Indie Game: The Movie Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After two years of painstaking work, designer Edmund McMillen and programmer Tommy Refenes await the release of their first major game for Xbox, Super Meat Boy—the adventures of a skinless boy in search of his girlfriend, who is made of bandages. At PAX, a major video-game expo, developerAfter two years of painstaking work, designer Edmund McMillen and programmer Tommy Refenes await the release of their first major game for Xbox, Super Meat Boy—the adventures of a skinless boy in search of his girlfriend, who is made of bandages. At PAX, a major video-game expo, developer Phil Fish unveils his highly anticipated, four-years-in-the-making FEZ. Jonathan Blow considers beginning a new game after creating Braid, one of the highest-rated games of all time. First-time filmmaking duo Lisanne Pajot and James Swirsky capture the emotional journey of these meticulously obsessive artists who devote their lives to their interactive art. Four developers, three games, and one ultimate goal— to express oneself through a video game. (BlinkWorks Media) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    May 18, 2012
    90
    Along the way comes a bracing, honest confession about these interactive creations, voiced by one designer but no doubt applying to many more makers of all kinds: "I made it for myself."
  2. Reviewed by: Guy Dixon
    May 25, 2012
    88
    Video-game developers: Geeks, nerds, socially adrift obsessives. Indie Game thankfully gets past such base introductions in a flash and graduates to far more engrossing levels – levels which open up into the real worlds of the best independent game developers working their craft.
  3. Reviewed by: Duane Byrge
    May 14, 2012
    80
    Well-crafted and intelligent, this film is an illumination of the agony of creation – the self-doubt, the obsession, the life sacrifices – that are the core, not merely the side-effects of those define themselves through "art."
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    May 14, 2012
    70
    The picture scores big points by drawing a sharp distinction between corporate vidgame programmers and indies.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Miller
    May 15, 2012
    70
    An insightful new geek documentary, well directed by first-timers Lisanne Pajot and James Swirsky.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 14, 2012
    63
    Makes a compelling case for games as not only clever hand-eye coordination exercises, but also as manifestations of their creators' emotional and philosophical viewpoints.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    May 15, 2012
    60
    This is a movie about a subculture, made for that subculture; only hard-core Xboxers need apply.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    I am a gamer Have been since I was 4/5 years old I have wanted to makes games most of my life this Movie shows how hard it is to be a indieI am a gamer Have been since I was 4/5 years old I have wanted to makes games most of my life this Movie shows how hard it is to be a indie game developer and how much time and work goes in to the games it also shows the life of these indie game developers and what it takes to get rid of the bugs in the games it shows all the things they need to give up to make games and how they are just like us they smile at the reviews and laugh they are not just indie game developers they have family it shows that and friends and the music is great in the movie we get really close to what they are trying to put in to the games and how the games are some parts of their childhood Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    Seeing these designers, portrayed in such unfiltered manner, the building up tension, their fears and passions moved me to tears just nothingSeeing these designers, portrayed in such unfiltered manner, the building up tension, their fears and passions moved me to tears just nothing before in a long time. Aside from my personal view about how much this new media is underrated and misused, this movie brings to you what you can already feel from these "experiences", even more clearly. When i first saw the trailer i hoped this movie was good, but not as much it turned out! I cannot find any technical issue that may ruin the view. I guess this is what everybody following his dreams need to see, a true life and emotion injection! Collapse
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    One of the best films... Definitely the best film about gaming industry! The story about not such popular genre of contemporary games - indieOne of the best films... Definitely the best film about gaming industry! The story about not such popular genre of contemporary games - indie games- games made by a single person or a small group of people, seam to be simple, but truely as hardcore as landing on the Sun is! Must seen for geeks, gamers, nerds and youngsters for the last to see that nowadays games are not only CoD or Battlefield but something more personal and creative! Absolutely fascinating shortage! Thriller at its best also :) 10/10 ! Unremarkable experience! Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    This film really opened my eyes into how hard it is to break into the industry and to make a game that will sell well. At times it really madeThis film really opened my eyes into how hard it is to break into the industry and to make a game that will sell well. At times it really made me feel sorry for the 4 devs and also made me smile at their inevitable success. The only problem I had was with Phil Fish, the guy who made Fez. At times he made himself look like a complete ass and carried on and on and on for the entire film until he started finding people who liked the game, although he was going through hardship and I accept that, it is no way to act under any circumstance. Overall a great watch and I highly reccomend it. Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    This is a good-natured, sincere and touching Movie. This Film is about a dream, it's also about a sacrifice. It tells about what one canThis is a good-natured, sincere and touching Movie. This Film is about a dream, it's also about a sacrifice. It tells about what one can refuse to reach the aim. This is not only about/for game developers/players, it's about all people of art. I believe every musician or movie director had the same feelings and emotions as the Movie characters. The history of every single game in this Movie is amazing. So every gamer (even not a fan of Indie games) should watch this! Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    There is nothing more emotionally gratifying than to witness through crystal clear filmmaking the deeply personal aberrations and triumphs ofThere is nothing more emotionally gratifying than to witness through crystal clear filmmaking the deeply personal aberrations and triumphs of a group of people I admire and respect so greatly. Braid, Super Meat Boy, and Fez are not only my favorite video games, but to me they represent a new wave of honesty and purity in my most beloved art form. To see the stories behind the creators of such masterpieces so magnificently fleshed out in this documentary feels like a stroke of good luck on my part (being precisely the kind of fan I hope each creator most desires) and a stroke of genius on Blinkworks part for devoting so much self-produced effort and such polished storytelling abilities to a side of new media that has yet to be grasped at all by the mainstream. The games, the film, and the stories within are all golden and I hope you think so too. Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2012
    7
    Merece la pena descubrir que se esconde en el desarrollo de los pequeños juegos independientes que tan buenos y gratos momentos nos hanMerece la pena descubrir que se esconde en el desarrollo de los pequeños juegos independientes que tan buenos y gratos momentos nos han dado como Super Meat Boy o Fez. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews