Inglourious Basterds

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1146 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StanS.
    Aug 21, 2009
    3
    Tarantino is the King with no clothing. Lauded by critics and film aficionados, but truth be told he is an abject failure as a storyteller. His films drag and sag and never have anything beneath them besides slapstick mayhem. The Basterds are no different 2 and 1/2 hours plus ending as Eliot would put it "not a bang but a whimper."
  2. lawrencealtaffer
    Aug 22, 2009
    3
    Some great acting and great lines but for a film that is 2.5 hours or maybe a little more there is almost ZERO character development. You have a Nazi Loyalist who completely flips in the period of 30 secs for no reason, and its never explained.. just one of many holes. Many long boring moments with characters that could have been left out...very long and overall boring film...with a fewSome great acting and great lines but for a film that is 2.5 hours or maybe a little more there is almost ZERO character development. You have a Nazi Loyalist who completely flips in the period of 30 secs for no reason, and its never explained.. just one of many holes. Many long boring moments with characters that could have been left out...very long and overall boring film...with a few great moments sprinkled in.. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2011
    2
    Incoherent, self-indulgent mis-match of a movie. Insulting to Jews, Germans & anyone with knowledge of history or any sort of moral compass. I have no idea what this movie was trying to achieve, satisfy Tarantino's ego?
  4. Jackson
    Aug 24, 2009
    1
    I really disliked this movie. If this movie had not had Quentin Tarantino's name attached to it I'm fairly sure most reviews would have said this was garbage. It's just a movie people watch to say "It's good because it's bad, and since I'm smart I can see what the movie was -really- trying to say". Unfortunately this movie was completely directionless, devoid I really disliked this movie. If this movie had not had Quentin Tarantino's name attached to it I'm fairly sure most reviews would have said this was garbage. It's just a movie people watch to say "It's good because it's bad, and since I'm smart I can see what the movie was -really- trying to say". Unfortunately this movie was completely directionless, devoid of purpose, and did not say anything any other WWII hasn't said better. The violence also felt way too forced, which just made the experience pointlessly uncomfortable. Expand
  5. JimD.
    Feb 23, 2010
    3
    Only Christoph Watlz's excellent performance, good cinematography and a great soundtrack keep this from being a 0. It is one of the most repulsive, offensive movies I've ever seen, and the people that gave it a 10 obviously delight in seeing a theatre full of people being burned alive, mowed down by machine gun fire, and ultimately blown to bits by, get this, Jewish suicide Only Christoph Watlz's excellent performance, good cinematography and a great soundtrack keep this from being a 0. It is one of the most repulsive, offensive movies I've ever seen, and the people that gave it a 10 obviously delight in seeing a theatre full of people being burned alive, mowed down by machine gun fire, and ultimately blown to bits by, get this, Jewish suicide bombers. That the victims are Nazis is beside the point. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    3
    From this movie comes no conclusion, no morale. At the end, the only thing I felt was emptiness. The plot (if it can be called so) is simply terrible or non-existent despite the great visuals and spectacular acting (except Hitler's character, which was not realistic enough, too caricatural). It's just bundle of moments (often too long) patched up together and the two separate story linesFrom this movie comes no conclusion, no morale. At the end, the only thing I felt was emptiness. The plot (if it can be called so) is simply terrible or non-existent despite the great visuals and spectacular acting (except Hitler's character, which was not realistic enough, too caricatural). It's just bundle of moments (often too long) patched up together and the two separate story lines have no interactions other than the final location of the story. It also holds no historic value whatsoever. The violence and gore are not justified for it does not add up any values of interest to the movie. All in all, the movie has nothing beneath it, nothing to tell, and just comes short of interest in its lengthy 2.5 h, a great disappointment. 0/10 for the plot 9.5/10 for the acting 8/10 for the visuals and 0/10 for all else. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2012
    1
    There is nothing in this movie that makes for a good movie save for an interesting opening sequence. The premise is terrible and ignores the historical context of WWII. An all Jewish unit sent to infiltrate Germany. Nevermind that it's glossed over how they get into the country. Let's ignore the fact that none of the infiltration team speaks German or any other European language fluently.There is nothing in this movie that makes for a good movie save for an interesting opening sequence. The premise is terrible and ignores the historical context of WWII. An all Jewish unit sent to infiltrate Germany. Nevermind that it's glossed over how they get into the country. Let's ignore the fact that none of the infiltration team speaks German or any other European language fluently. I'll even let it pass that the guerrilla team hangs out at the site of an ambush to torture their prisoners which is tactically absurd. What I cannot forgive is demeaning and dishonoring ourselves and our veterans by lowering ourselves to the level of Nazi's. For instance, in the ambush seen, Brad Pitt's character gives the Nazi a choice of betraying his comrades or being beaten to death. In this scene, the Nazi is the more honorable figure, selflessly going to a painful death rather than betraying fellow soldiers. Carving swastikas into the foreheads of the dead? Where is the morality or honor in that? If we have become so jaded that we cheer for the mutilation of human beings; for grizzly unjustified torture, I'm saddened for our future. It boggles the mind that we glorify this by nominating it for best picture. Not just because of vacuum of morality. It's bad writing. Taking 15 minutes to introduce multiple characters at length only to have them eliminated five minutes later is obnoxious. Especially, when no one replaces those characters. The dialogue is long winded, pedantic, and campy. The art direction seems more like it's trying to mock Saving Private Ryan than establish it's own style. I get the premise and the concept, no one likes Hitler. He was recent history's most prominent monster. But this movie cheapens the memory of those who apposed him. This should've been a straight to DVD release. Expand
  8. Sep 13, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Only Tarantino can take an event like WW2 and make a boring directionless movie like Inglourious basterds. He decides to recreate WW2 events to show the world his love for (hard on for) mindless violence and long pointless dialougues. The fundamental problem with this film, is that if you are going to recreate an actual historical event, the film has it has to be funny. Without Humor an audience familiar to WW2 history will find this to be boring inaccurate rubbish. The movie is formulated into several chapters covering lives of Shoshana who escapes near death at hands of Christopher Waltz and the nazis. I will not get to much into detail because i do not want to spoil the move. However the movie evolves into an unreleastic convulted plot to assasinate Adolf Hitler. The ending does provide a little suspense but this is around the 2 in a half hour mark. When the movies was over I was left wondering why did I waste 2 in half hours watching this abomination. All in All we have a Quentin Tarantino's wet dream of what happened in WW2, packed with mindless violence, boring dialogues and worse convuluted plot imaginable. This movie is neither humourous or entertaining. Avoid at all cost. Expand
  9. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    Enduring this film is about as close to the human suffering of the concentration camps as I can possibly experience. If you somehow found this enjoyable I hope that God will have mercy on your soul...
  10. Kerome
    Jan 24, 2010
    3
    Tarantino's world-war 2 effort is a very mixed bag: although it is a cinematographic tour-de-force and wonderfully polished in its technical execution, the nihilistic story feels like a waste of some great performances by the star-studded cast, Christopher Waltz and Diane Kruger being particularly excellent as Hans Landa and Bridget von Hammersmark. Although the violence may shock Tarantino's world-war 2 effort is a very mixed bag: although it is a cinematographic tour-de-force and wonderfully polished in its technical execution, the nihilistic story feels like a waste of some great performances by the star-studded cast, Christopher Waltz and Diane Kruger being particularly excellent as Hans Landa and Bridget von Hammersmark. Although the violence may shock and the slick scenes may briefly hold the attention, ultimately this is as soulless and empty as Deathproof, and less likable in many ways. Pulp Fiction it is not. Expand
  11. ricos
    Aug 30, 2009
    2
    Well, let's all lean back, shall we.. Have a drink and smoke our pipes and talk, then talk some more.. And then, just when you think we've talked enough, let's continue the conversation in french, with a german translation.. Or vice versa. You choose. I don't care. When we've finished talking, someone else will take over. They too will smoke sigars, drink whiskey, Well, let's all lean back, shall we.. Have a drink and smoke our pipes and talk, then talk some more.. And then, just when you think we've talked enough, let's continue the conversation in french, with a german translation.. Or vice versa. You choose. I don't care. When we've finished talking, someone else will take over. They too will smoke sigars, drink whiskey, maybe even milk. They'll eat cake and talk some more, some in french, then in german. This film had me leaving the theatre in pure boredom. I think I lasted about 90mins before I had worn out every imaginable sitting-position you can cram into a cinema seat. I did this for Tarantino; because I've thought he was a genius. Until now. Apparently this basterd of a movie lasts for 153mins, and something cool probably, eventually happens. But I don't care. QT has grown overconfident in his ability to produce lengthy dialogues. And here there are no "charming m*f* pigs" either.. You wait for them, of course: Those nuggets of clever conversation. But they never come.. At least not within the first 90mins. So, I didn't see the whole thing. I think if this weren't Tarantino, alot of people wouldn't. All the overrated reviews of this proves QT has reached a point where he gets a good rating by default.. I think he's developed a speech impediment. It's a damn shame. Expand
  12. JonathanG
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    War movie? Violent? Hardly. The entire body count until the last couple minutes of the movie is in the single digits. This movie is utterly boring. I've never been tempted to walk out part way through a movie until now. I stayed, hoping it would improve, but it did not. It's as long as The Dark Knight or Transformers 2, but it doesn't have a fraction of the action.
  13. Jan 11, 2012
    1
    Odd movie.The Germans, who are supposed to be the bad guys, are made to look like the good guys. It is almost impossible to feel sympathy for the basterds after they smash in the head of a POW in the most disgusting way possible. A POW, for Christ's sake. And one with honor as well, since he refuses to betray his comrades. Cinematography is great, acting is as well, with the exception ofOdd movie.The Germans, who are supposed to be the bad guys, are made to look like the good guys. It is almost impossible to feel sympathy for the basterds after they smash in the head of a POW in the most disgusting way possible. A POW, for Christ's sake. And one with honor as well, since he refuses to betray his comrades. Cinematography is great, acting is as well, with the exception of Brad Pitt. The weirdest thing is that they use a David Bowie song that has already been used in 'Cat People'. That is really the killer. Expand
  14. Bill
    Sep 10, 2009
    0
    Unless you are a sadist who revels in blood, human butchery, and overly long preposterous stories with many tedious scenes in which case it would be a 10.
  15. IgorE.
    Jan 24, 2010
    0
    Never liked Tarantino. This movie made me hate him! The most stupid movie I've ever watched.
  16. BrandonS
    Jan 2, 2010
    2
    Overlong and boring, punctuated by periodic scenes of incredibly uncomfortable violence. It's like Tarantino's other movies, only without the charm and wit. Very disappointing.
  17. JohnS
    Jan 31, 2010
    0
    You sit through the drudgery of prolonged and monoyomous dialogue only to be met by ridiculous shootouts. And it doesn't even have the decency to be short.
  18. steve
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    Could be used as a clinical test for diagnosing brain atrophy.
  19. JamesR
    Oct 10, 2009
    1
    QT still proving he's got the subtlety of a bull with a chainsaw and the ability to turn promising subject matter into dross. Even taking into account the offensive subject matter the film could have at least had a cartoon appeal; instead it just angers and alienates the viewer. The only film I've ever walked out of at a cinema.
  20. EvinC.
    Aug 22, 2009
    1
    I went in this film expecting the best. Unfortunately, i came out feeling oh so disappointed and sad. There's no doubt, i love Tarantino and his work. But all i ask is why? Why did this film have to be bad. I permit this film the biggest letdown of the year. I only enjoyed one performance, not by brad pitt, but by another individual.
  21. JamesL
    Aug 23, 2009
    3
    I feel sorry for Brad Pitt as this is the second consecutive major bomb he has starred in. This film is simply not entertaining, funny, enjoyable, or worth your time and money. Tarantino seems to have forgotten that you need a plot, character development, dialogue that matters, and respect for the intelligence of your audience. Once can not just throw crap on a wall and see what sticks. I feel sorry for Brad Pitt as this is the second consecutive major bomb he has starred in. This film is simply not entertaining, funny, enjoyable, or worth your time and money. Tarantino seems to have forgotten that you need a plot, character development, dialogue that matters, and respect for the intelligence of your audience. Once can not just throw crap on a wall and see what sticks. That appears to be his film making approach now! This was more of a cartoon, a bad cartoon, than a movie that one could appreciate in any manner. Tarantino is washed up! Expand
  22. PaulS
    Aug 25, 2009
    2
    Not very good at all. QT is and always has been a one trick pony.
  23. ScottY
    Aug 27, 2009
    2
    Chad S. You are usually a decent critic. But you missed the hear. Does everyone have Tarantino goggles on when he makes a movie. Everything in here, save for a few brilliant scenes, are awkward and embarrassing to watch. It is "film student" level amateurish which is to say there is no excuse for that at this point in his career. People, his lack of film making etiquette shows through his Chad S. You are usually a decent critic. But you missed the hear. Does everyone have Tarantino goggles on when he makes a movie. Everything in here, save for a few brilliant scenes, are awkward and embarrassing to watch. It is "film student" level amateurish which is to say there is no excuse for that at this point in his career. People, his lack of film making etiquette shows through his inexperience. He has not had proper training as of yet apparently. Expand
  24. JaredZ
    Aug 31, 2009
    1
    After releasing three masterworks--the KILL BILL series and the wonderful GRINDHOUSE, Tarantino's latest is one of his greatest disappointments...easily one of his worst. A monotonous, dreary epic, where excessive use of subtitles are used as a substitute for his usually fascinating dialogue. Brad Pitt's laughable excuse of a southern accent could just as easily have been After releasing three masterworks--the KILL BILL series and the wonderful GRINDHOUSE, Tarantino's latest is one of his greatest disappointments...easily one of his worst. A monotonous, dreary epic, where excessive use of subtitles are used as a substitute for his usually fascinating dialogue. Brad Pitt's laughable excuse of a southern accent could just as easily have been derived from watching a few episodes of "My Name is Earl". Devoid of style and an intriguing plot, this is a stiff. Expand
  25. RalphM
    Sep 20, 2009
    3
    Despite my actually leaving the cinema with a bad taste in my mouth, I have to concede that there were some excellent character dialogues and cinematography dotted throughout this film and I was impressed that such a high profile film could get away with so much German and french dialogue. However all of this was tarnished by over the top ultraviolence that makes you sad to think that so Despite my actually leaving the cinema with a bad taste in my mouth, I have to concede that there were some excellent character dialogues and cinematography dotted throughout this film and I was impressed that such a high profile film could get away with so much German and french dialogue. However all of this was tarnished by over the top ultraviolence that makes you sad to think that so many people revel in it. It made my stomach churn to think people paid to see this. Expand
  26. ChrisL
    Sep 4, 2009
    0
    The guy sitting next to me walked out. I should have followed him. The trailers make this movie seem like it's about Brad Pitt and his gang, killing Nazis in all kinds of entertaining ways. Instead you get people sitting around, talking, drinking, and smoking in German and French for 95% of the movie. Normally, Tarantino's strength is his dialogue and acting, but when almost all The guy sitting next to me walked out. I should have followed him. The trailers make this movie seem like it's about Brad Pitt and his gang, killing Nazis in all kinds of entertaining ways. Instead you get people sitting around, talking, drinking, and smoking in German and French for 95% of the movie. Normally, Tarantino's strength is his dialogue and acting, but when almost all of it is in a different language, it's just tedious. The plot is absurd, the scenes are uninteresting, the dialogue is pointless, the cinematography is ok. This movie was so bad, I started rooting for the Nazis. Expand
  27. BobJ.
    Sep 6, 2009
    1
    Great acting. Well shot. Poor story. Terribly boring, long drawn out scenes. Easily the worst movie I've seen in a while.
  28. EdS
    Sep 9, 2009
    0
    A truly dreadful film. Gratingly attention, seeking directing. Ponderous, pointless, humouless dialogue, which neither develops plot nor character, or provides even a modicum of insight or superficial entertainment. An utterly inappropriate soundtrack. A convoluted, over elaborate plot which clunks to a predicatable conclusion. Maybe it wasn't predictable, I was too bored by the end A truly dreadful film. Gratingly attention, seeking directing. Ponderous, pointless, humouless dialogue, which neither develops plot nor character, or provides even a modicum of insight or superficial entertainment. An utterly inappropriate soundtrack. A convoluted, over elaborate plot which clunks to a predicatable conclusion. Maybe it wasn't predictable, I was too bored by the end to care. Do not see this film. Expand
  29. BrookeR.
    Jan 14, 2010
    1
    Landa is the only good thing in this movie. An outstanding performance in an otherwise long, boring,piece of crap of a film.
  30. JackM.
    Jan 17, 2010
    1
    Unwatchable on several counts. In Pulp Fiction all the characters mattered. In Kill Bill also. What happened here? None of them were human beings.
  31. ChrisM
    Oct 16, 2009
    1
    This movie suffers from a flimsy script, boring dialogue, and a fantasy that is not even entertaining. The violence is over done and is not artistic and it rather comes across as cheesy. Many of the characters was not properly introduced. Brad Pitt fake southern accent is the most annoying and irritating part about this movie. Tarantino cannot even get a southern accent right. Many of the This movie suffers from a flimsy script, boring dialogue, and a fantasy that is not even entertaining. The violence is over done and is not artistic and it rather comes across as cheesy. Many of the characters was not properly introduced. Brad Pitt fake southern accent is the most annoying and irritating part about this movie. Tarantino cannot even get a southern accent right. Many of the major characters were poorly introduced which makes for a weak story/plot. Soshanna was the only compelling character in the movie but we do not see her pain. The entire 2 and half hour movie comes accross as one of Tarantino's wet dreams. Expand
  32. RobG
    Dec 10, 2009
    3
    Yes is so bad that many people think it's a good movie. Awful, boring and don't tell me that mr tarantino believes in all that c**p. Worse Tarantino movie, period.
  33. AllanF
    Dec 15, 2009
    3
    How can you call it a masterpiece without taking anything away from it. The characters never develop, Brad Pitt was definately annoying through out it. If world war 2 were fictional this may have been a decent movie. Given the subject matter you must be very careful with the way you present the story, or you must give good reason for taking such a stance. Either there was so much going on How can you call it a masterpiece without taking anything away from it. The characters never develop, Brad Pitt was definately annoying through out it. If world war 2 were fictional this may have been a decent movie. Given the subject matter you must be very careful with the way you present the story, or you must give good reason for taking such a stance. Either there was so much going on that none of it seemed important, or there really wasn't much going on and they were telling us how important it was. Like the Godfather series, the first two are excellent because they make you get to know and love the characters while they drive the story along. Inglorious would be the third, a whole movie made to tell you one thing. (Either QT hates nazis or he loves blood and facism, not sure which. In Godfather threes case it was two hours two tell you, yes, one day Michael Corleone can die. Inglorious Bastards would make an excellent short story. But it was truly hard to get through... And I mean c'mon, who watches a QT movie to read it. GAH Expand
  34. SheldonH
    Oct 4, 2009
    2
    I thought had potential, but was just too violent for me (first time I've said that)... too predictable.... oh well. Had some laughs be QT is just too predictable now.
  35. AlbertP.
    Aug 23, 2009
    2
    Personally, I can not believe all the good user reviews this movie has gotten. Are you all just Tarantino fanatics that will give him a 10 no matter what he throws your way? For the record, Pulp Fiction is one of my three favorite movies of all time. I loved Resv. Dogs, True Romance, and Kill Bill. But with Deathproof I started to see some chinks in Quentin's armor. It was Personally, I can not believe all the good user reviews this movie has gotten. Are you all just Tarantino fanatics that will give him a 10 no matter what he throws your way? For the record, Pulp Fiction is one of my three favorite movies of all time. I loved Resv. Dogs, True Romance, and Kill Bill. But with Deathproof I started to see some chinks in Quentin's armor. It was self-indulgent, way too-talky, and mediocre at best. Well, Basterds picks up where Deathproof leaves off. The funny thing is that Basterds is just as talky as Deathproof, and all of QT's other movies, but 75% of the movie is in subtitles!!! Only QT has the director capital to pull something like this off in H-town. Anyways, I did something I never thought I'd ever do - with an hour to go, I walked out of my first Quentin Tarantino movie. Expand
  36. petern
    Aug 24, 2009
    3
    I have just arrived home from watching Inglourious Basterds, and i have to say that it was a total disappointment. The movie had all of the ingredients too be something special. the performances were good, the cinematography was good. But i have to say the directing let what could have been an excellent movie spiral out of control into, into a mishmash of different genres and the whole I have just arrived home from watching Inglourious Basterds, and i have to say that it was a total disappointment. The movie had all of the ingredients too be something special. the performances were good, the cinematography was good. But i have to say the directing let what could have been an excellent movie spiral out of control into, into a mishmash of different genres and the whole things starts too look ridiculous. What had worked for Tarantino in the past seems too be old hat these days, and unless he can come up with something new i think his day has passed. I am a fan of Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction, but this movie looked like Quentin managed too actually get down on film the exact feeling that we all have when we have so much going on in our minds we find it hard too explain or put down on paper, Quentin has however managed this and the result is that feeling of so many confused ideas actually all making it to screen. Hopefully Quentin can find something new in his bag of tricks otherwise i feel it might be time for him too hang up his hat. Expand
  37. ahmedk.
    Aug 26, 2009
    3
    Terrible movie. Terrible script, not funny. The bar scene is the most tedious scene in film history. The Italian speaking joke is terrible. Once more thing, how do three non German speaking people attending an event in the presence of Hitler, Gobbels, Gurring et al get in and not get frisked and their body checked for guns and bombs around their ankles. Poor, poor movie.
  38. SteveA.
    Aug 26, 2009
    0
    The user ratings on this site are being artificially inflated by movie companies spamming the message boards to hype their unloved "blockbusters" (read all the copycat "I give it a 10/don't believe the critics" comments on this and other movie boards, particularly 'G.I. Joe'. Unfortunately the only "word of mouth" you can trust anymore is actual words out of a friend's The user ratings on this site are being artificially inflated by movie companies spamming the message boards to hype their unloved "blockbusters" (read all the copycat "I give it a 10/don't believe the critics" comments on this and other movie boards, particularly 'G.I. Joe'. Unfortunately the only "word of mouth" you can trust anymore is actual words out of a friend's actual mouth. Ask 'em - these films suck. Expand
  39. danted.
    Aug 27, 2009
    0
    Awful, very disappointed, boring, and let me tell you something i`m a really tarantino Hard core fan, but this film is terrible self-indulgence.
  40. DavidM
    Aug 29, 2009
    1
    When I read Mick LaSalle's rave review of this movie, I should have know that it would be a stinkeroo. Brad Pitt's acting was definitely bush league.
  41. BillyM
    Aug 30, 2009
    1
    One of the most boring and corniest movies I have ever set thru.
  42. QuintoT.
    Aug 30, 2009
    3
    I give this film a rating of three for being confused. The story line never gels. I saw QT interview the director of the original, Enzo Castellari. QT was very excited at remaking this low grade pulp film of the '70's. Having seen the original, I could see how QT might enjoy camping up the screen. However, this version has almost nothing in common with the original. I don't I give this film a rating of three for being confused. The story line never gels. I saw QT interview the director of the original, Enzo Castellari. QT was very excited at remaking this low grade pulp film of the '70's. Having seen the original, I could see how QT might enjoy camping up the screen. However, this version has almost nothing in common with the original. I don't fault QT for making a WWII film but if I were Mr. Castellari, I would have been offended by his utter disregard for the original story line. I would have asked him politely to make his own film and leave me out of it. Expand
  43. PJW
    Sep 12, 2009
    2
    Another piece of WWII False Heroic Exceptionalism. Most people willfully turned the other way as genocide took place and partook in more direct ways. Spare me yet another Hollywood movie creating a false hero behaving in some stylized vacuum. I'd rather have the masses see a film that showcases complacency following propaganda, re-socialization, the robotic numbing necessary to do Another piece of WWII False Heroic Exceptionalism. Most people willfully turned the other way as genocide took place and partook in more direct ways. Spare me yet another Hollywood movie creating a false hero behaving in some stylized vacuum. I'd rather have the masses see a film that showcases complacency following propaganda, re-socialization, the robotic numbing necessary to do nothing as others are killed beside you. The script lacks the humor of other QT films and the smart narrative that made you enjoy the twists of the film. Here there are so few surprises - it's an all-around disappointment. Expand
  44. TimC
    Sep 14, 2009
    3
    pollution for your mind. Has some good scenes and good acting, but the violence is a bit over the top. I could of done without seeing this movie. Almost walked out of the theater!
  45. WadeG
    Sep 16, 2009
    3
    This movie was waaayy over hyped. Also seems that the trailer tricks you into believing your going to see something more action packed. Not a great movie by any means really. Mostly long drawn out subtitled Tarantino jibber jabber. Yes, for anyone who didn't know nearly 80% of this American movie is subtitled. Normally subtitles don't bother me as I watch a lot of Japanese This movie was waaayy over hyped. Also seems that the trailer tricks you into believing your going to see something more action packed. Not a great movie by any means really. Mostly long drawn out subtitled Tarantino jibber jabber. Yes, for anyone who didn't know nearly 80% of this American movie is subtitled. Normally subtitles don't bother me as I watch a lot of Japanese movies but the painfully long conversations in this movie were hard to keep up with because the subtitles disappeared to quickly. There were only a handful of scenes that had significant action. Mostly this movie is just a boring dialog driven story about an elite group of soldiers who only have about 20 to 30 minutes of screen time throughout the entire movie. Which that is totally ok with me if thats what im expecting to see, however they marketed this movie a action packed Nazi killing extravaganza. Overall im just disappointed because I really tried to like this movie but in the long run it was just a mind numbing experience and I found myself about halfway through not really caring about what happened anymore. The only parts of the movie that were truly great to me was the first 15 minutes and the last 15 minutes and maybe a few tiny bits of entertainment throughout. Take my opinion for what its worth but I believe your money and time would be better spent somewhere else. Expand
  46. MikelS
    Sep 24, 2009
    2
    Plotless, with no character development, and a sad attempt at dark humor.
  47. TomH
    Sep 30, 2009
    1
    Infuriatingly boring and hopelessly devoid of innovation. Too bad I came with a friend or I would have left after the 45 minute mark. For now the last time I will pay for an overpriced movie ticket. I'll download the screener somewhere off the Internet in stead.
  48. RandyW
    Sep 3, 2009
    1
    I loved Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill 1 & 2, but was thoroughly disappointed with this movie. To me it seemed that the movie just plodded along. It was one of the few times I have ever considered leaving in the middle of a movie. I do look forward to more Tarintino movies.
  49. DanH
    Sep 30, 2009
    0
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen and by far tarantinos worst movie to date. All but one character was either cursory or uncompelling. There was no one in the movie to identify with and the plot was severely lacking. I was very disappointed.
  50. ArchS
    Sep 8, 2009
    1
    This is America! People speak English here! Having people speak stupid languages in movies is not realistic, it's annoying!
  51. DanielH
    Sep 9, 2009
    1
    A terrible film. Needless in so many ways. Tarantino has been left to do what he wants creatively, and what he wants to do is throw unnecessary stylized shots in the middle of scenes which are building well. I really can't describe how much I loathe this film without writing an essay, so I will just say, this is utter garbage.
  52. FDalman
    Mar 31, 2010
    2
    After a good opening scene the film descends into boredom. I found the film difficult to sit through.
  53. jerryj
    Nov 22, 2009
    0
    One of the worst movies i've ever seen. go see paranormal activity instead, it's so much better and was created at a fraction of the cost of this over-hyped over violent movie.
  54. BillM
    Dec 18, 2009
    1
    I really disliked this movie, despite the skill with which it was made. It's a violent, anti-Nazi revenge fantasy, a mixture of talk talk talk and gory violence. The worst thing about it is Brad Pitt's horrible attempt at a southern accent. What's the matter with American actors? Why can't they do accents? What was Tarentino thinking of? Every time Pitt opened his I really disliked this movie, despite the skill with which it was made. It's a violent, anti-Nazi revenge fantasy, a mixture of talk talk talk and gory violence. The worst thing about it is Brad Pitt's horrible attempt at a southern accent. What's the matter with American actors? Why can't they do accents? What was Tarentino thinking of? Every time Pitt opened his mouth I cringed. Expand
  55. LeahR
    Dec 26, 2009
    1
    The only redeeming factor of this turgid identity crisis is Christoph Waltz.
  56. DaveS
    Aug 21, 2009
    1
    Fantasy is one thing, but this movie is a piece of crap that not only insults those of us who had family that fought in WWII, it insults the intelligence of the average moviegoer as well. The Action was sporadic, the dialogue was a snooze. Take my word for it, if this movie (and I use that term loosely) were edited down to just the scenes you see in the Trailers, then you would have all Fantasy is one thing, but this movie is a piece of crap that not only insults those of us who had family that fought in WWII, it insults the intelligence of the average moviegoer as well. The Action was sporadic, the dialogue was a snooze. Take my word for it, if this movie (and I use that term loosely) were edited down to just the scenes you see in the Trailers, then you would have all that was worth watching, and everybody would be spared the waste of time that this flick really is. Expand
  57. NathanR
    Aug 23, 2009
    3
    Little cinematic tricks here and there will fool the moviegoer into believing they are watching something fresh and innovative. The movie is 2.5 hrs of long, drawn-out scenes that could have been easily comprised to one hour. Tarantino tries to relive Pulp Fiction vicariously throughout Basterds, which only succeeds in highlighting each and every way this movie comes up short. I pleaded Little cinematic tricks here and there will fool the moviegoer into believing they are watching something fresh and innovative. The movie is 2.5 hrs of long, drawn-out scenes that could have been easily comprised to one hour. Tarantino tries to relive Pulp Fiction vicariously throughout Basterds, which only succeeds in highlighting each and every way this movie comes up short. I pleaded with my group to leave but by that time there was only 30 minutes left. This movie should have been better. Tarantino has lost his touch. Expand
  58. DavidS
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    Tarantino is loosing his touch. Very dull, so very dull.
  59. nirax
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    Although i enjoyed previous Tarantino movies, this one was complete boring (no real action), hailing towards brutality towards defenseless people (this got disgusting already in one of the first scenes when a soldier did not want to betray his country by disclosing some information on a map. He was beaten to death by a laughing gang of mindless creatures which unfortunately would be Although i enjoyed previous Tarantino movies, this one was complete boring (no real action), hailing towards brutality towards defenseless people (this got disgusting already in one of the first scenes when a soldier did not want to betray his country by disclosing some information on a map. He was beaten to death by a laughing gang of mindless creatures which unfortunately would be followed the whole movie. Sad piece of crap. Expand
  60. robertp
    Aug 23, 2009
    2
    Tarentino as Spielberg. This parody of war films trivializes World War II, the Holocaust & Hitler. The real star of this movie, Tarentino, never appears on screen; but he's in every scene, the guy wearing the lamp shade, the eternal self-indulgent showoff , age 50 going 15. Brad Pitt plays his role with just the right amount of hokum, 99.44%; & the technical aspects of the film are Tarentino as Spielberg. This parody of war films trivializes World War II, the Holocaust & Hitler. The real star of this movie, Tarentino, never appears on screen; but he's in every scene, the guy wearing the lamp shade, the eternal self-indulgent showoff , age 50 going 15. Brad Pitt plays his role with just the right amount of hokum, 99.44%; & the technical aspects of the film are quite good. But overall, it doesn't work. Tarentino's next project is a romantic comedy based on the Black Death. Collapse
  61. chrisB.
    Aug 24, 2009
    3
    The marketing and advertising for this movie is extremely deceiving and I'm pi$%ed off, and feel stupid for falling for it. Basterds was advertised as an "action" and "war" movie... it was niether one!! It was a diologue movie and the character development was so horrid that i didnt care what they were blabbering about for 2.5 hours. The saviors of the film were chris waltz and the The marketing and advertising for this movie is extremely deceiving and I'm pi$%ed off, and feel stupid for falling for it. Basterds was advertised as an "action" and "war" movie... it was niether one!! It was a diologue movie and the character development was so horrid that i didnt care what they were blabbering about for 2.5 hours. The saviors of the film were chris waltz and the german officer they broke out of prison (who they killed way to early)... Death-proof was so bad that i should have seen it coming. Tarantino tries to salute so many old movies, he just needs to focus on his own... its going to his head. Expand
  62. Jackson
    Aug 24, 2009
    0
    Total garbage. The more I think of this movie the more agitated I become. This movie had absolutely no story to tell, no message to convey and no focus. If this movie had been exactly the same, but a different director's name slapped on it, people would call this movie terrible. Since Tarantino's name is attached, however, people are somehow calling this film brilliant. The onlyTotal garbage. The more I think of this movie the more agitated I become. This movie had absolutely no story to tell, no message to convey and no focus. If this movie had been exactly the same, but a different director's name slapped on it, people would call this movie terrible. Since Tarantino's name is attached, however, people are somehow calling this film brilliant. The only purpose this film MIGHT have had was to offend, and that could have been accomplished by showing police footage of old people being murdered, though with the crowd that raved about this movie I wouldn't be surprised if they'd also find that riveting. Don't get me wrong, the acting was absolutely wonderful, but that can't save every movie. That's like giving a toddler incredibly expensive paint and then watching him drink it then puke it all over a perfectly good canvas. I will admit it's fun to watch people rave about how this film was a masterpiece because it's as if people are trying REALLY hard to grasp a turd and then tote it around like it's gold, all the while looking down at us and telling us we're just too unsophisticated to understand why it's a beautiful thing. Expand
  63. Keith
    Aug 25, 2009
    1
    Quentin Tarantino keeps making the same movie over and over. The drug addled geek has been irrelevant for 10 years now. Good riddance you over-rated bum.
  64. stella
    Aug 25, 2009
    0
    I have never had much interest in getting online and being part of rating movies and such. But I find myself in a place where I can absolutely not be silent. I have never in my life seen such a horror. What is the joke? The millions of people that suffered and died during World War II? The millions of people that ran and hid because of their religious beliefs or any view that the Nazi didn
  65. RizzleC
    Aug 27, 2009
    0
    Utterly boring! The trailer is so misleading. This is by far the most boring movie I've ever seen. The dialogue revolves around pointless characters that nobody cares about. I actually fell asleep a couple times! Had to step out for a smoke or two, then dreaded going back in.
  66. Apr 25, 2011
    3
    well it took me a while to finally watch this because i had my doubts and i was right, the movie is weak and seems to just nazi bash. there are pointless scenes that drag on that hold little use to the story. allot of the story is not even realistic to the story, for example all the leaders in one place with such little security, the jew hunter converting when he could be a hero, disregardwell it took me a while to finally watch this because i had my doubts and i was right, the movie is weak and seems to just nazi bash. there are pointless scenes that drag on that hold little use to the story. allot of the story is not even realistic to the story, for example all the leaders in one place with such little security, the jew hunter converting when he could be a hero, disregard for solders personal feeling vs doing their duty. quirks and acting was good but what can i say the movie was all over the place. Expand
  67. May 22, 2012
    0
    This movie i just another propaganda to feel good and like heroes for American losers! I'm sorry to tell you but America killed many civilians (by now more then Hitler) also and where friends with Stalin a man who killed 20 million people, but that's OK he killed no Jews so who cares right, i'm just in shock, how much more dumber the US can get? They are the Modern day Nazis!
  68. PeterJ
    Feb 14, 2010
    3
    I loved pulp fiction , this movie is insensitive , ridiculous, insulting to jews and germans. Sorry quinten your time is up , this was your swan song , you have just lost a big fan.
  69. DWilly
    Sep 16, 2009
    3
    Talk about your missed opportunities! Virtually all the potential good stuff is missing from the screen: Jews taking revenge (except for the goofy thing with the baseball bat), SPOILER the evil guy getting his due from the girl whose family he killed, the officer hating German getting set loose, and on and on). True, there's some Tarentino quirky artistry in moments, but his Talk about your missed opportunities! Virtually all the potential good stuff is missing from the screen: Jews taking revenge (except for the goofy thing with the baseball bat), SPOILER the evil guy getting his due from the girl whose family he killed, the officer hating German getting set loose, and on and on). True, there's some Tarentino quirky artistry in moments, but his indulgent camp is more often cringe inducing. I feel bad for the folks all over America who go to see Brad Pitt in a bad-ass WWII movie and get this odd bit of a turd. Pitt has probably less than 30 min of screen time (and is very thin here, anyway), and two thirds of the dialog is subtitled French or German. Expand
  70. JBb
    Mar 11, 2010
    0
    Horrible movie with absolutely ridiculous story
  71. Nov 3, 2010
    3
    Terrible movie!! Brad Pit can't act!! His southern accent is so bad I wanted to have all my teeth pulled while watching this to get some relief! Tarantino is the sadistic, violent, perverted psycho he always is and the people love it I guess. What do you expect from the most violent country in the world. Movie is like a high school play, script is terrible also.
  72. Jan 17, 2012
    2
    ''This just might be my masterpiece'' being the last line of the film. No Tarantino no. Rather than writing for the love of writing, Tarantino has gone off the rails I believe because he's trying to be good. But he doesn't have to try, he is good in his own way. This is one of the most masturbatory films I've ever seen. It's like a best man speech at a wedding; it thinks it's being''This just might be my masterpiece'' being the last line of the film. No Tarantino no. Rather than writing for the love of writing, Tarantino has gone off the rails I believe because he's trying to be good. But he doesn't have to try, he is good in his own way. This is one of the most masturbatory films I've ever seen. It's like a best man speech at a wedding; it thinks it's being clever and funny and entertaining, but in reality it's just boring you. This is coming from a big adventure war movie fan too. Only reason it gets 2 is because of Til Schweiger and Christoph Waltz's performances. And for the fact for the first 20 minutes you think you might be watching a good film. My advice is go watch Kelly's Heros. Expand
  73. Feb 25, 2012
    2
    Tarantino's only dud, that I'm aware of. Obviously Waltz's performance is excellent, and some of the early scenes are staged with a love that is obviously Quentin's. But the plot? My goodness, what a filthy mess. And this movie is so tone-deaf; one minute we are wringing our hands in the hope that someone will escape, and the next minute Brad Pitt is hamming it up like a clown. Is itTarantino's only dud, that I'm aware of. Obviously Waltz's performance is excellent, and some of the early scenes are staged with a love that is obviously Quentin's. But the plot? My goodness, what a filthy mess. And this movie is so tone-deaf; one minute we are wringing our hands in the hope that someone will escape, and the next minute Brad Pitt is hamming it up like a clown. Is it serious, or is it a joke? Tarantino has made a career from balancing these two things, but here he fails miserably. Expand
  74. Jul 9, 2012
    1
    I gave the movie a ten because for one thing, Christoph Waltz had the best performance, along with Heath Ledger as the Joker, ive ever seen in a movie, he basically stole all of the scenes he was in. Quentin Tarintino does a good job of making a story that u might think is humoures but makes it into a masterpiece
  75. Mar 22, 2013
    3
    Another revenge bore-a-thon from Tarantino, possibly the world's most overrated director. Not even a decent soundtrack for this one either. Well shot, average casting, poor soundtrack, terrible wandering cliched plot with stupid '70s' moments. Don't waste 2.5 hours of your life watching this garbage. His last good film was Pulp Fiction, everything since has been abysmal.
  76. May 11, 2014
    2
    Frankly, I'm surprised with the level of appreciation this film is receiving. It's an absolute mess of a movie. The acting is great but the plot is just nonsense. By far, Tarantino's worst film.
  77. Jun 15, 2014
    3
    The film reveals many things,
    but ultimately it's egdy'ness stems
    as an over compensation, embarrassingly grounding the films absurd cartoonish plot. It really was an idea better left in Tarintino's personal to-do list and would never have been sanctioned at any other point in his career, ultimately lacking the cache and raw power of his other work. 3 for effort but essentially this
    The film reveals many things,
    but ultimately it's egdy'ness stems
    as an over compensation, embarrassingly
    grounding the films absurd cartoonish plot.
    It really was an idea better left in Tarintino's personal
    to-do list and would never have been sanctioned at any other
    point in his career, ultimately lacking the cache and raw power
    of his other work. 3 for effort but essentially this film is a cover up of
    its early theoretical conception, I almost wish this was the film he "never got to make"
    Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. The film is by no means terrible -- its two hours and 32 minutes running time races by -- but those things we think of as being Tarantino-esque, the long stretches of wickedly funny dialogue, the humor in the violence and outsized characters strutting across the screen, are largely missing.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A violent fairy tale, an increasingly entertaining fantasia in which the history of World War II is wildly reimagined so that the cinema can play the decisive role in destroying the Third Reich.
  3. In Tarantino's besotted historical reverie, real-life villains Adolf Hitler and Joseph Goebbels are played as grotesque jokes. The Basterds are played as exaggeratedly tough Jews. The women are femmes fatales.?