Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 16, 2010
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3781 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,365
Mixed:
211
Negative:
205
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ChrisOJul 20, 2010
It seems that those who rate this movie low are the ones who cannot comprehend what its all about, nor can they interpret anything from the movie, be it from the pro critics, or just customers like me. I just saw this movie tonight with my It seems that those who rate this movie low are the ones who cannot comprehend what its all about, nor can they interpret anything from the movie, be it from the pro critics, or just customers like me. I just saw this movie tonight with my friends and throughout the movie I just couldnt help but be bewildered at times at the complexity of the movie at times. The ending was one of the best and open endings Ive seen in a movie and can be interpreted so many ways. The movie is just fantastic, and has left my mind blown like many others. It is a must see this summer. Expand
13 of 17 users found this helpful
9
JustinS.Jul 18, 2010
Liked the depth of the main character. Want to see it again, but will watch it on Blu-Ray.
12 of 19 users found this helpful
10
CharlieLawsonJul 18, 2010
Best movie I have seen since The Return of the King. Don't understand how someone can not like this movie. Has everything you want in a movie.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ArjunSJul 23, 2010
Amazing Movie, I have to say this is one of the best movie in recent years, Possibly best in this year, Everything is Perfect.
6 of 9 users found this helpful
2
PaulJJul 30, 2010
Overated and over complicated. Never has such a talented cast gone to such waste.... none of the characters had any depth and the story telling was non-existent. Its hard to fathum what people enjoyed about this movie and how Nolan has Overated and over complicated. Never has such a talented cast gone to such waste.... none of the characters had any depth and the story telling was non-existent. Its hard to fathum what people enjoyed about this movie and how Nolan has gained such a big reputation. I went to see this movie with friends - had I been alone I would have left the theatre 50 mins into the film. Never have I been so disinterested in the outcome of a movie. The hero (Di Caprio) explains that you can never remember the beginning of a dream, and that dreams that seem to cover hours may only last a short time. Unfortunately, this nightmare last a full 2 1/2 hours!! Expand
11 of 30 users found this helpful
10
RedzuanM.Jul 16, 2010
What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of information, and as the movie plays out the viewer begins to put the pieces together and the picture What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of information, and as the movie plays out the viewer begins to put the pieces together and the picture gradually becomes clearer. Chris Nolan doesn't dumb down the movie for the audience like most Hollywood movies do these days, he expects us to keep up with him. And when we do, the reward is extremely gratifying. And the visuals were amazing. Expand
59 of 82 users found this helpful
5
JohnF.Jul 16, 2010
Special effects are spectacular at times, but repetitious. Storyline is weak and confused. Good acting by entire cast.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
SamJul 16, 2010
Look at those contrarian hater critics at the bottom. Get real. This is the best movie to come out of the Hollywood crap factory in a long, long time. Brilliant.
8 of 12 users found this helpful
10
SamD.Jul 16, 2010
Wow. A masterpiece! how could some people dislike this?? it guess its like blade runner or 2001, which some people disliked. but wow, this was the best movie of the year, if not the decade.
8 of 13 users found this helpful
10
BenM.Jul 17, 2010
In years to come, when we look back on the medium of film and the incredible power it possesses, this will be the current generation's defining masterpiece. Nolan has crafted an outstanding piece of art, which perfectly encapsulates the In years to come, when we look back on the medium of film and the incredible power it possesses, this will be the current generation's defining masterpiece. Nolan has crafted an outstanding piece of art, which perfectly encapsulates the concept of the dream and its ability to question our view of reality. From the spectacular visuals to its collection of fantastic performances, Inception is Nolan's finest piece to date and a prime example of the endless limits of cinema. Sheer brilliance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EvinC.Jul 17, 2010
A film that can't be explained in words but only by Nolan's fantastic vision. That ending is overwhelmingly amazing,
2 of 4 users found this helpful
8
SheriR.Jul 17, 2010
Wildly creative, edge-of-your-seat action, but so complex that it was difficult to keep up with...and only one of the characters is fully fleshed out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GaryR.Jul 18, 2010
Overly complex and hard to understand. I want to be entertained by a movie, not challlenged to see if I can keep up with the plot. And then, at the end, is an overdone James -Bond like scene with snow and a military fortress, which has no Overly complex and hard to understand. I want to be entertained by a movie, not challlenged to see if I can keep up with the plot. And then, at the end, is an overdone James -Bond like scene with snow and a military fortress, which has no meaning at all. Even all the senseless gunfire is not entertaining at all. I want my money back. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
markf.Jul 18, 2010
Easily one of the worst movies ever made.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
roberti.Jul 18, 2010
Almost walked out in boredom. Ambiguous, unarticulated mishmash that doesn't let you in on the secret, and, at a certain level, who cares. All sound and light without the signification.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JayL.Jul 18, 2010
Refreshing.... at the end of the movie people seemed mesmerized and gave it an honest, spontaneous standing ovation.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
joerJul 19, 2010
I should have taken the $10.50 and wiped my butt with it. Other than Momento, Nolan's work stinks. I fell alseep during the Dark Knight and dozed off here. It's that bad. I'm tired of big budget junk. I'll stick to the I should have taken the $10.50 and wiped my butt with it. Other than Momento, Nolan's work stinks. I fell alseep during the Dark Knight and dozed off here. It's that bad. I'm tired of big budget junk. I'll stick to the indie films. Don't see this movie. You have been warned!!! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
CherylW.Jul 19, 2010
Too much hype. Boring. Stupid. Lame. Want my money back.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
PhilipLJul 19, 2010
One of the worst movies I have ever seen. It is too complicated, too violent, too long, and very difficult to understand what is happening. If this is a masterpiece than our country and the film industry is in very bad shape!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
EvinA.Jul 20, 2010
best movie I have ever seen, Nolan's masterpiece. The entire cast is great one of the best ensembles ever. This film should put actors like Joseph Gordon Levitt and Tom Hardy into the spotlight more often, two solid actors who have been best movie I have ever seen, Nolan's masterpiece. The entire cast is great one of the best ensembles ever. This film should put actors like Joseph Gordon Levitt and Tom Hardy into the spotlight more often, two solid actors who have been making a name for themselves the past five years in indie movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisCJul 20, 2010
When it comes to the director and writer of both "Memento" and "The Dark Knight" (Christopher Nolan) you already have high expectations for a movie before you even see the trailer, and especially a movie where an artist is given as much When it comes to the director and writer of both "Memento" and "The Dark Knight" (Christopher Nolan) you already have high expectations for a movie before you even see the trailer, and especially a movie where an artist is given as much money as they need to do whatever they want. I went into "Inception" expecting a cross between "Dreamscape" and "The Matrix" and I came out of the movie having to say that it was a lot better than I expected. If you love thinking movies like "Brazil", "12 Monkeys" or "A Clockwork Orange" you are not going to be disappointed, and if you like action movies like "The Bourne Ultimatum" or "The Matrix" you aren't going to be disappointed either. Without spoiling the movie, "Inception" kept me guessing right up to the very last scene, and having seen it with my best friend we came up with 2 completely different conclusions about the story, and yet both of them work perfectly. THAT takes a ton of genius. If you are a lover of great films and "Transformers 2" made you think that everything coming out of Hollywood these days is less than stellar (to be nice about it), "Inception" will remind you that there are still great film makers out there and "Inception" will renew your faith in film. While "Avatar" may still be the king when it comes to the box office and sheer scope of applied CGI, "Inception" reminds us of what really great storytelling is all about. "Inception" was darn near film perfection, in my opinion, and now easily sits on my top 10 favorite movies of all time. Finally 2 things: See it in IMAX if you can, and I can't wait to see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeA.Jul 20, 2010
All you people who rated this movie in the red have no clue what an entertaining film is. Yeah it didn't make complete sense, but it really didn't need to make perfect sense to have me on the edge of my seat waiting for the All you people who rated this movie in the red have no clue what an entertaining film is. Yeah it didn't make complete sense, but it really didn't need to make perfect sense to have me on the edge of my seat waiting for the climactic ending. And for the people who have compared this to Matrix you are idiots, this movie was nothing like the matrix you cannot compare the anti gravity scene to the matrix. This movie was original and well thought out quit hating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
kevinmJul 22, 2010
Any movie that expends a considerable amount of time explaining by its characters what is happening is ultimately not worth seeing except fo some cool fx/alternate realities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SergeyV.Jul 22, 2010
Its the most real Nolan from
9 of 13 users found this helpful
10
NateOJul 20, 2010
Inception is an incredible film. All these people posting reviews stating that it is hard to follow could not be more wrong. The film has a lot going on but they make it as easy to follow as possible. Also people saying that Nolan is a bad Inception is an incredible film. All these people posting reviews stating that it is hard to follow could not be more wrong. The film has a lot going on but they make it as easy to follow as possible. Also people saying that Nolan is a bad filmmaker are watching the wrong films. I bet they think Brett Ratner and Paul WS Anderson are groundbreaking directors. The world needs more Nolans and less Rush Hour and Resident Evil directors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteGJul 23, 2010
A well-written, intelligent masterpiece that manages to maintain coherence, unlike the smug "clever" films of recent years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreiZ.Jul 24, 2010
Best movie I've seen in a long time... a loooong time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CalebM.Jul 24, 2010
Great movie that keeps the mind moving the whole time.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
9
KrisR.Jul 25, 2010
This movie was great and really well thought out I was so surprised. I haven't seen a movie with that much storyline AND really good fight scenes. You do need to pay attention if you miss something or do not understand something you This movie was great and really well thought out I was so surprised. I haven't seen a movie with that much storyline AND really good fight scenes. You do need to pay attention if you miss something or do not understand something you will end up like the guys down the list who reviewed it low. An intelligent well thought out movie. I did not like shutter island but this is completely different. DO NOT MISS IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RussellM.Jul 26, 2010
An overblown, self indulgent sci fi flick that fails to convince the viewer of its subject matter. It left me feeling flat, unentertained and exhausted from all the gun fire and ecvessive explosions. It was more like watching my 13 year old An overblown, self indulgent sci fi flick that fails to convince the viewer of its subject matter. It left me feeling flat, unentertained and exhausted from all the gun fire and ecvessive explosions. It was more like watching my 13 year old son playing a video came with no real plot as opposed to a movie. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
2
jamesm.Jul 27, 2010
THis movie was so bad for me I wouldn't have stayed past the first 40 minutes if I had been watching it alone. It didn't set up the plot at all. Like you were just supposed to accept on this intense chasing and shooting without THis movie was so bad for me I wouldn't have stayed past the first 40 minutes if I had been watching it alone. It didn't set up the plot at all. Like you were just supposed to accept on this intense chasing and shooting without ever knowing why just to be set up for the big dream sequence in the end. I thought the end was MUCH MUCH better, but getting there was painful and infuriating. Not a joy to watch and not well developed as a story. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChuckJul 27, 2010
Hollywood would call the BO on this film a "builder" - an understatement at best. One of the best films of the last 10 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DillonC.Jul 29, 2010
One of the BEST movies I have ever seen! I was completely blown away by Marion Cotillard, she played the part so well and i was completely mystified by her elegance. Leo was fantastic, as always, and I was very impressed by Ellen Page and One of the BEST movies I have ever seen! I was completely blown away by Marion Cotillard, she played the part so well and i was completely mystified by her elegance. Leo was fantastic, as always, and I was very impressed by Ellen Page and Joseph Gordon-Levitt's performances. Overall this movie was great! I already saw it twice and i might just have to see it again! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulLJul 30, 2010
Amazing movie. Christopher Nolan has done it again. I went to see this movie knowing that it would be great, but it ended up being GLORIOUS! I was amazed by the fight scenes, and was awed by the thought that was put into every detail. I Amazing movie. Christopher Nolan has done it again. I went to see this movie knowing that it would be great, but it ended up being GLORIOUS! I was amazed by the fight scenes, and was awed by the thought that was put into every detail. I watched it 3 times now and Im planning on seeing it again. A must see, but not for the viewer that lacks the ability to pay attention. Some say it was confusing, but it only was confusing if u didnt pay attention. My 8 year old nephew understood everything, and wouldnt stop analyzing every detail. Beautifully made movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenG.Jul 30, 2010
Great story, great visual effects, great actors... I'd love to see it again asap, can't wait for the bluray to be released.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobW.Jul 30, 2010
Quite possibly the best film I've ever seen. Engrossing throughout and compulsory to re-watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
billJul 30, 2010
This movie is awesome! Its a well told story with great acting by a well rounded cast and Nolan's really shows off his directing skills. Visually stunning!!! Anyone who says otherwise probably didn't understand it the first time around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AshmerielJul 16, 2010
"Inception" is a visually dazzling film, whose individual images never quite cohere under a clunking script that throws piles of red-herrings at viewers in a failed attempt to leave them with the same brain tinglings that films like Total "Inception" is a visually dazzling film, whose individual images never quite cohere under a clunking script that throws piles of red-herrings at viewers in a failed attempt to leave them with the same brain tinglings that films like Total Recall and the Matrix left. Nolan gets credit for his ambitious aspirations; but the real question is why bother making a story that has nothing new to offer on the world of dream/thought creation? In the end, "Inception" is a sanguine attempt to repackage old concepts in a sleek, empty way. Stay home and read a Borges book until this is available for rent. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful
10
DIegoH.Jul 16, 2010
One of the best films I've seen in a long time. This is a film that doesn't really go away from you when you're done watching it, and makes you think deeply. Certainly a film that should be seen multiple times to fully One of the best films I've seen in a long time. This is a film that doesn't really go away from you when you're done watching it, and makes you think deeply. Certainly a film that should be seen multiple times to fully understand and love it even more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CalebR.Jul 16, 2010
A classic in the making... This is a film that will go down as one of the greatest films ever! I am not going to waste my time trying to explain the film to you guys as it is a film you just need to see! 10 Stars and one of the greatest films ever!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
BrandonHenkeJul 16, 2010
Pure enjoyment from start to finish. An awe inspiring movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LexK.Jul 16, 2010
Wonderfull! One of the greatest films ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdityaM.Jul 16, 2010
This movie has Stunning Visuals, a stirring storyline and a Captivating Narration. What more?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
tomM.Jul 16, 2010
What a waste of time & film. As we left the movie we asked what did the people understand about the movie - confusion is probably the best reply. Your critics' review system "blew" this one - bummmer.
8 of 25 users found this helpful
10
ChrisF.Jul 16, 2010
Man there are a lot of simpletons on here that seem to want to bash the movie only because it is a bit too complex for their liking. The movie was absolutely brilliant! The storyline was so intricate and well-woven only made better by the Man there are a lot of simpletons on here that seem to want to bash the movie only because it is a bit too complex for their liking. The movie was absolutely brilliant! The storyline was so intricate and well-woven only made better by the great cast that portrayed it. I saw it last night and I am still thinking about it. Sure there were a lot of gunfights and explosions and such, but the difference here was that I actually CARED about the people in the fights, and they were effectively used to tell the story. Don't let these haters sway you from seeing this movie, it's probably the smartest bit of entertainment that will be pumped out of hollywood in quite some time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
BudBlueJul 16, 2010
Like a mix of The Matrix and Ocean's Eleven... A fantastic (if at times confusing) film where reality is not as certain as you might think.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JivanA.Jul 16, 2010
To be honest, I've been on metacritic for many years, looking to this site as a sort for reviews. To decide the films I choose to watch, I use a combination of what the critics say plus the user reviews. In all my time here, i've To be honest, I've been on metacritic for many years, looking to this site as a sort for reviews. To decide the films I choose to watch, I use a combination of what the critics say plus the user reviews. In all my time here, i've NEVER felt obliged to sign up to leave a review. This movie was pure fantastic in film form. It's a bit of a mind-bender, as it deals with consciousness and reality on multiple levels, through the state of dreaming, but if you go in with an open mind and pay attention, you'll love the entire experience, from start to finish. I do highly suggest seeing it in IMAX, it makes the experience everso that much better. Happy viewing all! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
0
RandyS.Jul 16, 2010
Absolute crap. You critics have lost all credibillity with me. And those that like it. Obviously you are not in reality.wake up!!!
2 of 7 users found this helpful
10
RCColaJul 16, 2010
This was an excellent movie, a rare movie with a great intelligent plot. It was original and probably one of the best movies ive seen in a long time. Is anybody else sick of seeing crappy review after crappy review of good movies lately? The This was an excellent movie, a rare movie with a great intelligent plot. It was original and probably one of the best movies ive seen in a long time. Is anybody else sick of seeing crappy review after crappy review of good movies lately? The only reason these people have given bad reviews is because they couldnt understand it, which I get, but that doesnt mean it was a bad movie just because YOU didnt get it. If you did understand it, you most likely would have enjoyed this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
trentaJul 16, 2010
This movie was amazing and as for the first tom M. up there who gave this a zero... batman has no jurisdiction. he will find you and make you squeal. just kiddin but your opinion is terrible. you dont like a movie because you arent smart This movie was amazing and as for the first tom M. up there who gave this a zero... batman has no jurisdiction. he will find you and make you squeal. just kiddin but your opinion is terrible. you dont like a movie because you arent smart enough to understand it? Go watch "Wolverine" and dont bother with any of Chris Nolan's films any more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelH.Jul 16, 2010
I am what you'd call a movie buff, and this is the best movie I've ever seen. I can't recommend or elaborate any more, go see it, seriously. It doesn't deserve the 1-10 scale so instead of looking at the number of my I am what you'd call a movie buff, and this is the best movie I've ever seen. I can't recommend or elaborate any more, go see it, seriously. It doesn't deserve the 1-10 scale so instead of looking at the number of my rating just know you need to go see this movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
ToddK.Jul 16, 2010
A mindf**k. A meditation on the nature of reality vs. perception. One thing's for certain. It's a movie that each person will take something different away with them from.
6 of 10 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Jul 16, 2010
The exponentially smart and puzzling "Inception" did a number on my brain. It's hard to describe a movie like this, you just have to see it for yourself!
8 of 13 users found this helpful
10
HerbleB.Jul 16, 2010
The mindblower of all films.
8 of 13 users found this helpful
10
SudipD.Jul 16, 2010
One of the best movie i've ever seen
6 of 11 users found this helpful
10
BradA.Jul 16, 2010
Wow! this movie was unlike everything i have ever seen. now i know how people felt when they first saw 2001 or blade runner.
6 of 10 users found this helpful
10
JacobB.Jul 16, 2010
THis movie is flawless. It is original and gripping. If you don't like this movie it means you got confused watching it, which is really sad because I feel like Christopher Nolan handed us a road map and gave us "YOU ARE HERE" updates THis movie is flawless. It is original and gripping. If you don't like this movie it means you got confused watching it, which is really sad because I feel like Christopher Nolan handed us a road map and gave us "YOU ARE HERE" updates every 5 minutes. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JustinM.Jul 17, 2010
Firstly let me say that the pro critics shown on this page that rated Inception low, very low, must have only watched the completely silent, totally uninformative trailer (the original short). Either they didn't watch it or they are Firstly let me say that the pro critics shown on this page that rated Inception low, very low, must have only watched the completely silent, totally uninformative trailer (the original short). Either they didn't watch it or they are genuinely not smart enough to break the relatively steep learning curve of the movie quickly enough to enjoy it. And the learning curve is indeed steep. The movie progresses quickly and if you aren't quite able to work out the concepts that are "between the lines" you might end up leaving thinking what David Edelstein wrote in his review: "Inception manages to be clunky and confusing on four separate levels of reality." What he writes here is only half true. The movie is a bit confusing and leaves a lot of the thought work to the audience. It is NOT however "clunky"; the concepts are provided very elegantly and with great depth from the start. Here is what I feel is one of the dumbest of the reviews of this movie, it is by Nick Pinkerton of the Village Voice. He says: "It's obvious that Nolan either can't articulate or doesn't believe in a distinction between living feelings and dreams" I was honestly totally blown away by the sheer idiocy this comment. Why? Inception spends the entire movie explaining EXACTLY this. The idea that (quoting Pinkerton again) the "distinction between living feelings and dreams" can become forever blurred is probably the single most critical concept of Inception. It provides the foundation for the antagonist and the dramatic aspects, the consequences of failure and death in this otherwise safe dreamworld. Remove this foundation and the movie becomes nothing more simple and dull action movie. It is blatantly obvious that Nick Pinkerton either didn't even watch Inception in whole or it simply was far above his ability to think critically; flying over his head with such speed there must be a burn mark. Moving on from the critics, the movie is quite good. It is smart and thought provoking, the kind of movie that keeps you excitedly discussing it with your friends on the ride home. It is an action movie that is spared from the current tediousness of action movies by the critical dramatic tenants of love, loss (and the ability to cope with it) and the sense of terrible consequences of failure, keeping you sitting upright and empathetic to the characters for the whole movie. That is really saying something considering that the movie is rather long at 2 hours and 30 minutes. This sort of length has ruined some movies by keeping you so long it becomes impossible to keep interest, ruining the whole experience. This is NOT the case with Inception. When the movie ended I was hugely surprised that so much time had passed. Inception keeps you fully engaged the entire movie and even after two and a half hours you'll find yourself wishing there was more. With the above in mind remember to hit the bathroom before the movie because there is simply no moment of the movie that is good to leave during, every moment is important and great. Go see it, I promise you'll like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlR.Jul 17, 2010
Not quite perfect, but a *lot* of fun to watch with a mind bending plot that leaves all other summer block busters in the dust.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JudithR.Jul 17, 2010
One note movie-- mostly an unvarying level of all- out action throughout, and loud, bombastic soundtrack too, so it gets more and more boring to sit through. Not all dream sequences needed to be like Nazi horror dreams; but the few scenes in One note movie-- mostly an unvarying level of all- out action throughout, and loud, bombastic soundtrack too, so it gets more and more boring to sit through. Not all dream sequences needed to be like Nazi horror dreams; but the few scenes in which Nolan introduced less noisy interactions were short and not very engaging. Not for thoughtful viewers. Expand
6 of 19 users found this helpful
10
RPJul 17, 2010
Pure genius. Christopher Nolan has invented a wholly original and thoughtful film that takes you in to the hear of dreams. The visual effects, sound editing, and sound mixing are spectacular. If you pay attention throughout the entire film, Pure genius. Christopher Nolan has invented a wholly original and thoughtful film that takes you in to the hear of dreams. The visual effects, sound editing, and sound mixing are spectacular. If you pay attention throughout the entire film, you will not find it too confusing at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WayneB.Jul 17, 2010
So Avatar and Toy Story got Higher Reviews. Clearly there are people in this world who don't appreciate great casting, acting, story, action and suspense. And would Ratherhave Movies like avatar and Toy story 3 that are not bad. But So Avatar and Toy Story got Higher Reviews. Clearly there are people in this world who don't appreciate great casting, acting, story, action and suspense. And would Ratherhave Movies like avatar and Toy story 3 that are not bad. But lack most of the above. Ps. not to sound cliche, but this was the first movie i was actually on the Edge of my Seat (along with everyone else in the Cinema). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanJul 17, 2010
Destined to be my favorite movie of all time. Stretches the mind as far as it can go and will leave you thinking for a long time. It also has an uncanny ability to weed out the idiots amongst our society. The critics who gave it 70% or less Destined to be my favorite movie of all time. Stretches the mind as far as it can go and will leave you thinking for a long time. It also has an uncanny ability to weed out the idiots amongst our society. The critics who gave it 70% or less and the viewers who rated it 6 or below...all I have to say is survival of the fittest, you lose. Keep up please Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelipeRicoJul 17, 2010
Inception was so awesome,with lots of dreams, awesome setting,cool visual effects,great characters,and mindless fun to watch that sucks into your mind!
4 of 7 users found this helpful
10
GregW.Jul 17, 2010
It's an original concept. Directors, like Quentin Tarantino, Brad Anderson, Paul Thomas Anderson and Christpher Nolan should be commended, because they've been able to entertain us with complex and thought-provoking material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JesseB.Jul 17, 2010
I think I've finally had it up to about here with Christopher Nolan. If you have ever seen a photograph of him, you might come away with the impression that his cranium is a tad larger than the rest of polite society (literally). This I think I've finally had it up to about here with Christopher Nolan. If you have ever seen a photograph of him, you might come away with the impression that his cranium is a tad larger than the rest of polite society (literally). This is not to speak badly of a person due solely to a physical quality which one possesses (as I have a gigantic boulder of a bald noggin) but to make the point that every inch of that fabled dome seems to be filled only with himself. Nolan, with the aid of his screenwriter brother, Jonathan, gave to us what many consider to be the grand achievement of the super-hero genre film to date, "The Dark Knight". I know what we are all thinking, "it doesn't take much to be the best of the bunch in that arena of film making." You are probably right, although there have been those rare exception, such as the aforementioned "Knight", which have exceeded the expectations of the viewer and brought us somewhere else rather than the local comic books store. With his latest directorial effort, "Inception", Nolan takes us on a trip through the imagination... literally. The story is of a man named Cobb (Leonardo Dicaprio) who works as a kind of secret agent for hire. He does all of the same task which would be called upon by any other spy, accept his playing field is not that of a world landscape, but that of the subconscious, and the men which chase after him do not belong to any organization, but are the projections of the host mind's subconscious which one deploys in order to guard one's self from mental harm. You see, Dicaprio, and crew, have the ability to dive into a sleeping person's dream and thus wade around their subconscious, extracting information which somebody else thinks it's important enough to pay someone off to steal. This may all sound rather confusing upon glancing over a simple synopsis, but I found the story all very decipherable-- perhaps too decipherable. "Inception" refers to the idea (you get it, "idea") that one would, in theory, be able to penetrate the sleepers mind and, instead of stealing an idea from the dreamer, one plants an idea in his head, making it as if the idea generated itself organically without the aid of any outside source. But who would want a skilled spy, such as Dicaprio, to a thing as that? Ken Watanabe (The Last Samurai, Batman Begins), who else. To get into the plot is just what this film would take the pleasure in having me do, because really, this film is nothing but plot. I don't necessarily have a problem with that, a film having a heavily plotted structure, but when the plot is the only thing that matters in the film, neglecting to develop characters and anything else beyond that which brings you from point A to B, I tend to get a little cranky. I got especially cranky while watching this flick. When you watch as many movies as I have (and I am sure that some of you have seen many more) you tend to learn things about the standardized structuring of a film which is used almost as a blueprint while a screenwriter crafts the tale which he wishes to weave. This is particularly true in a mystery-- nothing is discussed in the film unless it will have some sort of payoff in the end. This unfortunate blunder causes one to immediately catch on to the wool which the director would wished to pull over our eyes. Don't worry, I'm not going to give anything away. What is extremely tiresome is when one catches on too this little ploy, this ruse, and spends the rest of the time in the theater counting down the minutes until he or she is either proven correct or incorrect. I was correct... that is, I was correct ten minutes into the movie. I had many issues with this film, some having to do with what Roger Ebert calls the "idiot plot," a term which refers to the characters having to be somewhat dim in certain situations in order for the truth of the mystery to pass them by. For instance, upon exiting the dream of a failed mission, Dicaprio and crew wake up only to have the man whom they were attempting to steal from wake up as well and pull a gun on them. Now, imagine for a moment that you are undertaking this potentially dangerous mission with a group of your friends. The person that you are thieving from is asleep right next to you and, if by chance he finds out that you are doing him wrong, he may well become rather upset with you. Would you not take the two seconds out of your busy schedule to pat him down and make sure that he is not packing heat? Of course if you take away the gun before he wakes up there will be no fight and suddenly Hollywood execs begins to see those dollar signs peeling away from their eyes. Another problem that I had was that I did not like Dicaprio in the role. I found my eye much more attracted to actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt, a very appealing and intense young actor who has real star quality. I could have watched him for two-and-a-half hours, no problem. And yet another issue I take with the movie is the use of actor Pete Postlethwaite,one of Britain's finest Shakespearean actors, used only in two scene and in both he is confined to a hospital bed and is rendered practically useless as he is little more than a vegetable. If you are going to hire an actor as good as Postlethwaite than at least give him something to do. But them main villain in this whole mess is the use of plot itself. I knew I was in trouble when the film was ten minutes in and they already started explaining the plot to us. Don't tell me about the movie, guys. Just show it to me. I think Nolan is often times too preoccupied with the concept of control. He seems to think that he is the supreme magician who carries all of the secrets to a great show within his own self containing head. He condescends to the audience, making futile attempts at diverting our eyes thus perfecting his "masterful" illusion. Yet in his arrogance he forgets that his audience comes equipped with a fully functioning brain which is made curious by the attempts at diversion and looks past the unfruitful wavings of the wand only to discovers that what they are witnessing is not magic, but a man who thinks that he is one step ahead of the rest. This, of course would sound very familiar to those aware of Nolan's work, as it seems very close to a synopsis of his 2006 film "The Prestige". In fact this is Nolan's true artistic obsession, going all the way back to 2001's "Memento" a film which tells itself in reverse, from end to beginning, and would seem an amazing achievement, but when examined closer, it is only found to be a cheap gimmick which does not hold up. "Inception" is not the worst movie ever. In fact, a great many people may very much enjoy it. There are some fantastic visuals and... well... the visuals are good. The story-- rather, the various plot points which have been strung together in order to make some semblance of a story, is not as revolutionary as everyone seems to make it out to be. It is definitely no "2001: A Space Odyssey" or whatever great film which this has been compared to, it is a popcorn flick which would have you think that it is more intelligent than it really is because it introduces topics which are somewhat out of the ordinary, but have been addressed multiple times in far better movies movies and in literature. If you really have a hankerin' for movies about dreamlike realities, try watching "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" or even "The Matrix". I know while I was in the theater today, I was wishing that either of those movies were rolling instead of this one. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful
6
AngieK.Jul 17, 2010
Movie was not original at all. All the concepts have been used before...left the movie feeling very cheated!!!
3 of 9 users found this helpful
9
NickJul 17, 2010
Great original story. Fantastic movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamY.Jul 17, 2010
Simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachC.Jul 17, 2010
Inception was an EPIC movie all the way though it! i was on the edge of my seat! this i most definitely the years best movie yet!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickK.Jul 17, 2010
This movie was great and had a complex plot. Special effects were a nice bonus. If you thought the plot was convoluted or boring... it's because you have the intelligence of a 10 yr old or don't have the attention span to read a book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobP.Jul 17, 2010
Original! Finally a movie that isn't an adaptation of a novel, sequel, or a remake! Excellent acting, amazing storytelling, and awesome visual effects. A movie that deserves Best Picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleJ.Jul 17, 2010
This is an outstanding movie. There isn't much quite like it you, me, or anyone else have ever seen. It is not for your average moviegoer, it doesn't have a dumbed down plot like some consider Avatar of doing and that is perhaps This is an outstanding movie. There isn't much quite like it you, me, or anyone else have ever seen. It is not for your average moviegoer, it doesn't have a dumbed down plot like some consider Avatar of doing and that is perhaps the greatest asset of the film aside from its originality. You WILL be sorry for missing it because after multiple viewings this film has filled the only spot in my mind that says: Masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarrisonH.Jul 17, 2010
Like in Prestige and Memento, Nolan builds scenarios in his movies that rattle the mind, and cause the viewer to question everything they've seen. This is a fantastic movie, and it saddens me that people who can't comprehend the Like in Prestige and Memento, Nolan builds scenarios in his movies that rattle the mind, and cause the viewer to question everything they've seen. This is a fantastic movie, and it saddens me that people who can't comprehend the complexities of this movie have marred the user score and metascore with their negative ratings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JBJul 17, 2010
Leagues beyond what anyone else in Hollywood is able to even dream of, much less create, Christopher Nolan is quite simply the Leonardo Da Vinci of film, and Inception his Mona Lisa.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VladS.Jul 17, 2010
Great effects, spectacular imagery, appealing characters/cast (loved Marion Cotillard), and a terrific story that more than make up for comparatively minor shortcomings that need not be detailed in this trite review of mine. I've only Great effects, spectacular imagery, appealing characters/cast (loved Marion Cotillard), and a terrific story that more than make up for comparatively minor shortcomings that need not be detailed in this trite review of mine. I've only chimed in here because I can't remember the last time I saw a movie where the audience reacted so positively at the end and kept up such a continuous happy buzz, from the moment we began to make our way out of the theater 'til the time we left the building and headed our separate ways (instead of simply dying out by the time we hit the escalator). I guess I'd say this was a cinematic AND sociological experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenC.Jul 17, 2010
This is old fashioned epic movie-making masquerading as a summer blockbuster. The kind of film they don't, but should, make anymore. I fail to see where anyone could find this film confusing or hard to follow. All you need is something This is old fashioned epic movie-making masquerading as a summer blockbuster. The kind of film they don't, but should, make anymore. I fail to see where anyone could find this film confusing or hard to follow. All you need is something called an attention span. It should be a prerequisite for critics to have a certain I.Q. before they are allowed to review films. Best film of the year thus far. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PRichJul 17, 2010
Oscar buzz here we come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobR.Jul 18, 2010
The best movie I have ever seen. Hands down. Watch it. This is the first good movie of the year. Good acting, plot, story, special effects. see it now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianD.Jul 18, 2010
Easily one of the best films of 2010. Sad to see it not gaining the full support of the critics, but something tells me that may be because the director, Chris Nolan, is being held to a higher standard than most (A.O. Scott seemed to be less Easily one of the best films of 2010. Sad to see it not gaining the full support of the critics, but something tells me that may be because the director, Chris Nolan, is being held to a higher standard than most (A.O. Scott seemed to be less than thrilled because it wasn't this century's Blade Runner or 2001 in his opinion, for example). That's too bad. Inception is original film making at its finest and it offers emotional payoff as well as a one hell of a deep labyrinth of a world to get lost in over and over again. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TakutoK.Jul 18, 2010
An intense, thought-provoking mind trip with some of the heaviest tone and mood for a summer movie. After you leave the theater, Inception still stays in your mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CristobalS.Jul 18, 2010
A Modern Movie Masterpiece!! I saw this movie today (7/17) in IMAX with a packed theater and have to say that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Christopher Nolan delivers his finest and most audacious film yet. It is the story A Modern Movie Masterpiece!! I saw this movie today (7/17) in IMAX with a packed theater and have to say that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Christopher Nolan delivers his finest and most audacious film yet. It is the story of an extractor (DiCaprio) a thief who breaks into dreams. He gets cornered into his largest job yet, to break into a businessman's (Murphy) dream and plant information in his mind. To protect the film's twists and turns, I will stop there. The direction is frightening. For a filmmaker to get into our head and make us question reality and fantasy on the screen is almost like controlling our mind. This is what Nolan achieves, and to top it off, his actors give such convincing and realistic performances that we almost feel like we are in the dream with them. Some critics, and they know who they are: Rex Reed and company, who have panned the film believe that Nolan focused on visuals rather than the story and characters, but that is absolute insanity. It should be clear to any viewer that the story and characters are the real effect here. The visuals are amazing, but to be honest, they are supporting the story. They are no "Lord of the Rings" or "Jurassic Park", they aren't that effective. But unlike those two films, they play a psychological role in "Inception". I would be shocked if AMPAS didn't nominate the superb Wally Pheister's cinematography, Hans Zimmer's haunting score, Christopher Nolan's direction, Marion Cotillard's emotional performance, and the supurb editing at the least. The film is more than Best Picture worthy, but given AMPAS's history of nominating films like "The Blind Side", "The Reader", and "Moulin Rouge" rather than the critically acclaimed films, I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't get nominated come next year. Not a safe bet, but I do say with the lack of acclaimed and intelligent films this year it should get a Best Picture nomination. See This Film! The ending is amazing, and if you have at least an 8th Grade reading comprehension level (unlike Rex Reed and Company) you will come back to the theater wanting more and scratching your head. Enjoy! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
bobbobJul 18, 2010
The best film of 2010 hands down. This is Nolan's masterpiece. The Dark Knight was just a warmup to one of the best science fiction films I've ever seen. Up to the last few seconds it was an outstanding film. Once those final The best film of 2010 hands down. This is Nolan's masterpiece. The Dark Knight was just a warmup to one of the best science fiction films I've ever seen. Up to the last few seconds it was an outstanding film. Once those final seconds hit though, the film transcends itself into being one of the best mindbenders I've ever seen. Unlike some films where twists require careful examination whether it makes sense or not, Inception makes you reconsider the film as it works in multiple perspectives. Time will be kind to this masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanL.Jul 18, 2010
This is not only the best film of this year but, it is one of the best films of the 21st century!!!! I have not said that about a single film I've seen in the last 10 years and that is because it took me many viewings of various films This is not only the best film of this year but, it is one of the best films of the 21st century!!!! I have not said that about a single film I've seen in the last 10 years and that is because it took me many viewings of various films to put them into this category. Moives like Children of Men, Zodiac, and Pans Labyrinth where all films that ended up in the 5 or 6 of my top ten list in their respective years but, by the end of last decade had made such a lasting impression I placed them among my favorite films of last decade (also include The Dark Knight). However, I can firmly state that after the first time I saw this film I was sold. This is a masterpiece!!! A word thrown around a lot but, is truly earned here. This is a movie that has caused the less active viewers to have a difficult time with the plot. This makes me love it all the more. I love having my intelligence rewarded. I will not go into extreme depth here because I could describe the whole thing and you still would not get it until you see it. This film is a dual narrative film about a man, Cobb, who has lost his children and wants to get back to them. However, a lingering memory of his dead wife and some false charges will not leave him to move forward and be with them in America. Which leads to the second narrative about a man, Saito, who wants him to implant a memory into his business competitor so that his company can compete in an expanding energy market. Cobb must complete this job and let his wife go so that he can move on with his life. It is also about a host of other things and every character (there are many) is dealt with in a sufficient amount of detail considering all the rules that have to be explained in a movie like this. Some of these characters, Cilian Murphy especially, have emotionally resonant stories of their own that could have been their own little films. This film,however, is an action film and there is no shortage of it. The sustained tensioned created by the amazing editing of Lee Smith and the operatic score of Hans Zimmer is the longest I believe I have been on the edge of my seat in my life. I honestly believe that you can look for this movie to be nominated for close to 10 Academy Awards from Best Picture to Cinematography to Sound to possibly a nod for DiCaprio with the combination of his to fabulous performances this year and the underated Shutter Island less likely to land one (even though I think it is the best performance of the year) . And in a perfect world Christopher Nolan will finally receive his long over due nomination. I saw this movie for the first time Monday then again on Saturday and I still cannot get it off my mind. I know that this will eventually pass but I'm not sure that I want it to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BruceS.Jul 18, 2010
I enjoyed this movie til it jumped the shark one too many times. the build up was entertaining, but once it entered the final phase it became one giant chase, each getting more absurd than the last. visually it was stunning, storywise it was lacking
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AtticusD.Jul 18, 2010
Although The Prestige is still my favourite of Nolan's works, never mind my favourite movie of all time, Inception is by no means just an alright movie. It is an absolutely perfect, mind-bending thrill ride. Emotionally satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
matta.Jul 18, 2010
I thought this was brillant, great story, brillant acting and a great ending that will have people talking bout this movie for years to come. Nolan has become the greatest director of his genaration mabye one more great film and he could be I thought this was brillant, great story, brillant acting and a great ending that will have people talking bout this movie for years to come. Nolan has become the greatest director of his genaration mabye one more great film and he could be called best ever, di caprio continues his journey to be up there with the greatest. speacial mention for Jospeh gordon-levitt who is such an underated actor hopefully will be recognised up there with di caprio after this. see it for yourself make up your own mind for me possible one of the greatest movies ever made. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
himanshuJul 18, 2010
A Masterpiece.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DavidBJul 18, 2010
Lisa M is spot on. For a film to depict dream content in such a prosaic and visually unimaginative way -- especially given the budget available to Mr. Nolan -- is a major failure.
6 of 17 users found this helpful
9
AndrewR.Jul 18, 2010
this movie is original in almost every way. it had me guessing all the way to the end. SPOILER!!!!!!!!!! the only thing that did not come as a surprise to me was the recurrence of his wife, the way she managed to destroy certain dreams. i this movie is original in almost every way. it had me guessing all the way to the end. SPOILER!!!!!!!!!! the only thing that did not come as a surprise to me was the recurrence of his wife, the way she managed to destroy certain dreams. i figured she would do that for the rest of the movie or until she was somehow dealt with. SPOILER OVER anyway great movie if you like the unexpected and jaw dropping effects then watch the movie. oh one more thing, the cast of actors the got is great, every character develops and none of them are forgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SplatterMouseJul 18, 2010
Great movie and definitely worth the price of admission. It is one of those movies that you keep talking about days after you've seen it. However, it did feel as if the story idea is a twist off the Matrix concept which is why I Great movie and definitely worth the price of admission. It is one of those movies that you keep talking about days after you've seen it. However, it did feel as if the story idea is a twist off the Matrix concept which is why I didn't rate this a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
stevez.Jul 19, 2010
For anyone who has a mind this movie is barely watchable. I was stuck in this movie to see how far this crap could go on. It is barely understandable and however go stand watching this without leaving at the first hour is a hero.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
PeggyH.Jul 19, 2010
These people are so wrong about this being just like every other movie. this is so much different than the matrix and other things, but it still is another great movie to put into that catagory. this movie is a scifi action movie that is These people are so wrong about this being just like every other movie. this is so much different than the matrix and other things, but it still is another great movie to put into that catagory. this movie is a scifi action movie that is centered around a heist. The people that don't like this are afraid of change. go see this movie! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
PatWJul 19, 2010
For a movie goer who enjoys creativity and originality this may be one of the greatest films you will ever see. Best Picture Worthy.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
9
ErikDJul 19, 2010
Great film. Intelligent enough that I admit to getting lost a few times, but in the end I didn't doubt the filmmakers so much as myself.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
7
RoryP.Jul 19, 2010
This film is automatically full of its own blather, before it even earns such a stance.... While it does eventually earn the respect it thinks you should have for it from the start, it literally takes the whole movie to genuinely do so. This film is automatically full of its own blather, before it even earns such a stance.... While it does eventually earn the respect it thinks you should have for it from the start, it literally takes the whole movie to genuinely do so. Meanwhile the audience has to digest a rather dense (and ultimately quite cumbersome) setup or 'universe' that has no real importance to them until it is fleshed out (which they manage to do by the end, just about). Which leads to an mentally overstuffed sensation for the audience, Although saying that, its attempts at indepth commentary (i.e. its layered representations of consciousness (and the main characters general 'impetus') whiffs of a pretention you know certain 17 year old boys are going to love. The cast is young and promising but again considering how long it takes for the mechanics of the setup to genuinely click for the audience, their comraderie is a bare sketch, i.e. their warmth as a group is present but a tad wasted. Tom Hardy is charming. He is great actually. Marion Cotillard is beautiful and has a great presence, but seeing as she is not playing an actual person, she is a bit of a non entity (literally). Cillian murphy is a great actor but has little time to let his character resonate. Leo is Leo (although refreshingly not as annoying as I usually find him). Ellen Page is fine although she is given frighteningly little motivation and I was boggled by how her character (the newbie) was fine with the general setup when it is revealed to her (jumping into peoples brains? not a problem! - ?) Gordon Levitt plays a cool tough guy, and comes across as an actor scrunching his face and playing a cool tough guy (GIVE HIM THE KICK! lol). Sorry I just can't take him seriously. He wasn't bad though, and his fight in the hotel lobby was cool. Overall, not terrible, alot of effort clearly, but a film that takes itself too seriously and... has... problems... Not a masterpiece. although that is high enough praise when you think about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LaskhmanK.Jul 19, 2010
Disgusting!!! !The movie is trite, stilted & impervious. Very hard to follow the plot and the movie failed to engage the users. In the end the viewers were left confused.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanY.Jul 19, 2010
This movie was original as films get, yet Christopher Nolan told the story in such an old fasioned way. Besides the obvious effects Inception remninded me of the stories in 50's or 60's films. Leonardo DiCaprio is brilliant yet This movie was original as films get, yet Christopher Nolan told the story in such an old fasioned way. Besides the obvious effects Inception remninded me of the stories in 50's or 60's films. Leonardo DiCaprio is brilliant yet again, but it comes so easy when you're blessed with a fresh story, a master storyteller and impecable yet underrated actors. Joseph Gordon Levitt, in all probability, has propelled himself to A-List status with his role. Tom Hardy also showed some real potential. I can't understand why this movie hasn't garnered more respect. To those debating whether it's worth the 12.50 admission; just think Matrix with better acting and a little less action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JustinBJul 19, 2010
Look, this movie was nonsense. In no way is this movie worthy of all the praise it is receiving. I keep reading reviews saying how it's so deep, challenging, and meaningful. Why? It's not complicated at all. I think people try to Look, this movie was nonsense. In no way is this movie worthy of all the praise it is receiving. I keep reading reviews saying how it's so deep, challenging, and meaningful. Why? It's not complicated at all. I think people try to say it's complicated because they want to make themselves feel smart or try to find some deep seeded meaning to relate to their lives. It's also very annoying how the movie says what it will do, then it does it. Great, so now you told me you were going to make this dream scheme work, then you follow through with it and make it work. That's just so compelling. And then to leave the movie hanging at the end? All I could think was, who cares if it falls or stays up! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AntónioR.Jul 19, 2010
Simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful