User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 3237 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2010
    8
    I'd like to keep my review rather to the point.

    Pros: 1. its theme - dream is a fascinating topic to say the least. There are a lot of unknowns in the dreamworld. 2. its plot - there are several sweet twists and unpredictable turns. 3. its edgy drive - although you know what's coming next but still you feel jumpy about it. 4. its fast storyline - the story moves fast from one scene to
    I'd like to keep my review rather to the point.

    Pros:
    1. its theme - dream is a fascinating topic to say the least. There are a lot of unknowns in the dreamworld.
    2. its plot - there are several sweet twists and unpredictable turns.
    3. its edgy drive - although you know what's coming next but still you feel jumpy about it.
    4. its fast storyline - the story moves fast from one scene to another, making the viewers feel like on a roller coaster ride. At times, it's hard to keep up, even at the second viewing.
    5. its sophistication - there is a lot of information to remember and digest. This is the very thing the modern moviegoers are after, I believe.
    6. its realism - okay, pun intended. The movie explains (or at least tries to) the ins and outs of what dream is about and how it functions, some of which are very familiar with and dear to us.

    Cons:
    1. its poor character development - although the acting was convincing enough there was not enough of character development. I wonder how many people really felt connected to the main character(s) after watching the movie. Yes, the movie talks about emotional struggles but it was more of an action film, if you ask me.
    2. too many distractions - I found that the movie had more than enough characters than necessary. They may play some roles in the plot but they seemed more of distraction than anything else. I wish the movie was more focused.
    3. a bit preachy - I noticed the characters would explain things about the dreamworld and then the exact things happen later in the movie. I'm afraid, Inception overused this trick.

    In conclusion, its theme is fascinating but its delivery is not without room for improvement.

    I highly recommend you to go and read Somewhere carnal over 40 winks, if you dig this kind of flicks.

    Cheers!
    Expand
  2. RedzuanM.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of information, and as the movie plays out the viewer begins to put the pieces together and the picture gradually becomes clearer. Chris Nolan doesn't dumb down the movie for the audience like most Hollywood movies do these days, he expects us to What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of information, and as the movie plays out the viewer begins to put the pieces together and the picture gradually becomes clearer. Chris Nolan doesn't dumb down the movie for the audience like most Hollywood movies do these days, he expects us to keep up with him. And when we do, the reward is extremely gratifying. And the visuals were amazing. Expand
  3. JaneC
    Jul 18, 2010
    4
    I was hoping to give it a better score. I'll need to see it on Blu Ray later. It's one of those films that if you don't like it people think you're not cool. I'm not thick but I kept losing the plot.. Charactors had no depth. Film too long. Music too loud [although good] and you could only hear about 20% of the dialogue, so it was easy to lose your way. You I was hoping to give it a better score. I'll need to see it on Blu Ray later. It's one of those films that if you don't like it people think you're not cool. I'm not thick but I kept losing the plot.. Charactors had no depth. Film too long. Music too loud [although good] and you could only hear about 20% of the dialogue, so it was easy to lose your way. You couldn't hear ONE word that the Japanese chap said! Looked good with good actors but to be honest it left me cold. It became a' nightmare'. I will give it another go because Michael Cane was in it and Leonardo, two greats. By the way I thought Dark Knight was crap. Nolan seems to be a pretentious, self indulgent, up his own dark place, kind of person. Bring back the good old psycological 'Hitchcockian' thriller. I've just realized I'm overful of 'special effects'. This is just bilge dressed up, isn't it? Dissolusioned, yet again. Expand
  4. AlexN.
    Jul 16, 2010
    1
    Funny how people think complex equals smart and intellectual. This movie was a big bag of hot wind. Matrix was better.
  5. JamesD.
    Jul 26, 2010
    5
    Not very good really. I've heard the word visionary thrown Nolan's way, but this film was the work of a rather sterile imagination. Yes, it had many layers of narrative cleverly interweaved with eachother, but there was little to compel me at its core. The root cause of Cobb's state of mind just didn't grab me - partly as this relationship was never given the chance to Not very good really. I've heard the word visionary thrown Nolan's way, but this film was the work of a rather sterile imagination. Yes, it had many layers of narrative cleverly interweaved with eachother, but there was little to compel me at its core. The root cause of Cobb's state of mind just didn't grab me - partly as this relationship was never given the chance to develop to a tangible level. The elements of subconscious displayed were tame and the approach to the dreamworld rather banal - focusing as it did mainly on bland designs, bendy gimmicks and exploding things. There was little edge to Nolan's vision, he seemed quite happy to drown us in relentless exposition and unimaginative slow-mo shots. Scenes were very quick and at no point approached the atmosphere and interest of a real dream. A shame, because at their best, this is what films can do - engineer the quality of a waking dream. Compare Inception to the more intriguing work of Lynch, where scenes seduce with the perfect balance of the real and surreal, and whose images tend to linger in the mind. On top of this, Nolan is simply not a very good director of action; he is quite loose with the camera, and I yearned for more flair and invention in these scenes. Instead, he relied on an incredibly insistent score to give the action some punch. For a film about dreams and the subconscious, it was curiously impersonal and mechanical. Certainly, the real danger and sexuality of the subconscious might scare off mainstream audiences, but Nolan was given free reign to do what he wanted - so why not do something more interesting? Freud and Jung would find little to interest them here, as the film is less concerned with psychology and more with the narrative possibilities afforded by a convoluted dreamworld fiction. Perhaps Nolan does dream of corporate worlds and Bond fortresses. Unfortunately, such things don't interest me. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2010
    2
    I thought this movie was not as good as people are saying. Because we knew it was dreams inside dreams the over the top fight scenes had no bearing. Who cared? As a result the movie became boring and repetitious. I would be very hard pressed to recommend this movie to anyone. Stay away.
  7. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Christopher Nolan directs what must be his magnum opus with the complex Inception, a beautifully realized, tightly plotted surreal experience bolstered by a magnetic score by Hans Zimmer, great acting by the cast and thrilling set pieces.
  8. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    Inception is a spider's web woven with such intricacy that only when focused, you can find a way out. With brilliant material for the brilliant cast to work on, Inception delivers a complex masterpiece at an intellectual as well as visceral level. Top-notch directing, acting, cinematography, editing and Hans Zimmer's brilliant soundtrack only cements this as a modern classic.
  9. LaskhmanK.
    Jul 19, 2010
    4
    Disgusting!!! !The movie is trite, stilted & impervious. Very hard to follow the plot and the movie failed to engage the users. In the end the viewers were left confused.
  10. TomC.
    Jul 18, 2010
    4
    The special effects are the best part of this movie. The movie is basically taking naps with other people and joining their dream. that's goofy.
  11. JamesL.
    Jul 18, 2010
    4
    Where are the ratings of 10 coming from? Special effects were awsome. The plot was absurd and boring at times. It's no Matrix more along the lines of Total Recall. Leonardo DeCaprio's tortured soul characters are getting old. I must have dreamed this was going to be a better movie. Apparently a lot of the reviewers are still dreaming as well.
  12. SusanJ.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    A mind-bending roller coaster of a movie. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. Cast was inspired, ensemble acting.
  13. KevinD.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Fantastic movie. No, it isn't a truly original concept, but nothing is. I don't see how anyone could think this was boring, as there was action throughout most of the movie and the stakes were higher than death. So glad Hollywood made a movie that's not a sequel. You have to be paying attention and thinking about what's going on at all levels of the dreams to really Fantastic movie. No, it isn't a truly original concept, but nothing is. I don't see how anyone could think this was boring, as there was action throughout most of the movie and the stakes were higher than death. So glad Hollywood made a movie that's not a sequel. You have to be paying attention and thinking about what's going on at all levels of the dreams to really understand what's going on, which might put off some people, but it really enhances the film. I love non-linear storytelling, though, so I might be biased. Great acting as well. Glad to see Ellen Page and Joseph Gordon-Levitt (aka chick from Juno and dude from (500) Days of Summer/Third Rock from the Sun) do some action roles to show they have chops outside pseudo-indie hipster movies. Worth seeing again. Expand
  14. BMW
    Jul 17, 2010
    4
    This movie had promise, the story was awesome, and the special effects were great. But, it was so long, boring, and confusing. That I wanted to leave the whole time, and get my $9.50 back. I don't know what these people are on who give this movie 9's and 10's. Don't get me wrong, i love a psychological thriller here and there, but this movie was just plain headache This movie had promise, the story was awesome, and the special effects were great. But, it was so long, boring, and confusing. That I wanted to leave the whole time, and get my $9.50 back. I don't know what these people are on who give this movie 9's and 10's. Don't get me wrong, i love a psychological thriller here and there, but this movie was just plain headache inducing. So many people walked out of the theatre with a migraine after that 2 and a half hour piece of garbage. Oh yeah, the acting was good. Yet not good enough to save this matrix wannabe. Expand
  15. Jan 21, 2011
    8
    I found that it didn't really amaze me with its plot or character development quite as much as Nolan's other films such as The Dark Knight, but it's a fast-paced and thought provoking action movie that is sure to keep you thinking long after the end credits roll. Plus, the concept is just plain cool.
  16. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    An amazing film. If you love puzzles and are not offendend at that fact that you may not understand everything that you see (the first viewing); then this film is for you.
  17. Sep 3, 2010
    10
    BRILLIANT.... simply BRILLIANT!
    Very hard to understand at first (much like MATRX), however, it all came together by the end.
    Acting, special effects, story-line, direction, and creative ideas SUPERB!
  18. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    Really great movie. It was impeccably structured, visually fantastic, and generally perfectly executed. It was creative, ambitious, and intelligent, which are qualities that make it stand out from typical hollywood fare on their own. People call it a mindf**k, but don't confuse that for trippiness or a convoluted JJ Abrams mess, it made a great deal of sense. It is certainly a movie thatReally great movie. It was impeccably structured, visually fantastic, and generally perfectly executed. It was creative, ambitious, and intelligent, which are qualities that make it stand out from typical hollywood fare on their own. People call it a mindf**k, but don't confuse that for trippiness or a convoluted JJ Abrams mess, it made a great deal of sense. It is certainly a movie that wants you to think about after watching it. I think some people are trying to view this movie as an action movie, or an exploration of psychology and dreams, but it's neither of those. Those are all great things, but this is a heist movie. This is the kind of movie that Ocean's 11 would be if Ocean's 11 was far more original, intelligent, and had a greater respect for its audience. Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing film. Amazing soundtrack, special effects and writing. Would watch it again at least a 100 times. Should have won more awards in my opinion.
  20. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    I seriously don't understand how people are giving this move anything lower than seven, strong dialog, innovative action scenes, and the deep characters all make this an B+, A- movie. But what really distinguishes this movie as one of my favorites is the conflict with Cobb's lost love and the final kick sequence (this being one of the best scenes in the history of film making) forces myI seriously don't understand how people are giving this move anything lower than seven, strong dialog, innovative action scenes, and the deep characters all make this an B+, A- movie. But what really distinguishes this movie as one of my favorites is the conflict with Cobb's lost love and the final kick sequence (this being one of the best scenes in the history of film making) forces my hand on to give it a 10. Expand
  21. Dec 17, 2012
    6
    Chris Nolan is hands down one of my favourite directors of recent times, however Inception fall short of the standards he has set so incredibly high. It pains me to say that the story was needlessly convoluted (but not confusing) and relatively uninteresting. It was unable to grip me even though his use of music and cinematic devices were as per usual of high quality. Di Caprio gave aChris Nolan is hands down one of my favourite directors of recent times, however Inception fall short of the standards he has set so incredibly high. It pains me to say that the story was needlessly convoluted (but not confusing) and relatively uninteresting. It was unable to grip me even though his use of music and cinematic devices were as per usual of high quality. Di Caprio gave a sense of unease in the role he played but it seemed similar to that of Shutter Island and several other roles he has played in the past. He is capable of so much more but I felt it was not the refined performance he was aiming for. It was a brilliant idea for a film but alas Nolan seemed to be caught up in the idea of "Inception" and thus lost his direction. All in all a good film but personally I won't be watching it again any time soon. Expand
  22. RNH
    Feb 2, 2013
    10
    This is one movie that will make your head hurt, in a good way, this is Nolan's best film yet, and this is the guy who directed The Dark Knight, the complexity of the movie is what makes it so good, the ending is quite a cliffhanger too. And the visual effects are amazing. This is my favorite movie. Period.
  23. May 25, 2014
    10
    Inception is amazing simple as that it's amazing how Christopher Nolan can have so many Masterpieces pretty much everything the guy does it brilliant. Everything about the movie was great it has an all star cast, amazing visuals and top notch story telling that was easy to understand even back when I first watched the film. I will say that I have seen better of Leonardo DiCaprio evenInception is amazing simple as that it's amazing how Christopher Nolan can have so many Masterpieces pretty much everything the guy does it brilliant. Everything about the movie was great it has an all star cast, amazing visuals and top notch story telling that was easy to understand even back when I first watched the film. I will say that I have seen better of Leonardo DiCaprio even though he still did a great job in this movie. I love Joseph Gordon-Levitt so this is just another reason to love him. Also this is the movie that made me start to like Ellen Page she always seemed annoying to me but not after this. Oh yeah and it's another great score from Hans Zimmer.

    Overall i give it a 10
    Expand
  24. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    An incredible achievement by Nolan, an absolute masterpiece. The film gets more complicated as it ticks down and while it has a satisfying ending, there is still question regarding what really happened.
  25. May 23, 2014
    10
    First time I watched it in cinema, I was a little bit baffled or misoriented. However after getting the DVD I watch it once a week I think. I just can`t get over this flick! Where do I start - maybe from the best. First off, performance worth of an Oscar by Leonardo DiCaprio, excellent acting by Marion Cotillard and Ken Watanabe, above average by all the rest, especially JosephFirst time I watched it in cinema, I was a little bit baffled or misoriented. However after getting the DVD I watch it once a week I think. I just can`t get over this flick! Where do I start - maybe from the best. First off, performance worth of an Oscar by Leonardo DiCaprio, excellent acting by Marion Cotillard and Ken Watanabe, above average by all the rest, especially Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Tom Hardy and Cillian Murphy. All of the characters without exceptions are engaging in their own way Expand
  26. Dec 22, 2014
    6
    Using Director Christopher Nolan's slight of hand, he distracts viewers from a convoluted and boring plot with plenty of awesome actions scenes and special effects and Leonardo DiCaprio gives one of his dullest performances of all time. 6/10 (OK)
  27. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    Inception is a daring original, and mind-provoking film. One of 2010's best.
  28. ChrisO
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    It seems that those who rate this movie low are the ones who cannot comprehend what its all about, nor can they interpret anything from the movie, be it from the pro critics, or just customers like me. I just saw this movie tonight with my friends and throughout the movie I just couldnt help but be bewildered at times at the complexity of the movie at times. The ending was one of the best It seems that those who rate this movie low are the ones who cannot comprehend what its all about, nor can they interpret anything from the movie, be it from the pro critics, or just customers like me. I just saw this movie tonight with my friends and throughout the movie I just couldnt help but be bewildered at times at the complexity of the movie at times. The ending was one of the best and open endings Ive seen in a movie and can be interpreted so many ways. The movie is just fantastic, and has left my mind blown like many others. It is a must see this summer. Expand
  29. SamK
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    INCEPTION: Nolan has re-ivented the art of film making. The BEST film I have seen in 15 YEARS!!!
  30. CM
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Movies can be educational, moving, or simply an escape. This is the latter, and time flies as you watch it - not unlike in a good dream. Forget the actors, ignore the script, and divorce reality. Immerse yourself in it and enjoy what a good movie can do...
  31. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    Easiest 10 I've ever given. Unique story that really wrinkles the brain. Leo was great, Ellen Page was great. Saw it a second time to answer some questions I had but ended up leaving the theatre with a few more. In my opinion that's a great movie. Christopher Nolan does it again.
  32. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    watched it twice and loved the mental challenge induced, the great visuals, the performances! one of the best films of any genre for 2010! hope we see some Oscar noms for it soon!
    I loved the way Marion Cotillard gave so much depth to her haunting Mal and the understated yet key performance of Michael Caine's Miles.
    One of the best film opening scenes I have seen at least for this year if
    watched it twice and loved the mental challenge induced, the great visuals, the performances! one of the best films of any genre for 2010! hope we see some Oscar noms for it soon!
    I loved the way Marion Cotillard gave so much depth to her haunting Mal and the understated yet key performance of Michael Caine's Miles.
    One of the best film opening scenes I have seen at least for this year if not longer. And an imposing yet 'enveloping' music score.
    Expand
  33. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    i loved this movie!!! the graphics were trippy, all throughout the movie i was on edge then BAM! a cafe is obliterated and they all wake up back in reality. I love how at times its vague story line keeps you thinking with their fast faced action. christopher nolan obviously had a hell of a lot of time on his hands as his imagination ran wild!
  34. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    The best piece of advice I can give you is to stop reading this review and go see Inception immediately, because the less you know going into it, the more rewarding your movie going experience will be, however, if blind faith is not your cup of tea (and since you're reading this, it probably isn't), read on, as I share a few words about one of the greatest summer blockbusters in recentThe best piece of advice I can give you is to stop reading this review and go see Inception immediately, because the less you know going into it, the more rewarding your movie going experience will be, however, if blind faith is not your cup of tea (and since you're reading this, it probably isn't), read on, as I share a few words about one of the greatest summer blockbusters in recent years.
    The easiest way to describe Inception is to say that it deals with dreams, and people who enter other's dreams to find, or implant, information. As we soon learn, gaining information from dreams is difficult enough, but to implant information (a process called, you guessed it, inception), is a different story entirely. If you must know the plot, Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio) and Arthur (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) are hired by Saito (Ken Watanabe) to perform inception on Robert Fischer, Jr. (Cillian Murphy) in an effort to convince him to divide his father's (Maurice Fischer [Pete Postlethwaite]) company (this, as Alfred **** would say, is the MacGuffin). After consulting his old teacher, Miles (Michael Caine), Cobb picks up Ariadne (Ellen Page), Eames (Tom Hardy), and Yusuf (Dileep Rao), to assist him and Arthur on their mission of inception. There is also a side story involving Cobb's wife, Mal (Marion Cotillard), and their two children. My plot synopsis ends here, as saying more would detract from the amazing moments you'll witness on-screen.
    Those who have seen director Christopher Nolan's 2000 effort, Memento, will not be surprised by Inception's requirement of the viewer to take each scene as it comes. Viewers and critics have called the film confusing. It's not confusing, it's complex. The film itself is explained in detail, and without the usual boring dialog that screams "Did everybody get that?". There's even well-timed comedic moments that serve to break the tension. The difficult complexities of the film come from what is not seen, the bigger picture, happening outside the parameters of the movie. This is why Inception has been the subject of debate on forums, blogs, and even around dinner tables. It's as though Nolan puts the viewer in the middle of his maze, gives them the map, then turns them loose; but, there's a catch, the edges of the map are burned and faded.
    The technical side of the film is near perfect. I can't recall another film where the special effects and cinematography were better matched to create a visual buffet that simultaneously feeds our hungry eyes and mind. Nolan's long-time cinematographer, Wally Pfister, has done a great work here that tells the story as well as the actors and their dialog. All the while, Hans Zimmer's score flows throughout the film, taking us where we need to go. While Nolan and his crew juggle the technical side of the film, Leonardo DiCaprio, and his cohorts, are in full-form as we journey alongside them through dreams inside of dreams.
    Inception is that rare treat that comes down the line when a studio (in this case Warner Bros.) is smart, and brave, enough, to take a chance on something great and original. If you see one film in the theater this summer, make it Inception.
    Expand
  35. dgr
    Sep 26, 2010
    9
    A Great Achievement - The Effects are brilliant and there are strong performances especially from Marion Cotillard - The Dark Knight is better but it has competition with this film.
  36. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first watched the film, I didn't see why it deserved so much praise. I saw that the acting was awesome, the plot, cinematography and score was great but something just didn't click. However, I decided to watch it again and find out a little bit more about the film. That is when I found out it was perfection and unique. No one really knows what the ending is supposed to mean and whether he's still in a dream and what is and isn't a dream. That's the beauty of it. You decide. There are so many different concept and every time you watch the film you can think of a new one. No film has ever left such a lasting impression on me. Many people love it but many people hate it because it is too complex for them or they didn't understand a concept. It is interesting and I was talking about it for weeks. Masterpiece. Expand
  37. Jan 5, 2012
    5
    A pretty good thriller that steps into tedium a few too many times. What is quite remarkable about this film is that it has gained a reputation for treating its audience like intelligent, thoughtful people. This view was illustrated by British film critic Mark Kermode when he used it as a primary reason to place Inception at the top of his best of 2010 list. I am quite surprised as IA pretty good thriller that steps into tedium a few too many times. What is quite remarkable about this film is that it has gained a reputation for treating its audience like intelligent, thoughtful people. This view was illustrated by British film critic Mark Kermode when he used it as a primary reason to place Inception at the top of his best of 2010 list. I am quite surprised as I really didn't find this film to be much more demanding or hard to follow than most films. This is due largely because of the over expository dialogue. There were entire reams of it that were so laden with explanation that I cringed at times. I'm surprised that they didn't just wheel on Basil Exposition to explain the next part of the plan. In contrast to many reviewers I felt patronised by the script and that it didn't trust the audience quite enough with the various complexities of the plot. Leonardo is currently stuck in a 'I'm a bit edgy, little bit mad' mode - differences between his role in this and Shutter Island are inscrutable. Tom Hardy? Not sure about him yet. Caine was certainly my favourite thing about this. The final set-piece was brilliantly executed but I feel that the entire first part of the film served as little more than groundwork for it. Sorry for fractured and unplanned review just had to get it out, thanks.

    Love you byeeeee.
    Expand
  38. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    for me, the best movie this year so far.....10 out of 10...i really loved the plot..it was kinda confusing but it was well done..a well written script and a great director...A+
  39. Dylan
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Absolutely incredible! There has never been a movie completely like it and neither will there be again. Why do we dream? I think that is what Nolan is really exploring here. Any critic who doesn't like this movie should be sentenced to having to watch Grown Ups in their dreams for the rest of their existence. ;)
  40. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    Yeah, Incepiton is complex. Is that a bad thing? No. If you look past the craziness the first time through, and the fact that Ellen Paige's character is only there to be an "exposition shovel", the movie has a lot of treats for people who go to see it more than once. Also, there's a twist ending. Watch it.
  41. SergeyV.
    Jul 22, 2010
    10
    Its the most real Nolan from
  42. TylerS.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    The film was flat out amazing. The story was engaging, the characters riveting and the concept was intriguing.
  43. Sam
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Look at those contrarian hater critics at the bottom. Get real. This is the best movie to come out of the Hollywood crap factory in a long, long time. Brilliant.
  44. ArjunS
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    Amazing Movie, I have to say this is one of the best movie in recent years, Possibly best in this year, Everything is Perfect.
  45. Alaniz
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Think chess not checkers and you will enjoy it
  46. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    Inception is a movie from a genre that has appeared in this century and since that date is becoming more strong a popular. I am talking about films that mess with our minds, that make you think and make you doubt between what it is really and what is not. These movies are like a subconscious tornado or a complete paradox. Some of those pictures are Inception, Memento, Black Swan, Alice inInception is a movie from a genre that has appeared in this century and since that date is becoming more strong a popular. I am talking about films that mess with our minds, that make you think and make you doubt between what it is really and what is not. These movies are like a subconscious tornado or a complete paradox. Some of those pictures are Inception, Memento, Black Swan, Alice in Wonderland and Rabbit Hole.
    Inception treats a dark and interesting topic, the dreams and the power of the subconscious; and because of that the plot is so tangled, complex and even timeless. The barrier between reality and fiction is broken; so who can tell which thing is which? Or what is the difference between those? Even if you discover the true reality, can you be sure? There is only one or there are more realities? No one can tell for sure. This film also has some enjoyable concepts: Carpe Diem, the Leap of Faith, the bad remember dream and the unconditional love. The quotes that represent these concepts the most are: -An old man fill with regret waiting to die alone- and -You are waiting for a train...
    Besides the amazing topic, the screenplay, direction and performances are very good. But the most outstanding thing of Inception is the visual effects: the explosions in the cafe, the bend of the city, the free fall of the van, the fight in the hotel and all the things that happen in the limbo. What better way than a cliffhanger ending.
    Expand
  47. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    Inception doesn't need to be told by every review that it's new and fresh or (the opposite) stupid and "puzzles me as to why people like this crap." I understand that. It needs to be told it's a classic.
  48. ShannonC
    Jul 19, 2010
    2
    Remember that episode of ALIAS, directed by Cronenberg, called "Conscious"? That's what this movie was like. Only this was looooong, and boring. I give it a two 'cuz it looked pretty. Okay, and it was like that movie Dreamscape.
  49. Susan
    Jul 17, 2010
    6
    Fight scene was great, otherwise this movie was disappointing. The plot was just absurd--scifi should make SOME attempt to connect with reality...
  50. Sue
    Jul 17, 2010
    6
    Great effects, good performance by DiCaprio. But the plot is so lame...a dream within a dream within a dream within...Please!
  51. MikeV.
    Jul 18, 2010
    0
    I honestly can't even begin to fathom how this "film" is getting the positive reviews that it seems to be getting. With such a rich set of tools to work with, a film in which literally ANYTHING can happen since it is set in a dream, you'd figure Nolan could have came up with something better than some folding streets and 3 or 4 9boring) storylines,
  52. Aug 20, 2010
    7
    After all the hype I found the film mildly dissapointing. I don't feel enough was done with the clever concept and the amount of gun fire was over the top. Despite this De Caprio does very well as does his side kick. However, this is not on the level of 'The Dark Knight'.
  53. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Fantastic movie. DiCaprio goes from strength to strength. A wonderful blend of sci-fi and mind-bending physic with a simple driving core message. Love. Blended perfectly. Well worth the effort to understand.
  54. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    Whoever thinks this movie is boring is because they are stupid. YOU HAVE TO THINK FOR ONCE IN A MOVIE! The hallway scenes with Joe are the best scenes i've seen in a while. I thought everything was perfect and Christopher Nolan is the Alfred Hitchcock of this generation.
  55. Jan 8, 2011
    4
    Normally, I am very much against all of the "high brow" negative reviews of a movie, but in this case, I have to say that Inception is very over-rated. While interesting in concept, and certainly written by a genius or someone who has indulged in LSD way too many times, it's just "too much" for my tastes.
  56. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    Christopher Nolan is no stranger to making movies that will send the audience in utter confusion (i.e Memento). Inception is one of the movies that will have audiences thinking long after the movie is over. It will allow you to question your surroundings, and will cause you to question what reality truly is. The production value of the film is incomprehensible as almost every aspect ofChristopher Nolan is no stranger to making movies that will send the audience in utter confusion (i.e Memento). Inception is one of the movies that will have audiences thinking long after the movie is over. It will allow you to question your surroundings, and will cause you to question what reality truly is. The production value of the film is incomprehensible as almost every aspect of the movie is fully-thought out. Hans Zimmer has been the soundtrack producer for previous Nolan films, and here delivers a soundtrack that compliments the action and suspense of the movie as a whole. Perhaps one of the highlights the film is the ensemble of actors. Within the ensemble are three Oscar nominated actors (Di Caprio, Page, Watanabe) and two winning individuals (Cotillard and Caine). There is no doubt that it is well-acted and it adds to the reality of the film, where in fact should be absent. The minimal flaw in the film is that Nolan attempts to put too much to try to confuse its audience, but in the end this is just a small flaw in an immensely great film Expand
  57. Oct 5, 2010
    8
    It's not a masterpiece but is surely one of the most brilliant screenplay of the last 20 years! Great movie and great time passed watching it! My compliments to the director-screenwriter. 8.50
  58. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    What I loved about this film is not just the original concept but the thrill factor. It was easy to understand the concept within 5 minutes into the film but the thrill had me going until the final moments. This was another brilliant film from the genius of Christopher Nolan. Great performances by all the actors as I thought it was a pretty decent cast.
  59. MitchellV.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Excellent movie. Chris Nolan at his best. I was in need of a good mindf**k.
  60. JamesT.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Christopher Nolan, has probably incepted my mind cause this movie is all i can think about
  61. DamonA.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    I could sit here all night telling you why this movie is probably the best movie I have ever seen, but that would be unnecessary. Simply put, go see this movie!
  62. Jul 14, 2011
    8
    EVERYONE! Inception, was good. But......................................................................................................................................

    AHHHHH, MY BRAIN!! IT BURNS!
  63. JayS.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    The best movie i have ever seen since the dark knight. nolan is no doubt the next stanley kubrick.
  64. JustinS.
    Jul 18, 2010
    9
    Liked the depth of the main character. Want to see it again, but will watch it on Blu-Ray.
  65. SamD.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Wow. A masterpiece! how could some people dislike this?? it guess its like blade runner or 2001, which some people disliked. but wow, this was the best movie of the year, if not the decade.
  66. MikeW.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    The exponentially smart and puzzling "Inception" did a number on my brain. It's hard to describe a movie like this, you just have to see it for yourself!
  67. HerbleB.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    The mindblower of all films.
  68. ToddK.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    A mindf**k. A meditation on the nature of reality vs. perception. One thing's for certain. It's a movie that each person will take something different away with them from.
  69. BradA.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Wow! this movie was unlike everything i have ever seen. now i know how people felt when they first saw 2001 or blade runner.
  70. AndyM.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Saw it at midnight. Can't wait to see it again. Remarkable, novel, exciting masterpiece that is not to be missed. It's more of a heist film than a character driven piece, but as heist films go it's as intellectually awesome as it can possibly be.
  71. JoshuaC
    Jul 19, 2010
    3
    Inception is nice enough to look at; the DP is Wally Pfister, who frequently collaborates with Nolan, and he makes those Parisian streets, in particular, look very pretty and bright. But the deeper you get into the movie, the more its polished visual surface feels like a deception. Nearly every moment in Inception is so big, so fattened-up, that nothing has any weight; because every Inception is nice enough to look at; the DP is Wally Pfister, who frequently collaborates with Nolan, and he makes those Parisian streets, in particular, look very pretty and bright. But the deeper you get into the movie, the more its polished visual surface feels like a deception. Nearly every moment in Inception is so big, so fattened-up, that nothing has any weight; because every little thing is of the gravest importance, there Expand
  72. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    The movie's plot may baffle the audience, but Christopher Nolan's "Inception" dazzles us with powerful visuals, an ensemble cast, and mostly the director's mind blowing creativity.
  73. LorenD.
    Jul 16, 2010
    6
    I was waiting so long to see this movie. Leo was great. It was kinda trippy at first, then it just got boring. The movie looked great though.
  74. Aug 10, 2010
    9
    Not since The Matrix have I been this enthralled by a movie that happens inside the subconscious. Very cool film, smart, detailed but not confusing, and a great ending.
  75. Aug 17, 2010
    9
    Definitely the most innovative and original movie of the year with an amazing and metaphorical storyline along with sophisticated visuals that will keep you intrigued throughout the whole two and a half hours.
  76. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    Its a crime that this only got a 74 metascore, so many people are trashing the special effects in this movie even though Christopher Nolan tried not to use CGI at all...
  77. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    What Nolan accomplishes is amazing, a film where the framework is so complex, the premise can stun the idle brain. I was blown away through the whole ride, from the performances, to the breathtaking visual effects. It really boils down to the strange and wonderful plot, a plot that stays with you long after the credits roll, and implications still haunt me.
  78. JesseB.
    Jul 17, 2010
    4
    I think I've finally had it up to about here with Christopher Nolan. If you have ever seen a photograph of him, you might come away with the impression that his cranium is a tad larger than the rest of polite society (literally). This is not to speak badly of a person due solely to a physical quality which one possesses (as I have a gigantic boulder of a bald noggin) but to make the I think I've finally had it up to about here with Christopher Nolan. If you have ever seen a photograph of him, you might come away with the impression that his cranium is a tad larger than the rest of polite society (literally). This is not to speak badly of a person due solely to a physical quality which one possesses (as I have a gigantic boulder of a bald noggin) but to make the point that every inch of that fabled dome seems to be filled only with himself. Nolan, with the aid of his screenwriter brother, Jonathan, gave to us what many consider to be the grand achievement of the super-hero genre film to date, "The Dark Knight". I know what we are all thinking, "it doesn't take much to be the best of the bunch in that arena of film making." You are probably right, although there have been those rare exception, such as the aforementioned "Knight", which have exceeded the expectations of the viewer and brought us somewhere else rather than the local comic books store. With his latest directorial effort, "Inception", Nolan takes us on a trip through the imagination... literally. The story is of a man named Cobb (Leonardo Dicaprio) who works as a kind of secret agent for hire. He does all of the same task which would be called upon by any other spy, accept his playing field is not that of a world landscape, but that of the subconscious, and the men which chase after him do not belong to any organization, but are the projections of the host mind's subconscious which one deploys in order to guard one's self from mental harm. You see, Dicaprio, and crew, have the ability to dive into a sleeping person's dream and thus wade around their subconscious, extracting information which somebody else thinks it's important enough to pay someone off to steal. This may all sound rather confusing upon glancing over a simple synopsis, but I found the story all very decipherable-- perhaps too decipherable. "Inception" refers to the idea (you get it, "idea") that one would, in theory, be able to penetrate the sleepers mind and, instead of stealing an idea from the dreamer, one plants an idea in his head, making it as if the idea generated itself organically without the aid of any outside source. But who would want a skilled spy, such as Dicaprio, to a thing as that? Ken Watanabe (The Last Samurai, Batman Begins), who else. To get into the plot is just what this film would take the pleasure in having me do, because really, this film is nothing but plot. I don't necessarily have a problem with that, a film having a heavily plotted structure, but when the plot is the only thing that matters in the film, neglecting to develop characters and anything else beyond that which brings you from point A to B, I tend to get a little cranky. I got especially cranky while watching this flick. When you watch as many movies as I have (and I am sure that some of you have seen many more) you tend to learn things about the standardized structuring of a film which is used almost as a blueprint while a screenwriter crafts the tale which he wishes to weave. This is particularly true in a mystery-- nothing is discussed in the film unless it will have some sort of payoff in the end. This unfortunate blunder causes one to immediately catch on to the wool which the director would wished to pull over our eyes. Don't worry, I'm not going to give anything away. What is extremely tiresome is when one catches on too this little ploy, this ruse, and spends the rest of the time in the theater counting down the minutes until he or she is either proven correct or incorrect. I was correct... that is, I was correct ten minutes into the movie. I had many issues with this film, some having to do with what Roger Ebert calls the "idiot plot," a term which refers to the characters having to be somewhat dim in certain situations in order for the truth of the mystery to pass them by. For instance, upon exiting the dream of a failed mission, Dicaprio and crew wake up only to have the man whom they were attempting to steal from wake up as well and pull a gun on them. Now, imagine for a moment that you are undertaking this potentially dangerous mission with a group of your friends. The person that you are thieving from is asleep right next to you and, if by chance he finds out that you are doing him wrong, he may well become rather upset with you. Would you not take the two seconds out of your busy schedule to pat him down and make sure that he is not packing heat? Of course if you take away the gun before he wakes up there will be no fight and suddenly Hollywood execs begins to see those dollar signs peeling away from their eyes. Another problem that I had was that I did not like Dicaprio in the role. I found my eye much more attracted to actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt, a very appealing and intense young actor who has real star quality. I could have watched him for two-and-a-half hours, no problem. And yet another issue I take with the movie is the use of actor Pete Postlethwaite,one of Britain's finest Shakespearean actors, used only in two scene and in both he is confined to a hospital bed and is rendered practically useless as he is little more than a vegetable. If you are going to hire an actor as good as Postlethwaite than at least give him something to do. But them main villain in this whole mess is the use of plot itself. I knew I was in trouble when the film was ten minutes in and they already started explaining the plot to us. Don't tell me about the movie, guys. Just show it to me. I think Nolan is often times too preoccupied with the concept of control. He seems to think that he is the supreme magician who carries all of the secrets to a great show within his own self containing head. He condescends to the audience, making futile attempts at diverting our eyes thus perfecting his "masterful" illusion. Yet in his arrogance he forgets that his audience comes equipped with a fully functioning brain which is made curious by the attempts at diversion and looks past the unfruitful wavings of the wand only to discovers that what they are witnessing is not magic, but a man who thinks that he is one step ahead of the rest. This, of course would sound very familiar to those aware of Nolan's work, as it seems very close to a synopsis of his 2006 film "The Prestige". In fact this is Nolan's true artistic obsession, going all the way back to 2001's "Memento" a film which tells itself in reverse, from end to beginning, and would seem an amazing achievement, but when examined closer, it is only found to be a cheap gimmick which does not hold up. "Inception" is not the worst movie ever. In fact, a great many people may very much enjoy it. There are some fantastic visuals and... well... the visuals are good. The story-- rather, the various plot points which have been strung together in order to make some semblance of a story, is not as revolutionary as everyone seems to make it out to be. It is definitely no "2001: A Space Odyssey" or whatever great film which this has been compared to, it is a popcorn flick which would have you think that it is more intelligent than it really is because it introduces topics which are somewhat out of the ordinary, but have been addressed multiple times in far better movies movies and in literature. If you really have a hankerin' for movies about dreamlike realities, try watching "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" or even "The Matrix". I know while I was in the theater today, I was wishing that either of those movies were rolling instead of this one. Expand
  79. FelipeRico
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Inception was so awesome,with lots of dreams, awesome setting,cool visual effects,great characters,and mindless fun to watch that sucks into your mind!
  80. JosephN
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    Definitely the most innovative and original movie of the year with an amazing and metaphorical storyline along with sophisticated visuals that will keep you intrigued throughout the whole two and a half hours.
  81. Vs.Dobbs
    Jul 16, 2010
    6
    This movie is visually stunning but also boring as all get-out. The first 20 minutes are okay and the last are okay, but the middle 9 and a half hours are slow moving, inconsistent, and downright sloppy.
  82. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Inception is one of the rare movies that you need to watch twice but can completely enjoy the first time. Stunning visuals, great acting, and a superb setting more than enliven the complicated plot. More importantly, Inception is truly unique. Make no mistake, Inception is a heist movie. In structure it is more similar to Ocean's Eleven than the Godfather. Unlike other crime movies,Inception is one of the rare movies that you need to watch twice but can completely enjoy the first time. Stunning visuals, great acting, and a superb setting more than enliven the complicated plot. More importantly, Inception is truly unique. Make no mistake, Inception is a heist movie. In structure it is more similar to Ocean's Eleven than the Godfather. Unlike other crime movies, however, it examines crime as part of the human condition endemic to even our dreams. Expand
  83. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    This is one of the finest and most intriguing movies that I have ever seen. It has been years since a Hollywood movie kept my attention from start to finish. My hats off to Chris Nolan for restoring some of my faith in film.

    I am trying to pinpoint what really drew me into the story but am unable to even come close. Sure the plot and sense of dream vs reality but it was more of the
    This is one of the finest and most intriguing movies that I have ever seen. It has been years since a Hollywood movie kept my attention from start to finish. My hats off to Chris Nolan for restoring some of my faith in film.

    I am trying to pinpoint what really drew me into the story but am unable to even come close. Sure the plot and sense of dream vs reality but it was more of the whole package. Just about every aspect (including the film score, acting, and effects) was right on. The movie was so intense for me that I literally said WOW at the end each time. This is a movie that gets better with a 2nd viewing. This film should be shining light to all the Hollywood establishment that they have the power to make great films.
    Expand
  84. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    Probably the best psychological thriller of the decade, at least. It's not flawless, since different aspects of the movie will appeal to different personalities (for example, not everyone will be on the edge of their seat for a zero gravity fight scene), but yeah, definitely a complex and mind-boggling movie that's worthy of appreciation, if you're up for the challenge. And, honestly, IProbably the best psychological thriller of the decade, at least. It's not flawless, since different aspects of the movie will appeal to different personalities (for example, not everyone will be on the edge of their seat for a zero gravity fight scene), but yeah, definitely a complex and mind-boggling movie that's worthy of appreciation, if you're up for the challenge. And, honestly, I was confused my first time watching this movie (maybe it had one too many layers), but it was much more clear the second time around fyi. Expand
  85. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Like it's Idea of dream within a dream Inception is masterpiece within a masterpiece.
    Christopher Nolan's idea is unique and brilliant.
    The Director is in top form :).
  86. Oct 25, 2010
    4
    This was easily the most disappointing movie of the year. I really wanted to like this movie. But it's a pretentious, mess of a movie. The acting was weak. DiCaprio is back to his old, bad acting habits. The only reason Ellen Page is in this movie is so DiCaprio has someone to explain things too. I just wanted to scream at Christopher Nolan, "SHOW ME, DON'T TELL ME". The charactersThis was easily the most disappointing movie of the year. I really wanted to like this movie. But it's a pretentious, mess of a movie. The acting was weak. DiCaprio is back to his old, bad acting habits. The only reason Ellen Page is in this movie is so DiCaprio has someone to explain things too. I just wanted to scream at Christopher Nolan, "SHOW ME, DON'T TELL ME". The characters are all one dimensional. I didn't care what happened to any of them. Some of the special effects were interesting, but they were in a vacuum. There was nothing compelling about them. This movie was trying to be original and clever, but you've got to have a compelling story with interesting characters for it too work. It was too complex for it's own good. Expand
  87. SudipD.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    One of the best movie i've ever seen
  88. MarkV.
    Jul 20, 2010
    5
    People... it wasn't THAT good. Hard to follow and frankly not that interesting.
  89. JackR.
    Jul 29, 2010
    4
    My friends: this is not an intelligent film. This is just basic action flick with embarrasing plot, bad dialogue and absolutely nothing to tell us. The ones that feel that they have seen a "masterpiece" are seriously fooled by the shining surface and "witty" dialogue of this nonsense. But that's only human, isn't it?
  90. TonyB.
    Jul 29, 2010
    4
    Extremely well-designed, filmed and edited and more thsn sdequately acted, "Inception" is nevertheless essentially hogwash. We've been told that to really understand this film, we need to see it several times, but once is enough... If anything, a repeated viewing will more fully expose its nonsense.
  91. Ashmeriel
    Jul 16, 2010
    5
    "Inception" is a visually dazzling film, whose individual images never quite cohere under a clunking script that throws piles of red-herrings at viewers in a failed attempt to leave them with the same brain tinglings that films like Total Recall and the Matrix left. Nolan gets credit for his ambitious aspirations; but the real question is why bother making a story that has nothing new to "Inception" is a visually dazzling film, whose individual images never quite cohere under a clunking script that throws piles of red-herrings at viewers in a failed attempt to leave them with the same brain tinglings that films like Total Recall and the Matrix left. Nolan gets credit for his ambitious aspirations; but the real question is why bother making a story that has nothing new to offer on the world of dream/thought creation? In the end, "Inception" is a sanguine attempt to repackage old concepts in a sleek, empty way. Stay home and read a Borges book until this is available for rent. Expand
  92. TBoneG
    Jul 16, 2010
    5
    Can we please stop giving these directors such freedom to screw with us and explain their nonsensical b.s. as a "dream" or a "flashback"? Enough with you film school dropouts who walk away from movies like this not understanding jack yet exclaiming "that was brilliant"!!!
  93. LucasH.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    This movie is proof that christopher nolan is on his way to joining the pantheon of masterful directors. this is the most complicated movie I have ever seen, while at the same time being completely original, and very entertaining. In this day and age, that is something truly incredible. I'm not sure yet if this is his best movie (a few more viewings will decide that), I didn'tThis movie is proof that christopher nolan is on his way to joining the pantheon of masterful directors. this is the most complicated movie I have ever seen, while at the same time being completely original, and very entertaining. In this day and age, that is something truly incredible. I'm not sure yet if this is his best movie (a few more viewings will decide that), I didn't find it as fun as the Dark Knight or Memento, however, there is something remarkable about this movie that I cant quite put my finger on that really resonates with me. I cant give it a high enough recommendation. The one thing is it wont insult your intelligence, but it may make the mistake of assuming your a rocket scientist. And for you rocket scientists out there, fasten your seat belts, its going to be one hell of a ride. Expand
  94. EllisA.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    An incredible movie in the best tradition of Hollywood. This movie demonstrates the great success that filmmakers can have when they dare to step outside the established ideas and ancient rehashed storylines and create something totally new and awesome. Yes, Inception takes from the best movies of recent history, but does so in an artful and thoughtful way. Nolan is building, not An incredible movie in the best tradition of Hollywood. This movie demonstrates the great success that filmmakers can have when they dare to step outside the established ideas and ancient rehashed storylines and create something totally new and awesome. Yes, Inception takes from the best movies of recent history, but does so in an artful and thoughtful way. Nolan is building, not copying. The critics can say whatever gives them their jollies, but I loves the effects, I loved the storyline, I loved the characters and emotion, and I loved the ending. Hollywood, take note: This is how movies are made. Expand
  95. LoriG.
    Jul 17, 2010
    5
    The idea behind this movie seemed original enough, but I didn't much care for it. Normally, I love this genre of film, but truth be told, both my sister and I kept falling asleep, despite the very loud volume in the theater. I just didn't find any of the characters compelling, and the plot seemed full of holes. Some great special effects, but that was about it for me.
  96. MartinS.
    Jul 16, 2010
    5
    Okay... I expected so much from this movie, and it was such a freakin' let down. This is not the second coming Nolan fans. this movie sucked and there is no connection to Kubrick other than wow -- he had water popping out and an elevator sequence shot on a huge ferris wheel... big whup.
  97. JimS.
    Jul 16, 2010
    9
    Thoughtful, with a great ensemble cast, carried without a misstep by Leonardo. A fantastic story with locations, action, and effects worthy of any Bond or Matrix offering. Not a dead minute in the entire 2+ hours. Film making on a grand and wonderful scale. Daring, confident, and beautiful. A must see. 9.5
  98. SteveM.
    Jul 16, 2010
    6
    Not Airbender bad. But not what the commercial makes it out to be. Watching it once was more than enough.
  99. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    What makes "Inception" a summer blockbuster hit. One, the cast was amazing. Two, Christopher Nolan (The Director of "The Dark Knight) wrote a fantasic screenplay. Three, the scenes in this film were "Mind-Blowing!" Inception is a fantasic, action/sci-fi thriller for anyone. I can't wait to purchase this on DvD.
  100. Dec 10, 2010
    0
    THIS movie is completely overated. Watercooler prestige for those who sit through & pat theirsleves on the back at oh what smarty pants they are. This movie is crap that drags and is no where near as intersting as the nap & dream I took before it ended. Dreams are abstract, impossible to set up house in, one persons flying burritos and chairs with ship sails makes sense to them only.THIS movie is completely overated. Watercooler prestige for those who sit through & pat theirsleves on the back at oh what smarty pants they are. This movie is crap that drags and is no where near as intersting as the nap & dream I took before it ended. Dreams are abstract, impossible to set up house in, one persons flying burritos and chairs with ship sails makes sense to them only. Original? Ive seen better folding cities in the Matrix and Dark City.Its down right sad that spew like this and Monsters are loved by critics and yuppies everywhere when their comlplete dribble and will only contribute to the horrible drought of anything decent. DO yourself a favor rent Dark City & skip this nap maker. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. 100
    In terms of sheer originality, ambition and achievement, Inception is the movie of the summer, the movie of the year and the movie of our dreams.
  2. In a summer of remakes, reboots and sequels comes Inception, easily the most original movie idea in ages.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    100
    If Inception is a metaphysical puzzle, it's also a metaphorical one: It's hard not to draw connections between Cobb's dream-weaving and Nolan's filmmaking -- an activity devoted to constructing a simulacrum of reality, intended to seduce us, mess with our heads and leave a lasting impression. Mission accomplished.