Inception

Inception Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 3715 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Dom Cobb is a skilled thief, the absolute best in the dangerous art of extraction, stealing valuable secrets from deep within the subconscious during the dream state, when the mind is at its most vulnerable. Cobb's rare ability has made him a coveted player in this treacherous new world ofDom Cobb is a skilled thief, the absolute best in the dangerous art of extraction, stealing valuable secrets from deep within the subconscious during the dream state, when the mind is at its most vulnerable. Cobb's rare ability has made him a coveted player in this treacherous new world of corporate espionage, but it has also made him an international fugitive and cost him everything he has ever loved. Now Cobb is being offered a chance at redemption. One last job could give him his life back but only if he can accomplish the impossible—inception. Instead of the perfect heist, Cobb and his team of specialists have to pull off the reverse: their task is not to steal an idea but to plant one. If they succeed, it could be the perfect crime. But no amount of careful planning or expertise can prepare the team for the dangerous enemy that seems to predict their every move. An enemy that only Cobb could have seen coming. This summer, your mind is the scene of the crime. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. 100
    This is a deeply felt work of art in the form of a big, brassy movie-movie.
  2. 100
    Inception does a difficult thing. It is wholly original, cut from new cloth, and yet structured with action movie basics so it feels like it makes more sense than (quite possibly) it does.
  3. 100
    In terms of sheer originality, ambition and achievement, Inception is the movie of the summer, the movie of the year and the movie of our dreams.
  4. As engrossing and logic-resistant as the state of dreaming it seeks to replicate, Christopher Nolan's audacious new creation demands further study to fully absorb the multiple, simultaneous stories Nolan finagles into one narrative experience.
  5. 75
    One of the best things about Nolan as a director is that he’s not self-conscious. His movies unfold and fold in on themselves without the strain of labor or flash. But that lack of self-consciousness is also Nolan’s downside.
  6. Stymied by a clunking script, crammed with expository exchanges and urgent blather.
  7. 25
    I'd like to tell you just how bad Inception really is, but since it is barely even remotely lucid, no sane description is possible.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. RedzuanM.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of information, and as the movie plays out the viewer begins to put the pieces together and the picture gradually becomes clearer. Chris Nolan doesn't dumb down the movie for the audience like most Hollywood movies do these days, he expects us to keep up with him. And when we do, the reward is extremely gratifying. And the visuals were amazing. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    I watched Inception and it was the most intelligent movie I've ever seen. It's not a movie that had to be plotted from the beginning, itI watched Inception and it was the most intelligent movie I've ever seen. It's not a movie that had to be plotted from the beginning, it started with an idea (ironically) and it bloomed into a story; middle to end, because there was no beginning, the beginning was the end and how it started.
    Anyone who can say this movie is bad is probably someone who doesn't appreciate true quality. Inception was great because the movie was great; the idea was great, and didn't need to be covered up by sex and gun fights. Anyone who say they didn't like it, don't flame the movie, either you didn't pay attention or it's just not right for you.
    Expand
  3. RCCola
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    This was an excellent movie, a rare movie with a great intelligent plot. It was original and probably one of the best movies ive seen in a This was an excellent movie, a rare movie with a great intelligent plot. It was original and probably one of the best movies ive seen in a long time. Is anybody else sick of seeing crappy review after crappy review of good movies lately? The only reason these people have given bad reviews is because they couldnt understand it, which I get, but that doesnt mean it was a bad movie just because YOU didnt get it. If you did understand it, you most likely would have enjoyed this movie. Expand
  4. May 4, 2013
    10
    I see Inception as a summer movie as much as I see The Dark Knight as a comic book movie, don't really fit together properly. Inception is aI see Inception as a summer movie as much as I see The Dark Knight as a comic book movie, don't really fit together properly. Inception is a psychological thriller, drama, and a mystery; all while still intriguing enough for everyone to enjoy. What Christopher Nolan has accomplished with Inception is not only his masterpiece, but also one of the best sci-fi movies of all time. While this movie can't quite overshadow The Matrix, it does puts the movie to shame and every other movie that deals with the verge between reality and fantasy. The way they explain the mechanics of how the dream works just makes it feel very real (because, in retrospective, they kind of make sense), and the performances in this movie are all excellent; they feel natural and makes you feel like they have done this for ever. The only negative I can think of is that it really takes a lot of concentration to keep up with, because it's very involve with how dreams work. This movie will surpass (if not meet) your expectations because it goes beyond from were you think it's going. I saw it the day that it was released and for does people who said it wasn't cool I told "Then get your tickets for Transformers 2, G.I JOE, or Clash of the Titans, because this is as good as 2010 is going to get". Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This film didn't take me by surprise by how awesome it was. When I first saw the trailer for it I knew it would be another great Nolan film.This film didn't take me by surprise by how awesome it was. When I first saw the trailer for it I knew it would be another great Nolan film. Absolutely, 100% original, the most original film of the year, maybe the decade (yeah, I'll say it). As far as acting and performance value, no one steals the show, but every character is at least a bit intriguing. Incredible visuals and score. The intensity and edge of your seat suspense doesn't end for an entire hour of the film. The screenplay is wonderful. At times, it moves a bit too fast, but with an idea this complex it kind of had to move fast. Astounding direction from Christopher Nolan. As far as entertainment goes, if they can give us better than this, I would love to see it. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    I have seen and loved every one of Nolanâ
  7. JerryH.
    Jul 22, 2010
    0
    What a waste of time and money. I never had the suspension of disbelief required to be part of or absorbed by a movie. The whole time I What a waste of time and money. I never had the suspension of disbelief required to be part of or absorbed by a movie. The whole time I thought, "what a load of crap". It makes The Matrix look simple, linear and sane by comparison. Don't waste your time and money on this movie, even on DVD. I liked the Dark Knight and enjoy Leo iin most of his movies. Big flop. Expand

See all 1064 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.
  2. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  3. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  4. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  5. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we