Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 16, 2010
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3943 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,542
Mixed:
213
Negative:
188
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RyanV.Jul 17, 2010
This is an amazing movie that will stick with you for a long time (despite what Mr. Scott from the Times may suggest). It lives up to the hype, which in and of itself say a lot. The ending will delight if you allow it to spark your This is an amazing movie that will stick with you for a long time (despite what Mr. Scott from the Times may suggest). It lives up to the hype, which in and of itself say a lot. The ending will delight if you allow it to spark your imagination. By the way, note the sources above that gave this movie a 50 or below, and do not waste your time with these reviewers in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ConorS.Jul 17, 2010
An endearing film of functional complexity, rare originality, and effortless performance. It tells a story that--if followed closely--will engross the viewer in a 2-hour-plus roller coaster ride. DeCaprio leads the film with confidence and An endearing film of functional complexity, rare originality, and effortless performance. It tells a story that--if followed closely--will engross the viewer in a 2-hour-plus roller coaster ride. DeCaprio leads the film with confidence and dignity, and the "corporate espionage gone dream" plot will keep audiences pleasantly perplexed, but most of all--utterly entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RicardoF.Jul 18, 2010
Ground-breaking. Best Nolan movie yet and one of the best movies of all time. It will be a cult movie in due time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamA.Jul 18, 2010
Great, every detail of the movie was carefully placed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannyM.Jul 18, 2010
Seen it twice, was absolutely astounding both times. Its the most original and satisfying piece of cinema to come out of Hollywood in years, and, dare I say it, it may be one of the greatest films ever made. An instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeeH.Jul 18, 2010
This is one of my favorite movies from the past few years and I watch a LOT of movies. This film is not only exciting, it is a thinker. Great special fx and sound design too. A really fun ride from start to finish!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaP.Jul 18, 2010
I love smart, thought-provoking films. With this you also get visually stunning scenes. Chris Nolan never disappoints. I think this is the first oscar worthy film I have seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johne.Jul 18, 2010
Stunning film, absolutely amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jq.Jul 18, 2010
Lisa M., while I agree this movie wasn't nearly as complicated as people (most people today don't think period look at the music industry) make it out to be and it did have it's cheese to it, you have to kidding me if you Lisa M., while I agree this movie wasn't nearly as complicated as people (most people today don't think period look at the music industry) make it out to be and it did have it's cheese to it, you have to kidding me if you think there have been serious movies within the past say 10 years that exceed this one. You said the movie didn't require much though then you went on to name a mainstream series like the Matrix in your list of "thoughtful" movies... get out of here the matrix was another action movie with a lot of special effects and besides being original the plotline etc was rudimentary at best... The thirteenth floor? Don't even get me started. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpencerC.Jul 18, 2010
Nolan delivered with The Dark Knight what was the defining Action - hero movie and probably my personal favorite of all time. I have to say Inception not only topped The Dark Knight in plot, acting, and script, it also has action that stands Nolan delivered with The Dark Knight what was the defining Action - hero movie and probably my personal favorite of all time. I have to say Inception not only topped The Dark Knight in plot, acting, and script, it also has action that stands on the same level and mind boggling scenes of wonder. The scale is huge and causes you to think for hours after seeing. Nolan truly surprised me and this movie should hopefully, finally earn him an Oscar. Also, acting by Di Capprio was brilliant and the score by the always great Hanz Zimmer was outstanding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardH.Jul 18, 2010
It looked interesting, but the tight camera shots and rapid scene changes incorporating a lot of physical motion, and some of the effects, like bending half of the city of Paris skyward, literally made me feel dizzy and I had to leave the It looked interesting, but the tight camera shots and rapid scene changes incorporating a lot of physical motion, and some of the effects, like bending half of the city of Paris skyward, literally made me feel dizzy and I had to leave the theater early. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanaM.Jul 18, 2010
The first 45 minutes of the movie I had NO idea what was going on, made more bizarre by flash forwards and back in time. Be prepared to have to really think to follow this bizarre plot. Fairly long movie as well. Worth seeing on the big The first 45 minutes of the movie I had NO idea what was going on, made more bizarre by flash forwards and back in time. Be prepared to have to really think to follow this bizarre plot. Fairly long movie as well. Worth seeing on the big screen though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackCJul 18, 2010
It was alright. I was kinda confused by what was going on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnDJul 18, 2010
I liked this movie when it was called Paprika.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JBurkeJul 18, 2010
This movie was probably the most entertaining film I've ever been to. I was literally hanging on the edge of my seat the entire time...sweating so much that I practically had to take a shower afterwards. Any critic/user who calls this This movie was probably the most entertaining film I've ever been to. I was literally hanging on the edge of my seat the entire time...sweating so much that I practically had to take a shower afterwards. Any critic/user who calls this boring has got to be out of their minds. Top 5 movie of all time for me...I really hope it gets some serious consideration from the academy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MusaMJul 19, 2010
This is the best movie this year period!! From the concept, to the acting, sound/visual efx, production are all top notch. Christopher Nolan deserves an award and even a Nobel prize for this . To all those saying the movie was This is the best movie this year period!! From the concept, to the acting, sound/visual efx, production are all top notch. Christopher Nolan deserves an award and even a Nobel prize for this . To all those saying the movie was incomprehensible, crap e.t.c.. please go and watch so dumb ass movie because it's pretty obvious YOUR brains cant muster enough power to know what went on in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanCJul 21, 2010
This is a thinking persons movie. It's complex, it will blow your mind, and make you question what is real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhillipVJul 21, 2010
As far as I'm concerned this movie easily sits in the top ten movies of ALL TIME. Put frankly this has dine so many original things that it is now worthy of that title.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToddKJul 21, 2010
Alot of people who dont love it are probably to stupid to be able to actually think about what this movie is doing, it all makes sense, but you have to see it multiple times to fully understand what nolan is thinking, and once you decide to Alot of people who dont love it are probably to stupid to be able to actually think about what this movie is doing, it all makes sense, but you have to see it multiple times to fully understand what nolan is thinking, and once you decide to stop hating on nerds and games, and geek culture, then you might stop being so biased as to give it a fair reveiw score, critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XueLingLimJul 21, 2010
Film Perfection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WhoCaresJul 21, 2010
This movie was a true masterpiece. Well acted and well written and directed. Should set a standard for future Hollywood movie installments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobRJul 21, 2010
One of the most amazing movies I have ever watched. Christopher Nolan is the director of our generation and further proves it with this masterpiece. Some critics say that this movie has no heart but i strongly disagree. Heart is what drives One of the most amazing movies I have ever watched. Christopher Nolan is the director of our generation and further proves it with this masterpiece. Some critics say that this movie has no heart but i strongly disagree. Heart is what drives the movie forward and adds conflict to an already strong story. The special effects are incredible and contribute to the most amazing fight scene I've ever watched, each actor is spot on, and the story is clever and keeps you thinking about it long after the credits roll. I've seen it 3 times already and do not plan on slowing down. A tip of the hat to Christopher Nolan. He has somehow trumped The Dark Knight with yet another movie that will go down in the record books for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronB.Jul 21, 2010
A mind-bending thriller unlike anything you've ever seen. Inception is an intelligent, reality-altering work of genius that is meant to be seen over and over again -- preferably in theaters!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnJul 22, 2010
It's the best movie i've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jesssJul 22, 2010
I have never seen a movie this original, the plot is so complex yet the concept is easy to understand, at first i didn't completely understand what was going on but the story unraveled itself and when i thought i finally got the film I have never seen a movie this original, the plot is so complex yet the concept is easy to understand, at first i didn't completely understand what was going on but the story unraveled itself and when i thought i finally got the film the end came in and confused the hell out of me, but the end was good because it gave a new outlook on the film which i definately think is up there with all the other excellent decaprio films. a must watch for a experience you won't forget in a hurry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveBJul 22, 2010
How is this not higher. This is leagues beyond Avatar's quality. So spectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeatonJ.Jul 22, 2010
Going into a movie with this much hype is scary. I think that fact needs no explanation, but when a hyped up movie surpasses all the hoopla and leaves you in a complete trance, you know it's something remarkable. After The Dark Knight, Going into a movie with this much hype is scary. I think that fact needs no explanation, but when a hyped up movie surpasses all the hoopla and leaves you in a complete trance, you know it's something remarkable. After The Dark Knight, I thought there was no way Nolan could do it again, but I was very wrong. This movie twists your brain, but there is never a time where I felt it was disjointed or lost its way. The whole idea behind the movie may be unrealistic, but it is so well written and played out that it feels real. Another plus is that through all the info the movie feeds at you, it still keeps some incredible action. The fight scene in the rotating hallway is brilliantly shot. The acting, directing, writing, and score are terrific. The last notes of the movie give me the shivers. This is cinema firing on all cylinders, and I'm so happy that we were given this breath of fresh air. Those who disgrace this movie need to learn to open their minds to the impossible. Inception is, in one word, phenomenal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonTheCriticJul 22, 2010
Here we have an original movie that's just short of amazing, it gets most everything right. I was completely immersed and interested in the story. It's refreshing to see special effects again that actually take your breath away. Here we have an original movie that's just short of amazing, it gets most everything right. I was completely immersed and interested in the story. It's refreshing to see special effects again that actually take your breath away. The very talented ensemble cast and thrilling music must be noted. In fact, the only minor problem I had was that I was often reminded of DiCaprio's last film, where he's also troubled with reality and has wife issues along with two children (which is in no way the films fault). Inception is definitely one of the best films of the year; it'll keep you thinking until the very last second. Grade: A If you enjoyed this review, please read my other short reviews at www.jasonthecritic.com - Thank you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamGJul 22, 2010
Avatar got a 84 and Inception hits 74?????? Something is seriously wrong with movie critics understanding of what makes an enjoyable flick. I found the movie almost scary...Nolan and the actors had me feeling as if I were about to be trapped Avatar got a 84 and Inception hits 74?????? Something is seriously wrong with movie critics understanding of what makes an enjoyable flick. I found the movie almost scary...Nolan and the actors had me feeling as if I were about to be trapped in my own dream, not wanting them to go deep because of what might happen. Great flick! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanTJul 23, 2010
Overall the movie was a sucess, especially given the state of Hollywood these days. It's very hard to find a movie that is as original, bold and intellectually stimulating as Inception. Yes, it did have its faults, but what movie Overall the movie was a sucess, especially given the state of Hollywood these days. It's very hard to find a movie that is as original, bold and intellectually stimulating as Inception. Yes, it did have its faults, but what movie doesn't. If you are looking for a movie that delivers action, emtion and a thought provoking plot, Inception is your ticket. Breaking down the elements: Plot - complex but traceable. You will not lose your mind, but it does make you question your own preception of the subconscious. B+ Acting/Characters - acting was ok to good, but the cast line up might have been too "Hollywood". No-name actors might have provided viewers a better chance to connect to the characters. C+ Theme - multiple, intertwinded themes that are overall good but a little convoluted. B- Setting - great CGI effects that adhere well to the plot of the story and its elements. Each new setting provided emition that was spot on to the feel of scene. A Audio - the music ran well with the plot line, but it was overall flat and not diverse enough to catch every potential out of each scene. B- Overall Grade: B+ (not averaged). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielSJul 23, 2010
Fantastic movie. A bit confusing at first, but overall amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatherineH.Jul 23, 2010
By far the best movie I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JevonW.Jul 23, 2010
An absolute blast of a film. Christopher Nolan has done it again with this epic masterpiece! Metacritic, you need to put up more of the positive reviews that Rottentomatoes has. There are at least 10 tip critic reviews that you are missing An absolute blast of a film. Christopher Nolan has done it again with this epic masterpiece! Metacritic, you need to put up more of the positive reviews that Rottentomatoes has. There are at least 10 tip critic reviews that you are missing out on! This movie deserves a much higher score than 74!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickW.Jul 23, 2010
That was the most confusing movie ever but the best movie ever. It didnt make any sence until the end and I still cant figure out some of it. All I can say is Christopher Nolan (the writer and director) is A genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TabUnoJul 23, 2010
An amazing and significant breatthrough in the sci fi dream genre, finally capturing in a dazzling display of both visual and solid plot that illuminates the wonderful and haunting nature of dreams.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkN.Jul 23, 2010
Wow. One of the most original movies I have seen in a long time. Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougLJul 23, 2010
Wow! Nolan has made another masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwinP.Jul 24, 2010
Metacritic scored this as a 74, but gave Avatar an 84. There is something clearly wrong with their system.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigOJul 24, 2010
Inception has you leaving the theater with so many ideas and interpretations. in my opinion, if you find yourself wanting, or needing to see a movie for a second time in order to test your theories, that filmaker has done their job. Great Inception has you leaving the theater with so many ideas and interpretations. in my opinion, if you find yourself wanting, or needing to see a movie for a second time in order to test your theories, that filmaker has done their job. Great movie, one of my all-time favorites. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveGJul 24, 2010
Interesting science fiction movie that kind of devolves into an action movie. The movie requires a certain amount of attention and concentration, as it becomes a little convoluted. Much like Nolan's earlier work Memento, there are more Interesting science fiction movie that kind of devolves into an action movie. The movie requires a certain amount of attention and concentration, as it becomes a little convoluted. Much like Nolan's earlier work Memento, there are more than a few times when you are challenged to understand what is really happening and in which demension, and that challenge is kind of fun. There are a few wonderful visuals, most of which are early in the film, when we are being introduced to the conceptual framework of the cinematic universe, It is a entertaining, interesting movie, though it probably could have been so much more had the second half not become such a formulaic action movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisCJul 24, 2010
One hell of an intellectual acid trip from start to finish. With the close-minded nature of many publications and audiences, it's no surprise they're absolutely baffled and inclined to bash it for not tailoring to them, the crowd One hell of an intellectual acid trip from start to finish. With the close-minded nature of many publications and audiences, it's no surprise they're absolutely baffled and inclined to bash it for not tailoring to them, the crowd who has been absorbing less-than-wholesome comedies and action movies for the last year (including the rather shallow, if fabulously striking, Avatar). Brains triumph over brawn when your eyes hit the screen, but the movie definitely does flex some muscle, with over-the-top, balls-to-the-walls set pieces that will leave you reeling. If you're going to watch Inception, remember to enter the theater with an open mind. Be ready to absorb a lot of plot points and track multiple parallel "realities." If you ready that other 90% of your brain for use, you will appreciate just what Nolan has achieved with this movie. First entertainment production in AGES that has blown my mind on principle instead of flash. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
rachelJul 24, 2010
Fantastic. haven't seen anything matrix worthy in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeeM.Jul 24, 2010
Awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinDJul 24, 2010
One of the best movies I've ever seen! More like this Hollywood, please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaylorH.Jul 25, 2010
This movie was absolute genius. The depth of the story was amazing . I love the idea of dreams with in dreams IN dreams. After spending more time when the movie was over to think about everything that happened it only gets better. It is This movie was absolute genius. The depth of the story was amazing . I love the idea of dreams with in dreams IN dreams. After spending more time when the movie was over to think about everything that happened it only gets better. It is definitely one of the greatest movies Ive ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayPJul 25, 2010
Second time watching this, 1st time the only problems I had with it was the pacing towards the end and some bits I didn't understand. Now it's perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
karlagJul 25, 2010
This is one if not the best movie i have ever seen. i see some people have rated it 0 because it was way too complicated in which case i have to disagree completely this is one of the beauties of the movie; that is in fact plain simple This is one if not the best movie i have ever seen. i see some people have rated it 0 because it was way too complicated in which case i have to disagree completely this is one of the beauties of the movie; that is in fact plain simple nowadays i dont know why people have to come to idea that if something is explained with complicated words or just making far too hard to understand means that is brilliant ( matrix reloaded is my best example especifically the scene with the architect the use of extended words to describe something that couldve been explained in simpler lines would have saved me 2 more trips to cinema to finally understand it not that i dont like it brilliant movie aswell) inception relies in the simplicity of feelings, a rocky relationship between a father and a son and the love between leo dicaprio to his sons and to life itself, it teaches us how positive feeling will always overcome the negatives, how people always overate feelings when in fact every important decision that will mark us forever are the decisions based in these. awesome movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KasraK.Jul 26, 2010
Some of these naysayer reviews are ridiculous. Hello good friends, this is a work of fiction. If your mind doesn't have the capacity for imagination and creativity, this probably isn't the movie for you. The history channel would Some of these naysayer reviews are ridiculous. Hello good friends, this is a work of fiction. If your mind doesn't have the capacity for imagination and creativity, this probably isn't the movie for you. The history channel would probably be a better use of your time. This movie is the best movie to hit the theaters in a LONG time. I was blown away, and half of the people I saw it with were watching it for the 2nd and 3rd time. Christopher Nolan films the movie brilliantly, and the actors in this were superb. Leo with an outstanding performance as usual. His characters make his movies so engaging. The only problem I had with one of the actors was the asian guy. I don't mean to be racist, but I couldn't understand what he was saying half the time. Maybe I'm deaf. Anyways I can't really explain how epic this movie is. It's pretty much extremely far-fetched plot wise so don't go expecting a believable movie like memento. Outstanding visuals, audio, actors, storytelling, it's all here. Go see it, you won't be disappointed (unless you're an engineering grad from an Ivy league school, I guess). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamaliaS.Jul 26, 2010
Christopher Nolan is Brilliant. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaneCJul 26, 2010
Really trippy film, full of action, spectacular special effects, great storyline, great twists and a intense ending, massive build up then delivers. Over all it's different than anything else out there so if you want a change from the Really trippy film, full of action, spectacular special effects, great storyline, great twists and a intense ending, massive build up then delivers. Over all it's different than anything else out there so if you want a change from the usual holywood blockbuster go see this it'll leave you thinking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasMJul 26, 2010
Firstly to Will W, it's palate and well done for misusing the word "logic". Despite it's minor lack of continuity it was a very good, well written film. Anyone who just spouts crap about minor inconsistancies without talking about Firstly to Will W, it's palate and well done for misusing the word "logic". Despite it's minor lack of continuity it was a very good, well written film. Anyone who just spouts crap about minor inconsistancies without talking about the good aspects of Inception is bias, don't even give those idiots the time of day let alone your attention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
r.a.Jul 26, 2010
Amazing, great, and suspenseful movie that's impossible to predict what happens next, but kinda hard to follow everything that is going on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DlostJul 26, 2010
Fantastic movie, one that you'll want to watch twice. If you're on the bubble as to whether to see it or not, *do it*, you won't regret it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DillonS.Jul 26, 2010
I need to watch it a third time. I still do not know who he is! (You'll know what I'm talking about when you see it. Yeah, I said when. You MUST see this unique movie.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SusanSJul 27, 2010
Highly enjoyable summer film, but ultimately not terribly imaginative or emotionally captivating to me. On the one hand, I love the "form and function" filmmaking skills of Nolan--he uses the editing of the film as much as the plot to tell Highly enjoyable summer film, but ultimately not terribly imaginative or emotionally captivating to me. On the one hand, I love the "form and function" filmmaking skills of Nolan--he uses the editing of the film as much as the plot to tell the story, which is great. On the other hand, I could never really invest myself in any character, as I wasn't really given a reason to. Ultimately, I didn't care what happened to Tom Cobb, and the characters I did care more about weren't at all the focus of the narrative, although they were masqueraded to be. So, blah blah blah, it's a summer movie, I know, but I'm going to buy into that, then I will say outright that Terry Gilliam's Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus was the recent film that most captivated me emotionally and imaginatively, and that Inception is a great summer blockbuster, but not worthy of the "best of the year" title. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UmarBJul 27, 2010
It is excellent, at times the layers of depth can drive you insane, but that only makes you appreciate the care that went into all of the details that made Inception's story engrossing and emotional, the film is always one step ahead It is excellent, at times the layers of depth can drive you insane, but that only makes you appreciate the care that went into all of the details that made Inception's story engrossing and emotional, the film is always one step ahead and all the better for it. You undoubtedly will be very confused in the beginning, but like the Matrix, there is a tutorial scene when The Architect (as she's called in the ads) joins the group of Extractors (mega-dreamers). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevePJul 29, 2010
Leo DiCaprio's character is in charge, but things are not as they seem. The story is not really about what it claims to be about. *Spoiler* It's about Dicaprio's character and his feelings of guilt regarding his dead wife, Leo DiCaprio's character is in charge, but things are not as they seem. The story is not really about what it claims to be about. *Spoiler* It's about Dicaprio's character and his feelings of guilt regarding his dead wife, whose death he caused. Wait, am I writing about Inception or Shutter Island? In all that I've read about Inception, I can't believe I haven't seen any one mention that similarity between the two. I think Shutter Island was the better movie, more ominous. Maybe Scorsese is still a better director than Nolan? I love Memento and think highly of the rest of Nolan's work. I wanted to love Inception, but couldn't. It didn't move me. I cry a lot at movies...a lot! But not at the end of this one. I didn't care if he ever saw his children's faces. And then there is the mystery of the spinning top...does it fall or keep spinning...is he in reality or still in dreamland? Even here Shutter Island prevails with a similar question...is he back in his delusions or is he pretending because he wants the lobotomy to end his pain? Inception was not the movie I hoped it would be, but at least it gave me a greater appreciation for Shutter Island and makes me want to see Memento again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
bigethan2Sep 1, 2010
Ignore the time travel issues. The tension and drama here are great, all while keeping the bigger puzzle in the frame as well. I miss movies with this level of excitement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dubmcAug 16, 2010
There is no arguing the grandiose nature of Inception, in its presentation, its ambition and its cinematic soul. The latest product of master craftsman Christopher Nolan, this Leo DiCaprio-starring heist thriller looks to go further down theThere is no arguing the grandiose nature of Inception, in its presentation, its ambition and its cinematic soul. The latest product of master craftsman Christopher Nolan, this Leo DiCaprio-starring heist thriller looks to go further down the rabbit hole than any film that's come before it... and then to press on even further. A kaleidoscopic tale of dreamscapes and nightmares, Inception sucks you in with its familiarity - luring you into the umpteenth film about dreams and mind exploration - then carries you away into uncharted realms of fantasy and science, smacking you in the face with rules and understandings with a casual banality, only in the very next moment to smack you again and tell you all that was only half true. Indeed, watching Inception is very much akin to dreaming itself, with all the wonders of introspection, complication and sloppiness with which dreams may come. More: http://cinewise.blogspot.com/2010/07/inception-2010.html Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
justbemeJan 8, 2011
Firstly, The MetaScore SHOULD be 78 after I have Calculated the average 5 times and getting the same results.

Another phenomenal film by the great Christopher Nolan! It is VERY original for the film industry and it is just thrilling and
Firstly, The MetaScore SHOULD be 78 after I have Calculated the average 5 times and getting the same results.

Another phenomenal film by the great Christopher Nolan! It is VERY original for the film industry and it is just thrilling and unpredictable all the way

This film deserves SEVERAL Academy Award nominations and Nolan deserves to FINALLY winning one after not winning on for Memento and not even being nominated for The Dark Knight (this had really disappointed me that year). This is probably one of the best films of the decade!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ERG1008Dec 17, 2010
Man gets secrets & ideas by entering people's dreams, on the run, given chance to be free if he does one last job, agrees, not everything so straight forward.

Brilliant film in pretty much every aspect with a superb cast (Tom Hardy & Joseph
Man gets secrets & ideas by entering people's dreams, on the run, given chance to be free if he does one last job, agrees, not everything so straight forward.

Brilliant film in pretty much every aspect with a superb cast (Tom Hardy & Joseph Gordon-Levitt were the standouts for me), great script, fantastic action sequences & some great music to back it up.

It has a real potential for getting messy & confusing but never thought it got too muddled despite all the dream shenanigans going on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sreekiranMay 29, 2011
awesome movie. a mind blowing script. and the screenplay of course, taking into the dream world. seeing curvy buildings, zero gravity etc. nolan"s dream world has been narrated well. the direction and lead casts performances are pictureawesome movie. a mind blowing script. and the screenplay of course, taking into the dream world. seeing curvy buildings, zero gravity etc. nolan"s dream world has been narrated well. the direction and lead casts performances are picture perfect. cinematography and visual effects are the stunning parts of the movie. the effects like water gushing , bridge setups and mirror mazes. some effects like the limbo state where dreams are constructed and buildings look exactly like a dream land. this is awesome. art work is terrific here. action scenes are novel and unique. the excitement never goes down. the climax is interesting. watch it now!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BahlofAug 31, 2010
It's a typical movie of Chris Nolan. All of his movies really get you to think and its no different with Inception. Its a very well thought out movie and one of the best of the year. Theres no reason for not seeing this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Vicki_t2702Aug 28, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Inception slips into the filing cabinet of 'films that get you thinking' and if there had to be a sub category it would be 'unique' or 'moving'. Forget all the claims that it's complex and needs more than your average amount of attention, because the narrative is easy to grasp, it's the dreams within a dream that will get you fidgeting a little in your seat to keep up. I have never seen nor am aware of a film that explores this theme of dreams, I mean you have films with flashbacks occurring at the same time as the current narrative, but this is different. It echoes the importance and dangers of memories, and allows you to appreciate just how simple the structure of our world is.

The dark side of this film is once again influenced by the directing of Christopher Nolan, who made Gotham City appear a softer version of hell in The Dark Knight. There are plenty of gun fights, fist fights, and stabbings in Inception, and I certainly admire any film that has a deeper layer that it manages to hide from it's viewers throughout the release of it's trailers. You could try and predict what happens in this film, but I highly doubt you would get more than fifty percent. You may become fearful at how much information you have to take in just in the first couple of scenes, but the story is unravelled slowly, difficult terms described and you will become hooked on knowing Dom Cobb's (Leonardo DiCaprio) big secret.

The architectural genius behind the dreams is Ariadne, played by Ellen Page who has come a long way since her Juno days. Whilst everything seems so difficult to come to terms with, this character is the one you will probably look to for an explanation, and don't worry, she does enough digging in Cobb's life to give you the answers. But back to architecture, and words can't physically depict how astonishing and realistic the cinematography is. It's as though it could be possible to have the street underneath your feet as your sky at the same time. As a regular student, Ariadne becomes almost addicted to the dream worlds she creates, and without any persuasion becomes a valuable member of the team until the very end.

Other faces you may recognise are Joseph Gordon-Levitt, who starred as the main character in 500 Days of Summer, a very different role, and Tom Hardy who has starred in Bronson and RocknRolla. Marion Cotillard who plays Cobb's wife Mal may have stunning looks but has a fearsome temper behind those big eyes. As soon as you think you are watching an emotional situation, it is as though your mind has tricked you and it soon becomes violent and psychologically thrilling. The reason I felt grateful for what I have in life will hopefully effect you too by the end of the film as we are dragged through a variety of emotions but swiftly brought back down to rest our feet upon the ground.

The fighting, explosions and slow motion were all elements I adored because they felt so unique and frustrating. Never have I been in such suspense watching a van fall from a bridge into a river which took about half an hour in real time. The visual technique of this film is more impressive than the 3D experience itself. If it was possible to see this in 3D I would have sat there with a dropped jaw for two hours, but honestly the CGI is remarkable and so finely detailed.

It was worth the hype, and if you're worried it's too complicated, don't be. When I said I wasn't eager to see it again, I was lying. When's the next showing?!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PixarloverMar 4, 2013
The only big-budget Hollywood movie that I've seen that felt like a piece of art. I dare say that Inception feels European at times, and then starts feeling like a mash-up art house action movie. The story demands your brain cells gettingThe only big-budget Hollywood movie that I've seen that felt like a piece of art. I dare say that Inception feels European at times, and then starts feeling like a mash-up art house action movie. The story demands your brain cells getting into gear and think, something that Hollywood loves to ignore. However, the audience seems to have caught up with the times and they realise they want more movies that ate just as we'll made as this masterpiece, and not a sequel to robots bashing each other senselessly. Christopher Nolan has brought new ground to Hollywood and has proven that the lowest common denominators are not as dumb as you think.

Inception is a triumph of cinema, scifi storytelling and just overall realisation of a concept that isn't all that easy to translate on screen. 10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NightianAug 31, 2010
I can tell that I was sceptically with the synopsis and direction, but the cast was very interesting and their performance, stunts and script didn't disappointed me. I caught this from the movie: In a dream, you can be the center of your ownI can tell that I was sceptically with the synopsis and direction, but the cast was very interesting and their performance, stunts and script didn't disappointed me. I caught this from the movie: In a dream, you can be the center of your own universe but there are many black holes that can trap you and keep you away from the "reality" to stay and live in your own world without noticing the irreality. People who was in comma can support the notion.
The simple idea of traveling from dream to a deeper dream can be absurd, but many people has "dreamed" themselves "dreaming", which Nolan used to makes us think about the life and the next step after death. I can recommend it.
Greetings.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
libnoDec 25, 2010
I have to say, one of the best movies I've ever seen (tied with the Lord of the Rings and the Dark Knight, another Christopher Nolan film). You can just look at the title and say: that's a good movie. It'll get high ratings. So far I've beenI have to say, one of the best movies I've ever seen (tied with the Lord of the Rings and the Dark Knight, another Christopher Nolan film). You can just look at the title and say: that's a good movie. It'll get high ratings. So far I've been correct: Fred Clause will be panned by critics, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen will be terrible, and Inception will be AWESOME! Director Christopher Nolan created a universe that, in some senses may not be original, and then wrote a story involving the characters in the universe. I liked how he developed the universe to have complex laws and rules. I also liked all the psychology behind it, such as Dom Cobb and his deceased wife, Mal. The psychology was so immense, yet it managed to hold our attention until the end. Another great thing about Chris Nolan, he can handle so many characters at once. You should see the posters for Inception and The Dark Knight. There are like ten actors across the top and those aren't even all the main characters. In Inception, Nolan made sure all the main characters were developed and when you finish the film, you can't help but know the characters, especially Dom, Fischer, and Ariadne. Some pretty good action scenes too. I really liked the twist at the end. All I can say now is woohoo! 10 of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
noisypicturesSep 3, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. www.noisypictures.co.uk

Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RaysNBeaniesSep 3, 2010
Inception is simply mind-blowing. For the ones who have a close mind, it would be that way, and by the negatives reviews I can see why. This movie was breathtaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kabloomSep 3, 2010
Yes, the snow sequence goes on too long and is too faux-Bond but the film is tightly plotted and exciting in the extreme. Not to mention the brilliant effects that though show-offy are integral to the story. Seeing this a second time made meYes, the snow sequence goes on too long and is too faux-Bond but the film is tightly plotted and exciting in the extreme. Not to mention the brilliant effects that though show-offy are integral to the story. Seeing this a second time made me appreciate it even more so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tstSep 4, 2010
just a fantastick

film dicaprio has done some great acting ]
and micheal bay , another great film by him yours sicerly tst

i
n
c
e
p
t
i
o
n
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
itzashorethingSep 5, 2010
Why is it that when a movie is above average, which this one certainly is, people (critics in particular) fall all over themselves to praise it? Why is it that when a movie is hard to explain, and even harder to understand, peopleWhy is it that when a movie is above average, which this one certainly is, people (critics in particular) fall all over themselves to praise it? Why is it that when a movie is hard to explain, and even harder to understand, people immediately think they are brilliant if they sit through it and then leave the theatre thinking..."Whoa...that was some heavy s**t." Trust me. You are still far from ever being a candidate for Mensa if you "love" this movie. I did not "love" it. I did, however, enjoy it and would recommend it for people that want to, as another reviewer wrote here, have a "good mind f**k." You just have to be in the right frame of mind, either naturally or herbally induced. While the movie is overrated, it is also very good, paricularly from a visual/special effects standpoint. The idea of the story is also very intriguing, but totally unbelieveable. I love a good science fiction film as much as the next person, but enjoy them more when they are somewhere within the grasp of reality. This one fell way outside the box for me in that category. I didn't agree with the lead casting. While they are both good actors, Leo (even with facial hair) and Joseph look too young to be the characters they portray here. I know. I know. By now you would think I could accept DiCaprio in more mature roles, but definitely had a hard time with him here. I am a big fan of Chris Nolan, but let's face it, not every movie can be a home run. Despite the word on the street, this one is a double (or triple at best) and that is certainly not a bad thing. It just isn't the "classic" many are making it out to be. BTW, with regards to the ending being real or a dream? I didn't really care and that is the true test for me. The film was too full of gimmicks, exotic locales and "what if" scenarios to keep me interested to that degree. In the end, it is just a movie, albeit a good one...but far from great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobOct 30, 2014
Often when I watch a film I’m often taken out if it by major issues I have with the film from characters and story but this isn’t the case. Every problem I have with this film is minor and/or can easily be overlooked. The film has an originalOften when I watch a film I’m often taken out if it by major issues I have with the film from characters and story but this isn’t the case. Every problem I have with this film is minor and/or can easily be overlooked. The film has an original concept that leads to some fantastic action scenes and an amazing climax. Leonardo DiCapprio embodies the character he plays to the point when I’m not thinking to myself that’s Leonardo DiCapprio that’s the Inception character. The score and direction are great. Most of the characters don’t have much too them and the score is a little too much like Dark Knight and is overshadowed by the wakeup music but those are issues that I can easily overlook. It is rare that I can just sitback and enjoy a film without thinking of critiques, the score I’ll give it, etc because Inception has microscopic problems. This film is awesome it blew me away and truly ranks as not just a great film for Nolan to add to his resume but one of the greatest films out there. I loved watching this movie and I can’t wait to see it again. With more and more viewings this could become one of my favorite movies. With Nolan having a film this awesome under his belt I cannot wait for Interstellar because films like this prove how awesome of a filmmaker he is. Then again with Nolan setting the bar so why the question is raised how do you top that. Regardless Inception is amazing brilliant concept, brilliant direction, brilliant acting. See this film if you haven’t already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
deltapatrickSep 8, 2010
This is a great movies for fans of classic movies and people who like the modern movies this idea is very orginal but has some insiperations of movies in the past and the action scenes were great! while telling the story in the same timeThis is a great movies for fans of classic movies and people who like the modern movies this idea is very orginal but has some insiperations of movies in the past and the action scenes were great! while telling the story in the same time whitch i havnt seen in much movies these days the only thing that holds inception back from a perfect 10 is that i was entering the theather kinda scared that i may not get it but to be honest i got it perfectly but in the beggning i was sorta lost but i got right back to it so my anticipations were differnet but the ending was defintly not predictable i did not see it coming so everyone who is a fan of any kind of geners of movies will love this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
halisonSep 10, 2010
Very dynamic, VERY GOOD! Leonardo and Ellen were great. I have nothing else to say so bravo to the people who made this movie and it was very very very very very very very good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kiing8kong6Dec 23, 2010
**** the media **** the haters **** everybody who dont like this movie because this is the most fresh and innovating movie ever. This is a 10 should be an 11 but since most of the populace are ****ing retards then here i got something for ya**** the media **** the haters **** everybody who dont like this movie because this is the most fresh and innovating movie ever. This is a 10 should be an 11 but since most of the populace are ****ing retards then here i got something for ya **** YOU haha Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
txrangersfan72Sep 19, 2010
There are no words. Perfection. Visually and narratively stunning and heartbreaking, while also ground-breaking and heartwarming. Fascinating on every level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
carltheheroSep 19, 2010
An excellent movie on all levels. Great cast. Great storyline. Great directing. Great score. It was a '10' on all levels.

I have watched it 3 times already.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SlickestJan 20, 2011
This film does not need any more reviews, but I wanted a vote. It's awesome, clean, polished, intelligent, exciting, Deserves film of the year. Best film in last 3 years,
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JM23Aug 30, 2011
Chris Nolan is my favorite director, and this may be his best work to date. Inception is executed so brilliantly in so many areas that if you are like me, you mouth was open through half the movie. When you think of Nolans last two movies,Chris Nolan is my favorite director, and this may be his best work to date. Inception is executed so brilliantly in so many areas that if you are like me, you mouth was open through half the movie. When you think of Nolans last two movies, neither The Dark Knight or Inception had one scene that was wasted or didn't move the plot forward. Keeping in mind that they are both 2hr 30mins, it's quite an impressive feat. The last thing I want is a movie where I say to myself "why was that scene included?". Nolan really knows what he is doing at all times, and best of all he trusts that the viewer is keeping up with the story just as well as he is. It's about time Nolan gets a Best Director nod. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
roddersj04Jan 1, 2011
Christopher Nolan made the first script for this back in 2001. Now, nearly ten years and two brilliant Gotham-set movies, it is released. The question is, is Inception any good? In short, YES! Inception is a serious contendor for film of theChristopher Nolan made the first script for this back in 2001. Now, nearly ten years and two brilliant Gotham-set movies, it is released. The question is, is Inception any good? In short, YES! Inception is a serious contendor for film of the year. It is the rare movie that makes you think, whilst entertaining you with brilliant visuals. All of the cast play their role brilliantly, not one actor wavering throughout. The highlights have to be Tom Hardy and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, playing their roles with such whim whilst venturing through serious situations. I heard this film be described as Ocean's Eleven meets The Matrix. It certainly is, as the first part plays out with the group recruiting and planning, ala Oceans, with each character playing a certain role. The second part than plays out as The Matrix, with the characters venturing through worlds which aren't real to set out their goal. The gravityless fight scene is a sight to behold, a high point of the movie. During the mind sequences, when met by the enemy, you fear for the characters fates. It is at this moment that I realised something. These characters aren't heroes. They're anti-heroes. Their mission is to trick a company heir into dissolving his fathers company, for Sato's personal gain. But we don't care about that, we care for these characters. From that, Christopher Nolan proves he is talented with writing characters, let alone movies. All in all, this movie is an event. It will make you think, and entertain you with it's awesomeness. This film is a must-see Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Kaizoku2793Feb 16, 2011
I have seen and loved every one of Nolanâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
iXFFeb 22, 2014
Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
andyking24Jan 27, 2011
Now I could go on for ages about this film, thats why I'll keep it brief. No brief overview from me (storyline if you will), you'll have to find that out for yourself. Since films began way back in the late 1920's there has been manyNow I could go on for ages about this film, thats why I'll keep it brief. No brief overview from me (storyline if you will), you'll have to find that out for yourself. Since films began way back in the late 1920's there has been many classics, such as, Gone With The Wind, Casablanca, The Sound Of Music, The Great Escape, The Godfather, and Shawshank Redemption, to name a few. And rightly so they all deserve there praise and plaudits galore. But after seeing this film now five times, twice in the cinema and three on dvd, many will agree this is cinema redefined. Christopher Nolan is quite new to some people, but what he has done here is taken the money Warner Bros. have given him for the two Batman films he made and he has created something quite extraodrinary. Its a complicated film which for some may be quite long and boring, but for most its most incredible 144 minutes ever in the history of cinema. Thats why I've given Inception this bold remark, THE GREATEST FILM ACHIEVEMENT IN ALL HISTORY!!! My ratings in whatever format; 5/5, 10/10, 100%/100%, *****!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
Christopher Nolan has definitely developed one of the most intriguing and original ideas in Hollywood ever. The only issue here is that Nolan holds on to that simple idea too much, of stealing people's secrets by going into their dreams. TheChristopher Nolan has definitely developed one of the most intriguing and original ideas in Hollywood ever. The only issue here is that Nolan holds on to that simple idea too much, of stealing people's secrets by going into their dreams. The idea is then transformed into amazing and spectacular special effects, but also having too much going on and not introducing them at the appropriate times. As well as an inconsistent flow of what scenes are slowed down, when they should be accelerating into a thrilling moment. And the direct opposite. By the end of the film, it seems that Nolan's intent is unclear and should be shown again to become clearer. Despite the flaws, the main reason that this film is good is due to Nolan's original idea and the cast line-up. Every cast member is notable and all delivering a decent performance. But it seems to much for a film and too much of a great idea, that it seems great when seeing several shots in a trailer, but doesn't execute well in a theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Eddie0Nov 29, 2010
I can give this movie no more then a full 10. I went to this movie only hearing that it was Chris Nolan behind it. I loved both Batman movies, so i thought that this would be just as well, but boy was i wrong. This was a masterpiece comparedI can give this movie no more then a full 10. I went to this movie only hearing that it was Chris Nolan behind it. I loved both Batman movies, so i thought that this would be just as well, but boy was i wrong. This was a masterpiece compared to TDK. TDK was good, but this was just out of the league. It was exactly the kind of movie i liked. Dropping out clues throughout the movie, only to make them fit as a pussle in the end. And the scoreline is so beautiful too, i went home and straight on to Spotify to look for the soundtrack. And i remember a scene from the end of the movie, and listened to that scenes score, and it gave me the chills. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BadsniperJul 29, 2011
This movie is probably "The Movie" of 2010. By that I mean it is perfect to see with friends, family, coworkers, whatever you want. The second thing that makes this "The Movie" is that it's filled with action (actionful?) and it has a plot.This movie is probably "The Movie" of 2010. By that I mean it is perfect to see with friends, family, coworkers, whatever you want. The second thing that makes this "The Movie" is that it's filled with action (actionful?) and it has a plot. Not very many movies can do that nowadays. Awesome story, Awesome Action, Awesome ending, Awesome directing, Awesome acting, Awesome movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JonnyTheGreatDec 11, 2010
7.4/10? Really? Movie critics needs to learn how to do their job. This is by far the most charming, well-filmed and acted and lets not forget, most mind-blowing movie I've seen in a while. It makes you think about life. It borrows from The7.4/10? Really? Movie critics needs to learn how to do their job. This is by far the most charming, well-filmed and acted and lets not forget, most mind-blowing movie I've seen in a while. It makes you think about life. It borrows from The Matrix but I enjoyed it just as much as I did with Matrix. Granted there are unrealistic moments (eg. the technology of going into a dream which feels so real you get confused) and sure there might even be a few plot holes and bad logic but hey, sci-fi films are where imagination is at its best, we watch movies not to pick on the plot holes but to get entertained and Inception surely is the as entertaining as movies can get. I'll admit i didn't get some parts of the movie when I watched it the first time, but after a second run, everything became clear, You have to watch it twice. Movie of the year. Easily 10 out of 10. The only negative thing I have to say about it is that it may lead to a rise in suicide rates because it indirectly promotes suicide. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
InfamousPrinceJan 5, 2011
Inception is definitely one of the best movies of the year. I don't understand how some of you can say that this movie is bad, or boring. Chris Nolan did a great job with this and he definitely should be awarded with an Academy Award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lherman22Dec 4, 2010
I loved this movie. I thought it was one of the best of the year. The visuals were incredible, and the story was creative sci-fi adventure. I really can't see how people said this was boring or the plot lost itself. I was in a packed theaterI loved this movie. I thought it was one of the best of the year. The visuals were incredible, and the story was creative sci-fi adventure. I really can't see how people said this was boring or the plot lost itself. I was in a packed theater and you could hear the response vocally; they seemed to love it. I think it is just backlash because it made so much money and was all over the media at the time; people come in with a glass of haterade. If it wasn't for you cool, but don't give it a zero just to hate on something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LariDec 7, 2010
I absolutely LOVE inception! The first time i watched it, I found it kind of hard to understand but i still loved it. Now that I fully understand it I love it even more! The plot is just amazing, it never ceases to surprise me and the castI absolutely LOVE inception! The first time i watched it, I found it kind of hard to understand but i still loved it. Now that I fully understand it I love it even more! The plot is just amazing, it never ceases to surprise me and the cast was brilliant. This movie really grabbed me and is definitely one of my all-time favorites. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rayrayDec 7, 2010
Inception is a great movie, saw it three times in theatres and never get tired of it. The dream sequences are memorable and the movie keeps you thinking, the acting is great, cast is awesome (Page, DiCaprio, Cotillard, and Levett) The storyInception is a great movie, saw it three times in theatres and never get tired of it. The dream sequences are memorable and the movie keeps you thinking, the acting is great, cast is awesome (Page, DiCaprio, Cotillard, and Levett) The story is just amazing. If you havent seen it yet...you probably dont like movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lholzFeb 17, 2011
Inception has a good Syfy idea at its central core basically derived from Roger Zelazny's idea in Dream Master. As the Amazon review summarizes...

"His name is Charles Render, and he is a psychoanalyst, and a mechanic of dreams. A Shaper. In
Inception has a good Syfy idea at its central core basically derived from Roger Zelazny's idea in Dream Master. As the Amazon review summarizes...

"His name is Charles Render, and he is a psychoanalyst, and a mechanic of dreams. A Shaper. In a warm womb of metal, his patients dream their neuroses, while Render, intricately connected to their brains, dreams with them, makes delicate adjustments, and ultimately explains and heals."

Too much shoot em up action for the box office dollars but I still enjoyed it enough to give it a 7.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EBernardDec 11, 2010
I really canâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RtmblooDec 12, 2010
How can people NOT like this movie?! It was one of the greatest movies I've seen in a long time. Those of you who say the plot line is hard to follow are just, not to be rude, but dumb. It was easy to figure out, and the concept of the movieHow can people NOT like this movie?! It was one of the greatest movies I've seen in a long time. Those of you who say the plot line is hard to follow are just, not to be rude, but dumb. It was easy to figure out, and the concept of the movie was mind-blowing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NickkkMar 13, 2012
Inception is a thriller in the style of Memento and The Prestige, but even smarter. I've seen this film up to 10 times and every time I discovered something new because the content and the story are so rich and well constructed and the actionInception is a thriller in the style of Memento and The Prestige, but even smarter. I've seen this film up to 10 times and every time I discovered something new because the content and the story are so rich and well constructed and the action and the mind-blowing special effects just make the film an ultimate discovering. Why is it so exiting? Because the power unleashed by the dreamer's mind is that big and at the same time uncontrollable, that it has to be exiting. DiCaprio delivers a solid performance while trying to keep control over his imagination and Nolan appeals to the audience to know whether a logic interpretation of life can/should be given. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RoeylNov 1, 2011
Pure awesomeness, though more character development and more acting depth wouldn't hurt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuDec 23, 2014
Inception hits the usual Christopher Nolan standard with it's high concepts, ambition, great acting and originality. The film has so many memorable scenes with quite a few scares and a lot of heart thrown in along the way. Inception is topInception hits the usual Christopher Nolan standard with it's high concepts, ambition, great acting and originality. The film has so many memorable scenes with quite a few scares and a lot of heart thrown in along the way. Inception is top entertainment and should not be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FDT44Jul 6, 2011
How far can one man push the limits of filmmaking? What Christopher Nolan creates here is brillantly original and staggering; a masterpiece composed of complex ideas, logical arrangements, mind-blowing effects, 'Memento'-like sequences,How far can one man push the limits of filmmaking? What Christopher Nolan creates here is brillantly original and staggering; a masterpiece composed of complex ideas, logical arrangements, mind-blowing effects, 'Memento'-like sequences, stellar control, and a premise that can only be dreamt of. "Inception" is one of those seldom cinematic pieces that keeps you scratching your head and feeding on your brain throughout, after, and even after-after that. The only complaint, hence a 7 instead of a 10, is not of anything of this film, but those of Hollywood who are so dumbed-down that this blockbuster hit, comparably, has the viewer feeling like a character out of "Idiocracy; at times a bit TOO much to absorb. If grading substance alone over enjoyment, the film is in a class of itself. As metaphysical as it plays, however, the casual moviegoer will be lost within minutes of "Inception." The film demands your full attention, not even a look down to your popcorn can be had in this one. Get ready to think, and think, and think: am I even thinking right now? That's what you can expect---but honestly, shouldn't a film convey such cephal-activity? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
D-SliceDec 26, 2010
This film didn't take me by surprise by how awesome it was. When I first saw the trailer for it I knew it would be another great Nolan film. Absolutely, 100% original, the most original film of the year, maybe the decade (yeah, I'll say it).This film didn't take me by surprise by how awesome it was. When I first saw the trailer for it I knew it would be another great Nolan film. Absolutely, 100% original, the most original film of the year, maybe the decade (yeah, I'll say it). As far as acting and performance value, no one steals the show, but every character is at least a bit intriguing. Incredible visuals and score. The intensity and edge of your seat suspense doesn't end for an entire hour of the film. The screenplay is wonderful. At times, it moves a bit too fast, but with an idea this complex it kind of had to move fast. Astounding direction from Christopher Nolan. As far as entertainment goes, if they can give us better than this, I would love to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews