User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1116 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jackson
    Aug 24, 2009
    0
    Total garbage. The more I think of this movie the more agitated I become. This movie had absolutely no story to tell, no message to convey and no focus. If this movie had been exactly the same, but a different director's name slapped on it, people would call this movie terrible. Since Tarantino's name is attached, however, people are somehow calling this film brilliant. The onlyTotal garbage. The more I think of this movie the more agitated I become. This movie had absolutely no story to tell, no message to convey and no focus. If this movie had been exactly the same, but a different director's name slapped on it, people would call this movie terrible. Since Tarantino's name is attached, however, people are somehow calling this film brilliant. The only purpose this film MIGHT have had was to offend, and that could have been accomplished by showing police footage of old people being murdered, though with the crowd that raved about this movie I wouldn't be surprised if they'd also find that riveting. Don't get me wrong, the acting was absolutely wonderful, but that can't save every movie. That's like giving a toddler incredibly expensive paint and then watching him drink it then puke it all over a perfectly good canvas. I will admit it's fun to watch people rave about how this film was a masterpiece because it's as if people are trying REALLY hard to grasp a turd and then tote it around like it's gold, all the while looking down at us and telling us we're just too unsophisticated to understand why it's a beautiful thing. Expand
  2. MarkB
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This is the best QT movie ever and the best movie of the year so far. It is one of the few movies that I would consider seeing multiple times in the theater. My wife who does not usually enjoy violent movies liked it so much she wants to see it again.
  3. Keith
    Aug 25, 2009
    1
    Quentin Tarantino keeps making the same movie over and over. The drug addled geek has been irrelevant for 10 years now. Good riddance you over-rated bum.
  4. stella
    Aug 25, 2009
    0
    I have never had much interest in getting online and being part of rating movies and such. But I find myself in a place where I can absolutely not be silent. I have never in my life seen such a horror. What is the joke? The millions of people that suffered and died during World War II? The millions of people that ran and hid because of their religious beliefs or any view that the Nazi didn
  5. RizzleC
    Aug 27, 2009
    0
    Utterly boring! The trailer is so misleading. This is by far the most boring movie I've ever seen. The dialogue revolves around pointless characters that nobody cares about. I actually fell asleep a couple times! Had to step out for a smoke or two, then dreaded going back in.
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    I really liked it but I felt that the long run time resulted in some boring parts and it brought down the value of the film a bit. Also it relied far too much on violence instead of building on the fantastic cast that was hired for the film. Still, Its a great war film.
  7. Dec 4, 2010
    6
    I'm didn't care for this movie much. I really wanted to love it, Tarantino puts on a good show. Watching the first scene with Christoph Waltz in the Frenchman's farmhouse, I thought wow this is going to be good, but it just got progressively worse. There are some other gem scenes though. The last bit just seemed like he ran out of ideas and time. Overall it is worth seeing, but it couldI'm didn't care for this movie much. I really wanted to love it, Tarantino puts on a good show. Watching the first scene with Christoph Waltz in the Frenchman's farmhouse, I thought wow this is going to be good, but it just got progressively worse. There are some other gem scenes though. The last bit just seemed like he ran out of ideas and time. Overall it is worth seeing, but it could have been so much better. I was left disappointed. I was really surprised it was nominated for best picture, because I think there were better films. Expand
  8. Apr 25, 2011
    3
    well it took me a while to finally watch this because i had my doubts and i was right, the movie is weak and seems to just nazi bash. there are pointless scenes that drag on that hold little use to the story. allot of the story is not even realistic to the story, for example all the leaders in one place with such little security, the jew hunter converting when he could be a hero, disregardwell it took me a while to finally watch this because i had my doubts and i was right, the movie is weak and seems to just nazi bash. there are pointless scenes that drag on that hold little use to the story. allot of the story is not even realistic to the story, for example all the leaders in one place with such little security, the jew hunter converting when he could be a hero, disregard for solders personal feeling vs doing their duty. quirks and acting was good but what can i say the movie was all over the place. Expand
  9. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Another superb Tarantino film! The performances are all top-notch and yes, Waltz is as pitch-perfect as ever in his role. The dialogue in this film is so interesting and I found myself listening intently to what every character had to say, which is present in every Tarantino film. The cinematography is spectacular. At several points this movie gets crazy and then it scales back into it'sAnother superb Tarantino film! The performances are all top-notch and yes, Waltz is as pitch-perfect as ever in his role. The dialogue in this film is so interesting and I found myself listening intently to what every character had to say, which is present in every Tarantino film. The cinematography is spectacular. At several points this movie gets crazy and then it scales back into it's lighter finesse, but all the while it remains engrossing. I did feel it got a tad bogged down here and there, but overall this is a very very fine picture! Expand
  10. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    Loved the film, mainly because of the characters. They are lovable and adorable (if it's not weird to say this while talking about a war movie). The director (Tarantino) did a great job.
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Another brilliant movie in Tarantino's style. Showing us another point of view to the 2 World War, we get on a trip inside the Inglorious Bastards crew, jew's trained to blow up the Nazi head, and in the mind of the full-of-revenge jew Shosanna Dreyfus, that wants to revenge her family, killed by the crazy SS coronel Hans Landa. With great cast (special applauses for Christoph Waltz, DaineAnother brilliant movie in Tarantino's style. Showing us another point of view to the 2 World War, we get on a trip inside the Inglorious Bastards crew, jew's trained to blow up the Nazi head, and in the mind of the full-of-revenge jew Shosanna Dreyfus, that wants to revenge her family, killed by the crazy SS coronel Hans Landa. With great cast (special applauses for Christoph Waltz, Daine Kruger and Melánie Laurent) and a bloody story, we get again, the best from Tarantino. Expand
  12. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    I'll admit, this movie scared me. Quentin Tarantino never disappoints. At the start of the movie I was on the Basterd's side. Wait, did anyone noticed that bastards is spelled wrong? Doesn't matter, this is a movie not a book. I was a semi-fan of all the violence and the blood. The scalping of the Nazi's head did disturb me at first but after the first one I was okay. Critics always sayI'll admit, this movie scared me. Quentin Tarantino never disappoints. At the start of the movie I was on the Basterd's side. Wait, did anyone noticed that bastards is spelled wrong? Doesn't matter, this is a movie not a book. I was a semi-fan of all the violence and the blood. The scalping of the Nazi's head did disturb me at first but after the first one I was okay. Critics always say that adding action and special effects is like a gimmick to lure in audiences. But the action and blood in this movie isn't the case. If this movie was less tamed and not as graphic it still would be an awesome movie. But what I am not a fan of is adding two different story lines. They meet up at the end but there still two seprate story lines. I also found it interesting that as the plot was building up we where introduced to the morals and values that the Basterds had. I found myself routing for the Nazis. But that's how Quentin Tarantino does his movies, with a plot that doesn't introduce a villain. My favorite part was the bar scene. It was trilling because I had no idea if someone was going to fire. Overall, this film is very well written and directed. Expand
  13. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    Quentin Tarantino is one of those people you either love or hate. It's his unique stories and methodical attention to detail that have always stood out to me. For all you haters out there, the one thing you can't deny is Tarantino's unique ability to bring out the best in everyone he works with, and that is why many times, the cast members of his films earn Oscar nominations. InglouriousQuentin Tarantino is one of those people you either love or hate. It's his unique stories and methodical attention to detail that have always stood out to me. For all you haters out there, the one thing you can't deny is Tarantino's unique ability to bring out the best in everyone he works with, and that is why many times, the cast members of his films earn Oscar nominations. Inglourious Basterds is another uniquely strange story that just works, because of Tarantino. As has become his signature, the story is broken up into seemingly unrelated stories that all come together in a terrific ending. The story centers around a group of Jewish-American soldiers in World War II, whose assignment was to go into France, undercover, and track down and slaughter Nazis. It's a terrific cast led by Brad Pitt, but to me he wasn't so much the star of this film, that honor belongs to Christopher Waltz, who in his first major role, did win the Oscar for best supporting actor. It's a strong story and a great film, but something bothered me about it. Inglourious Basterds is of course a fictional story, so the attention to detail, such as having everyone speaking in their native languages, seemed someone unnecessary to me. That combined with subtitles that moved at the speed of light, made the story somewhat hard for me to follow. That's why I watched it a few times before reviewing it. There is no denying that this is one hell of a story with another tremendous cast, that deserved every award that it's won, however Tarantino's attention to detail, usually a strength, did take away from the film, as a whole, and did make some parts difficult to follow. Expand
  14. Jan 24, 2012
    6
    I liked the film but I am not 100% sure that I would recommend it. I think Tarantino tries too hard to re-create the magic he had with Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs but he fails to do so. The cast was good but the entire idea of the film was just too stupid.
  15. May 22, 2012
    0
    This movie i just another propaganda to feel good and like heroes for American losers! I'm sorry to tell you but America killed many civilians (by now more then Hitler) also and where friends with Stalin a man who killed 20 million people, but that's OK he killed no Jews so who cares right, i'm just in shock, how much more dumber the US can get? They are the Modern day Nazis!
  16. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    Brilliant film. Probably not a "must-see" but certainly worth your money. The combination of humor and more serious elements in the film is great, I loved it. Certain parts, particularly towards the end are a little crazy, but they won't take away from how good this film is
  17. JarvisG
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    Best Tarantino movie ever!Very enjoyably movie.
  18. JackG.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    On a first impression... this is second only to Pulp Fiction. This is Tarantino making rules just to break them, and maybe make up new ones again. It's also one of the few films this year you'll be able to call true art. This doesn't mean it will please everybody. This is definitely not a *crowdpleaser*, though I'm sure a lot of crowds will be pleased. It's about On a first impression... this is second only to Pulp Fiction. This is Tarantino making rules just to break them, and maybe make up new ones again. It's also one of the few films this year you'll be able to call true art. This doesn't mean it will please everybody. This is definitely not a *crowdpleaser*, though I'm sure a lot of crowds will be pleased. It's about taking apart the absurd but very real atrocities of war- both the Nazis and good ol' American barbarism- and putting it all together in a movie theater. Talk about microcosm! The final line may just be hubris, or it may just be about right: it's a masterpiece; how you feel about the master is up to you. Expand
  19. DougT
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    Normally, I don't give movies a perfect score, but this is my favorite movie this year (so far). The plot is what really draws you in, and I'm into the dark comedy style, so that's probably why it gets such a high recommendation from me. The acting is great, the story flows pretty well, the chapter sections make it easy to follow, and give a more "epic tale" feel to the Normally, I don't give movies a perfect score, but this is my favorite movie this year (so far). The plot is what really draws you in, and I'm into the dark comedy style, so that's probably why it gets such a high recommendation from me. The acting is great, the story flows pretty well, the chapter sections make it easy to follow, and give a more "epic tale" feel to the whole movie. Lot's of hilarious moments that really make it shine- basically, it's a Quentin Tarantino movie. If you liked pulp-fiction, and aren't too easily offended, my bet is this is going to be a good movie for you. Oh, and about Brad Pitt's accent, it's not supposed to be convincing. The point of his character is to show how outrageous this movie really is. Expand
  20. JohnK
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This film was a masterpiece. It was Quentin Tarantino's homage to the film's he loves. The dialogue was brilliant throughout. All the actor's were brilliant caricatures of larger than life characters from movies past. It was comedic and dramatic and wonderful. I loved the soundtrack too. The spaghetti western music was great. Who does that? The music was so out of place yet This film was a masterpiece. It was Quentin Tarantino's homage to the film's he loves. The dialogue was brilliant throughout. All the actor's were brilliant caricatures of larger than life characters from movies past. It was comedic and dramatic and wonderful. I loved the soundtrack too. The spaghetti western music was great. Who does that? The music was so out of place yet perfect at the same time. I loved this film. On a side note, I thought Brad Pitt's over-the-top portrayal as a gung ho red neck soldier was great. Sort of reminded me of Robert Duvall's character in Apocalypse Now. Expand
  21. BrianM.
    Jan 29, 2010
    6
    Inglourious Basterds is mostly entertaining during its 2 hour and 30 minute running time, but it seems to exist primarily so that Quentin Tarantio can remind audiences and critics of his talents. Here he reimagines the fate of Hitler, juggles separate but converging plotlines, uses German and French subtitles and creates a bloody revenge fantasy out of the Holocaust. In the end though, Inglourious Basterds is mostly entertaining during its 2 hour and 30 minute running time, but it seems to exist primarily so that Quentin Tarantio can remind audiences and critics of his talents. Here he reimagines the fate of Hitler, juggles separate but converging plotlines, uses German and French subtitles and creates a bloody revenge fantasy out of the Holocaust. In the end though, despite all of its virtuosity, it is a film that says nothing and means even less. An example of style over substance that, unlike Pulp Fiction, doesn't have any deeper meaning. It is best enjoyed for what it is: sheer entertainment with no real depth or substance. Expand
  22. PeterJ
    Feb 14, 2010
    3
    I loved pulp fiction , this movie is insensitive , ridiculous, insulting to jews and germans. Sorry quinten your time is up , this was your swan song , you have just lost a big fan.
  23. RyanG.
    Feb 5, 2010
    9
    One of my favorite movies of the year. Nobody can write long scenes of dialogue and make it work better than Tarantino. It might have alot of subtitles but u won't even notice it after awhile. And Christoph Waltz gives the perfermance of the year. Definitely a must see.
  24. JamesH
    Mar 21, 2010
    8
    82/100. What a great story, I was very impressed by so many of the subtle touches, particularly with Christoph Waltz's character. What a well thought out and meticulous performance. He is brilliant. I was also impressed with Melanie Laurent, I am surprised more attention hasn't been given to her performance. She is excellent. Also Daniel Bruhl and Diane Kruger were perfectly 82/100. What a great story, I was very impressed by so many of the subtle touches, particularly with Christoph Waltz's character. What a well thought out and meticulous performance. He is brilliant. I was also impressed with Melanie Laurent, I am surprised more attention hasn't been given to her performance. She is excellent. Also Daniel Bruhl and Diane Kruger were perfectly cast. The period detail is remarkable, the cinematography, costume design and art direction were glorious. The score was at times very inappropriate and not up with the film's high quality. I was disappointed that Quentin Tarantino had to stoop to his trademark of completely overblown as well as completely unnecessarily brand of gore and violence. It hurt the film's effect a lot, but, I do think this is his best film to date. Expand
  25. FrankM
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    What an imagination! Twists and turns and no one is assured survival. It is a Bizzaro World but one with its own rules thate you must discover on the way through its maze.
  26. RyanH.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Quentin Tarantino outdoes himself and delivers his finest film to date.
  27. Alex
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Tarantino's best, sometimes it was long-winded, but it was hilarious suspenseful, satirical, A very enjoyable movie, going to see it once more next week.
  28. seajay
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    I expected a dumb action film like "Kill Bill" and instead got a film as suspenseful as Hitchcock's best. And I confess I found the revisionist climax strangely satisfying.
  29. TimothyC
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    Loved the movie. Great charachter concepts, killer lines delivered by Brad. My only problem with this movie was it was edited. You wanted more character backgrounds, but didn't get it. It was edited for time, but I left wanting to sit through more. That's why it's a 9 instead of 10.
  30. hcarter
    Sep 7, 2009
    8
    Maybe b/c expectations were a little lower--but I was thoroughly impressed with Inglourious Basterds. I agree with others in that I think it's Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction (and I really liked Kill BIll too). I was not bored by the length--or the intentional drawn out scenes--or even how much dialogue ( a lot) there is. I don't think it was perfect--could have been Maybe b/c expectations were a little lower--but I was thoroughly impressed with Inglourious Basterds. I agree with others in that I think it's Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction (and I really liked Kill BIll too). I was not bored by the length--or the intentional drawn out scenes--or even how much dialogue ( a lot) there is. I don't think it was perfect--could have been tightened up for sure. But I loved the fairy-tale satire/farce that IB was---totally smart, cathartic, gross, laugh-out-loud, dramatic, war movie. So far, many of my friends are all over the map on their opinion of IB, so it's hard to say whether you'll like it based on other people's reviews. Definitely see it though if you've liked anything Tarantino has done prior. Expand
  31. AlexY
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    Tarantino has the power to polarize like no other director, and his bold style in pairing with the subject of Nazism will be too much for some. Before being a storyteller, Tarantino is a brilliant multimedia artist, and Basterds proves this once and for all. This movie pulls the viewer along like a string puppet, making him feel in turn disgusted, exhilarated, devastated, amused. The Tarantino has the power to polarize like no other director, and his bold style in pairing with the subject of Nazism will be too much for some. Before being a storyteller, Tarantino is a brilliant multimedia artist, and Basterds proves this once and for all. This movie pulls the viewer along like a string puppet, making him feel in turn disgusted, exhilarated, devastated, amused. The pacing is absolutely brilliant: Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction. Emotion and violence are exaggerated to the point of parody: if you can appreciate this sensability, you may be a Tarantino fan. If not, there's always Schindler's List. Expand
  32. AlexC.
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Quentin Tarantino's latest film, Inglourious Basterds, manages to outdo even Kill Bill in both entertainment value and thoughtfulness. The film soars due to Tarantino's exceptional ability to build suspense and excellent performances by Laurent, Waltz, and Krüger. The only thing that could make it more fun to watch is the inclusion of the 40 minutes of footage that was Quentin Tarantino's latest film, Inglourious Basterds, manages to outdo even Kill Bill in both entertainment value and thoughtfulness. The film soars due to Tarantino's exceptional ability to build suspense and excellent performances by Laurent, Waltz, and Krüger. The only thing that could make it more fun to watch is the inclusion of the 40 minutes of footage that was edited out before Cannes. Expand
  33. ShayneC
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Amazing movie, although Brad Pitt's accent is a little too much.
  34. RickG.
    Feb 18, 2010
    6
    This film is almost impossible to rate. A 6 will have to do, because in a sense it's far too wonderful -- thanks to many great scenes and performances -- to give a 5 or below. Yet, as a piece of storytelling it's so wretchedly constructed, so abhorrently paced and so dizzyingly uneven, it can't possibly deserve a "positive" grade. What a frustrating experience! There's This film is almost impossible to rate. A 6 will have to do, because in a sense it's far too wonderful -- thanks to many great scenes and performances -- to give a 5 or below. Yet, as a piece of storytelling it's so wretchedly constructed, so abhorrently paced and so dizzyingly uneven, it can't possibly deserve a "positive" grade. What a frustrating experience! There's a truly great movie buried somewhere in this mess, and Waltz deserves the Oscar hands down, but Tarantino is long overdue to revisit the discipline he showed in his 1990s-era films. Expand
  35. dmodmo
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I have seen all the AA nominated movies and performances...and I B was my favorite movie of 2009. Saw it 3x. Walz is fantastic and what can you say..when Tarantino gets it right (like Pulp Fiction), it's the BEST.
  36. ChrisG.
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Well you either like QT or you don't. I happen to like the guy's work, and consequently cannot but recommend it heavily. Excellent movie for those who can appreciate these films, but not one of the majority. I think this is reflected in the type of votes given by the public. Either very high or very low.
  37. JoshL
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    This is easily Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction. Its fun, entralling and suprisingly resonant.
  38. CameronB
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    I would say one of the best movies of 2009. It had an interesting plot, amazing actors and great scripting. I recommend this movie to all who haven't seen it yet.
  39. Kenny
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Back again to use all his power behind the cameras and in the folio to give us a treat as a kind of war movie never seen before. As usual the director of "Pulp Fiction" likes to mix and remix genres until what remains is really effective. This spaghetti western in the midst of World War II with the purest ingredients Grindhouse style and his peculiar air to the engine of a Back again to use all his power behind the cameras and in the folio to give us a treat as a kind of war movie never seen before. As usual the director of "Pulp Fiction" likes to mix and remix genres until what remains is really effective. This spaghetti western in the midst of World War II with the purest ingredients Grindhouse style and his peculiar air to the engine of a Harley-Davidson, all without neglecting aesthetics over Nazi German and French. Overall the film has nowhere desperidicio, is chaos itself filled with discussions about jugosisimos in several languages, including French, English, German and even some Italian, where we discover Waltz. I have had a pipe in the two hour and a half, and even I was looking forward to seeing all that stuff he was forced to remove the final footage. Expand
  40. DavidT.
    Oct 15, 2009
    8
    I enjoyed this movie - though at some parts, it was somewhat dull due to boring dialogue.
  41. NK
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    It could've been two hours of grossly gratuitous violence, but Tarantino made it ART. I wasn't expecting this kind of brilliance. The film is so carefully, thoughtfully crafted, from the writing to the way each shot of Oscar-worthy acting is framed (Waltz, playing Landa, is a horrifying). And the depth! It drips with ambition (and how could it not, as it defies and redefines It could've been two hours of grossly gratuitous violence, but Tarantino made it ART. I wasn't expecting this kind of brilliance. The film is so carefully, thoughtfully crafted, from the writing to the way each shot of Oscar-worthy acting is framed (Waltz, playing Landa, is a horrifying). And the depth! It drips with ambition (and how could it not, as it defies and redefines "The WWII Movie"). Such a dizzying, dazzling array of film-play -- Tarantino's outdone himself with the layers of tension, irony, death, humor -- and all of it so aesthetically rendered. If you don't walk out completely blown away by the complexity of it, you aren't paying attention. We will forgive the film for it's inclusion of some necessarily evils (and some unnecessary ones, like Brad Pitt's acting) because the overall effect is tremendous, thought-provoking and enduring. Bravo. Expand
  42. BobH
    Oct 6, 2009
    8
    I can understand everyone's negative impression of this film. But for me there are several scenes that are as well rendered as any I have every seen. The opening scene and the bar shoot out are amazing, full of tension and masterfully shot. I can over look the rest of the mess. I can't wait to see it again.
  43. AndrewT.
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    Not at all Tarantino's best film, but very good nonetheless. The acting prowess of the man playing Colonel Landa was absolutely some of the best I have seen in a Tarantino film, and his script and lines were absolutely fantastic. Unfortunately, the plot was a little weak, and many people will probably not like the way in which the story is presented, in a chapter format that jumps Not at all Tarantino's best film, but very good nonetheless. The acting prowess of the man playing Colonel Landa was absolutely some of the best I have seen in a Tarantino film, and his script and lines were absolutely fantastic. Unfortunately, the plot was a little weak, and many people will probably not like the way in which the story is presented, in a chapter format that jumps substantially between each of the chapters. That aside, this is one of the finest, most aesthetically pleasing, and daring films I have seen in the past few years. It is a must-watch for Tarantino fans, and I would hope that skeptics of this movie would appreciate it for all it has to offer, and not criticize it for its minor flaws. Expand
  44. MauricioS.
    Aug 21, 2009
    8
    This is a very slow, deliberately paced movie, so if you have no attention span, go drool over GI Joe. Fans of Tarrantino and those with an eye for style will appreciate the subtle layers in the long scenes, and their payoff, the grand orgy of violence that is the climax.The female lead, Shoshannah, is a deadly vixen, the sexiest woman I've ever seen in a film. Halfway through the This is a very slow, deliberately paced movie, so if you have no attention span, go drool over GI Joe. Fans of Tarrantino and those with an eye for style will appreciate the subtle layers in the long scenes, and their payoff, the grand orgy of violence that is the climax.The female lead, Shoshannah, is a deadly vixen, the sexiest woman I've ever seen in a film. Halfway through the movie you will find a Mexican standoff that is like the climax of Reservoir Dogs times 10. But one Tarrantino trademark is missing...sure, there's the obligatory close-up of a bare female foot, but where's the 'camera in the trunk of a car, looking out shot' that's in all his other movies? Expand
  45. NickC.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    QT's best. I can't wait to see it again.
  46. BillyS.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    This movie was absolutely Brilliant. I loved every second of it. I am glad that I didn't read any of these reviews because clearly they weren't watching the same movie.
  47. [Anonymous]
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    Brilliantly executed sadism. Disturbing. The people laughing in the theater made me feel dirty and ashamed.
  48. BootieH.
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Maybe not QT's best but dang close. Can't wait to see it again in the theater and of course on DVD.
  49. RickK
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    What I love about Tarantino is his ability to take the standard cliche-filled movie genre and inject it with the action/wit/gore that only he knows. This movie blows standard WW2 movies out of the water.
  50. AdamR
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Not quite in the same class as Pulp Fiction, but definitely his second best and funniest film to date!
  51. stuartw
    Aug 24, 2009
    7
    They claimed it was Tarrantino back to his best but i left feling a little underwhelmed. The start of the film begins with a homage to Sergio leone's 'The good, the bad and the ugly.' It's a tense beginning, the nazis searching a house for jews and the officer reminded me of the child catcher in Chitty, chitty bang bang. This scene sets the film up well and you feel They claimed it was Tarrantino back to his best but i left feling a little underwhelmed. The start of the film begins with a homage to Sergio leone's 'The good, the bad and the ugly.' It's a tense beginning, the nazis searching a house for jews and the officer reminded me of the child catcher in Chitty, chitty bang bang. This scene sets the film up well and you feel that this is going to be a classic. Let me point out that three quarters of the film is subtitled and features long winded conversations that don't really add a lot to the plot. The acting, in particular the character of 'the jew hunter' is very good. Brad Pitt's character is at times funny but isn't the most memorable. the film looks beautiful as does every Tarrantino film. I thought Mike Myers character was very well acted and brought about an 'Ah!' factor when realising who he was. I feel that the reviews of this film have been a little generous, but that's just my opinion. A shame really, could have been so much better. Expand
  52. martin
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is classic Tarantino dialogue. The three main characters are all terrific, with the lesser known stars, the Austrian Actor who plays the Nazi and the Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is classic Tarantino dialogue. The three main characters are all terrific, with the lesser known stars, the Austrian Actor who plays the Nazi and the French Actress playing Shoshanna giving Oscar Worthy performances, and Brad Pitt is hilarious. This film probably deserves repeat viewings, as do all Tarantino films. Expand
  53. RickS.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 point for letting Mike Myers near this movie. I went for a bathroom break so i didn't have to squirm in my seat. Absolute brilliance through and QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 point for letting Mike Myers near this movie. I went for a bathroom break so i didn't have to squirm in my seat. Absolute brilliance through and through. Well done Quentin, Jolly Good show old bean. Expand
  54. NedV.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    I could give this a 9 for only two reasons: 1. Eli Roth 2. I read the original script. In the original script, Chapter 3, "A German Night in Paris", was indicated at the beginning, "This section of the movie will be shot entirely in black and white 'French New Wave' style." I'm really disappointed Tarantino didn't follow through on that. But those are quibbles. how can I could give this a 9 for only two reasons: 1. Eli Roth 2. I read the original script. In the original script, Chapter 3, "A German Night in Paris", was indicated at the beginning, "This section of the movie will be shot entirely in black and white 'French New Wave' style." I'm really disappointed Tarantino didn't follow through on that. But those are quibbles. how can I not give this movie a 10??? SEE IT. (Among the surprises for me was how patriotic it was. Everyone clapped at the end, and this was in lib central (NYC). God Bless America!!!) Expand
  55. GeoffR
    Aug 24, 2009
    4
    Holy boring, Batman! The movie is called the Basterds and they are in the movie for about 15-20 minutes of the 150. Can Quentin just trim a bit of time off of his "suspense build-up" dialogue and camera work? There were moments in the movie where I was wondering what the heck I was even still in the theatre; I felt it HAD to get better. To that end, the Landa character was great, Pitt was Holy boring, Batman! The movie is called the Basterds and they are in the movie for about 15-20 minutes of the 150. Can Quentin just trim a bit of time off of his "suspense build-up" dialogue and camera work? There were moments in the movie where I was wondering what the heck I was even still in the theatre; I felt it HAD to get better. To that end, the Landa character was great, Pitt was a hoot (and should have received more screen time along the other basterds), but so much of the rest was just pandering to Quentin's ego. Many of the scenes have been in other Quentin movies (almost getting routine). In short, don't bother seeing it in the theatre - wait til it's out on dvd or blu-ray. Expand
  56. Chris
    Aug 24, 2009
    6
    Warning: SPOILER included! I LOVE Tarentino....usually, and I was wildly entertained by this movie up to the point of the assassinations of the Nazi high command & Hitler.Then, I felt the movie completely deflated for me. I know, it's Tarentino, but I thought that was just too unbelieveable considering too well known historical facts about Hitler's death. Otherwise, it could Warning: SPOILER included! I LOVE Tarentino....usually, and I was wildly entertained by this movie up to the point of the assassinations of the Nazi high command & Hitler.Then, I felt the movie completely deflated for me. I know, it's Tarentino, but I thought that was just too unbelieveable considering too well known historical facts about Hitler's death. Otherwise, it could have been a brilliant film. The whole idea of the film festval/cinema being the revenge on fascism for jews & western culture was beautiful & brilliant genius. Acting is terrific. Characters great, especially Brad Pitt as Aldo The Apache. But Quentin sabotaged it with the Hitler death thing. And the British spy dies WAY too soon. Makes his character pointless. Too silly & foolish. If you're gonna do historical fantasy, let the audiece know from the beginning, so belief can be suspended early. This was way too much deus ex machina when it happened & I couldn't buy it. Ruined the whole earlier movie for me. Nice try, QT. Unlike some others, I don't think this was on the level of Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown or either of the Kill Bill's. I think it's his WORST, actually, though a highly flawed masterpiece. Expand
  57. MannyA.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Incredible movie, absolutely loved it from beginning to end. Great story, great characters, it's just so much fun and entertaining.
  58. NickP
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    A fantastic movie from start to finish. Tarantino draws out the tension like no one else. Superb acting, twists of fate, and a blast of an ending. I will see this again, probably very soon. It's only drawn out for people with short attention spans, and disdain for plots committed to characters.
  59. RaymondK.
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Spellbinding dialogue...very cleverly constructed. Didn't even need the action to succeed. 153 minutes were insufficient...didn't want it to end.
  60. Creyos
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen. Simple.
  61. BeryD.
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. It was no where near what I was expecting, but in a good way. Christoph Waltz deserves an oscar nomination for his impressive performance. The only complaint I have is the farmhouse and bar scenes seemed a little on the long side...but they were still engaging to watch on account of the dialogue. But everything else was awesome: the acting, carnage and story. I really enjoyed this movie. It was no where near what I was expecting, but in a good way. Christoph Waltz deserves an oscar nomination for his impressive performance. The only complaint I have is the farmhouse and bar scenes seemed a little on the long side...but they were still engaging to watch on account of the dialogue. But everything else was awesome: the acting, carnage and story. Very impressive movie. Expand
  62. davidd.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    I notice that some people did not appreciate the brilliance of this movie. They need to get their heads checked. This is a complicated, historically intricate, audacious and intense film. And, yes, you need to be able to READ during the film. Lots. It's called "hooked on phonics," go try it. Anyways, the best movie of the year. It will make you tense, excited, laugh, cry, and cheer, I notice that some people did not appreciate the brilliance of this movie. They need to get their heads checked. This is a complicated, historically intricate, audacious and intense film. And, yes, you need to be able to READ during the film. Lots. It's called "hooked on phonics," go try it. Anyways, the best movie of the year. It will make you tense, excited, laugh, cry, and cheer, and walk out with tremendous pride to be an American--because we have the freedom to produce this kind of art and be able to appreciate it. Expand
  63. bills
    Aug 27, 2009
    6
    Many scenes such as the bar scene were too drawn out to be effective.
  64. Max
    Aug 28, 2009
    6
    Not Tarantino's best. Most of the film was completely dialogue based and in another language, which didn't really mesh well with a film in which the central pleasures come from exciting things physically appening. I was sitting around reading, waiting for something to happen. The story was kind of boring and unbelievable. But hey, I'm sure it was better than Post Grad.
  65. AndyH
    Aug 29, 2009
    8
    I found the 'long drawn out scenes' to be incredibly well done - adding a palpable tension to what may otherwise have just been an exercise in complete ridiculousness. Insensitive, yes, gory, yes, but this is a Tarantino film! Still not sure whether Tarantino is the right person to be dealing with this kind of subject matter, but I still enjoyed it :)
  66. RobJ.
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Not joking, my favorite movie. I had to see it again immediately. It is just incredible.
  67. JacobA
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Easily the best film I've seen this year.
  68. BrandonF
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    I balk at all of you who are too weak and narrow minded to see the genius in this film. Honestly, this is film making at its finest, by one of the industries best (Tarantino). Thoroughly entertaining from start to finish, unless, that is you're too impatient to listen to dialogue and were expecting 2 hours of brutal nazi murders. Tarantino does a fabulous job at portraying both sides I balk at all of you who are too weak and narrow minded to see the genius in this film. Honestly, this is film making at its finest, by one of the industries best (Tarantino). Thoroughly entertaining from start to finish, unless, that is you're too impatient to listen to dialogue and were expecting 2 hours of brutal nazi murders. Tarantino does a fabulous job at portraying both sides as human as possible and makes the resolution of the film so incredibly satisfying, even more so if you've seen Valkyrie. Ignore the ignorant slub of people ranting about his disrespect to the victims of world war II, this is art, this is a story, and WWII happened to be the setting. Grow up people, stop being so sensitive. Expand
  69. MichaelH
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    The acting was some of the best I've ever seen. I've seen A LOT of movies. Colonel Landa brought smiles to my face he was so good. Like eating very fine food. I am not surprised many people didn't enjoy this film. This is high art, this is theatre. If you were expecting a action flick you didn't do your homework. Tarantino is the x gen's genius. He's their The acting was some of the best I've ever seen. I've seen A LOT of movies. Colonel Landa brought smiles to my face he was so good. Like eating very fine food. I am not surprised many people didn't enjoy this film. This is high art, this is theatre. If you were expecting a action flick you didn't do your homework. Tarantino is the x gen's genius. He's their Wells. In fact, I think, he's more talented than any living director. I can't see Scorses being this bold and confindent and that's saying a lot. Tarantino can do anything. My only critique is that he doesn't do more. So, IB gets a 9, because QT didn't close the deal. He was making a classic, another Pulp Fiction and then let the movie get away from him. The first scene of IB was perhaps the best scene ever to be put on film. The scene where all of the Nazis were being shot and burned... Not so much. In many ways there are 2 Tarantinos. The Kill Bill 1 + Kill Bill 2 Tarantino. 1 is pure fun pulp nonsense. 2 is mad dialogue drama genius. I prefer 2, but in a way it's perfect that he's both 1 and 2. That makes him Gen X. Right? Expand
  70. jessec
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    Hans with the whip cream, and when blond cinema owner walked out of prep for fire from projection room and that song playing; which i have no idea what artist it was, was classic QT and i thought movie was genius. cons-- some chapters were 3-5 min to long.
  71. DWilly
    Sep 16, 2009
    3
    Talk about your missed opportunities! Virtually all the potential good stuff is missing from the screen: Jews taking revenge (except for the goofy thing with the baseball bat), SPOILER the evil guy getting his due from the girl whose family he killed, the officer hating German getting set loose, and on and on). True, there's some Tarentino quirky artistry in moments, but his Talk about your missed opportunities! Virtually all the potential good stuff is missing from the screen: Jews taking revenge (except for the goofy thing with the baseball bat), SPOILER the evil guy getting his due from the girl whose family he killed, the officer hating German getting set loose, and on and on). True, there's some Tarentino quirky artistry in moments, but his indulgent camp is more often cringe inducing. I feel bad for the folks all over America who go to see Brad Pitt in a bad-ass WWII movie and get this odd bit of a turd. Pitt has probably less than 30 min of screen time (and is very thin here, anyway), and two thirds of the dialog is subtitled French or German. Expand
  72. TimO
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    Response to Arch S and his point about "stupid languages", three votes down: Tarantino should be be commended on keeping his dialogue fresh whilst still crossing the language barrier (as a speaker of French and German I can say that it came across excellently). These accomplished world actors do their best work in their native languages so if you don't want to watch subtitles, Response to Arch S and his point about "stupid languages", three votes down: Tarantino should be be commended on keeping his dialogue fresh whilst still crossing the language barrier (as a speaker of French and German I can say that it came across excellently). These accomplished world actors do their best work in their native languages so if you don't want to watch subtitles, preferring to hear them struggling in heavy-accented English just so you don't have to read a little bit, then you don't deserve to watch this kind of film and I'm glad the effect is lost on you. Expand
  73. afdsafdddd
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Simply, awesome. This film demonstrates why Tarantino is the best director in this days.
  74. JaimeC
    Sep 2, 2009
    5
    A film that goes desperately in search of an editor and doesn't find it. Twenty mintues too long. Admittedly buzzes in parts but long and drawn out through the middle act. The opening scene holds much promise but subsequent scenes fail to build any tension. Characters are killed off before the audience has had any chance to invest interest in them. Waltz is good throughout however. A film that goes desperately in search of an editor and doesn't find it. Twenty mintues too long. Admittedly buzzes in parts but long and drawn out through the middle act. The opening scene holds much promise but subsequent scenes fail to build any tension. Characters are killed off before the audience has had any chance to invest interest in them. Waltz is good throughout however. Recut the movie twenty minutes shorter, and 80% less self-indulgent and this would be excellent. Expand
  75. MarcusW
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    After the last few misfires, QT emerges with a film which is pure unadulterated entertainment. Funny, loud and plain over the top fun.
  76. robE
    Sep 2, 2009
    5
    Ok, that must be one of the most average films I have witnessed in a long while. It was just stupid. Sorry there was nothing clever or witty or well written or directed in it was there? Is it me or is this film just pointless? There was just nothing in it to makes one think "that was a good film". Someone please explain to me the point of taking real people (Hitler etc) and just Ok, that must be one of the most average films I have witnessed in a long while. It was just stupid. Sorry there was nothing clever or witty or well written or directed in it was there? Is it me or is this film just pointless? There was just nothing in it to makes one think "that was a good film". Someone please explain to me the point of taking real people (Hitler etc) and just completely changing history? Oh sorry is that the "clever" bit? The first 10-15 mins are good. Nicely acted, lit, written. Suspense and shocking even. Great start...Then it all goes down hill. Serious characters become a joke, Brad Pitt and the itallian accent, jesus christ... was that meant to be funny? Was just totally rubbish! You get to serious/exciting part of the film and you have him doing some stupid voice?... oh sorry is that the genius again?...then the story drags it's way to, I don't know, the most stupid film ending ever? I'm sure it makes Americans proud that they won the war like that? Or is that just me not understanding "a masterpiece"? If someone could point out the "really good bits" I'd be very greatful. Sorry very little to enjoy in this film, average at best please nobody try and tell me this is a good or even great film... think you need to remove your Tarantino rose coloured specs and see that when all said and done he's a bit of a one trick pony. Expand
  77. GregA
    Sep 2, 2009
    5
    What can I say? I came out of this movie expecting a lot more, it didn't pull me into the story or engage me. It wasn't particularly moving or funny, (alot of)the violence added nothing to the film and the ending was kind of, well, "is that it?". Brad Pitt looked ridiculous in this role. That aside, Christopher Waltz did an excellent job as a Nazi and almost worth watching for What can I say? I came out of this movie expecting a lot more, it didn't pull me into the story or engage me. It wasn't particularly moving or funny, (alot of)the violence added nothing to the film and the ending was kind of, well, "is that it?". Brad Pitt looked ridiculous in this role. That aside, Christopher Waltz did an excellent job as a Nazi and almost worth watching for his performance alone. Expand
  78. DavidC.
    Sep 2, 2009
    6
    Don't believe the hype, this is a mediocre movie at best.
  79. AM.
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    Best movie I have seen in a long time!
  80. AnonymousMC
    Sep 4, 2009
    8
    Definately not what the previews showed was coming. I went in expecting more of a Kill Bill style action/drama, and walked out thinking I had just read a book. It did tend to drag on in a few scenes, but because each culminated in amazing style, you ignore the length. And while the violence was definately there, it only furthered the realism of the situations. I love to see actionDefinately not what the previews showed was coming. I went in expecting more of a Kill Bill style action/drama, and walked out thinking I had just read a book. It did tend to drag on in a few scenes, but because each culminated in amazing style, you ignore the length. And while the violence was definately there, it only furthered the realism of the situations. I love to see action played out without slow motion, psychotic special effect explosions, or ultra long fight scenes. After every action sequence in the movie, you would just go "Good God! What the hell happened!" It really brought you down to the level that the characters would have experienced it at. The acting did the same: great job in particular to Pitt and the SS lead. Perfectly inline with their characters.
    All that said, the story itself didn't really hold me. The storytelling did, the characters and their interactions did, but the story was sub-par. That, and two and a half hours was definately a bit long.
    All in all, a great movie that won't be a frequent re-watcher. Probably deserved more like an 8.5, but what do ya do?
    Oh, did anyone else find themselves thinking later on about how funny some of the killing was, then reflecting on how a certain gentleman in the movie was laughing his little hiney off? I don't know if that was an intended jibe from director, but it was definately a poignant lesson in my mind. More like a mild slap to the face.
    Expand
  81. BradN
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    Great, entertaining movie. Many of the "official" critics seem to have lost the point of the movie - epic storytelling gone mad. Oh well, sucks for them, but great for those of us who, as another reviewer wrote, saw the genius in this movie.
  82. JamieB
    Sep 8, 2009
    6
    Mostly entertaining but long and uneven. Many tension-filled moments with great dialog but subtitles slightly weaken the effect. Glad it was subtitled though, Valkyrie was ruined by lack of subtitles imo. Brad Pitt chews the scenery, as they say. You really notice him 'acting'. Hans Linda character was easily the best part of the movie, intelligent and intimidating; he's Mostly entertaining but long and uneven. Many tension-filled moments with great dialog but subtitles slightly weaken the effect. Glad it was subtitled though, Valkyrie was ruined by lack of subtitles imo. Brad Pitt chews the scenery, as they say. You really notice him 'acting'. Hans Linda character was easily the best part of the movie, intelligent and intimidating; he's operating on a higher level than others. Although that makes his comeuppance at the end a little jarring. I did not like the soundtrack which had similar elements to Kill Bill but it just doesn't work here. Its another QT genre mashup which i guess that's all he makes going forward. Expand
  83. JackC
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Likely the best movie of the last two years. A lot of the negative reviews I'm seeing are making petty and irrelevant points... when it boils down to it, this was a tremendously acted and directed masterpiece about classic films. Sorry it wasn't the bloodbath promised in the trailers. It turned out to b a movie 10 times better.
  84. Cookie
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    Would be a ten except that Brad Pitt does NOT fit the role he plays. I am 100% there are other actors that could've done a better job than Pitt. Overall a great movie Christoph Waltz stole the film. I find it extremely rare when I am watching a movie that I seriously want to see more often through out the film.
  85. LeslieL.
    Jan 24, 2010
    4
    Brad Pitt ruined this movie for me. Truly bad casting choice. That ridiculous underbite and accent was the best he could come up with? Took me out of the movie every time he came onscreen. And the music. This is usually where Tarantino usually shines. The music here was not coherent. I questioned a number of his choices. Christopher Waltz was thrilling to watch. And the scene in the Brad Pitt ruined this movie for me. Truly bad casting choice. That ridiculous underbite and accent was the best he could come up with? Took me out of the movie every time he came onscreen. And the music. This is usually where Tarantino usually shines. The music here was not coherent. I questioned a number of his choices. Christopher Waltz was thrilling to watch. And the scene in the farmhouse was brilliant. There were a few real stand-out scenes, none of which involved Brad Pitt. It just didn't all come together. Expand
  86. DavidG.
    Jan 27, 2010
    8
    This movie was great. From the zany characters to the tautly written script. It was great. Quentin does a great job directing this movie. The only thing that holds this movie back was it's outrageous ending. Everybody died. Some for no reason at all. It became kind of comical instead of enthralling like it was trying to be.
  87. Joan
    Jan 29, 2010
    9
    Tarantino make it again? Hell, yes! 'Inglorious Basterds' is that kind of film that only can be made by a person like Quentin Tarantino: happy jew-hunters, happy nazi-hunters, happy Germans and happy solutions for a triangle gunfire. Okay, forget that. This can be (perfectly) the most personal film of Tarantino, and (without doubt) one of the best films of 2009.
  88. JamesC
    Jan 5, 2010
    5
    I'm going to have to agree with Ryan S on this one. A couple of really good scenes ruined by a long drawling pace interspersed with some truly grusome violence. Violence for the sake of violence is just not entertaining - not when it doesn't do anything to service the story. I think this will be one of those movies you'll either love or hate. I don't hate it - but I'm going to have to agree with Ryan S on this one. A couple of really good scenes ruined by a long drawling pace interspersed with some truly grusome violence. Violence for the sake of violence is just not entertaining - not when it doesn't do anything to service the story. I think this will be one of those movies you'll either love or hate. I don't hate it - but I'd never watch it again and would rather deal with revenge escapism like Kill Bill than sit through a crappy alternative World War 2 themed picture. Expand
  89. JasonM.
    Jan 5, 2010
    8
    All the negative, snobbish reviews for this film have clearly mistaken "boring" for suspense, and "identity crisis" for unique, offbeat filmmaking. It is obvious that these people were prejudgmental, practically looking for reasons to hate this film. Basterds is by no means perfect (hence the 8), but it is unquestionably an exercise in wild entertainment. From explosive action scenes, to All the negative, snobbish reviews for this film have clearly mistaken "boring" for suspense, and "identity crisis" for unique, offbeat filmmaking. It is obvious that these people were prejudgmental, practically looking for reasons to hate this film. Basterds is by no means perfect (hence the 8), but it is unquestionably an exercise in wild entertainment. From explosive action scenes, to an Oscar-Worthy performance by Christopher Waltz as the deplorable Colonel Landa, if you weren't at least ENTERTAINED by this movie, you clearly needed to drink your coffee this morning. Expand
  90. TommyJ.
    Jan 7, 2010
    4
    just so you guys know, its like 95% talking. this movie was not what I expected and felt let down when I started to realize it was some merge of drama and fo-comedy than a neat action-packed something or other.
  91. JoeD
    Feb 10, 2010
    9
    Great fantasy WWII Movie - Pure QT multi-lingual dialogue-fest. Tense and action-filled dark comedy - I think the moaners are missing several points. Waltz was perfect - and the music was so well-used - What's not to like?
  92. DevonC
    Feb 12, 2010
    8
    A typical Tarantino movie with a lot of death and violence. But there is no doubting his skill at creating a grasping drama.
  93. JohnG
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    BEST MOVIE of '09. Should, but probably won't win Best Picture Oscar! Overall, most well-acted movie in '09 with Christoph Waltz an absolute LOCK to win Best Supporting Actor Oscar.
  94. Lauren
    Feb 3, 2010
    7
    It is not the greatest in the world, but this motion picture is actually thrilling. Brad pitt has a certain charm in this movie, that i found kinda funny. What's not funny, people die, but there nazis so in a way, i don't really care... but it's a weird movie, but a good movie. SOUND GOOD?
  95. JohnC
    Feb 7, 2010
    4
    Moments of genius (opening scene, Bar scene, Christoph Waltz's performance, Bowie musical montage) can not make up for a crass and self indulgent film. The Nazi's persecution of the Jews and the destruction of Europe is not a vehicle to explore notions of movie violence and a European style of film making. The juxtaposition of a true historical evil with cartoon violence is not Moments of genius (opening scene, Bar scene, Christoph Waltz's performance, Bowie musical montage) can not make up for a crass and self indulgent film. The Nazi's persecution of the Jews and the destruction of Europe is not a vehicle to explore notions of movie violence and a European style of film making. The juxtaposition of a true historical evil with cartoon violence is not a responsible narrative. I'm all for the exploration of violent fantasy and the emotions and feelings it evokes in us as the viewer. But it does a disservice to those who died in World War Two by setting the film within that genuine space. The inclusion of actual figures of history who we know did not suffer such a demise only adds to this vapid fictitious theatre. It is to be repeated there are some excellent moments and performances. But such scenes and a story of revenge, is in my opinion cheapened by a film that is looking for a laugh or response at the expense of historical fact and truth. Expand
  96. JBb
    Mar 11, 2010
    0
    Horrible movie with absolutely ridiculous story
  97. KennyM
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    Easily the best movie of the year.
  98. Pooria
    Mar 7, 2010
    10
    Best Movie EVER ( maybe after pulp fiction though! ). Tarantino is going to be Cinema's next and greatest master of all time!
  99. NathanD.
    Nov 10, 2009
    7
    A very gory movie that leaves nothing to the viewers imagination. The plot and action was decent and the acting was superb.But I can say that this movie is not for the weak hearted.
  100. AbhinavR
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    Genius, pure genius.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. The film is by no means terrible -- its two hours and 32 minutes running time races by -- but those things we think of as being Tarantino-esque, the long stretches of wickedly funny dialogue, the humor in the violence and outsized characters strutting across the screen, are largely missing.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A violent fairy tale, an increasingly entertaining fantasia in which the history of World War II is wildly reimagined so that the cinema can play the decisive role in destroying the Third Reich.
  3. In Tarantino's besotted historical reverie, real-life villains Adolf Hitler and Joseph Goebbels are played as grotesque jokes. The Basterds are played as exaggeratedly tough Jews. The women are femmes fatales.?