User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1123 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 16, 2016
    7
    If aliens, Shia LaBeouf, and nuking the fridge aren't what you're complaining about, then yes; Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull will be as enjoyable as the first three movies.
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not as bad as some people might think, but nevertheless, Indy is not in his prime anymore. The adventure and mystifying elements of the first three movies were all brought down by the use of aliens at the end. really> Aliens? Very unsatisfying. Either way, the rest of the movie wasn't bad. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    After 20 years, Indiana Jones returned for a new generation to enjoy. It is simply amazing that at almost 70 years of age, Harrison Ford was able to do this movie, and even perform some of his own stunts. In the film, they introduce Shia LaBeouf as his son, so that the franchise can continue. Indiana Jones has been around since the early 80s. There are hundreds of books and stories theyAfter 20 years, Indiana Jones returned for a new generation to enjoy. It is simply amazing that at almost 70 years of age, Harrison Ford was able to do this movie, and even perform some of his own stunts. In the film, they introduce Shia LaBeouf as his son, so that the franchise can continue. Indiana Jones has been around since the early 80s. There are hundreds of books and stories they could have chosen from, and I suspect most of them would have been better than the Crystal Skull. Don't get me wrong, the movie wasn't bad, but aliens, Elvis, sword fights on the back of a jeep, cannibalistic ants, and Shia swinging through the Amazon with a family of monkeys? That's not Indiana Jones. I realize they wanted to portray him in perhaps the final years of his career, but the story was not great. The action scenes, effects, stunts, and cast were all great, and what you've come to expect from Indy, but the movie itself wasn't the best. It's enjoyable and worth seeing, but for the most part it doesn't fit with what we know of Indiana Jones. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite Indiana Jones movie of them all. It may have a different story than the others but somehow it stands out further than the others to me. Plus, Harrison Ford is still Indiana Jones.
  5. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    At times you feel that it's slightly repeated, this fourth installment does not disappoint. It has a number of great thrills, exciting chases, and it's just good fun.
  6. May 11, 2013
    8
    It's been a while since Indy has been on the big screen and the decision to make a new fresh film might not have paid off. It's a good movie, and certainly entertaining, but too heavy on CGI in my opinion and as well as that Cate Blanchett just can't pull off the villain well. It has its shining moments and there's no denying it's a fun cast, but the new characters like Mutt & Irina simplyIt's been a while since Indy has been on the big screen and the decision to make a new fresh film might not have paid off. It's a good movie, and certainly entertaining, but too heavy on CGI in my opinion and as well as that Cate Blanchett just can't pull off the villain well. It has its shining moments and there's no denying it's a fun cast, but the new characters like Mutt & Irina simply don't compare to those of the originals. Overall fans will probably still like it, and I did too. Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    I thought it was good. Yes it did annoy me that it was about aliens but still, Its classic Indiana Jones. This film was really made to introduce a new generation of fans to Jones and I think it works good.
  8. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    Sheesh, what's with all the negativity? If you ask me, I think this was the best Indiana Jones movie since the original one. Not saying the last two sequels were bad, but they were kinda going left and right between what the true religion in the Jones universe is. I for one was glad they departed from looking for religious artifacts, and Harrison Ford is still the same old Indiana Jones weSheesh, what's with all the negativity? If you ask me, I think this was the best Indiana Jones movie since the original one. Not saying the last two sequels were bad, but they were kinda going left and right between what the true religion in the Jones universe is. I for one was glad they departed from looking for religious artifacts, and Harrison Ford is still the same old Indiana Jones we all know and love. Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    Great follow up to possibly the greatest movie series ever. Not the best one of the lot though but I completely recommend this to anyone who's looking for a hell of an adventure!
  10. Jul 12, 2012
    7
    This movie is very underrated. I thought that, although it wasn't as good as the first three Indiana Jones films, it found Indy back in adventurous shape and recaptured the genuine fun of the originals. Really, guys, see this movie! It was good!
  11. Jan 15, 2015
    9
    Rewatched it recently on BD. After nearly 20 years we see Harrison Ford return as Indiana Jones in this sequel. I thought the movie was pretty good. Indiana Jones series always involved the supernatural and this installment is no different. Its definitely better than Temple of Doom thats for sure.
  12. Jan 18, 2016
    7
    Pretty cool movie. The concept is interesting, the camera work is as always for a Spielberg film amazing, it is great to see Ford back as Indy and he is still great in the role, there some good to great moments here and there. Where it goes bad is its use of a **** of pretty bad CGI, ridiculous sequences like Shia swinging with some monkeys and a ludicrous CGI crapfest ending that makesPretty cool movie. The concept is interesting, the camera work is as always for a Spielberg film amazing, it is great to see Ford back as Indy and he is still great in the role, there some good to great moments here and there. Where it goes bad is its use of a **** of pretty bad CGI, ridiculous sequences like Shia swinging with some monkeys and a ludicrous CGI crapfest ending that makes all the attempt of making this movie a bit serious worthless. Expand
  13. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    What is with all of the negative criticism? Sure, the ending could've been better, but the fun action, good acting, and a great score, Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is a great movie. And people complaining that hte movie is too unrealistic, that is insane. Did you ever see Temple of Doom?
  14. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    I personally really enjoyed this film, it was full of fun action/adventure sequences and had a rather interesting story or script. It felt amazing to have Indy back in action, while this is the worst film of the series, it still is a great film! The style of the 50s is present and perfectly set, along with its Crystal Skull which matched the times (just like now a days everyone isI personally really enjoyed this film, it was full of fun action/adventure sequences and had a rather interesting story or script. It felt amazing to have Indy back in action, while this is the worst film of the series, it still is a great film! The style of the 50s is present and perfectly set, along with its Crystal Skull which matched the times (just like now a days everyone is obsessed with Zombies, the 50s had people obsessing with aliens). The film packs in great action sequences, a fun script (with only one disappointing part at the end of the film), great acting by all the cast (Harrison Ford has still got it) and the music once again is awesome. Overall I really enjoyed this film and I look forward to a possible Indiana Jones 5. Expand
  15. May 23, 2012
    9
    Indiana Jones and the kingdom of the crystal skull is a very good action movie. It's underrated. Why do people dislike it so much, it's a genuinely good film, its got great action scenes, tense and kinda spooky moments, a great dialogue/script, an interesting plot with good twists and quite good acting. I do admit the film has bad moments: like the monkeys and stuff. If you did yourIndiana Jones and the kingdom of the crystal skull is a very good action movie. It's underrated. Why do people dislike it so much, it's a genuinely good film, its got great action scenes, tense and kinda spooky moments, a great dialogue/script, an interesting plot with good twists and quite good acting. I do admit the film has bad moments: like the monkeys and stuff. If you did your research, if it has crystal skull in the name, it's probably gonna have aliens in it, and anyway, the aliens are cool. What's so bad about sword fights, they're not bad. If it's different from its predecessors, that doesn't mean it's bad, it's a really good film! Expand
  16. Dec 4, 2012
    7
    Didn't quite live up to the quality of "Raiders of the Lost Ark" or "The Last Crusade". But much better than "The Temple of Doom". A decent movie with decent special effects, an okay story and true to the Indiana Jones franchise (well except "Aliens?" really? Shouldn't it be some kind of Old Testament Religious artifact or Hindu Curse? But whatever... BTW: I wonder if this movie was theDidn't quite live up to the quality of "Raiders of the Lost Ark" or "The Last Crusade". But much better than "The Temple of Doom". A decent movie with decent special effects, an okay story and true to the Indiana Jones franchise (well except "Aliens?" really? Shouldn't it be some kind of Old Testament Religious artifact or Hindu Curse? But whatever... BTW: I wonder if this movie was the inspiration for the over-the-top Ancient Aliens show lol). Expand
  17. May 10, 2013
    8
    He may not be the best, but it has Harrison Ford in the style of the character, and packed with a good plot regularly, makes it worthwhile.And it shows that the union of Spielberg and Lucas still works right.
  18. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    It may not be that appealing to longtime Indiana Jones fans, but Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is still a great adventure with more than enough action and (slightly) funny dialogue. Shia LaBeouf is not a problem. The movie is very underrated.
  19. Jul 26, 2016
    7
    Though featuring not-so-special effects and a controversial ending, Kingdom of the Crystal Skull still wows audiences with its strong villain and powerful performances.
  20. Jan 20, 2015
    7
    Not a classic, but still fun entertainment, only worth seeing once though. This might be my least favourite Indy film but it's not as bad as everyone says. For people to believe ripping someone's heart out of their chest or ghosts melting people or an old 2000 year old man waiting in a tomb then aliens shouldn't be too much for you. The star of this movie is Shia, who comes in as a greatNot a classic, but still fun entertainment, only worth seeing once though. This might be my least favourite Indy film but it's not as bad as everyone says. For people to believe ripping someone's heart out of their chest or ghosts melting people or an old 2000 year old man waiting in a tomb then aliens shouldn't be too much for you. The star of this movie is Shia, who comes in as a great sidekick to Indy. The movie at times does feel a little derivative as an action piece ocassionally. Expand
  21. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    I've never understood the hate for this belated fourth Indy installment. "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull" is just about everything I expected it to be . . . just another Indiana Jones film. It's a sweet and satisfying nostalgic indulgence that brings back everything you knew and loved about the series. No, of course it's not as memorable as the first three, and yeah, it is tamer and moreI've never understood the hate for this belated fourth Indy installment. "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull" is just about everything I expected it to be . . . just another Indiana Jones film. It's a sweet and satisfying nostalgic indulgence that brings back everything you knew and loved about the series. No, of course it's not as memorable as the first three, and yeah, it is tamer and more family-friendly than the others. But it's not a bad movie, it's still a lot of fun. Shia is, to great relief, much more bearable here than in "Transformers"; Cate Blanchett is great as the Soviet villain; and the plotline with the crystal skull is very entertaining. And yeah, I don't mind the aliens. I honestly don't. They were still done in the same way as the Ark, the Grail or even the Temple of Doom - it was just aliens this time, and about as plausible as any of the other concepts. The jungle chase sequence is the highlight of the action (and I'll admit, yeah, the monkeys were just a tad silly), the alien discovery scene is fun, there's some fun new music score (listen closely for a brief borrowing from Speilberg's 'War of the Worlds') and overall, it's just . . . fun. Pure popcorn fun. And what the heck's wrong with that? True, the Indy series would have been more than fine as a trilogy, but this last-minute addition is certainly a welcome encore and deserves its place along the other three. Expand
  22. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    i don't really get where all the negative buzz of this movie comes from. to me, it is as good as any other indiana jones movie.
  23. May 3, 2014
    9
    Though it isn't better than the first three films (then again, what could?), The Crystal Skull never does any real damage and is worth its weight in the popcorn.
  24. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    What the heck is with all the negative critisism? This movie is awesome! It feels exactly like an old fashioned Indy movie! Granted, its not as good as those movies, but who would expect it to be? The acting is great, the action is intense and lots of fun, and the same adventurous atmosphere that made the others so much fun is back full throttle! Yes, it's very unrealistic, but what IndyWhat the heck is with all the negative critisism? This movie is awesome! It feels exactly like an old fashioned Indy movie! Granted, its not as good as those movies, but who would expect it to be? The acting is great, the action is intense and lots of fun, and the same adventurous atmosphere that made the others so much fun is back full throttle! Yes, it's very unrealistic, but what Indy movie is? Yes, I didn't really like the whole alien thing, but that's the only thing I didn't like about it. Overall, KOTCS is a great installment in the amazing franchise. Expand
  25. May 4, 2011
    9
    Very, very underrated. Hating this movie because of small instances is unfair and unreasonable. I found this movie just as fun as the last three Indiana Jones films. Yes, it's not as good as the other three by a mile but the story is still interesting, the Indiana Jones character is still the same charismatic adventurer we all know and love and the handful helping of nostalgia actuallyVery, very underrated. Hating this movie because of small instances is unfair and unreasonable. I found this movie just as fun as the last three Indiana Jones films. Yes, it's not as good as the other three by a mile but the story is still interesting, the Indiana Jones character is still the same charismatic adventurer we all know and love and the handful helping of nostalgia actually makes the film all the fun it can be plus the "Nuke the Fridge" scene was the highlight in my opinion. Expand
  26. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    The best of all the four films, interesting, impressive images and effects, funny, and entertaining, a good film after 19 years that we saw for the last time Indiana Jones, the new score is good, a good job made by Steven Spielberg.
  27. May 12, 2014
    9
    Another Indy flick arrives, and is as good as ever, a entertaining action adventure film Indiana Jones is my most beloved movies and this ads to the great adventure trilogy, hopefully the cast Harrison Ford and crew will return for a fifth outing. I rate this a nine out of ten
  28. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everybody thinks that Indiana Jones & the Kingdom Of the Crystal Skull is a bad movie, but c'mon people, it's been 19 years since the last movie! They had to change the storyline to update it with the times! By 1957, the Americans have defeated the Nazis & engaged in a space race with the Russians! This was the Cold War, not World War II! And besides, Harrison Ford & Karen Allen are still really good actors! Expand
  29. Mar 27, 2016
    8
    Although it's not my favourite Indiana Jones, Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull provides a lot of fun and real Indy feeling. There are some flaws I can ignore and some I can't. The diner fight though remains one of the most hilarious moments of the entire series.
  30. DarrenZ.
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    Are you a fan of Indiana Jones and his particular brand of over-the-top action films? Then you will love "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull". Are you one of those bitter and jaded movie goers who insists that everything was done better yesterday? Then you will hate "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull". That's pretty much all you need to know to decide if seeing this movie will be worth your Are you a fan of Indiana Jones and his particular brand of over-the-top action films? Then you will love "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull". Are you one of those bitter and jaded movie goers who insists that everything was done better yesterday? Then you will hate "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull". That's pretty much all you need to know to decide if seeing this movie will be worth your time. In my case, I loved it. It's everything I expect and want from an Indiana Jones movie; nothing more, and nothing less. Expand
  31. MI
    May 23, 2008
    9
    HE"S BACK!!!! Indy is still great. This is a movie to just enjoy and not to take serious. Don't analyze it, just have fun with it.
  32. SusanL.
    May 28, 2008
    8
    Hey, this is an Indiana Jones movie -- period sets, world travel, secret kingdoms buried treasure and a story line straight from a British Boys' Adventure book from the 50's. It is not a movie about Iraq. There is no deep thought here. Thank God. Last fall there was nothing but deep thought and Iraq and nobody went to the movies. Indiana Jones is a franchise people go to the movies for.
  33. WaltG
    May 22, 2008
    7
    Clearly the 4th best in the series, but in such a wonderful series that's not a bad thing. It's a whole lot of fun and that's all it needed to be.
  34. AndrewD
    May 22, 2008
    8
    This movie I think brought Indiana Jones to the new era, keeping all of its core elements and modernising them. The humour was fantastic but I thinnk there wasn't enough of it. The aamount of action was brilliant despite being a little over the top at times, I wonder if this old Indie can actually do some of the things in this movie, and walk away. The plot is a little farfetched but This movie I think brought Indiana Jones to the new era, keeping all of its core elements and modernising them. The humour was fantastic but I thinnk there wasn't enough of it. The aamount of action was brilliant despite being a little over the top at times, I wonder if this old Indie can actually do some of the things in this movie, and walk away. The plot is a little farfetched but compelling, and fast moving. It was a little shallow but entertaining throughout. Great choice of actors too. I would like to have given it 8.5 not just 8. Expand
  35. AustinB.
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Not as good as the old ones, but a helluva lot better than the star wars prequels. Besides, after seeing Iron Man, every movie from now on is superfluous.
  36. FredG.
    May 23, 2008
    7
    I was expecting more. It was fun and went by quickly, but contained no new material. Thought the crystal skull looked like it was made of plastic and tin foil.
  37. ManRaySky
    May 27, 2008
    7
    I was half dreading and half looking forward to this, and I was surprised how good a film it is. Whereas Lucas completely trashed Star Wars, I think this is a pretty decent addition to the Indiana ouvre. It was a canny idea to move it forward 20 years to the 1950's amd there are some wonderfully detailed moments which still prove Speilberg to be a great action director. Don't I was half dreading and half looking forward to this, and I was surprised how good a film it is. Whereas Lucas completely trashed Star Wars, I think this is a pretty decent addition to the Indiana ouvre. It was a canny idea to move it forward 20 years to the 1950's amd there are some wonderfully detailed moments which still prove Speilberg to be a great action director. Don't see the problem with having Aliens as the main plotline (fits in well with the 1950's B Movie idea). Just don't mention the swinging through the vines scene. Expand
  38. DaveR.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    A great fun movie that never disappointed in spite of the silly ending which itself was inline with the previous movies, especially Temple of Doom.
  39. KarthikP.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Fun, entertaining, and made With an abundance of what appears to be honest genuinely amusing, Indiana Jones And The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull is a worthy addition to one of the great movie franchises. Im happy that Steven Spielberg and George Lucas set out to make one for the fans and delivered it.
  40. SteveF.
    Jun 8, 2008
    8
    Very enjoyable movie well worth the price of a theater ticket. No Raiders but way better than temple! I liked the first half of the movie better than the second half. Some of the action sequences were a bit far fetched
  41. JoeM.
    Aug 10, 2008
    8
    What's all the fuss? Preposterous yes, but also highly entertaining. And as I recall, that's what all the Indiana Jones films have been, I mean come on, Temple of Doom is one of the silliest films I've ever seen, but it's still a great thrill ride and so is this. A worthy entry in the series. Haters, GET OVER IT.
  42. LaurenS.
    Jan 20, 2009
    8
    Indiana Jones yet again takes the thrilling attempt of adventure, CGI and action sequences make it a great movie. But it's better than the 1st (raiders of the lost ark) and the 3rd (The last crusade), the 2nd one was not good at all. Indiana Jones, good movie, but not spielberg's best.
  43. JackS.
    Nov 22, 2008
    7
    I have to say...this did make me a little disappointed, it is really random, some of the time I didn't get it. I love Lucas and Spielberg's films, like I loved the Jurassic Park. But, this was just a little to fast, it did turn out to be a decent ending and still have some good action and humor.
  44. RhodyT.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    I can't be the only one who doesn't live in a dream world where aliens are less ridiculous than a box that melts faces, right?
  45. BrandonS.
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    Impossible to fulfill my hopes, but it totally exceeded my expectations. An excellent movie, and a fine sequel.
  46. DavidF
    Oct 17, 2008
    7
    The first 100 minutes of this movie is classic Indiana Jones and worth a 9 or 10. The last 20 minutes were rediculous. If voting for that alone this movie would get a 2 from me.
  47. ThomasW.
    Oct 6, 2008
    8
    Enjoyable film, couldn't see much wrong with it, I guess some people expected way too much and thought it was going to best the originals, which is kinda unreasonable and unrealistic to be honest. Had everything an Indy film needs, action, chases, fist fights, and a sense of awe and discovery.
  48. BillS.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    True to tradition. Just have expectation of CGI like in previews, and you will enjoy it more.
  49. MattA
    May 22, 2008
    7
    Indiana Jones proves that Harrison Ford can still portray a believeable action Hero, 19 years later in his life. The art direction and cinematography was pretty, as well as the special effects. However, the movie is plagued by campy plot twists and some cheesy action sequences that almost feel like George Lucas said, "I want to play too." It's hard for me to hate an Indiana Jones Indiana Jones proves that Harrison Ford can still portray a believeable action Hero, 19 years later in his life. The art direction and cinematography was pretty, as well as the special effects. However, the movie is plagued by campy plot twists and some cheesy action sequences that almost feel like George Lucas said, "I want to play too." It's hard for me to hate an Indiana Jones movie, and i can't possibly say that i didn't find it at least entertaining to see one of my favorite characters back on screen. If it wasn't Indiana Jones, it'd probably be a 5 or 6, but Indy gives it that extra bump. Expand
  50. SimonC.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    If you liked the others you'll like this one. Even Shia Labouf (or whatever) did a surprisingly good job. My only gripe (if I must have one) is that try though they did it still looked like a current style movie with CG and what not, but hey, no big deal. I hope they do another!
  51. JoshS.
    May 22, 2008
    8
    Good, campy, dumb fun. I had a great time. It's probably as good or slightly better than Temple of Doom. I could have done without some of the CGI. The CGI animals, CGI refrigerator bouncing wildly and cartoonishly around the desert, some of the CGI backgrounds, etc. just do not sit well with me. That being said, there were some great one-liners, lots of over-the-top chase scenes, Good, campy, dumb fun. I had a great time. It's probably as good or slightly better than Temple of Doom. I could have done without some of the CGI. The CGI animals, CGI refrigerator bouncing wildly and cartoonishly around the desert, some of the CGI backgrounds, etc. just do not sit well with me. That being said, there were some great one-liners, lots of over-the-top chase scenes, fun stunts, and the characteristic goofiness that we've all come to love. I can't wait to see it, and the rest of the series, again. Expand
  52. PriyanthT
    May 22, 2008
    8
    Its full of adventure and Harrison Ford has done the impossible stunt for his age. And Steven Spielberg has been very inventive and didn't let the hope down of the fans and he has made the audience to enjoy it. Some scenes are really funny and this has raised the name again.
  53. PaulM.
    May 23, 2008
    7
    I have to say this movie doesn't disappoint, however it doesn't really impress either. With better than just average performances from Kidder, Ford and LaBeouf, I was surprised to discover the terrible "russian" accent delivered was by none other than Cate Blanchett. Terribly cheesy. Like Gorgonzola. The special effects are, as expected from George, fairly spectacular. Sadly the I have to say this movie doesn't disappoint, however it doesn't really impress either. With better than just average performances from Kidder, Ford and LaBeouf, I was surprised to discover the terrible "russian" accent delivered was by none other than Cate Blanchett. Terribly cheesy. Like Gorgonzola. The special effects are, as expected from George, fairly spectacular. Sadly the scenes of showing me a ground hog's reaction to a nuclear explosion are reminiscent of Jar Jar Binks. The cinematography, editing and stunts are all fine, but to wrap it all up, the story is far too thin to let you walk away saying "Wow I wish it was longer". It's more like " Wow I wish I had waited to rent this." Expand
  54. NateH
    May 23, 2008
    9
    I thought this movie was very good. The action is great, the story is well thought out and really cool, and there are a lot of hidden easter eggs for indy fans. My only complaint is that this should have been done sooner.
  55. DanR.
    May 23, 2008
    9
    This is classic Indiana Jones. The formula has not been modernized to appeal to the more jaded theater audience of today. Those unaccustomed to watching fun, adult-oriented action movies may not get it. For those of us that remember and loved them, however, it is an absolute blast. They don't make them like this anymore, and that's a shame.
  56. AndrewG.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    Good clean fun, never dull, and good to see him back. The story is a bit bizarre, Blanchette could have been a little more sympathetic - but it's simple to follow. Better than Temple of Doom, which at least serves to elevate this new offering. Rated 10 to increase the average to what this film deserves! (about 7-8).
  57. EvanT
    May 24, 2008
    10
    This movie stays defiantly true to the previous films. There was only one problem that I myself had with this film, but I still rated it a ten becuase it is just my tastes. With the expanded tech in recent years, most of the effects are digital, which is a dissapointment, but my good sir do not fret, this is as genuine an Indy experience as you will get. 10/10
  58. Brandon
    May 26, 2008
    8
    Great film, although no where close to the older Indy's. It could have done without a few of the scenes.. some of which just seemed like last minute thoughts and others were just cheesed out (Shia swinging from branches, WTF was that?
  59. KentC
    May 26, 2008
    8
    You all need to relax and stop giving this movie such harsh reviews. This was an incredible action movie, much better than other summer blockbusters like iron man or speed racer, and that jungle chase scene was one of the most exciting chase scenes in any movie I've seen. The parts that did bring the movie down was that stupid monkey rope swinging scene, and the plot got silly at the You all need to relax and stop giving this movie such harsh reviews. This was an incredible action movie, much better than other summer blockbusters like iron man or speed racer, and that jungle chase scene was one of the most exciting chase scenes in any movie I've seen. The parts that did bring the movie down was that stupid monkey rope swinging scene, and the plot got silly at the end, but the main thing was that the film was dark. It was a bit hard to see in the beginning until you got used to it, but they could have brightened the film up. Kind of hurt the eyes a bit. Expand
  60. MikeQ.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Very fun movie. Don't listen to all these fanboys complaining about aliens. This is no more far fetched than the other 3. I really enjoyed this movie and cant wait for the next.
  61. SamC.
    May 27, 2008
    7
    Indiana Jones has always been unbelievable. Are Aliens any more preposterous than killer angels or an immortal crusader? The start is a bit meh, Blanchett is useless as the villain but this sticks faithfully to the Indie formula and I really enjoyed it.
  62. JeffA.
    May 28, 2008
    9
    Loved the movie - great action set pieces, great humor, great finale! Bring on Indy V!
  63. GeoffG
    May 28, 2008
    7
    Not the Best Indy but still very entertaining and fun. I left the theartre with a satisfied grin. Agree that Tarzan moment just took me out of the movie and cringe like everyone else. Did not fit at all George and Steve.
  64. GeoffreyF.
    May 29, 2008
    8
    People are freaking out way too much about the alien plot device. They do not make it a big deal about the actual ALIENS, There is no emphasis on meeting the visitors from another world. The important thing is the crystal skull artifact, and getting it to its final resting place. That makes it a classic Indy film through and through. I think they did a spectacular job, but I was a bit People are freaking out way too much about the alien plot device. They do not make it a big deal about the actual ALIENS, There is no emphasis on meeting the visitors from another world. The important thing is the crystal skull artifact, and getting it to its final resting place. That makes it a classic Indy film through and through. I think they did a spectacular job, but I was a bit disappointed with some overly done CGI in the film, balancing between two cars at high speeds? :-/ thats all minor stuff, I would have given the score as 8.5 but i can only choose 8 or 9. Harrison Ford has still got it, nuff said. Summary: Great new Indy film, a bit rough around the edges, but authentic Indy fun! People just need to stop freaking out about the plot device. Expand
  65. DaveL
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Been a big fan of the Indy movies. Was a bit worried about this one, but it did not disappoint! Harrison Ford is a great as ever! He's still got that wit and charisma about him thats so suited to the character. Top performance by both Ford and LaBeouf. Plenty of action, fun and humor which is what makes the Indy films so great! A+
  66. BradleyD.
    Jun 13, 2008
    7
    It was an good, if a little bizarre, action film but it simply was not a good Indy film. The film, whilst generally enjoyable, featured too many odd twists and lacked the traditional relic-hunting that ifred Indy to greatness
  67. JakeA.
    Jun 16, 2008
    8
    Personally, I really enjoyed it! Sucked me in to another world for 2 hours which is what I want from a movie.
  68. MelmanD
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    Relally good. Scereenplay supurb.Indylooked old sometimes, but, ith was cool
  69. RobertoM.
    Jun 1, 2008
    8
    Steven Spielberg and Harrison Ford keep the Indiana touch and LaBeouf is a good surprise. There´s no sense in compairing it with the predecessors, you´d better enjoy it as a satisfactory adventure movie!
  70. TedK.
    Jun 20, 2008
    9
    This film had me grinning like a small child. It totally entranced me. I love how the filmmakers went WAY WAY over the top. Its unabashed silliness is what makes this movie great.
  71. saml
    Jun 20, 2008
    8
    Now, keep in mind, I'm incredibly pretentious. I could bore you to death talking about Bergman and I loved My Dinner With Andre. And yet, I enjoyed the hell out of this. The second he survives a nuke in a fridge all bets are off in ridiculousness.
  72. RichardC.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    Lazy, lazy viewers. Can't even just sit back and enjoy something breathtaking, new, overwhelming and beautiful if it isn't in accordance with what your depressingly limited expectations laid out for you. What a tremendous hulking mess of a movie. Not fresh material? Storyline too much to handle? You poor limited souls. Go back and eat some more McDonalds. Haters are being Lazy, lazy viewers. Can't even just sit back and enjoy something breathtaking, new, overwhelming and beautiful if it isn't in accordance with what your depressingly limited expectations laid out for you. What a tremendous hulking mess of a movie. Not fresh material? Storyline too much to handle? You poor limited souls. Go back and eat some more McDonalds. Haters are being virulent these days... Expand
  73. KonradB
    Jun 30, 2008
    9
    Excellent film, and charmingly naive for the Internet age. The story was a brilliant pastiche of materials from the '50s pop bin, South American mythology, and Von Donnegan's aliens-built-mayan-civilization schtick (which fits better into a movie than a term-paper essay). Good female characters, too, and the decision to present the Soviets as less menacing than the Nazis was a Excellent film, and charmingly naive for the Internet age. The story was a brilliant pastiche of materials from the '50s pop bin, South American mythology, and Von Donnegan's aliens-built-mayan-civilization schtick (which fits better into a movie than a term-paper essay). Good female characters, too, and the decision to present the Soviets as less menacing than the Nazis was a tasteful one. Expand
  74. ChrisH.
    Jun 4, 2008
    7
    Not as good as the first movie, but definitely as good as the second and third. Vine swinging was a bit of a reach, but I enjoyed the movie overall.
  75. JesseS.
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    Well, aside from the other previous reviews, I liked the movie. Yes, it was generally cheesy, and yes, the "alien" plot wasn't really Indiana Jones material, but I liked it, and it's just what I expected. Of course, anyone that didn't like it has to remember: it's been ninteen years since the last film. Ford, Spielburg, and Lucas have been involved in countless other Well, aside from the other previous reviews, I liked the movie. Yes, it was generally cheesy, and yes, the "alien" plot wasn't really Indiana Jones material, but I liked it, and it's just what I expected. Of course, anyone that didn't like it has to remember: it's been ninteen years since the last film. Ford, Spielburg, and Lucas have been involved in countless other projects since then. They're not going to be true-to-form after all these years, and they did what they could to give us a good movie without it being another B-Movie. Expand
  76. DavidV
    Jun 7, 2008
    7
    Pretty much what I was expecting from the next Indiana Jones movie. Still fun, with great stunts and a charismatic Harrison Ford. There were some ridiculous scenes, but as I said before, I went in expecting them.
  77. AlexT.
    Jun 8, 2008
    8
    This movie was fun, far-fetched, action-packed and great to watch on the big screen. For those of you who were expecting something other than that, you were wasting your time watching this movie. A great film for the cinema, but I don't think I would have enjoyed it on my own TV screen.
  78. JonathanL.
    Jul 7, 2008
    8
    Despite the hype, the new Indiana Jones proves to be a solid mixture of story, character and adventure. Not many movies have been able to give you a glimpse into the excitement of adventuring new areas. Meanwhile, The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull has great action sequences, great editing, but a slightly ridiculous ending.
  79. Ethan
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    Its got that movie magic
  80. JaredK.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    This is an underated gem. I'm not surprised so many complain. Some won't give anything a chance. Still, it's great.
  81. JohnC.
    May 18, 2008
    10
    Indiana Jones 4 has been a 15 year wait. and its worth it.
  82. TysonF.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    One of the best movie's ive seen in years!!!!
  83. [Anonymous]
    May 22, 2008
    8
    The only reason people aren't scoring this higher is because they are comparing it to raiders, and crudsade. Which is hardly fair. I don't think anyone thought this would be the best of the series, and its not. But it is definitely a worthy and welcomed addition. This is a solid sequel and a hell of a lot of fun. If you liked the first three then you'll like this.
  84. Albert
    May 22, 2008
    8
    For God's sake! Did the Village Voice guy even watched to movie at all? I feared what could happen with one of my favorite movie characters but Indy is back in full form here! Forget what critics might say. Just enjoy!
  85. IndyFan
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Not perfect, but a great ride!!! Well worth the visit to the theater, and I will see it again and again. Skull needed to look a little more like crystal, and a little less like a halloween trinket. Beyond that, awesome movie!
  86. AaronB
    May 22, 2008
    8
    Apart from the action scenes in the jungle which are way way way too over the top (Lucas have you not learned!) I really enjoyed most of the movie. There are some new classic lines in there, and is a fitting tribute to Tin Tins 'Flight 714' adventure. Gotta suspend your disbelief on this one.
  87. JamesS
    May 22, 2008
    8
    Sometimes the CGI and the plot get a bit cringeworthy, but the cast and non-stop action more than hold it together and it's quite frankly excellent. Proper Indiana Jones.
  88. JoshN
    May 22, 2008
    10
    This movie is classic. hahaha, I loved how cheesy it was, yet still very intelligent
  89. MackM.
    May 22, 2008
    9
    I don't know why everyone is voting this one down for. It's still the same Indy we know and love and although there are supernatural elements in the movie, that in no way ruins the movie. It's very good.
  90. NickD
    May 22, 2008
    10
    It's An Indy Film! But how does it stack up against the classics? Crystal Skull is most definitely a true blue Indiana Jones film. That being said, it is the worst of the Indiana Jones films. Not that that is all bad. I'd still take Crystal Skull over any modern action film (Spider-Man, Pirates, Casino Royale, and Iron Man included) hence the perfect score. Anyone and everyone It's An Indy Film! But how does it stack up against the classics? Crystal Skull is most definitely a true blue Indiana Jones film. That being said, it is the worst of the Indiana Jones films. Not that that is all bad. I'd still take Crystal Skull over any modern action film (Spider-Man, Pirates, Casino Royale, and Iron Man included) hence the perfect score. Anyone and everyone should see Crystal Skull, Indy fan or not, as it is the best movie is a long, long time. Still, when stacked up against the classics, it does fall short (just barely). From here on out, expect many SPOILERS: First off, Harrison Ford is NOT too old. I never once thought, "gee, he's sixty-five." And the movie is very tasteful at making fun of his age where appropriate, but not overdoing it. From the minute it starts, Skull will blow you away with how it looks. It is shot like an old Indy film. I thought I was in a theater in the 80s (which is impressive, cause I would have have to have been an infant to pull off such a feat). The opening at Area 51 is great! Jones at its best. I'd stack up the opening action sequences with all my favorites from the classic films. We see Indy fight in the warehouse, we get a glimpse of the Ark, and we see our hero survive a nuclear bomb. I'll admit, I was worried about the bomb part, having heard about it going in, but it was executed brilliantly, and fit in well with classic Jones. The 50s vibe of the film is great. It really takes advantage of the Red Scare, and Greasers, and aliens, really everything that makes the 50s the 50s. We see Jones deal with CIA and FBI and KGB in a way that would make Bond jealous. There is a great bit with Greasers and a 50s style brawl in a 50s diner which Mutt fits into perfectly. Really, the first half of the film is top notch. Almost classic Indiana Jones. The second half is not quite as good. A lot of clue following broken up by some respectable action scenes, but nothing that comes close to Raiders, Doom, or Crusade. The dialogue is always so on the nose! Even when the audience has already figured something out, Mutt or Indiana will repeat an earlier clue and then tell them again what it means. The River Boat action scene was not as good as I had heard. I actually like the opening one at Area 51 better. It really seemed that Mutt was doing much more action than Indy, which bothered me a bit. Also, The only part of the movie I truly hated came in this action scene. Mutt is taught to swing by Monkeys? Come on. Lame! Plus, this is the most CGIy part of the film. Everywhere else is seems tasteful and unnecessary, here it is a little over done. Ah, Mutt (Shia's character). What can I say about Mutt? He starts off fine. His greaser character aspects work surprisingly well and he is a fine character. But, as the film gets into its weaker half, he begins to pick up more and more of Indiana's slack until he's doing more in the River Boat chase than Indiana is! Is Mutt destined to replace Jones? (God, when he almost put on the hat at the end I was about to leave the theater. Thank you, Spielberg, for having Indy take what was rightfully his). let's hope not. I was open to the idea going in, and he was an alright character, but he is NO Indiana Jones and after seeing the film, a Mutt spin off is a horrible idea! Lots of other good secondary character here that fit the Jones films. Mac is great, Irina Spalko is a fine baddie (though she pales in comparison to Donavin or Belloq), and Marion is a welcome return to the series. The Macguffin is fine with me too. I have seen the power of God before, and now I have no problems with aliens and psychics. Some Jones fans may be turned off by aliens, but are they any more ridiculous than the power of God melting people's faces? To Sum It All Up: Good action, looks and feels like the classics (90% of the time), good wit, and lots of Indiana Jones! The best action film you can get in this millennium. Still, Mutt and Monkeys, a wee bit too much CGI in the River Boat scenes, some weak dialoge, the kinda lame wedding ending, and the fact this film was made 20 years after the others keeps it from beings as good as Raiders, Doom, or Crusade. So go see it for God's sake. And Lucas, if you are listening, I'd be fine with a 5th true Indy film, but NO MUTT MOVIE! Expand
  91. sorenu.
    May 22, 2008
    9
    I was expecting a mediocore action flick but man this movie blew me away! I was on the edge of my seat for the entire time. It was non-stop with some great allusions to the old films and its back with one line zingers. Sure its not as funny as the originals but do not let this deter you from an amazing movie going experience
  92. DaynziC.
    May 23, 2008
    8
    Pretty damn awesome, except for the stupid CGI animals. Totally could've gone without those. It was a good addition to the series. But did it bother anyone else that they almost NEVER CALLED HIM INDY?!?
  93. GaryB.
    May 23, 2008
    7
    This should be spoiler free, so here goes: The good bits are really, really good
  94. JosephAccetta
    May 23, 2008
    8
    Just as much fun as the others. I don't see what all the fuss is about. At first I had difficulty with it but frankly it quickly swept me up in an extremely fun adventure.
  95. Wargamer
    May 23, 2008
    10
    This film was everything I hoped it would be. It felt every bit as thrilling as the old trilogy, and it is going to take some beating. Indy 4 is lining up to be my Film of The Year!
  96. WillC.
    May 23, 2008
    8
    Not a Masterwork, but good clean Indie fun the way you remembered it. A tad too much popcorn for the kids, but plenty of adult level plotting to keep you engaged during the entire "ride".
  97. TMo
    May 23, 2008
    8
    This movie rocks. Ya'll are haters... what'd you expect, 2001: A Space Odyssey? C'mon, cut 'em some slack.
  98. RMM
    May 24, 2008
    8
    Looking forward to the next installment, where Harrison plays to Shia, as Sean did to Harrison. Pls don't make us wait until 19 years!
  99. SlyF.
    May 24, 2008
    8
    I was not hyped and thus not dissatisfied at all. Indy 4 is a fun 148 min of escapism.
  100. CharlesG.
    May 24, 2008
    8
    Goes where no Indiana Jones movie has gone before. The territory this movie covers is completely unexpected - at least if you avoid spoilers. The action was fantastic just like the other Jones movies. Shia and Ford are great together. This movie was worthy of resurrecting the Indiana Jones franchise.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Harrison Ford? Terrific -- and re-energized.
  2. Director Steven Spielberg seems intent on celebrating his entire early career here. Whatever the story there is, a vague journey to return a spectacular archeological find to its rightful home -- an unusual goal of the old grave-robber, you must admit -- gets swamped in a sea of stunts and CGI that are relentless as the scenes and character relationships are charmless.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    70
    There are scenes in the new movie that seem like stretching exercises at a retirement home; there are garrulous stretches, and even the title seems a few words too long. But once it gets going, Crystal Skull delivers smart, robust, familiar entertainment.