User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 3238 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VinceS
    Jul 19, 2010
    6
    This movie was really disappointing to me. Nolan, director of Batman Begins, Dark Knight, Memento, and The Prestige (all of which are incredible movies) really fell short here. This is nothing to say of the potential, I will credit him for his ambition with this movie, but it just did not deliver. The whole idea of using dreams seems weird here, because these aren't dreams that This movie was really disappointing to me. Nolan, director of Batman Begins, Dark Knight, Memento, and The Prestige (all of which are incredible movies) really fell short here. This is nothing to say of the potential, I will credit him for his ambition with this movie, but it just did not deliver. The whole idea of using dreams seems weird here, because these aren't dreams that anyone can have, but very stratified and well-defined dreams. You, for instance, cannot do impossible feats in a dream, though sometimes we can do them in our real dreams. In Nolan's dreamscape you also remember everything that happened in a dream when you wake up, which rarely happens in real life. Nolan allowed impossible architecture, which is weird given the lack of impossible feats, but uses it in a grand total of one scene of the action. Huge disappointment. There is also little mention or description of how this dream-sharing mechanism works. How the hell do Leo and Ellen get in OTHER people's dreams by simply sedating them? The dialogue for all of Nolan's other movies was written by his brother, and it really shows. Nolan hurriedly tries to stuff a paragraph worth of dialogue into a sentence or two and it ends up sounding unnatural. This is particularly blatant in the case of Ellen Paige's character, Ariodne. The whole point of her job is to design difficult mazes. This task would presumably require an uncommonly sharp intellect. However, Ariodne's character was either written or (more likely) portrayed like an art history major. When someone says "smart" the first thing that pops into your head is probably a mathematician or physicist, NOT an art history major. Not saying art majors are stupid, but they're not exactly known for their intellect. Overusing unnatural vocabulary and mannerisms show Paige's obvious discomfort and conscious attempt to sound smarter than she really is. This is painful and just plain embarrassing to watch. Overall this movie is just untapped potential. It could have been so much more, but fell short. I think that a sequel could iron out all these issues and provide a compelling narrative set in this world, but this is a poor offerring. Expand
  2. alano
    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    Usually movies don't make me think, but this being the most original film in a summer full of sequels, remakes and blockbusters, Christopher "The Dark Knight" Nolan is at the helm of film making. Nolan certainly deserves Oscar attention very soon.
  3. LouisD
    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    This movie is a true brain teaser. a great movie for the non ADD fakers. if you can't comprehend it then let it be, but stop bashing it. i would love to see the kind of crap, those who are bashing it, can come up with. if you have made a movie that has captivated an audience and actually made it memorable fine!! if not the keep you mouth shut and keep on stepping.
  4. ArvinM.
    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    Amazing!
  5. BrendanF
    Jul 19, 2010
    9
    Just observe the grammer used by all the people hating this movie, read how most of them don't know what's going on because they are too retarded to actually think in a movie. Don't listen too these idiots, this movie is a marvel to watch. A little slow in the middle imo, so I will have to give it a 9. Other than that, perfection.
  6. GregE.
    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    A movie that stays with you when you leave the theatre, a smart creative movie. A+ from beginning to end,. Effects are amazing ans seamless. they do not take you out of the movie. only enhance the experience.
  7. MusaM
    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    This is the best movie this year period!! From the concept, to the acting, sound/visual efx, production are all top notch. Christopher Nolan deserves an award and even a Nobel prize for this . To all those saying the movie was incomprehensible, crap e.t.c.. please go and watch so dumb ass movie because it's pretty obvious YOUR brains cant muster enough power to know what went on in This is the best movie this year period!! From the concept, to the acting, sound/visual efx, production are all top notch. Christopher Nolan deserves an award and even a Nobel prize for this . To all those saying the movie was incomprehensible, crap e.t.c.. please go and watch so dumb ass movie because it's pretty obvious YOUR brains cant muster enough power to know what went on in the movie. Expand
  8. AdM
    Jul 21, 2010
    6
    Inception has to be one of the most hyped films of this year. I do not blame it (have you SEEN the rubbish that
  9. DanC
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    This is a thinking persons movie. It's complex, it will blow your mind, and make you question what is real.
  10. PhillipV
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    As far as I'm concerned this movie easily sits in the top ten movies of ALL TIME. Put frankly this has dine so many original things that it is now worthy of that title.
  11. ToddK
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    Alot of people who dont love it are probably to stupid to be able to actually think about what this movie is doing, it all makes sense, but you have to see it multiple times to fully understand what nolan is thinking, and once you decide to stop hating on nerds and games, and geek culture, then you might stop being so biased as to give it a fair reveiw score, critics.
  12. XueLingLim
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    Film Perfection.
  13. WhoCares
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    This movie was a true masterpiece. Well acted and well written and directed. Should set a standard for future Hollywood movie installments.
  14. BobR
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    One of the most amazing movies I have ever watched. Christopher Nolan is the director of our generation and further proves it with this masterpiece. Some critics say that this movie has no heart but i strongly disagree. Heart is what drives the movie forward and adds conflict to an already strong story. The special effects are incredible and contribute to the most amazing fight scene One of the most amazing movies I have ever watched. Christopher Nolan is the director of our generation and further proves it with this masterpiece. Some critics say that this movie has no heart but i strongly disagree. Heart is what drives the movie forward and adds conflict to an already strong story. The special effects are incredible and contribute to the most amazing fight scene I've ever watched, each actor is spot on, and the story is clever and keeps you thinking about it long after the credits roll. I've seen it 3 times already and do not plan on slowing down. A tip of the hat to Christopher Nolan. He has somehow trumped The Dark Knight with yet another movie that will go down in the record books for years to come. Expand
  15. AaronB.
    Jul 21, 2010
    10
    A mind-bending thriller unlike anything you've ever seen. Inception is an intelligent, reality-altering work of genius that is meant to be seen over and over again -- preferably in theaters!
  16. john
    Jul 22, 2010
    10
    It's the best movie i've ever seen.
  17. jesss
    Jul 22, 2010
    10
    I have never seen a movie this original, the plot is so complex yet the concept is easy to understand, at first i didn't completely understand what was going on but the story unraveled itself and when i thought i finally got the film the end came in and confused the hell out of me, but the end was good because it gave a new outlook on the film which i definately think is up there I have never seen a movie this original, the plot is so complex yet the concept is easy to understand, at first i didn't completely understand what was going on but the story unraveled itself and when i thought i finally got the film the end came in and confused the hell out of me, but the end was good because it gave a new outlook on the film which i definately think is up there with all the other excellent decaprio films. a must watch for a experience you won't forget in a hurry. Expand
  18. SteveB
    Jul 22, 2010
    10
    How is this not higher. This is leagues beyond Avatar's quality. So spectacular.
  19. JSet
    Jul 22, 2010
    6
    Compared to Avatar, this film overtops it. However, some films continously get good reviews despite the overlying errors within. If you fully understood this film, you are out of your freaking mind. Check yourself into the nearest mental hospital while you're at it. Christopher Nolan had this insane idea with, ironically, is not the most creative. No where near the Dark Knight. That Compared to Avatar, this film overtops it. However, some films continously get good reviews despite the overlying errors within. If you fully understood this film, you are out of your freaking mind. Check yourself into the nearest mental hospital while you're at it. Christopher Nolan had this insane idea with, ironically, is not the most creative. No where near the Dark Knight. That movie had excellent symbolism, story, and character development. This just had an interesting concept. I guess that's just about it with this film. The beginning was confusing, but the rest of the film kinda made sense. Expand
  20. KeatonJ.
    Jul 22, 2010
    10
    Going into a movie with this much hype is scary. I think that fact needs no explanation, but when a hyped up movie surpasses all the hoopla and leaves you in a complete trance, you know it's something remarkable. After The Dark Knight, I thought there was no way Nolan could do it again, but I was very wrong. This movie twists your brain, but there is never a time where I felt it was Going into a movie with this much hype is scary. I think that fact needs no explanation, but when a hyped up movie surpasses all the hoopla and leaves you in a complete trance, you know it's something remarkable. After The Dark Knight, I thought there was no way Nolan could do it again, but I was very wrong. This movie twists your brain, but there is never a time where I felt it was disjointed or lost its way. The whole idea behind the movie may be unrealistic, but it is so well written and played out that it feels real. Another plus is that through all the info the movie feeds at you, it still keeps some incredible action. The fight scene in the rotating hallway is brilliantly shot. The acting, directing, writing, and score are terrific. The last notes of the movie give me the shivers. This is cinema firing on all cylinders, and I'm so happy that we were given this breath of fresh air. Those who disgrace this movie need to learn to open their minds to the impossible. Inception is, in one word, phenomenal. Expand
  21. JasonTheCritic
    Jul 22, 2010
    9
    Here we have an original movie that's just short of amazing, it gets most everything right. I was completely immersed and interested in the story. It's refreshing to see special effects again that actually take your breath away. The very talented ensemble cast and thrilling music must be noted. In fact, the only minor problem I had was that I was often reminded of Here we have an original movie that's just short of amazing, it gets most everything right. I was completely immersed and interested in the story. It's refreshing to see special effects again that actually take your breath away. The very talented ensemble cast and thrilling music must be noted. In fact, the only minor problem I had was that I was often reminded of DiCaprio's last film, where he's also troubled with reality and has wife issues along with two children (which is in no way the films fault). Inception is definitely one of the best films of the year; it'll keep you thinking until the very last second. Grade: A If you enjoyed this review, please read my other short reviews at www.jasonthecritic.com - Thank you! Expand
  22. SamG
    Jul 22, 2010
    9
    Avatar got a 84 and Inception hits 74?????? Something is seriously wrong with movie critics understanding of what makes an enjoyable flick. I found the movie almost scary...Nolan and the actors had me feeling as if I were about to be trapped in my own dream, not wanting them to go deep because of what might happen. Great flick!
  23. RyanT
    Jul 23, 2010
    8
    Overall the movie was a sucess, especially given the state of Hollywood these days. It's very hard to find a movie that is as original, bold and intellectually stimulating as Inception. Yes, it did have its faults, but what movie doesn't. If you are looking for a movie that delivers action, emtion and a thought provoking plot, Inception is your ticket. Breaking down the Overall the movie was a sucess, especially given the state of Hollywood these days. It's very hard to find a movie that is as original, bold and intellectually stimulating as Inception. Yes, it did have its faults, but what movie doesn't. If you are looking for a movie that delivers action, emtion and a thought provoking plot, Inception is your ticket. Breaking down the elements: Plot - complex but traceable. You will not lose your mind, but it does make you question your own preception of the subconscious. B+ Acting/Characters - acting was ok to good, but the cast line up might have been too "Hollywood". No-name actors might have provided viewers a better chance to connect to the characters. C+ Theme - multiple, intertwinded themes that are overall good but a little convoluted. B- Setting - great CGI effects that adhere well to the plot of the story and its elements. Each new setting provided emition that was spot on to the feel of scene. A Audio - the music ran well with the plot line, but it was overall flat and not diverse enough to catch every potential out of each scene. B- Overall Grade: B+ (not averaged). Expand
  24. DanielS
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    Fantastic movie. A bit confusing at first, but overall amazing.
  25. KatherineH.
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    By far the best movie I've seen in years.
  26. JevonW.
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    An absolute blast of a film. Christopher Nolan has done it again with this epic masterpiece! Metacritic, you need to put up more of the positive reviews that Rottentomatoes has. There are at least 10 tip critic reviews that you are missing out on! This movie deserves a much higher score than 74!!!
  27. NickW.
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    That was the most confusing movie ever but the best movie ever. It didnt make any sence until the end and I still cant figure out some of it. All I can say is Christopher Nolan (the writer and director) is A genius.
  28. TabUno
    Jul 23, 2010
    9
    An amazing and significant breatthrough in the sci fi dream genre, finally capturing in a dazzling display of both visual and solid plot that illuminates the wonderful and haunting nature of dreams.
  29. MarkN.
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    Wow. One of the most original movies I have seen in a long time. Awesome.
  30. DougL
    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    Wow! Nolan has made another masterpiece.
  31. EdwinP.
    Jul 24, 2010
    10
    Metacritic scored this as a 74, but gave Avatar an 84. There is something clearly wrong with their system.
  32. CraigO
    Jul 24, 2010
    10
    Inception has you leaving the theater with so many ideas and interpretations. in my opinion, if you find yourself wanting, or needing to see a movie for a second time in order to test your theories, that filmaker has done their job. Great movie, one of my all-time favorites.
  33. SteveG
    Jul 24, 2010
    7
    Interesting science fiction movie that kind of devolves into an action movie. The movie requires a certain amount of attention and concentration, as it becomes a little convoluted. Much like Nolan's earlier work Memento, there are more than a few times when you are challenged to understand what is really happening and in which demension, and that challenge is kind of fun. There are a Interesting science fiction movie that kind of devolves into an action movie. The movie requires a certain amount of attention and concentration, as it becomes a little convoluted. Much like Nolan's earlier work Memento, there are more than a few times when you are challenged to understand what is really happening and in which demension, and that challenge is kind of fun. There are a few wonderful visuals, most of which are early in the film, when we are being introduced to the conceptual framework of the cinematic universe, It is a entertaining, interesting movie, though it probably could have been so much more had the second half not become such a formulaic action movie. Expand
  34. ChrisC
    Jul 24, 2010
    10
    One hell of an intellectual acid trip from start to finish. With the close-minded nature of many publications and audiences, it's no surprise they're absolutely baffled and inclined to bash it for not tailoring to them, the crowd who has been absorbing less-than-wholesome comedies and action movies for the last year (including the rather shallow, if fabulously striking, Avatar). One hell of an intellectual acid trip from start to finish. With the close-minded nature of many publications and audiences, it's no surprise they're absolutely baffled and inclined to bash it for not tailoring to them, the crowd who has been absorbing less-than-wholesome comedies and action movies for the last year (including the rather shallow, if fabulously striking, Avatar). Brains triumph over brawn when your eyes hit the screen, but the movie definitely does flex some muscle, with over-the-top, balls-to-the-walls set pieces that will leave you reeling. If you're going to watch Inception, remember to enter the theater with an open mind. Be ready to absorb a lot of plot points and track multiple parallel "realities." If you ready that other 90% of your brain for use, you will appreciate just what Nolan has achieved with this movie. First entertainment production in AGES that has blown my mind on principle instead of flash. Expand
  35. rachel
    Jul 24, 2010
    9
    Fantastic. haven't seen anything matrix worthy in a while.
  36. BeeM.
    Jul 24, 2010
    10
    Awesome!
  37. KevinD
    Jul 24, 2010
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen! More like this Hollywood, please.
  38. TaylorH.
    Jul 25, 2010
    10
    This movie was absolute genius. The depth of the story was amazing . I love the idea of dreams with in dreams IN dreams. After spending more time when the movie was over to think about everything that happened it only gets better. It is definitely one of the greatest movies Ive ever seen.
  39. kate
    Jul 25, 2010
    6
    Another over hyped chris nolan film. it's beautifully shot & all the actors hit there marks but there's no thought provoking genius in the script. this is no 'the matrix'. more 'vanilla sky'.
  40. JayP
    Jul 25, 2010
    10
    Second time watching this, 1st time the only problems I had with it was the pacing towards the end and some bits I didn't understand. Now it's perfect.
  41. ConnieD
    Jul 25, 2010
    6
    This movie was impossible to follow! It was hard to tell what was real and what was dreams and who was alive and who was dead. The low point was an extended "polar scene" where everyone was dressed in heavy padded white winter wear including snow goggles and there were snow plows and skis, but nobody's breath turned white! Without a doubt, the bad guys in this movie were the worst This movie was impossible to follow! It was hard to tell what was real and what was dreams and who was alive and who was dead. The low point was an extended "polar scene" where everyone was dressed in heavy padded white winter wear including snow goggles and there were snow plows and skis, but nobody's breath turned white! Without a doubt, the bad guys in this movie were the worst shots in movie history! Over and over again, the white van was bombarded with tons of bullets, but only one of the passengers was hit (a flesh wound from which he recovered). The bad guys in the snow scene were even poorer shots! Very good special effects, but overall not worth the price of the ticket. Expand
  42. karlag
    Jul 25, 2010
    10
    This is one if not the best movie i have ever seen. i see some people have rated it 0 because it was way too complicated in which case i have to disagree completely this is one of the beauties of the movie; that is in fact plain simple nowadays i dont know why people have to come to idea that if something is explained with complicated words or just making far too hard to understand means This is one if not the best movie i have ever seen. i see some people have rated it 0 because it was way too complicated in which case i have to disagree completely this is one of the beauties of the movie; that is in fact plain simple nowadays i dont know why people have to come to idea that if something is explained with complicated words or just making far too hard to understand means that is brilliant ( matrix reloaded is my best example especifically the scene with the architect the use of extended words to describe something that couldve been explained in simpler lines would have saved me 2 more trips to cinema to finally understand it not that i dont like it brilliant movie aswell) inception relies in the simplicity of feelings, a rocky relationship between a father and a son and the love between leo dicaprio to his sons and to life itself, it teaches us how positive feeling will always overcome the negatives, how people always overate feelings when in fact every important decision that will mark us forever are the decisions based in these. awesome movie Expand
  43. KasraK.
    Jul 26, 2010
    10
    Some of these naysayer reviews are ridiculous. Hello good friends, this is a work of fiction. If your mind doesn't have the capacity for imagination and creativity, this probably isn't the movie for you. The history channel would probably be a better use of your time. This movie is the best movie to hit the theaters in a LONG time. I was blown away, and half of the people I saw Some of these naysayer reviews are ridiculous. Hello good friends, this is a work of fiction. If your mind doesn't have the capacity for imagination and creativity, this probably isn't the movie for you. The history channel would probably be a better use of your time. This movie is the best movie to hit the theaters in a LONG time. I was blown away, and half of the people I saw it with were watching it for the 2nd and 3rd time. Christopher Nolan films the movie brilliantly, and the actors in this were superb. Leo with an outstanding performance as usual. His characters make his movies so engaging. The only problem I had with one of the actors was the asian guy. I don't mean to be racist, but I couldn't understand what he was saying half the time. Maybe I'm deaf. Anyways I can't really explain how epic this movie is. It's pretty much extremely far-fetched plot wise so don't go expecting a believable movie like memento. Outstanding visuals, audio, actors, storytelling, it's all here. Go see it, you won't be disappointed (unless you're an engineering grad from an Ivy league school, I guess). Expand
  44. SamaliaS.
    Jul 26, 2010
    10
    Christopher Nolan is Brilliant. Period.
  45. ShaneC
    Jul 26, 2010
    9
    Really trippy film, full of action, spectacular special effects, great storyline, great twists and a intense ending, massive build up then delivers. Over all it's different than anything else out there so if you want a change from the usual holywood blockbuster go see this it'll leave you thinking.
  46. ThomasM
    Jul 26, 2010
    9
    Firstly to Will W, it's palate and well done for misusing the word "logic". Despite it's minor lack of continuity it was a very good, well written film. Anyone who just spouts crap about minor inconsistancies without talking about the good aspects of Inception is bias, don't even give those idiots the time of day let alone your attention.
  47. r.a.
    Jul 26, 2010
    10
    Amazing, great, and suspenseful movie that's impossible to predict what happens next, but kinda hard to follow everything that is going on.
  48. Dlost
    Jul 26, 2010
    10
    Fantastic movie, one that you'll want to watch twice. If you're on the bubble as to whether to see it or not, *do it*, you won't regret it.
  49. DillonS.
    Jul 26, 2010
    10
    I need to watch it a third time. I still do not know who he is! (You'll know what I'm talking about when you see it. Yeah, I said when. You MUST see this unique movie.)
  50. lancek
    Jul 27, 2010
    6
    The clever and well-designed details of the beginning quickly fade into a bunch of chase scenes of the most militaristic sort. Sadly, there isn't enough surreality to match the premise that all of this goes on in dreaming minds. It's like a Bond movie adding in some dreamy ideas.
  51. SusanS
    Jul 27, 2010
    7
    Highly enjoyable summer film, but ultimately not terribly imaginative or emotionally captivating to me. On the one hand, I love the "form and function" filmmaking skills of Nolan--he uses the editing of the film as much as the plot to tell the story, which is great. On the other hand, I could never really invest myself in any character, as I wasn't really given a reason to. Highly enjoyable summer film, but ultimately not terribly imaginative or emotionally captivating to me. On the one hand, I love the "form and function" filmmaking skills of Nolan--he uses the editing of the film as much as the plot to tell the story, which is great. On the other hand, I could never really invest myself in any character, as I wasn't really given a reason to. Ultimately, I didn't care what happened to Tom Cobb, and the characters I did care more about weren't at all the focus of the narrative, although they were masqueraded to be. So, blah blah blah, it's a summer movie, I know, but I'm going to buy into that, then I will say outright that Terry Gilliam's Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus was the recent film that most captivated me emotionally and imaginatively, and that Inception is a great summer blockbuster, but not worthy of the "best of the year" title. Expand
  52. UmarB
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    It is excellent, at times the layers of depth can drive you insane, but that only makes you appreciate the care that went into all of the details that made Inception's story engrossing and emotional, the film is always one step ahead and all the better for it. You undoubtedly will be very confused in the beginning, but like the Matrix, there is a tutorial scene when The Architect (as It is excellent, at times the layers of depth can drive you insane, but that only makes you appreciate the care that went into all of the details that made Inception's story engrossing and emotional, the film is always one step ahead and all the better for it. You undoubtedly will be very confused in the beginning, but like the Matrix, there is a tutorial scene when The Architect (as she's called in the ads) joins the group of Extractors (mega-dreamers). Expand
  53. Sausage
    Jul 27, 2010
    5
    Okay...I get it!! This movie is the most hyped piece of celluloid since last months flavour!! But does that make it good?...No!!! I hate to break it to all u lovers of everything 'new', but this story is old hat! Through the twilight zone years, shutter island and every other 'am I dreaming' movie this has been done, its just more complex and full of its own Okay...I get it!! This movie is the most hyped piece of celluloid since last months flavour!! But does that make it good?...No!!! I hate to break it to all u lovers of everything 'new', but this story is old hat! Through the twilight zone years, shutter island and every other 'am I dreaming' movie this has been done, its just more complex and full of its own 'amazingness'!!! Dont get me wrong, this movie was clever in its own way, it had pretty good special effects and the fact that Nolan could hold this jenga tower together is a testiment to his ability. However what didnt work for me, was it tried to be way to clever for its own good, the music was copied and pasted from shutter island etc etc, but the worst above all was that the underlying current through the entire movie...was greed!! Everything that was done, was for ones self gain, Think about it.... When the dust settles down I hope everyone realises that it was not the fact that this movie was so great and life bending, but that it was the first blockbuster in a long time that made us think...obviously some more than others...and for that Im giving it its marks!! Expand
  54. SteveP
    Jul 29, 2010
    8
    Leo DiCaprio's character is in charge, but things are not as they seem. The story is not really about what it claims to be about. *Spoiler* It's about Dicaprio's character and his feelings of guilt regarding his dead wife, whose death he caused. Wait, am I writing about Inception or Shutter Island? In all that I've read about Inception, I can't believe I Leo DiCaprio's character is in charge, but things are not as they seem. The story is not really about what it claims to be about. *Spoiler* It's about Dicaprio's character and his feelings of guilt regarding his dead wife, whose death he caused. Wait, am I writing about Inception or Shutter Island? In all that I've read about Inception, I can't believe I haven't seen any one mention that similarity between the two. I think Shutter Island was the better movie, more ominous. Maybe Scorsese is still a better director than Nolan? I love Memento and think highly of the rest of Nolan's work. I wanted to love Inception, but couldn't. It didn't move me. I cry a lot at movies...a lot! But not at the end of this one. I didn't care if he ever saw his children's faces. And then there is the mystery of the spinning top...does it fall or keep spinning...is he in reality or still in dreamland? Even here Shutter Island prevails with a similar question...is he back in his delusions or is he pretending because he wants the lobotomy to end his pain? Inception was not the movie I hoped it would be, but at least it gave me a greater appreciation for Shutter Island and makes me want to see Memento again! Expand
  55. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    Ignore the time travel issues. The tension and drama here are great, all while keeping the bigger puzzle in the frame as well. I miss movies with this level of excitement.
  56. Aug 23, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the film but at the end of the day a dream sequence is a dream sequence and I detest dream sequences. Otherwise a really good film but still it can't completely redeem itself Expand
  57. Nov 19, 2010
    7
    Nolan provides another lengthy look at his expertise yet again with Inception, two ingenious hours well built with substantial writing and solid performances, despite its innovative yet awfully bewildering premise.
  58. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    There is no arguing the grandiose nature of Inception, in its presentation, its ambition and its cinematic soul. The latest product of master craftsman Christopher Nolan, this Leo DiCaprio-starring heist thriller looks to go further down the rabbit hole than any film that's come before it... and then to press on even further. A kaleidoscopic tale of dreamscapes and nightmares, InceptionThere is no arguing the grandiose nature of Inception, in its presentation, its ambition and its cinematic soul. The latest product of master craftsman Christopher Nolan, this Leo DiCaprio-starring heist thriller looks to go further down the rabbit hole than any film that's come before it... and then to press on even further. A kaleidoscopic tale of dreamscapes and nightmares, Inception sucks you in with its familiarity - luring you into the umpteenth film about dreams and mind exploration - then carries you away into uncharted realms of fantasy and science, smacking you in the face with rules and understandings with a casual banality, only in the very next moment to smack you again and tell you all that was only half true. Indeed, watching Inception is very much akin to dreaming itself, with all the wonders of introspection, complication and sloppiness with which dreams may come. More: http://cinewise.blogspot.com/2010/07/inception-2010.html Expand
  59. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    Firstly, The MetaScore SHOULD be 78 after I have Calculated the average 5 times and getting the same results.

    Another phenomenal film by the great Christopher Nolan! It is VERY original for the film industry and it is just thrilling and unpredictable all the way This film deserves SEVERAL Academy Award nominations and Nolan deserves to FINALLY winning one after not winning on for Memento
    Firstly, The MetaScore SHOULD be 78 after I have Calculated the average 5 times and getting the same results.

    Another phenomenal film by the great Christopher Nolan! It is VERY original for the film industry and it is just thrilling and unpredictable all the way

    This film deserves SEVERAL Academy Award nominations and Nolan deserves to FINALLY winning one after not winning on for Memento and not even being nominated for The Dark Knight (this had really disappointed me that year). This is probably one of the best films of the decade!
    Expand
  60. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Man gets secrets & ideas by entering people's dreams, on the run, given chance to be free if he does one last job, agrees, not everything so straight forward.

    Brilliant film in pretty much every aspect with a superb cast (Tom Hardy & Joseph Gordon-Levitt were the standouts for me), great script, fantastic action sequences & some great music to back it up. It has a real potential for
    Man gets secrets & ideas by entering people's dreams, on the run, given chance to be free if he does one last job, agrees, not everything so straight forward.

    Brilliant film in pretty much every aspect with a superb cast (Tom Hardy & Joseph Gordon-Levitt were the standouts for me), great script, fantastic action sequences & some great music to back it up.

    It has a real potential for getting messy & confusing but never thought it got too muddled despite all the dream shenanigans going on.
    Expand
  61. May 29, 2011
    7
    awesome movie. a mind blowing script. and the screenplay of course, taking into the dream world. seeing curvy buildings, zero gravity etc. nolan"s dream world has been narrated well. the direction and lead casts performances are picture perfect. cinematography and visual effects are the stunning parts of the movie. the effects like water gushing , bridge setups and mirror mazes. someawesome movie. a mind blowing script. and the screenplay of course, taking into the dream world. seeing curvy buildings, zero gravity etc. nolan"s dream world has been narrated well. the direction and lead casts performances are picture perfect. cinematography and visual effects are the stunning parts of the movie. the effects like water gushing , bridge setups and mirror mazes. some effects like the limbo state where dreams are constructed and buildings look exactly like a dream land. this is awesome. art work is terrific here. action scenes are novel and unique. the excitement never goes down. the climax is interesting. watch it now!! Expand
  62. Aug 31, 2010
    10
    It's a typical movie of Chris Nolan. All of his movies really get you to think and its no different with Inception. Its a very well thought out movie and one of the best of the year. Theres no reason for not seeing this movie.
  63. Mar 26, 2011
    5
    I'm tired of hearing that this movie will win Best Movie(which it didn't, The Social Network should of), so I went to go see it and I had high hopes for it. I love all of Christopher Nolan's work but I have to say...I was disappointed. They(other people) say that if you don't understand it, you won't like it. I understood but I still didn't like it. The soundtrack was great though, butI'm tired of hearing that this movie will win Best Movie(which it didn't, The Social Network should of), so I went to go see it and I had high hopes for it. I love all of Christopher Nolan's work but I have to say...I was disappointed. They(other people) say that if you don't understand it, you won't like it. I understood but I still didn't like it. The soundtrack was great though, but Hans Zimmer always delivers great songs. Leonardo DiCaprio's performance wasn't different. I've seen it before in other movies. I thought the premise and idea of Inception was great but the movie didn't satisfy me. I thought it was predictable at some points. I was also glad it wasn't 3-D. The effects and cinematography were great too. I didn't think the romance worked though. But I did like the ending. It puzzles you, but it's actually reality because Leonardo DiCaprio's character's dad is never in the dream. He always leaves him out but has trouble keeping Mal out. When his dad is there, it's reality. But just ending the movie with just that thing spinning is genius. But overall, I was excited to see it but I was disappointed. Expand
  64. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Inception slips into the filing cabinet of 'films that get you thinking' and if there had to be a sub category it would be 'unique' or 'moving'. Forget all the claims that it's complex and needs more than your average amount of attention, because the narrative is easy to grasp, it's the dreams within a dream that will get you fidgeting a little in your seat to keep up. I have never seen nor am aware of a film that explores this theme of dreams, I mean you have films with flashbacks occurring at the same time as the current narrative, but this is different. It echoes the importance and dangers of memories, and allows you to appreciate just how simple the structure of our world is.

    The dark side of this film is once again influenced by the directing of Christopher Nolan, who made Gotham City appear a softer version of hell in The Dark Knight. There are plenty of gun fights, fist fights, and stabbings in Inception, and I certainly admire any film that has a deeper layer that it manages to hide from it's viewers throughout the release of it's trailers. You could try and predict what happens in this film, but I highly doubt you would get more than fifty percent. You may become fearful at how much information you have to take in just in the first couple of scenes, but the story is unravelled slowly, difficult terms described and you will become hooked on knowing Dom Cobb's (Leonardo DiCaprio) big secret.

    The architectural genius behind the dreams is Ariadne, played by Ellen Page who has come a long way since her Juno days. Whilst everything seems so difficult to come to terms with, this character is the one you will probably look to for an explanation, and don't worry, she does enough digging in Cobb's life to give you the answers. But back to architecture, and words can't physically depict how astonishing and realistic the cinematography is. It's as though it could be possible to have the street underneath your feet as your sky at the same time. As a regular student, Ariadne becomes almost addicted to the dream worlds she creates, and without any persuasion becomes a valuable member of the team until the very end.

    Other faces you may recognise are Joseph Gordon-Levitt, who starred as the main character in 500 Days of Summer, a very different role, and Tom Hardy who has starred in Bronson and RocknRolla. Marion Cotillard who plays Cobb's wife Mal may have stunning looks but has a fearsome temper behind those big eyes. As soon as you think you are watching an emotional situation, it is as though your mind has tricked you and it soon becomes violent and psychologically thrilling. The reason I felt grateful for what I have in life will hopefully effect you too by the end of the film as we are dragged through a variety of emotions but swiftly brought back down to rest our feet upon the ground.

    The fighting, explosions and slow motion were all elements I adored because they felt so unique and frustrating. Never have I been in such suspense watching a van fall from a bridge into a river which took about half an hour in real time. The visual technique of this film is more impressive than the 3D experience itself. If it was possible to see this in 3D I would have sat there with a dropped jaw for two hours, but honestly the CGI is remarkable and so finely detailed.

    It was worth the hype, and if you're worried it's too complicated, don't be. When I said I wasn't eager to see it again, I was lying. When's the next showing?!
    Expand
  65. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    The only big-budget Hollywood movie that I've seen that felt like a piece of art. I dare say that Inception feels European at times, and then starts feeling like a mash-up art house action movie. The story demands your brain cells getting into gear and think, something that Hollywood loves to ignore. However, the audience seems to have caught up with the times and they realise they wantThe only big-budget Hollywood movie that I've seen that felt like a piece of art. I dare say that Inception feels European at times, and then starts feeling like a mash-up art house action movie. The story demands your brain cells getting into gear and think, something that Hollywood loves to ignore. However, the audience seems to have caught up with the times and they realise they want more movies that ate just as we'll made as this masterpiece, and not a sequel to robots bashing each other senselessly. Christopher Nolan has brought new ground to Hollywood and has proven that the lowest common denominators are not as dumb as you think.

    Inception is a triumph of cinema, scifi storytelling and just overall realisation of a concept that isn't all that easy to translate on screen. 10/10
    Expand
  66. Aug 31, 2010
    6
    After the Dark Knight I was expecting something as impressive if not more. Alas it's not to be. Not the hugest DiCaprio fan in the world for a start. He seems to play the same character in every film he's in nowadays. My main problem with the film itself is that its just too overly complicated to be truly entertaining. There are some clever ideas such as the dream within a dreamAfter the Dark Knight I was expecting something as impressive if not more. Alas it's not to be. Not the hugest DiCaprio fan in the world for a start. He seems to play the same character in every film he's in nowadays. My main problem with the film itself is that its just too overly complicated to be truly entertaining. There are some clever ideas such as the dream within a dream concept and how this can affect the physics of that dream world. You really have to pay close attention though. The sub plot involving Marion Cotillard's character is more intriguing. Expand
  67. Aug 31, 2010
    8
    I can tell that I was sceptically with the synopsis and direction, but the cast was very interesting and their performance, stunts and script didn't disappointed me. I caught this from the movie: In a dream, you can be the center of your own universe but there are many black holes that can trap you and keep you away from the "reality" to stay and live in your own world without noticing theI can tell that I was sceptically with the synopsis and direction, but the cast was very interesting and their performance, stunts and script didn't disappointed me. I caught this from the movie: In a dream, you can be the center of your own universe but there are many black holes that can trap you and keep you away from the "reality" to stay and live in your own world without noticing the irreality. People who was in comma can support the notion.
    The simple idea of traveling from dream to a deeper dream can be absurd, but many people has "dreamed" themselves "dreaming", which Nolan used to makes us think about the life and the next step after death. I can recommend it.
    Greetings.
    Expand
  68. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    I have to say, one of the best movies I've ever seen (tied with the Lord of the Rings and the Dark Knight, another Christopher Nolan film). You can just look at the title and say: that's a good movie. It'll get high ratings. So far I've been correct: Fred Clause will be panned by critics, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen will be terrible, and Inception will be AWESOME! DirectorI have to say, one of the best movies I've ever seen (tied with the Lord of the Rings and the Dark Knight, another Christopher Nolan film). You can just look at the title and say: that's a good movie. It'll get high ratings. So far I've been correct: Fred Clause will be panned by critics, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen will be terrible, and Inception will be AWESOME! Director Christopher Nolan created a universe that, in some senses may not be original, and then wrote a story involving the characters in the universe. I liked how he developed the universe to have complex laws and rules. I also liked all the psychology behind it, such as Dom Cobb and his deceased wife, Mal. The psychology was so immense, yet it managed to hold our attention until the end. Another great thing about Chris Nolan, he can handle so many characters at once. You should see the posters for Inception and The Dark Knight. There are like ten actors across the top and those aren't even all the main characters. In Inception, Nolan made sure all the main characters were developed and when you finish the film, you can't help but know the characters, especially Dom, Fischer, and Ariadne. Some pretty good action scenes too. I really liked the twist at the end. All I can say now is woohoo! 10 of 10. Expand
  69. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    A beautifully complex movie by modern master filmmaker Christopher Nolan. The performances, editing, music and visual effects are remarkable and surely Oscar worthy. Intelligent, mesmerising and astounding, this a must-see movie experience.
  70. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. www.noisypictures.co.uk

    Expand
  71. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    Inception is simply mind-blowing. For the ones who have a close mind, it would be that way, and by the negatives reviews I can see why. This movie was breathtaking.
  72. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    Yes, the snow sequence goes on too long and is too faux-Bond but the film is tightly plotted and exciting in the extreme. Not to mention the brilliant effects that though show-offy are integral to the story. Seeing this a second time made me appreciate it even more so.
  73. tst
    Sep 4, 2010
    8
    just a fantastick

    film dicaprio has done some great acting ]
    and micheal bay , another great film by him yours sicerly tst

    i
    n
    c
    e
    p
    t
    i
    o
    n
  74. Sep 5, 2010
    8
    Why is it that when a movie is above average, which this one certainly is, people (critics in particular) fall all over themselves to praise it? Why is it that when a movie is hard to explain, and even harder to understand, people immediately think they are brilliant if they sit through it and then leave the theatre thinking..."Whoa...that was some heavy s**t." Trust me. You are stillWhy is it that when a movie is above average, which this one certainly is, people (critics in particular) fall all over themselves to praise it? Why is it that when a movie is hard to explain, and even harder to understand, people immediately think they are brilliant if they sit through it and then leave the theatre thinking..."Whoa...that was some heavy s**t." Trust me. You are still far from ever being a candidate for Mensa if you "love" this movie. I did not "love" it. I did, however, enjoy it and would recommend it for people that want to, as another reviewer wrote here, have a "good mind f**k." You just have to be in the right frame of mind, either naturally or herbally induced. While the movie is overrated, it is also very good, paricularly from a visual/special effects standpoint. The idea of the story is also very intriguing, but totally unbelieveable. I love a good science fiction film as much as the next person, but enjoy them more when they are somewhere within the grasp of reality. This one fell way outside the box for me in that category. I didn't agree with the lead casting. While they are both good actors, Leo (even with facial hair) and Joseph look too young to be the characters they portray here. I know. I know. By now you would think I could accept DiCaprio in more mature roles, but definitely had a hard time with him here. I am a big fan of Chris Nolan, but let's face it, not every movie can be a home run. Despite the word on the street, this one is a double (or triple at best) and that is certainly not a bad thing. It just isn't the "classic" many are making it out to be. BTW, with regards to the ending being real or a dream? I didn't really care and that is the true test for me. The film was too full of gimmicks, exotic locales and "what if" scenarios to keep me interested to that degree. In the end, it is just a movie, albeit a good one...but far from great. Expand
  75. Oct 30, 2014
    8
    Often when I watch a film I’m often taken out if it by major issues I have with the film from characters and story but this isn’t the case. Every problem I have with this film is minor and/or can easily be overlooked. The film has an original concept that leads to some fantastic action scenes and an amazing climax. Leonardo DiCapprio embodies the character he plays to the point when I’mOften when I watch a film I’m often taken out if it by major issues I have with the film from characters and story but this isn’t the case. Every problem I have with this film is minor and/or can easily be overlooked. The film has an original concept that leads to some fantastic action scenes and an amazing climax. Leonardo DiCapprio embodies the character he plays to the point when I’m not thinking to myself that’s Leonardo DiCapprio that’s the Inception character. The score and direction are great. Most of the characters don’t have much too them and the score is a little too much like Dark Knight and is overshadowed by the wakeup music but those are issues that I can easily overlook. It is rare that I can just sitback and enjoy a film without thinking of critiques, the score I’ll give it, etc because Inception has microscopic problems. This film is awesome it blew me away and truly ranks as not just a great film for Nolan to add to his resume but one of the greatest films out there. I loved watching this movie and I can’t wait to see it again. With more and more viewings this could become one of my favorite movies. With Nolan having a film this awesome under his belt I cannot wait for Interstellar because films like this prove how awesome of a filmmaker he is. Then again with Nolan setting the bar so why the question is raised how do you top that. Regardless Inception is amazing brilliant concept, brilliant direction, brilliant acting. See this film if you haven’t already. Expand
  76. Sep 8, 2010
    9
    This is a great movies for fans of classic movies and people who like the modern movies this idea is very orginal but has some insiperations of movies in the past and the action scenes were great! while telling the story in the same time whitch i havnt seen in much movies these days the only thing that holds inception back from a perfect 10 is that i was entering the theather kinda scaredThis is a great movies for fans of classic movies and people who like the modern movies this idea is very orginal but has some insiperations of movies in the past and the action scenes were great! while telling the story in the same time whitch i havnt seen in much movies these days the only thing that holds inception back from a perfect 10 is that i was entering the theather kinda scared that i may not get it but to be honest i got it perfectly but in the beggning i was sorta lost but i got right back to it so my anticipations were differnet but the ending was defintly not predictable i did not see it coming so everyone who is a fan of any kind of geners of movies will love this movie Expand
  77. Sep 10, 2010
    6
    This film was completely monotonous, and far too long. The characters had no depth at all. When you think about what 'plot' means, you would be able to see that the plot of Inception was so plain and thoughtless that it insults every viewer it hands out its complimentary rose shades to. Inception may have amounted to something of substance if it had spent more time thinking about what itThis film was completely monotonous, and far too long. The characters had no depth at all. When you think about what 'plot' means, you would be able to see that the plot of Inception was so plain and thoughtless that it insults every viewer it hands out its complimentary rose shades to. Inception may have amounted to something of substance if it had spent more time thinking about what it was lacking and less time running around in zero gravity squealing 'Yay! Look at what I can do!' Expand
  78. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    Very dynamic, VERY GOOD! Leonardo and Ellen were great. I have nothing else to say so bravo to the people who made this movie and it was very very very very very very very good!
  79. Sep 10, 2010
    8
    Good movie. I found the ending to be a bit cliché, and was easily predictable at least half an hour into the film. I really was hoping for it not to end that way, and felt a bit cheated. Also, as much as it tries to be a movie that make you think about it long after it's over, it doesn't.

    That said, It does an amazing job exploring and fleshing out the subject matter. In that
    Good movie. I found the ending to be a bit cliché, and was easily predictable at least half an hour into the film. I really was hoping for it not to end that way, and felt a bit cheated. Also, as much as it tries to be a movie that make you think about it long after it's over, it doesn't.

    That said, It does an amazing job exploring and fleshing out the subject matter. In that regard, it is truly unique and very much worth seeing.

    If you liked this film, I would also highly recommend seeing Paprika.
    Expand
  80. Sep 12, 2010
    6
    It's started out very well but the rest of the movie is merely set pieces for the actions before returning to the main storyline of a man trying to get home to his children. For a movie dealing with dreams, the logic is too logical after a while and all the wonderful ability in dreams is no longer explored. Like one of the character said, "why not dream bigger?"
  81. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    **** the media **** the haters **** everybody who dont like this movie because this is the most fresh and innovating movie ever. This is a 10 should be an 11 but since most of the populace are ****ing retards then here i got something for ya **** YOU haha
  82. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    There are no words. Perfection. Visually and narratively stunning and heartbreaking, while also ground-breaking and heartwarming. Fascinating on every level.
  83. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    An excellent movie on all levels. Great cast. Great storyline. Great directing. Great score. It was a '10' on all levels.

    I have watched it 3 times already.
  84. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    This film does not need any more reviews, but I wanted a vote. It's awesome, clean, polished, intelligent, exciting, Deserves film of the year. Best film in last 3 years,
  85. Nov 2, 2010
    6
    A decent movie and a very good performance by Leonardo DiCaprio. I think people are over blowing the whole concept of this movie, it's not really that hard to understand, the movie just makes it seem more complicated than it is. The ending is particularly good.
  86. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Chris Nolan is my favorite director, and this may be his best work to date. Inception is executed so brilliantly in so many areas that if you are like me, you mouth was open through half the movie. When you think of Nolans last two movies, neither The Dark Knight or Inception had one scene that was wasted or didn't move the plot forward. Keeping in mind that they are both 2hr 30mins,Chris Nolan is my favorite director, and this may be his best work to date. Inception is executed so brilliantly in so many areas that if you are like me, you mouth was open through half the movie. When you think of Nolans last two movies, neither The Dark Knight or Inception had one scene that was wasted or didn't move the plot forward. Keeping in mind that they are both 2hr 30mins, it's quite an impressive feat. The last thing I want is a movie where I say to myself "why was that scene included?". Nolan really knows what he is doing at all times, and best of all he trusts that the viewer is keeping up with the story just as well as he is. It's about time Nolan gets a Best Director nod. Expand
  87. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    Christopher Nolan made the first script for this back in 2001. Now, nearly ten years and two brilliant Gotham-set movies, it is released. The question is, is Inception any good? In short, YES! Inception is a serious contendor for film of the year. It is the rare movie that makes you think, whilst entertaining you with brilliant visuals. All of the cast play their role brilliantly, not oneChristopher Nolan made the first script for this back in 2001. Now, nearly ten years and two brilliant Gotham-set movies, it is released. The question is, is Inception any good? In short, YES! Inception is a serious contendor for film of the year. It is the rare movie that makes you think, whilst entertaining you with brilliant visuals. All of the cast play their role brilliantly, not one actor wavering throughout. The highlights have to be Tom Hardy and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, playing their roles with such whim whilst venturing through serious situations. I heard this film be described as Ocean's Eleven meets The Matrix. It certainly is, as the first part plays out with the group recruiting and planning, ala Oceans, with each character playing a certain role. The second part than plays out as The Matrix, with the characters venturing through worlds which aren't real to set out their goal. The gravityless fight scene is a sight to behold, a high point of the movie. During the mind sequences, when met by the enemy, you fear for the characters fates. It is at this moment that I realised something. These characters aren't heroes. They're anti-heroes. Their mission is to trick a company heir into dissolving his fathers company, for Sato's personal gain. But we don't care about that, we care for these characters. From that, Christopher Nolan proves he is talented with writing characters, let alone movies. All in all, this movie is an event. It will make you think, and entertain you with it's awesomeness. This film is a must-see Expand
  88. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    I have seen and loved every one of Nolanâ
  89. iXF
    Feb 22, 2014
    10
    Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.Amazing.
  90. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    Now I could go on for ages about this film, thats why I'll keep it brief. No brief overview from me (storyline if you will), you'll have to find that out for yourself. Since films began way back in the late 1920's there has been many classics, such as, Gone With The Wind, Casablanca, The Sound Of Music, The Great Escape, The Godfather, and Shawshank Redemption, to name a few. And rightlyNow I could go on for ages about this film, thats why I'll keep it brief. No brief overview from me (storyline if you will), you'll have to find that out for yourself. Since films began way back in the late 1920's there has been many classics, such as, Gone With The Wind, Casablanca, The Sound Of Music, The Great Escape, The Godfather, and Shawshank Redemption, to name a few. And rightly so they all deserve there praise and plaudits galore. But after seeing this film now five times, twice in the cinema and three on dvd, many will agree this is cinema redefined. Christopher Nolan is quite new to some people, but what he has done here is taken the money Warner Bros. have given him for the two Batman films he made and he has created something quite extraodrinary. Its a complicated film which for some may be quite long and boring, but for most its most incredible 144 minutes ever in the history of cinema. Thats why I've given Inception this bold remark, THE GREATEST FILM ACHIEVEMENT IN ALL HISTORY!!! My ratings in whatever format; 5/5, 10/10, 100%/100%, *****!!! Expand
  91. Nov 16, 2010
    5
    Nolan had a good idea to work with here but it fell far short of such high expectations. He never lets DiCaprio act and he never lets any true emotion seep into the film to give it any lasting value. People will and have commended this movie for being such an original and risky film released in the middle of the summer. But, that aside, will it really hold its own as a seminal piece ofNolan had a good idea to work with here but it fell far short of such high expectations. He never lets DiCaprio act and he never lets any true emotion seep into the film to give it any lasting value. People will and have commended this movie for being such an original and risky film released in the middle of the summer. But, that aside, will it really hold its own as a seminal piece of film making in even a year? Probably not because it is too self indulgent on Nolan's part, it almost seems like a rough outline of a movie that had the potential to be way better. Expand
  92. Nov 22, 2010
    7
    Christopher Nolan has definitely developed one of the most intriguing and original ideas in Hollywood ever. The only issue here is that Nolan holds on to that simple idea too much, of stealing people's secrets by going into their dreams. The idea is then transformed into amazing and spectacular special effects, but also having too much going on and not introducing them at the appropriateChristopher Nolan has definitely developed one of the most intriguing and original ideas in Hollywood ever. The only issue here is that Nolan holds on to that simple idea too much, of stealing people's secrets by going into their dreams. The idea is then transformed into amazing and spectacular special effects, but also having too much going on and not introducing them at the appropriate times. As well as an inconsistent flow of what scenes are slowed down, when they should be accelerating into a thrilling moment. And the direct opposite. By the end of the film, it seems that Nolan's intent is unclear and should be shown again to become clearer. Despite the flaws, the main reason that this film is good is due to Nolan's original idea and the cast line-up. Every cast member is notable and all delivering a decent performance. But it seems to much for a film and too much of a great idea, that it seems great when seeing several shots in a trailer, but doesn't execute well in a theater. Expand
  93. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    I can give this movie no more then a full 10. I went to this movie only hearing that it was Chris Nolan behind it. I loved both Batman movies, so i thought that this would be just as well, but boy was i wrong. This was a masterpiece compared to TDK. TDK was good, but this was just out of the league. It was exactly the kind of movie i liked. Dropping out clues throughout the movie, only toI can give this movie no more then a full 10. I went to this movie only hearing that it was Chris Nolan behind it. I loved both Batman movies, so i thought that this would be just as well, but boy was i wrong. This was a masterpiece compared to TDK. TDK was good, but this was just out of the league. It was exactly the kind of movie i liked. Dropping out clues throughout the movie, only to make them fit as a pussle in the end. And the scoreline is so beautiful too, i went home and straight on to Spotify to look for the soundtrack. And i remember a scene from the end of the movie, and listened to that scenes score, and it gave me the chills. Expand
  94. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    This movie is probably "The Movie" of 2010. By that I mean it is perfect to see with friends, family, coworkers, whatever you want. The second thing that makes this "The Movie" is that it's filled with action (actionful?) and it has a plot. Not very many movies can do that nowadays. Awesome story, Awesome Action, Awesome ending, Awesome directing, Awesome acting, Awesome movie.
  95. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    7.4/10? Really? Movie critics needs to learn how to do their job. This is by far the most charming, well-filmed and acted and lets not forget, most mind-blowing movie I've seen in a while. It makes you think about life. It borrows from The Matrix but I enjoyed it just as much as I did with Matrix. Granted there are unrealistic moments (eg. the technology of going into a dream which feels7.4/10? Really? Movie critics needs to learn how to do their job. This is by far the most charming, well-filmed and acted and lets not forget, most mind-blowing movie I've seen in a while. It makes you think about life. It borrows from The Matrix but I enjoyed it just as much as I did with Matrix. Granted there are unrealistic moments (eg. the technology of going into a dream which feels so real you get confused) and sure there might even be a few plot holes and bad logic but hey, sci-fi films are where imagination is at its best, we watch movies not to pick on the plot holes but to get entertained and Inception surely is the as entertaining as movies can get. I'll admit i didn't get some parts of the movie when I watched it the first time, but after a second run, everything became clear, You have to watch it twice. Movie of the year. Easily 10 out of 10. The only negative thing I have to say about it is that it may lead to a rise in suicide rates because it indirectly promotes suicide. Expand
  96. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    One of the better movies made in while. A very intruiging concept that really gets you thinking. It isnt perfect but its pretty close. Its one of those movies you have to really pay close attention to and there is plenty of action, special effects are nicely done. Overall very good. 9/10.
  97. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    Inception is definitely one of the best movies of the year. I don't understand how some of you can say that this movie is bad, or boring. Chris Nolan did a great job with this and he definitely should be awarded with an Academy Award.
  98. Nov 24, 2010
    5
    Inception a bladderful of a movie. It's long. As befits a film written and directed by the guy who made Batman cool again, it's heavy on the action and visual arts. As befits a film written and directed by the guy behind Memento, it has a mind-bending plot. What's the movie about? The most basic of questions: what is reality? It plays with us by sending its characters into ever-deeperInception a bladderful of a movie. It's long. As befits a film written and directed by the guy who made Batman cool again, it's heavy on the action and visual arts. As befits a film written and directed by the guy behind Memento, it has a mind-bending plot. What's the movie about? The most basic of questions: what is reality? It plays with us by sending its characters into ever-deeper layers of dream states in search of a MacGuffin. And while the film ostensibly delivers the obvious enigmatic ending, it's scattered with hints that suggest a further hidden layer. How clever. By the time my bladder had insistently declared its presence, I was bored with the spectacle. For the film is indeed a spectacular, the sort of thing Hollywood does well. It's also an example of what Hollywood spectaculars often don't do well; it fails to connect with the emotions, with our sense of empathy. This, despite a plot in which the love interest is a central device. Ellen Page is terrific as the spunky, wisecracking, rule-breaking girl who gets pregan.... wait, let me start over; Ellen Page is terrific as the spunky, wisecracking, rule-breaking sidekick. She's also at risk of getting typecast as a spunky, wise.. well, you get the idea. Leonardo DiCaprio is excellent as the thinking man's tortured action hero. He looks great. Everyone else is a cipher, including the aforementioned love interest. I'm sure that Inception is a visually stunning, intellectually intriguing movie. I'm not sure it earned the right to test my bladder's breaking point. Expand
  99. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    With Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight, making Inception is another big step towards the Oscars. Although Nolan did not get nominated in 2008 for The Dark Knight, directing Inception will definitely give him a boost in the category. A story taken in a place where we can go into people's dreams and control them completely. Just like Nolan's previous work, Memento, Inception's script isWith Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight, making Inception is another big step towards the Oscars. Although Nolan did not get nominated in 2008 for The Dark Knight, directing Inception will definitely give him a boost in the category. A story taken in a place where we can go into people's dreams and control them completely. Just like Nolan's previous work, Memento, Inception's script is complex yet very entertaining and easy for the audience to understand. Intellectually, Inception is a very high-class film, but the film also demonstrates its dramatic side in which Leonardo DiCaprio comes in. The cast delivered with a sense that they knew exactly what was going on and Joseph Gordon-Levitt added the fun element to the film. Inception is mind-blowing, visceral, and smart, at the same time delivering the biggest Hollywood blockbuster of the year. OscarBuzz: Best Picture (like Avatar last year), Best Screenplay, Best Director (maybe), Best Support Actor - Levitt (good chance), Best Actor - DiCaprio (maybe), Technical awards (total domination)!!! Expand
  100. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie. I thought it was one of the best of the year. The visuals were incredible, and the story was creative sci-fi adventure. I really can't see how people said this was boring or the plot lost itself. I was in a packed theater and you could hear the response vocally; they seemed to love it. I think it is just backlash because it made so much money and was all over the mediaI loved this movie. I thought it was one of the best of the year. The visuals were incredible, and the story was creative sci-fi adventure. I really can't see how people said this was boring or the plot lost itself. I was in a packed theater and you could hear the response vocally; they seemed to love it. I think it is just backlash because it made so much money and was all over the media at the time; people come in with a glass of haterade. If it wasn't for you cool, but don't give it a zero just to hate on something. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. 100
    In terms of sheer originality, ambition and achievement, Inception is the movie of the summer, the movie of the year and the movie of our dreams.
  2. In a summer of remakes, reboots and sequels comes Inception, easily the most original movie idea in ages.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    100
    If Inception is a metaphysical puzzle, it's also a metaphorical one: It's hard not to draw connections between Cobb's dream-weaving and Nolan's filmmaking -- an activity devoted to constructing a simulacrum of reality, intended to seduce us, mess with our heads and leave a lasting impression. Mission accomplished.