Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 3, 1996
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 237 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
147
Mixed:
73
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleApr 30, 2016
Typically a movie as dumb, poorly written, and poorly constructed, as Independence Day would draw my ire. However, even I cannot resist its charm. Will Smith, Jeff Goldblum, and Bill Pullman, star in this cheesy, over-the-top 90's actionTypically a movie as dumb, poorly written, and poorly constructed, as Independence Day would draw my ire. However, even I cannot resist its charm. Will Smith, Jeff Goldblum, and Bill Pullman, star in this cheesy, over-the-top 90's action flick that is actually a masterful action film. For all of the films obvious shortcomings across the board, it is an incredibly well made and well crafted action film that sets the stakes, sticks to its rules, and comes up with unique and compelling ways to overcome the problems it puts before its heroes. Additionally, the creature design here is very nice and well done. Though it is dated in some spots, the aliens still look pretty cool. Heck, there is even some solid horror-esque moments here reminiscent of Alien combined with great references to Close Encounters of the Third Kind, 2001: A Space Odyssey, ET, and a few more that I am blanking on. Above all, Independence Day is simply entertaining. While that is often not enough to get the job done for me, it is here. While it may be everything I typically hate in a film, Independence Day stands as the exception and is a truly fun, lively, and bombastic experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysJan 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Independence Day may not be the best story or have the best script in a sci-fi flick, but what Independence Day lacks in depth it makes up for in substance. And you have to admit that the White House blowing up was pretty cool. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
billrullerMar 23, 2012
This movie, I definitely don't understand why people hate this movie. Not one bit! Even when Nostalgia Critic reviewed this, I still didn't understand why he hates it. Most of the time it's either jokes, jokes, and...well, jokes. The jetThis movie, I definitely don't understand why people hate this movie. Not one bit! Even when Nostalgia Critic reviewed this, I still didn't understand why he hates it. Most of the time it's either jokes, jokes, and...well, jokes. The jet fight and the attack of the White House was awesome, Will Smith was pretty cool, Jeff Goldblum was pretty funny as always since Jurassic Park, and I thought the part when the president goes in the fighter jet to fight the aliens very cool. People say it was stupid, well FTW! This was a very awesome movie, and should be taking more credit than how people treat it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jul 5, 2011
Roland Emmerich is a very good director in my opinion and I think his films are pretty good (except Godzilla which was very mediocre IMHO). The Day After Tomorrow was decent, and 2012 wasn't the best, but at least it got me entertained withRoland Emmerich is a very good director in my opinion and I think his films are pretty good (except Godzilla which was very mediocre IMHO). The Day After Tomorrow was decent, and 2012 wasn't the best, but at least it got me entertained with its science like Godzilla. However, one of his best works yet is a sci-fi action flick known as Independence Day. It revolves around an alien invasion on earth as a group of humans set out in convoys towards Area 51, a strange government testing ground where it is rumored the military has a captured alien spacecraft of their own. The survivors devise a plan to fight back against the enslaving aliens, and July 4th becomes the day humanity will fight for its freedom. We already know what it was about because we have seven days until Independence Day as a great holiday. Now I'm going to make my opinion. The only problem that I had with this movie was the special effects. They were kind of cheesy as if they came from the 1970s. As for the rest of the movie, everything turned out great. The acting was terrific, the sci-fi action was pretty damn cool, the storyline was well-paced, the stunts were very cool, and the music score from David Arnold was amazing. Three days ago, there has been great news that Roland Emmerich and Dean Devlin have planned to make not only Independence Day 2, but Independence Day 3 as well and Will Smith will return for those sequels. I bid these guys good luck as Independence Day is not only one the best action movies of all time, but one of the best ones yet. Thumbs up from me. P.S. It's great that I have a different opinion over Roger Ebert and The Nostalgia Critic himself. 8/10 Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ricky1121Oct 8, 2014
The effects are amazing and the film has an excellent cast. The movie is also very realistic. Roland Emmerich makes the best disaster films. I just wish we saw more aliens.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
JamesH.Dec 27, 2007
This movie has a permanent spot in my top-five movies list. Five-star special effects, great acting, good plot, and everyone gets a few great lines. The President's speech just before the final battle is unforgettable. Easily earns a This movie has a permanent spot in my top-five movies list. Five-star special effects, great acting, good plot, and everyone gets a few great lines. The President's speech just before the final battle is unforgettable. Easily earns a place in any sci fi or action movie lover's library. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
A great sci-fi classic is Independence Day, an alien invasion film which works on many levels. It's humorous in places, and has good, dramatic acting all tied together with good effects and a tense score.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Apr 3, 2012
Independence Day is an excellent sci-fiction movie. The movie truly blows you away. The visuals are spectacler. The aliens are very interesting and the more important thing, so are the charcters. A truly classic sci-fiction film.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
AnsonGJun 10, 2006
Cool, i liked this film. U can see jets and alien ship plied the skies like Star Wars. I'm tellin u, it was great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlanGJun 17, 2010
Not quite enough action, but still really cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JacobFeb 25, 2014
I may be biased as I love the style of filmmaking from the 90s but I really enjoyed this film. I will admit that it has problems like a somewhat cheesy tone but I like the characters and the story flows nicely. Plus, the flying sequences areI may be biased as I love the style of filmmaking from the 90s but I really enjoyed this film. I will admit that it has problems like a somewhat cheesy tone but I like the characters and the story flows nicely. Plus, the flying sequences are cool. The effects were probably groundbreaking back then and still hold up today, and the film looks great visually. Definitely check this one out if you haven’t seen it already. If this film was a summer blockbuster then awesome because this would have been a great theater going experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
muzzikloverJun 4, 2011
A very fun film in its own right. Unlike future Emmerich films, this one never takes itself to seriously and is subtly aware of its plot holes, scientific inaccuracy and bad acting so it just makes it look like it's a film made for fun.A very fun film in its own right. Unlike future Emmerich films, this one never takes itself to seriously and is subtly aware of its plot holes, scientific inaccuracy and bad acting so it just makes it look like it's a film made for fun. Special effects are great (and truthfully and utterly non-CGI) and of course WILL SMITH, the king of cool, is in it. That should be the very delicious icing on a particularly mediocre tasting cake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JAM123Oct 22, 2011
It was really good movie. Cool special effects and good cast. I love those alien invasion movies, they're interesting and cool and Will Smith just made it 20 times better. "Welcome to Earth."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TAMPjackoonOct 7, 2011
I don't understand, why don't people completely adore this movie? I did...almost. The characters were great, some you love, some you hate, the thing is they make the characters so easy to hate or love, and that and they don't have a lot ofI don't understand, why don't people completely adore this movie? I did...almost. The characters were great, some you love, some you hate, the thing is they make the characters so easy to hate or love, and that and they don't have a lot of background, don't get me wrong they have great personalities, but they're kinda basic. It's a bit light on story, I don't wanna spoil, and it does have a purpose for the aliens, but I think the purpose could've been better. These flaws behind, it's a really good time, especially if you have others with you. It's action packed with explosions, great sense of humor, some touching moments, it's great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeJun 29, 2016
The classic sci-fi flick ”Independence Day” was a gigantic box office hit. It might be a bit cheesy from a long-term perspective but it’s still a fun ride! The film introduces our main characters pretty quickly and we get some understandingThe classic sci-fi flick ”Independence Day” was a gigantic box office hit. It might be a bit cheesy from a long-term perspective but it’s still a fun ride! The film introduces our main characters pretty quickly and we get some understanding and inside to them -- but there could have been way more growth, depth and basic inside to them. Because a film is supposed to be about real people, not groovy action. We do get some basic romance between some of the characters, in an acceptable amount but not more. The characters in the story are very patriotic -- and much of the film got this “we’re all in this together” & “for the common good”-feel, and it’s a great ride with many one-liners. It’s a pure popcorn flick, that might lack character depth and of course; less plot-twists & convenient events. But who gives a damn; it’s a fun film -- for one viewing.

Personal rating: 77/100
Critical rating: 71/100
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BabinskiJul 15, 2016
People may complain, critics may bash it, but the truth is that Independence Day set the standards for disaster/alien invasion movies, all subsequent movies of these genres were compared to it, that's why it 's still remembered and loved toPeople may complain, critics may bash it, but the truth is that Independence Day set the standards for disaster/alien invasion movies, all subsequent movies of these genres were compared to it, that's why it 's still remembered and loved to this day. And it is not a bad movie, I'd say it is a good as a disaster movie can be, besides being very memorable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ardania22Apr 28, 2014
Is it overblown, overacted, and under-thought? Yes. But therein lies its charm. Because it doesn't take itself too seriously, because it's just out to blow stuff up and kick ass, it works. It's not a masterpiece, but it's damn good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
bfoore90Nov 19, 2015
A timeless film, very similar to Armageddon in terms of being one of those movies that you loved as a kid. Yeah, now as I've grown alot of its themes are pretty dumb but all in all, its a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscAug 17, 2014
How Emmerich created aliens in Independence day. the screenplay in this movie is like the 80's. A !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SyFyMovieGuySep 2, 2014
I think Roland Emmerich should be proud! Independence Day is downright an amazing alien invasion flick. Why, its one of my favorites. I have seen this when I was little, and kind of grew up with it, but I grew up more with "2012" which isI think Roland Emmerich should be proud! Independence Day is downright an amazing alien invasion flick. Why, its one of my favorites. I have seen this when I was little, and kind of grew up with it, but I grew up more with "2012" which is also one of favorites. Independence Day has great actors, Will Smith is a cool and funny guy just like in "Hancock" and "I, robot". He is very likable. Anyway, this is about aliens taking over our planet and the ships are just really huge they cover entire cities and that's its great to see. I have the movie and seen it many times and seen it on my RCN cable many times as well. The special effects and the destruction of major cities are just fabulous as humanity is faced with the aliens. Roland Emmerich I admire you and your movies. And I don't care if people hate you or don't like your movies because....I do not care....much. Just remember you have an admirer and I wanna be just like you Roland Emmerich, destroying the world over and over. And you know what I mean by that Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Jan 30, 2015
Independence Day has some amazing special effects. I think they would really even hold up today. All the destruction and explosion of buildings could not be more awesome. I like the idea to go with an ensemble cast rather than focus on oneIndependence Day has some amazing special effects. I think they would really even hold up today. All the destruction and explosion of buildings could not be more awesome. I like the idea to go with an ensemble cast rather than focus on one hero going against an impossible enemy, but I also find that having the big cast of heroes makes the movie a little too long. I also would have liked to see more of Will Smith and Jeff Goldblum onscreen together. They were kind of an unlikely pair up and I thought they were pretty good together for the short time that they had each to work off of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KaprawiecDec 7, 2016
Funny, action packed and even a bit scary (scene with the glass). And great role by Will Smith. Overall excellent alien invasion movie. Plain fun - and after the first one - don't bother with the sequel/remake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mm007Jun 29, 2016
[7/10]
better than average.
-------------------------------------
PROS:
1.Good action.
2.awesome sci-fi ideas, effects.
3.Aliens.
------------------------------------
CONS:
1.Lengthy
2.boring in the middle part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 26, 2015
An absolute classic action movie. Great acting from Will Smith and a great storyline. Special effects are good, when you consider how "old" this movie is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
geo333Feb 8, 2016
Action and intrigue add to that the great special effects that the film had, However those effects haven't age well, howbeit the performances and the story are still a pleasure to watch. In the end, Independence day is a great action pack movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RickyReviewsFeb 17, 2016
Quite simply the best film Emmerich ever made. Amazing special effects, were the best until San Andreas came around in 2015. However, for a 1996, the effects still astonish me. Some cliches and cheesy lines, but not over the top. Bill PullmanQuite simply the best film Emmerich ever made. Amazing special effects, were the best until San Andreas came around in 2015. However, for a 1996, the effects still astonish me. Some cliches and cheesy lines, but not over the top. Bill Pullman as president is an added plus. Will Smith I could do without. I love Jeff Goldblum in this. If you love disaster movies, I truly recommend Independence Day. Hopefully, the sequel won't disappoint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Antgiog1202Jul 2, 2016
"And should we win the day, the 4th of July will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the day when the world declared in one voice: we will not go quietly into the night!" Independence Day was an idiotic film, but at the same"And should we win the day, the 4th of July will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the day when the world declared in one voice: we will not go quietly into the night!" Independence Day was an idiotic film, but at the same time, it was also a great one. It's not meant to fascinate you; it's meant for enjoyment and a whole lot of fun. If you look at it that way, then you can forget the fact that this can be a dull creation and enjoy it's blockbuster, CGI, action sequences and most of the characters too.

Rating: 8/10

A+ = 10
A = 9
A- = 8
B+ = 7
B = 6
B- = 5
C+ = 4
C = 3
C- = 2.5
D+ = 2
D = 1.5
D- = 1
F = 0
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KingofdanerdsNov 17, 2016
Another great movie that never gets old. I mean Jeff Goldblum and freakin Will Smith just top this movie.Just better hope the new one is just as good. 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnfiskariOct 3, 2017
This film is very exiting. And this is one of only mass destruction movie what i can watch and enjoy. And this film has great acting. This is one of the films what everyone should see in their lifetime.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews