User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1140 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnG
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    BEST MOVIE of '09. Should, but probably won't win Best Picture Oscar! Overall, most well-acted movie in '09 with Christoph Waltz an absolute LOCK to win Best Supporting Actor Oscar.
  2. Lauren
    Feb 3, 2010
    7
    It is not the greatest in the world, but this motion picture is actually thrilling. Brad pitt has a certain charm in this movie, that i found kinda funny. What's not funny, people die, but there nazis so in a way, i don't really care... but it's a weird movie, but a good movie. SOUND GOOD?
  3. KennyM
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    Easily the best movie of the year.
  4. Pooria
    Mar 7, 2010
    10
    Best Movie EVER ( maybe after pulp fiction though! ). Tarantino is going to be Cinema's next and greatest master of all time!
  5. NathanD.
    Nov 10, 2009
    7
    A very gory movie that leaves nothing to the viewers imagination. The plot and action was decent and the acting was superb.But I can say that this movie is not for the weak hearted.
  6. AbhinavR
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    Genius, pure genius.
  7. AngryM
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    Greatest movie of the year! People who hated it put it aside and go back to watching "Dancing with the stars".
  8. miguelg
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    I liked this movie, could be a little less violent, but there are very interesting things with these movie, the most interesting is mr Waltz's performance.
  9. ClifC
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Well... "District 9" and "Inglourious Basterds" are the best movies of the year. "Inglorious" is a masterpiece: it's mature, artsy, visually stunning (the scene with the theater screen burning, for example; that gave me shivers), action-packed, with exquisite dialogues, amazing actings (Waltz deserves an Academy Award for it), ... The only thing that somebody who really appreciates Well... "District 9" and "Inglourious Basterds" are the best movies of the year. "Inglorious" is a masterpiece: it's mature, artsy, visually stunning (the scene with the theater screen burning, for example; that gave me shivers), action-packed, with exquisite dialogues, amazing actings (Waltz deserves an Academy Award for it), ... The only thing that somebody who really appreciates good films (because a lot still don't understand Quentin Tarantino's art) could regret is the lack of complexity in the film. There was no temporal "destruction" this time and no real character developpement. But in my opinion, it didn't matter, it was obvious that it was useless. Anyway... Quentin Tarantino made it again! Bravo. Expand
  10. TerryJ
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    One of the best films of 2009. Great plot, and incredibly great directing.
  11. JoeM
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Tarantino at his best, he delivers a remarkable script that is filled with suspense, humor, and action. This is a true classic.
  12. ChristopheS
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    Wasnt really looking forward to watch this movie. I like Tarantino, but his last movies where not super (not bad, just not great). I also dont really like war movies that much. However this is not really a war movie. I can understand why some people dont like the movie. Too much non-English part (many people, mostly iliterate americans, are not used to it and only love English and think Wasnt really looking forward to watch this movie. I like Tarantino, but his last movies where not super (not bad, just not great). I also dont really like war movies that much. However this is not really a war movie. I can understand why some people dont like the movie. Too much non-English part (many people, mostly iliterate americans, are not used to it and only love English and think everybody should only speak their language) and some scenes are sloow (too slow for their even slow mind?). Like the utterly fantastic opening scene, which is one of the best scenes of the year. Or the bar scene. man I didnt see that coming. The time Pitt spoke Italian was just bloody hilarious (ofcourse completly over the top and thus not really appreciated by everybody, especially if you are without a sense of humor). I dont want to give away too much, but to everybody who doesnt mind that the whole movie is not in Anglish, who dont mind there isnt an explosion every 5 seconds and with a sense of humor, watch this movie. You will be pleasantly suprised. Expand
  13. SorinL
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Funny how rage-filled and ass-pained are all the americans about this movie. What's the matter, pumpkins? Is one man's vision too hard for you? Is it so intolerable that you're 'manliness' is satirized and the germans are all polyglot and gentlemen? Oh, in case you don't know, a polyglot is a person who speaks multiple languages. A little explanation for our Funny how rage-filled and ass-pained are all the americans about this movie. What's the matter, pumpkins? Is one man's vision too hard for you? Is it so intolerable that you're 'manliness' is satirized and the germans are all polyglot and gentlemen? Oh, in case you don't know, a polyglot is a person who speaks multiple languages. A little explanation for our American friends. Expand
  14. PaulL.
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    This movie is Quentin's best. This movie has culture, no America f**k yea, in this one. This film is especially for those of you who are intelligent enough to speak more than one language. Key word in this though, is fiction.
  15. MichaelB
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    Bonjourno! Inglorious Basterds is a phenominal movie that drags on, but drags on in a way that captures you, and entices you with baseball bats and nazi scalps. This movie has its funny moments, but if your expecting a full fleged comedy, then your not going to get what you want. Instead, this movie provides intense drama with multiple instances of comic relief. There is no better way to Bonjourno! Inglorious Basterds is a phenominal movie that drags on, but drags on in a way that captures you, and entices you with baseball bats and nazi scalps. This movie has its funny moments, but if your expecting a full fleged comedy, then your not going to get what you want. Instead, this movie provides intense drama with multiple instances of comic relief. There is no better way to spend your Saturday night then watching this piece of art. Also, if your movie theatre catches on fire, make sure the exit doors are unlocked. Expand
  16. JionS.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    amazing movie, best tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. I cant believe some critics are reviewing this flick poorly.
  17. UjnH.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    Classic QT! Does not disappoint.
  18. ZackF.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    An enthralling, beautifully shot movie. Tarantino has no fear using foreign languages and challenging American audiences. Well done.
  19. NDL
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Inglourious basterds is a QT Masterpiece Thank god I didn
  20. ChrisF.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    The most creative and entertaining film I've seen in a long time.
  21. RyanO.
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    Christoph Waltz's performance is worth the movie ticket alone. Basterds is one of the most entertaining movies of the summer. The trailer and commercials do not market the movie correctly, so I should warn action movie fans that this isn't some display of mindless violence. However, with that being said, Quentin Tarantino has managed to create a punching bag for all of the Christoph Waltz's performance is worth the movie ticket alone. Basterds is one of the most entertaining movies of the summer. The trailer and commercials do not market the movie correctly, so I should warn action movie fans that this isn't some display of mindless violence. However, with that being said, Quentin Tarantino has managed to create a punching bag for all of the people who get angry thinking about what the Nazis have done. If you want a great blend of humor, action, drama, and great acting...go see this movie... Expand
  22. Mike
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Amazing! A masterpiece! Best movie of the Decade!
  23. Dr.Ghettoblaster
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    The movie is absolutely brilliant. I now rank his top 3 films as such. 1. Pulp Fiction 2. Inglorious Basterds 3. Reservoir Dogs Yes, it's THAT good.
  24. Rob
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    It's about time. Glouriously entertaining. Tarantino pulls it off and potentially leaves many looking for an inner meaning very confused. Brilliant!
  25. CraigN.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Excellent move, take a wacky fictional ww2 tale, tack on just enough action, witty dialogue and humor, lastly add that tarantino spice and your have inglorious basterds another excellent tarantino film.
  26. DavidO.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    Many of the press reviewrs have completely misjudged this. Embarrasingly so. This may be Tarantino's best film since Jackie Brown. Engrossing, enthralling, superb entertainment.
  27. MaximillianL.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    This movie was simply amazing. Tarantino works his magic once again. All of the actors and actresses gave stellar performances, especially Christopher Waltz whose acting in this film was some of the best I've seen in recent memory. This film ranks as #2b on my list of favorite Tarantino films with #1 being Jackie Brown and #2a being Pulp Fiction. Amazing story, amazing performances, This movie was simply amazing. Tarantino works his magic once again. All of the actors and actresses gave stellar performances, especially Christopher Waltz whose acting in this film was some of the best I've seen in recent memory. This film ranks as #2b on my list of favorite Tarantino films with #1 being Jackie Brown and #2a being Pulp Fiction. Amazing story, amazing performances, amazing movie. Expand
  28. RCR
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    A great film for film-fans. It's no secret Tarantino is a voracious student of film and Basterds, more than any other project of his, is a love letter to the medium.
  29. Ryan
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Fantastic film all-around. Wonderfully detailed, superb acting, and a great deal of fun.
  30. EvanW.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    One of the best films I've ever seen. This is gloriously entertaining that only the magnificent Tarantino could make.
  31. JustinL
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Amazing movie. If this isn't Tarantino's masterpiece, I can't wait to see what is.
  32. JennyH
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    I wasn't sure about going to this because of the violent nature of some of QT films. I don't like having to cover my eyes through large parts of movies! However, IG wasn't very bad in this regard and only a few questionable scenes. Other than that, I absolutely LOVED THIS MOVIE! The theater broke out in applause...my husband who is super picky love it... It was thoroughly, I wasn't sure about going to this because of the violent nature of some of QT films. I don't like having to cover my eyes through large parts of movies! However, IG wasn't very bad in this regard and only a few questionable scenes. Other than that, I absolutely LOVED THIS MOVIE! The theater broke out in applause...my husband who is super picky love it... It was thoroughly, thoroughly entertaining. Definitely go see it! Expand
  33. MarkB
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    A movie with fortitude.
  34. RichR
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Hilarious script and dialogue and acting, just what I expected. For some reason, I laughed at this movie more than anyone else in the theatre. I loved it. For all the crummy reviews, nobody left the theatre until it was over.
  35. SimonG.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    This movie is what the pleasure of movie going is all about. Not only it didn't disappoint but generously exceeded my expectations and raised the bar for future Tarantino movies. 5 big thumb-up stars.
  36. AshleyD
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Fantastic! Tarantino's made his masterpiece!
  37. ChadS.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    At the gala premiere of "Nation's Pride", Fredrick Zoller(Daniel Bruhl), a Nazi war hero turned actor, reaches a point in which the gratuitous killing becomes too much for him, and has to look away. Movie mogul Joseph Goebbels(Sylvester Groth) based a movie on Zoller's exploits because Adolph Hitler's Reichminister of Propaganda loves spectacle(Zoller had gunned down over At the gala premiere of "Nation's Pride", Fredrick Zoller(Daniel Bruhl), a Nazi war hero turned actor, reaches a point in which the gratuitous killing becomes too much for him, and has to look away. Movie mogul Joseph Goebbels(Sylvester Groth) based a movie on Zoller's exploits because Adolph Hitler's Reichminister of Propaganda loves spectacle(Zoller had gunned down over three-hundred American soldiers from a bell tower); he's described as Hollywood mogul David O. Selznick earlier in the film, so maybe this is his "Gone With the Wind". In the theater, Goebbels and the Fuhrer laugh without consciousness at the rising body count, but not Zoller, who derives no pleasure from filmic violence. The Nazi soldier's revulsion towards his own part in the massacre supports the validity of the Nuremberg Defense, which states that the man on trial was "only following orders". Moreover, Zoller is in a position of moral superiority over us, the moviegoers watching "Inglourious Basterds", who have in common with Adolph Hitler, the ability to express amusement over movie violence. The filmmaker makes us complicit. The filmmaker shows us Zoller's vulnerable side, his humanity, as Steven Spielberg did in "Schindler's List", when Amon Goethe(Ralph Fiennes) expresses his love for Helen, his personal servant, played by Embeth Davidz. Zoller's humanity leads him to the projection room where Shosanna Dreyfus(Melanie Laurent), the object of the Nazi soldier's affection, repels his charms in cold blood. While the soldier's body lies motionless near the door, Shosanna glances at the screen, at Zoller, who lives on, flickering, and looking particularly noble, and decent, in close-up. "Nation's Pride" seduces her. After all, it's a propaganda film. Like us, who responded to Goeth's romantic angst, Shosanna is made discognizant by the rhetorical world of the diegesis, and confuses the filmic Zoller for the real thing, lying in her projection room. And pays for it. This action recalls the mistake Cecilia(Mia Farrow) commits in Woody Allen's "The Purple Rose of Cairo". Like the Depression-era waitress, Shosanna falls for the wrong man; the real man, instead of the idea of the man. Expand
  38. DecR
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    If you don't get Tarantino then don't bother seeing this movie, if you do then prepare to be mind blown! The man has hit a new peak!
  39. TylerH.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Amazing.
  40. jefye.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Awesome, beautiful photography and great moments of tension especially the first chapter.
  41. bartons.
    Aug 24, 2009
    8
    Save for its subject matter, this is the most reserved and singular vision Tarantino has had since Reservoir Dogs. That
  42. MikeN.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    This is one in a long line of classics by Tarrantino. It is a cinematic masterpiece. I loved this movie from the begining to the end.
  43. TomB
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Definitely Tarantino's own take on a WW2 film; Great characters and clever storyline that will keep your attention. The movie can feel somewhat slow in certain scenes and rewrites some aspects of history. Nevertheless, when it delivers it does so in a big way. The more I think about it the more I want to go see it again!
  44. NormG.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Because of the dreck posing as comedies in the cinemas these days Inglourious Basterds hits you like a fresh breeze of creativity. Bet you never heard a Quentin Tarantino film thusly described. This completely fictional piece of World War II
  45. Ben
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Best movie I have seen in the cinema this year. Up there with Pulp Fiction.
  46. JasonD
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Another great Tarantino flick. Funny, violent, and utterly entertaining. There are some parts that drag a little but everything else makes up for it. Brad Pitt was outstanding as well as Christopher Waltz.
  47. Sean
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Definitely the best movie I've seen this year... As for anonymous, I call his bullshit, my theatre was packed and not one person left. If they walked out I guess they really wanted to see GI Joe.
  48. DanS
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Knowing what you're going into from the previews, and overall excellent film.
  49. DavidV.
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Great movie. If you've seen a Tarantino movie before you'd know the acting and dialogue make the movie more than the action.
  50. TresS
    Aug 25, 2009
    8
    I over heard a guy leaving the movie that said "what a rip off, where was the violence?" I think that's what a lot of disappointed Tarantino fans were expecting with Inglorious Basterds. But they should be praising this film for the superior writing, superb acting and beautiful cinematography. Also the story is much less disjointed than most of Tarantino's work. Every movie from I over heard a guy leaving the movie that said "what a rip off, where was the violence?" I think that's what a lot of disappointed Tarantino fans were expecting with Inglorious Basterds. But they should be praising this film for the superior writing, superb acting and beautiful cinematography. Also the story is much less disjointed than most of Tarantino's work. Every movie from QT will not be Pulp fiction and we shouldn't expect it to be. What we should expect is what we got with Inglorious Basterds, another fantastic story from one of Hollywood's absolute best directors. Expand
  51. GilY.
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Hitler getting shot in the face. What more could you ask for?
  52. BradleyT.
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Basterds is an amazing blend of gravity, absurdity, and gore. White the the violent action sequences are well-crafted and thoroughly exciting, it is the dialog that drives the movie and earns the violence. Contrary to many reviews, the non-action scenes are far from boring. Tarantino uses language to build tension in each scene. While the dialog-heavy scenes are long, each one is infused Basterds is an amazing blend of gravity, absurdity, and gore. White the the violent action sequences are well-crafted and thoroughly exciting, it is the dialog that drives the movie and earns the violence. Contrary to many reviews, the non-action scenes are far from boring. Tarantino uses language to build tension in each scene. While the dialog-heavy scenes are long, each one is infused a sense that anything can happen. This plus high stakes makes every second of Basterds a thrill to watch. Expand
  53. TobyH.
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    Simply spellbinding. Tarantino sure knows how to tell a story. Waltz was brilliant!
  54. MomoC.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've seen all year. Amazing dialogue all round.
  55. GiaD.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Only second to JAckie Brown in my opinion.
  56. DariaG
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie. I will be going to see it again.
  57. BradC
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    Subtle, beautiful, dense. One of Tarantino's best films. I was totally invested in the characters. Go and see it for yourself; you are smart enough to enjoy this movie.
  58. DavidB
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    My favorite QT film since Pulp Fiction. Might be the best film that I've seen so far this year, as well. I didn't feel that any of the scenes were too long; the dialogue and pacing were absolutely perfect. A bit of gross violence here and there, but nothing like the stylized gorefests of previous QT films. Well worth seeing on the big screen -- just be sure to hit the bathroom My favorite QT film since Pulp Fiction. Might be the best film that I've seen so far this year, as well. I didn't feel that any of the scenes were too long; the dialogue and pacing were absolutely perfect. A bit of gross violence here and there, but nothing like the stylized gorefests of previous QT films. Well worth seeing on the big screen -- just be sure to hit the bathroom beforehand and buy a big bag of popcorn. Expand
  59. loub
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Not as clever as Pulp Fiction,but a future cult classic.
  60. danielw.
    Aug 29, 2009
    8
    Not perfect, but better than anything QT has done since Jackie Brown. Genre-mashing, but not incoherently so. Well-scripted set pieces, great dialogue, some great cinematography. Pitt's character jars somewhat, however, a cartoon character in a movie whose other characters are far more three-dimensional.
  61. HyperS
    Aug 31, 2009
    8
    Bizarre story selection... but in a good unique kind of way. I was expecting a mindless Nazi killing fest, but there was actually a story in there with the Bastards, almost dare I say, just a minor backstory to a grander tale. The acting and characters were great, the pace went by well, and aside from the music/rambo montage near the end involving the cinema owner (David Bowie song was Bizarre story selection... but in a good unique kind of way. I was expecting a mindless Nazi killing fest, but there was actually a story in there with the Bastards, almost dare I say, just a minor backstory to a grander tale. The acting and characters were great, the pace went by well, and aside from the music/rambo montage near the end involving the cinema owner (David Bowie song was it?) the film was pretty solid (for what it was.. which I'm still not sure what to make of it all other than reach the conclusion Tarantino has a weird mind). Expand
  62. JasonK
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Easily his best since Pulp Fiction. I came in with serious doubts, and it still blew me away.
  63. CorinH
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    Very uniquely interwoven series of shorts are masterfully combined to form one of Tarantino's best. This movie explores into the realms of visceral satire that I've never before seen a director dare to go.
  64. WillC
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Classic Tarantino! You can see he has used all of his work to date to put together this masterpiece.
  65. SteveF
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Wow wow wow wow wow this movie is a perfect 10! I can't stop thinking about it and I need to see it again...on Blu-ray anyway. I feel for all the negative reviewers.. they must be dead inside...no kidding everyone is entitled to their own opinion.
  66. MartinS
    Aug 31, 2009
    8
    I was surprised to see how many critics missed the point. This was simply a revenge fantasy and who better to bring it to us.
  67. SebH
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    God Arch S, unless you're being ironic then you epitomise everything I hate about America. No, it's too hard to read the subtitles, who cares about experiencing beautiful languages and perhaps even learning something. That aside, IB is so far my pick of 2009's blockbusters, possibly the best thing Tarantino has ever done alongside Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs (but this God Arch S, unless you're being ironic then you epitomise everything I hate about America. No, it's too hard to read the subtitles, who cares about experiencing beautiful languages and perhaps even learning something. That aside, IB is so far my pick of 2009's blockbusters, possibly the best thing Tarantino has ever done alongside Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs (but this feels so much more coherent and cinematic than Pulp Fiction did, so it's hard to compare). It's just great cinema, everything from the characters to the violence to the humour to the soundtrack epically awesome. Nothing I have ever watched has been as satisfying as seeing Hitler's face be mashed up with machine gun bullets, and that's the genius of it. Expand
  68. PaulM
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Definitely worth seeing multiple times. Don't expect a lot of action scenes or a great story. Go to see fantastic acting and cinematography. All Tarantino fans should see this.
  69. Jonathan
    Sep 1, 2009
    9
    Many of the critics and viewers who gave this film bad reviews are missing the point. I was almost appalled to read one review by a writer that pegged the portrayal of the Jews as Nazi-esque. As an American Jew myself I know too well the feeling of victimization and anger that came from learning of my people recent past (and my family's). The violence and gore in the movie was Many of the critics and viewers who gave this film bad reviews are missing the point. I was almost appalled to read one review by a writer that pegged the portrayal of the Jews as Nazi-esque. As an American Jew myself I know too well the feeling of victimization and anger that came from learning of my people recent past (and my family's). The violence and gore in the movie was justified and not really overdone. That being said, the dialogue, while extensive, is excellent and I never felt bored during the film. I also felt that the style was like a mixing of spaghetti-western, WWII movie, and Shakespeare tragedy (yes, I said Shakespeare). I would recommend this movie highly to all of those open-minded folks that enjoy seeing a movie with a witty, yet gripping view of a tired and played out (and may I add mostly boring) genre of films. Expand
  70. MatthewZ
    Sep 12, 2009
    9
    Do not believe those reviewers who would say this film is boring. It is anything but. If you've got a handful of brain cells, it keeps you on the edge of your seat for the duration. For lovers of language and crisp dialogue, it doesn't get much better than this. All the major events in the film hang on a thin, ominous linguistic thread. Would be in a 10 if it weren't for Do not believe those reviewers who would say this film is boring. It is anything but. If you've got a handful of brain cells, it keeps you on the edge of your seat for the duration. For lovers of language and crisp dialogue, it doesn't get much better than this. All the major events in the film hang on a thin, ominous linguistic thread. Would be in a 10 if it weren't for the interruption of the clumsily-acted "Bear Jew". As bad as Eli Roth is in this role, Hans Landa is brilliant in his. If you've enjoyed past Tarantino films, I can almost guarantee you'll enjoy this one. Expand
  71. JG.
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    Really loved this movie and will pay to see it again. Beware though, you have to go in ready to accept it for what it is and not try to make it what its not. Its not Kill Bill. Its not Saving Private Ryan. Its a thing all its own and I enjoyed every bit of its almost 3 hour running time.
  72. DavidR.
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    I just came back from the theatre and although both of my parent loathed it, i found it just as captivating and excellent as the many other Tarintino film have seen. Keep in mind, this movie is not for the faint of heart, there are many graphic scenes that you would not think to be there from watching the trailer. But the violence and gore all have a more real look to it, much unlike the I just came back from the theatre and although both of my parent loathed it, i found it just as captivating and excellent as the many other Tarintino film have seen. Keep in mind, this movie is not for the faint of heart, there are many graphic scenes that you would not think to be there from watching the trailer. But the violence and gore all have a more real look to it, much unlike the Kill Bill movies. all in all, i thought it was great, but not the best Tarintino movie Expand
  73. Aaron
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Besides Brad Pitt's forced performance and his horribly exaggerated Southern accent, this is a terrific film. Tarantino has not lost his ear for great dialogue, and it comes across even in the subtitles. You may not really know what his point is by the end of the story, but it is nevertheless fascinating and a joy to watch. Also, props to Christoph Waltz's performance has Besides Brad Pitt's forced performance and his horribly exaggerated Southern accent, this is a terrific film. Tarantino has not lost his ear for great dialogue, and it comes across even in the subtitles. You may not really know what his point is by the end of the story, but it is nevertheless fascinating and a joy to watch. Also, props to Christoph Waltz's performance has Colonel Landa. Not only does he act in (four!) different languages, but he gives the typical, evil Nazi role a good dose of dry wit and humor. Expand
  74. AlejandroF
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Inglorious Bastards is one of the best movies I have seen. This movie comes with more then you expect. It is a film that is more then clever, it is brilliant, a masterpiece. The acting is extraordinaire. QT has a superb skill of cinematographic. He will continue making grate films.
  75. DiegT
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Grate film, good acting, best directing, excellent storyline. With this said, no more words are needed.
  76. eliasc
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    I have not been a Tarantino fan for quite a while. The promise of films like 'Reservoir Dogs' and 'Pulp Fiction' were never realized after 1994 with the exception of 'Jackie Brown. But with 'Inglorious Basterds', Quentin Tarintino has returned. Once again he has written a film for actors, and though there is plenty of gratuitous violence to satisfy fans I have not been a Tarantino fan for quite a while. The promise of films like 'Reservoir Dogs' and 'Pulp Fiction' were never realized after 1994 with the exception of 'Jackie Brown. But with 'Inglorious Basterds', Quentin Tarintino has returned. Once again he has written a film for actors, and though there is plenty of gratuitous violence to satisfy fans of blood and guts war movies, this a film about dialogue and acting at its best. Is it a war movie, a western, a fantasy? It does not matter. It is about Brad Pitts over-the-top acting as Lt Also Raine, Christoph Waltz's chillingly repugnant yet fascinating portrayal as Nazi Hans Landa, and the great performances by Melanie Laurent as French Jewish survivor Shosanna Dreyfus and Daniel Bruhl as the sniper war hero Fredrick Zoller. Thank you Quentin for giving us a movie where Jews are not victims and kill Nazis. It may not be history but your WWII fantasy brings to life the secret dreams of many an American Jewish boy growing up in the shadow of the Holocaust and bombarded by countless films of survivor guilt. Expand
  77. JackS
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Inglorious Basterds is DEFINITELY one of the best movies I have seen in the past 10 years. Christoph Waltz plays an excellent role as colonol Landa and Brad Pitt also plays a very good role as Lt. Aldo Raine who, yes, made me laugh out loud more than a few times throughout the movie. Yes, a completely twisted plot, but yet, about the most entertaining movie I have ever seen in the movie Inglorious Basterds is DEFINITELY one of the best movies I have seen in the past 10 years. Christoph Waltz plays an excellent role as colonol Landa and Brad Pitt also plays a very good role as Lt. Aldo Raine who, yes, made me laugh out loud more than a few times throughout the movie. Yes, a completely twisted plot, but yet, about the most entertaining movie I have ever seen in the movie theatre. And please, give A BIG round of applause to Quentin Tarrantino who wrote and directed this breath-taking masterpiece. Expand
  78. odimit
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Amazing Movie! Tarantino does not desappoint at all. Sad to have to read such ridiculous comments such as Arch S' who appears to be a self-centered american idiot unable to appreciatte a great film spoken in four beautiful languages.
  79. SimonS.
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    Masterfully executed. Its hard not to enjoy the film even if you're the type who doesn't like brutal violence in movies. It's also hard to deny the talent that is Tarentino.
  80. J.D.H.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Simply awesome.
  81. DudeG.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Great Film!
  82. AlanG.
    Mar 27, 2010
    10
    Full blown awesome!!!! Tarantino returns to Hollywood with an action-packed thrill ride, with great performances, great action, and of couse, it's a great movie.
  83. RodrigoM
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    It's a good movie, but some dialogues are longer than it should be. I thought that tarantino should do more scenes with the bastards, and the scene on the bar got way to long. Brad Pitt accent is great, and Cristoph Waltz is astonishing. If you're looking for action, don't go see the movie, but for a good story, it worth the ticket.
  84. FilipeG
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    One of Tarantino's best so far! This movie wasn't made to entertain, but to feel what it shows, like a proper piece of art should. Most people don't understand this and keep on slandering it. It's full of small fancy jokes and often destroys the idea that movies must be predictable and often amazes you with unnexpected sequences. A must-see for cinema art apreciators!
  85. ThiagoM
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    I agree with Clif C ! distric 9 and inglorious basterd are the best movies of a long time i might add ! not just this year ! and it shows me, once again, that i'm wasting my time checking for metacritic's scores...... this site can't be useful when deciding what movie to see.
  86. RafaelL.
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Incredible, fun and extremely revolutionary. The best Tarantino's movie since "Pulp Fiction".
  87. TimH
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    While a bit tedious and plodding at times this film shows that Tarantino is above all else a great director. Dismiss all of the haters on here and see it for yourself to make up your own mind. A great entry movie for those wishing to see more European cinema, and a fantastic Tarantino movie with great dialogue, tense scenes, great acting and an ending that makes you want to watch it again While a bit tedious and plodding at times this film shows that Tarantino is above all else a great director. Dismiss all of the haters on here and see it for yourself to make up your own mind. A great entry movie for those wishing to see more European cinema, and a fantastic Tarantino movie with great dialogue, tense scenes, great acting and an ending that makes you want to watch it again immediately. Expand
  88. mattf
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    10 of 10, 2 thumbs up tarantino has done it again, it was hilarious, people were dissapointed with it being so unrealistic, and you know what, the last time I checked its a fantasy movie and fantasy means fake. People gave it bad reviews for its cheesy violence that was not artistic but that is also the point. This movie has amazing acting and it was extremely funny I loved it, This movie 10 of 10, 2 thumbs up tarantino has done it again, it was hilarious, people were dissapointed with it being so unrealistic, and you know what, the last time I checked its a fantasy movie and fantasy means fake. People gave it bad reviews for its cheesy violence that was not artistic but that is also the point. This movie has amazing acting and it was extremely funny I loved it, This movie may not have any character development on a few characters(such as Brad Pitt's) but that gives them a mystery that locks your brain in the production and you cant get out of your seat till the end, kind of like blare witch and peole love that movie even though there is no development of characters and there is almost no story, so Inglourious Basterds is one of my favorite movies, thank you Quentin Tarantino. Expand
  89. douglass
    Dec 25, 2009
    7
    Pretty standard fare for QT. I was a bit suprised where he decided to build up the tension.
  90. AET
    Oct 24, 2009
    7
    Average to good movie. Parts of it are great, parts of it are grotesque and the premise is offensive: Jews behaving like nazis. The sum of the parts leads to a weaker movie than it would have been if Tarantino was not so eccentric. He often gets a pass for his style but you can't have one set of rules for all movies and another for this one. Either it is a great drama and a poor Average to good movie. Parts of it are great, parts of it are grotesque and the premise is offensive: Jews behaving like nazis. The sum of the parts leads to a weaker movie than it would have been if Tarantino was not so eccentric. He often gets a pass for his style but you can't have one set of rules for all movies and another for this one. Either it is a great drama and a poor comedy or a great comedy and a poor drama. the potential Greatness of this movie was sabotaged by its own director. Expand
  91. ChrisN
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    Thrilling, graphic, hilarious, stylish, excessive, juvenile, depraved, appalling- Inglourious Basterds could be accurately referred to as all these things; but the world of cinema (and particularly my local multiplex) is far more colorful with Quentin Tarantino's newest war movie. You won't be able to take the eyes off the screen, and unless you're easily offended, Thrilling, graphic, hilarious, stylish, excessive, juvenile, depraved, appalling- Inglourious Basterds could be accurately referred to as all these things; but the world of cinema (and particularly my local multiplex) is far more colorful with Quentin Tarantino's newest war movie. You won't be able to take the eyes off the screen, and unless you're easily offended, you'll enjoy every minute. Expand
  92. KyleF.
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    This definitely ranked up with pulp fiction in my opinion. loved the move. On a side note Dave S, most of us had relatives or someone that fought in WW2. I had 3 relatives that died on D Day and i didn't find this movie offensive in the least.
  93. JosephS.
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    All the actors & actresses did a great job of acting. Waltz deserves an Oscar for his portrayal of the wicked,very intelligent, clever Colonel Hans Landa, Brad Pitt is absolutely highly amusing and charismatic as ever. It is a thrilling movie thanks to the greatness of Quentin Tarantino,who may very well be on his way to capture an Oscar. I am not a fan of having to read subtitles, others All the actors & actresses did a great job of acting. Waltz deserves an Oscar for his portrayal of the wicked,very intelligent, clever Colonel Hans Landa, Brad Pitt is absolutely highly amusing and charismatic as ever. It is a thrilling movie thanks to the greatness of Quentin Tarantino,who may very well be on his way to capture an Oscar. I am not a fan of having to read subtitles, others may feel the same that is why I am rating it a 9. Expand
  94. JohnH.
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    Fans of Tarantino's other films (particularly Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs) will like this. This isn't as good as Pulp Fiction, but it certainly beats his other stuff.
  95. SteveG.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie, but its not for everyone. People who are put off by "gratuitous" violence will be equally put off by the film. The film is a deft combination of a spaghetti western and a WW2 mission movie. I am no huge Brad Pitt fan, but his turn as Lt. Aldo Raine is fun to watch. Christophe Waltz is terrific as the villainous Nazi Jew hunter. The movie is gory at times and definitely I loved this movie, but its not for everyone. People who are put off by "gratuitous" violence will be equally put off by the film. The film is a deft combination of a spaghetti western and a WW2 mission movie. I am no huge Brad Pitt fan, but his turn as Lt. Aldo Raine is fun to watch. Christophe Waltz is terrific as the villainous Nazi Jew hunter. The movie is gory at times and definitely over the top, in a similar way as was the original "Inglorious Bastards" from 1978, which Tarantino's film shares only the the title (mostly), time and location (France in WW2). But its a hell of a roller coaster ride with a wonderfully ironic ending. I loved this movie. Expand
  96. AnnB.
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    One of Quentin's best. I wasn't sure I'd like it, but the film had much more than action and gore. Along with other people in the audience, we had a couple of laughs. Inappropriate? Maybe, but still twistedly funny in parts.
  97. JayC.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    If you're a Tarantino fan you'll love it. If not, don't even bother.
  98. JonB.
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    It's good Nazi killing fun thats full of violence, shocks, and laughter. You either like Quentin Tarantino movies or you don't...
  99. GeorgeK.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed myself from beginning to end. I didn't go to the bathroom for 2 1/2 hours - my personal tribute to Quentin. If you're looking to be educated, go back to school. If morality is your thing, go to church. If you just want to have a good time, go see this movie.
  100. MikeD.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    This is a work of cinematic genius. QT's writing, directing, and overall knowledge of film, has given us a work of art that is a perfect throw back to films of substance. His BEST work, hands down.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. The film is by no means terrible -- its two hours and 32 minutes running time races by -- but those things we think of as being Tarantino-esque, the long stretches of wickedly funny dialogue, the humor in the violence and outsized characters strutting across the screen, are largely missing.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A violent fairy tale, an increasingly entertaining fantasia in which the history of World War II is wildly reimagined so that the cinema can play the decisive role in destroying the Third Reich.
  3. In Tarantino's besotted historical reverie, real-life villains Adolf Hitler and Joseph Goebbels are played as grotesque jokes. The Basterds are played as exaggeratedly tough Jews. The women are femmes fatales.?