot. The dream sequences are justCan't for the life of me figure out why this movie got such high ratings. Another movie rigged by reviewers to get people in seats. DO NOT SEE THIS IN THEATERS. Wait for the DVD if you must. The plot is stupid and confusing, the characters are annoying and far-fetched, the premise is so unbelievable it boggles the mind. Whoever came up with this should be shot. The dream sequences are just excuses to use some CGI effects and basically stray from reality as much as possible, and OMG but I had NO IDEA my dreams could be so vivid and real, to the point where you can arrange heists and kidnappings and create 'projections' that can actually kill you. I've never sat through so much nonsense in my life. This is a poorly written movie. If M. Knight had of written this it would've been viciously attacked, in stark contrast to the rave reviews and high ratings this has received so far. I will never get that hour and a half back. What a waste. Expand
  78. Aug 14, 2010
    0
    Never in my many years of going to the movies have I ever felt like walking out. NEVER. And I've seen a lot of bad movies. This movie is, without a doubt, the single WORST movie I have ever seen. It's film garbage. It has no soul.
    Hated it.
  79. Aug 15, 2010
    2
    Ridiculous, and ridiculously boring. No character development, no authentic emotion: Nolan gives you no reason to even CARE. Little by way of original ideas, or original film making. And the screenplay! 99.9% pure drivel. In all, it's a crappy movie inside a mindless movie inside a pretentious movie inside a boring movie. Skip it.
  80. CherylW.
    Jul 19, 2010
    3
    Too much hype. Boring. Stupid. Lame. Want my money back.
  81. stevez.
    Jul 19, 2010
    1
    For anyone who has a mind this movie is barely watchable. I was stuck in this movie to see how far this crap could go on. It is barely understandable and however go stand watching this without leaving at the first hour is a hero.
  82. MissyChrissy
    Jul 20, 2010
    0
    To all you critics and viewers that are giving this movie rave reviews, I ask, did we see the same movie? The music drove me insane, the acting was un-inspired, the plot was chaotic and confusing, the dialogue was excessive and boring and the characters were emotionally empty.
  83. PredragS.
    Jul 16, 2010
    1
    Such a boring movie...good effects but movie is sucks.
  84. Aug 11, 2010
    0
    TERRIBLE, it falls, to damn complicated for sal to understand probably because he smells bad davinchi goes into 4th sleep relm and **** ERVEY were thank you
  85. Dan
    Jul 20, 2010
    0
    Reading the reviews definitely gives you an idea why the world is so messed up! How anyone can think this movie was worth the admission price is beyond me! This movie STUNK! Everytime there had to be an explanation of a prblem in a dream sequence it made up bizarre rules! DiCaprio better start being a bit more selective on the scripts he chooses or he will be making 'Made for Reading the reviews definitely gives you an idea why the world is so messed up! How anyone can think this movie was worth the admission price is beyond me! This movie STUNK! Everytime there had to be an explanation of a prblem in a dream sequence it made up bizarre rules! DiCaprio better start being a bit more selective on the scripts he chooses or he will be making 'Made for TV' movies very soon! Expand
  86. JamesS.
    Jul 16, 2010
    3
    Boring. Boring. Boring. This movie didn't have enough action. The action scenes aren't even memorable. Parts of the film, such as the use of mental time dilation, are ripe for parody already. I kept thinking... haven't I seen this film before? Stupid.
  87. jamesm.
    Jul 27, 2010
    2
    THis movie was so bad for me I wouldn't have stayed past the first 40 minutes if I had been watching it alone. It didn't set up the plot at all. Like you were just supposed to accept on this intense chasing and shooting without ever knowing why just to be set up for the big dream sequence in the end. I thought the end was MUCH MUCH better, but getting there was painful and THis movie was so bad for me I wouldn't have stayed past the first 40 minutes if I had been watching it alone. It didn't set up the plot at all. Like you were just supposed to accept on this intense chasing and shooting without ever knowing why just to be set up for the big dream sequence in the end. I thought the end was MUCH MUCH better, but getting there was painful and infuriating. Not a joy to watch and not well developed as a story. Expand
  88. gillr.
    Jul 23, 2010
    0
    This movie sucks it makes no sense at all .they risks their lives to go in three layers dream for what?. so he can his father saying I disappointed that you try to be me.to find out his father wants him to be his own man. this a piece of crap. I want my money back. If you able to go in three layers of dream you shoud come up with something more important than this piece of shit.
  89. TheresaR.
    Jul 24, 2010
    0
    It sucked. I knew after the first 5 minutes. I wanted to reach out and grab one of those cuffs to put on my arm to go into a "dream-like state" until the movie was over. Don't waste your money ($11.00 btw) or your time.
  90. lucasb.
    Jul 26, 2010
    1
    Horrible dialogue, and character development that simply made the movie boring. Yeah I could keep up with the plot but was I supposed to care? Wanted to leave an hour in.
  91. BillF
    Jul 24, 2010
    1
    I though this film was extremely disappointing. First of all, you shouldn't have to see a movie multiple times to just get the point of it. I was bored with all the antics going on and finally just got tired of trying to put it all together. I looked at my watch many times to see how long I had sat there watching this. The hype for this movie is very misleading and though it appears I though this film was extremely disappointing. First of all, you shouldn't have to see a movie multiple times to just get the point of it. I was bored with all the antics going on and finally just got tired of trying to put it all together. I looked at my watch many times to see how long I had sat there watching this. The hype for this movie is very misleading and though it appears many of the viewers who have expressed their feelings here thought it was a masterpiece, I am one of those who definitely does not feel this way. Nolan is a creative director, but this one isn't with his best. Of course, I did lose track after I had fallen asleep for the third time! Expand
  92. EvanW.
    Jul 24, 2010
    1
    Watched he movie at the cinama last night, oh my god it was boring! All that stuff to make a dude destro his fathes empire, why dont blackmail him or something. Stupid story
  93. JoanR.
    Jul 25, 2010
    0
    I went into this movie with a rave recommendation from my sister. She loved it. I HATED IT. It was so contrived. I felt I was being forced to feel as if individual scenes were exciting (they weren't), that action was amazing (it wasn't). Perhaps it was the music...terrible. I hate movies where I can figure out what's coming next. And it didn't drive me to care about I went into this movie with a rave recommendation from my sister. She loved it. I HATED IT. It was so contrived. I felt I was being forced to feel as if individual scenes were exciting (they weren't), that action was amazing (it wasn't). Perhaps it was the music...terrible. I hate movies where I can figure out what's coming next. And it didn't drive me to care about any of the characters. This is supposed to be challenging? It was LAME It was a waste of money. Wait for it to come out on DVD. Expand
  94. joshuaf.
    Jul 26, 2010
    2
    A whole lotta money spent on a whole lotta nonsense. not even half as good as the matrix and is twice as stupid.
  95. JohnA.
    Jul 26, 2010
    1
    Horrible movie. I've actually liked Nolan's previous work despite his allergy to coherent storytelling, but Inception is a miserable failure in every possible respect. It is not a complicated film; it is intentionally convoluted in the hope audience members will mistake this for depth. The overwrought music and sound effects are likewise intended to create the illusion of substance.
  96. AlexS
    Jul 27, 2010
    3
    Very weak film, even dull. I felt no emotions when the credits came rolling. But the photography is beautiful and creative. Rent it.
  97. JerryH.
    Jul 22, 2010
    0
    What a waste of time and money. I never had the suspension of disbelief required to be part of or absorbed by a movie. The whole time I thought, "what a load of crap". It makes The Matrix look simple, linear and sane by comparison. Don't waste your time and money on this movie, even on DVD. I liked the Dark Knight and enjoy Leo iin most of his movies. Big flop.
  98. joeG
    Jul 23, 2010
    1
    An over-long mess of a film.
  99. JackL.
    Jul 23, 2010
    3
    Embarrassing flick. Juvenile silliness geared to the tastes of the juvenile mind. Nolan some day may grow up, but it's doubtful. Such fluff, such gobbledy gook. In a just world, Nolan would never again be allowed to waste time, talent and money.
  100. lindas.
    Jul 24, 2010
    0
    This is the worst movie I have ever seen. Leonardo Dicaprio is a terrible actor and in my opinion there are no redeeming qualities whatsoever. A boring mess.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. 100
    In terms of sheer originality, ambition and achievement, Inception is the movie of the summer, the movie of the year and the movie of our dreams.
  2. In a summer of remakes, reboots and sequels comes Inception, easily the most original movie idea in ages.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    100
    If Inception is a metaphysical puzzle, it's also a metaphorical one: It's hard not to draw connections between Cobb's dream-weaving and Nolan's filmmaking -- an activity devoted to constructing a simulacrum of reality, intended to seduce us, mess with our heads and leave a lasting impression. Mission accomplished.