Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 22, 2008
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1153 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
466
Mixed:
325
Negative:
362
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
NelB.May 27, 2008
It was on par with Temple of Doom. Not as good as the 1st or 3rd movie. Maybe Lucas needs to stop writing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarthDeadMay 29, 2008
Indiana Jones 4 is like the other Indy Movies. It is genius especially the dialogs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackMay 29, 2008
This movie was exactly what I expected: another indiana jones movie. This movie is getting trashed in the exact same way Speed Racer got trashed. The critics and audience seemed to have expected some deep philisophical dialogue, but they This movie was exactly what I expected: another indiana jones movie. This movie is getting trashed in the exact same way Speed Racer got trashed. The critics and audience seemed to have expected some deep philisophical dialogue, but they forgot what Indy is all about. This movie is packed full of adventure, and the humorous dialogue is still just as funny as the original movies. So what if it's unbelievable? Spirits coming out of the ark are just as unrealistic. In my opinion, Lucas and Spielberg did a fantastic job at making another Indy thrill ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnS.May 29, 2008
Sure one finds many flaws if one wants to. I don't. Indy 4 is alltogether a nice piece of entertainment and pure escapism. Everybody who expected more might be dissappointet. To those I say: Better a bad Indy than no Indy at all ;)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanHMay 30, 2008
After reading all of the horrible reviews I thought this was going to be a real stinker. Turns out it was an enjoyable experience. Not great by any means, but certainly not the disaster a lot of people have made it out to be. A fun ride, and After reading all of the horrible reviews I thought this was going to be a real stinker. Turns out it was an enjoyable experience. Not great by any means, but certainly not the disaster a lot of people have made it out to be. A fun ride, and gets a solid grade B from me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenjyxMay 30, 2008
I dont know what everyones problem with this was. Spoiler* the aliens reflected the time and if you thought they were ridiculous what about the melting faces and invisible paths that have graced over jone's films. It was a very good I dont know what everyones problem with this was. Spoiler* the aliens reflected the time and if you thought they were ridiculous what about the melting faces and invisible paths that have graced over jone's films. It was a very good film that didn't take itself seriously and was fun what more can you want from it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanLJun 10, 2008
I really have to laugh at all of the people below who rated this movie a zero. Please ignore those reviews and realize that those people are being incredibly dramatic. This is not the Indiana Jones we remember from the 80's, but I really have to laugh at all of the people below who rated this movie a zero. Please ignore those reviews and realize that those people are being incredibly dramatic. This is not the Indiana Jones we remember from the 80's, but it's not a complete failure either. If you're expecting to see another masterpiece like Raiders of the Lost Ark, yeah... you'll most likely be VERY disappointed. If you're expecting a summer blockbuster with huge production values and fun action scenes, you'll leave the theater satisfied. Sure, some of the CGI is unconvincing and the movie's theme is far too Sci Fi for the Indy franchise, but it's all very entertaining if you can see past those shortcomings. Don't pay any attention to the people below... this is not the disaster that the second Star Wars trilogy was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZekeB.Jun 11, 2008
I thought it was as good as expected. I enjoy these kind of plot lines.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartinHJun 1, 2008
First, as with any movie, try to not read or watch too much about it before you see it. It's always best to let the story reveal itself to you as the director intended. This is definitely a fun movie to see and I highly recommend it. First, as with any movie, try to not read or watch too much about it before you see it. It's always best to let the story reveal itself to you as the director intended. This is definitely a fun movie to see and I highly recommend it. Lots of action. Fun lines. Old, and new, friends. A little romance. Now onto the [***SPOILER***] part of my review: It is interesting to read how other people are complaining that the plot seemed silly or how in real life something like that could never happen. So, an ark with the power to level armies is real? Or a knight can live eternal guarding the cup of Christ? Or an evil high-priest can grab the beating heart out of a living man? All of the Indy movies are unbelievable and a bit silly (they are, after all, an homage to the 1930 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimmyW.Jun 13, 2008
Entertaining, Ox was hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PamelaD.Jun 15, 2008
Welcome back Indie! You still got it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucaM.Jun 17, 2008
A true master piece! Everyones needs at least to 2 view to be capable of fully appreciate all its potential !!! Better than Raider to me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkK.Jun 18, 2008
Still Indy so still worthy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeJun 2, 2008
A great movie, one of the best in the Indy Franchise and well worth the price of admission. Probably the best movie I have seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZaneA.Jun 20, 2008
To all how didn't like the film I say you all have no imagination! This was the best film I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpudgunJun 22, 2008
After reading some of the users comments I expected to be disappointed with this film, however I was surprised to find my self leaving the cinema thinking what a great movie, not perfect by any means but very entertaining and even the bride After reading some of the users comments I expected to be disappointed with this film, however I was surprised to find my self leaving the cinema thinking what a great movie, not perfect by any means but very entertaining and even the bride said she enjoyed and i had to drag her kicking and screaming to cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RossB.Jun 23, 2008
Fantastic fun in classic Indy style - if you loved last crusade you'll really enjoy this one....ok, there's a couple of scenes that shouldn't be there, but there are also some amazing moments, and john williams score is Fantastic fun in classic Indy style - if you loved last crusade you'll really enjoy this one....ok, there's a couple of scenes that shouldn't be there, but there are also some amazing moments, and john williams score is amazing as usual. Don't believe the haters - dr.jones is back! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimP.Jun 4, 2008
Just plain fun! Is it the best Indy movie? No, but it provides a ton of laughs, thrilling action sequences and classic Indy moments. This two hour movie went by fast, which is a good sign. I love the Indiana Jones movies and would highly Just plain fun! Is it the best Indy movie? No, but it provides a ton of laughs, thrilling action sequences and classic Indy moments. This two hour movie went by fast, which is a good sign. I love the Indiana Jones movies and would highly recommend this one. Don't be dismayed by the disgruntled fanboys - Cyrstal Skull is totally worth a viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherQ.Jun 7, 2008
Entertaining. Very comparable to the other ones. Good for a single watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClydeK.Jun 9, 2008
I'm happy to say that unlike the new "Star Wars" movies, Indy 4 does not try to be anything that the previous Indy movies were not. It's still just pure, cheesy, thrilling old-fashioned fun, evoking old movie serials and sci-fi I'm happy to say that unlike the new "Star Wars" movies, Indy 4 does not try to be anything that the previous Indy movies were not. It's still just pure, cheesy, thrilling old-fashioned fun, evoking old movie serials and sci-fi b-movies from the 50s. After 19 years, even the distinct 80s charm that the movie has feels retro and completely welcome among all this year's other summer blockbusters. The actors and actresses totally ham it up and they all look like they are having an absolute blast (especially Karen Allen who returns to the series after a 27 year abscence). Any worries I had that the series' concept would not survive the transition into the Cold War era were cleared up for me the moment Blanchett's KGB character, Irina Spalko, utters her first lines in that completely ridiculous Russian accent. The script makes constant reference to Indy's age, but Ford is better-than-ever (and still quite handsome, I must add) as the bull-whipping adventurer and part-time professor of archeology. Thanks so much to everyone involved in getting this movie made (finally!) and here's hoping they'll bring Indy back for at least one more film before he hangs up that fedora for good... and that we won't have to wait another 19 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianFJun 9, 2008
I went to this movie rather apprehensive, and I came away impressed by the film. Of course it will never be as good as the first movie, but it's definitely the first film I've seen in a long time that had me smiling and wishing I went to this movie rather apprehensive, and I came away impressed by the film. Of course it will never be as good as the first movie, but it's definitely the first film I've seen in a long time that had me smiling and wishing that it would never end. Well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricSJul 7, 2008
I found the new installment offering a fresh, augmented feeling to the world of indy, and at the same time, enough familiarity to feel connected to the prior movies. This new chapter, though not as unsullied as Raiders, certainly has a lot I found the new installment offering a fresh, augmented feeling to the world of indy, and at the same time, enough familiarity to feel connected to the prior movies. This new chapter, though not as unsullied as Raiders, certainly has a lot to offer the audience. Perhaps its biggest affection is the place where it transfers the viewer - an experience that feels fun, adventurous, and separate from the many monotonous, disconcerting movies that Hollywood attempts to push down our throats. I have read many personal reviews that claim to have been extremely disappointed by the movie - I simply don't understand how. The many claims that the movie was too far fetched or unbelievable seem precarious - when exactly did any of the prior movies root themselves in the statistical modeling or pure, painstaking methodologies required of archeological investigation? Quite simply, they did not. Kingdom is another Indy movie that is entertaining and fun. It works on so many different levels and offers new territories for Indy to explore... and new territories for our imaginations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeyZ.Sep 13, 2008
It might not be the best in the trilogy but it's still a good movie. Don't listen to people who give this movie so bad of a rating like 1,2,3,or even 0! This movie is not that bad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SophieB.Sep 14, 2008
Me and my mate went to see it and it was good i can understand the criticism and it is a bit creaky but it was a very good film all together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZackaryS.Sep 29, 2008
I didn't really like the other indiana jones movies but this one i really liked. BUY THIS MOVIE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimbobDec 14, 2008
Beautiful cinematography and some wonderful moments in this (hopefully) last of the Indiana Jones series of films. Unfortunately, suffers from poor plot mechanics and diarrhoeal pacing. And the extraterrestrial theme to the "revelatory" Beautiful cinematography and some wonderful moments in this (hopefully) last of the Indiana Jones series of films. Unfortunately, suffers from poor plot mechanics and diarrhoeal pacing. And the extraterrestrial theme to the "revelatory" ending was just cringeworthy. Still an Indiana Jones film is an Indiana Jones film, and the film is replete with the sense of mystery, exploration and excitement that is the hallmark of its predecessores. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyH.Dec 19, 2008
Oh come on, Indiana Jones was never realistic - did you miss the shrieking woman and the Voodoo dolls in the second one? This film was great! It had Indiana Jones, as.....Indiana Jones and a load of other people you have accidentally already Oh come on, Indiana Jones was never realistic - did you miss the shrieking woman and the Voodoo dolls in the second one? This film was great! It had Indiana Jones, as.....Indiana Jones and a load of other people you have accidentally already met in the other films, wound in the plot in a somewhat cunning, if cheesy way. Indiana Jones 4, made when Harrison Ford is what.............66? was never going to be the same as the others and the filmakers have emphasized this to their credit. I particularly like the tip-offs to the other films, it feels like a well-deserved 'good-bye' to the franchise. The nods to comparitative archaeology are well woven in and you get a brief sense of what Indiana Jones might do in his time off adventures. Overall - amazing!!!! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SebastienP.May 21, 2008
Brought me back to my teens, it was great to see Indy back on the big screen, realy enjoyed from start to finish. This movie is just plain entertainment and was'nt ment to be taken seriously, 140min of total scapism ,we asked for it and Brought me back to my teens, it was great to see Indy back on the big screen, realy enjoyed from start to finish. This movie is just plain entertainment and was'nt ment to be taken seriously, 140min of total scapism ,we asked for it and Steven and George delivered...thanks Bring on number 5!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobMay 22, 2008
Excellent fun. If you rate it as a film in itself and not against 20+ years of familiarity and dribbling expectation you've got to love it. If you don't leave the theatre wanting to run and jump around on things like Indy then your Excellent fun. If you rate it as a film in itself and not against 20+ years of familiarity and dribbling expectation you've got to love it. If you don't leave the theatre wanting to run and jump around on things like Indy then your inner 10 year old has gone AWOL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeRMay 22, 2008
Good enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EricD.May 22, 2008
The ending with Shia holding the fedora made me sick to my stomach. God forbid he ever takes over the franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MatthewA.May 22, 2008
The movie is a welcome addition to the existing trilogy, and although it does not break much new ground in the style and telling of the adventures of Dr. Jones, it has changed considerably with the introduction of what may be an otherworldly The movie is a welcome addition to the existing trilogy, and although it does not break much new ground in the style and telling of the adventures of Dr. Jones, it has changed considerably with the introduction of what may be an otherworldly McGuffin. If you can buy Indy Jones hopping from the action serials of the 30's into something resembling a 50's sci-fi B-movie, then you'll do just fine with this movie. There is plenty of Spielberg magic here, and although the film is not without its detractions, the same can be said for the other Indy movies, Raiders notwithstanding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigH.May 23, 2008
Everything it should have been and more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Darkmage2002May 23, 2008
This was a fun movie but suffered from a bit too much ambition, plot-wise. And, unfortunately, there were too many scenes where the viewer was treated like a complete idiot/moron. If you've seen the movie, I'm sure you'll This was a fun movie but suffered from a bit too much ambition, plot-wise. And, unfortunately, there were too many scenes where the viewer was treated like a complete idiot/moron. If you've seen the movie, I'm sure you'll agree with me that the nuclear-detonation refrigerator stunt, triple-waterfall stunt, ant attack scene and ESPECIALLY the scene with Mutt swinging Tarzan style with the monkeys were just so preposterously ridiculous that the movie was severely weakened. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WilliamTMay 23, 2008
If you disliked the earlier films, don't watch this movie. If you enjoyed them, jump on in. While it's not as good as its predecessors and feels a bit rushed in places, it's a ripping good time to be had.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndyC.May 24, 2008
For an Indy film it is disappointing and a little weak. Taken on its own, it is a fun pop-corn ride that doesn't make an awful lot of sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimP.May 24, 2008
So he's older and the story's a bit crazy, but lets face it, its still an enjoyable movie. Its not gonna be as good as the other films, because they were amazing, and because you're older now, and more critical!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickTMay 24, 2008
Not as good as Raiders or Crusade, but a very good entry in the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaclynK.May 24, 2008
Rated 10 to increase reader average to what this film deserves - its a thoroughly enjoyable comeback, if a little silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JulieGMay 24, 2008
Captures the humour and charm of the 1st and 3rd Indy movies. Fans of those will love this; but if you didn't like the earlier ones, this won't change your mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CaptainSpauldingMay 25, 2008
Alright gang, I know that everyone is questioning just about everything in this movie. Indy and Aliens? Son? Old girlfriend? No Connery? I saw this movie and liked what I saw. It wasn't my favorite Indy flick (actually fell in 4th out Alright gang, I know that everyone is questioning just about everything in this movie. Indy and Aliens? Son? Old girlfriend? No Connery? I saw this movie and liked what I saw. It wasn't my favorite Indy flick (actually fell in 4th out of 4), but any means. Made "Temple of Doom" seem like an Oscar winner. But besides all the whinning, bitching and moaning...it's a frickin' Indiana Jones move!?! INDIANA JONES! Accept it for what it's worth...a 2 hour great escape from the rest of the world! Indy VI anyone (without Mutt Williams if possible)? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarilynZMay 25, 2008
Wonderfully entertaining. Great fun. The only movie we have seen in years where we went on the first day and paid full price instead of waiting for it drop to half price in two weeks. I can't wait until I get this on DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimboH.May 25, 2008
Its an entertaining movie- there are some cringe-worthy moments, (such as how old Harrison looks in some scenes, or um, a really really bad Tarzan swinging scene that has Lucas' stench all over it), but overall the bottom line is its Its an entertaining movie- there are some cringe-worthy moments, (such as how old Harrison looks in some scenes, or um, a really really bad Tarzan swinging scene that has Lucas' stench all over it), but overall the bottom line is its entertainment. For those nay-sayers who think some of the things that happen are too over-the-top: go watch the originals again and realize that yes, you do have to suspend your disbelief in those too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasB.May 26, 2008
OK, so it is not the best Indiana Jones movie of the whole series. Ok, Harrison Ford is older. SO WHAT?!?!?!?! It is supposed to be a fun action-adventure movie, not an exercise in archaeology of history. Though it had some flaws, it was a OK, so it is not the best Indiana Jones movie of the whole series. Ok, Harrison Ford is older. SO WHAT?!?!?!?! It is supposed to be a fun action-adventure movie, not an exercise in archaeology of history. Though it had some flaws, it was a great time at the movies. I loved it, and the motifs of aliens and sommunist spies worked great for the 50s just like Nazis and religious artifacts worked for the 30s. It was fun, and that's what movies are supposed to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyS.May 26, 2008
It was entertaining, I didn't like the bit with the monkeys though. Overall, pretty enjoyable movie with a fun storyline with characters you can't help but love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewFMay 26, 2008
Much better then word of mouth would have you believe. Sure it's probably the least of the 4. That's still not a bad place to be in such a great series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FishS.May 26, 2008
It was pretty good, except for the ending. I'm sorry, the ending was just not believable. Everything else I could take, up until the martains and the giant flying saucer. The rest of it was good, but if Speilberg wants to make ET 2, he It was pretty good, except for the ending. I'm sorry, the ending was just not believable. Everything else I could take, up until the martains and the giant flying saucer. The rest of it was good, but if Speilberg wants to make ET 2, he shouldn't do it during Indiana Jones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JG.May 27, 2008
I did enjoy the movie overall. It had a good pace, good actors and a 'B-' storyline. The things that annoyed me were the sound effects for Harrison Fords punches which screamed FAKE, the ending....I will not spoil it for those who I did enjoy the movie overall. It had a good pace, good actors and a 'B-' storyline. The things that annoyed me were the sound effects for Harrison Fords punches which screamed FAKE, the ending....I will not spoil it for those who have not seen it but lets say there must have been a creative difference between Lucas and Speilberg and it is soooo obvious. Go see it matinee and tell yourself I have no expectations in the results, then you will enjoy the movie. If you are expecting it to stand up to the first 3 films, sorry it is not happening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColeJMay 27, 2008
I knew this movie was going to get mixed reviews, but I liked it a lot. I hear lots of people bashing it cause of the whole alien plotline, but I honestly found it more believable than some of the other ones, like The Last Crusade. In fact, I knew this movie was going to get mixed reviews, but I liked it a lot. I hear lots of people bashing it cause of the whole alien plotline, but I honestly found it more believable than some of the other ones, like The Last Crusade. In fact, I liked most of the aspects that others didn't, even the high profile stunts. Sure, they were ridiculous, but they were ridiculously fun. I'll admit, it's no oscar-winning Fall season movie, but it's not supposed to be. Indiana Jones movies have always been very Hollywood-style, and I still appreciate that. So when I stand this movie up to the other 3, I gotta say, I was pleased with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveG.iMay 27, 2008
Though not as good as the first Indy movie, this film delivers what the lovers of the franchise expect. There is great action, evil bad guys, a quasi mystical force involved, and the return of Marion. Like the other movies in the franchise, Though not as good as the first Indy movie, this film delivers what the lovers of the franchise expect. There is great action, evil bad guys, a quasi mystical force involved, and the return of Marion. Like the other movies in the franchise, this is a throwback to Saturday afternoon serials in the past. It is fine for all ages, not offensive in any way and a fun ride. I enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToreyA.May 27, 2008
Harrison pulls it off and it holds true to the series albit in a more cartoony way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeM.May 28, 2008
Great fun. Not without faults of course. If you want to pick it apart you certainly would be able to, but it is more fun to sit back and enjoy the ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NormanH.May 28, 2008
The best part was that Indiana Jones did not take himself to serious nor did the movie makers. It was a fun movie to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottD.May 28, 2008
Classic Indiana Jones style and im sure nobody would want it any other way. brilliant combat sequences and of course the unbelievability of it just keeps it in the true style Fantastic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BradH.May 28, 2008
Could have should have,whatever.I will Swallow this alien,tree monkey,refrigerator stuff as long as they give me another.This time lets try Indy and the sphere of destiny.Props to harrison still looks amazing,and Shia was a energetic Could have should have,whatever.I will Swallow this alien,tree monkey,refrigerator stuff as long as they give me another.This time lets try Indy and the sphere of destiny.Props to harrison still looks amazing,and Shia was a energetic addition to the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
cbMay 28, 2008
Great movie for Indy fans and who are still a kid at heart and haven't become dark and jaded.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamienF.May 29, 2008
I loved this movie. The actors were perfect. The story was good but I must admit that the end was a little strange. But Spielberg did well and I hope another movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JCMay 29, 2008
It was awesome and great. I loved it other than the guy swinging from trees and the aliens. Those parts were a farfetched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mikeyMay 29, 2008
Campy, corny, and fun. I don't know why so many people are griping about this movie. "Unbelieveable?" It's Indiana Jones, for pete's sake people, what were you expecting? The overuse of CGI rankled a bit, but on the whole I Campy, corny, and fun. I don't know why so many people are griping about this movie. "Unbelieveable?" It's Indiana Jones, for pete's sake people, what were you expecting? The overuse of CGI rankled a bit, but on the whole I loved this movie. And Cate Blanchett was utterly badass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CaseyM.May 29, 2008
I hate the people who only say something sucked and dont explain way. This movie may not have been great as a sequel for the other Indy movies, but you have to give it some respect as a movie in itself. The fight scenes were top-notch and I hate the people who only say something sucked and dont explain way. This movie may not have been great as a sequel for the other Indy movies, but you have to give it some respect as a movie in itself. The fight scenes were top-notch and the acting was terrific. Some of the CGI was lame, i'll admit, but at least it made the movie work. This is a great movie, go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardG.May 31, 2008
Face it. Harrison Ford is in it, written by George Lucas, and directed by Steven Spielberg. Eventually, it will be on network and cable 24/7 and we will all have seen it fifty or more times even if we don't want to ever see it again. Face it. Harrison Ford is in it, written by George Lucas, and directed by Steven Spielberg. Eventually, it will be on network and cable 24/7 and we will all have seen it fifty or more times even if we don't want to ever see it again. Version 4 still has all the elements of the originals and it will always be part of cultural experience no matter how lacking the plot might have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FletchBJun 16, 2008
I loved it. Great fun, should be more heroes like indy. Can't wait for a few more hopefully with shia. I hated some parts, but then those who complain have no imagination!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LiamPMJun 21, 2008
Who goes to see an indiana jones movie, and expects it to be meaningful and serious? Honestly, I would've been disappointed if it wasn't so corny. When i see Harrison Ford, I expect him to say 'I have a bad feeling about Who goes to see an indiana jones movie, and expects it to be meaningful and serious? Honestly, I would've been disappointed if it wasn't so corny. When i see Harrison Ford, I expect him to say 'I have a bad feeling about this'. its not meant to be a meaningful, serious movie, but a FUN one! To be fair, i think shia la douche is a crap actor, and ruined it a little, but overall this movie was awesome! Really, if you were expecting a deep, daring masterpiece, then i'd like to know which indiana jones movies you saw prior to this one, because they're not the one's i saw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeventeSJun 27, 2009
Aside from some forced interactions between the occasionally poorly-written character and a painfully cheesy ending, The Crystal Skull is completely competent and adequate member of the Indiana Jones series. The plot is a bit insane, but Aside from some forced interactions between the occasionally poorly-written character and a painfully cheesy ending, The Crystal Skull is completely competent and adequate member of the Indiana Jones series. The plot is a bit insane, but that's what the series is all about, putting human ingenuity against ancient freaky magic. It's not nearly as bad as that awful middle-child Temple of Doom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronGAug 28, 2009
Honestly now, this movie gets beat up for a lot more than it deserves. It's one of those fun summer films which set expectations impossibly high, and of course couldn't meet them. A lot of people complain about the CG, and they Honestly now, this movie gets beat up for a lot more than it deserves. It's one of those fun summer films which set expectations impossibly high, and of course couldn't meet them. A lot of people complain about the CG, and they have the right to. In many scenes it can look out of place, or just fake altogether. However, Speilberg and Lucas use it to their advantage with some truly jaw-dropping images that look beautiful or just amazing. The Plot....was pretty iffy this time around. Really disappointing. But the movie makes up for this with some very well shot action sequences and some great dialogue. If you enjoyed the original trilogy, there's no doubt you'll at least like to see another Indiana Jones movie. If you've never seen any of the movies, then what are you doing? Go rent "Raiders of the Lost Ark" for what I consider to be one of the best movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
muzzikloverMay 4, 2011
Very, very underrated. Hating this movie because of small instances is unfair and unreasonable. I found this movie just as fun as the last three Indiana Jones films. Yes, it's not as good as the other three by a mile but the story is stillVery, very underrated. Hating this movie because of small instances is unfair and unreasonable. I found this movie just as fun as the last three Indiana Jones films. Yes, it's not as good as the other three by a mile but the story is still interesting, the Indiana Jones character is still the same charismatic adventurer we all know and love and the handful helping of nostalgia actually makes the film all the fun it can be plus the "Nuke the Fridge" scene was the highlight in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Mar 14, 2011
Sheesh, what's with all the negativity? If you ask me, I think this was the best Indiana Jones movie since the original one. Not saying the last two sequels were bad, but they were kinda going left and right between what the true religion inSheesh, what's with all the negativity? If you ask me, I think this was the best Indiana Jones movie since the original one. Not saying the last two sequels were bad, but they were kinda going left and right between what the true religion in the Jones universe is. I for one was glad they departed from looking for religious artifacts, and Harrison Ford is still the same old Indiana Jones we all know and love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelDJul 30, 2011
Great follow up to possibly the greatest movie series ever. Not the best one of the lot though but I completely recommend this to anyone who's looking for a hell of an adventure!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MoviebuffreviewApr 6, 2011
What is with all of the negative criticism? Sure, the ending could've been better, but the fun action, good acting, and a great score, Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is a great movie. And people complaining that hte movie is too unrealistic,What is with all of the negative criticism? Sure, the ending could've been better, but the fun action, good acting, and a great score, Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is a great movie. And people complaining that hte movie is too unrealistic, that is insane. Did you ever see Temple of Doom? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bram29Oct 2, 2011
i don't really get where all the negative buzz of this movie comes from. to me, it is as good as any other indiana jones movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 27, 2011
This is my favorite Indiana Jones movie of them all. It may have a different story than the others but somehow it stands out further than the others to me. Plus, Harrison Ford is still Indiana Jones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxJan 1, 2012
I thought it was good. Yes it did annoy me that it was about aliens but still, Its classic Indiana Jones. This film was really made to introduce a new generation of fans to Jones and I think it works good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
devo-ncJan 20, 2015
Not a classic, but still fun entertainment, only worth seeing once though. This might be my least favourite Indy film but it's not as bad as everyone says. For people to believe ripping someone's heart out of their chest or ghosts meltingNot a classic, but still fun entertainment, only worth seeing once though. This might be my least favourite Indy film but it's not as bad as everyone says. For people to believe ripping someone's heart out of their chest or ghosts melting people or an old 2000 year old man waiting in a tomb then aliens shouldn't be too much for you. The star of this movie is Shia, who comes in as a great sidekick to Indy. The movie at times does feel a little derivative as an action piece ocassionally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
After 20 years, Indiana Jones returned for a new generation to enjoy. It is simply amazing that at almost 70 years of age, Harrison Ford was able to do this movie, and even perform some of his own stunts. In the film, they introduce ShiaAfter 20 years, Indiana Jones returned for a new generation to enjoy. It is simply amazing that at almost 70 years of age, Harrison Ford was able to do this movie, and even perform some of his own stunts. In the film, they introduce Shia LaBeouf as his son, so that the franchise can continue. Indiana Jones has been around since the early 80s. There are hundreds of books and stories they could have chosen from, and I suspect most of them would have been better than the Crystal Skull. Don't get me wrong, the movie wasn't bad, but aliens, Elvis, sword fights on the back of a jeep, cannibalistic ants, and Shia swinging through the Amazon with a family of monkeys? That's not Indiana Jones. I realize they wanted to portray him in perhaps the final years of his career, but the story was not great. The action scenes, effects, stunts, and cast were all great, and what you've come to expect from Indy, but the movie itself wasn't the best. It's enjoyable and worth seeing, but for the most part it doesn't fit with what we know of Indiana Jones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
skyminsterMay 23, 2012
Indiana Jones and the kingdom of the crystal skull is a very good action movie. It's underrated. Why do people dislike it so much, it's a genuinely good film, its got great action scenes, tense and kinda spooky moments, a greatIndiana Jones and the kingdom of the crystal skull is a very good action movie. It's underrated. Why do people dislike it so much, it's a genuinely good film, its got great action scenes, tense and kinda spooky moments, a great dialogue/script, an interesting plot with good twists and quite good acting. I do admit the film has bad moments: like the monkeys and stuff. If you did your research, if it has crystal skull in the name, it's probably gonna have aliens in it, and anyway, the aliens are cool. What's so bad about sword fights, they're not bad. If it's different from its predecessors, that doesn't mean it's bad, it's a really good film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialMar 8, 2014
At times you feel that it's slightly repeated, this fourth installment does not disappoint. It has a number of great thrills, exciting chases, and it's just good fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CitizenSaneJul 11, 2012
Great film. I'm still happy with it and most everyone I know thought it was good back when it came out. I liked it alot when it came out but it's grown alot on me moreso than I had expected. It's not my second favorite of the series! :)Great film. I'm still happy with it and most everyone I know thought it was good back when it came out. I liked it alot when it came out but it's grown alot on me moreso than I had expected. It's not my second favorite of the series! :) Raiders is still always the best, though. But in all seriousness, this is a great film and while not worth 20 years of waiting, it's still awesome as can be. Indy will always be the very best. Check it out, it's a good sequel! :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
This movie is very underrated. I thought that, although it wasn't as good as the first three Indiana Jones films, it found Indy back in adventurous shape and recaptured the genuine fun of the originals. Really, guys, see this movie! It was good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NecromusDec 4, 2012
Didn't quite live up to the quality of "Raiders of the Lost Ark" or "The Last Crusade". But much better than "The Temple of Doom". A decent movie with decent special effects, an okay story and true to the Indiana Jones franchise (well exceptDidn't quite live up to the quality of "Raiders of the Lost Ark" or "The Last Crusade". But much better than "The Temple of Doom". A decent movie with decent special effects, an okay story and true to the Indiana Jones franchise (well except "Aliens?" really? Shouldn't it be some kind of Old Testament Religious artifact or Hindu Curse? But whatever... BTW: I wonder if this movie was the inspiration for the over-the-top Ancient Aliens show lol). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WriteFilmLive21Dec 29, 2012
I've never understood the hate for this belated fourth Indy installment. "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull" is just about everything I expected it to be . . . just another Indiana Jones film. It's a sweet and satisfying nostalgic indulgence thatI've never understood the hate for this belated fourth Indy installment. "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull" is just about everything I expected it to be . . . just another Indiana Jones film. It's a sweet and satisfying nostalgic indulgence that brings back everything you knew and loved about the series. No, of course it's not as memorable as the first three, and yeah, it is tamer and more family-friendly than the others. But it's not a bad movie, it's still a lot of fun. Shia is, to great relief, much more bearable here than in "Transformers"; Cate Blanchett is great as the Soviet villain; and the plotline with the crystal skull is very entertaining. And yeah, I don't mind the aliens. I honestly don't. They were still done in the same way as the Ark, the Grail or even the Temple of Doom - it was just aliens this time, and about as plausible as any of the other concepts. The jungle chase sequence is the highlight of the action (and I'll admit, yeah, the monkeys were just a tad silly), the alien discovery scene is fun, there's some fun new music score (listen closely for a brief borrowing from Speilberg's 'War of the Worlds') and overall, it's just . . . fun. Pure popcorn fun. And what the heck's wrong with that? True, the Indy series would have been more than fine as a trilogy, but this last-minute addition is certainly a welcome encore and deserves its place along the other three. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989May 11, 2013
It's been a while since Indy has been on the big screen and the decision to make a new fresh film might not have paid off. It's a good movie, and certainly entertaining, but too heavy on CGI in my opinion and as well as that Cate BlanchettIt's been a while since Indy has been on the big screen and the decision to make a new fresh film might not have paid off. It's a good movie, and certainly entertaining, but too heavy on CGI in my opinion and as well as that Cate Blanchett just can't pull off the villain well. It has its shining moments and there's no denying it's a fun cast, but the new characters like Mutt & Irina simply don't compare to those of the originals. Overall fans will probably still like it, and I did too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ScorpionMay 10, 2013
He may not be the best, but it has Harrison Ford in the style of the character, and packed with a good plot regularly, makes it worthwhile.And it shows that the union of Spielberg and Lucas still works right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Tessara_VejganJan 15, 2015
Rewatched it recently on BD. After nearly 20 years we see Harrison Ford return as Indiana Jones in this sequel. I thought the movie was pretty good. Indiana Jones series always involved the supernatural and this installment is no different.Rewatched it recently on BD. After nearly 20 years we see Harrison Ford return as Indiana Jones in this sequel. I thought the movie was pretty good. Indiana Jones series always involved the supernatural and this installment is no different. Its definitely better than Temple of Doom thats for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 15, 2013
I personally really enjoyed this film, it was full of fun action/adventure sequences and had a rather interesting story or script. It felt amazing to have Indy back in action, while this is the worst film of the series, it still is a greatI personally really enjoyed this film, it was full of fun action/adventure sequences and had a rather interesting story or script. It felt amazing to have Indy back in action, while this is the worst film of the series, it still is a great film! The style of the 50s is present and perfectly set, along with its Crystal Skull which matched the times (just like now a days everyone is obsessed with Zombies, the 50s had people obsessing with aliens). The film packs in great action sequences, a fun script (with only one disappointing part at the end of the film), great acting by all the cast (Harrison Ford has still got it) and the music once again is awesome. Overall I really enjoyed this film and I look forward to a possible Indiana Jones 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KarenAllenFanAug 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everybody thinks that Indiana Jones & the Kingdom Of the Crystal Skull is a bad movie, but c'mon people, it's been 19 years since the last movie! They had to change the storyline to update it with the times! By 1957, the Americans have defeated the Nazis & engaged in a space race with the Russians! This was the Cold War, not World War II! And besides, Harrison Ford & Karen Allen are still really good actors! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysJan 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not as bad as some people might think, but nevertheless, Indy is not in his prime anymore. The adventure and mystifying elements of the first three movies were all brought down by the use of aliens at the end. really> Aliens? Very unsatisfying. Either way, the rest of the movie wasn't bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
warrenworldMay 3, 2014
Though it isn't better than the first three films (then again, what could?), The Crystal Skull never does any real damage and is worth its weight in the popcorn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
wordevMay 12, 2014
Another Indy flick arrives, and is as good as ever, a entertaining action adventure film Indiana Jones is my most beloved movies and this ads to the great adventure trilogy, hopefully the cast Harrison Ford and crew will return for a fifthAnother Indy flick arrives, and is as good as ever, a entertaining action adventure film Indiana Jones is my most beloved movies and this ads to the great adventure trilogy, hopefully the cast Harrison Ford and crew will return for a fifth outing. I rate this a nine out of ten Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
It may not be that appealing to longtime Indiana Jones fans, but Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is still a great adventure with more than enough action and (slightly) funny dialogue. Shia LaBeouf is not a problem. The movie is very underrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
UrbanlistenerJan 18, 2016
Pretty cool movie. The concept is interesting, the camera work is as always for a Spielberg film amazing, it is great to see Ford back as Indy and he is still great in the role, there some good to great moments here and there. Where it goesPretty cool movie. The concept is interesting, the camera work is as always for a Spielberg film amazing, it is great to see Ford back as Indy and he is still great in the role, there some good to great moments here and there. Where it goes bad is its use of a **** of pretty bad CGI, ridiculous sequences like Shia swinging with some monkeys and a ludicrous CGI crapfest ending that makes all the attempt of making this movie a bit serious worthless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 16, 2016
If aliens, Shia LaBeouf, and nuking the fridge aren't what you're complaining about, then yes; Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull will be as enjoyable as the first three movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JulleckMar 27, 2016
Although it's not my favourite Indiana Jones, Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull provides a lot of fun and real Indy feeling. There are some flaws I can ignore and some I can't. The diner fight though remains one of the most hilarious moments ofAlthough it's not my favourite Indiana Jones, Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull provides a lot of fun and real Indy feeling. There are some flaws I can ignore and some I can't. The diner fight though remains one of the most hilarious moments of the entire series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Muskrat147Jul 26, 2016
Though featuring not-so-special effects and a controversial ending, Kingdom of the Crystal Skull still wows audiences with its strong villain and powerful performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Nomad67Aug 14, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film was actually pretty good. If you are demanding the first time thrill of seeing "Raiders" this film will never meet that expectation. I am mystified why so many reviews think this film is unforgivably bad. If you want bad, you don't have to look any further than Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom. The sequence of two adults and a kid escaping a flying plane in an uninflated raft that then gives them an unpunctured toboggan ride to the middle of India...that, my friend is crap. It makes the nuked fridge seem downright clever. If you like the vicarious pleasure of a B-movie with Harrison Ford cracking the whip, you'll enjoy the film just fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews