Inception

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 3663 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. SamY.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Simply amazing.
  2. ZachC.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Inception was an EPIC movie all the way though it! i was on the edge of my seat! this i most definitely the years best movie yet!
  3. PatrickK.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    This movie was great and had a complex plot. Special effects were a nice bonus. If you thought the plot was convoluted or boring... it's because you have the intelligence of a 10 yr old or don't have the attention span to read a book.
  4. RobP.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Original! Finally a movie that isn't an adaptation of a novel, sequel, or a remake! Excellent acting, amazing storytelling, and awesome visual effects. A movie that deserves Best Picture.
  5. KyleJ.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    This is an outstanding movie. There isn't much quite like it you, me, or anyone else have ever seen. It is not for your average moviegoer, it doesn't have a dumbed down plot like some consider Avatar of doing and that is perhaps the greatest asset of the film aside from its originality. You WILL be sorry for missing it because after multiple viewings this film has filled the This is an outstanding movie. There isn't much quite like it you, me, or anyone else have ever seen. It is not for your average moviegoer, it doesn't have a dumbed down plot like some consider Avatar of doing and that is perhaps the greatest asset of the film aside from its originality. You WILL be sorry for missing it because after multiple viewings this film has filled the only spot in my mind that says: Masterpiece. Expand
  6. HarrisonH.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Like in Prestige and Memento, Nolan builds scenarios in his movies that rattle the mind, and cause the viewer to question everything they've seen. This is a fantastic movie, and it saddens me that people who can't comprehend the complexities of this movie have marred the user score and metascore with their negative ratings.
  7. JB
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Leagues beyond what anyone else in Hollywood is able to even dream of, much less create, Christopher Nolan is quite simply the Leonardo Da Vinci of film, and Inception his Mona Lisa.
  8. VladS.
    Jul 17, 2010
    9
    Great effects, spectacular imagery, appealing characters/cast (loved Marion Cotillard), and a terrific story that more than make up for comparatively minor shortcomings that need not be detailed in this trite review of mine. I've only chimed in here because I can't remember the last time I saw a movie where the audience reacted so positively at the end and kept up such a Great effects, spectacular imagery, appealing characters/cast (loved Marion Cotillard), and a terrific story that more than make up for comparatively minor shortcomings that need not be detailed in this trite review of mine. I've only chimed in here because I can't remember the last time I saw a movie where the audience reacted so positively at the end and kept up such a continuous happy buzz, from the moment we began to make our way out of the theater 'til the time we left the building and headed our separate ways (instead of simply dying out by the time we hit the escalator). I guess I'd say this was a cinematic AND sociological experience. Expand
  9. StevenC.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    This is old fashioned epic movie-making masquerading as a summer blockbuster. The kind of film they don't, but should, make anymore. I fail to see where anyone could find this film confusing or hard to follow. All you need is something called an attention span. It should be a prerequisite for critics to have a certain I.Q. before they are allowed to review films. Best film of the This is old fashioned epic movie-making masquerading as a summer blockbuster. The kind of film they don't, but should, make anymore. I fail to see where anyone could find this film confusing or hard to follow. All you need is something called an attention span. It should be a prerequisite for critics to have a certain I.Q. before they are allowed to review films. Best film of the year thus far. Highly recommended. Expand
  10. PRich
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Oscar buzz here we come.
  11. RobR.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    The best movie I have ever seen. Hands down. Watch it. This is the first good movie of the year. Good acting, plot, story, special effects. see it now.
  12. BrianD.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best films of 2010. Sad to see it not gaining the full support of the critics, but something tells me that may be because the director, Chris Nolan, is being held to a higher standard than most (A.O. Scott seemed to be less than thrilled because it wasn't this century's Blade Runner or 2001 in his opinion, for example). That's too bad. Inception is Easily one of the best films of 2010. Sad to see it not gaining the full support of the critics, but something tells me that may be because the director, Chris Nolan, is being held to a higher standard than most (A.O. Scott seemed to be less than thrilled because it wasn't this century's Blade Runner or 2001 in his opinion, for example). That's too bad. Inception is original film making at its finest and it offers emotional payoff as well as a one hell of a deep labyrinth of a world to get lost in over and over again. Highly recommended. Expand
  13. TakutoK.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    An intense, thought-provoking mind trip with some of the heaviest tone and mood for a summer movie. After you leave the theater, Inception still stays in your mind.
  14. bobbob
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    The best film of 2010 hands down. This is Nolan's masterpiece. The Dark Knight was just a warmup to one of the best science fiction films I've ever seen. Up to the last few seconds it was an outstanding film. Once those final seconds hit though, the film transcends itself into being one of the best mindbenders I've ever seen. Unlike some films where twists require careful The best film of 2010 hands down. This is Nolan's masterpiece. The Dark Knight was just a warmup to one of the best science fiction films I've ever seen. Up to the last few seconds it was an outstanding film. Once those final seconds hit though, the film transcends itself into being one of the best mindbenders I've ever seen. Unlike some films where twists require careful examination whether it makes sense or not, Inception makes you reconsider the film as it works in multiple perspectives. Time will be kind to this masterpiece. Expand
  15. NathanL.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    This is not only the best film of this year but, it is one of the best films of the 21st century!!!! I have not said that about a single film I've seen in the last 10 years and that is because it took me many viewings of various films to put them into this category. Moives like Children of Men, Zodiac, and Pans Labyrinth where all films that ended up in the 5 or 6 of my top ten list This is not only the best film of this year but, it is one of the best films of the 21st century!!!! I have not said that about a single film I've seen in the last 10 years and that is because it took me many viewings of various films to put them into this category. Moives like Children of Men, Zodiac, and Pans Labyrinth where all films that ended up in the 5 or 6 of my top ten list in their respective years but, by the end of last decade had made such a lasting impression I placed them among my favorite films of last decade (also include The Dark Knight). However, I can firmly state that after the first time I saw this film I was sold. This is a masterpiece!!! A word thrown around a lot but, is truly earned here. This is a movie that has caused the less active viewers to have a difficult time with the plot. This makes me love it all the more. I love having my intelligence rewarded. I will not go into extreme depth here because I could describe the whole thing and you still would not get it until you see it. This film is a dual narrative film about a man, Cobb, who has lost his children and wants to get back to them. However, a lingering memory of his dead wife and some false charges will not leave him to move forward and be with them in America. Which leads to the second narrative about a man, Saito, who wants him to implant a memory into his business competitor so that his company can compete in an expanding energy market. Cobb must complete this job and let his wife go so that he can move on with his life. It is also about a host of other things and every character (there are many) is dealt with in a sufficient amount of detail considering all the rules that have to be explained in a movie like this. Some of these characters, Cilian Murphy especially, have emotionally resonant stories of their own that could have been their own little films. This film,however, is an action film and there is no shortage of it. The sustained tensioned created by the amazing editing of Lee Smith and the operatic score of Hans Zimmer is the longest I believe I have been on the edge of my seat in my life. I honestly believe that you can look for this movie to be nominated for close to 10 Academy Awards from Best Picture to Cinematography to Sound to possibly a nod for DiCaprio with the combination of his to fabulous performances this year and the underated Shutter Island less likely to land one (even though I think it is the best performance of the year) . And in a perfect world Christopher Nolan will finally receive his long over due nomination. I saw this movie for the first time Monday then again on Saturday and I still cannot get it off my mind. I know that this will eventually pass but I'm not sure that I want it to. Expand
  16. AtticusD.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    Although The Prestige is still my favourite of Nolan's works, never mind my favourite movie of all time, Inception is by no means just an alright movie. It is an absolutely perfect, mind-bending thrill ride. Emotionally satisfying.
  17. AndrewR.
    Jul 18, 2010
    9
    this movie is original in almost every way. it had me guessing all the way to the end. SPOILER!!!!!!!!!! the only thing that did not come as a surprise to me was the recurrence of his wife, the way she managed to destroy certain dreams. i figured she would do that for the rest of the movie or until she was somehow dealt with. SPOILER OVER anyway great movie if you like the unexpected and this movie is original in almost every way. it had me guessing all the way to the end. SPOILER!!!!!!!!!! the only thing that did not come as a surprise to me was the recurrence of his wife, the way she managed to destroy certain dreams. i figured she would do that for the rest of the movie or until she was somehow dealt with. SPOILER OVER anyway great movie if you like the unexpected and jaw dropping effects then watch the movie. oh one more thing, the cast of actors the got is great, every character develops and none of them are forgettable. Expand
  18. SplatterMouse
    Jul 18, 2010
    8
    Great movie and definitely worth the price of admission. It is one of those movies that you keep talking about days after you've seen it. However, it did feel as if the story idea is a twist off the Matrix concept which is why I didn't rate this a 10.
  19. RoryP.
    Jul 19, 2010
    7
    This film is automatically full of its own blather, before it even earns such a stance.... While it does eventually earn the respect it thinks you should have for it from the start, it literally takes the whole movie to genuinely do so. Meanwhile the audience has to digest a rather dense (and ultimately quite cumbersome) setup or 'universe' that has no real importance to them This film is automatically full of its own blather, before it even earns such a stance.... While it does eventually earn the respect it thinks you should have for it from the start, it literally takes the whole movie to genuinely do so. Meanwhile the audience has to digest a rather dense (and ultimately quite cumbersome) setup or 'universe' that has no real importance to them until it is fleshed out (which they manage to do by the end, just about). Which leads to an mentally overstuffed sensation for the audience, Although saying that, its attempts at indepth commentary (i.e. its layered representations of consciousness (and the main characters general 'impetus') whiffs of a pretention you know certain 17 year old boys are going to love. The cast is young and promising but again considering how long it takes for the mechanics of the setup to genuinely click for the audience, their comraderie is a bare sketch, i.e. their warmth as a group is present but a tad wasted. Tom Hardy is charming. He is great actually. Marion Cotillard is beautiful and has a great presence, but seeing as she is not playing an actual person, she is a bit of a non entity (literally). Cillian murphy is a great actor but has little time to let his character resonate. Leo is Leo (although refreshingly not as annoying as I usually find him). Ellen Page is fine although she is given frighteningly little motivation and I was boggled by how her character (the newbie) was fine with the general setup when it is revealed to her (jumping into peoples brains? not a problem! - ?) Gordon Levitt plays a cool tough guy, and comes across as an actor scrunching his face and playing a cool tough guy (GIVE HIM THE KICK! lol). Sorry I just can't take him seriously. He wasn't bad though, and his fight in the hotel lobby was cool. Overall, not terrible, alot of effort clearly, but a film that takes itself too seriously and... has... problems... Not a masterpiece. although that is high enough praise when you think about it. Expand
  20. RyanY.
    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    This movie was original as films get, yet Christopher Nolan told the story in such an old fasioned way. Besides the obvious effects Inception remninded me of the stories in 50's or 60's films. Leonardo DiCaprio is brilliant yet again, but it comes so easy when you're blessed with a fresh story, a master storyteller and impecable yet underrated actors. Joseph Gordon Levitt, This movie was original as films get, yet Christopher Nolan told the story in such an old fasioned way. Besides the obvious effects Inception remninded me of the stories in 50's or 60's films. Leonardo DiCaprio is brilliant yet again, but it comes so easy when you're blessed with a fresh story, a master storyteller and impecable yet underrated actors. Joseph Gordon Levitt, in all probability, has propelled himself to A-List status with his role. Tom Hardy also showed some real potential. I can't understand why this movie hasn't garnered more respect. To those debating whether it's worth the 12.50 admission; just think Matrix with better acting and a little less action. Expand
  21. AntónioR.
    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    Simply amazing.
  22. DS
    Jul 19, 2010
    9
    *Possible Spoilers* Jesse B.
  23. JesseG
    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    A masterpiece on every level...from the plot development, to the visuals, to the acting, to the action, to the intensity, editing score and twist. Incredible.
  24. JeffL
    Jul 19, 2010
    8
    Didn't quite pull it off, but in a world of thoughtless movies Inception is great to see.
  25. ShaneK.
    Jul 19, 2010
    9
    I loved this movie. i agree its not perfect, but its alot better than most of the crap that comes out nowadays. and for everyone rating the movie a 0, are you serious? i can understand if people don't like the movie, but to give it a 0 is kind of stupid. it seems you're giving it a 0 just in spite of everyone else. oh well.
  26. MihawkeHawkeye
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    Will W: "This movie is crap and too absent of logic too make sense. I could go into why but I don't want to spoil it. I feel like I need to go watch Predators again just to clear my palet." This is what annoys me. People who go see a masterpiece like Inception and don't understand it seem to activate a self-defense mechanism in their heads which starts to give them the idea that Will W: "This movie is crap and too absent of logic too make sense. I could go into why but I don't want to spoil it. I feel like I need to go watch Predators again just to clear my palet." This is what annoys me. People who go see a masterpiece like Inception and don't understand it seem to activate a self-defense mechanism in their heads which starts to give them the idea that just because the film was too clever it is therefore "absent of logic". Probably the same kind of person who though Transformers 2 was brilliant. Anyway, if anyone is on the fence about this film, GO SEE IT, seriously. You do have to pay attention, but if you do it should not be a problem to follow what is going on, and I assure you what is going on will not disappoint. Only Nolan could cross cut so perfectly between (at one point) four layers of dream action! Expand
  27. SKenny
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    Seriously folks, do not listen to any other the reviewers who vote this movie less than 10. It is truely amazing and if you have half a brain you will love the complex story line and endless sub plots that make 2 and a half literally fly by!!! Best film I can remember seeing for a long while.
  28. JesusM
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    The ending is amazing.
  29. JamesM
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    This film is the best of the year. Period
  30. LandoP.
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    As an artist myself, it brings me a lot of joy to say that Inception is one of the best movie ever made. It has everything you would probably want out of an action/adventure/suspense-thriller. Similar to how I felt about Avatar and my journey through the land of Pandora, I got the same guided tour through the dreams of the human mind.It has Casino Royal's gritty, espionage-like feel As an artist myself, it brings me a lot of joy to say that Inception is one of the best movie ever made. It has everything you would probably want out of an action/adventure/suspense-thriller. Similar to how I felt about Avatar and my journey through the land of Pandora, I got the same guided tour through the dreams of the human mind.It has Casino Royal's gritty, espionage-like feel on top of the Matrix physics defying aggression. The movie literally captivates you for 148 minutes. The movie is epic, in a sense of the word. It takes you from a heavily populated city to Mombasa to some icy fortress. And if you pay attention you can never be confused the characters do a fantastic job of letting you/us the viewer know what's going on, it almost felt as if I was being spoken to directly. Adding to the experience is the superb acting by the entire cast Leonardo is in tip top shape as you would expect but he does not out shine the others, Joseph-Gordon, Ellen Page, Tom Hardy and Marion Cotilliard add phenomenal acting performances to the movie and you just feel, "wow!" I can't forget the score Hans Zimmer did a fantastic job on the score each matched the setting and feel of the backdrop. My favorite is Mombasa. However, the movie has it's hiccups, first there is the score, I know I just said it was amazing and epic. But when a score is that great, epic and loud there are moments where it needs to be tuned down for the sake of the dialogue.There are moments in the movie where the dialogue is supposed to be first to get the point further across however, the score seemed to overshadow it. Another fault was the emotion or from time to time lack-there-of; Leo has many struggles in this movie similar to his character in Shutter Island. But the emotional struggle between Cobbs (Leo) and his wife Mallorie (Cotillard) can feel distant at times. But you do feel the melancholy vibe in certain areas but I wish there was more of that. Bottom line, if you want a movie that gives you everything 100% and that is original, Inception is what you should invest your time in. It. Is. Worth it. Expand
  31. rhettc
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    2nd viewing was even better than the first! An impossibly ambitious premise executed brilliantly by all involved. A lot of exposition but it's all part of the plan (and besides, a lot of the film's detractors complain that it's confusing and clunky, and then proceed to do the same regarding the extensive exposition, which is kind of silly). As for the emotional resonance of 2nd viewing was even better than the first! An impossibly ambitious premise executed brilliantly by all involved. A lot of exposition but it's all part of the plan (and besides, a lot of the film's detractors complain that it's confusing and clunky, and then proceed to do the same regarding the extensive exposition, which is kind of silly). As for the emotional resonance of the film, again the 2nd viewing was more rewarding, which is strange. To the people on here giving this 5 and below, some of the doing so to ostensibly 'balance out the hype"-that's absolutely ridiculous. If you didn't think it was a masterpiece or if you didn't enjoy it well fine-but it's not The Last Airbender or Transformers 2. Is it Kubrick's 2001? Nope. But it is the most cerebral and audacious 160 million dollar summer blockbuster of all time. Oh, and Predators was garbage. Some of you guys who liked Predators probably complained about a movie like Avatar having a regurgitated story (which it obviously does but fortunately it was kind of well mounted hahaha), and a film like Inception being derivative of Dreamscape (as if Nolan would have never come up with his premise if those film's hadn't existed, where). Again, ridiculous. At the absolute least, the debate surrounding the film is an indication that it has accomplished exactly what it was supposed to. Expand
  32. RoseG
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    Best movie of the summer easily! It had a really lasting effect on me. Definitely worth a second watch!
  33. KunalK.
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    With 'Memento', he bent minds with intricacies, with 'The Prestige', he showcased his consistency with finesse and intellect, with 'Batman Begins', he re-introduced a Hero from dark ravines, with 'The Dark Knight', he made iconic history in evil's greatest form and now; with 'Inception', he not only affirms his distinction as the most With 'Memento', he bent minds with intricacies, with 'The Prestige', he showcased his consistency with finesse and intellect, with 'Batman Begins', he re-introduced a Hero from dark ravines, with 'The Dark Knight', he made iconic history in evil's greatest form and now; with 'Inception', he not only affirms his distinction as the most innovative and compelling film maker of our time but also epitomizes the best of Hollywood's intellectual, visual, graphic, technical, artistic and performing capabilities. His work is by no means inspiring because you simply cannot align your intellect with his imagination. 'Inception' perplexes on two main fronts: First, its mind twisting plot that challenges you through a maze of incredulous events and Second, the ability of the film to visually delineate all the endless possibilities of Nolan's intricately crafted dream world. Expand
  34. SimonH
    Jul 20, 2010
    9
    Really not that complicated or intellectual.... it just treats its audience as people with brains and puts together a thoroughly enjoyable film.
  35. SeanM.
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    It's not confusing if you actually pay attention... this movie was made for philosophical discussion, and I'm sure you'll be researching Rene Descartes after watching it. The action sequences were amazing, effects were superb as always. Great movie!
  36. JoeG
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. Acting, great writing, presentation ,,, its all there and its there to stay. This is not one of those movies whose name you will struggle to remember 5 years from now. Highly recommended.
  37. AmanNamedDaNothing
    Jul 20, 2010
    8
    This movie seems more about emotional espionage than dream theivery. The visuals tho excellent in everything Nolan means to show are amazing, it just never reaches (except the one market scene shown in all of the trailers/commercials) the ethereal level most of us would call the "Dream World". Its way to mundane and every day without the Fantastic possibilities of dreams. Great & many This movie seems more about emotional espionage than dream theivery. The visuals tho excellent in everything Nolan means to show are amazing, it just never reaches (except the one market scene shown in all of the trailers/commercials) the ethereal level most of us would call the "Dream World". Its way to mundane and every day without the Fantastic possibilities of dreams. Great & many Layers of story that will keep those with attention spans griping their seats (those without will become agitated & restless) that has many a payoff. I guess I wanted more Matrix or Dreamscape fantasy visuals. But emotionally and this movie stands above those. Expand
  38. MichaelU
    Jul 20, 2010
    9
    I was extremely skeptical about this at first because I didn't like Nolan's The Dark Knight nearly as much as everyone else did. Nevertheless, I gave this a chance and was very pleasantly surprised. The premise is just about perfect, and almost every single detail is covered as to leave no plot holes. Acting was great on all fronts, with Leo giving a rock solid performance. The I was extremely skeptical about this at first because I didn't like Nolan's The Dark Knight nearly as much as everyone else did. Nevertheless, I gave this a chance and was very pleasantly surprised. The premise is just about perfect, and almost every single detail is covered as to leave no plot holes. Acting was great on all fronts, with Leo giving a rock solid performance. The visuals are also terrific, and the action scenes are a great break from all the shakey-cam nonsense filmmakers are going for these days. There were only a few confusing plot points that you could easily fill yourself in on at Wikipedia. Didn't feel too long, and the pacing was great. Many scenes were legitimately tense and frightening. By all means, go see this film. Ypu won't be disappointed. Expand
  39. JamesH.
    Jul 21, 2010
    8
    Overall I enjoyed the movie, but my only complaint is on a technical level. The soundtrack to this movie drove me nuts. There is loud music CONSTANTLY playing (even in quiet moments), sometimes louder than the dialogue, and a couple of key players have accents making it impossible to understand what they are saying (due to the loud music). Even so, I was still able to follow the movie. In Overall I enjoyed the movie, but my only complaint is on a technical level. The soundtrack to this movie drove me nuts. There is loud music CONSTANTLY playing (even in quiet moments), sometimes louder than the dialogue, and a couple of key players have accents making it impossible to understand what they are saying (due to the loud music). Even so, I was still able to follow the movie. In fact, the movie pretty much explains itself as it goes along. In the end, I was frustrated due to the loud soundtrack (could be the fault of the cinema I saw it in), but liked the film. I'm looking forward to seeing it on blu-ray where I can hopefully hear the dialogue better. I did not feel this movie was a masterpiece, as some are calling it, but it certainly was one of the best films I've seen this year. After seeing the really horrible "Splice" earlier this year, it was nice to see a well done Science Fiction movie. Expand
  40. RegisC
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    Purely brilliant. Not much more I can see that hasn't been said already. A total breathe of fresh air in this stale business. We'll definitely see many Oscar nominations.
  41. NelsonR.
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    Very creative concept that is executed flawlessly.
  42. Andrew
    Jul 22, 2010
    8
    I don't see how you can give this movie a 10. i also don't see how you can give it a 0. It's good, but it is overhyped and while I don't think there are a lot of flaws in what Nolan wanted to do, it just doesn't connect with me. Still, it's a very good movie, just not great.
  43. callumh
    Jul 22, 2010
    10
    I walked into this film with great expectations, I have been a Nolan fan since I saw Memento in 2001 when I was looking for a movie at the video library and saw a new Guy Pearce Movie. From that day on I have seen all of Nolan's stuff, as excited as I was I thought there was no way that this would be as great his last effort, The Dark Knight. Once Inception was over I realised very I walked into this film with great expectations, I have been a Nolan fan since I saw Memento in 2001 when I was looking for a movie at the video library and saw a new Guy Pearce Movie. From that day on I have seen all of Nolan's stuff, as excited as I was I thought there was no way that this would be as great his last effort, The Dark Knight. Once Inception was over I realised very quickly that I was wrong. Inception is the best film I have seen in a long time, possibly ever! All the cast are simply brilliant from powerhouse Dicaprio to the intermittently seen Berenger. This film for me is an instant classic. I don't want to discuss the film too much because I feel that this film is better to walk into not know what you are going to get. The only advice I can give for this film is don't leave your brain at the door, this ain't Predators! Expand
  44. lee
    Jul 22, 2010
    10
    Do you trust a review to someone who can't spell "palette"? if you didn't understand it, then you either were only looking for special effects or were high. it says something of our society when a film of this magnitude gets bad reviews by people who don't even pay attention to life, much less movies.
  45. JM
    Jul 22, 2010
    10
    Fantastic. What a summer blockbuster should be. Looking forward to a second viewing.
  46. FredB
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    Excellent movie, shame that it is too much for simpler folk to grasp as shown in the lower scored reviews.
  47. VirT.
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    Inception is not a movie, it is a genre in itself. It is a must watch for everyone.
  48. MoritzT
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    Stunning in every way!
  49. SethB
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    A 10 that makes me sorry i ever gave any other movie a 10. Almost perfect from start to finish! Another thing I love about this movie is that all those bad reviews (with the exception of A.O. Scott's, who always is sensible) make it easy to tell those who don't have the brain cells to follow a fairly complex film and now we can disregard any of their reviews in the future.
  50. IgalG.
    Jul 24, 2010
    10
    Almost flawless script, emotional intesity, sofiticated action sequenses, great performence by Di'caprio and above all - innovative in nomerous aspecs.
  51. HarperJ
    Jul 24, 2010
    10
    The only criticism ("not enough emotion") misses the symbolism and the point of this movie. Inception was brilliantly revealed in layers, like the emotions and psyches of the 2 dominant characters (diCaprio/Murphy). The superficial layer had little emotion and the deepest had the most intense. I never write reviews but this movie I have to recommend as one of THE BEST MOVIES that MUST be The only criticism ("not enough emotion") misses the symbolism and the point of this movie. Inception was brilliantly revealed in layers, like the emotions and psyches of the 2 dominant characters (diCaprio/Murphy). The superficial layer had little emotion and the deepest had the most intense. I never write reviews but this movie I have to recommend as one of THE BEST MOVIES that MUST be seen in a theater. Better than Matrix, Malkovich, Memento, Brainstorm and all the other scifi concept movies about Consciousness/Dreams. Expand
  52. MatthewE.
    Jul 25, 2010
    10
    Nolan drifts back to the genius of Momento, accepting what M Night cannot. We can't always be fooled by a movie and Nolan knows this and creates a wonderful facsimile of suprise in this film. We know the end 20 minutes before the film finishes and Nolan knows this and makes a suprise ending none the less.
  53. BillW.
    Jul 25, 2010
    9
    The movie moves with a ridiculous pace throughout. There is continuous action, and unbelievable special effects. The only negatives are that it is difficult to get very attached to any of the characters (other than DiCpario's) and the whole story is far-fetched.
  54. AlanG.
    Jul 26, 2010
    10
    Fantastic! Captured my attention from the first to the last moment. Even my 70 year old mother in law loved it (even if she didn't understand any of it).
  55. MikeG
    Jul 26, 2010
    9
    Not the greatest movie of it's genre, but close to it.
  56. JacobH.
    Jul 26, 2010
    10
    Inception is *that* movie. The movie everyone will be discussing, debating and analyzing until the end of time. This generation's 2001: A Space Odyssey.
  57. JJ
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    Of the five Christopher Nolan films I have seen before this, 4 have been truly exceptional movies, Insomnia was decent. So, I had huge expectations for Inception. It surpassed every one easily. Nolan weaves together a narrative stunning in its complexity, while keeping it coherent. I did not find it at all difficult to follow, as paying attention was easy with the spectacular visuals and Of the five Christopher Nolan films I have seen before this, 4 have been truly exceptional movies, Insomnia was decent. So, I had huge expectations for Inception. It surpassed every one easily. Nolan weaves together a narrative stunning in its complexity, while keeping it coherent. I did not find it at all difficult to follow, as paying attention was easy with the spectacular visuals and action that keep even the easily confused glued to the screen. Even if all the small technicalities aren't kept straight in one's mind, the viewer is always aware of the emotional center and feels the gravity of the situation. I walked out of the theater fully satisfied, having enjoyed every moment of the movie right the last brain teasing scene. However, it wasn't until thinking about the plot later, that I began to grasp the true brilliance of it all. This film deals with themes like substance abuse, loss, family, and has religious overtones such as faith, and depictions of hell. While I normally find over-analyzing to be annoying, I can't help but feel that in those 10 years of writing this script, Nolan had a lot to say and created a genius and thought-provoking story on every level. He is the greatest director of hollywood blockbuster's today, bringing originality, emotionally heavy, and intelligent stuff to the table while remaining entertaining as hell. This is his masterpiece. Expand
  58. SaraM.
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    Of course this movie is the best movie this year till now! It has something different thing. i don't want to say it because it might spoil you from watching the movie. the music was great. What I know is that the director of dark knight is a really good director and never disappointed me.
  59. AdamW
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    Inception is the movie of the year, It was intense, cerebral, conceptually imaginative and action packed. If only more films were made with this level of ambition and guile the cinema would be a far better place to be. Its a shame that Inception will easily become the quintessential movie of its type, because there really should be more competition for that title. I was disappointed to Inception is the movie of the year, It was intense, cerebral, conceptually imaginative and action packed. If only more films were made with this level of ambition and guile the cinema would be a far better place to be. Its a shame that Inception will easily become the quintessential movie of its type, because there really should be more competition for that title. I was disappointed to see critics, obviously used to the likes of Snakes on a Plane and Hot Tub Time Machine, saying that Inception is 'confusing' and 'complicated' when it really isn't. It just happens to be more complicated that the average movie, which really isn't difficult to achieve, and just because you have to keep up during the film and you might be still thinking about it 20 mins after doesn't make it confusing. Come on guys! MAN UP! The thing that I really don't understand is people accusing Inception of being 'boring'. it just might not be your thing, which is fair enough as there's never going to be a movie that everyone likes and connects with, its impossible, however Inception is anything but boring. Expand
  60. John
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    This movie was more than I expected. I went in with huge expectations and this movie exceeded all of them. I really had a hard time leaving the theater, because my eyes just couldn't leave the screen.
  61. brandond
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Movie was great, and certainly connected my emotions...Just because you can't pay attention to a movie for more than two hours does not mean you can bash what your mind could not handle. Try to think during the movie and you will feel the emotion Nolan delivers. Clap Clap for the movie, well done.
  62. OliviaG
    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    I am 14 and understood this movie completely and thought it was one of the best movies i have seen in my lifetime!
  63. KennyJ.
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    Outstanding!
  64. TimK
    Jul 30, 2010
    9
    Not hard to understand if you currently attend or have graduated high school. If there was one, solid reason why this movie is so fantastic, it is because of its originality. The idea is so much more than "ex-agent/cop kills everything that moves" or "romantic comedy, enough said." It does make you think, which for me made the movie seem like it lasted forever.
  65. jamesk.
    Jul 30, 2010
    10
    Excellent, non stop action and interesting story.
  66. JackS.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Wow. I have never had a moviegoing experience like this. all i can say is that i was amazing. revolutionary. I cant imagine why this is getting bad reviews! Maybe people are too lazy too follow, or just being contrarians. Put pay attention, and you will be rewarded immensely. A masterpiece. I would even say this is one of the best films of all time. I plan to see it many more times!
  67. KevinK.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    The best cinema-going experience I've had in a long time. Multi-faceted genre with a great musical score, excellent acting, titillating action sequences, original concept and seamless storytelling. For it's complexity and the multitude of linear parallel story aches but with different parameterizations with respect to time, it was pleasantly easy to follow along for the average The best cinema-going experience I've had in a long time. Multi-faceted genre with a great musical score, excellent acting, titillating action sequences, original concept and seamless storytelling. For it's complexity and the multitude of linear parallel story aches but with different parameterizations with respect to time, it was pleasantly easy to follow along for the average movie-goer, which I believe is testament to the great foundational strength of it's logic, directing, and execution. This movie had a lot of interesting themes to ponder over too, but more than anything, what amazed me was how in the process of watching it you find yourself in wonderment at the elegance and how it brings it all together seamlessly (if you look for the loose thread, you'll be looking for awhile, as if you were trying to find the 2nd side to a loop of paper twisted and fused at the ends). Whereas other movies will intentionally over-complicate a movie and cut-it up and mix it up to create abstraction, Inception has the complexity, but in a almost natural order, or mathematically, like a function f(a(b(c(d(e(x))))). Expand
  68. DanielK.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    After a somewhat confusing (but necessary) first hour, the movie reveals itself to be a masterpiece. It is definitely one of my all-time favorite movies.
  69. WilliamS.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    I'm surprised there are so many negative comments, I guess this is a love it or hate it film. Personally I absolutely loved it, and so did everyone I've talked to about it. It was one of the best movies I've seen in a while. Christopher Nolan delivers once again as he did with Memento and the Dark Knight.
  70. StuartW.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    From some of the negative comments it seems that a lot of people didn't like this movie because they found it confusing. I would therefore offer the advice that if you have trouble following clever and original movie narratives and like to stick to the same old generic storylines we're used to seeing over and over, then don't see this movie. For me, as a Christopher Nolan From some of the negative comments it seems that a lot of people didn't like this movie because they found it confusing. I would therefore offer the advice that if you have trouble following clever and original movie narratives and like to stick to the same old generic storylines we're used to seeing over and over, then don't see this movie. For me, as a Christopher Nolan fan, it lived up to all my expectation and did not disappoint. 10 out of 10! Expand
  71. Travis
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Inception is a masterpiece. After one viewing I can't wait smack down another 10 bucks to unlock some of the deeper narrative themes. That said after seeing it once Leo deserves an Oscar nod as does Christopher Nolan for directing, Wally Pfister for the cinematography, Han's Zimmer for the haunting musical score, and hopefully in choreography if alone for Joseph Gordon Inception is a masterpiece. After one viewing I can't wait smack down another 10 bucks to unlock some of the deeper narrative themes. That said after seeing it once Leo deserves an Oscar nod as does Christopher Nolan for directing, Wally Pfister for the cinematography, Han's Zimmer for the haunting musical score, and hopefully in choreography if alone for Joseph Gordon Levitt's awe inspiring weightless scenes. Go see it, and while your at it go see it again, cherish the experience because movies like this come along every couple of decades. Brilliant. Expand
  72. NathanP.
    Jul 16, 2010
    8
    I'm an avid review reader, I can be pumped as all get out for a movie to come out, but it's reviews are bad, typically i won't go see it in theaters. I was delighted to see the early reviews for this movie roll in, perfect score after perfect score... my anticipation grew into something nearly uncontainable. Now I've seen it. And boy am I glad I did. I've seen I'm an avid review reader, I can be pumped as all get out for a movie to come out, but it's reviews are bad, typically i won't go see it in theaters. I was delighted to see the early reviews for this movie roll in, perfect score after perfect score... my anticipation grew into something nearly uncontainable. Now I've seen it. And boy am I glad I did. I've seen about 10 movies in theaters this year so far... and this movie is, without doubt, the best (live action) movie I've seen in 2010. Some of the sequences were absolutely mind blowing, while others were so obvious, I was jealous that I didn't think of this movie first. Take the matrix, but instead of jacking into computers, jack into other peoples minds... simply(that's the key word) genius. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, the acting was great all around, the action was awesome, though not entirely original, and while the movie doesn't exactly keep you guessing, it does keep you on your toes. I don't know what movie some of these people here saw, but this was a highly entertaining movie. I would happily pay to see it again, and I would recommend it to anyone. Content notes: For a PG-13 movie, pretty tame on the language end of things... a few G-d's, but no F-bombs. And on the violence side of things, violent, but very little blood, and zero gore. Expand
  73. HasanQ.
    Jul 16, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best movies in recent time.Hats off to Mr. Nolan and Caprio.
  74. FrankL
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Best movie this year so far. Definitely a thinking person's movie.
  75. ChrisT.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    This is precisely why I hate the Village Voice reviews. They come across as pretentious nonsense, purely devised to go against the popular opinion. I can picture the editorial staff at VV conspiring against all the 'buzz' purely so that their negative review can stand out from the rest. Ridiculous.
  76. JaredC.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    If someone gave this film a bad review, it's because they have no brain to actually understand the story. People are always whining and complaining on how confusing Inception was. Well obviously those people didn't even watch the movie because if people actually paid attention, they'd actually understand what is going on. Second of all, if this movie isn't up for any If someone gave this film a bad review, it's because they have no brain to actually understand the story. People are always whining and complaining on how confusing Inception was. Well obviously those people didn't even watch the movie because if people actually paid attention, they'd actually understand what is going on. Second of all, if this movie isn't up for any Academy Awards then I'll be pissed. The Dark Knight wasn't up for anything 2 years ago, and Chris Nolan was ticked off. Although, the reason why he didn't make another Batman movie was because he wanted that academy award that he should've got 2 years ago. Nolan wanted to go even deeper, so the Academy would actually for once give him credit for something that no one has ever done. This movie is as good as the Dark Knight, but goes even deeper within the realm of mind. The Academy better be right this year because I'm not watching some crappy britain movie that no one even knows that somehow is better than Inception. This movie is the best movie of the year, and if it isn't then what is? Expand
  77. GeorgeN.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Best movie I've seen in a while. It really reminded me of the Matrix AND of how bad this summer's movies have been.
  78. JimH
    Jul 17, 2010
    8
    Like other Nolan movies, you are distracted from the film's narrative holes by his style and flair. But I still had a hard time getting past the film's central conceit of induced dreaming. And people don't dream as soon as they fall asleep. And aren't there easier, less cool ways to steal corporate secrets? And how did Cobb first discover then market his abilities? To Like other Nolan movies, you are distracted from the film's narrative holes by his style and flair. But I still had a hard time getting past the film's central conceit of induced dreaming. And people don't dream as soon as they fall asleep. And aren't there easier, less cool ways to steal corporate secrets? And how did Cobb first discover then market his abilities? To me, this movie still does not supersede the Matrix, as I would have expected and which I thought we'd be capable of doing by this point in time. Expand
  79. BrandonW.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    This is Christopher Nolan's masterpiece. I did not expect him to outdo TDK so soon in terms of greatness but he has. The fact that he wrote the script himself and hardly used the greenscreen CGI effect through fighting scenes in the film blows my mind. This is the best movie I have ever seen
  80. JasonK
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Reminds me why I love the movies.
  81. KieranS.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Incredible film, yet again dicaprio has produced an excellent performance and Nolan another original, genius masterpiece with stunning graphics and a storyline like no other. Full of action, emotion, depth and a concept that is extremely clever. This I think is the film of the year and will be eagerly waiting for it's blu ray release so I can watch it again. Absolutely incredible.
  82. CalebO.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Superb and amazing. I can only assume any bad reviews are written by people who didn't understand it.
  83. RichardS.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    I would have given it a 10 after the first time I saw it. Now, after the 2nd time, I'd go at least 12 or 13. I liked it much better the second time. The first time, I was enthralled by the visuals and the basic guts of the story. This time I was able to focus on the intricacies of the story development, and that was just so incredible.
  84. MichaelC.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Nothing short than amazing. Great story, fine acting, and the second-half of the film had me on my toes the entire time. I don't know who these people are that are bogging it down as "too confusing" or "emotionally lacking." This film touched me on many levels: visually, mentally and emotionally. I saw the midnight show and can't wait to see it again.
  85. SusanN.
    Jul 17, 2010
    7
    Overcomplicated chaos.
  86. MarkB.
    Jul 17, 2010
    7
    Superb movie! Amazing visuals and some nice concepts..if not overly original. i started to flag half way through due to the high pace from start to finish..which is tough for 2 1/2 hours!:) I don't think it was confusing and wasn't let down by it not being better than other Sci Fi movies out there.(i wouldn't watch it again....unlike the matrix which always leaves the hairs Superb movie! Amazing visuals and some nice concepts..if not overly original. i started to flag half way through due to the high pace from start to finish..which is tough for 2 1/2 hours!:) I don't think it was confusing and wasn't let down by it not being better than other Sci Fi movies out there.(i wouldn't watch it again....unlike the matrix which always leaves the hairs on the back of my neck standing in the last quarter of an hour of the movie) If you take it for what it is... it's a good watch! Expand
  87. MarkU.
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    PHENOMENAL! That is all i have to say about this incredible movie, this interesting movie about how dreams work with your brain and the sub-conscious part of your mind really makes you say "Oh wow!" This movie had great action, especially in the dream state from level 1, 2, 3, and even level 4! This movie is by far the best of the summer!
  88. Jean-PhilippeC.
    Jul 17, 2010
    9
    This is really an amazaing movie, a little bit complicated but SO good!!
  89. SiddhantD.
    Jul 18, 2010
    8
    It wasnt that great.. i have no idea what is wrong with everyone.. its a very good movie... but far from great, something is missing.
  90. ChrisP.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    Upon a 2nd viewing, I officially declare this movie a Masterpiece.
  91. SpotB.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    Definitely the best movie of 2010 so far. Everything about this was great,the acting,story,effects,everything was great. Good job Nolan. Keep up the good work.
  92. DitoB.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    Simply amazing. No other words could describe this mind-blowing masterpiece.
  93. AnthonyP.
    Jul 18, 2010
    9
    Fantastic movie - I absolutely loved it. You have to go into it understanding that this is a mythology that is going to have occasional holes. If you can put those aside and just get into the plot, you'll have a great time trying to process what's going on and enjoying the characters. Had too many gun-fights for my taste (especially since they weren't all that cool and Fantastic movie - I absolutely loved it. You have to go into it understanding that this is a mythology that is going to have occasional holes. If you can put those aside and just get into the plot, you'll have a great time trying to process what's going on and enjoying the characters. Had too many gun-fights for my taste (especially since they weren't all that cool and seemed out of place), but other than that I thoroughly enjoyed it. Christopher Nolan is quickly establishing himself as one of my favorite writer/directors, and the actors turned in some great performances. Highly recommended! Expand
  94. XavierC.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen. To all of the people out there who say that it was boring, I feel bad for you because there was not one part where it got boring for me. I was focused the whole time. Also, it seems as if people who got too confused didn't like it either. The story was amazing and I was just in absolute awe the whole time I was watching it. It's also One of the best movies I have ever seen. To all of the people out there who say that it was boring, I feel bad for you because there was not one part where it got boring for me. I was focused the whole time. Also, it seems as if people who got too confused didn't like it either. The story was amazing and I was just in absolute awe the whole time I was watching it. It's also funny how everyone who didn't like it complains that the special effects were generic. What do you guys expect? The special effects were perfectly fine. I didn't think it was possible to not like this movie, I guess I was wrong. Seriously, I highly recommend this movie. Do NOT listen to the people who gave it a score of 1, they don't know what they are talking about. Expand
  95. AlanG
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    Awesome!! Its very confusing though!! I'll have to see it multiple times to understand it.
  96. CatherineL.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    Totally mind blowing! fabulous! Hard to follow for the first 10 minutes but once you got with the flow and feel of movie it was excellent! Every character was intertesting with Dom being the most complex. It was one of those film were you really make up your own ending. I felt at the end the viewr still did not know if Dom was dreaming or not?? Would the totem full or not?? I feel sorry Totally mind blowing! fabulous! Hard to follow for the first 10 minutes but once you got with the flow and feel of movie it was excellent! Every character was intertesting with Dom being the most complex. It was one of those film were you really make up your own ending. I felt at the end the viewr still did not know if Dom was dreaming or not?? Would the totem full or not?? I feel sorry for the ones that walked out half way through I think perhaps they could or wouldn't understand the concept of the film. Its maybe not a film for peope with closed/narrow minds. I simply cannot stop thinking about it. The detail Nolan went into for this film its easy to see why he was 10 years writing the script then a further 9 gaining experiance for a movie of this magnitude. Defo should get an OSCAR for BEST FILM. WONDERFUL Expand
  97. AlfredH.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    Easily the best movie I've ever seen in theaters. There were multiple moments where I needed to pick my jaw off the floor from being in such amazement. Amazing story, amazing acting, amazing effects. This movie actually deserves a 10 because I can't find anything to complain about. Leaving the theater I could not be happier, even after hearing all the hype this movie got.
  98. KerryB.
    Jul 18, 2010
    10
    Outstanding. It is one of the best films that I have seen in my lifetime. It is original, creative, and intriguing.
  99. KarlM
    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    Best. Movie. Of. 2010. It's not as mindbendingly hard to comprehend as some of the movies out there (take, Pi, for instance), but it's good... damn good. I saw it with 5 friends and as soon as we left the theater the first thing we talked about was when we were going to see it again. Can't wait!!!
  100. jacobc.
    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    Inception is a thrill worth taking, no matter what preview or trailer you see of the movie it will not prepare you or justify what is to come. From start to finish the movie is just so ORIGINAL so IMAGINATIVE so much DIFFERENT than any other movie you have seen before, and the way the movie was shot just made the movie even better. You probably can not find a movie with better special Inception is a thrill worth taking, no matter what preview or trailer you see of the movie it will not prepare you or justify what is to come. From start to finish the movie is just so ORIGINAL so IMAGINATIVE so much DIFFERENT than any other movie you have seen before, and the way the movie was shot just made the movie even better. You probably can not find a movie with better special effects in it they are just phenomenal as well as the actors and actresses. It is just such a FANTASTIC MOVIE THAT NO ONE SHOULD PASS UP THE OPPURTUNITY TO SEE. GO SEE THIS MOVIE NOW AND WHEN YOUR DONE GO SEE IT AGAIN. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. 100
    In terms of sheer originality, ambition and achievement, Inception is the movie of the summer, the movie of the year and the movie of our dreams.
  2. In a summer of remakes, reboots and sequels comes Inception, easily the most original movie idea in ages.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    100
    If Inception is a metaphysical puzzle, it's also a metaphorical one: It's hard not to draw connections between Cobb's dream-weaving and Nolan's filmmaking -- an activity devoted to constructing a simulacrum of reality, intended to seduce us, mess with our heads and leave a lasting impression. Mission accomplished.