Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 16, 2010
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3783 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,386
Mixed:
209
Negative:
188
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
GaryR.Jul 18, 2010
Overly complex and hard to understand. I want to be entertained by a movie, not challlenged to see if I can keep up with the plot. And then, at the end, is an overdone James -Bond like scene with snow and a military fortress, which has no Overly complex and hard to understand. I want to be entertained by a movie, not challlenged to see if I can keep up with the plot. And then, at the end, is an overdone James -Bond like scene with snow and a military fortress, which has no meaning at all. Even all the senseless gunfire is not entertaining at all. I want my money back. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
markf.Jul 18, 2010
Easily one of the worst movies ever made.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
JoeNJul 21, 2010
Bloated dialogue, never ending music, and a storyline that will give you headaches, stop Inception from being a decent movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
CarlFJul 21, 2010
Brilliant, masterful tedium. Never before has so much genuine talent and expertise been applied to the film making process with such dull and dismal results. Inception should get an award just for that. Someone please take away the big Brilliant, masterful tedium. Never before has so much genuine talent and expertise been applied to the film making process with such dull and dismal results. Inception should get an award just for that. Someone please take away the big hollywood money Mr. Nolan has to work with. The more money he gets, the worse his movies are. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
nboley08Aug 15, 2010
What "Inception" does best is prove how superb of a director Christopher Nolan really is. He creates his own fantasy world with its own rules, problems, and strategies without either boring or (for the most part) confusing his audiences. TheWhat "Inception" does best is prove how superb of a director Christopher Nolan really is. He creates his own fantasy world with its own rules, problems, and strategies without either boring or (for the most part) confusing his audiences. The movie is really not all the much of a **** it simply moves quickly and surefootedly because it has to. The film explains the dream universe so well in the first act that we almost always know what's going on later in the film, though it is rarely explained distinctly. The visuals are dazzling and the action can be intense, but ultimately this is a film of philosophy and theologies, rather than the usual summer blockbuster. One of 2010's best films. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Leonix7791Aug 22, 2010
Personally,the concept of the movie is not bad.But the plot is just too hard to follow,less action,and some "Why" comes to my mind in some scene.When i was watching this,i keep telling myself "when is this movie going to end ?" Because itPersonally,the concept of the movie is not bad.But the plot is just too hard to follow,less action,and some "Why" comes to my mind in some scene.When i was watching this,i keep telling myself "when is this movie going to end ?" Because it just plain boring in my opinion.Maybe i'm just not good at appreciate "new idea".Hell...even The Dark Knight was 1000X better then this :/ Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
rajeshAug 22, 2010
hmm...nothing is something....Inception is nothing but a stolen concept of MATRIX..........that made it different boring **** with leonard no change in the performance.. :)
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
mazyarSep 1, 2010
What is a good story? How can we bring all the essential elements of a story into a movie without damaging other parts of that movie . A story in general is based on several important elements. Good characters, good line of activities, theWhat is a good story? How can we bring all the essential elements of a story into a movie without damaging other parts of that movie . A story in general is based on several important elements. Good characters, good line of activities, the ability of handling a proper language , point of view, variable plot, and the acceptable details of all circumstances , plus the location and the most reliable one, the evolution and the movement of that story. This mentioned aspect ,[evolution] is well brought in this movie and thatâ Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
ste88883Sep 4, 2010
The concept of this film is the most original and thoughtful I have seen in a long time and the cinematography was first class. The actors all did a good job, especially the english guy who was the comic relief. But that was the problem withThe concept of this film is the most original and thoughtful I have seen in a long time and the cinematography was first class. The actors all did a good job, especially the english guy who was the comic relief. But that was the problem with this film, there was little effort gone in to character development. I really didnt care for any of them when they were in peril and their motivations for joining the mission weren't explained well. Its not to say there weren't some interesting characters its just there were too many to go into enough depth with any of them.
Don't even start me on the premise that you can enter someones dream via a thin plastic tube from your wrist to a suitcase....
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not a film, this is an experience. Stunning visual effects and an intelligent script make Inception your classic summer blockbuster with a twist: it is actually intelligent. The score is beautiful, and Nolan does his usually fantastic job directing. By the end of the film, you will be questioning reality, and most importantly, you will be wondering if it stopped spinning. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
j30Sep 22, 2011
Great movie, an action/science fiction movie with an intelligent plot that will have you talking about it way after the credits finish. Leonardo DiCaprio is the best actor in the business today period.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
sinadoomSep 28, 2011
It's such an original film. It isn't confusing or hard to understand if you actually watch it, pay attention and listen. It's all about dreams within dreams and the film is a bit like a game. You're introduced to the concepts used within itIt's such an original film. It isn't confusing or hard to understand if you actually watch it, pay attention and listen. It's all about dreams within dreams and the film is a bit like a game. You're introduced to the concepts used within it and then the film starts. Must watch. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Brad7991Jul 21, 2012
What makes Inception so great is how much thought has gone into it. You need to see it twice to fully understand it. It's brilliantly directed by Nolan and the acting was even better. This is going to stay in my top 5 movies for a very veryWhat makes Inception so great is how much thought has gone into it. You need to see it twice to fully understand it. It's brilliantly directed by Nolan and the acting was even better. This is going to stay in my top 5 movies for a very very long time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
BakaHaramMay 23, 2014
Even if you watch 9/11 tapes while reading conspiracy theories on the internet and listening to Silencer, you won't have a more depressing, humorless, dull, pseudo-complex, deadly serious experience than Inception. This movie proves thatEven if you watch 9/11 tapes while reading conspiracy theories on the internet and listening to Silencer, you won't have a more depressing, humorless, dull, pseudo-complex, deadly serious experience than Inception. This movie proves that Chris "Just doin' it for money" Nolan doesn't know what a joke is. His daddy raised him to be a true no-nonsense businessman, and businessmen can never lighten up! They also cannot make art, they can make only carefully engineered, emotionally inept, heartless blockbusters. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
tomM.Jul 16, 2010
What a waste of time & film. As we left the movie we asked what did the people understand about the movie - confusion is probably the best reply. Your critics' review system "blew" this one - bummmer.
8 of 25 users found this helpful
1
JudithR.Jul 17, 2010
One note movie-- mostly an unvarying level of all- out action throughout, and loud, bombastic soundtrack too, so it gets more and more boring to sit through. Not all dream sequences needed to be like Nazi horror dreams; but the few scenes in One note movie-- mostly an unvarying level of all- out action throughout, and loud, bombastic soundtrack too, so it gets more and more boring to sit through. Not all dream sequences needed to be like Nazi horror dreams; but the few scenes in which Nolan introduced less noisy interactions were short and not very engaging. Not for thoughtful viewers. Expand
6 of 19 users found this helpful
0
MaryB.Jul 17, 2010
I thought the plot was boring and gimmicky. The characters lacked depth. The whole movie felt like a collection of trite special effects.
5 of 16 users found this helpful
1
BillJul 17, 2010
One of the worst movies of the year. Unoriginal, non- inspiring performances. Very thin story. Very slow moving. Effects were cool, but have been done numerous times before. The Matrix blows this movie away. Nothing new here. Very One of the worst movies of the year. Unoriginal, non- inspiring performances. Very thin story. Very slow moving. Effects were cool, but have been done numerous times before. The Matrix blows this movie away. Nothing new here. Very predictable. Knew how it would end a half hour in. If you are intelligent, avoid this one! Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful
0
MitchG.Jul 17, 2010
Completely ridiculous story with a thousand flaws in logic, compounded by the fact that it's completely impossible to follow. Two hours of my life I wish I could have back. Total waste of the gazillion dollars they spent making this Completely ridiculous story with a thousand flaws in logic, compounded by the fact that it's completely impossible to follow. Two hours of my life I wish I could have back. Total waste of the gazillion dollars they spent making this baloney. Save your money! Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful
0
JimboG.Jul 16, 2010
Warning: this movie is basically two-and-a-half hours of talky, pretentious exposition intercut with boring, generic summer-blockbuster-gunfight/car-chase action scenes. (Also, the good guys here are armed with the same Magic Hollywood Warning: this movie is basically two-and-a-half hours of talky, pretentious exposition intercut with boring, generic summer-blockbuster-gunfight/car-chase action scenes. (Also, the good guys here are armed with the same Magic Hollywood Bullets that enable one nearsighted cowboy to singlehandedly kill a hundred Indians.) As for "visually stunning," don't believe the hype---it's the same now-familiar CGI crap you've seen everywhere from "The Matrix" to car commercials on network TV. Expand
5 of 17 users found this helpful
1
JonathanP.Jul 16, 2010
This film has made ma lose my faith in humanity. I thought movie goers would be intelligent enough to see through this drivel.
13 of 45 users found this helpful
1
JoelF.Jul 18, 2010
Toy Story 3 is way better.
14 of 49 users found this helpful
0
RandyS.Jul 16, 2010
Absolute crap. You critics have lost all credibillity with me. And those that like it. Obviously you are not in reality.wake up!!!
2 of 7 users found this helpful
1
skuz440Aug 24, 2010
Can't for the life of me figure out why this movie got such high ratings. Another movie rigged by reviewers to get people in seats. DO NOT SEE THIS IN THEATERS. Wait for the DVD if you must. The plot is stupid and confusing, the charactersCan't for the life of me figure out why this movie got such high ratings. Another movie rigged by reviewers to get people in seats. DO NOT SEE THIS IN THEATERS. Wait for the DVD if you must. The plot is stupid and confusing, the characters are annoying and far-fetched, the premise is so unbelievable it boggles the mind. Whoever came up with this should be shot. The dream sequences are just excuses to use some CGI effects and basically stray from reality as much as possible, and OMG but I had NO IDEA my dreams could be so vivid and real, to the point where you can arrange heists and kidnappings and create 'projections' that can actually kill you. I've never sat through so much nonsense in my life. This is a poorly written movie. If M. Knight had of written this it would've been viciously attacked, in stark contrast to the rave reviews and high ratings this has received so far. I will never get that hour and a half back. What a waste. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
0
Chucky666Aug 14, 2010
Never in my many years of going to the movies have I ever felt like walking out. NEVER. And I've seen a lot of bad movies. This movie is, without a doubt, the single WORST movie I have ever seen. It's film garbage. It has no soul.
Hated it.
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
2
ScosorAug 15, 2010
Ridiculous, and ridiculously boring. No character development, no authentic emotion: Nolan gives you no reason to even CARE. Little by way of original ideas, or original film making. And the screenplay! 99.9% pure drivel. In all, it's aRidiculous, and ridiculously boring. No character development, no authentic emotion: Nolan gives you no reason to even CARE. Little by way of original ideas, or original film making. And the screenplay! 99.9% pure drivel. In all, it's a crappy movie inside a mindless movie inside a pretentious movie inside a boring movie. Skip it. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
5
JohnF.Jul 16, 2010
Special effects are spectacular at times, but repetitious. Storyline is weak and confused. Good acting by entire cast.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
5
roberti.Jul 18, 2010
Almost walked out in boredom. Ambiguous, unarticulated mishmash that doesn't let you in on the secret, and, at a certain level, who cares. All sound and light without the signification.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
MissyChrissyJul 20, 2010
To all you critics and viewers that are giving this movie rave reviews, I ask, did we see the same movie? The music drove me insane, the acting was un-inspired, the plot was chaotic and confusing, the dialogue was excessive and boring and To all you critics and viewers that are giving this movie rave reviews, I ask, did we see the same movie? The music drove me insane, the acting was un-inspired, the plot was chaotic and confusing, the dialogue was excessive and boring and the characters were emotionally empty. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
9
PYRiAHDec 12, 2010
Okay, Let me first start by saying that Christopher Nolan spent 10 years writing this film, so right from the start this film must be worth watching. This isn't your ordinary psychological thriller, it's not something where you can guess theOkay, Let me first start by saying that Christopher Nolan spent 10 years writing this film, so right from the start this film must be worth watching. This isn't your ordinary psychological thriller, it's not something where you can guess the next scene or assume how it will end. A lot of films these days often seem to be recycled, whether they are sequels, remakes, or inspirations from other films. "Inception" however, is pure original and it's evident almost from the beginning. The style, music, the entire concept. It is structured in such a way that it seems like it makes a lot of sense than it actually does, as always with anything that is maze-like. Let's just say that when Christopher Nolan was creating "Memento" he was warming up. I personally feel "Inception" is his best work yet.

Read full review at FlicksWorthWatching.com
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
PredragS.Jul 16, 2010
Such a boring movie...good effects but movie is sucks.
2 of 9 users found this helpful
0
acdc2000000Aug 11, 2010
TERRIBLE, it falls, to damn complicated for sal to understand probably because he smells bad davinchi goes into 4th sleep relm and **** ERVEY were thank you
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
DanJul 20, 2010
Reading the reviews definitely gives you an idea why the world is so messed up! How anyone can think this movie was worth the admission price is beyond me! This movie STUNK! Everytime there had to be an explanation of a prblem in a dream Reading the reviews definitely gives you an idea why the world is so messed up! How anyone can think this movie was worth the admission price is beyond me! This movie STUNK! Everytime there had to be an explanation of a prblem in a dream sequence it made up bizarre rules! DiCaprio better start being a bit more selective on the scripts he chooses or he will be making 'Made for TV' movies very soon! Expand
2 of 16 users found this helpful
3
JamesS.Jul 16, 2010
Boring. Boring. Boring. This movie didn't have enough action. The action scenes aren't even memorable. Parts of the film, such as the use of mental time dilation, are ripe for parody already. I kept thinking... haven't I seen Boring. Boring. Boring. This movie didn't have enough action. The action scenes aren't even memorable. Parts of the film, such as the use of mental time dilation, are ripe for parody already. I kept thinking... haven't I seen this film before? Stupid. Expand
5 of 75 users found this helpful
10
BenM.Jul 17, 2010
In years to come, when we look back on the medium of film and the incredible power it possesses, this will be the current generation's defining masterpiece. Nolan has crafted an outstanding piece of art, which perfectly encapsulates the In years to come, when we look back on the medium of film and the incredible power it possesses, this will be the current generation's defining masterpiece. Nolan has crafted an outstanding piece of art, which perfectly encapsulates the concept of the dream and its ability to question our view of reality. From the spectacular visuals to its collection of fantastic performances, Inception is Nolan's finest piece to date and a prime example of the endless limits of cinema. Sheer brilliance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
jamesm.Jul 27, 2010
THis movie was so bad for me I wouldn't have stayed past the first 40 minutes if I had been watching it alone. It didn't set up the plot at all. Like you were just supposed to accept on this intense chasing and shooting without THis movie was so bad for me I wouldn't have stayed past the first 40 minutes if I had been watching it alone. It didn't set up the plot at all. Like you were just supposed to accept on this intense chasing and shooting without ever knowing why just to be set up for the big dream sequence in the end. I thought the end was MUCH MUCH better, but getting there was painful and infuriating. Not a joy to watch and not well developed as a story. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DillonC.Jul 29, 2010
One of the BEST movies I have ever seen! I was completely blown away by Marion Cotillard, she played the part so well and i was completely mystified by her elegance. Leo was fantastic, as always, and I was very impressed by Ellen Page and One of the BEST movies I have ever seen! I was completely blown away by Marion Cotillard, she played the part so well and i was completely mystified by her elegance. Leo was fantastic, as always, and I was very impressed by Ellen Page and Joseph Gordon-Levitt's performances. Overall this movie was great! I already saw it twice and i might just have to see it again! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobW.Jul 30, 2010
Quite possibly the best film I've ever seen. Engrossing throughout and compulsory to re-watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DIegoH.Jul 16, 2010
One of the best films I've seen in a long time. This is a film that doesn't really go away from you when you're done watching it, and makes you think deeply. Certainly a film that should be seen multiple times to fully One of the best films I've seen in a long time. This is a film that doesn't really go away from you when you're done watching it, and makes you think deeply. Certainly a film that should be seen multiple times to fully understand and love it even more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrandonHenkeJul 16, 2010
Pure enjoyment from start to finish. An awe inspiring movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdityaM.Jul 16, 2010
This movie has Stunning Visuals, a stirring storyline and a Captivating Narration. What more?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BudBlueJul 16, 2010
Like a mix of The Matrix and Ocean's Eleven... A fantastic (if at times confusing) film where reality is not as certain as you might think.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JacobB.Jul 16, 2010
THis movie is flawless. It is original and gripping. If you don't like this movie it means you got confused watching it, which is really sad because I feel like Christopher Nolan handed us a road map and gave us "YOU ARE HERE" updates THis movie is flawless. It is original and gripping. If you don't like this movie it means you got confused watching it, which is really sad because I feel like Christopher Nolan handed us a road map and gave us "YOU ARE HERE" updates every 5 minutes. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CristobalS.Jul 18, 2010
A Modern Movie Masterpiece!! I saw this movie today (7/17) in IMAX with a packed theater and have to say that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Christopher Nolan delivers his finest and most audacious film yet. It is the story A Modern Movie Masterpiece!! I saw this movie today (7/17) in IMAX with a packed theater and have to say that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Christopher Nolan delivers his finest and most audacious film yet. It is the story of an extractor (DiCaprio) a thief who breaks into dreams. He gets cornered into his largest job yet, to break into a businessman's (Murphy) dream and plant information in his mind. To protect the film's twists and turns, I will stop there. The direction is frightening. For a filmmaker to get into our head and make us question reality and fantasy on the screen is almost like controlling our mind. This is what Nolan achieves, and to top it off, his actors give such convincing and realistic performances that we almost feel like we are in the dream with them. Some critics, and they know who they are: Rex Reed and company, who have panned the film believe that Nolan focused on visuals rather than the story and characters, but that is absolute insanity. It should be clear to any viewer that the story and characters are the real effect here. The visuals are amazing, but to be honest, they are supporting the story. They are no "Lord of the Rings" or "Jurassic Park", they aren't that effective. But unlike those two films, they play a psychological role in "Inception". I would be shocked if AMPAS didn't nominate the superb Wally Pheister's cinematography, Hans Zimmer's haunting score, Christopher Nolan's direction, Marion Cotillard's emotional performance, and the supurb editing at the least. The film is more than Best Picture worthy, but given AMPAS's history of nominating films like "The Blind Side", "The Reader", and "Moulin Rouge" rather than the critically acclaimed films, I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't get nominated come next year. Not a safe bet, but I do say with the lack of acclaimed and intelligent films this year it should get a Best Picture nomination. See This Film! The ending is amazing, and if you have at least an 8th Grade reading comprehension level (unlike Rex Reed and Company) you will come back to the theater wanting more and scratching your head. Enjoy! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
matta.Jul 18, 2010
I thought this was brillant, great story, brillant acting and a great ending that will have people talking bout this movie for years to come. Nolan has become the greatest director of his genaration mabye one more great film and he could be I thought this was brillant, great story, brillant acting and a great ending that will have people talking bout this movie for years to come. Nolan has become the greatest director of his genaration mabye one more great film and he could be called best ever, di caprio continues his journey to be up there with the greatest. speacial mention for Jospeh gordon-levitt who is such an underated actor hopefully will be recognised up there with di caprio after this. see it for yourself make up your own mind for me possible one of the greatest movies ever made. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
himanshuJul 18, 2010
A Masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
gillr.Jul 23, 2010
This movie sucks it makes no sense at all .they risks their lives to go in three layers dream for what?. so he can his father saying I disappointed that you try to be me.to find out his father wants him to be his own man. this a piece of This movie sucks it makes no sense at all .they risks their lives to go in three layers dream for what?. so he can his father saying I disappointed that you try to be me.to find out his father wants him to be his own man. this a piece of crap. I want my money back. If you able to go in three layers of dream you shoud come up with something more important than this piece of shit. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TheresaR.Jul 24, 2010
It sucked. I knew after the first 5 minutes. I wanted to reach out and grab one of those cuffs to put on my arm to go into a "dream-like state" until the movie was over. Don't waste your money ($11.00 btw) or your time.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
lucasb.Jul 26, 2010
Horrible dialogue, and character development that simply made the movie boring. Yeah I could keep up with the plot but was I supposed to care? Wanted to leave an hour in.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ZeusJul 28, 2010
Fantastic and horribly flawed.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TvrtkoC.Jul 29, 2010
Honestly. I didn't expect much of this movie, but when it finished I just wanted to watch it again. The movie was just superb! And the special effects also! The one thing I kinda didn't like was the ending, because you don't Honestly. I didn't expect much of this movie, but when it finished I just wanted to watch it again. The movie was just superb! And the special effects also! The one thing I kinda didn't like was the ending, because you don't know what to think, but although anyone is free to think what they want, I think that in the next moment it would fall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveC.Jul 29, 2010
This is simply a true master-piece, it will also create a path for future film-makers to follow, its original and full of little details that will help you understand (or confuse) completely the plot. One of those movies that you want/have This is simply a true master-piece, it will also create a path for future film-makers to follow, its original and full of little details that will help you understand (or confuse) completely the plot. One of those movies that you want/have to watch over and over again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnT.Jul 16, 2010
Visually stunning, psychologically moving.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdrianH.Jul 16, 2010
The more it sinks in, the more I admire Inception. One of the most original movies I have ever seen and complex on so many levels (the art of movie-making, questions of reality, existentialism, etc). Or perhaps this idea was just implanted The more it sinks in, the more I admire Inception. One of the most original movies I have ever seen and complex on so many levels (the art of movie-making, questions of reality, existentialism, etc). Or perhaps this idea was just implanted in my head over night while I was asleep.. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PhilA.Jul 16, 2010
Inception is Nolan's latest perfection. It's twists and turns will have you slamming in to the back of your seat in amazement.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
anandJul 16, 2010
One hell of a thrilling ride into the human subconscious.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackG.Jul 16, 2010
I think, like lost, people expect answers and dismiss anything else. Nolan provides a wonderful world that leaves you understanding to effect your enjoyment; although, simply enjoying it as a science fiction thriller/heist movie is sure to I think, like lost, people expect answers and dismiss anything else. Nolan provides a wonderful world that leaves you understanding to effect your enjoyment; although, simply enjoying it as a science fiction thriller/heist movie is sure to have your heart pounding. Watch this film, and decipher the ending as an interesting exercise rather than something to get worked up about. 10 thumbs up. And a half. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JesseH.Jul 16, 2010
Not only was this movie worth the 15 dollars in IMAX, but it was worth the 2 1/2 hours at midnight. Christopher Nolan found a way to make this movie both inherently believable and suspenseful. The subtle humor was extremely tasteful, and Not only was this movie worth the 15 dollars in IMAX, but it was worth the 2 1/2 hours at midnight. Christopher Nolan found a way to make this movie both inherently believable and suspenseful. The subtle humor was extremely tasteful, and Leo's acting was impeccable. On the note of acting, Ellen Page's performance was incredible and very worthy of Best Supporting Actress. The rest of the supporting cast made this movie so incredibly emotional and likable in so many ways, that this movie made me wish that fantasy dream science was possible. Well done. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StevenK>Jul 16, 2010
The most entertaining movie I've seen in a long, long time. You walk away and you feel smarter, thinking about things you don't normally think about...taking those thoughts even deeper.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaA.Jul 16, 2010
WOW! I've seen thousands upon thousands of movies in my life and no other has ever giving me that since of OMG WTF just happened? Your mind will start spinning. See it with a group of friends and just see what conversations come up in WOW! I've seen thousands upon thousands of movies in my life and no other has ever giving me that since of OMG WTF just happened? Your mind will start spinning. See it with a group of friends and just see what conversations come up in the car ride home. Besides being thoughtful it was also just great fun to watch it unfold. The action was top notch. The emotion was engaging. I could go into details on what I specifically liked or took from it but each viewer will take something different and that's what I feel is the point as well as the greatest accomplishment of this movie and should be something film makers strive to do. Well Nolen hit a grand slam with this one. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AntoineS.Jul 16, 2010
A wonderful fantasy blend of sci-fi and espionage. This movie will take your mind to amazing places and leave all sorts of ideas stuck in your mind.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EduardoP.Jul 16, 2010
Another Christopher Nolan masterpiece that is by far the best film of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PrashanthG.Jul 16, 2010
This is tha movie of the year man worthwhile and better than all summer releases.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SueV.Jul 18, 2010
Mind blowing & classic
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
vishalc.Jul 18, 2010
Excellent movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
LeoBFGJul 21, 2010
Good just not brilliant. Maybe I've watched too much science fiction to be overawed with the concept. The plot seems quite simple in my ways but it's just repeated within its unnecessarily convoluted structure.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BillFJul 24, 2010
I though this film was extremely disappointing. First of all, you shouldn't have to see a movie multiple times to just get the point of it. I was bored with all the antics going on and finally just got tired of trying to put it all I though this film was extremely disappointing. First of all, you shouldn't have to see a movie multiple times to just get the point of it. I was bored with all the antics going on and finally just got tired of trying to put it all together. I looked at my watch many times to see how long I had sat there watching this. The hype for this movie is very misleading and though it appears many of the viewers who have expressed their feelings here thought it was a masterpiece, I am one of those who definitely does not feel this way. Nolan is a creative director, but this one isn't with his best. Of course, I did lose track after I had fallen asleep for the third time! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EvanW.Jul 24, 2010
Watched he movie at the cinama last night, oh my god it was boring! All that stuff to make a dude destro his fathes empire, why dont blackmail him or something. Stupid story
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoanR.Jul 25, 2010
I went into this movie with a rave recommendation from my sister. She loved it. I HATED IT. It was so contrived. I felt I was being forced to feel as if individual scenes were exciting (they weren't), that action was amazing (it I went into this movie with a rave recommendation from my sister. She loved it. I HATED IT. It was so contrived. I felt I was being forced to feel as if individual scenes were exciting (they weren't), that action was amazing (it wasn't). Perhaps it was the music...terrible. I hate movies where I can figure out what's coming next. And it didn't drive me to care about any of the characters. This is supposed to be challenging? It was LAME It was a waste of money. Wait for it to come out on DVD. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
joshuaf.Jul 26, 2010
A whole lotta money spent on a whole lotta nonsense. not even half as good as the matrix and is twice as stupid.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JohnA.Jul 26, 2010
Horrible movie. I've actually liked Nolan's previous work despite his allergy to coherent storytelling, but Inception is a miserable failure in every possible respect. It is not a complicated film; it is intentionally convoluted in Horrible movie. I've actually liked Nolan's previous work despite his allergy to coherent storytelling, but Inception is a miserable failure in every possible respect. It is not a complicated film; it is intentionally convoluted in the hope audience members will mistake this for depth. The overwrought music and sound effects are likewise intended to create the illusion of substance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AlexSJul 27, 2010
Very weak film, even dull. I felt no emotions when the credits came rolling. But the photography is beautiful and creative. Rent it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ToddEJul 28, 2010
People who give this movie a bad review because it doesn't make any sense probably just have ADHD. Yes, this movie is definitely a deep-thinking movie and you need to pay close attention or you might miss some things. But, that's People who give this movie a bad review because it doesn't make any sense probably just have ADHD. Yes, this movie is definitely a deep-thinking movie and you need to pay close attention or you might miss some things. But, that's one of the things that makes this such a good movie. The cast is great, the action and visuals are amazing, and the idea of being able to affect dreams is protrayed so well that it almost makes you believe that its possible. Christopher Nolan once again, hits it out of the park! Definite watch and Definite Buy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ANGIERJul 29, 2010
Amazing movie highly recommended this film and its not a remake . I will see it again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaltonP.Jul 16, 2010
Amazing movie! This movie blew my mind. Its been a long time before Ive been in a theatere that stood up and clapped at the end of a movie. This movie was incredible in every way. Might be my new favorite movie of all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrianB.Jul 16, 2010
Easily the most original of the year. Cinematically structured in a way I've never experienced before such as the use of nested narrative loops, the stretching and compression of time, the linking together of disparate spaces and yet Easily the most original of the year. Cinematically structured in a way I've never experienced before such as the use of nested narrative loops, the stretching and compression of time, the linking together of disparate spaces and yet surprisingly all of this reinforces a compelling and engaging story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshL.Jul 16, 2010
This movie baffled the mind and was created with perfection. I left the theater with a sense of awe and impossibility. Christopher Nolan has created the ultimate mind boggler of the century.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattJ.Jul 16, 2010
This entire film creeps and stalks on all fours. I've never been a full theater (at midnight no less) where you could literally feel that everyone was fully engaged in the tension. This film could've been a travesty, but it was This entire film creeps and stalks on all fours. I've never been a full theater (at midnight no less) where you could literally feel that everyone was fully engaged in the tension. This film could've been a travesty, but it was brilliantly executed and acted. It asks a lot of its audience, but the ride is totally worth the mental bench press. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WilliamF.Jul 16, 2010
Inception is visually amazing and the cast is superb to say the least. The story is also extremely fascinating and is very memorable. Another must-see movie from the wonderful director Cristopher Nolan!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffGJul 16, 2010
Really, really amazing. I sort of a mix between Memento and Brazil; totally worth it. An amazing, amazing movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JerryH.Jul 22, 2010
What a waste of time and money. I never had the suspension of disbelief required to be part of or absorbed by a movie. The whole time I thought, "what a load of crap". It makes The Matrix look simple, linear and sane by comparison. What a waste of time and money. I never had the suspension of disbelief required to be part of or absorbed by a movie. The whole time I thought, "what a load of crap". It makes The Matrix look simple, linear and sane by comparison. Don't waste your time and money on this movie, even on DVD. I liked the Dark Knight and enjoy Leo iin most of his movies. Big flop. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
joeGJul 23, 2010
An over-long mess of a film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JackL.Jul 23, 2010
Embarrassing flick. Juvenile silliness geared to the tastes of the juvenile mind. Nolan some day may grow up, but it's doubtful. Such fluff, such gobbledy gook. In a just world, Nolan would never again be allowed to waste time, talent Embarrassing flick. Juvenile silliness geared to the tastes of the juvenile mind. Nolan some day may grow up, but it's doubtful. Such fluff, such gobbledy gook. In a just world, Nolan would never again be allowed to waste time, talent and money. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
lindas.Jul 24, 2010
This is the worst movie I have ever seen. Leonardo Dicaprio is a terrible actor and in my opinion there are no redeeming qualities whatsoever. A boring mess.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
WaleighR.Jul 25, 2010
I think this movie was Hollywood's attempt to see just how stupid the movie-going audience is.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
HenryJul 26, 2010
Don´t get the hoopla. The story just wasn´t that interesting. It was tedios and confusing. When they all woke up in the plane and looked around as if to say ¨Why are we here¨ I felt the same way. Can´t recommend it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
jamesc.Jul 26, 2010
Take the 2 hours and 48 minutes that you will waste on this film and help feed the homeless. This film is another useless film that people are told they are supposed to get excited about because it's 'smart." Please, a violent bore Take the 2 hours and 48 minutes that you will waste on this film and help feed the homeless. This film is another useless film that people are told they are supposed to get excited about because it's 'smart." Please, a violent bore of a film. Notice how all the people who gave it a 10 never explain why it's worthy of a ten. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BrendanBJul 28, 2010
This movie is truly great it kept me and my friends on the edge of our seats and we couldn't and still can't keep talking about how amazing it is like what happen with toy Story 3 @Will W how could you say this movie has no logic This movie is truly great it kept me and my friends on the edge of our seats and we couldn't and still can't keep talking about how amazing it is like what happen with toy Story 3 @Will W how could you say this movie has no logic it is a SCI-FI movie, it is not based on anything it is using imagination something you obviously lack. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonM.Jul 28, 2010
Mark my words: Inception is NOT a movie for the intellectually impaired, or the creatively deficient. You may notice that the nay-sayers of this movie all fall into one of these two categories; either too dimwitted to understand the movie, Mark my words: Inception is NOT a movie for the intellectually impaired, or the creatively deficient. You may notice that the nay-sayers of this movie all fall into one of these two categories; either too dimwitted to understand the movie, or too dull (and perhaps too conceited) to appreciate such a unique film. That said, you DON'T have to see Inception multiple times if you are A) reasonably intelligent, B) ready to watch a film intently from start to finish, and C) willing to suspend disbelief for a few hours, which is pretty much a requisite for 99% of movies anyway. If you successfully complete all three tasks, you will find Inception to be intriguing, suspenseful, and unlike anything you've seen before on a movie screen. To put it in one sentence... "Inception is as simple as it is complicated." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GaryC.Jul 29, 2010
One of the best films I've seen for ages, great plot, great script, great cast and awesome effects. Top notch stuff.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeG.Jul 29, 2010
Very sad ending, very epic characters, very amazing story. This movie is a must see!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
whitAug 18, 2010
Let's hope Hollywood takes notice and realizes that there is more potential for success for a complicated movie done well vs. a "comfort-food" movie done poorly.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
scottyb1Aug 12, 2010
Phenomenal film from top to bottom, one I'm sure will merit a perfect 10 on second viewing. Only a 9 at the moment due to the huge expectations and hype i placed on the movie which in fairness it just couldn't reach, I felt the length, andPhenomenal film from top to bottom, one I'm sure will merit a perfect 10 on second viewing. Only a 9 at the moment due to the huge expectations and hype i placed on the movie which in fairness it just couldn't reach, I felt the length, and slight predictability took something away from it. But really that is not the point, this film can't be judged on the same merits as other big budget blockbusters because it is so darn original and clever. The ideas in this film would have been so extraordinary on paper and in Nolan's head but to apply them in such a stunning fashion and (more the most part just about) in a way that makes sense was at times draw dropping. The man knows how to build tension like no other major film director today,much like he did with the 'boat dilemma' in The Dark Knight he created another 'ticking clock' function which drove the film forward perfectly. The visuals in this picture are draw dropping and at no point look like a 'special effect', they are so natural in the film and make the dream sequences all the more immersive. One final note on Di Caprio, he just gets better and better and better, gives depth to the character that in turn increases the depth of the film, awesome! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
swhitcombeAug 10, 2010
My favorite movie on first viewing since The Matrix. I love the ambition and the originality. As I walked out of the movie theater the first thing than came to mind was "how the hell did he come up with that". If you haven't seen this movieMy favorite movie on first viewing since The Matrix. I love the ambition and the originality. As I walked out of the movie theater the first thing than came to mind was "how the hell did he come up with that". If you haven't seen this movie you should go now. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
aabender002Aug 11, 2010
Inception managed to shatter every expectation that I had placed upon it. It is an exciting, challenging, wholly original film that is, at this point, the year's very best.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FrozenStar90Aug 11, 2010
Christopher Nolan has done it again. Dazzling, mindbending, and utterly exciting, "Inception" delivers in almost every conceivable way. I saw it twice during it's opening weekend, and I have every intention of seeing it again. Nolan's filmChristopher Nolan has done it again. Dazzling, mindbending, and utterly exciting, "Inception" delivers in almost every conceivable way. I saw it twice during it's opening weekend, and I have every intention of seeing it again. Nolan's film blows every other Summer film out of the water. Hands down. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
What is a dream? Is a dream fragmented memories from your life that appear in a disjointed sequences of events or is a dream things you have done over the course of day or things you have seen that are lumped together to create a strange andWhat is a dream? Is a dream fragmented memories from your life that appear in a disjointed sequences of events or is a dream things you have done over the course of day or things you have seen that are lumped together to create a strange and at sometimes puzzling world that springs forth from the inner most reassesses of the human mind. Some will tell you the answer to why we dream and others will say that we dream because it is how our minds are constructed to keep us active even when we sleep, (at least that is how I see it). The truth is that we as an advanced race will never truly know the reasons for dreams. The Human mind is the most complex and powerful thing we as humans posses and our ability to dream gives us something much more than just to keep our minds active it is a way for us to draw inspiration and to recover memories that we thought were long gone. Christopher Nolan(director of Memento, Batman Begins and The Dark Knight) gives us a glimpse at the power of the mind the wonders of dream and a story that is as complex as the dream world it weaves a crime that does not take place someplace a place where the mind is the scene of the crime. Over the course of 11 years, Christopher Nolan has become one of modern cinemas greatest directors delivering one amazing film after another after another after another, Nolan has achieved a certain level of success at such a young age that is only matched by one other legendary filmmaker Steven Spielberg. Nolan's films are as complex as the next he never strays from focusing on the events of the story or the characters as they shift through theses dark and at sometimes lurid sequences of events that befall them. That is his style and that is the reasons I love his movies there is so much to them not just what is on the surfaces but what is beneath the surfaces the deep rooted anxiety of theses characters. There dark painful pasts, the non linear story telling that is almost ever present in all of his films his latest endeavor, "Inception" is no exception. "inception" is a twist a minute, mind bending brain teaser it is the rare kind of summer blockbuster that thrills you while at the same time making you think about the boundless possibilities that the dream world that our minds create. The only other movie, actually I should say movies, I have ever seen that posses such powerful questions are "The Matrix"(1999) and "Vanilla Sky"(2001) although "Vanilla Sky" is far more like "Inception than "The Matrix" they both are up there as two of the most mind bending Science Fiction films I have ever seen. Both films using the ideas of reality to further along there sometimes-confusing plot and "Inception" has one hell of a perplexing plot. This kind of movie is a thinking persons movie someone who has the attention span to keep there focus pinned on Nolan's bleak and stark vision of a dark visually stunning dream world that is amazingly not to different from our own. I know there will be people walking into this movie expecting a run of the mill action thriller that is just covered up by a premise that takes place in the dream world, they will sadly walk out upset that they did not get the mindless action that they expected or even wanted. A more perceptive experienced moviegoer will know what to expect from this twisty Nolan film and if you know that, you can never predict how it will end or what will happen then you have all they need to watch this brilliant piece of filmmaking. "Inception" took me by surprise I expected this film to be something similar to "The Matrix" and yet I got something far more complex and daring a wholly original and jarring Sci-Fi Noir that boldly puts itself out there and challenges the horrendous summer blockbusters by doing what they failed to do. Deliver a solid and thrilling piece of entertainment that surpasses anything that mainstream Hollywood has put out in the recent months. Nolan not only blows away the competition he crushes it leaving nothing but rubble of the films that should have been winner but instead were failures. "Inception" is one of the best if not the best film of the summer and one of the films of the year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MaxAug 17, 2010
It's not as good -- or as difficult -- as many would lead you to believe. It's easily consumed entertainment (it's two and a half hour running time moves by quite quickly) that likes to think it's much smarter than it actually is. It's muchIt's not as good -- or as difficult -- as many would lead you to believe. It's easily consumed entertainment (it's two and a half hour running time moves by quite quickly) that likes to think it's much smarter than it actually is. It's much better and smarter than most of your typical Hollywood fare, but it fails to live up to expectations. Its characters are flat, and its plot is derivative. It's only slightly better than average. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheBigBadBURTAug 12, 2010
This film blew my mind. I went to see it with a friend and both of us were speechless, in awe at the sheer brilliance of the film for 20 minutes afterwards. If you enjoyed The Dark Knight you will love this film. In fact, you'll probably loveThis film blew my mind. I went to see it with a friend and both of us were speechless, in awe at the sheer brilliance of the film for 20 minutes afterwards. If you enjoyed The Dark Knight you will love this film. In fact, you'll probably love it even if you didn't. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SamStar42Aug 11, 2010
Utterly fantastic movie. Better than any of Nolan's former movies, best movie of the year (bar Toy Story 3). The effects are amazing, the cast is perfect, it's one of the most original things I've ever seen and it's just a perfect package. IUtterly fantastic movie. Better than any of Nolan's former movies, best movie of the year (bar Toy Story 3). The effects are amazing, the cast is perfect, it's one of the most original things I've ever seen and it's just a perfect package. I loved it because it's not the average summer action movie - it actually makes you think for a change, unlike, say, Transformers or Star Trek.

Go in expecting to think. If you go in expecting it to be another Dark Knight, you're not only stupid, you're expecting the wrong movie. Without trying to sound elitest, the only reason I can't see someone liking this movie is if they're either stupid, impatient or refuses to listen to something without explosions every five seconds. Those are good, but Inception isn't one of them. It's just clever action, and I can't think of anything else like it. 10/10, see it now.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews