Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: A documentary that follows former U.S. Labor Secretary Robert Reich as he looks to raise awareness of the country's widening economic gap.

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Katie Walsh
    Oct 1, 2013
    91
    That a documentary about economics could be so personally emotional and affecting is remarkable. And to learn from Reich in this film, as his students at Berkeley do, is a treat and a privilege.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 27, 2013
    83
    It’s unseemly, I know, to praise a movie like this for the stand-up-comic affability of its host. But Reich’s engagingness also gives credence to the seriousness of his message. He’s all about fairness, and, in his demeanor, as well as in his presentation, he embodies that ideal.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 26, 2013
    80
    The wonkiness is at a minimum and Reich delivers it with tales from his own life, since he’s the son of a dress store owner and a mom who helped in the shop. Essential viewing, no matter how you cut it.
  4. Reviewed by: Pete Vonder Haar
    Sep 24, 2013
    70
    The testimonials from a few of these people, with the realization they speak for tens of thousands, reinforces Inequality for All's sobering message while at the same time undercutting Reich's optimism.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Oct 2, 2013
    67
    Inequality for All creates a framework in which all this heavy material is easily digestible, and refashions Reich, the policy wonk, into an inspirational figure who argues that “history is on the side of positive social change.”
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Sep 26, 2013
    63
    Another problem with “Inequality” is that it offers nothing new or surprising.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Sep 30, 2013
    38
    A cinematic listicle of misleading economic talking points.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    A brief history of how the wealth of our nation is ending up in the hands of fewer and fewer people and how we came to believe in corporations over customers as the job creators. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    This a pretty informative film that I would recommend for both fans of Reich and those who are unaware of his work alike. The only downside is that the movie may not be as informative for those that follow Reich closely. It's still worth watching if only to support the spread of what some might call the economics of decency. I have to question the Ratoo's of the world who seem to have a hard time discerning who it is that is living in the reality based community. My best guess is that he may be one of those hyper-partisans who goes around giving 0 to the films he ideologically opposes, possibly for pay, but I imagine the forces that are afraid that widely based prosperity may start to come back can rabble rouse enough folks into doing it for free. Collapse
  3. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    I saw this movie with 3 friends. We had expected it to be informative, but a bit of a downer. What we did find was a surprise. It was very informative, historical, inspirational and a great lesson in basic global economics. Robert Reich does a wonderful job in this film presenting all of this with hard data from reliable sources. This is a must see film for everyone in the 99% and the 1%. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    Rattoo may have thought this film was propaganda, but it's hard to argue with the many facts that Reich presents. When 400 people in the US control as much wealth as the 150,000,000 poorest US residents, we have an issue of inequality that's at least worth discussing. And Reich makes it clear how government has contributed to inequality by tilting the field in favor of the well-off.

    My main criticism is that Reich showed a lot of correlation and inferred causality from it. In some cases he made a case for causality, but in too many cases he did not. Still it's a film worth seeing; you can form your own opinion whether inequality in the US represents a problem or not and, if so, what we should do about it.
    Expand

See all 5 User Reviews

Trailers