Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 16, 2010
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3862 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,463
Mixed:
211
Negative:
188
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MikeGJul 26, 2010
Not the greatest movie of it's genre, but close to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobH.Jul 26, 2010
Inception is *that* movie. The movie everyone will be discussing, debating and analyzing until the end of time. This generation's 2001: A Space Odyssey.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JJJul 27, 2010
Of the five Christopher Nolan films I have seen before this, 4 have been truly exceptional movies, Insomnia was decent. So, I had huge expectations for Inception. It surpassed every one easily. Nolan weaves together a narrative stunning in Of the five Christopher Nolan films I have seen before this, 4 have been truly exceptional movies, Insomnia was decent. So, I had huge expectations for Inception. It surpassed every one easily. Nolan weaves together a narrative stunning in its complexity, while keeping it coherent. I did not find it at all difficult to follow, as paying attention was easy with the spectacular visuals and action that keep even the easily confused glued to the screen. Even if all the small technicalities aren't kept straight in one's mind, the viewer is always aware of the emotional center and feels the gravity of the situation. I walked out of the theater fully satisfied, having enjoyed every moment of the movie right the last brain teasing scene. However, it wasn't until thinking about the plot later, that I began to grasp the true brilliance of it all. This film deals with themes like substance abuse, loss, family, and has religious overtones such as faith, and depictions of hell. While I normally find over-analyzing to be annoying, I can't help but feel that in those 10 years of writing this script, Nolan had a lot to say and created a genius and thought-provoking story on every level. He is the greatest director of hollywood blockbuster's today, bringing originality, emotionally heavy, and intelligent stuff to the table while remaining entertaining as hell. This is his masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaraM.Jul 20, 2010
Of course this movie is the best movie this year till now! It has something different thing. i don't want to say it because it might spoil you from watching the movie. the music was great. What I know is that the director of dark knight Of course this movie is the best movie this year till now! It has something different thing. i don't want to say it because it might spoil you from watching the movie. the music was great. What I know is that the director of dark knight is a really good director and never disappointed me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamWJul 20, 2010
Inception is the movie of the year, It was intense, cerebral, conceptually imaginative and action packed. If only more films were made with this level of ambition and guile the cinema would be a far better place to be. Its a shame that Inception is the movie of the year, It was intense, cerebral, conceptually imaginative and action packed. If only more films were made with this level of ambition and guile the cinema would be a far better place to be. Its a shame that Inception will easily become the quintessential movie of its type, because there really should be more competition for that title. I was disappointed to see critics, obviously used to the likes of Snakes on a Plane and Hot Tub Time Machine, saying that Inception is 'confusing' and 'complicated' when it really isn't. It just happens to be more complicated that the average movie, which really isn't difficult to achieve, and just because you have to keep up during the film and you might be still thinking about it 20 mins after doesn't make it confusing. Come on guys! MAN UP! The thing that I really don't understand is people accusing Inception of being 'boring'. it just might not be your thing, which is fair enough as there's never going to be a movie that everyone likes and connects with, its impossible, however Inception is anything but boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJul 20, 2010
This movie was more than I expected. I went in with huge expectations and this movie exceeded all of them. I really had a hard time leaving the theater, because my eyes just couldn't leave the screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
brandondJul 28, 2010
Movie was great, and certainly connected my emotions...Just because you can't pay attention to a movie for more than two hours does not mean you can bash what your mind could not handle. Try to think during the movie and you will feel Movie was great, and certainly connected my emotions...Just because you can't pay attention to a movie for more than two hours does not mean you can bash what your mind could not handle. Try to think during the movie and you will feel the emotion Nolan delivers. Clap Clap for the movie, well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OliviaGJul 20, 2010
I am 14 and understood this movie completely and thought it was one of the best movies i have seen in my lifetime!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyJ.Jul 30, 2010
Outstanding!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimKJul 30, 2010
Not hard to understand if you currently attend or have graduated high school. If there was one, solid reason why this movie is so fantastic, it is because of its originality. The idea is so much more than "ex-agent/cop kills everything that Not hard to understand if you currently attend or have graduated high school. If there was one, solid reason why this movie is so fantastic, it is because of its originality. The idea is so much more than "ex-agent/cop kills everything that moves" or "romantic comedy, enough said." It does make you think, which for me made the movie seem like it lasted forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jamesk.Jul 30, 2010
Excellent, non stop action and interesting story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackS.Jul 16, 2010
Wow. I have never had a moviegoing experience like this. all i can say is that i was amazing. revolutionary. I cant imagine why this is getting bad reviews! Maybe people are too lazy too follow, or just being contrarians. Put pay attention, Wow. I have never had a moviegoing experience like this. all i can say is that i was amazing. revolutionary. I cant imagine why this is getting bad reviews! Maybe people are too lazy too follow, or just being contrarians. Put pay attention, and you will be rewarded immensely. A masterpiece. I would even say this is one of the best films of all time. I plan to see it many more times! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinK.Jul 16, 2010
The best cinema-going experience I've had in a long time. Multi-faceted genre with a great musical score, excellent acting, titillating action sequences, original concept and seamless storytelling. For it's complexity and the The best cinema-going experience I've had in a long time. Multi-faceted genre with a great musical score, excellent acting, titillating action sequences, original concept and seamless storytelling. For it's complexity and the multitude of linear parallel story aches but with different parameterizations with respect to time, it was pleasantly easy to follow along for the average movie-goer, which I believe is testament to the great foundational strength of it's logic, directing, and execution. This movie had a lot of interesting themes to ponder over too, but more than anything, what amazed me was how in the process of watching it you find yourself in wonderment at the elegance and how it brings it all together seamlessly (if you look for the loose thread, you'll be looking for awhile, as if you were trying to find the 2nd side to a loop of paper twisted and fused at the ends). Whereas other movies will intentionally over-complicate a movie and cut-it up and mix it up to create abstraction, Inception has the complexity, but in a almost natural order, or mathematically, like a function f(a(b(c(d(e(x))))). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielK.Jul 16, 2010
After a somewhat confusing (but necessary) first hour, the movie reveals itself to be a masterpiece. It is definitely one of my all-time favorite movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamS.Jul 16, 2010
I'm surprised there are so many negative comments, I guess this is a love it or hate it film. Personally I absolutely loved it, and so did everyone I've talked to about it. It was one of the best movies I've seen in a while. I'm surprised there are so many negative comments, I guess this is a love it or hate it film. Personally I absolutely loved it, and so did everyone I've talked to about it. It was one of the best movies I've seen in a while. Christopher Nolan delivers once again as he did with Memento and the Dark Knight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuartW.Jul 16, 2010
From some of the negative comments it seems that a lot of people didn't like this movie because they found it confusing. I would therefore offer the advice that if you have trouble following clever and original movie narratives and like From some of the negative comments it seems that a lot of people didn't like this movie because they found it confusing. I would therefore offer the advice that if you have trouble following clever and original movie narratives and like to stick to the same old generic storylines we're used to seeing over and over, then don't see this movie. For me, as a Christopher Nolan fan, it lived up to all my expectation and did not disappoint. 10 out of 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisJul 16, 2010
Inception is a masterpiece. After one viewing I can't wait smack down another 10 bucks to unlock some of the deeper narrative themes. That said after seeing it once Leo deserves an Oscar nod as does Christopher Nolan for directing, Inception is a masterpiece. After one viewing I can't wait smack down another 10 bucks to unlock some of the deeper narrative themes. That said after seeing it once Leo deserves an Oscar nod as does Christopher Nolan for directing, Wally Pfister for the cinematography, Han's Zimmer for the haunting musical score, and hopefully in choreography if alone for Joseph Gordon Levitt's awe inspiring weightless scenes. Go see it, and while your at it go see it again, cherish the experience because movies like this come along every couple of decades. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NathanP.Jul 16, 2010
I'm an avid review reader, I can be pumped as all get out for a movie to come out, but it's reviews are bad, typically i won't go see it in theaters. I was delighted to see the early reviews for this movie roll in, perfect I'm an avid review reader, I can be pumped as all get out for a movie to come out, but it's reviews are bad, typically i won't go see it in theaters. I was delighted to see the early reviews for this movie roll in, perfect score after perfect score... my anticipation grew into something nearly uncontainable. Now I've seen it. And boy am I glad I did. I've seen about 10 movies in theaters this year so far... and this movie is, without doubt, the best (live action) movie I've seen in 2010. Some of the sequences were absolutely mind blowing, while others were so obvious, I was jealous that I didn't think of this movie first. Take the matrix, but instead of jacking into computers, jack into other peoples minds... simply(that's the key word) genius. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, the acting was great all around, the action was awesome, though not entirely original, and while the movie doesn't exactly keep you guessing, it does keep you on your toes. I don't know what movie some of these people here saw, but this was a highly entertaining movie. I would happily pay to see it again, and I would recommend it to anyone. Content notes: For a PG-13 movie, pretty tame on the language end of things... a few G-d's, but no F-bombs. And on the violence side of things, violent, but very little blood, and zero gore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HasanQ.Jul 16, 2010
This is one of the best movies in recent time.Hats off to Mr. Nolan and Caprio.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankLJul 16, 2010
Best movie this year so far. Definitely a thinking person's movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisT.Jul 17, 2010
This is precisely why I hate the Village Voice reviews. They come across as pretentious nonsense, purely devised to go against the popular opinion. I can picture the editorial staff at VV conspiring against all the 'buzz' purely so This is precisely why I hate the Village Voice reviews. They come across as pretentious nonsense, purely devised to go against the popular opinion. I can picture the editorial staff at VV conspiring against all the 'buzz' purely so that their negative review can stand out from the rest. Ridiculous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Jul 17, 2010
If someone gave this film a bad review, it's because they have no brain to actually understand the story. People are always whining and complaining on how confusing Inception was. Well obviously those people didn't even watch the If someone gave this film a bad review, it's because they have no brain to actually understand the story. People are always whining and complaining on how confusing Inception was. Well obviously those people didn't even watch the movie because if people actually paid attention, they'd actually understand what is going on. Second of all, if this movie isn't up for any Academy Awards then I'll be pissed. The Dark Knight wasn't up for anything 2 years ago, and Chris Nolan was ticked off. Although, the reason why he didn't make another Batman movie was because he wanted that academy award that he should've got 2 years ago. Nolan wanted to go even deeper, so the Academy would actually for once give him credit for something that no one has ever done. This movie is as good as the Dark Knight, but goes even deeper within the realm of mind. The Academy better be right this year because I'm not watching some crappy britain movie that no one even knows that somehow is better than Inception. This movie is the best movie of the year, and if it isn't then what is? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeN.Jul 17, 2010
Best movie I've seen in a while. It really reminded me of the Matrix AND of how bad this summer's movies have been.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimHJul 17, 2010
Like other Nolan movies, you are distracted from the film's narrative holes by his style and flair. But I still had a hard time getting past the film's central conceit of induced dreaming. And people don't dream as soon as Like other Nolan movies, you are distracted from the film's narrative holes by his style and flair. But I still had a hard time getting past the film's central conceit of induced dreaming. And people don't dream as soon as they fall asleep. And aren't there easier, less cool ways to steal corporate secrets? And how did Cobb first discover then market his abilities? To me, this movie still does not supersede the Matrix, as I would have expected and which I thought we'd be capable of doing by this point in time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonW.Jul 17, 2010
This is Christopher Nolan's masterpiece. I did not expect him to outdo TDK so soon in terms of greatness but he has. The fact that he wrote the script himself and hardly used the greenscreen CGI effect through fighting scenes in the This is Christopher Nolan's masterpiece. I did not expect him to outdo TDK so soon in terms of greatness but he has. The fact that he wrote the script himself and hardly used the greenscreen CGI effect through fighting scenes in the film blows my mind. This is the best movie I have ever seen Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonKJul 17, 2010
Reminds me why I love the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KieranS.Jul 17, 2010
Incredible film, yet again dicaprio has produced an excellent performance and Nolan another original, genius masterpiece with stunning graphics and a storyline like no other. Full of action, emotion, depth and a concept that is extremely Incredible film, yet again dicaprio has produced an excellent performance and Nolan another original, genius masterpiece with stunning graphics and a storyline like no other. Full of action, emotion, depth and a concept that is extremely clever. This I think is the film of the year and will be eagerly waiting for it's blu ray release so I can watch it again. Absolutely incredible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalebO.Jul 17, 2010
Superb and amazing. I can only assume any bad reviews are written by people who didn't understand it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardS.Jul 17, 2010
I would have given it a 10 after the first time I saw it. Now, after the 2nd time, I'd go at least 12 or 13. I liked it much better the second time. The first time, I was enthralled by the visuals and the basic guts of the story. This I would have given it a 10 after the first time I saw it. Now, after the 2nd time, I'd go at least 12 or 13. I liked it much better the second time. The first time, I was enthralled by the visuals and the basic guts of the story. This time I was able to focus on the intricacies of the story development, and that was just so incredible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelC.Jul 17, 2010
Nothing short than amazing. Great story, fine acting, and the second-half of the film had me on my toes the entire time. I don't know who these people are that are bogging it down as "too confusing" or "emotionally lacking." This film Nothing short than amazing. Great story, fine acting, and the second-half of the film had me on my toes the entire time. I don't know who these people are that are bogging it down as "too confusing" or "emotionally lacking." This film touched me on many levels: visually, mentally and emotionally. I saw the midnight show and can't wait to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SusanN.Jul 17, 2010
Overcomplicated chaos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Jul 17, 2010
Superb movie! Amazing visuals and some nice concepts..if not overly original. i started to flag half way through due to the high pace from start to finish..which is tough for 2 1/2 hours!:) I don't think it was confusing and wasn't Superb movie! Amazing visuals and some nice concepts..if not overly original. i started to flag half way through due to the high pace from start to finish..which is tough for 2 1/2 hours!:) I don't think it was confusing and wasn't let down by it not being better than other Sci Fi movies out there.(i wouldn't watch it again....unlike the matrix which always leaves the hairs on the back of my neck standing in the last quarter of an hour of the movie) If you take it for what it is... it's a good watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkU.Jul 17, 2010
PHENOMENAL! That is all i have to say about this incredible movie, this interesting movie about how dreams work with your brain and the sub-conscious part of your mind really makes you say "Oh wow!" This movie had great action, especially in PHENOMENAL! That is all i have to say about this incredible movie, this interesting movie about how dreams work with your brain and the sub-conscious part of your mind really makes you say "Oh wow!" This movie had great action, especially in the dream state from level 1, 2, 3, and even level 4! This movie is by far the best of the summer! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Jean-PhilippeC.Jul 17, 2010
This is really an amazaing movie, a little bit complicated but SO good!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SiddhantD.Jul 18, 2010
It wasnt that great.. i have no idea what is wrong with everyone.. its a very good movie... but far from great, something is missing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisP.Jul 18, 2010
Upon a 2nd viewing, I officially declare this movie a Masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpotB.Jul 18, 2010
Definitely the best movie of 2010 so far. Everything about this was great,the acting,story,effects,everything was great. Good job Nolan. Keep up the good work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DitoB.Jul 18, 2010
Simply amazing. No other words could describe this mind-blowing masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnthonyP.Jul 18, 2010
Fantastic movie - I absolutely loved it. You have to go into it understanding that this is a mythology that is going to have occasional holes. If you can put those aside and just get into the plot, you'll have a great time trying to Fantastic movie - I absolutely loved it. You have to go into it understanding that this is a mythology that is going to have occasional holes. If you can put those aside and just get into the plot, you'll have a great time trying to process what's going on and enjoying the characters. Had too many gun-fights for my taste (especially since they weren't all that cool and seemed out of place), but other than that I thoroughly enjoyed it. Christopher Nolan is quickly establishing himself as one of my favorite writer/directors, and the actors turned in some great performances. Highly recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XavierC.Jul 18, 2010
One of the best movies I have ever seen. To all of the people out there who say that it was boring, I feel bad for you because there was not one part where it got boring for me. I was focused the whole time. Also, it seems as if people who One of the best movies I have ever seen. To all of the people out there who say that it was boring, I feel bad for you because there was not one part where it got boring for me. I was focused the whole time. Also, it seems as if people who got too confused didn't like it either. The story was amazing and I was just in absolute awe the whole time I was watching it. It's also funny how everyone who didn't like it complains that the special effects were generic. What do you guys expect? The special effects were perfectly fine. I didn't think it was possible to not like this movie, I guess I was wrong. Seriously, I highly recommend this movie. Do NOT listen to the people who gave it a score of 1, they don't know what they are talking about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanGJul 18, 2010
Awesome!! Its very confusing though!! I'll have to see it multiple times to understand it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CatherineL.Jul 18, 2010
Totally mind blowing! fabulous! Hard to follow for the first 10 minutes but once you got with the flow and feel of movie it was excellent! Every character was intertesting with Dom being the most complex. It was one of those film were you Totally mind blowing! fabulous! Hard to follow for the first 10 minutes but once you got with the flow and feel of movie it was excellent! Every character was intertesting with Dom being the most complex. It was one of those film were you really make up your own ending. I felt at the end the viewr still did not know if Dom was dreaming or not?? Would the totem full or not?? I feel sorry for the ones that walked out half way through I think perhaps they could or wouldn't understand the concept of the film. Its maybe not a film for peope with closed/narrow minds. I simply cannot stop thinking about it. The detail Nolan went into for this film its easy to see why he was 10 years writing the script then a further 9 gaining experiance for a movie of this magnitude. Defo should get an OSCAR for BEST FILM. WONDERFUL Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlfredH.Jul 18, 2010
Easily the best movie I've ever seen in theaters. There were multiple moments where I needed to pick my jaw off the floor from being in such amazement. Amazing story, amazing acting, amazing effects. This movie actually deserves a 10 Easily the best movie I've ever seen in theaters. There were multiple moments where I needed to pick my jaw off the floor from being in such amazement. Amazing story, amazing acting, amazing effects. This movie actually deserves a 10 because I can't find anything to complain about. Leaving the theater I could not be happier, even after hearing all the hype this movie got. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KerryB.Jul 18, 2010
Outstanding. It is one of the best films that I have seen in my lifetime. It is original, creative, and intriguing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattH.Jul 21, 2010
Superb movie. Will ruin all other movies for me for some time. Anything less than a 10 for this movie is nonsense or an attempt at sabotage...or maybe just stupidity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatH.Jul 21, 2010
I thought this was a great movie that truly tried to be original, but because of all the praise it's getting from the audience and the fact that it's #3 right now on the IMDB Top 250, I feel I have to point to its flaws. None of I thought this was a great movie that truly tried to be original, but because of all the praise it's getting from the audience and the fact that it's #3 right now on the IMDB Top 250, I feel I have to point to its flaws. None of which are really with the plot, as Nolan has spent 8 years ironing it out, but with dialogue, the fact that the movie is CONSTANTLY explaining things (whether its plot or backstory), and the idea that everyone remembers everything about a dream when they wake up and that when we decide something in a dream, somehow we're sure to carry that decision onto the real world. Also, the acting wasn't impressive, I mean they were all good but Ellen Page is just as good in the commercials as she is here. DiCaprio doesn't add anything, and the same can be said for Cotillard. They're both great, but nothing special. The same with the direction. There wasn't a single time I was impressed with Nolan's direction; too many quick cuts constantly telling the audience what to look at. The visuals were stunning at times, but only because of the CGI, not because of the camerawork. Lastly, I thought the pacing was a little off. For example, there's an important moment when the team gets their mark into a room with one of their own (an important moment in terms of the entire film), but then Nolan brings us back to DiCaprio and Page to talk about his backstory. Which he narrates for us the whole time. Again, using dialogue to explain instead of using action to show. Overall though this was a great movie because of the ideas used here and the fact that even though the acting and direction didn't add much it was still solid. Which is what this movie is, nothing more and nothing less, solid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimCJul 21, 2010
It was an absolutely stunning film. From the music, to the special effects, to the engrossing story, to everything else, this is amazing. I went into this movie with a few speculations, and it blew my mind. It's the best movie of the It was an absolutely stunning film. From the music, to the special effects, to the engrossing story, to everything else, this is amazing. I went into this movie with a few speculations, and it blew my mind. It's the best movie of the year, by far. I can honestly say that it is the best movie I've seen in the last five years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateTJul 21, 2010
The concept itself is really complex and imaginative. On top of that, to visualize it and transpose it to film successfully, as Nolan has, is an impressive achievement. Well done. This film was epic, and I'm still feeling the shockwaves The concept itself is really complex and imaginative. On top of that, to visualize it and transpose it to film successfully, as Nolan has, is an impressive achievement. Well done. This film was epic, and I'm still feeling the shockwaves of its impact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonCJul 21, 2010
Truly a sci-fi masterpiece. I am not even a big fan of sci-fi, but this movie totally grabbed my attention from the opening scene and just wouldn't let go until long after the movie ended. I've seen it twice and i can say that it Truly a sci-fi masterpiece. I am not even a big fan of sci-fi, but this movie totally grabbed my attention from the opening scene and just wouldn't let go until long after the movie ended. I've seen it twice and i can say that it is not enough. I need to see it again. If a movie makes you think that much it definitely has strong qualities. The cast is excellent, and all on top of their game. Chris nolan always keeps you on the edge of the seat whether its with the dialogue, action, or a combination of the two. add hans zimmer to the mix and you get the first classic of 2010. this movie deserves plenty of oscar nods. i think Leo will finally get that oscar he's deserved for so long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephWJul 20, 2010
This is probably the best film I have seen. You need to concentrate to keep up but it's worth it. It's exactly how film making should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexFJul 21, 2010
Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannySJul 21, 2010
This movie has almost literally changed my life. It seems to be almost a repeat of what The Matrix did to me. It makes you think so much about what goes on it drives you crazy it makes you want to watch it over and over again. There is just This movie has almost literally changed my life. It seems to be almost a repeat of what The Matrix did to me. It makes you think so much about what goes on it drives you crazy it makes you want to watch it over and over again. There is just so much thought put into this movie and it works out so well, that even with four different stories going on simultaneously that it still doesn't get confusing because Nolan's genius shines through and it all works brilliantly. Definitely my new favorite movie and absolutely Nolan's masterpiece. Must see for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CSchrupJul 20, 2010
A modern classic and an epic tour de force.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IvanCJul 21, 2010
Great movie. The now classic ending is up for interpretation so I've begun aggregating theories about the ending of Inception at http://InceptionEnding.com
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamRJul 21, 2010
This movie is brilliant , this is the best 2010 summer movie out now. Christopher nolan has made an absolutely perfect movie from start to finish , i highly recommend you see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jul 21, 2010
With the advent of the Internet, the moviegoer has the option of going on-line for a plot synopsis, prior to seeing a movie; an option that was unavailable in 1984 when "Dune" patrons were instead handed pamphlets by theater employees to With the advent of the Internet, the moviegoer has the option of going on-line for a plot synopsis, prior to seeing a movie; an option that was unavailable in 1984 when "Dune" patrons were instead handed pamphlets by theater employees to help orientate the uninitiated masses not familiar with the Frank Herbert serial of sci-fi novels. Since most modern-day trailers lay out entire narratives in five minute encapsulations, anyway, and often for movies with stories so intellectually undemanding a small child could follow, it's ironic that the preview for "Inception" would be the one coming attractions spot which contains no spoilers or overt exposition, because arguably, the moviegoer may need a signpost or two. Unlike the dream logic that David Lynch employs, in particular, "Lost Highway" and "Mulholland Drive", films with multiple interpretations, this Leonardo DiCaprio vehicle probably has just one. The inherent confusion that distinguishes Lynch's best work is enjoyable because his narratives are coherently incoherent, while being lost in "Inception" can be a frustrating experience since this wildly ambitious, but deeply flawed would-be masterpiece is the very opposite; it's incoherently coherent. If the filmmaker updated the studio's hard copy gambit of yesteryear by instructing moviegoers to a website before viewing this somewhat derirative(David Cronenberg's "Existenz", Michael Gondry's "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind", heck, even Joseph Rubin's "Dreamscape"), but admirable follow-up to "The Dark Knight", then Ellen Page, who is stuck with the chore of playing the film's tour guide, would be free to develop a personality. At one point, Adriane asks, "Wait a minute; whose subconscious are we supposed to enter?" She practically breaks the fourth wall. It's a good question, because we're not sure either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaZ.Jul 20, 2010
Completely original. Great acting. Everything you'd expect from an amazing movie. When I first saw this movie, I was confused and I just wanted to see it again. After watching it three times, I consider my mind to be blown away. There Completely original. Great acting. Everything you'd expect from an amazing movie. When I first saw this movie, I was confused and I just wanted to see it again. After watching it three times, I consider my mind to be blown away. There has not been a moment where I have not thought about the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewPJul 20, 2010
Inception is a brilliant movie that defines the dream state. The thrill I got when I watched the movie is enough to bring me back at least once more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StuartLJul 20, 2010
Absolutely stunning in every way. It actually made me think about what was going on while the movie was happening but it all sunk in before the next part started. Anybody who complains that "this movie is too complicated" are a little Absolutely stunning in every way. It actually made me think about what was going on while the movie was happening but it all sunk in before the next part started. Anybody who complains that "this movie is too complicated" are a little slow-witted if you ask me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JTwaddleJul 21, 2010
An original multi-layered fantasy with some of the best acting to come out of a mainstream Hollywood movie in years. Nolan has yet to make a bad (or even mediocre) film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillySJul 20, 2010
More than a cinematic Orgasm, Inception is a multiple-cinematic-Orgasm!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewWJul 21, 2010
Not a 10 because nothing's perfect, but this was seriously close. Unbelievably deep and intelligent story, and relentlessly gripping. Best film of 2010 so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
michaelsJul 20, 2010
Awesome, well written movie! and of course there's some fuck whos gona talk shit about it. not everyone has to like it but still some hater comments are just stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustAguyTrueJul 20, 2010
Note: I think the review by JESSE B shows he is in fact a CRANIALPHILE and Director NOLAN should worry about this STALKER who wnats to get it on with his BULB! Now the movie; Great layers of story--- that will make the ADD cell/texting Note: I think the review by JESSE B shows he is in fact a CRANIALPHILE and Director NOLAN should worry about this STALKER who wnats to get it on with his BULB! Now the movie; Great layers of story--- that will make the ADD cell/texting generation squirm and others feel so challenged to keep up, that they will finally quit and hurl insults at the filmaker for not just Entertaining them like the Big Dumb TV does at home! (they have been taught by our cultire to hate anything that makes them think too much, thats why only 15% of us show up to vote). My man beef is it never says how they get into peoples dreams, and new comers (like Ellen Paige's character are not blow away when told about it). - Also they dreams are not very "dreamlike" very mundane, and no really cool dream powers are used. great emotional story and many layers - just not Fantastic dreamlike stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
markj.Jul 21, 2010
"Inception" is absolutely astonishing! It's "Mission: Impossible" with a screenplay by Franz Kafka and Carl Jung. Those with room temperature I.Q.s should probably avoid it and wait for the next Roland Emmerich movie for their action fix.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewHJul 20, 2010
This is a great movie by a great director. Nolan has made a movie that has a chance of getting movie of the year. Some people have gave this movie a bad review for saying things like " Oh we have seen this before and its just the matrix. This is a great movie by a great director. Nolan has made a movie that has a chance of getting movie of the year. Some people have gave this movie a bad review for saying things like " Oh we have seen this before and its just the matrix. Guess what Nolan has said that he wanted to make a mix of the matrix and dark city and that is what this is and people who have said we have seen this before well we have there have seen movies that deal with reality so whats your point. that does not made this a bad movie you morons you people just didn't understand! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarvinTJul 20, 2010
A mind blowing drama. Christopher Nolan has done it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeTJul 20, 2010
Great movie. I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigNJul 20, 2010
Best movie of the year so far, love love loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OliverW.Jul 21, 2010
Truly astonishing This is not your average film. It delivers something original, thrilling and immersive. The ending is pretty amazing aswell. Be Warned This is a very mature and complicated film, I would not bring someone that is under the Truly astonishing This is not your average film. It delivers something original, thrilling and immersive. The ending is pretty amazing aswell. Be Warned This is a very mature and complicated film, I would not bring someone that is under the age of 14 unless they were clever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackTJul 22, 2010
Beautiful movie. Left to be interpreted by the viewer, like any true art. Full of heart...obsession, love, death.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheDaneJul 20, 2010
The best movie I've seen in a long time. Absolutely epic. I just saw it about 3 hours ago and I'm still reeling. It's a fully realized film, with amazing acting, filmography, special effects, but most of all, plot. It's The best movie I've seen in a long time. Absolutely epic. I just saw it about 3 hours ago and I'm still reeling. It's a fully realized film, with amazing acting, filmography, special effects, but most of all, plot. It's not only an action film, but a psychological thriller, science fiction epic, and emotionally wrenching drama. Easily the best film I've seen in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jamespJul 22, 2010
Easily one of the best movies ever made. But I will say you will either love it and think that it is a original idea for a movie or you will hate it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevonRJul 22, 2010
This movie is definitely not for everyone. It has a nice balance that I find very hard to find in movies anymore. There is enough depth to keep me thinking, enough action to satisfy my testosterone needs, and a majority of the film is set in This movie is definitely not for everyone. It has a nice balance that I find very hard to find in movies anymore. There is enough depth to keep me thinking, enough action to satisfy my testosterone needs, and a majority of the film is set in the very beautiful setting of the mind. All of these things build up the climax to a peak that honestly left me breathless. See it twice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaulM.Jul 22, 2010
Words can't describe how much I love this movie. I knew I would enjoy it, but to have it rank among my all time favorite movies is a testament to its greatness. Truly, a work of art, and one all should take time out of their schedule to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickS.Jul 22, 2010
I was afraid that the commercial success of the "Dark Night" C. Nolan will fall (like other promising directors) into the blockbuster with lots of stars with big budget with a useless story, just to make the Studio happy to gross money on I was afraid that the commercial success of the "Dark Night" C. Nolan will fall (like other promising directors) into the blockbuster with lots of stars with big budget with a useless story, just to make the Studio happy to gross money on his fame alone. None of that. I believe he has delivered one of the best movie in the last ten years. I can understand some critics that say he could have gone further into the "delirium" of the story; or others who believe he went too far to be watchable. But if you keep an open mind, appreciate the actors play (All the cast is really good), and give credit to Nolan's details of the script, you will enjoy that movie a lot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DominicCJul 22, 2010
Fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyB.Jul 23, 2010
Probably closer to a 9.5. Really great movie. Top notch acting, enthralling story, and an open ending that leaves the viewer quite unsure of what they just watched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
connorCJul 23, 2010
I absolutely can not stop thinking about this movie. Just as there is multiple layers in the dreams there is multiple meanings that can be taken from it. Really makes you think... amazing stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VladishmJul 23, 2010
One of the most complex movies i've ever seen, more directors should follow in Nolan's footsteps. too bad that as soon as anything comes out, that isn't understood by the masses, suffers poor reviews. you dont understand the One of the most complex movies i've ever seen, more directors should follow in Nolan's footsteps. too bad that as soon as anything comes out, that isn't understood by the masses, suffers poor reviews. you dont understand the movie and its plot, dont rage that it's shit. the problem is in your yard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BruceN.Jul 23, 2010
This movie does slap a challenge in your face from the get-go, starting in medias res - and what a media res your thrown into. You put together what's going on in bits and pieces, when someone shouts info to someone mid chase. But the This movie does slap a challenge in your face from the get-go, starting in medias res - and what a media res your thrown into. You put together what's going on in bits and pieces, when someone shouts info to someone mid chase. But the other problem is that this movie takes place in different worlds which also is a challenge. I was amazed that it did make sense and the plot held together even though it shifted from the Inception to the husband-wife suicide resolution. My only objection is that Nolan could have toned down the imaginary/real shooting which for me became a busyness obstacle that had to be overcome to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LMLJul 23, 2010
Brilliant, exhilarating, monumental!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KoleKJul 23, 2010
This movie is a masterpiece. Confusing at first, but it turns into a smart idea from beginning to end. And the ending is genious, but not spoiling it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RTJul 23, 2010
Fantastic. See it... especially if you're cerebral and like to figure out puzzles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottT.Jul 23, 2010
I'm convinced people who don't like this movie just aren't smart enough to follow it. There are plenty of stretches that are made that make it work, but so does every movie that takes you for a ride. But I go to the theater to I'm convinced people who don't like this movie just aren't smart enough to follow it. There are plenty of stretches that are made that make it work, but so does every movie that takes you for a ride. But I go to the theater to be entertained and Inception is exactly that: pure entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidHJul 23, 2010
The challenge in seeing a movie with such great hype and expectations is that the bar just may be set too high. That's the case, to some degree, with my reaction to Inception. The first third is setup, sometimes too talky and dry. The The challenge in seeing a movie with such great hype and expectations is that the bar just may be set too high. That's the case, to some degree, with my reaction to Inception. The first third is setup, sometimes too talky and dry. The suspension of disbelief on this one?--too much. The premise is such a stretch. Plus, when the movie picks up steam on the back end, it has a familiar, high tech chase movie feel. (By the way, there are so many missed gun shots -- how could the aim be that off from so many bad guys, but the good guys are on the money?! Distracting and cheap.) On balance, it's a kick to see some of the special effects. The actors are solid. Very watchable. And the troubled lead role, ably played by D'Caprio adds depth, along with the layered, clever story. The ending is perfectly structured--love the thinking behind that approach. It's a big screen movie that deserves that scale of viewing. Far better than the average no-brain-required action flick. But, far from groundbreaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenRJul 23, 2010
You need to watch this movie 3 times to see how brilliant it is. This is one of the best movies of all time. The haters are just dumb people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
L.JTJul 23, 2010
A movie to pay attention to, literally, or you might miss something! "Mal" is French for illness, and is also the name of Dom's wife - was she even real, or just an illness in Dom's psyche??
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LizetteCJul 24, 2010
I went to see this movie because my husband was told so many great things about it and the previews looked really good.. It was a good movie but thats about it.. it was not great!!! I would have waited to see it when it came out on DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewMJul 24, 2010
Despite my best efforts, this movie thoroughly floored me. It's the best combination of action, intelligence, and intrigue I've seen since Blade Runner. Fantastic concept, brilliantly acted. There are some small nitpicks with the Despite my best efforts, this movie thoroughly floored me. It's the best combination of action, intelligence, and intrigue I've seen since Blade Runner. Fantastic concept, brilliantly acted. There are some small nitpicks with the plot, but this is still, easily, my favorite movie this year - and frankly one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnthonyT.Jul 24, 2010
Nolan's been holding onto this story for over fifteen years, editing & analyzing it over the entire time to make it just that bit better. Of course, being a film of Nolan's it was always going to be above adequate, but he's Nolan's been holding onto this story for over fifteen years, editing & analyzing it over the entire time to make it just that bit better. Of course, being a film of Nolan's it was always going to be above adequate, but he's really blown everything else on at the moment out of the water. Excellent acting, excellent story, excellent directing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanKJul 24, 2010
Best Movie Ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeeganB.Jul 24, 2010
Every time Nolan seems to be steering Inception off the path of solid narrative into an aesthetic world of fantasy and special effects, the plot always takes a twist that throws everything back into perfect rationality. An instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisKJul 24, 2010
Incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerE.Jul 25, 2010
Best movie ever, it really makes you think about your dreams and reality
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnPJul 25, 2010
It is a better film than its contemporaries, but is honestly not as good as it has been made out to be. An incredible portion of the film is just superfluous action, and halfway through the movie I began to become bored, as it is quite long It is a better film than its contemporaries, but is honestly not as good as it has been made out to be. An incredible portion of the film is just superfluous action, and halfway through the movie I began to become bored, as it is quite long overall. As well, a few things within the film are repeated so often they become trite and banal, like the stock-audio cacophony used for stereotypical childrens' laughter, and for me only detracted from the film, which was good but not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WesleyR.Jul 25, 2010
Excellent movie. I scroll down the list of comments, and I see strings of 10's, the occasional 6, and some 0's. The 10's all came from people who fully understood this complicated movie (although if you think a little bit, you Excellent movie. I scroll down the list of comments, and I see strings of 10's, the occasional 6, and some 0's. The 10's all came from people who fully understood this complicated movie (although if you think a little bit, you can understand it), the 6's were from people who enjoyed it, but did not fully understand it, and the 0's- well, have no clue. I give this a 9 because of the visual effects, captivating storyline, excellent concept and the constant traps and situations that made us begging for more. The positives FAR outweigh the negatives- there are a few though: the complexity (which is great to me and many others, but those who cannot understand will give this a 0, so this is both a positive and a negative), the length (just a bit long, but very tolerable), and the lack of background in some parts (Dom and Moll's relationship, for one). Still, very good movie, completely disagree with the 0's, and honestly, no movie is a true "10", in my book, as all movies have pitfalls somewhere. In the end, Nolan is awesome and I can't blame you guys for giving 10's, i am too still shocked. This movie does not deserve an 8.3 rating, and one last thing-- Who agrees with me? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
brentyJul 25, 2010
To will w, really, u gota watch preditor again, that just shows that it doesnt make sense to u, cause ur stupid. im not the smartest person in the world either, however i realize that sometimes there are stories that make no sense cause of To will w, really, u gota watch preditor again, that just shows that it doesnt make sense to u, cause ur stupid. im not the smartest person in the world either, however i realize that sometimes there are stories that make no sense cause of bad writing, and then the make no sense cause i (or u in this case) simply dont understand it. as far as the movie itself goes, i personally liked the dark knight better, however i believe that this movie was great. i was lost for a bit, but if u pay attention through the whole film, itll be worth it. good movie, but some people might have to watch it twice if they dont pay attention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeHJul 25, 2010
This is not your lazy popcorn movie. It requires your full attention and memory banks to keep track of all the things going on with the flashes from "reality" to dream(s). In short, it makes the first "Matrix" movie seem like a childrens This is not your lazy popcorn movie. It requires your full attention and memory banks to keep track of all the things going on with the flashes from "reality" to dream(s). In short, it makes the first "Matrix" movie seem like a childrens story. This flim should get the acadamy nod for best editing since to keep this all together, including the time distorsions from dream level to dream level, and not letting the required 'talkiness' of the characters run it into the ground, is a masterful. This is one to see twice, three times... or in your dreams. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnBoyJul 25, 2010
Awesome movie. Probably one of the best movies I've seen in 10 years. Sterling work on every level. I will go see this again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful