Inglourious Basterds

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1285 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. martin
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is classic Tarantino dialogue. The three main characters are all terrific, with the lesser known stars, the Austrian Actor who plays the Nazi and the Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is classic Tarantino dialogue. The three main characters are all terrific, with the lesser known stars, the Austrian Actor who plays the Nazi and the French Actress playing Shoshanna giving Oscar Worthy performances, and Brad Pitt is hilarious. This film probably deserves repeat viewings, as do all Tarantino films. Expand
  2. RickS.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 point for letting Mike Myers near this movie. I went for a bathroom break so i didn't have to squirm in my seat. Absolute brilliance through and QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 point for letting Mike Myers near this movie. I went for a bathroom break so i didn't have to squirm in my seat. Absolute brilliance through and through. Well done Quentin, Jolly Good show old bean. Expand
  3. stuartw
    Aug 24, 2009
    7
    They claimed it was Tarrantino back to his best but i left feling a little underwhelmed. The start of the film begins with a homage to Sergio leone's 'The good, the bad and the ugly.' It's a tense beginning, the nazis searching a house for jews and the officer reminded me of the child catcher in Chitty, chitty bang bang. This scene sets the film up well and you feel They claimed it was Tarrantino back to his best but i left feling a little underwhelmed. The start of the film begins with a homage to Sergio leone's 'The good, the bad and the ugly.' It's a tense beginning, the nazis searching a house for jews and the officer reminded me of the child catcher in Chitty, chitty bang bang. This scene sets the film up well and you feel that this is going to be a classic. Let me point out that three quarters of the film is subtitled and features long winded conversations that don't really add a lot to the plot. The acting, in particular the character of 'the jew hunter' is very good. Brad Pitt's character is at times funny but isn't the most memorable. the film looks beautiful as does every Tarrantino film. I thought Mike Myers character was very well acted and brought about an 'Ah!' factor when realising who he was. I feel that the reviews of this film have been a little generous, but that's just my opinion. A shame really, could have been so much better. Expand
  4. bartons.
    Aug 24, 2009
    8
    Save for its subject matter, this is the most reserved and singular vision Tarantino has had since Reservoir Dogs. That
  5. MikeN.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    This is one in a long line of classics by Tarrantino. It is a cinematic masterpiece. I loved this movie from the begining to the end.
  6. MarkD.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Awesome experience - Tarantino takes you on a ride. I cannot stop thinking about it.
  7. OscarF.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    This movie shows the unearthly talent of director Quentin Tarantino. This movie is hilarious, violent, and so good that whoever misses it, would die without experiencing real filmaking. Cristopher Waltz is a great actor and deserves the academy award for best supporting actor!
  8. TomB
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Definitely Tarantino's own take on a WW2 film; Great characters and clever storyline that will keep your attention. The movie can feel somewhat slow in certain scenes and rewrites some aspects of history. Nevertheless, when it delivers it does so in a big way. The more I think about it the more I want to go see it again!
  9. RyanM.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    If you love to laugh at accents, this movie could not be any funnier. The only reason it isn't a 10 for me is the fact that I would have liked to see a few more lines out of Brad Pitt. They were careful not to overload him (which could be very easy given the "strength" of his accent), but i think they may have been too frugal with his appearance.
  10. NedV.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    I could give this a 9 for only two reasons: 1. Eli Roth 2. I read the original script. In the original script, Chapter 3, "A German Night in Paris", was indicated at the beginning, "This section of the movie will be shot entirely in black and white 'French New Wave' style." I'm really disappointed Tarantino didn't follow through on that. But those are quibbles. how can I could give this a 9 for only two reasons: 1. Eli Roth 2. I read the original script. In the original script, Chapter 3, "A German Night in Paris", was indicated at the beginning, "This section of the movie will be shot entirely in black and white 'French New Wave' style." I'm really disappointed Tarantino didn't follow through on that. But those are quibbles. how can I not give this movie a 10??? SEE IT. (Among the surprises for me was how patriotic it was. Everyone clapped at the end, and this was in lib central (NYC). God Bless America!!!) Expand
  11. NormG.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Because of the dreck posing as comedies in the cinemas these days Inglourious Basterds hits you like a fresh breeze of creativity. Bet you never heard a Quentin Tarantino film thusly described. This completely fictional piece of World War II
  12. RaymondK.
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Spellbinding dialogue...very cleverly constructed. Didn't even need the action to succeed. 153 minutes were insufficient...didn't want it to end.
  13. DavidV.
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Great movie. If you've seen a Tarantino movie before you'd know the acting and dialogue make the movie more than the action.
  14. seajay
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    I expected a dumb action film like "Kill Bill" and instead got a film as suspenseful as Hitchcock's best. And I confess I found the revisionist climax strangely satisfying.
  15. DanS
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Knowing what you're going into from the previews, and overall excellent film.
  16. MannyA.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Incredible movie, absolutely loved it from beginning to end. Great story, great characters, it's just so much fun and entertaining.
  17. MarkT
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Most probably the best Q.T. has presented to us yet, in what I feel will be a long and glorious film career. I thought the film references were right on top as I chucked myself silly throughout the picture. It's O.K. if you didn't get them - the movie was outstanding farce anyway. For those who did not get this movie - it was because you probably because it contained everything Most probably the best Q.T. has presented to us yet, in what I feel will be a long and glorious film career. I thought the film references were right on top as I chucked myself silly throughout the picture. It's O.K. if you didn't get them - the movie was outstanding farce anyway. For those who did not get this movie - it was because you probably because it contained everything a Taratino movie needs; great dialogue, beautiful cinematography, good acting (Colonel Landa was Brilliant!) all with the director's tongue firmly in cheek. Bravo! Expand
  18. TresS
    Aug 25, 2009
    8
    I over heard a guy leaving the movie that said "what a rip off, where was the violence?" I think that's what a lot of disappointed Tarantino fans were expecting with Inglorious Basterds. But they should be praising this film for the superior writing, superb acting and beautiful cinematography. Also the story is much less disjointed than most of Tarantino's work. Every movie from I over heard a guy leaving the movie that said "what a rip off, where was the violence?" I think that's what a lot of disappointed Tarantino fans were expecting with Inglorious Basterds. But they should be praising this film for the superior writing, superb acting and beautiful cinematography. Also the story is much less disjointed than most of Tarantino's work. Every movie from QT will not be Pulp fiction and we shouldn't expect it to be. What we should expect is what we got with Inglorious Basterds, another fantastic story from one of Hollywood's absolute best directors. Expand
  19. NickP
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    A fantastic movie from start to finish. Tarantino draws out the tension like no one else. Superb acting, twists of fate, and a blast of an ending. I will see this again, probably very soon. It's only drawn out for people with short attention spans, and disdain for plots committed to characters.
  20. Creyos
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen. Simple.
  21. BradleyT.
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Basterds is an amazing blend of gravity, absurdity, and gore. White the the violent action sequences are well-crafted and thoroughly exciting, it is the dialog that drives the movie and earns the violence. Contrary to many reviews, the non-action scenes are far from boring. Tarantino uses language to build tension in each scene. While the dialog-heavy scenes are long, each one is infused Basterds is an amazing blend of gravity, absurdity, and gore. White the the violent action sequences are well-crafted and thoroughly exciting, it is the dialog that drives the movie and earns the violence. Contrary to many reviews, the non-action scenes are far from boring. Tarantino uses language to build tension in each scene. While the dialog-heavy scenes are long, each one is infused a sense that anything can happen. This plus high stakes makes every second of Basterds a thrill to watch. Expand
  22. billc.
    Aug 26, 2009
    7
    A 6 rating is probably more in my mind, but certain things are to be expected in a Torintino film and you shouldn't complain about it. The writing is not up to Pulp Fiction, the violence seems too grafic, but the actors did a great job. The premise, or plot is what weakened the film IMO.
  23. GilY.
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Hitler getting shot in the face. What more could you ask for?
  24. BrendonF.
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Action packed, beautifully written and beyond unique. Tarantino delivers another classic. However, subtitles were far too excessive.
  25. BeryD.
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. It was no where near what I was expecting, but in a good way. Christoph Waltz deserves an oscar nomination for his impressive performance. The only complaint I have is the farmhouse and bar scenes seemed a little on the long side...but they were still engaging to watch on account of the dialogue. But everything else was awesome: the acting, carnage and story. I really enjoyed this movie. It was no where near what I was expecting, but in a good way. Christoph Waltz deserves an oscar nomination for his impressive performance. The only complaint I have is the farmhouse and bar scenes seemed a little on the long side...but they were still engaging to watch on account of the dialogue. But everything else was awesome: the acting, carnage and story. Very impressive movie. Expand
  26. davidd.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    I notice that some people did not appreciate the brilliance of this movie. They need to get their heads checked. This is a complicated, historically intricate, audacious and intense film. And, yes, you need to be able to READ during the film. Lots. It's called "hooked on phonics," go try it. Anyways, the best movie of the year. It will make you tense, excited, laugh, cry, and cheer, I notice that some people did not appreciate the brilliance of this movie. They need to get their heads checked. This is a complicated, historically intricate, audacious and intense film. And, yes, you need to be able to READ during the film. Lots. It's called "hooked on phonics," go try it. Anyways, the best movie of the year. It will make you tense, excited, laugh, cry, and cheer, and walk out with tremendous pride to be an American--because we have the freedom to produce this kind of art and be able to appreciate it. Expand
  27. MomoC.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've seen all year. Amazing dialogue all round.
  28. GiaD.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Only second to JAckie Brown in my opinion.
  29. ThierryK
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    I've seen this movie today and wow! I did not expected i was going to see a masterpiece, the conversations, the actions ,the humour(especially when brad pitt talked italian, it whas really hilarious!). Overall, it is certainly the best movie to date, especially with all the nobrain action movies.
  30. TimL
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    A delicious film for any QT fan. Totally absorbing and beautifully shot, with fine acting performances. A true multi-layered masterpeice. why did so many people hate this? madness.
  31. TobyH.
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    Simply spellbinding. Tarantino sure knows how to tell a story. Waltz was brilliant!
  32. DariaG
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie. I will be going to see it again.
  33. JonathonY
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    People said it was the best Tarantino film to date. I disagree, although this movie was one of the best I have seen this year. I was looking for hilarious violence and story and was not dissatisfied.
  34. BradC
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    Subtle, beautiful, dense. One of Tarantino's best films. I was totally invested in the characters. Go and see it for yourself; you are smart enough to enjoy this movie.
  35. RafaR
    Aug 28, 2009
    9
    One of my favorite films of 2009... its hilarious, twisted and suspenseful. Tarantino did something in this film, I don't think I've ever seen before... but to tell would be to spoil. Go see it for yourself.
  36. TonyM
    Aug 28, 2009
    7
    I was really excited to see this movie, but I just thought that many of the scenes were just way too long (the bar scene) and for a movie about the basterds, they are hardly in it at all.
  37. DavidB
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    My favorite QT film since Pulp Fiction. Might be the best film that I've seen so far this year, as well. I didn't feel that any of the scenes were too long; the dialogue and pacing were absolutely perfect. A bit of gross violence here and there, but nothing like the stylized gorefests of previous QT films. Well worth seeing on the big screen -- just be sure to hit the bathroom My favorite QT film since Pulp Fiction. Might be the best film that I've seen so far this year, as well. I didn't feel that any of the scenes were too long; the dialogue and pacing were absolutely perfect. A bit of gross violence here and there, but nothing like the stylized gorefests of previous QT films. Well worth seeing on the big screen -- just be sure to hit the bathroom beforehand and buy a big bag of popcorn. Expand
  38. AndyH
    Aug 29, 2009
    8
    I found the 'long drawn out scenes' to be incredibly well done - adding a palpable tension to what may otherwise have just been an exercise in complete ridiculousness. Insensitive, yes, gory, yes, but this is a Tarantino film! Still not sure whether Tarantino is the right person to be dealing with this kind of subject matter, but I still enjoyed it :)
  39. RobJ.
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Not joking, my favorite movie. I had to see it again immediately. It is just incredible.
  40. danielw.
    Aug 29, 2009
    8
    Not perfect, but better than anything QT has done since Jackie Brown. Genre-mashing, but not incoherently so. Well-scripted set pieces, great dialogue, some great cinematography. Pitt's character jars somewhat, however, a cartoon character in a movie whose other characters are far more three-dimensional.
  41. KazK
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Amazing movie. I can't believe people thought this was bad or found it "offensive". What's offensive about nazis getting killed by jews? There are no scenes with concentration camps or anything like that. If i was Jewish I would like this movie even more because of how awesome the nazi killing is. You will especially dig this movie if you are a QT fan. A bit slow at times and Amazing movie. I can't believe people thought this was bad or found it "offensive". What's offensive about nazis getting killed by jews? There are no scenes with concentration camps or anything like that. If i was Jewish I would like this movie even more because of how awesome the nazi killing is. You will especially dig this movie if you are a QT fan. A bit slow at times and quite long but that's how all QT movies are so if you have the taste for his stuff than this is a MUST-SEE. If you found pulp fiction or kill bill boring then this is not the movie for you. Expand
  42. JohnH
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    QT has matured, but still has his unique spice and style. This movie is, dare i say, his best yet. A masterpiece. Enjoyed every single minute. Brilliant.
  43. loub
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Not as clever as Pulp Fiction,but a future cult classic.
  44. JacobA
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Easily the best film I've seen this year.
  45. WillC
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Classic Tarantino! You can see he has used all of his work to date to put together this masterpiece.
  46. SteveF
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Wow wow wow wow wow this movie is a perfect 10! I can't stop thinking about it and I need to see it again...on Blu-ray anyway. I feel for all the negative reviewers.. they must be dead inside...no kidding everyone is entitled to their own opinion.
  47. BrandonF
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    I balk at all of you who are too weak and narrow minded to see the genius in this film. Honestly, this is film making at its finest, by one of the industries best (Tarantino). Thoroughly entertaining from start to finish, unless, that is you're too impatient to listen to dialogue and were expecting 2 hours of brutal nazi murders. Tarantino does a fabulous job at portraying both sides I balk at all of you who are too weak and narrow minded to see the genius in this film. Honestly, this is film making at its finest, by one of the industries best (Tarantino). Thoroughly entertaining from start to finish, unless, that is you're too impatient to listen to dialogue and were expecting 2 hours of brutal nazi murders. Tarantino does a fabulous job at portraying both sides as human as possible and makes the resolution of the film so incredibly satisfying, even more so if you've seen Valkyrie. Ignore the ignorant slub of people ranting about his disrespect to the victims of world war II, this is art, this is a story, and WWII happened to be the setting. Grow up people, stop being so sensitive. Expand
  48. CorinH
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Very uniquely interwoven series of shorts are masterfully combined to form one of Tarantino's best. This movie explores into the realms of visceral satire that I've never before seen a director dare to go.
  49. MartinS
    Aug 31, 2009
    8
    I was surprised to see how many critics missed the point. This was simply a revenge fantasy and who better to bring it to us.
  50. HyperS
    Aug 31, 2009
    8
    Bizarre story selection... but in a good unique kind of way. I was expecting a mindless Nazi killing fest, but there was actually a story in there with the Bastards, almost dare I say, just a minor backstory to a grander tale. The acting and characters were great, the pace went by well, and aside from the music/rambo montage near the end involving the cinema owner (David Bowie song was Bizarre story selection... but in a good unique kind of way. I was expecting a mindless Nazi killing fest, but there was actually a story in there with the Bastards, almost dare I say, just a minor backstory to a grander tale. The acting and characters were great, the pace went by well, and aside from the music/rambo montage near the end involving the cinema owner (David Bowie song was it?) the film was pretty solid (for what it was.. which I'm still not sure what to make of it all other than reach the conclusion Tarantino has a weird mind). Expand
  51. JasonK
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Easily his best since Pulp Fiction. I came in with serious doubts, and it still blew me away.
  52. Jonathan
    Sep 1, 2009
    9
    Many of the critics and viewers who gave this film bad reviews are missing the point. I was almost appalled to read one review by a writer that pegged the portrayal of the Jews as Nazi-esque. As an American Jew myself I know too well the feeling of victimization and anger that came from learning of my people recent past (and my family's). The violence and gore in the movie was Many of the critics and viewers who gave this film bad reviews are missing the point. I was almost appalled to read one review by a writer that pegged the portrayal of the Jews as Nazi-esque. As an American Jew myself I know too well the feeling of victimization and anger that came from learning of my people recent past (and my family's). The violence and gore in the movie was justified and not really overdone. That being said, the dialogue, while extensive, is excellent and I never felt bored during the film. I also felt that the style was like a mixing of spaghetti-western, WWII movie, and Shakespeare tragedy (yes, I said Shakespeare). I would recommend this movie highly to all of those open-minded folks that enjoy seeing a movie with a witty, yet gripping view of a tired and played out (and may I add mostly boring) genre of films. Expand
  53. AM.
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    Best movie I have seen in a long time!
  54. JG.
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    Really loved this movie and will pay to see it again. Beware though, you have to go in ready to accept it for what it is and not try to make it what its not. Its not Kill Bill. Its not Saving Private Ryan. Its a thing all its own and I enjoyed every bit of its almost 3 hour running time.
  55. BradN
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    Great, entertaining movie. Many of the "official" critics seem to have lost the point of the movie - epic storytelling gone mad. Oh well, sucks for them, but great for those of us who, as another reviewer wrote, saw the genius in this movie.
  56. DavidR.
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    I just came back from the theatre and although both of my parent loathed it, i found it just as captivating and excellent as the many other Tarintino film have seen. Keep in mind, this movie is not for the faint of heart, there are many graphic scenes that you would not think to be there from watching the trailer. But the violence and gore all have a more real look to it, much unlike the I just came back from the theatre and although both of my parent loathed it, i found it just as captivating and excellent as the many other Tarintino film have seen. Keep in mind, this movie is not for the faint of heart, there are many graphic scenes that you would not think to be there from watching the trailer. But the violence and gore all have a more real look to it, much unlike the Kill Bill movies. all in all, i thought it was great, but not the best Tarintino movie Expand
  57. DougT
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    Normally, I don't give movies a perfect score, but this is my favorite movie this year (so far). The plot is what really draws you in, and I'm into the dark comedy style, so that's probably why it gets such a high recommendation from me. The acting is great, the story flows pretty well, the chapter sections make it easy to follow, and give a more "epic tale" feel to the Normally, I don't give movies a perfect score, but this is my favorite movie this year (so far). The plot is what really draws you in, and I'm into the dark comedy style, so that's probably why it gets such a high recommendation from me. The acting is great, the story flows pretty well, the chapter sections make it easy to follow, and give a more "epic tale" feel to the whole movie. Lot's of hilarious moments that really make it shine- basically, it's a Quentin Tarantino movie. If you liked pulp-fiction, and aren't too easily offended, my bet is this is going to be a good movie for you. Oh, and about Brad Pitt's accent, it's not supposed to be convincing. The point of his character is to show how outrageous this movie really is. Expand
  58. hcarter
    Sep 7, 2009
    8
    Maybe b/c expectations were a little lower--but I was thoroughly impressed with Inglourious Basterds. I agree with others in that I think it's Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction (and I really liked Kill BIll too). I was not bored by the length--or the intentional drawn out scenes--or even how much dialogue ( a lot) there is. I don't think it was perfect--could have been Maybe b/c expectations were a little lower--but I was thoroughly impressed with Inglourious Basterds. I agree with others in that I think it's Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction (and I really liked Kill BIll too). I was not bored by the length--or the intentional drawn out scenes--or even how much dialogue ( a lot) there is. I don't think it was perfect--could have been tightened up for sure. But I loved the fairy-tale satire/farce that IB was---totally smart, cathartic, gross, laugh-out-loud, dramatic, war movie. So far, many of my friends are all over the map on their opinion of IB, so it's hard to say whether you'll like it based on other people's reviews. Definitely see it though if you've liked anything Tarantino has done prior. Expand
  59. Aaron
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Besides Brad Pitt's forced performance and his horribly exaggerated Southern accent, this is a terrific film. Tarantino has not lost his ear for great dialogue, and it comes across even in the subtitles. You may not really know what his point is by the end of the story, but it is nevertheless fascinating and a joy to watch. Also, props to Christoph Waltz's performance has Besides Brad Pitt's forced performance and his horribly exaggerated Southern accent, this is a terrific film. Tarantino has not lost his ear for great dialogue, and it comes across even in the subtitles. You may not really know what his point is by the end of the story, but it is nevertheless fascinating and a joy to watch. Also, props to Christoph Waltz's performance has Colonel Landa. Not only does he act in (four!) different languages, but he gives the typical, evil Nazi role a good dose of dry wit and humor. Expand
  60. AlejandroF
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Inglorious Bastards is one of the best movies I have seen. This movie comes with more then you expect. It is a film that is more then clever, it is brilliant, a masterpiece. The acting is extraordinaire. QT has a superb skill of cinematographic. He will continue making grate films.
  61. DiegT
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Grate film, good acting, best directing, excellent storyline. With this said, no more words are needed.
  62. JackC
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Likely the best movie of the last two years. A lot of the negative reviews I'm seeing are making petty and irrelevant points... when it boils down to it, this was a tremendously acted and directed masterpiece about classic films. Sorry it wasn't the bloodbath promised in the trailers. It turned out to b a movie 10 times better.
  63. eliasc
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    I have not been a Tarantino fan for quite a while. The promise of films like 'Reservoir Dogs' and 'Pulp Fiction' were never realized after 1994 with the exception of 'Jackie Brown. But with 'Inglorious Basterds', Quentin Tarintino has returned. Once again he has written a film for actors, and though there is plenty of gratuitous violence to satisfy fans I have not been a Tarantino fan for quite a while. The promise of films like 'Reservoir Dogs' and 'Pulp Fiction' were never realized after 1994 with the exception of 'Jackie Brown. But with 'Inglorious Basterds', Quentin Tarintino has returned. Once again he has written a film for actors, and though there is plenty of gratuitous violence to satisfy fans of blood and guts war movies, this a film about dialogue and acting at its best. Is it a war movie, a western, a fantasy? It does not matter. It is about Brad Pitts over-the-top acting as Lt Also Raine, Christoph Waltz's chillingly repugnant yet fascinating portrayal as Nazi Hans Landa, and the great performances by Melanie Laurent as French Jewish survivor Shosanna Dreyfus and Daniel Bruhl as the sniper war hero Fredrick Zoller. Thank you Quentin for giving us a movie where Jews are not victims and kill Nazis. It may not be history but your WWII fantasy brings to life the secret dreams of many an American Jewish boy growing up in the shadow of the Holocaust and bombarded by countless films of survivor guilt. Expand
  64. JackS
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Inglorious Basterds is DEFINITELY one of the best movies I have seen in the past 10 years. Christoph Waltz plays an excellent role as colonol Landa and Brad Pitt also plays a very good role as Lt. Aldo Raine who, yes, made me laugh out loud more than a few times throughout the movie. Yes, a completely twisted plot, but yet, about the most entertaining movie I have ever seen in the movie Inglorious Basterds is DEFINITELY one of the best movies I have seen in the past 10 years. Christoph Waltz plays an excellent role as colonol Landa and Brad Pitt also plays a very good role as Lt. Aldo Raine who, yes, made me laugh out loud more than a few times throughout the movie. Yes, a completely twisted plot, but yet, about the most entertaining movie I have ever seen in the movie theatre. And please, give A BIG round of applause to Quentin Tarrantino who wrote and directed this breath-taking masterpiece. Expand
  65. odimit
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Amazing Movie! Tarantino does not desappoint at all. Sad to have to read such ridiculous comments such as Arch S' who appears to be a self-centered american idiot unable to appreciatte a great film spoken in four beautiful languages.
  66. TimO
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    Response to Arch S and his point about "stupid languages", three votes down: Tarantino should be be commended on keeping his dialogue fresh whilst still crossing the language barrier (as a speaker of French and German I can say that it came across excellently). These accomplished world actors do their best work in their native languages so if you don't want to watch subtitles, Response to Arch S and his point about "stupid languages", three votes down: Tarantino should be be commended on keeping his dialogue fresh whilst still crossing the language barrier (as a speaker of French and German I can say that it came across excellently). These accomplished world actors do their best work in their native languages so if you don't want to watch subtitles, preferring to hear them struggling in heavy-accented English just so you don't have to read a little bit, then you don't deserve to watch this kind of film and I'm glad the effect is lost on you. Expand
  67. MichaelH
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    The acting was some of the best I've ever seen. I've seen A LOT of movies. Colonel Landa brought smiles to my face he was so good. Like eating very fine food. I am not surprised many people didn't enjoy this film. This is high art, this is theatre. If you were expecting a action flick you didn't do your homework. Tarantino is the x gen's genius. He's their The acting was some of the best I've ever seen. I've seen A LOT of movies. Colonel Landa brought smiles to my face he was so good. Like eating very fine food. I am not surprised many people didn't enjoy this film. This is high art, this is theatre. If you were expecting a action flick you didn't do your homework. Tarantino is the x gen's genius. He's their Wells. In fact, I think, he's more talented than any living director. I can't see Scorses being this bold and confindent and that's saying a lot. Tarantino can do anything. My only critique is that he doesn't do more. So, IB gets a 9, because QT didn't close the deal. He was making a classic, another Pulp Fiction and then let the movie get away from him. The first scene of IB was perhaps the best scene ever to be put on film. The scene where all of the Nazis were being shot and burned... Not so much. In many ways there are 2 Tarantinos. The Kill Bill 1 + Kill Bill 2 Tarantino. 1 is pure fun pulp nonsense. 2 is mad dialogue drama genius. I prefer 2, but in a way it's perfect that he's both 1 and 2. That makes him Gen X. Right? Expand
  68. PaulM
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Definitely worth seeing multiple times. Don't expect a lot of action scenes or a great story. Go to see fantastic acting and cinematography. All Tarantino fans should see this.
  69. jessec
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    Hans with the whip cream, and when blond cinema owner walked out of prep for fire from projection room and that song playing; which i have no idea what artist it was, was classic QT and i thought movie was genius. cons-- some chapters were 3-5 min to long.
  70. AndreV
    Sep 11, 2009
    8
    I can see why many people wouldn't like this movie: it doesn't really have an obvious point, there's a lot of seemingly pointless dialogue, half of which is in a foreign language with subtitles.. but then these are not the things that make this film so interesting. What is interesting is how each individual scene is perfectly crafted to bring about some kind of intense I can see why many people wouldn't like this movie: it doesn't really have an obvious point, there's a lot of seemingly pointless dialogue, half of which is in a foreign language with subtitles.. but then these are not the things that make this film so interesting. What is interesting is how each individual scene is perfectly crafted to bring about some kind of intense emotion in the viewer, whether that emotion is fear, disgust, paranoia, joy, etc. While historically silly, this is probably one of the best films I've seen that transmits so many of the emotions we associate with war. If that doesn't interest you, then it's probably safe to say that you won't like this movie. Expand
  71. SebH
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    God Arch S, unless you're being ironic then you epitomise everything I hate about America. No, it's too hard to read the subtitles, who cares about experiencing beautiful languages and perhaps even learning something. That aside, IB is so far my pick of 2009's blockbusters, possibly the best thing Tarantino has ever done alongside Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs (but this God Arch S, unless you're being ironic then you epitomise everything I hate about America. No, it's too hard to read the subtitles, who cares about experiencing beautiful languages and perhaps even learning something. That aside, IB is so far my pick of 2009's blockbusters, possibly the best thing Tarantino has ever done alongside Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs (but this feels so much more coherent and cinematic than Pulp Fiction did, so it's hard to compare). It's just great cinema, everything from the characters to the violence to the humour to the soundtrack epically awesome. Nothing I have ever watched has been as satisfying as seeing Hitler's face be mashed up with machine gun bullets, and that's the genius of it. Expand
  72. MatthewZ
    Sep 12, 2009
    9
    Do not believe those reviewers who would say this film is boring. It is anything but. If you've got a handful of brain cells, it keeps you on the edge of your seat for the duration. For lovers of language and crisp dialogue, it doesn't get much better than this. All the major events in the film hang on a thin, ominous linguistic thread. Would be in a 10 if it weren't for Do not believe those reviewers who would say this film is boring. It is anything but. If you've got a handful of brain cells, it keeps you on the edge of your seat for the duration. For lovers of language and crisp dialogue, it doesn't get much better than this. All the major events in the film hang on a thin, ominous linguistic thread. Would be in a 10 if it weren't for the interruption of the clumsily-acted "Bear Jew". As bad as Eli Roth is in this role, Hans Landa is brilliant in his. If you've enjoyed past Tarantino films, I can almost guarantee you'll enjoy this one. Expand
  73. TimothyC
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    Loved the movie. Great charachter concepts, killer lines delivered by Brad. My only problem with this movie was it was edited. You wanted more character backgrounds, but didn't get it. It was edited for time, but I left wanting to sit through more. That's why it's a 9 instead of 10.
  74. afdsafdddd
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Simply, awesome. This film demonstrates why Tarantino is the best director in this days.
  75. MarcusW
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    After the last few misfires, QT emerges with a film which is pure unadulterated entertainment. Funny, loud and plain over the top fun.
  76. pat
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    One of the best films I've ever seen. The main criticisms I see seem to be that the characters are over the top or unbelievable, keep in mind Tarantino's characters do not live in the world we do, and they are often representations of something else entirely. Go see it if you get the chance.
  77. CarolynB
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    I hated Pulp Fiction and haven't seen another Tarrantino film. Yet, I *LOVED* this movie. It has to be one of the best I have seen in years (There Will Be Blood and No Country for Old Men were awful in comparison to this). This movie should be seen for acting and the dialogue alone. The cinematography and direction is wonderful, too. Wonderful, wonderful tension filled scenes where I hated Pulp Fiction and haven't seen another Tarrantino film. Yet, I *LOVED* this movie. It has to be one of the best I have seen in years (There Will Be Blood and No Country for Old Men were awful in comparison to this). This movie should be seen for acting and the dialogue alone. The cinematography and direction is wonderful, too. Wonderful, wonderful tension filled scenes where the Nazi colonel questions resistance fighters and double agents and you wonder whether they will be found out or not. Expand
  78. Blake
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    QT, you are a master! A lot funnier than I expected too.
  79. AlexM
    Sep 29, 2009
    7
    It's a good film that will be appealing to every Tarantino fan. It's not a masterpiece but it's definetly enjoyable. Some lines are very funny, and the action scenes are good.
  80. CameronB
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    I would say one of the best movies of 2009. It had an interesting plot, amazing actors and great scripting. I recommend this movie to all who haven't seen it yet.
  81. NK
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    It could've been two hours of grossly gratuitous violence, but Tarantino made it ART. I wasn't expecting this kind of brilliance. The film is so carefully, thoughtfully crafted, from the writing to the way each shot of Oscar-worthy acting is framed (Waltz, playing Landa, is a horrifying). And the depth! It drips with ambition (and how could it not, as it defies and redefines It could've been two hours of grossly gratuitous violence, but Tarantino made it ART. I wasn't expecting this kind of brilliance. The film is so carefully, thoughtfully crafted, from the writing to the way each shot of Oscar-worthy acting is framed (Waltz, playing Landa, is a horrifying). And the depth! It drips with ambition (and how could it not, as it defies and redefines "The WWII Movie"). Such a dizzying, dazzling array of film-play -- Tarantino's outdone himself with the layers of tension, irony, death, humor -- and all of it so aesthetically rendered. If you don't walk out completely blown away by the complexity of it, you aren't paying attention. We will forgive the film for it's inclusion of some necessarily evils (and some unnecessary ones, like Brad Pitt's acting) because the overall effect is tremendous, thought-provoking and enduring. Bravo. Expand
  82. BobH
    Oct 6, 2009
    8
    I can understand everyone's negative impression of this film. But for me there are several scenes that are as well rendered as any I have every seen. The opening scene and the bar shoot out are amazing, full of tension and masterfully shot. I can over look the rest of the mess. I can't wait to see it again.
  83. AndrewT.
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    Not at all Tarantino's best film, but very good nonetheless. The acting prowess of the man playing Colonel Landa was absolutely some of the best I have seen in a Tarantino film, and his script and lines were absolutely fantastic. Unfortunately, the plot was a little weak, and many people will probably not like the way in which the story is presented, in a chapter format that jumps Not at all Tarantino's best film, but very good nonetheless. The acting prowess of the man playing Colonel Landa was absolutely some of the best I have seen in a Tarantino film, and his script and lines were absolutely fantastic. Unfortunately, the plot was a little weak, and many people will probably not like the way in which the story is presented, in a chapter format that jumps substantially between each of the chapters. That aside, this is one of the finest, most aesthetically pleasing, and daring films I have seen in the past few years. It is a must-watch for Tarantino fans, and I would hope that skeptics of this movie would appreciate it for all it has to offer, and not criticize it for its minor flaws. Expand
  84. DavidT.
    Oct 15, 2009
    8
    I enjoyed this movie - though at some parts, it was somewhat dull due to boring dialogue.
  85. miguelg
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    I liked this movie, could be a little less violent, but there are very interesting things with these movie, the most interesting is mr Waltz's performance.
  86. ClifC
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Well... "District 9" and "Inglourious Basterds" are the best movies of the year. "Inglorious" is a masterpiece: it's mature, artsy, visually stunning (the scene with the theater screen burning, for example; that gave me shivers), action-packed, with exquisite dialogues, amazing actings (Waltz deserves an Academy Award for it), ... The only thing that somebody who really appreciates Well... "District 9" and "Inglourious Basterds" are the best movies of the year. "Inglorious" is a masterpiece: it's mature, artsy, visually stunning (the scene with the theater screen burning, for example; that gave me shivers), action-packed, with exquisite dialogues, amazing actings (Waltz deserves an Academy Award for it), ... The only thing that somebody who really appreciates good films (because a lot still don't understand Quentin Tarantino's art) could regret is the lack of complexity in the film. There was no temporal "destruction" this time and no real character developpement. But in my opinion, it didn't matter, it was obvious that it was useless. Anyway... Quentin Tarantino made it again! Bravo. Expand
  87. RafaelL.
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Incredible, fun and extremely revolutionary. The best Tarantino's movie since "Pulp Fiction".
  88. AET
    Oct 24, 2009
    7
    Average to good movie. Parts of it are great, parts of it are grotesque and the premise is offensive: Jews behaving like nazis. The sum of the parts leads to a weaker movie than it would have been if Tarantino was not so eccentric. He often gets a pass for his style but you can't have one set of rules for all movies and another for this one. Either it is a great drama and a poor Average to good movie. Parts of it are great, parts of it are grotesque and the premise is offensive: Jews behaving like nazis. The sum of the parts leads to a weaker movie than it would have been if Tarantino was not so eccentric. He often gets a pass for his style but you can't have one set of rules for all movies and another for this one. Either it is a great drama and a poor comedy or a great comedy and a poor drama. the potential Greatness of this movie was sabotaged by its own director. Expand
  89. RodrigoM
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    It's a good movie, but some dialogues are longer than it should be. I thought that tarantino should do more scenes with the bastards, and the scene on the bar got way to long. Brad Pitt accent is great, and Cristoph Waltz is astonishing. If you're looking for action, don't go see the movie, but for a good story, it worth the ticket.
  90. Kenny
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Back again to use all his power behind the cameras and in the folio to give us a treat as a kind of war movie never seen before. As usual the director of "Pulp Fiction" likes to mix and remix genres until what remains is really effective. This spaghetti western in the midst of World War II with the purest ingredients Grindhouse style and his peculiar air to the engine of a Back again to use all his power behind the cameras and in the folio to give us a treat as a kind of war movie never seen before. As usual the director of "Pulp Fiction" likes to mix and remix genres until what remains is really effective. This spaghetti western in the midst of World War II with the purest ingredients Grindhouse style and his peculiar air to the engine of a Harley-Davidson, all without neglecting aesthetics over Nazi German and French. Overall the film has nowhere desperidicio, is chaos itself filled with discussions about jugosisimos in several languages, including French, English, German and even some Italian, where we discover Waltz. I have had a pipe in the two hour and a half, and even I was looking forward to seeing all that stuff he was forced to remove the final footage. Expand
  91. AngryM
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    Greatest movie of the year! People who hated it put it aside and go back to watching "Dancing with the stars".
  92. TerryJ
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    One of the best films of 2009. Great plot, and incredibly great directing.
  93. NathanD.
    Nov 10, 2009
    7
    A very gory movie that leaves nothing to the viewers imagination. The plot and action was decent and the acting was superb.But I can say that this movie is not for the weak hearted.
  94. ChrisG.
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Well you either like QT or you don't. I happen to like the guy's work, and consequently cannot but recommend it heavily. Excellent movie for those who can appreciate these films, but not one of the majority. I think this is reflected in the type of votes given by the public. Either very high or very low.
  95. JoshL
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    This is easily Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction. Its fun, entralling and suprisingly resonant.
  96. TJ
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    This Quentin's movie is very fabulous that can stuck me with fully fun.
  97. ArianoA.
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    Quentin Tarantino is a genius. Everything he touches turns in gold. Inglorious Basterds is no exception. The way is presented in a hilarious, thrilling manner makes this movie a masterpiece.
  98. JoelleG
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Perfect cocktail of humor and gore. It completely disregards history and reminds the audience that movies are supposed to be separate from reality; historical accuracy and conventions are trivial.
  99. FilipeG
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    One of Tarantino's best so far! This movie wasn't made to entertain, but to feel what it shows, like a proper piece of art should. Most people don't understand this and keep on slandering it. It's full of small fancy jokes and often destroys the idea that movies must be predictable and often amazes you with unnexpected sequences. A must-see for cinema art apreciators!
  100. ThiagoM
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    I agree with Clif C ! distric 9 and inglorious basterd are the best movies of a long time i might add ! not just this year ! and it shows me, once again, that i'm wasting my time checking for metacritic's scores...... this site can't be useful when deciding what movie to see.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. The film is by no means terrible -- its two hours and 32 minutes running time races by -- but those things we think of as being Tarantino-esque, the long stretches of wickedly funny dialogue, the humor in the violence and outsized characters strutting across the screen, are largely missing.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A violent fairy tale, an increasingly entertaining fantasia in which the history of World War II is wildly reimagined so that the cinema can play the decisive role in destroying the Third Reich.
  3. In Tarantino's besotted historical reverie, real-life villains Adolf Hitler and Joseph Goebbels are played as grotesque jokes. The Basterds are played as exaggeratedly tough Jews. The women are femmes fatales.?