Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 16, 2010
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3848 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,451
Mixed:
209
Negative:
188
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ChrisOJul 20, 2010
It seems that those who rate this movie low are the ones who cannot comprehend what its all about, nor can they interpret anything from the movie, be it from the pro critics, or just customers like me. I just saw this movie tonight with my It seems that those who rate this movie low are the ones who cannot comprehend what its all about, nor can they interpret anything from the movie, be it from the pro critics, or just customers like me. I just saw this movie tonight with my friends and throughout the movie I just couldnt help but be bewildered at times at the complexity of the movie at times. The ending was one of the best and open endings Ive seen in a movie and can be interpreted so many ways. The movie is just fantastic, and has left my mind blown like many others. It is a must see this summer. Expand
13 of 17 users found this helpful
10
CharlieLawsonJul 18, 2010
Best movie I have seen since The Return of the King. Don't understand how someone can not like this movie. Has everything you want in a movie.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ArjunSJul 23, 2010
Amazing Movie, I have to say this is one of the best movie in recent years, Possibly best in this year, Everything is Perfect.
6 of 9 users found this helpful
10
RedzuanM.Jul 16, 2010
What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of information, and as the movie plays out the viewer begins to put the pieces together and the picture What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of information, and as the movie plays out the viewer begins to put the pieces together and the picture gradually becomes clearer. Chris Nolan doesn't dumb down the movie for the audience like most Hollywood movies do these days, he expects us to keep up with him. And when we do, the reward is extremely gratifying. And the visuals were amazing. Expand
59 of 82 users found this helpful
10
SamJul 16, 2010
Look at those contrarian hater critics at the bottom. Get real. This is the best movie to come out of the Hollywood crap factory in a long, long time. Brilliant.
8 of 12 users found this helpful
10
SamD.Jul 16, 2010
Wow. A masterpiece! how could some people dislike this?? it guess its like blade runner or 2001, which some people disliked. but wow, this was the best movie of the year, if not the decade.
8 of 13 users found this helpful
10
BenM.Jul 17, 2010
In years to come, when we look back on the medium of film and the incredible power it possesses, this will be the current generation's defining masterpiece. Nolan has crafted an outstanding piece of art, which perfectly encapsulates the In years to come, when we look back on the medium of film and the incredible power it possesses, this will be the current generation's defining masterpiece. Nolan has crafted an outstanding piece of art, which perfectly encapsulates the concept of the dream and its ability to question our view of reality. From the spectacular visuals to its collection of fantastic performances, Inception is Nolan's finest piece to date and a prime example of the endless limits of cinema. Sheer brilliance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JayL.Jul 18, 2010
Refreshing.... at the end of the movie people seemed mesmerized and gave it an honest, spontaneous standing ovation.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
EvinA.Jul 20, 2010
best movie I have ever seen, Nolan's masterpiece. The entire cast is great one of the best ensembles ever. This film should put actors like Joseph Gordon Levitt and Tom Hardy into the spotlight more often, two solid actors who have been best movie I have ever seen, Nolan's masterpiece. The entire cast is great one of the best ensembles ever. This film should put actors like Joseph Gordon Levitt and Tom Hardy into the spotlight more often, two solid actors who have been making a name for themselves the past five years in indie movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisCJul 20, 2010
When it comes to the director and writer of both "Memento" and "The Dark Knight" (Christopher Nolan) you already have high expectations for a movie before you even see the trailer, and especially a movie where an artist is given as much When it comes to the director and writer of both "Memento" and "The Dark Knight" (Christopher Nolan) you already have high expectations for a movie before you even see the trailer, and especially a movie where an artist is given as much money as they need to do whatever they want. I went into "Inception" expecting a cross between "Dreamscape" and "The Matrix" and I came out of the movie having to say that it was a lot better than I expected. If you love thinking movies like "Brazil", "12 Monkeys" or "A Clockwork Orange" you are not going to be disappointed, and if you like action movies like "The Bourne Ultimatum" or "The Matrix" you aren't going to be disappointed either. Without spoiling the movie, "Inception" kept me guessing right up to the very last scene, and having seen it with my best friend we came up with 2 completely different conclusions about the story, and yet both of them work perfectly. THAT takes a ton of genius. If you are a lover of great films and "Transformers 2" made you think that everything coming out of Hollywood these days is less than stellar (to be nice about it), "Inception" will remind you that there are still great film makers out there and "Inception" will renew your faith in film. While "Avatar" may still be the king when it comes to the box office and sheer scope of applied CGI, "Inception" reminds us of what really great storytelling is all about. "Inception" was darn near film perfection, in my opinion, and now easily sits on my top 10 favorite movies of all time. Finally 2 things: See it in IMAX if you can, and I can't wait to see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SergeyV.Jul 22, 2010
Its the most real Nolan from
9 of 13 users found this helpful
10
NateOJul 20, 2010
Inception is an incredible film. All these people posting reviews stating that it is hard to follow could not be more wrong. The film has a lot going on but they make it as easy to follow as possible. Also people saying that Nolan is a bad Inception is an incredible film. All these people posting reviews stating that it is hard to follow could not be more wrong. The film has a lot going on but they make it as easy to follow as possible. Also people saying that Nolan is a bad filmmaker are watching the wrong films. I bet they think Brett Ratner and Paul WS Anderson are groundbreaking directors. The world needs more Nolans and less Rush Hour and Resident Evil directors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteGJul 23, 2010
A well-written, intelligent masterpiece that manages to maintain coherence, unlike the smug "clever" films of recent years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreiZ.Jul 24, 2010
Best movie I've seen in a long time... a loooong time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChuckJul 27, 2010
Hollywood would call the BO on this film a "builder" - an understatement at best. One of the best films of the last 10 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DillonC.Jul 29, 2010
One of the BEST movies I have ever seen! I was completely blown away by Marion Cotillard, she played the part so well and i was completely mystified by her elegance. Leo was fantastic, as always, and I was very impressed by Ellen Page and One of the BEST movies I have ever seen! I was completely blown away by Marion Cotillard, she played the part so well and i was completely mystified by her elegance. Leo was fantastic, as always, and I was very impressed by Ellen Page and Joseph Gordon-Levitt's performances. Overall this movie was great! I already saw it twice and i might just have to see it again! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulLJul 30, 2010
Amazing movie. Christopher Nolan has done it again. I went to see this movie knowing that it would be great, but it ended up being GLORIOUS! I was amazed by the fight scenes, and was awed by the thought that was put into every detail. I Amazing movie. Christopher Nolan has done it again. I went to see this movie knowing that it would be great, but it ended up being GLORIOUS! I was amazed by the fight scenes, and was awed by the thought that was put into every detail. I watched it 3 times now and Im planning on seeing it again. A must see, but not for the viewer that lacks the ability to pay attention. Some say it was confusing, but it only was confusing if u didnt pay attention. My 8 year old nephew understood everything, and wouldnt stop analyzing every detail. Beautifully made movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobW.Jul 30, 2010
Quite possibly the best film I've ever seen. Engrossing throughout and compulsory to re-watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
billJul 30, 2010
This movie is awesome! Its a well told story with great acting by a well rounded cast and Nolan's really shows off his directing skills. Visually stunning!!! Anyone who says otherwise probably didn't understand it the first time around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DIegoH.Jul 16, 2010
One of the best films I've seen in a long time. This is a film that doesn't really go away from you when you're done watching it, and makes you think deeply. Certainly a film that should be seen multiple times to fully One of the best films I've seen in a long time. This is a film that doesn't really go away from you when you're done watching it, and makes you think deeply. Certainly a film that should be seen multiple times to fully understand and love it even more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CalebR.Jul 16, 2010
A classic in the making... This is a film that will go down as one of the greatest films ever! I am not going to waste my time trying to explain the film to you guys as it is a film you just need to see! 10 Stars and one of the greatest films ever!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
BrandonHenkeJul 16, 2010
Pure enjoyment from start to finish. An awe inspiring movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LexK.Jul 16, 2010
Wonderfull! One of the greatest films ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdityaM.Jul 16, 2010
This movie has Stunning Visuals, a stirring storyline and a Captivating Narration. What more?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisF.Jul 16, 2010
Man there are a lot of simpletons on here that seem to want to bash the movie only because it is a bit too complex for their liking. The movie was absolutely brilliant! The storyline was so intricate and well-woven only made better by the Man there are a lot of simpletons on here that seem to want to bash the movie only because it is a bit too complex for their liking. The movie was absolutely brilliant! The storyline was so intricate and well-woven only made better by the great cast that portrayed it. I saw it last night and I am still thinking about it. Sure there were a lot of gunfights and explosions and such, but the difference here was that I actually CARED about the people in the fights, and they were effectively used to tell the story. Don't let these haters sway you from seeing this movie, it's probably the smartest bit of entertainment that will be pumped out of hollywood in quite some time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
BudBlueJul 16, 2010
Like a mix of The Matrix and Ocean's Eleven... A fantastic (if at times confusing) film where reality is not as certain as you might think.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JivanA.Jul 16, 2010
To be honest, I've been on metacritic for many years, looking to this site as a sort for reviews. To decide the films I choose to watch, I use a combination of what the critics say plus the user reviews. In all my time here, i've To be honest, I've been on metacritic for many years, looking to this site as a sort for reviews. To decide the films I choose to watch, I use a combination of what the critics say plus the user reviews. In all my time here, i've NEVER felt obliged to sign up to leave a review. This movie was pure fantastic in film form. It's a bit of a mind-bender, as it deals with consciousness and reality on multiple levels, through the state of dreaming, but if you go in with an open mind and pay attention, you'll love the entire experience, from start to finish. I do highly suggest seeing it in IMAX, it makes the experience everso that much better. Happy viewing all! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
RCColaJul 16, 2010
This was an excellent movie, a rare movie with a great intelligent plot. It was original and probably one of the best movies ive seen in a long time. Is anybody else sick of seeing crappy review after crappy review of good movies lately? The This was an excellent movie, a rare movie with a great intelligent plot. It was original and probably one of the best movies ive seen in a long time. Is anybody else sick of seeing crappy review after crappy review of good movies lately? The only reason these people have given bad reviews is because they couldnt understand it, which I get, but that doesnt mean it was a bad movie just because YOU didnt get it. If you did understand it, you most likely would have enjoyed this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
trentaJul 16, 2010
This movie was amazing and as for the first tom M. up there who gave this a zero... batman has no jurisdiction. he will find you and make you squeal. just kiddin but your opinion is terrible. you dont like a movie because you arent smart This movie was amazing and as for the first tom M. up there who gave this a zero... batman has no jurisdiction. he will find you and make you squeal. just kiddin but your opinion is terrible. you dont like a movie because you arent smart enough to understand it? Go watch "Wolverine" and dont bother with any of Chris Nolan's films any more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelH.Jul 16, 2010
I am what you'd call a movie buff, and this is the best movie I've ever seen. I can't recommend or elaborate any more, go see it, seriously. It doesn't deserve the 1-10 scale so instead of looking at the number of my I am what you'd call a movie buff, and this is the best movie I've ever seen. I can't recommend or elaborate any more, go see it, seriously. It doesn't deserve the 1-10 scale so instead of looking at the number of my rating just know you need to go see this movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
ToddK.Jul 16, 2010
A mindf**k. A meditation on the nature of reality vs. perception. One thing's for certain. It's a movie that each person will take something different away with them from.
6 of 10 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Jul 16, 2010
The exponentially smart and puzzling "Inception" did a number on my brain. It's hard to describe a movie like this, you just have to see it for yourself!
8 of 13 users found this helpful
10
HerbleB.Jul 16, 2010
The mindblower of all films.
8 of 13 users found this helpful
10
SudipD.Jul 16, 2010
One of the best movie i've ever seen
6 of 11 users found this helpful
10
BradA.Jul 16, 2010
Wow! this movie was unlike everything i have ever seen. now i know how people felt when they first saw 2001 or blade runner.
6 of 10 users found this helpful
10
JacobB.Jul 16, 2010
THis movie is flawless. It is original and gripping. If you don't like this movie it means you got confused watching it, which is really sad because I feel like Christopher Nolan handed us a road map and gave us "YOU ARE HERE" updates THis movie is flawless. It is original and gripping. If you don't like this movie it means you got confused watching it, which is really sad because I feel like Christopher Nolan handed us a road map and gave us "YOU ARE HERE" updates every 5 minutes. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JustinM.Jul 17, 2010
Firstly let me say that the pro critics shown on this page that rated Inception low, very low, must have only watched the completely silent, totally uninformative trailer (the original short). Either they didn't watch it or they are Firstly let me say that the pro critics shown on this page that rated Inception low, very low, must have only watched the completely silent, totally uninformative trailer (the original short). Either they didn't watch it or they are genuinely not smart enough to break the relatively steep learning curve of the movie quickly enough to enjoy it. And the learning curve is indeed steep. The movie progresses quickly and if you aren't quite able to work out the concepts that are "between the lines" you might end up leaving thinking what David Edelstein wrote in his review: "Inception manages to be clunky and confusing on four separate levels of reality." What he writes here is only half true. The movie is a bit confusing and leaves a lot of the thought work to the audience. It is NOT however "clunky"; the concepts are provided very elegantly and with great depth from the start. Here is what I feel is one of the dumbest of the reviews of this movie, it is by Nick Pinkerton of the Village Voice. He says: "It's obvious that Nolan either can't articulate or doesn't believe in a distinction between living feelings and dreams" I was honestly totally blown away by the sheer idiocy this comment. Why? Inception spends the entire movie explaining EXACTLY this. The idea that (quoting Pinkerton again) the "distinction between living feelings and dreams" can become forever blurred is probably the single most critical concept of Inception. It provides the foundation for the antagonist and the dramatic aspects, the consequences of failure and death in this otherwise safe dreamworld. Remove this foundation and the movie becomes nothing more simple and dull action movie. It is blatantly obvious that Nick Pinkerton either didn't even watch Inception in whole or it simply was far above his ability to think critically; flying over his head with such speed there must be a burn mark. Moving on from the critics, the movie is quite good. It is smart and thought provoking, the kind of movie that keeps you excitedly discussing it with your friends on the ride home. It is an action movie that is spared from the current tediousness of action movies by the critical dramatic tenants of love, loss (and the ability to cope with it) and the sense of terrible consequences of failure, keeping you sitting upright and empathetic to the characters for the whole movie. That is really saying something considering that the movie is rather long at 2 hours and 30 minutes. This sort of length has ruined some movies by keeping you so long it becomes impossible to keep interest, ruining the whole experience. This is NOT the case with Inception. When the movie ended I was hugely surprised that so much time had passed. Inception keeps you fully engaged the entire movie and even after two and a half hours you'll find yourself wishing there was more. With the above in mind remember to hit the bathroom before the movie because there is simply no moment of the movie that is good to leave during, every moment is important and great. Go see it, I promise you'll like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlR.Jul 17, 2010
Not quite perfect, but a *lot* of fun to watch with a mind bending plot that leaves all other summer block busters in the dust.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RPJul 17, 2010
Pure genius. Christopher Nolan has invented a wholly original and thoughtful film that takes you in to the hear of dreams. The visual effects, sound editing, and sound mixing are spectacular. If you pay attention throughout the entire film, Pure genius. Christopher Nolan has invented a wholly original and thoughtful film that takes you in to the hear of dreams. The visual effects, sound editing, and sound mixing are spectacular. If you pay attention throughout the entire film, you will not find it too confusing at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WayneB.Jul 17, 2010
So Avatar and Toy Story got Higher Reviews. Clearly there are people in this world who don't appreciate great casting, acting, story, action and suspense. And would Ratherhave Movies like avatar and Toy story 3 that are not bad. But So Avatar and Toy Story got Higher Reviews. Clearly there are people in this world who don't appreciate great casting, acting, story, action and suspense. And would Ratherhave Movies like avatar and Toy story 3 that are not bad. But lack most of the above. Ps. not to sound cliche, but this was the first movie i was actually on the Edge of my Seat (along with everyone else in the Cinema). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanJul 17, 2010
Destined to be my favorite movie of all time. Stretches the mind as far as it can go and will leave you thinking for a long time. It also has an uncanny ability to weed out the idiots amongst our society. The critics who gave it 70% or less Destined to be my favorite movie of all time. Stretches the mind as far as it can go and will leave you thinking for a long time. It also has an uncanny ability to weed out the idiots amongst our society. The critics who gave it 70% or less and the viewers who rated it 6 or below...all I have to say is survival of the fittest, you lose. Keep up please Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelipeRicoJul 17, 2010
Inception was so awesome,with lots of dreams, awesome setting,cool visual effects,great characters,and mindless fun to watch that sucks into your mind!
4 of 7 users found this helpful
10
GregW.Jul 17, 2010
It's an original concept. Directors, like Quentin Tarantino, Brad Anderson, Paul Thomas Anderson and Christpher Nolan should be commended, because they've been able to entertain us with complex and thought-provoking material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamY.Jul 17, 2010
Simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachC.Jul 17, 2010
Inception was an EPIC movie all the way though it! i was on the edge of my seat! this i most definitely the years best movie yet!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickK.Jul 17, 2010
This movie was great and had a complex plot. Special effects were a nice bonus. If you thought the plot was convoluted or boring... it's because you have the intelligence of a 10 yr old or don't have the attention span to read a book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobP.Jul 17, 2010
Original! Finally a movie that isn't an adaptation of a novel, sequel, or a remake! Excellent acting, amazing storytelling, and awesome visual effects. A movie that deserves Best Picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleJ.Jul 17, 2010
This is an outstanding movie. There isn't much quite like it you, me, or anyone else have ever seen. It is not for your average moviegoer, it doesn't have a dumbed down plot like some consider Avatar of doing and that is perhaps This is an outstanding movie. There isn't much quite like it you, me, or anyone else have ever seen. It is not for your average moviegoer, it doesn't have a dumbed down plot like some consider Avatar of doing and that is perhaps the greatest asset of the film aside from its originality. You WILL be sorry for missing it because after multiple viewings this film has filled the only spot in my mind that says: Masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarrisonH.Jul 17, 2010
Like in Prestige and Memento, Nolan builds scenarios in his movies that rattle the mind, and cause the viewer to question everything they've seen. This is a fantastic movie, and it saddens me that people who can't comprehend the Like in Prestige and Memento, Nolan builds scenarios in his movies that rattle the mind, and cause the viewer to question everything they've seen. This is a fantastic movie, and it saddens me that people who can't comprehend the complexities of this movie have marred the user score and metascore with their negative ratings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JBJul 17, 2010
Leagues beyond what anyone else in Hollywood is able to even dream of, much less create, Christopher Nolan is quite simply the Leonardo Da Vinci of film, and Inception his Mona Lisa.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenC.Jul 17, 2010
This is old fashioned epic movie-making masquerading as a summer blockbuster. The kind of film they don't, but should, make anymore. I fail to see where anyone could find this film confusing or hard to follow. All you need is something This is old fashioned epic movie-making masquerading as a summer blockbuster. The kind of film they don't, but should, make anymore. I fail to see where anyone could find this film confusing or hard to follow. All you need is something called an attention span. It should be a prerequisite for critics to have a certain I.Q. before they are allowed to review films. Best film of the year thus far. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PRichJul 17, 2010
Oscar buzz here we come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobR.Jul 18, 2010
The best movie I have ever seen. Hands down. Watch it. This is the first good movie of the year. Good acting, plot, story, special effects. see it now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianD.Jul 18, 2010
Easily one of the best films of 2010. Sad to see it not gaining the full support of the critics, but something tells me that may be because the director, Chris Nolan, is being held to a higher standard than most (A.O. Scott seemed to be less Easily one of the best films of 2010. Sad to see it not gaining the full support of the critics, but something tells me that may be because the director, Chris Nolan, is being held to a higher standard than most (A.O. Scott seemed to be less than thrilled because it wasn't this century's Blade Runner or 2001 in his opinion, for example). That's too bad. Inception is original film making at its finest and it offers emotional payoff as well as a one hell of a deep labyrinth of a world to get lost in over and over again. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TakutoK.Jul 18, 2010
An intense, thought-provoking mind trip with some of the heaviest tone and mood for a summer movie. After you leave the theater, Inception still stays in your mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CristobalS.Jul 18, 2010
A Modern Movie Masterpiece!! I saw this movie today (7/17) in IMAX with a packed theater and have to say that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Christopher Nolan delivers his finest and most audacious film yet. It is the story A Modern Movie Masterpiece!! I saw this movie today (7/17) in IMAX with a packed theater and have to say that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Christopher Nolan delivers his finest and most audacious film yet. It is the story of an extractor (DiCaprio) a thief who breaks into dreams. He gets cornered into his largest job yet, to break into a businessman's (Murphy) dream and plant information in his mind. To protect the film's twists and turns, I will stop there. The direction is frightening. For a filmmaker to get into our head and make us question reality and fantasy on the screen is almost like controlling our mind. This is what Nolan achieves, and to top it off, his actors give such convincing and realistic performances that we almost feel like we are in the dream with them. Some critics, and they know who they are: Rex Reed and company, who have panned the film believe that Nolan focused on visuals rather than the story and characters, but that is absolute insanity. It should be clear to any viewer that the story and characters are the real effect here. The visuals are amazing, but to be honest, they are supporting the story. They are no "Lord of the Rings" or "Jurassic Park", they aren't that effective. But unlike those two films, they play a psychological role in "Inception". I would be shocked if AMPAS didn't nominate the superb Wally Pheister's cinematography, Hans Zimmer's haunting score, Christopher Nolan's direction, Marion Cotillard's emotional performance, and the supurb editing at the least. The film is more than Best Picture worthy, but given AMPAS's history of nominating films like "The Blind Side", "The Reader", and "Moulin Rouge" rather than the critically acclaimed films, I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't get nominated come next year. Not a safe bet, but I do say with the lack of acclaimed and intelligent films this year it should get a Best Picture nomination. See This Film! The ending is amazing, and if you have at least an 8th Grade reading comprehension level (unlike Rex Reed and Company) you will come back to the theater wanting more and scratching your head. Enjoy! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
bobbobJul 18, 2010
The best film of 2010 hands down. This is Nolan's masterpiece. The Dark Knight was just a warmup to one of the best science fiction films I've ever seen. Up to the last few seconds it was an outstanding film. Once those final The best film of 2010 hands down. This is Nolan's masterpiece. The Dark Knight was just a warmup to one of the best science fiction films I've ever seen. Up to the last few seconds it was an outstanding film. Once those final seconds hit though, the film transcends itself into being one of the best mindbenders I've ever seen. Unlike some films where twists require careful examination whether it makes sense or not, Inception makes you reconsider the film as it works in multiple perspectives. Time will be kind to this masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanL.Jul 18, 2010
This is not only the best film of this year but, it is one of the best films of the 21st century!!!! I have not said that about a single film I've seen in the last 10 years and that is because it took me many viewings of various films This is not only the best film of this year but, it is one of the best films of the 21st century!!!! I have not said that about a single film I've seen in the last 10 years and that is because it took me many viewings of various films to put them into this category. Moives like Children of Men, Zodiac, and Pans Labyrinth where all films that ended up in the 5 or 6 of my top ten list in their respective years but, by the end of last decade had made such a lasting impression I placed them among my favorite films of last decade (also include The Dark Knight). However, I can firmly state that after the first time I saw this film I was sold. This is a masterpiece!!! A word thrown around a lot but, is truly earned here. This is a movie that has caused the less active viewers to have a difficult time with the plot. This makes me love it all the more. I love having my intelligence rewarded. I will not go into extreme depth here because I could describe the whole thing and you still would not get it until you see it. This film is a dual narrative film about a man, Cobb, who has lost his children and wants to get back to them. However, a lingering memory of his dead wife and some false charges will not leave him to move forward and be with them in America. Which leads to the second narrative about a man, Saito, who wants him to implant a memory into his business competitor so that his company can compete in an expanding energy market. Cobb must complete this job and let his wife go so that he can move on with his life. It is also about a host of other things and every character (there are many) is dealt with in a sufficient amount of detail considering all the rules that have to be explained in a movie like this. Some of these characters, Cilian Murphy especially, have emotionally resonant stories of their own that could have been their own little films. This film,however, is an action film and there is no shortage of it. The sustained tensioned created by the amazing editing of Lee Smith and the operatic score of Hans Zimmer is the longest I believe I have been on the edge of my seat in my life. I honestly believe that you can look for this movie to be nominated for close to 10 Academy Awards from Best Picture to Cinematography to Sound to possibly a nod for DiCaprio with the combination of his to fabulous performances this year and the underated Shutter Island less likely to land one (even though I think it is the best performance of the year) . And in a perfect world Christopher Nolan will finally receive his long over due nomination. I saw this movie for the first time Monday then again on Saturday and I still cannot get it off my mind. I know that this will eventually pass but I'm not sure that I want it to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AtticusD.Jul 18, 2010
Although The Prestige is still my favourite of Nolan's works, never mind my favourite movie of all time, Inception is by no means just an alright movie. It is an absolutely perfect, mind-bending thrill ride. Emotionally satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
matta.Jul 18, 2010
I thought this was brillant, great story, brillant acting and a great ending that will have people talking bout this movie for years to come. Nolan has become the greatest director of his genaration mabye one more great film and he could be I thought this was brillant, great story, brillant acting and a great ending that will have people talking bout this movie for years to come. Nolan has become the greatest director of his genaration mabye one more great film and he could be called best ever, di caprio continues his journey to be up there with the greatest. speacial mention for Jospeh gordon-levitt who is such an underated actor hopefully will be recognised up there with di caprio after this. see it for yourself make up your own mind for me possible one of the greatest movies ever made. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MihawkeHawkeyeJul 21, 2010
Will W: "This movie is crap and too absent of logic too make sense. I could go into why but I don't want to spoil it. I feel like I need to go watch Predators again just to clear my palet." This is what annoys me. People who go see a Will W: "This movie is crap and too absent of logic too make sense. I could go into why but I don't want to spoil it. I feel like I need to go watch Predators again just to clear my palet." This is what annoys me. People who go see a masterpiece like Inception and don't understand it seem to activate a self-defense mechanism in their heads which starts to give them the idea that just because the film was too clever it is therefore "absent of logic". Probably the same kind of person who though Transformers 2 was brilliant. Anyway, if anyone is on the fence about this film, GO SEE IT, seriously. You do have to pay attention, but if you do it should not be a problem to follow what is going on, and I assure you what is going on will not disappoint. Only Nolan could cross cut so perfectly between (at one point) four layers of dream action! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SKennyJul 21, 2010
Seriously folks, do not listen to any other the reviewers who vote this movie less than 10. It is truely amazing and if you have half a brain you will love the complex story line and endless sub plots that make 2 and a half literally fly Seriously folks, do not listen to any other the reviewers who vote this movie less than 10. It is truely amazing and if you have half a brain you will love the complex story line and endless sub plots that make 2 and a half literally fly by!!! Best film I can remember seeing for a long while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesusMJul 21, 2010
The ending is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMJul 21, 2010
This film is the best of the year. Period
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LandoP.Jul 20, 2010
As an artist myself, it brings me a lot of joy to say that Inception is one of the best movie ever made. It has everything you would probably want out of an action/adventure/suspense-thriller. Similar to how I felt about Avatar and my As an artist myself, it brings me a lot of joy to say that Inception is one of the best movie ever made. It has everything you would probably want out of an action/adventure/suspense-thriller. Similar to how I felt about Avatar and my journey through the land of Pandora, I got the same guided tour through the dreams of the human mind.It has Casino Royal's gritty, espionage-like feel on top of the Matrix physics defying aggression. The movie literally captivates you for 148 minutes. The movie is epic, in a sense of the word. It takes you from a heavily populated city to Mombasa to some icy fortress. And if you pay attention you can never be confused the characters do a fantastic job of letting you/us the viewer know what's going on, it almost felt as if I was being spoken to directly. Adding to the experience is the superb acting by the entire cast Leonardo is in tip top shape as you would expect but he does not out shine the others, Joseph-Gordon, Ellen Page, Tom Hardy and Marion Cotilliard add phenomenal acting performances to the movie and you just feel, "wow!" I can't forget the score Hans Zimmer did a fantastic job on the score each matched the setting and feel of the backdrop. My favorite is Mombasa. However, the movie has it's hiccups, first there is the score, I know I just said it was amazing and epic. But when a score is that great, epic and loud there are moments where it needs to be tuned down for the sake of the dialogue.There are moments in the movie where the dialogue is supposed to be first to get the point further across however, the score seemed to overshadow it. Another fault was the emotion or from time to time lack-there-of; Leo has many struggles in this movie similar to his character in Shutter Island. But the emotional struggle between Cobbs (Leo) and his wife Mallorie (Cotillard) can feel distant at times. But you do feel the melancholy vibe in certain areas but I wish there was more of that. Bottom line, if you want a movie that gives you everything 100% and that is original, Inception is what you should invest your time in. It. Is. Worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rhettcJul 20, 2010
2nd viewing was even better than the first! An impossibly ambitious premise executed brilliantly by all involved. A lot of exposition but it's all part of the plan (and besides, a lot of the film's detractors complain that 2nd viewing was even better than the first! An impossibly ambitious premise executed brilliantly by all involved. A lot of exposition but it's all part of the plan (and besides, a lot of the film's detractors complain that it's confusing and clunky, and then proceed to do the same regarding the extensive exposition, which is kind of silly). As for the emotional resonance of the film, again the 2nd viewing was more rewarding, which is strange. To the people on here giving this 5 and below, some of the doing so to ostensibly 'balance out the hype"-that's absolutely ridiculous. If you didn't think it was a masterpiece or if you didn't enjoy it well fine-but it's not The Last Airbender or Transformers 2. Is it Kubrick's 2001? Nope. But it is the most cerebral and audacious 160 million dollar summer blockbuster of all time. Oh, and Predators was garbage. Some of you guys who liked Predators probably complained about a movie like Avatar having a regurgitated story (which it obviously does but fortunately it was kind of well mounted hahaha), and a film like Inception being derivative of Dreamscape (as if Nolan would have never come up with his premise if those film's hadn't existed, where). Again, ridiculous. At the absolute least, the debate surrounding the film is an indication that it has accomplished exactly what it was supposed to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoseGJul 21, 2010
Best movie of the summer easily! It had a really lasting effect on me. Definitely worth a second watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KunalK.Jul 20, 2010
With 'Memento', he bent minds with intricacies, with 'The Prestige', he showcased his consistency with finesse and intellect, with 'Batman Begins', he re-introduced a Hero from dark ravines, with 'The Dark With 'Memento', he bent minds with intricacies, with 'The Prestige', he showcased his consistency with finesse and intellect, with 'Batman Begins', he re-introduced a Hero from dark ravines, with 'The Dark Knight', he made iconic history in evil's greatest form and now; with 'Inception', he not only affirms his distinction as the most innovative and compelling film maker of our time but also epitomizes the best of Hollywood's intellectual, visual, graphic, technical, artistic and performing capabilities. His work is by no means inspiring because you simply cannot align your intellect with his imagination. 'Inception' perplexes on two main fronts: First, its mind twisting plot that challenges you through a maze of incredulous events and Second, the ability of the film to visually delineate all the endless possibilities of Nolan's intricately crafted dream world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanM.Jul 20, 2010
It's not confusing if you actually pay attention... this movie was made for philosophical discussion, and I'm sure you'll be researching Rene Descartes after watching it. The action sequences were amazing, effects were superb It's not confusing if you actually pay attention... this movie was made for philosophical discussion, and I'm sure you'll be researching Rene Descartes after watching it. The action sequences were amazing, effects were superb as always. Great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeGJul 21, 2010
Absolutely brilliant. Acting, great writing, presentation ,,, its all there and its there to stay. This is not one of those movies whose name you will struggle to remember 5 years from now. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RegisCJul 20, 2010
Purely brilliant. Not much more I can see that hasn't been said already. A total breathe of fresh air in this stale business. We'll definitely see many Oscar nominations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NelsonR.Jul 20, 2010
Very creative concept that is executed flawlessly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
callumhJul 22, 2010
I walked into this film with great expectations, I have been a Nolan fan since I saw Memento in 2001 when I was looking for a movie at the video library and saw a new Guy Pearce Movie. From that day on I have seen all of Nolan's stuff, I walked into this film with great expectations, I have been a Nolan fan since I saw Memento in 2001 when I was looking for a movie at the video library and saw a new Guy Pearce Movie. From that day on I have seen all of Nolan's stuff, as excited as I was I thought there was no way that this would be as great his last effort, The Dark Knight. Once Inception was over I realised very quickly that I was wrong. Inception is the best film I have seen in a long time, possibly ever! All the cast are simply brilliant from powerhouse Dicaprio to the intermittently seen Berenger. This film for me is an instant classic. I don't want to discuss the film too much because I feel that this film is better to walk into not know what you are going to get. The only advice I can give for this film is don't leave your brain at the door, this ain't Predators! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
leeJul 22, 2010
Do you trust a review to someone who can't spell "palette"? if you didn't understand it, then you either were only looking for special effects or were high. it says something of our society when a film of this magnitude gets bad Do you trust a review to someone who can't spell "palette"? if you didn't understand it, then you either were only looking for special effects or were high. it says something of our society when a film of this magnitude gets bad reviews by people who don't even pay attention to life, much less movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JMJul 22, 2010
Fantastic. What a summer blockbuster should be. Looking forward to a second viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredBJul 23, 2010
Excellent movie, shame that it is too much for simpler folk to grasp as shown in the lower scored reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VirT.Jul 23, 2010
Inception is not a movie, it is a genre in itself. It is a must watch for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephNJul 23, 2010
Definitely the most innovative and original movie of the year with an amazing and metaphorical storyline along with sophisticated visuals that will keep you intrigued throughout the whole two and a half hours.
4 of 7 users found this helpful
10
MoritzTJul 23, 2010
Stunning in every way!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SethBJul 23, 2010
A 10 that makes me sorry i ever gave any other movie a 10. Almost perfect from start to finish! Another thing I love about this movie is that all those bad reviews (with the exception of A.O. Scott's, who always is sensible) make it A 10 that makes me sorry i ever gave any other movie a 10. Almost perfect from start to finish! Another thing I love about this movie is that all those bad reviews (with the exception of A.O. Scott's, who always is sensible) make it easy to tell those who don't have the brain cells to follow a fairly complex film and now we can disregard any of their reviews in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IgalG.Jul 24, 2010
Almost flawless script, emotional intesity, sofiticated action sequenses, great performence by Di'caprio and above all - innovative in nomerous aspecs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarperJJul 24, 2010
The only criticism ("not enough emotion") misses the symbolism and the point of this movie. Inception was brilliantly revealed in layers, like the emotions and psyches of the 2 dominant characters (diCaprio/Murphy). The superficial layer had The only criticism ("not enough emotion") misses the symbolism and the point of this movie. Inception was brilliantly revealed in layers, like the emotions and psyches of the 2 dominant characters (diCaprio/Murphy). The superficial layer had little emotion and the deepest had the most intense. I never write reviews but this movie I have to recommend as one of THE BEST MOVIES that MUST be seen in a theater. Better than Matrix, Malkovich, Memento, Brainstorm and all the other scifi concept movies about Consciousness/Dreams. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewE.Jul 25, 2010
Nolan drifts back to the genius of Momento, accepting what M Night cannot. We can't always be fooled by a movie and Nolan knows this and creates a wonderful facsimile of suprise in this film. We know the end 20 minutes before the film Nolan drifts back to the genius of Momento, accepting what M Night cannot. We can't always be fooled by a movie and Nolan knows this and creates a wonderful facsimile of suprise in this film. We know the end 20 minutes before the film finishes and Nolan knows this and makes a suprise ending none the less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanG.Jul 26, 2010
Fantastic! Captured my attention from the first to the last moment. Even my 70 year old mother in law loved it (even if she didn't understand any of it).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobH.Jul 26, 2010
Inception is *that* movie. The movie everyone will be discussing, debating and analyzing until the end of time. This generation's 2001: A Space Odyssey.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JJJul 27, 2010
Of the five Christopher Nolan films I have seen before this, 4 have been truly exceptional movies, Insomnia was decent. So, I had huge expectations for Inception. It surpassed every one easily. Nolan weaves together a narrative stunning in Of the five Christopher Nolan films I have seen before this, 4 have been truly exceptional movies, Insomnia was decent. So, I had huge expectations for Inception. It surpassed every one easily. Nolan weaves together a narrative stunning in its complexity, while keeping it coherent. I did not find it at all difficult to follow, as paying attention was easy with the spectacular visuals and action that keep even the easily confused glued to the screen. Even if all the small technicalities aren't kept straight in one's mind, the viewer is always aware of the emotional center and feels the gravity of the situation. I walked out of the theater fully satisfied, having enjoyed every moment of the movie right the last brain teasing scene. However, it wasn't until thinking about the plot later, that I began to grasp the true brilliance of it all. This film deals with themes like substance abuse, loss, family, and has religious overtones such as faith, and depictions of hell. While I normally find over-analyzing to be annoying, I can't help but feel that in those 10 years of writing this script, Nolan had a lot to say and created a genius and thought-provoking story on every level. He is the greatest director of hollywood blockbuster's today, bringing originality, emotionally heavy, and intelligent stuff to the table while remaining entertaining as hell. This is his masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaraM.Jul 20, 2010
Of course this movie is the best movie this year till now! It has something different thing. i don't want to say it because it might spoil you from watching the movie. the music was great. What I know is that the director of dark knight Of course this movie is the best movie this year till now! It has something different thing. i don't want to say it because it might spoil you from watching the movie. the music was great. What I know is that the director of dark knight is a really good director and never disappointed me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamWJul 20, 2010
Inception is the movie of the year, It was intense, cerebral, conceptually imaginative and action packed. If only more films were made with this level of ambition and guile the cinema would be a far better place to be. Its a shame that Inception is the movie of the year, It was intense, cerebral, conceptually imaginative and action packed. If only more films were made with this level of ambition and guile the cinema would be a far better place to be. Its a shame that Inception will easily become the quintessential movie of its type, because there really should be more competition for that title. I was disappointed to see critics, obviously used to the likes of Snakes on a Plane and Hot Tub Time Machine, saying that Inception is 'confusing' and 'complicated' when it really isn't. It just happens to be more complicated that the average movie, which really isn't difficult to achieve, and just because you have to keep up during the film and you might be still thinking about it 20 mins after doesn't make it confusing. Come on guys! MAN UP! The thing that I really don't understand is people accusing Inception of being 'boring'. it just might not be your thing, which is fair enough as there's never going to be a movie that everyone likes and connects with, its impossible, however Inception is anything but boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJul 20, 2010
This movie was more than I expected. I went in with huge expectations and this movie exceeded all of them. I really had a hard time leaving the theater, because my eyes just couldn't leave the screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
brandondJul 28, 2010
Movie was great, and certainly connected my emotions...Just because you can't pay attention to a movie for more than two hours does not mean you can bash what your mind could not handle. Try to think during the movie and you will feel Movie was great, and certainly connected my emotions...Just because you can't pay attention to a movie for more than two hours does not mean you can bash what your mind could not handle. Try to think during the movie and you will feel the emotion Nolan delivers. Clap Clap for the movie, well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TvrtkoC.Jul 29, 2010
Honestly. I didn't expect much of this movie, but when it finished I just wanted to watch it again. The movie was just superb! And the special effects also! The one thing I kinda didn't like was the ending, because you don't Honestly. I didn't expect much of this movie, but when it finished I just wanted to watch it again. The movie was just superb! And the special effects also! The one thing I kinda didn't like was the ending, because you don't know what to think, but although anyone is free to think what they want, I think that in the next moment it would fall. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
OliviaGJul 20, 2010
I am 14 and understood this movie completely and thought it was one of the best movies i have seen in my lifetime!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveC.Jul 29, 2010
This is simply a true master-piece, it will also create a path for future film-makers to follow, its original and full of little details that will help you understand (or confuse) completely the plot. One of those movies that you want/have This is simply a true master-piece, it will also create a path for future film-makers to follow, its original and full of little details that will help you understand (or confuse) completely the plot. One of those movies that you want/have to watch over and over again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KennyJ.Jul 30, 2010
Outstanding!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jamesk.Jul 30, 2010
Excellent, non stop action and interesting story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnT.Jul 16, 2010
Visually stunning, psychologically moving.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdrianH.Jul 16, 2010
The more it sinks in, the more I admire Inception. One of the most original movies I have ever seen and complex on so many levels (the art of movie-making, questions of reality, existentialism, etc). Or perhaps this idea was just implanted The more it sinks in, the more I admire Inception. One of the most original movies I have ever seen and complex on so many levels (the art of movie-making, questions of reality, existentialism, etc). Or perhaps this idea was just implanted in my head over night while I was asleep.. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PhilA.Jul 16, 2010
Inception is Nolan's latest perfection. It's twists and turns will have you slamming in to the back of your seat in amazement.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
anandJul 16, 2010
One hell of a thrilling ride into the human subconscious.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackG.Jul 16, 2010
I think, like lost, people expect answers and dismiss anything else. Nolan provides a wonderful world that leaves you understanding to effect your enjoyment; although, simply enjoying it as a science fiction thriller/heist movie is sure to I think, like lost, people expect answers and dismiss anything else. Nolan provides a wonderful world that leaves you understanding to effect your enjoyment; although, simply enjoying it as a science fiction thriller/heist movie is sure to have your heart pounding. Watch this film, and decipher the ending as an interesting exercise rather than something to get worked up about. 10 thumbs up. And a half. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful