Miramax Films | Release Date: September 24, 2004
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 88 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
59
Mixed:
4
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TerryApr 30, 2007
I liked this one better. People don't realize that the Departed is a remake of the Infernal Affairs trilogy. The Departed does take sources from IA 2 and 3. To say that this movie is a rough draft of Departed is downright insulting. I liked this one better. People don't realize that the Departed is a remake of the Infernal Affairs trilogy. The Departed does take sources from IA 2 and 3. To say that this movie is a rough draft of Departed is downright insulting. WIthout this movie, there goes the Departed as well as Scorsese's career. This movie is much better. The characters are more interesting and this film has more soul than the American counterpart. A much better thriller overall. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 22, 2011
A artistically bizarre, action packed movie that has the untouchable tension between its characters. In my opinion, "Internal Affairs" is better than the American version of the movie, "The Departed".
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
DanB.Mar 14, 2007
It's like a rough draft for The Departed. I think if you've seen The Departed first, this movie won't seem so or as good. If you see this first, maybe it'll play better. They really took all this movie's good It's like a rough draft for The Departed. I think if you've seen The Departed first, this movie won't seem so or as good. If you see this first, maybe it'll play better. They really took all this movie's good elements and sharpened them, played them up, in The Departed. Side note--they use so many English words! And who knew, they play bagpipes in HK. Fascinating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BurnsFeb 27, 2007
Excellent! Pity it got a pathetic carbon copy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JDavisApr 8, 2006
The first half of the movie introduces the characters and builds a strong plot, while the second half of the movie is a rollercoaster fulls of twists and suprises.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CongaT.Oct 6, 2006
A masterpiece of storyline, cinematography and characterization. A bit of overacting gives it not a perfect ten but nothing real is perfect in this life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ERG1008Aug 19, 2010
Undercover cop works as henchman for gangster, new man is brought in to Internal Affairs to find mole in Police Department, paths cross, deceit & a right hullabaloo.
Riveting thriller with an excellent story, brilliantly acted & played out.
I
Undercover cop works as henchman for gangster, new man is brought in to Internal Affairs to find mole in Police Department, paths cross, deceit & a right hullabaloo.
Riveting thriller with an excellent story, brilliantly acted & played out.
I had seen The Departed (Western remake) before this so expected the twists & turns throughout but both films do stand-up in their own right.
Also really liked the Hong-Kong back drop in this & some really good cinematography.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KilcoeAug 29, 2010
Probably the best Hong Kong film ever. A perfect combination of commercial and art.

And, being a Chinese, this film means so much to us. It revived the industry and set up a new set of standards there.

10 /10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nutterjrSep 22, 2012
The film that got Scorsese his first Oscar is a remake of this wonderful film, a very perplex and masterfully weaved chess match of wit and ingenuity. The scenario deserves all possible accolades and the directing is very sharp indeed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SheldonCooperNov 8, 2010
Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal AffairsInfernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs Infernal Affairs v Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avatar16Sep 16, 2011
Je savais que Les Infiltrés était le remake de cet Infernal Affairs, mais jamais je n'aurais pensé que le film de Martin Scorsese en était la copie conforme (la moindre scène aJe savais que Les Infiltrés était le remake de cet Infernal Affairs, mais jamais je n'aurais pensé que le film de Martin Scorsese en était la copie conforme (la moindre scène a été refaite dans le film américain). De ce fait, cela m'a paru bizarre de regarder ce film hongkongais. Mais heureusement, cela ne m'a pas empêcher d'admirer ce thriller à ça juste valeur! Entrainant, passionnant, haletant, mise en scène avec brio, des personnages interprétés avec talent... C'est sûr, je préfère légèrement Les Infiltrés, de part l'immense talent de Scorsese. Mais Infernal Affairs n'est pas à oublier de si tôt non plus! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
edwadokunFeb 17, 2014
To compare the Departed with Infernal Affairs is insane. While the story is almost mirror, the style of direction and the cast could not be more night and day. Mainly because there are two different cultures at play here. The Chinese and theTo compare the Departed with Infernal Affairs is insane. While the story is almost mirror, the style of direction and the cast could not be more night and day. Mainly because there are two different cultures at play here. The Chinese and the U.S.

@DanB. Learn your history. Hong Kong was once a British colony and their entire judicial and law enforcement system is based on the British hence the bagpipes. HK is also an international hub so naturally there's a lot of English. While the majority of HK are Chinese people, they still hold do things the way the British taught them.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
I've been looking around Rotten Tomatoes to find some negative reviews of 2002's ''Infernal Affairs'' by either critics or the audience, but i cant seem to find any *really* negative reviews (except the 3 rotten scores by critics) so i guess,I've been looking around Rotten Tomatoes to find some negative reviews of 2002's ''Infernal Affairs'' by either critics or the audience, but i cant seem to find any *really* negative reviews (except the 3 rotten scores by critics) so i guess, i'm yet again, back in a dark corner with my opinion on this one.

Me, like many of this films' viewers, watched this film after having seen the wildly succesfull (critically acclaimed, and loved by audiences) Martin Scorsese picture: ''The Departed'' which is the remake/retelling of this story, staring a massive A-list cast, slick style, superb screenwriting, confident directing and an additional 40 minutes to sink your teeth into. It's basically an upgrade in every filmmaking aspect, as you would hope with every remake, which is unfortunately not always the case..

As you can tell, i did not like Infernal Affairs at all, maybe a scene here and there, but as a whole, i was vastly disappointed. If i hadnt have seen The Departed before viewing Infernal Affairs i would have had no clue what this film is about, the only reason i understood what it was about after 40 minutes is because i watched The Departed before seeing this, which resulted in me having some sort of a clue what it was all about, but it really is not clear at all. Which is a perfect segway for my first complaint: The script is not confident of itself and has no clue what it wants to be, it goes all over the place and it feels so disconnected with the audience. Like i said, i got a fair idea what the movie was doing and what it wants to be after a whopping 40 minutes of struggling to know what the hell it was about, and to remind you, i allready saw The Departed, and i still had no clue what it wants to be. When watching the first 40 minutes i thought: ''Well, Scorsese and the screenwriters sure changed a whole lot, it seems a completely different film.''

There are always those people that always claim that the original is better than the remake, even though the remake is an incredible masterpiece. But i really cant take people like that siriously, use your brain, and anyone who has one will clearly see that Scorsese's The Departed is a much superior film than Infernal Affairs, even though you might've liked the original, i think then everyone would agree too that The Departed is the superior film. It has one of the best casts of all time and they all deliver incredible A+ performances, but in the original except maybe the 2 leads, every other character and performance is not memorable. Scorsese has crafted memorable characters out of every character that has a slight role in the film, even the smaller ones, which is an incredible feit. The original does no attempt at trying this, except with the 2 leads, which is poor. The Departed is 40 minutes longer, which is additional runtime it clearly needed because The Departed is a well fleshed-out, coherent, and streamlined script which is engaging, entertaining and thrilling from minute one. Infernal Affairs however, is disjoint, unclear of itself, confusing, badly paced, and incoherent at many points in the film, neither is it thrilling nor that entertaining, which is a shame.

The only thing i can praise wholeheartedly is that the ending/climax of Infernal Affairs is handled much better than in The Departed. The ending of The Departed is almost cartoonish and tonely-off. In Internal Affairs the ending is handled which much more precision and matureness. However, the ending to The Departed comes as more of a surprise and is more shocking, despite being a bit cartoonish.

That's all i have to say, watching Infernal Affairs was a chore, i did not have a fun time watching it, it was a difficult watch, and i have no intention in ever watching it again.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BroyaxDec 28, 2016
ça fait je ne sais combien de fois que je les regarde, les revois et les revisionne et y a pas à tortiller : ces affaires internes sont bel et bien infernales et machiavéliquement écrites !

Un régal de finesse, de rebondissements habilement
ça fait je ne sais combien de fois que je les regarde, les revois et les revisionne et y a pas à tortiller : ces affaires internes sont bel et bien infernales et machiavéliquement écrites !

Un régal de finesse, de rebondissements habilement orchestrés et de doubles jeux dédoublés via les deux acteurs chinois les plus doués de leur génération : Andy Lau et Tony Leung !

La fin surprenante montre pourtant une absence de manichéisme (inutilement) réducteur et délivre à l'inverse les deux faces exactement opposées d'un même miroir, deux faces qui nous sont présentées tout au long du film. Ainsi, Infernal Affairs va plus loin que les gendarmes contre les voleurs et nous fait suivre deux parcours différents et deux personnalités qui ont bien plus de points communs qu'on ne le supposait.

La réalisation et le scénario intelligents nous font ressentir une forte empathie pour le flic et le criminel à la fois criminels et flics ballottés par un cruel et ironique destin. Admirable et remonté avec la précision d'une horloge suisse, ce polar déroule sans forcer et avec brio d'un bout à l'autre.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews