Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: August 21, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1342 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,072
Mixed:
113
Negative:
157
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
NedRyerson1Sep 18, 2012
Inglourious Basterds is an exciting film and that is not a surprise because is a Tarantino creation, so we can notice all the things that are repeated in his filmography. First we have the desire for revenge, represented by Shosanna; here weInglourious Basterds is an exciting film and that is not a surprise because is a Tarantino creation, so we can notice all the things that are repeated in his filmography. First we have the desire for revenge, represented by Shosanna; here we notice the famous persistent and meticulous job of Beatrix Kiddo, and the sarcastic and dedicated work of Jules Winnfield with Vincent Vega; the shocking thing is that it all occurs at one time in one place, rather than the search that we saw on Kill Bill and Pulp Fiction.
Second, is visible the minimalism characteristic of Tarantino, because he shows too much with little things and express a few with big things. For example: in the dialogue between Coronel Landa and Mr. LaPadite about the rats, what we actually see is a way of changing a whole ideology about what people think of Nazis and Jews; in contrast, when all the important Nazis are gadder in the cinema, and Shosanna with Marcel execute their plan, we see an enormous disaster, but is nothing more than vengeance.
Finally, the classic fragmented reality is very well developed. Tarantino put us on his labyrinth and force us to solve his puzzle. The only failure of this film is that all the fragments (chapters) are order by time, nothing is timeless, and the development is one direction; in the other Tarantino pictures we move forward, then travel to the past and then finish in the present, preparing to jump to another time again; and that could enrich a lot Inglourious Basterds.
The direction, music and script are just perfect and Christoph Waltz is astonishing.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MarkSAug 24, 2009
I enjoyed this movie very much. I've been a Q.T. fan for as long as he's making movies. Although, this isn't as good as his crowning achievement, Pulp Fiction, it comes in as a close second. My friend feels that it started I enjoyed this movie very much. I've been a Q.T. fan for as long as he's making movies. Although, this isn't as good as his crowning achievement, Pulp Fiction, it comes in as a close second. My friend feels that it started slowly, and then it was awesome. I thought it was great from start to finish. The dialogue was excellent. Scenes were often funny, but extremely intense at the same time. Brad Pitt speaking Eye-Tallian almost made me spray soda out of my nose. Great acting, action, and dialogue with classic Tarantino sprinkled throughout the film. If you're a Q.T. fan, you should check out this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SimonXAug 24, 2009
This is such a great movie! Christoph Waltz is unbelievably good in the role of Landa. The audiences applaused in the end and I enjoyed every single minute of this masterpiece. By the way, I'm German.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewLAug 24, 2009
Best since Pulp Fiction. Typical of Tarantino movies the opening scene is so engaging you can't turn away. You people are morons and need to get back to your reality shows if you can't appreciate something original.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TrevorDNov 12, 2009
Sadly, the metacritic score that "generalizes" the reviews and critical responses to this brilliant masterpiece does Inglourious Basterds absolutely no justice. Simply put, Inglourious Basterds is Tarantino's finest work since Pulp Sadly, the metacritic score that "generalizes" the reviews and critical responses to this brilliant masterpiece does Inglourious Basterds absolutely no justice. Simply put, Inglourious Basterds is Tarantino's finest work since Pulp Fiction, and quite simply one of the best films of 2009, if not the best. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HarrySNov 9, 2009
Very impressive. Great acting!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaryMNov 9, 2009
Best film of the year!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CheeseMachineAug 13, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've never been a terribly big fan of Tarantino, until now maybe. Seamless acting and considering the language barrier, highly interesting dialogue fill the film throughout. As long as your attention span allows you to read for a few minutes straight your interest should last until the visually striking action scenes. If you find yourself perhaps put off by the subtitles or the occasionally zany Colonel Landa, please watch the climactic finish with a fresh mind. It should stun anyone who will allow it to. I ended up staring blankly with my mouth agape even as the credits began rolling. That might be because I thought the movie would be, in general, historically accurate going in, but afterwards I was extremely glad that it wasn't. I was equally disappointed that this wasn't how World War II actually ended, because Hitler's face being riddled with bullets is a much more fitting way to end such a life. Speaking of fitting ends, the final line reads, "This just might be my masterpiece." Well Tarantino, I think you might just be right. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
debjyotinsecJan 29, 2012
spellbound
great narration
intelligent photography
typical tarantino film
overall performance good
as for hans landa aka christoph waltz is just too good man too good
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Bold and fearless throughout. Tarantino has created a film without boundaries--allowing us to immerse ourselves into his unconvential, freakish and often extraordinary adventure. Christoph Waltz gives the finest performance of the year in theBold and fearless throughout. Tarantino has created a film without boundaries--allowing us to immerse ourselves into his unconvential, freakish and often extraordinary adventure. Christoph Waltz gives the finest performance of the year in the best film of the year! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleMay 24, 2014
This film is horribly inaccurate in terms of history, but screw it, it is fun as all get out. Like all Tarantino fare, we get our stylized violence, our pitch black comedy, and of course our closeup of an actress' foot (Diane Kruger here).This film is horribly inaccurate in terms of history, but screw it, it is fun as all get out. Like all Tarantino fare, we get our stylized violence, our pitch black comedy, and of course our closeup of an actress' foot (Diane Kruger here). Also, we get a great film. A close second place for me behind Pulp Fiction in terms of Tarantino, Inglourious Basterds features great cinematography and great acting, namely from Christoph Waltz, who absolutely killed it. Brad Pitt was also great and quite hilarious, to boot. From the onset of the film, Waltz' performance takes center stage as we watch him do what he does best: hunt Jews. We then see the same from his counterpart, Pitt, who is great at killing Nazis. These first two parts of the film really setup the film incredibly well for the final act, where spoilers. In addition to Waltz and Pitt, the whole cast did exceptionally well, in partucular Melanie Laurent and Diane Kruger. Michael Fassbender, Daniel Bruhl, and shockingly, Mike Myers, all have good turns as well. Throughout the film, there are many different genres being used terrifically. Of note, the comedic elements were great, in particular the scene in which Pitt attempts to speak Italian. These moments of comedy help to lighten the mood against the hyper violence that takes place (though never too dusturbing, typically the stuff depicted would bother me more, but Tarantino is so stylish, he gets away with it). However, the film also includes many thrilling/suspenseful scenes where your heart is in your throat as you await what happens, while coupling that with elements of war, drama, adventure, action genres, all of which used very artfully and really help to add to the general entertainment of the film.

On the negative side, the final part is a tad over the top. It came off as extremely odd and slightly off putting. However, the impact on the viewer is certainly still great and any over the topness is not a major complaint, rather something small that bugged me a little bit. Overall, Inglourious Basterds is one of Tarantino's best films and ultimately worthy of the praise it has received since its release.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 18, 2013
A film carried by Christoph Waltz's brilliant performance. He mixes menacing evil with a sense of style through Tarantino's fantastic script. Tarantino continues to be one of the great directors of our time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RobbyNAug 21, 2009
Inglorious Basterds isn't going to appeal to everyone. Then again, it doesn't try to. At 153 minutes, Tarantino is given free reign to exercise every cinematic whim that floats into his twisted brain. Patience is rewarded with Inglorious Basterds isn't going to appeal to everyone. Then again, it doesn't try to. At 153 minutes, Tarantino is given free reign to exercise every cinematic whim that floats into his twisted brain. Patience is rewarded with blistering humor and outrageously over-the-top action. For his portrayal of the evil Colonel Hans Landa, Christoph Waltz deserves an Oscar nod. Pitt is absolutely hysterical and magnetic as ever. He delivers lieutenant Aldo Raine's lines in a voice that's a cross between George W. Bush and Billy Bob Thornton in Sling Blade. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful
9
smijatovAug 13, 2010
One of the biggest surprises of the year, 'Inglourious Basterds' is definitely a great film, and one of Tarantino's best.
With one of the best best acting ensembles of recent memory and a (traditionally Tarantino) excellent and interesting
One of the biggest surprises of the year, 'Inglourious Basterds' is definitely a great film, and one of Tarantino's best.
With one of the best best acting ensembles of recent memory and a (traditionally Tarantino) excellent and interesting story line, it provides for two very important elements of any good film.
Technically, the film is flawless and everything just works. It is also highly entertaining and very funny. My favourite thing were the Italian accents of Brad Pitt and his boys. Amazing. Excellent film!
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
opixSep 10, 2010
Fantastic Christoph Waltz ! Brilliant Tarantino! Standing Ovation for Christoph Waltz A.K.A."Hans Landa" in this movie. Best Actor for the "Oscar" in my opinion.
12 of 18 users found this helpful126
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Delirious fun from ringmaster Tarantino. Unlike any World War II film ever made. Beautiful cinematography to go along with wicked dialogue and some great performances by Waltz and Kruger. The ending has a goofy twist and adds to theDelirious fun from ringmaster Tarantino. Unlike any World War II film ever made. Beautiful cinematography to go along with wicked dialogue and some great performances by Waltz and Kruger. The ending has a goofy twist and adds to the continuous fun, though I will say the film is very violent, maybe his most since "Kill Bill". Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
JimSteffelAug 22, 2009
Suspenseful storyline, laugh-outloud funny dialogue, and visually interesting scenes; this movie is vintage Tarentino. Great movie, loved it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
heyitsmegrif4May 26, 2012
When all the story lines finally come together you realize this movie is a masterpiece. With all the cast giving breathtakingly solid performances especially Waltz and Laurent. You will be offered amazing action and wonderful cinematographyWhen all the story lines finally come together you realize this movie is a masterpiece. With all the cast giving breathtakingly solid performances especially Waltz and Laurent. You will be offered amazing action and wonderful cinematography to spare. I give the movie 98%. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaMay 2, 2012
A bold war movie unlike no other. The film is as funny as it is thrilling. With Inglorious Basterds Tarantino has shown once again that he can make fun thrilling stylised films while adding intricusies and good writting. Not quite PulpA bold war movie unlike no other. The film is as funny as it is thrilling. With Inglorious Basterds Tarantino has shown once again that he can make fun thrilling stylised films while adding intricusies and good writting. Not quite Pulp Fiction but it is still very good. What a relief after the Kill Bill series to see Inglorious Basterds. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
eddyj.Jan 19, 2010
Hold up why does this movie have a 69 this is without a doubt one of the greatest films i have ever seein from the first scene to the amazing bar scene to the theater scenes i mean wow if u didnt like this film just go watch xxx state of the Hold up why does this movie have a 69 this is without a doubt one of the greatest films i have ever seein from the first scene to the amazing bar scene to the theater scenes i mean wow if u didnt like this film just go watch xxx state of the union since this film was too much for you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeKSep 9, 2009
Besides Brad Pitt sounding like a constipated John Dwayne this movie is intense and spine tangling the actually kill Adolf Hitler its amazing!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanSAug 21, 2009
Incredible movie. Best movie of the year so far.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JaredSSAug 21, 2009
Along with "There Will Be Blood", "Synecdoche, New York" and "No Country for Old Men", a top contender for "movie of the decade" as far as I'm concerned. May just be Tarantino's best.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ChrisFritzAug 25, 2009
This is Tarantino's best movie since Pulp Fiction. Great visuals and, unlike the Kill Bill's, great dialogue. For a world as visual as ours, one cannot be surprised at people being bored by the dialogue. It has great writing. IThis is Tarantino's best movie since Pulp Fiction. Great visuals and, unlike the Kill Bill's, great dialogue. For a world as visual as ours, one cannot be surprised at people being bored by the dialogue. It has great writing. I just think people expected a war movie full of action and got something different. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TylerH.Aug 21, 2009
Amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
markAug 21, 2009
Pure Tarantino! Amazing dialogue, great references. A perfect blend of genre films such as war movies, spaghetti westerns, and nazi-sploitation. I know not everyone will like this movie. But some people are boring loser pussies who Pure Tarantino! Amazing dialogue, great references. A perfect blend of genre films such as war movies, spaghetti westerns, and nazi-sploitation. I know not everyone will like this movie. But some people are boring loser pussies who don't know a great genre film when its right in front of their face and done by the best director working right now. So, if you don't like it. Eh, to each his own...you're just not a person I would want to hang out with. later. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NachoCAug 21, 2009
It is 9: 31 am, just 6 hours ago I was at a movie theater that was roaring in laughter, fear, anxiety and excitement as the Basterds terrorized the Nazis. Quentin Tarantino has created, in the great words of Lt. Raine, a masterpiece. A It is 9: 31 am, just 6 hours ago I was at a movie theater that was roaring in laughter, fear, anxiety and excitement as the Basterds terrorized the Nazis. Quentin Tarantino has created, in the great words of Lt. Raine, a masterpiece. A fantastic screenplay with edge of your seat moments. When I walked out at 3:00 am the only thing I wanted to do was return to that once time where nazi-occupied France. Inglorious Basterds is the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GuyGAug 24, 2009
Amazing acting and directing. Somewhat slow - But, it's Tarantino, so get used to that. The opening scene was amazingly dramatic! The main character had an amazing performance!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnaLAug 21, 2009
It is a great ride. Didn't drag for me at all. Can't wait to see it again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EmeryBAug 21, 2009
Film making at it's finest.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DarrylF.Aug 21, 2009
This is the best Tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. It's the kind of movie that you want see again right after it ends. It was highly enjoyable...and it was better than kill bill 1 & 2 combined (although I still loved both of those This is the best Tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. It's the kind of movie that you want see again right after it ends. It was highly enjoyable...and it was better than kill bill 1 & 2 combined (although I still loved both of those movies). Totally worth the wait. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeggyBAug 21, 2009
Great from beginning to end! Some gore I had to look away from but overall absolutely absorbing and entertaining.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanWAug 21, 2009
Long in some parts, but overall an amazing film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BillySingerleAug 24, 2009
Stanley Kubrick once said "If you can describe it, I can film it." With Inglourious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino takes pretending and captures that magic on film. The exuberance with each scene is like going to the movies for the first time asStanley Kubrick once said "If you can describe it, I can film it." With Inglourious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino takes pretending and captures that magic on film. The exuberance with each scene is like going to the movies for the first time as a child, where imagination fills the screen with awe and amazement. Don't ever grow up, Quentin, your joy in making films makes films worth going to see!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkBAug 25, 2009
This is the best QT movie ever and the best movie of the year so far. It is one of the few movies that I would consider seeing multiple times in the theater. My wife who does not usually enjoy violent movies liked it so much she wants to seeThis is the best QT movie ever and the best movie of the year so far. It is one of the few movies that I would consider seeing multiple times in the theater. My wife who does not usually enjoy violent movies liked it so much she wants to see it again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 22, 2011
I really liked it but I felt that the long run time resulted in some boring parts and it brought down the value of the film a bit. Also it relied far too much on violence instead of building on the fantastic cast that was hired for the film.I really liked it but I felt that the long run time resulted in some boring parts and it brought down the value of the film a bit. Also it relied far too much on violence instead of building on the fantastic cast that was hired for the film. Still, Its a great war film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Khunter4382Dec 1, 2011
Another superb Tarantino film! The performances are all top-notch and yes, Waltz is as pitch-perfect as ever in his role. The dialogue in this film is so interesting and I found myself listening intently to what every character had to say,Another superb Tarantino film! The performances are all top-notch and yes, Waltz is as pitch-perfect as ever in his role. The dialogue in this film is so interesting and I found myself listening intently to what every character had to say, which is present in every Tarantino film. The cinematography is spectacular. At several points this movie gets crazy and then it scales back into it's lighter finesse, but all the while it remains engrossing. I did feel it got a tad bogged down here and there, but overall this is a very very fine picture! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
islandOct 15, 2011
Loved the film, mainly because of the characters. They are lovable and adorable (if it's not weird to say this while talking about a war movie). The director (Tarantino) did a great job.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
LuizCCNov 15, 2011
Another brilliant movie in Tarantino's style. Showing us another point of view to the 2 World War, we get on a trip inside the Inglorious Bastards crew, jew's trained to blow up the Nazi head, and in the mind of the full-of-revenge jewAnother brilliant movie in Tarantino's style. Showing us another point of view to the 2 World War, we get on a trip inside the Inglorious Bastards crew, jew's trained to blow up the Nazi head, and in the mind of the full-of-revenge jew Shosanna Dreyfus, that wants to revenge her family, killed by the crazy SS coronel Hans Landa. With great cast (special applauses for Christoph Waltz, Daine Kruger and Melánie Laurent) and a bloody story, we get again, the best from Tarantino. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
I'll admit, this movie scared me. Quentin Tarantino never disappoints. At the start of the movie I was on the Basterd's side. Wait, did anyone noticed that bastards is spelled wrong? Doesn't matter, this is a movie not a book. I was aI'll admit, this movie scared me. Quentin Tarantino never disappoints. At the start of the movie I was on the Basterd's side. Wait, did anyone noticed that bastards is spelled wrong? Doesn't matter, this is a movie not a book. I was a semi-fan of all the violence and the blood. The scalping of the Nazi's head did disturb me at first but after the first one I was okay. Critics always say that adding action and special effects is like a gimmick to lure in audiences. But the action and blood in this movie isn't the case. If this movie was less tamed and not as graphic it still would be an awesome movie. But what I am not a fan of is adding two different story lines. They meet up at the end but there still two seprate story lines. I also found it interesting that as the plot was building up we where introduced to the morals and values that the Basterds had. I found myself routing for the Nazis. But that's how Quentin Tarantino does his movies, with a plot that doesn't introduce a villain. My favorite part was the bar scene. It was trilling because I had no idea if someone was going to fire. Overall, this film is very well written and directed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Mar 31, 2013
Quentin Tarantino is one of those people you either love or hate. It's his unique stories and methodical attention to detail that have always stood out to me. For all you haters out there, the one thing you can't deny is Tarantino's uniqueQuentin Tarantino is one of those people you either love or hate. It's his unique stories and methodical attention to detail that have always stood out to me. For all you haters out there, the one thing you can't deny is Tarantino's unique ability to bring out the best in everyone he works with, and that is why many times, the cast members of his films earn Oscar nominations. Inglourious Basterds is another uniquely strange story that just works, because of Tarantino. As has become his signature, the story is broken up into seemingly unrelated stories that all come together in a terrific ending. The story centers around a group of Jewish-American soldiers in World War II, whose assignment was to go into France, undercover, and track down and slaughter Nazis. It's a terrific cast led by Brad Pitt, but to me he wasn't so much the star of this film, that honor belongs to Christopher Waltz, who in his first major role, did win the Oscar for best supporting actor. It's a strong story and a great film, but something bothered me about it. Inglourious Basterds is of course a fictional story, so the attention to detail, such as having everyone speaking in their native languages, seemed someone unnecessary to me. That combined with subtitles that moved at the speed of light, made the story somewhat hard for me to follow. That's why I watched it a few times before reviewing it. There is no denying that this is one hell of a story with another tremendous cast, that deserved every award that it's won, however Tarantino's attention to detail, usually a strength, did take away from the film, as a whole, and did make some parts difficult to follow. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Patrick94Jan 4, 2013
Brilliant film. Probably not a "must-see" but certainly worth your money. The combination of humor and more serious elements in the film is great, I loved it. Certain parts, particularly towards the end are a little crazy, but they won't takeBrilliant film. Probably not a "must-see" but certainly worth your money. The combination of humor and more serious elements in the film is great, I loved it. Certain parts, particularly towards the end are a little crazy, but they won't take away from how good this film is Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JarvisGMar 30, 2010
Best Tarantino movie ever!Very enjoyably movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackG.Aug 22, 2009
On a first impression... this is second only to Pulp Fiction. This is Tarantino making rules just to break them, and maybe make up new ones again. It's also one of the few films this year you'll be able to call true art. This On a first impression... this is second only to Pulp Fiction. This is Tarantino making rules just to break them, and maybe make up new ones again. It's also one of the few films this year you'll be able to call true art. This doesn't mean it will please everybody. This is definitely not a *crowdpleaser*, though I'm sure a lot of crowds will be pleased. It's about taking apart the absurd but very real atrocities of war- both the Nazis and good ol' American barbarism- and putting it all together in a movie theater. Talk about microcosm! The final line may just be hubris, or it may just be about right: it's a masterpiece; how you feel about the master is up to you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougTSep 6, 2009
Normally, I don't give movies a perfect score, but this is my favorite movie this year (so far). The plot is what really draws you in, and I'm into the dark comedy style, so that's probably why it gets such a high Normally, I don't give movies a perfect score, but this is my favorite movie this year (so far). The plot is what really draws you in, and I'm into the dark comedy style, so that's probably why it gets such a high recommendation from me. The acting is great, the story flows pretty well, the chapter sections make it easy to follow, and give a more "epic tale" feel to the whole movie. Lot's of hilarious moments that really make it shine- basically, it's a Quentin Tarantino movie. If you liked pulp-fiction, and aren't too easily offended, my bet is this is going to be a good movie for you. Oh, and about Brad Pitt's accent, it's not supposed to be convincing. The point of his character is to show how outrageous this movie really is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnKJan 26, 2010
This film was a masterpiece. It was Quentin Tarantino's homage to the film's he loves. The dialogue was brilliant throughout. All the actor's were brilliant caricatures of larger than life characters from movies past. It was This film was a masterpiece. It was Quentin Tarantino's homage to the film's he loves. The dialogue was brilliant throughout. All the actor's were brilliant caricatures of larger than life characters from movies past. It was comedic and dramatic and wonderful. I loved the soundtrack too. The spaghetti western music was great. Who does that? The music was so out of place yet perfect at the same time. I loved this film. On a side note, I thought Brad Pitt's over-the-top portrayal as a gung ho red neck soldier was great. Sort of reminded me of Robert Duvall's character in Apocalypse Now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanG.Feb 5, 2010
One of my favorite movies of the year. Nobody can write long scenes of dialogue and make it work better than Tarantino. It might have alot of subtitles but u won't even notice it after awhile. And Christoph Waltz gives the perfermance One of my favorite movies of the year. Nobody can write long scenes of dialogue and make it work better than Tarantino. It might have alot of subtitles but u won't even notice it after awhile. And Christoph Waltz gives the perfermance of the year. Definitely a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesHMar 21, 2010
82/100. What a great story, I was very impressed by so many of the subtle touches, particularly with Christoph Waltz's character. What a well thought out and meticulous performance. He is brilliant. I was also impressed with Melanie 82/100. What a great story, I was very impressed by so many of the subtle touches, particularly with Christoph Waltz's character. What a well thought out and meticulous performance. He is brilliant. I was also impressed with Melanie Laurent, I am surprised more attention hasn't been given to her performance. She is excellent. Also Daniel Bruhl and Diane Kruger were perfectly cast. The period detail is remarkable, the cinematography, costume design and art direction were glorious. The score was at times very inappropriate and not up with the film's high quality. I was disappointed that Quentin Tarantino had to stoop to his trademark of completely overblown as well as completely unnecessarily brand of gore and violence. It hurt the film's effect a lot, but, I do think this is his best film to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankMApr 7, 2010
What an imagination! Twists and turns and no one is assured survival. It is a Bizzaro World but one with its own rules thate you must discover on the way through its maze.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanH.Aug 22, 2009
Quentin Tarantino outdoes himself and delivers his finest film to date.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexAug 24, 2009
Tarantino's best, sometimes it was long-winded, but it was hilarious suspenseful, satirical, A very enjoyable movie, going to see it once more next week.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
seajayAug 25, 2009
I expected a dumb action film like "Kill Bill" and instead got a film as suspenseful as Hitchcock's best. And I confess I found the revisionist climax strangely satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimothyCSep 14, 2009
Loved the movie. Great charachter concepts, killer lines delivered by Brad. My only problem with this movie was it was edited. You wanted more character backgrounds, but didn't get it. It was edited for time, but I left wanting to sit Loved the movie. Great charachter concepts, killer lines delivered by Brad. My only problem with this movie was it was edited. You wanted more character backgrounds, but didn't get it. It was edited for time, but I left wanting to sit through more. That's why it's a 9 instead of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
hcarterSep 7, 2009
Maybe b/c expectations were a little lower--but I was thoroughly impressed with Inglourious Basterds. I agree with others in that I think it's Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction (and I really liked Kill BIll too). I was not bored Maybe b/c expectations were a little lower--but I was thoroughly impressed with Inglourious Basterds. I agree with others in that I think it's Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction (and I really liked Kill BIll too). I was not bored by the length--or the intentional drawn out scenes--or even how much dialogue ( a lot) there is. I don't think it was perfect--could have been tightened up for sure. But I loved the fairy-tale satire/farce that IB was---totally smart, cathartic, gross, laugh-out-loud, dramatic, war movie. So far, many of my friends are all over the map on their opinion of IB, so it's hard to say whether you'll like it based on other people's reviews. Definitely see it though if you've liked anything Tarantino has done prior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexYJan 1, 2010
Tarantino has the power to polarize like no other director, and his bold style in pairing with the subject of Nazism will be too much for some. Before being a storyteller, Tarantino is a brilliant multimedia artist, and Basterds proves this Tarantino has the power to polarize like no other director, and his bold style in pairing with the subject of Nazism will be too much for some. Before being a storyteller, Tarantino is a brilliant multimedia artist, and Basterds proves this once and for all. This movie pulls the viewer along like a string puppet, making him feel in turn disgusted, exhilarated, devastated, amused. The pacing is absolutely brilliant: Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction. Emotion and violence are exaggerated to the point of parody: if you can appreciate this sensability, you may be a Tarantino fan. If not, there's always Schindler's List. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexC.Jan 3, 2010
Quentin Tarantino's latest film, Inglourious Basterds, manages to outdo even Kill Bill in both entertainment value and thoughtfulness. The film soars due to Tarantino's exceptional ability to build suspense and excellent Quentin Tarantino's latest film, Inglourious Basterds, manages to outdo even Kill Bill in both entertainment value and thoughtfulness. The film soars due to Tarantino's exceptional ability to build suspense and excellent performances by Laurent, Waltz, and Krüger. The only thing that could make it more fun to watch is the inclusion of the 40 minutes of footage that was edited out before Cannes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShayneCJan 4, 2010
Amazing movie, although Brad Pitt's accent is a little too much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dmodmoFeb 3, 2010
I have seen all the AA nominated movies and performances...and I B was my favorite movie of 2009. Saw it 3x. Walz is fantastic and what can you say..when Tarantino gets it right (like Pulp Fiction), it's the BEST.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisG.Nov 11, 2009
Well you either like QT or you don't. I happen to like the guy's work, and consequently cannot but recommend it heavily. Excellent movie for those who can appreciate these films, but not one of the majority. I think this is Well you either like QT or you don't. I happen to like the guy's work, and consequently cannot but recommend it heavily. Excellent movie for those who can appreciate these films, but not one of the majority. I think this is reflected in the type of votes given by the public. Either very high or very low. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshLNov 13, 2009
This is easily Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction. Its fun, entralling and suprisingly resonant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CameronBOct 1, 2009
I would say one of the best movies of 2009. It had an interesting plot, amazing actors and great scripting. I recommend this movie to all who haven't seen it yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennyNov 4, 2009
Back again to use all his power behind the cameras and in the folio to give us a treat as a kind of war movie never seen before. As usual the director of "Pulp Fiction" likes to mix and remix genres until what remains is really effective. Back again to use all his power behind the cameras and in the folio to give us a treat as a kind of war movie never seen before. As usual the director of "Pulp Fiction" likes to mix and remix genres until what remains is really effective. This spaghetti western in the midst of World War II with the purest ingredients Grindhouse style and his peculiar air to the engine of a Harley-Davidson, all without neglecting aesthetics over Nazi German and French. Overall the film has nowhere desperidicio, is chaos itself filled with discussions about jugosisimos in several languages, including French, English, German and even some Italian, where we discover Waltz. I have had a pipe in the two hour and a half, and even I was looking forward to seeing all that stuff he was forced to remove the final footage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidT.Oct 15, 2009
I enjoyed this movie - though at some parts, it was somewhat dull due to boring dialogue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NKOct 2, 2009
It could've been two hours of grossly gratuitous violence, but Tarantino made it ART. I wasn't expecting this kind of brilliance. The film is so carefully, thoughtfully crafted, from the writing to the way each shot of Oscar-worthy It could've been two hours of grossly gratuitous violence, but Tarantino made it ART. I wasn't expecting this kind of brilliance. The film is so carefully, thoughtfully crafted, from the writing to the way each shot of Oscar-worthy acting is framed (Waltz, playing Landa, is a horrifying). And the depth! It drips with ambition (and how could it not, as it defies and redefines "The WWII Movie"). Such a dizzying, dazzling array of film-play -- Tarantino's outdone himself with the layers of tension, irony, death, humor -- and all of it so aesthetically rendered. If you don't walk out completely blown away by the complexity of it, you aren't paying attention. We will forgive the film for it's inclusion of some necessarily evils (and some unnecessary ones, like Brad Pitt's acting) because the overall effect is tremendous, thought-provoking and enduring. Bravo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobHOct 6, 2009
I can understand everyone's negative impression of this film. But for me there are several scenes that are as well rendered as any I have every seen. The opening scene and the bar shoot out are amazing, full of tension and masterfully I can understand everyone's negative impression of this film. But for me there are several scenes that are as well rendered as any I have every seen. The opening scene and the bar shoot out are amazing, full of tension and masterfully shot. I can over look the rest of the mess. I can't wait to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewT.Oct 7, 2009
Not at all Tarantino's best film, but very good nonetheless. The acting prowess of the man playing Colonel Landa was absolutely some of the best I have seen in a Tarantino film, and his script and lines were absolutely fantastic. Not at all Tarantino's best film, but very good nonetheless. The acting prowess of the man playing Colonel Landa was absolutely some of the best I have seen in a Tarantino film, and his script and lines were absolutely fantastic. Unfortunately, the plot was a little weak, and many people will probably not like the way in which the story is presented, in a chapter format that jumps substantially between each of the chapters. That aside, this is one of the finest, most aesthetically pleasing, and daring films I have seen in the past few years. It is a must-watch for Tarantino fans, and I would hope that skeptics of this movie would appreciate it for all it has to offer, and not criticize it for its minor flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MauricioS.Aug 21, 2009
This is a very slow, deliberately paced movie, so if you have no attention span, go drool over GI Joe. Fans of Tarrantino and those with an eye for style will appreciate the subtle layers in the long scenes, and their payoff, the grand orgy This is a very slow, deliberately paced movie, so if you have no attention span, go drool over GI Joe. Fans of Tarrantino and those with an eye for style will appreciate the subtle layers in the long scenes, and their payoff, the grand orgy of violence that is the climax.The female lead, Shoshannah, is a deadly vixen, the sexiest woman I've ever seen in a film. Halfway through the movie you will find a Mexican standoff that is like the climax of Reservoir Dogs times 10. But one Tarrantino trademark is missing...sure, there's the obligatory close-up of a bare female foot, but where's the 'camera in the trunk of a car, looking out shot' that's in all his other movies? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickC.Aug 22, 2009
QT's best. I can't wait to see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyS.Aug 22, 2009
This movie was absolutely Brilliant. I loved every second of it. I am glad that I didn't read any of these reviews because clearly they weren't watching the same movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Aug 22, 2009
Brilliantly executed sadism. Disturbing. The people laughing in the theater made me feel dirty and ashamed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BootieH.Aug 23, 2009
Maybe not QT's best but dang close. Can't wait to see it again in the theater and of course on DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickKAug 23, 2009
What I love about Tarantino is his ability to take the standard cliche-filled movie genre and inject it with the action/wit/gore that only he knows. This movie blows standard WW2 movies out of the water.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamRAug 23, 2009
Not quite in the same class as Pulp Fiction, but definitely his second best and funniest film to date!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
stuartwAug 24, 2009
They claimed it was Tarrantino back to his best but i left feling a little underwhelmed. The start of the film begins with a homage to Sergio leone's 'The good, the bad and the ugly.' It's a tense beginning, the nazis They claimed it was Tarrantino back to his best but i left feling a little underwhelmed. The start of the film begins with a homage to Sergio leone's 'The good, the bad and the ugly.' It's a tense beginning, the nazis searching a house for jews and the officer reminded me of the child catcher in Chitty, chitty bang bang. This scene sets the film up well and you feel that this is going to be a classic. Let me point out that three quarters of the film is subtitled and features long winded conversations that don't really add a lot to the plot. The acting, in particular the character of 'the jew hunter' is very good. Brad Pitt's character is at times funny but isn't the most memorable. the film looks beautiful as does every Tarrantino film. I thought Mike Myers character was very well acted and brought about an 'Ah!' factor when realising who he was. I feel that the reviews of this film have been a little generous, but that's just my opinion. A shame really, could have been so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
martinAug 24, 2009
Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is classic Tarantino dialogue. The three main characters are all terrific, with the lesser known stars, the Austrian Actor who plays the Nazi and the French Actress playing Shoshanna giving Oscar Worthy performances, and Brad Pitt is hilarious. This film probably deserves repeat viewings, as do all Tarantino films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickS.Aug 24, 2009
QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 point for letting Mike Myers near this movie. I went for a bathroom break so i didn't have to squirm in my seat. Absolute brilliance through and through. Well done Quentin, Jolly Good show old bean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NedV.Aug 24, 2009
I could give this a 9 for only two reasons: 1. Eli Roth 2. I read the original script. In the original script, Chapter 3, "A German Night in Paris", was indicated at the beginning, "This section of the movie will be shot entirely in black I could give this a 9 for only two reasons: 1. Eli Roth 2. I read the original script. In the original script, Chapter 3, "A German Night in Paris", was indicated at the beginning, "This section of the movie will be shot entirely in black and white 'French New Wave' style." I'm really disappointed Tarantino didn't follow through on that. But those are quibbles. how can I not give this movie a 10??? SEE IT. (Among the surprises for me was how patriotic it was. Everyone clapped at the end, and this was in lib central (NYC). God Bless America!!!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MannyA.Aug 25, 2009
Incredible movie, absolutely loved it from beginning to end. Great story, great characters, it's just so much fun and entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickPAug 25, 2009
A fantastic movie from start to finish. Tarantino draws out the tension like no one else. Superb acting, twists of fate, and a blast of an ending. I will see this again, probably very soon. It's only drawn out for people with short A fantastic movie from start to finish. Tarantino draws out the tension like no one else. Superb acting, twists of fate, and a blast of an ending. I will see this again, probably very soon. It's only drawn out for people with short attention spans, and disdain for plots committed to characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaymondK.Aug 25, 2009
Spellbinding dialogue...very cleverly constructed. Didn't even need the action to succeed. 153 minutes were insufficient...didn't want it to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CreyosAug 26, 2009
Best movie I've ever seen. Simple.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BeryD.Aug 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this movie. It was no where near what I was expecting, but in a good way. Christoph Waltz deserves an oscar nomination for his impressive performance. The only complaint I have is the farmhouse and bar scenes seemed a little I really enjoyed this movie. It was no where near what I was expecting, but in a good way. Christoph Waltz deserves an oscar nomination for his impressive performance. The only complaint I have is the farmhouse and bar scenes seemed a little on the long side...but they were still engaging to watch on account of the dialogue. But everything else was awesome: the acting, carnage and story. Very impressive movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
davidd.Aug 27, 2009
I notice that some people did not appreciate the brilliance of this movie. They need to get their heads checked. This is a complicated, historically intricate, audacious and intense film. And, yes, you need to be able to READ during the I notice that some people did not appreciate the brilliance of this movie. They need to get their heads checked. This is a complicated, historically intricate, audacious and intense film. And, yes, you need to be able to READ during the film. Lots. It's called "hooked on phonics," go try it. Anyways, the best movie of the year. It will make you tense, excited, laugh, cry, and cheer, and walk out with tremendous pride to be an American--because we have the freedom to produce this kind of art and be able to appreciate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndyHAug 29, 2009
I found the 'long drawn out scenes' to be incredibly well done - adding a palpable tension to what may otherwise have just been an exercise in complete ridiculousness. Insensitive, yes, gory, yes, but this is a Tarantino film! I found the 'long drawn out scenes' to be incredibly well done - adding a palpable tension to what may otherwise have just been an exercise in complete ridiculousness. Insensitive, yes, gory, yes, but this is a Tarantino film! Still not sure whether Tarantino is the right person to be dealing with this kind of subject matter, but I still enjoyed it :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobJ.Aug 29, 2009
Not joking, my favorite movie. I had to see it again immediately. It is just incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobAAug 30, 2009
Easily the best film I've seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonFAug 30, 2009
I balk at all of you who are too weak and narrow minded to see the genius in this film. Honestly, this is film making at its finest, by one of the industries best (Tarantino). Thoroughly entertaining from start to finish, unless, that is I balk at all of you who are too weak and narrow minded to see the genius in this film. Honestly, this is film making at its finest, by one of the industries best (Tarantino). Thoroughly entertaining from start to finish, unless, that is you're too impatient to listen to dialogue and were expecting 2 hours of brutal nazi murders. Tarantino does a fabulous job at portraying both sides as human as possible and makes the resolution of the film so incredibly satisfying, even more so if you've seen Valkyrie. Ignore the ignorant slub of people ranting about his disrespect to the victims of world war II, this is art, this is a story, and WWII happened to be the setting. Grow up people, stop being so sensitive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelHSep 10, 2009
The acting was some of the best I've ever seen. I've seen A LOT of movies. Colonel Landa brought smiles to my face he was so good. Like eating very fine food. I am not surprised many people didn't enjoy this film. This is high The acting was some of the best I've ever seen. I've seen A LOT of movies. Colonel Landa brought smiles to my face he was so good. Like eating very fine food. I am not surprised many people didn't enjoy this film. This is high art, this is theatre. If you were expecting a action flick you didn't do your homework. Tarantino is the x gen's genius. He's their Wells. In fact, I think, he's more talented than any living director. I can't see Scorses being this bold and confindent and that's saying a lot. Tarantino can do anything. My only critique is that he doesn't do more. So, IB gets a 9, because QT didn't close the deal. He was making a classic, another Pulp Fiction and then let the movie get away from him. The first scene of IB was perhaps the best scene ever to be put on film. The scene where all of the Nazis were being shot and burned... Not so much. In many ways there are 2 Tarantinos. The Kill Bill 1 + Kill Bill 2 Tarantino. 1 is pure fun pulp nonsense. 2 is mad dialogue drama genius. I prefer 2, but in a way it's perfect that he's both 1 and 2. That makes him Gen X. Right? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jessecSep 11, 2009
Hans with the whip cream, and when blond cinema owner walked out of prep for fire from projection room and that song playing; which i have no idea what artist it was, was classic QT and i thought movie was genius. cons-- some chapters were Hans with the whip cream, and when blond cinema owner walked out of prep for fire from projection room and that song playing; which i have no idea what artist it was, was classic QT and i thought movie was genius. cons-- some chapters were 3-5 min to long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimOSep 10, 2009
Response to Arch S and his point about "stupid languages", three votes down: Tarantino should be be commended on keeping his dialogue fresh whilst still crossing the language barrier (as a speaker of French and German I can say that it came Response to Arch S and his point about "stupid languages", three votes down: Tarantino should be be commended on keeping his dialogue fresh whilst still crossing the language barrier (as a speaker of French and German I can say that it came across excellently). These accomplished world actors do their best work in their native languages so if you don't want to watch subtitles, preferring to hear them struggling in heavy-accented English just so you don't have to read a little bit, then you don't deserve to watch this kind of film and I'm glad the effect is lost on you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
afdsafddddSep 20, 2009
Simply, awesome. This film demonstrates why Tarantino is the best director in this days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcusWSep 20, 2009
After the last few misfires, QT emerges with a film which is pure unadulterated entertainment. Funny, loud and plain over the top fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AM.Sep 3, 2009
Best movie I have seen in a long time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnonymousMCSep 4, 2009
Definately not what the previews showed was coming. I went in expecting more of a Kill Bill style action/drama, and walked out thinking I had just read a book. It did tend to drag on in a few scenes, but because each culminated in amazingDefinately not what the previews showed was coming. I went in expecting more of a Kill Bill style action/drama, and walked out thinking I had just read a book. It did tend to drag on in a few scenes, but because each culminated in amazing style, you ignore the length. And while the violence was definately there, it only furthered the realism of the situations. I love to see action played out without slow motion, psychotic special effect explosions, or ultra long fight scenes. After every action sequence in the movie, you would just go "Good God! What the hell happened!" It really brought you down to the level that the characters would have experienced it at. The acting did the same: great job in particular to Pitt and the SS lead. Perfectly inline with their characters.
All that said, the story itself didn't really hold me. The storytelling did, the characters and their interactions did, but the story was sub-par. That, and two and a half hours was definately a bit long.
All in all, a great movie that won't be a frequent re-watcher. Probably deserved more like an 8.5, but what do ya do?
Oh, did anyone else find themselves thinking later on about how funny some of the killing was, then reflecting on how a certain gentleman in the movie was laughing his little hiney off? I don't know if that was an intended jibe from director, but it was definately a poignant lesson in my mind. More like a mild slap to the face.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradNSep 5, 2009
Great, entertaining movie. Many of the "official" critics seem to have lost the point of the movie - epic storytelling gone mad. Oh well, sucks for them, but great for those of us who, as another reviewer wrote, saw the genius in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackCSep 9, 2009
Likely the best movie of the last two years. A lot of the negative reviews I'm seeing are making petty and irrelevant points... when it boils down to it, this was a tremendously acted and directed masterpiece about classic films. Sorry Likely the best movie of the last two years. A lot of the negative reviews I'm seeing are making petty and irrelevant points... when it boils down to it, this was a tremendously acted and directed masterpiece about classic films. Sorry it wasn't the bloodbath promised in the trailers. It turned out to b a movie 10 times better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CookieJan 12, 2010
Would be a ten except that Brad Pitt does NOT fit the role he plays. I am 100% there are other actors that could've done a better job than Pitt. Overall a great movie Christoph Waltz stole the film. I find it extremely rare when I am Would be a ten except that Brad Pitt does NOT fit the role he plays. I am 100% there are other actors that could've done a better job than Pitt. Overall a great movie Christoph Waltz stole the film. I find it extremely rare when I am watching a movie that I seriously want to see more often through out the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidG.Jan 27, 2010
This movie was great. From the zany characters to the tautly written script. It was great. Quentin does a great job directing this movie. The only thing that holds this movie back was it's outrageous ending. Everybody died. Some for no This movie was great. From the zany characters to the tautly written script. It was great. Quentin does a great job directing this movie. The only thing that holds this movie back was it's outrageous ending. Everybody died. Some for no reason at all. It became kind of comical instead of enthralling like it was trying to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoanJan 29, 2010
Tarantino make it again? Hell, yes! 'Inglorious Basterds' is that kind of film that only can be made by a person like Quentin Tarantino: happy jew-hunters, happy nazi-hunters, happy Germans and happy solutions for a triangle Tarantino make it again? Hell, yes! 'Inglorious Basterds' is that kind of film that only can be made by a person like Quentin Tarantino: happy jew-hunters, happy nazi-hunters, happy Germans and happy solutions for a triangle gunfire. Okay, forget that. This can be (perfectly) the most personal film of Tarantino, and (without doubt) one of the best films of 2009. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonM.Jan 5, 2010
All the negative, snobbish reviews for this film have clearly mistaken "boring" for suspense, and "identity crisis" for unique, offbeat filmmaking. It is obvious that these people were prejudgmental, practically looking for reasons to hate All the negative, snobbish reviews for this film have clearly mistaken "boring" for suspense, and "identity crisis" for unique, offbeat filmmaking. It is obvious that these people were prejudgmental, practically looking for reasons to hate this film. Basterds is by no means perfect (hence the 8), but it is unquestionably an exercise in wild entertainment. From explosive action scenes, to an Oscar-Worthy performance by Christopher Waltz as the deplorable Colonel Landa, if you weren't at least ENTERTAINED by this movie, you clearly needed to drink your coffee this morning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful