Independence Day Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Mysterious and powerful aliens launch an all-out invasion against the human race. The spectacle begins when massive spaceships appear in Earth's skies. But wonder turns to terror as the ships blast destructive beams of fire down on cities all over the planet. Now the world's only hope liesMysterious and powerful aliens launch an all-out invasion against the human race. The spectacle begins when massive spaceships appear in Earth's skies. But wonder turns to terror as the ships blast destructive beams of fire down on cities all over the planet. Now the world's only hope lies with a determined band of survivors, uniting for one last strike against the invaders - before it's the end of all mankind. [20th Century Fox] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. The alien attack, taking place in several cities at once, is breathtaking...All the same, Independence Day is consistently funny.
  2. It's the first futuristic disaster movie that's as cute as a button. Which, when all the special effects blow over, is what we Americans like in a monster hit.
  3. Two reasons it's impossible to resist "Independence Day": because of its pitch-perfect cartoonish dialogue ("Now you're never gonna get to fly the space shuttle if you marry a stripper!") and because the Captain, like Indiana Jones, is so unflappably tough.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    The cutting-edge perfection of effects in Cameron and Spielberg films is replaced here by work that looks more homemade, particularly toward the end in some faintly cheesy composite shots.
  5. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 26, 2013
    50
    Emmerich succeeds only in making his previous venture, the marginal Stargate, look positively inspired by comparison.
  6. The action is fast, furious, and loaded with explosive effects, but the theme is a regrettable return to the us-against-them paranoia that dominated much science fiction in the cold-war era.
  7. 30
    An overgrown hybrid of disaster epic, can-do combat adventure and '50s sci-fi movie, this craft has visited our world many times before. And while she's a beaut, the sticker on her titanium bumper reads: "Been There, Done That, Beam Me Up, Scotty."

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 55
  2. Negative: 7 out of 55
  1. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    The effects are amazing and the film has an excellent cast. The movie is also very realistic. Roland Emmerich makes the best disaster films. IThe effects are amazing and the film has an excellent cast. The movie is also very realistic. Roland Emmerich makes the best disaster films. I just wish we saw more aliens. Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    A great sci-fi classic is Independence Day, an alien invasion film which works on many levels. It's humorous in places, and has good, dramaticA great sci-fi classic is Independence Day, an alien invasion film which works on many levels. It's humorous in places, and has good, dramatic acting all tied together with good effects and a tense score. Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2016
    8
    Independence Day isn't necessarily a great film; it's dumb, cheesy, and even a little messy. However, the film is made with plenty of heart,Independence Day isn't necessarily a great film; it's dumb, cheesy, and even a little messy. However, the film is made with plenty of heart, with great special effects (when not looking a tad dated), likeable characters, committed performances, quotable dialogue, thrilling action sequences, and a fantastic musical score. Sure it's dumb, but overall Independence Day is a wildly entertaining film that is as charming as it is fun. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    7
    I may be biased as I love the style of filmmaking from the 90s but I really enjoyed this film. I will admit that it has problems like aI may be biased as I love the style of filmmaking from the 90s but I really enjoyed this film. I will admit that it has problems like a somewhat cheesy tone but I like the characters and the story flows nicely. Plus, the flying sequences are cool. The effects were probably groundbreaking back then and still hold up today, and the film looks great visually. Definitely check this one out if you haven’t seen it already. If this film was a summer blockbuster then awesome because this would have been a great theater going experience. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    "Independence Day" is a 1996 Roland Emmerich film starring Will Smith and Bill Pullman. Now, let me preface this review by saying that I'm not"Independence Day" is a 1996 Roland Emmerich film starring Will Smith and Bill Pullman. Now, let me preface this review by saying that I'm not really a fan of Roland Emmerich movies. I usually find them to be heavy on special effects, rather flimsy on worthwhile narrative substance, and shoddy in terms of character development. Now before I go on, I know what you're thinking - "Well what the heck do I care about those last two things, all I need is explosions." That's fine I guess. It's just that I'd rather have a well crafted story featuring explosions that endanger characters I actually give a crap about than the aforementioned. Now with that said, is "Independence Day" the former or the latter? It's a little bit of both. This movie is not total bad but it does have it's moments. Thankfully the good moments outweigh the bad ones. Yes, the character development is rather nonexistent. This is mainly because of the fact that there are way too many characters in this film altogether, so even the slightest hint of any sort of character arc is almost impossible/undetectable. The plot is rather stale, and there are a handful of plotholes and inconsistencies throughout, but there isn't really any dynamic of this plot that is so flagrantly bad one can't sit through it without feeling entertained. I had mixed feelings about some of the lines in this film. Some of them were pumped with so much 90's action cheese It made me want to gauge my eyes out with a pinecone, but there were others that made me laugh/smile some. As most Roland Emmerich films go, the special effects end up looking unbelievable and it's no different for "Independence Day". The fact that this film came out in 1996 is still a shocker to me. The acting is great in some places, while lacking in others. Bill Pullman had one of the best performances in the film, as did Jeff Goldblum. Overall, It's apparent that "Independence Day" is one of Roland Emmerich's best films, if not his best, and it is indeed very entertaining. Expand
  6. May 3, 2015
    5
    a guilty pleasure it's a bad movie but it is just so fun. I love it I hate it I love it I hate it it's bad and good at the same time. ita guilty pleasure it's a bad movie but it is just so fun. I love it I hate it I love it I hate it it's bad and good at the same time. it just love it hate it. Expand
  7. JaredChristenson
    Oct 2, 2007
    0
    The special effects aren't bad, character use magnificent, story pretty superb, acting okay, but it is absolutely cheesy every second. The special effects aren't bad, character use magnificent, story pretty superb, acting okay, but it is absolutely cheesy every second. There is one really funny part and thats it, there are several smiles and giggles of entertainment, the action totally passes, the plot has so much and flies. But the lamest part of it all is that the German Shepherd survives a jump into a truck with fire flaming 1 centimetere away from him. And the president's wife goes in a Helicopter and the Helicopter blows up in an instant noticable explosion, and the girl lives lying on the ground with just a bleed and dust particles on her face. when she should have a dissinagrated head and organs melted. That was the main road of the story which is lame, and it really drags on near the end. I just found it boring and unsuccesful, overall not worth it. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.
  2. 20 Movies With Fake US Presidents, Ranked

    20 Movies With Fake US Presidents, Ranked Image
    Published: June 14, 2016
    We rank 20 films featuring fictitious American presidents.
  3. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  4. Film Friday (5/27): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (5/27): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: May 27, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Star Trek Beyond, Beauty and the Beast, Wiener-Dog, Finding Dory, Independence Day: Resurgence, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.