Inglourious Basterds

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1294 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JackM.
    Jan 17, 2010
    1
    Unwatchable on several counts. In Pulp Fiction all the characters mattered. In Kill Bill also. What happened here? None of them were human beings.
  2. eddyj.
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Hold up why does this movie have a 69 this is without a doubt one of the greatest films i have ever seein from the first scene to the amazing bar scene to the theater scenes i mean wow if u didnt like this film just go watch xxx state of the union since this film was too much for you.
  3. IgorE.
    Jan 24, 2010
    0
    Never liked Tarantino. This movie made me hate him! The most stupid movie I've ever watched.
  4. JohnS
    Jan 31, 2010
    0
    You sit through the drudgery of prolonged and monoyomous dialogue only to be met by ridiculous shootouts. And it doesn't even have the decency to be short.
  5. AlistairV.
    Mar 4, 2010
    4
    This is a terrible movie, but then I'm not a fan of Terantino's work, so if you are, maybe you'll like it. However, as an objective reviewer, it's all style over substance. In a movie, the resounding question is "Is it entertaining?" The answer to that question is no, it is definitely not entertaining. There are interesting parts, but for the most part, dull, This is a terrible movie, but then I'm not a fan of Terantino's work, so if you are, maybe you'll like it. However, as an objective reviewer, it's all style over substance. In a movie, the resounding question is "Is it entertaining?" The answer to that question is no, it is definitely not entertaining. There are interesting parts, but for the most part, dull, uninteresting, not worth the watch. Expand
  6. FDalman
    Mar 31, 2010
    2
    After a good opening scene the film descends into boredom. I found the film difficult to sit through.
  7. Dec 4, 2010
    6
    I'm didn't care for this movie much. I really wanted to love it, Tarantino puts on a good show. Watching the first scene with Christoph Waltz in the Frenchman's farmhouse, I thought wow this is going to be good, but it just got progressively worse. There are some other gem scenes though. The last bit just seemed like he ran out of ideas and time. Overall it is worth seeing, but it couldI'm didn't care for this movie much. I really wanted to love it, Tarantino puts on a good show. Watching the first scene with Christoph Waltz in the Frenchman's farmhouse, I thought wow this is going to be good, but it just got progressively worse. There are some other gem scenes though. The last bit just seemed like he ran out of ideas and time. Overall it is worth seeing, but it could have been so much better. I was left disappointed. I was really surprised it was nominated for best picture, because I think there were better films. Expand
  8. Apr 25, 2011
    3
    well it took me a while to finally watch this because i had my doubts and i was right, the movie is weak and seems to just nazi bash. there are pointless scenes that drag on that hold little use to the story. allot of the story is not even realistic to the story, for example all the leaders in one place with such little security, the jew hunter converting when he could be a hero, disregardwell it took me a while to finally watch this because i had my doubts and i was right, the movie is weak and seems to just nazi bash. there are pointless scenes that drag on that hold little use to the story. allot of the story is not even realistic to the story, for example all the leaders in one place with such little security, the jew hunter converting when he could be a hero, disregard for solders personal feeling vs doing their duty. quirks and acting was good but what can i say the movie was all over the place. Expand
  9. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    Loved the film, mainly because of the characters. They are lovable and adorable (if it's not weird to say this while talking about a war movie). The director (Tarantino) did a great job.
  10. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Another brilliant movie in Tarantino's style. Showing us another point of view to the 2 World War, we get on a trip inside the Inglorious Bastards crew, jew's trained to blow up the Nazi head, and in the mind of the full-of-revenge jew Shosanna Dreyfus, that wants to revenge her family, killed by the crazy SS coronel Hans Landa. With great cast (special applauses for Christoph Waltz, DaineAnother brilliant movie in Tarantino's style. Showing us another point of view to the 2 World War, we get on a trip inside the Inglorious Bastards crew, jew's trained to blow up the Nazi head, and in the mind of the full-of-revenge jew Shosanna Dreyfus, that wants to revenge her family, killed by the crazy SS coronel Hans Landa. With great cast (special applauses for Christoph Waltz, Daine Kruger and Melánie Laurent) and a bloody story, we get again, the best from Tarantino. Expand
  11. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    I really liked it but I felt that the long run time resulted in some boring parts and it brought down the value of the film a bit. Also it relied far too much on violence instead of building on the fantastic cast that was hired for the film. Still, Its a great war film.
  12. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Another superb Tarantino film! The performances are all top-notch and yes, Waltz is as pitch-perfect as ever in his role. The dialogue in this film is so interesting and I found myself listening intently to what every character had to say, which is present in every Tarantino film. The cinematography is spectacular. At several points this movie gets crazy and then it scales back into it'sAnother superb Tarantino film! The performances are all top-notch and yes, Waltz is as pitch-perfect as ever in his role. The dialogue in this film is so interesting and I found myself listening intently to what every character had to say, which is present in every Tarantino film. The cinematography is spectacular. At several points this movie gets crazy and then it scales back into it's lighter finesse, but all the while it remains engrossing. I did feel it got a tad bogged down here and there, but overall this is a very very fine picture! Expand
  13. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    I'll admit, this movie scared me. Quentin Tarantino never disappoints. At the start of the movie I was on the Basterd's side. Wait, did anyone noticed that bastards is spelled wrong? Doesn't matter, this is a movie not a book. I was a semi-fan of all the violence and the blood. The scalping of the Nazi's head did disturb me at first but after the first one I was okay. Critics always sayI'll admit, this movie scared me. Quentin Tarantino never disappoints. At the start of the movie I was on the Basterd's side. Wait, did anyone noticed that bastards is spelled wrong? Doesn't matter, this is a movie not a book. I was a semi-fan of all the violence and the blood. The scalping of the Nazi's head did disturb me at first but after the first one I was okay. Critics always say that adding action and special effects is like a gimmick to lure in audiences. But the action and blood in this movie isn't the case. If this movie was less tamed and not as graphic it still would be an awesome movie. But what I am not a fan of is adding two different story lines. They meet up at the end but there still two seprate story lines. I also found it interesting that as the plot was building up we where introduced to the morals and values that the Basterds had. I found myself routing for the Nazis. But that's how Quentin Tarantino does his movies, with a plot that doesn't introduce a villain. My favorite part was the bar scene. It was trilling because I had no idea if someone was going to fire. Overall, this film is very well written and directed. Expand
  14. Jan 24, 2012
    6
    I liked the film but I am not 100% sure that I would recommend it. I think Tarantino tries too hard to re-create the magic he had with Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs but he fails to do so. The cast was good but the entire idea of the film was just too stupid.
  15. May 22, 2012
    0
    This movie i just another propaganda to feel good and like heroes for American losers! I'm sorry to tell you but America killed many civilians (by now more then Hitler) also and where friends with Stalin a man who killed 20 million people, but that's OK he killed no Jews so who cares right, i'm just in shock, how much more dumber the US can get? They are the Modern day Nazis!
  16. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    Brilliant film. Probably not a "must-see" but certainly worth your money. The combination of humor and more serious elements in the film is great, I loved it. Certain parts, particularly towards the end are a little crazy, but they won't take away from how good this film is
  17. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    Quentin Tarantino is one of those people you either love or hate. It's his unique stories and methodical attention to detail that have always stood out to me. For all you haters out there, the one thing you can't deny is Tarantino's unique ability to bring out the best in everyone he works with, and that is why many times, the cast members of his films earn Oscar nominations. InglouriousQuentin Tarantino is one of those people you either love or hate. It's his unique stories and methodical attention to detail that have always stood out to me. For all you haters out there, the one thing you can't deny is Tarantino's unique ability to bring out the best in everyone he works with, and that is why many times, the cast members of his films earn Oscar nominations. Inglourious Basterds is another uniquely strange story that just works, because of Tarantino. As has become his signature, the story is broken up into seemingly unrelated stories that all come together in a terrific ending. The story centers around a group of Jewish-American soldiers in World War II, whose assignment was to go into France, undercover, and track down and slaughter Nazis. It's a terrific cast led by Brad Pitt, but to me he wasn't so much the star of this film, that honor belongs to Christopher Waltz, who in his first major role, did win the Oscar for best supporting actor. It's a strong story and a great film, but something bothered me about it. Inglourious Basterds is of course a fictional story, so the attention to detail, such as having everyone speaking in their native languages, seemed someone unnecessary to me. That combined with subtitles that moved at the speed of light, made the story somewhat hard for me to follow. That's why I watched it a few times before reviewing it. There is no denying that this is one hell of a story with another tremendous cast, that deserved every award that it's won, however Tarantino's attention to detail, usually a strength, did take away from the film, as a whole, and did make some parts difficult to follow. Expand
  18. AnonymousMC
    Sep 4, 2009
    8
    Definately not what the previews showed was coming. I went in expecting more of a Kill Bill style action/drama, and walked out thinking I had just read a book. It did tend to drag on in a few scenes, but because each culminated in amazing style, you ignore the length. And while the violence was definately there, it only furthered the realism of the situations. I love to see actionDefinately not what the previews showed was coming. I went in expecting more of a Kill Bill style action/drama, and walked out thinking I had just read a book. It did tend to drag on in a few scenes, but because each culminated in amazing style, you ignore the length. And while the violence was definately there, it only furthered the realism of the situations. I love to see action played out without slow motion, psychotic special effect explosions, or ultra long fight scenes. After every action sequence in the movie, you would just go "Good God! What the hell happened!" It really brought you down to the level that the characters would have experienced it at. The acting did the same: great job in particular to Pitt and the SS lead. Perfectly inline with their characters.
    All that said, the story itself didn't really hold me. The storytelling did, the characters and their interactions did, but the story was sub-par. That, and two and a half hours was definately a bit long.
    All in all, a great movie that won't be a frequent re-watcher. Probably deserved more like an 8.5, but what do ya do?
    Oh, did anyone else find themselves thinking later on about how funny some of the killing was, then reflecting on how a certain gentleman in the movie was laughing his little hiney off? I don't know if that was an intended jibe from director, but it was definately a poignant lesson in my mind. More like a mild slap to the face.
    Expand
  19. MichaelB
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    Bonjourno! Inglorious Basterds is a phenominal movie that drags on, but drags on in a way that captures you, and entices you with baseball bats and nazi scalps. This movie has its funny moments, but if your expecting a full fleged comedy, then your not going to get what you want. Instead, this movie provides intense drama with multiple instances of comic relief. There is no better way to Bonjourno! Inglorious Basterds is a phenominal movie that drags on, but drags on in a way that captures you, and entices you with baseball bats and nazi scalps. This movie has its funny moments, but if your expecting a full fleged comedy, then your not going to get what you want. Instead, this movie provides intense drama with multiple instances of comic relief. There is no better way to spend your Saturday night then watching this piece of art. Also, if your movie theatre catches on fire, make sure the exit doors are unlocked. Expand
  20. ChrisN
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    Thrilling, graphic, hilarious, stylish, excessive, juvenile, depraved, appalling- Inglourious Basterds could be accurately referred to as all these things; but the world of cinema (and particularly my local multiplex) is far more colorful with Quentin Tarantino's newest war movie. You won't be able to take the eyes off the screen, and unless you're easily offended, Thrilling, graphic, hilarious, stylish, excessive, juvenile, depraved, appalling- Inglourious Basterds could be accurately referred to as all these things; but the world of cinema (and particularly my local multiplex) is far more colorful with Quentin Tarantino's newest war movie. You won't be able to take the eyes off the screen, and unless you're easily offended, you'll enjoy every minute. Expand
  21. KyleF.
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    This definitely ranked up with pulp fiction in my opinion. loved the move. On a side note Dave S, most of us had relatives or someone that fought in WW2. I had 3 relatives that died on D Day and i didn't find this movie offensive in the least.
  22. MauricioS.
    Aug 21, 2009
    8
    This is a very slow, deliberately paced movie, so if you have no attention span, go drool over GI Joe. Fans of Tarrantino and those with an eye for style will appreciate the subtle layers in the long scenes, and their payoff, the grand orgy of violence that is the climax.The female lead, Shoshannah, is a deadly vixen, the sexiest woman I've ever seen in a film. Halfway through the This is a very slow, deliberately paced movie, so if you have no attention span, go drool over GI Joe. Fans of Tarrantino and those with an eye for style will appreciate the subtle layers in the long scenes, and their payoff, the grand orgy of violence that is the climax.The female lead, Shoshannah, is a deadly vixen, the sexiest woman I've ever seen in a film. Halfway through the movie you will find a Mexican standoff that is like the climax of Reservoir Dogs times 10. But one Tarrantino trademark is missing...sure, there's the obligatory close-up of a bare female foot, but where's the 'camera in the trunk of a car, looking out shot' that's in all his other movies? Expand
  23. PaulL.
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    This movie is Quentin's best. This movie has culture, no America f**k yea, in this one. This film is especially for those of you who are intelligent enough to speak more than one language. Key word in this though, is fiction.
  24. JosephS.
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    All the actors & actresses did a great job of acting. Waltz deserves an Oscar for his portrayal of the wicked,very intelligent, clever Colonel Hans Landa, Brad Pitt is absolutely highly amusing and charismatic as ever. It is a thrilling movie thanks to the greatness of Quentin Tarantino,who may very well be on his way to capture an Oscar. I am not a fan of having to read subtitles, others All the actors & actresses did a great job of acting. Waltz deserves an Oscar for his portrayal of the wicked,very intelligent, clever Colonel Hans Landa, Brad Pitt is absolutely highly amusing and charismatic as ever. It is a thrilling movie thanks to the greatness of Quentin Tarantino,who may very well be on his way to capture an Oscar. I am not a fan of having to read subtitles, others may feel the same that is why I am rating it a 9. Expand
  25. JohnH.
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    Fans of Tarantino's other films (particularly Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs) will like this. This isn't as good as Pulp Fiction, but it certainly beats his other stuff.
  26. RyanH.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Quentin Tarantino outdoes himself and delivers his finest film to date.
  27. [Anonymous]
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    Brilliantly executed sadism. Disturbing. The people laughing in the theater made me feel dirty and ashamed.
  28. RyanO.
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    Christoph Waltz's performance is worth the movie ticket alone. Basterds is one of the most entertaining movies of the summer. The trailer and commercials do not market the movie correctly, so I should warn action movie fans that this isn't some display of mindless violence. However, with that being said, Quentin Tarantino has managed to create a punching bag for all of the Christoph Waltz's performance is worth the movie ticket alone. Basterds is one of the most entertaining movies of the summer. The trailer and commercials do not market the movie correctly, so I should warn action movie fans that this isn't some display of mindless violence. However, with that being said, Quentin Tarantino has managed to create a punching bag for all of the people who get angry thinking about what the Nazis have done. If you want a great blend of humor, action, drama, and great acting...go see this movie... Expand
  29. DavidO.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    Many of the press reviewrs have completely misjudged this. Embarrasingly so. This may be Tarantino's best film since Jackie Brown. Engrossing, enthralling, superb entertainment.
  30. MaximillianL.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    This movie was simply amazing. Tarantino works his magic once again. All of the actors and actresses gave stellar performances, especially Christopher Waltz whose acting in this film was some of the best I've seen in recent memory. This film ranks as #2b on my list of favorite Tarantino films with #1 being Jackie Brown and #2a being Pulp Fiction. Amazing story, amazing performances, This movie was simply amazing. Tarantino works his magic once again. All of the actors and actresses gave stellar performances, especially Christopher Waltz whose acting in this film was some of the best I've seen in recent memory. This film ranks as #2b on my list of favorite Tarantino films with #1 being Jackie Brown and #2a being Pulp Fiction. Amazing story, amazing performances, amazing movie. Expand
  31. RCR
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    A great film for film-fans. It's no secret Tarantino is a voracious student of film and Basterds, more than any other project of his, is a love letter to the medium.
  32. JackG.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    On a first impression... this is second only to Pulp Fiction. This is Tarantino making rules just to break them, and maybe make up new ones again. It's also one of the few films this year you'll be able to call true art. This doesn't mean it will please everybody. This is definitely not a *crowdpleaser*, though I'm sure a lot of crowds will be pleased. It's about On a first impression... this is second only to Pulp Fiction. This is Tarantino making rules just to break them, and maybe make up new ones again. It's also one of the few films this year you'll be able to call true art. This doesn't mean it will please everybody. This is definitely not a *crowdpleaser*, though I'm sure a lot of crowds will be pleased. It's about taking apart the absurd but very real atrocities of war- both the Nazis and good ol' American barbarism- and putting it all together in a movie theater. Talk about microcosm! The final line may just be hubris, or it may just be about right: it's a masterpiece; how you feel about the master is up to you. Expand
  33. Ryan
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Fantastic film all-around. Wonderfully detailed, superb acting, and a great deal of fun.
  34. JionS.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    amazing movie, best tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. I cant believe some critics are reviewing this flick poorly.
  35. SteveG.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie, but its not for everyone. People who are put off by "gratuitous" violence will be equally put off by the film. The film is a deft combination of a spaghetti western and a WW2 mission movie. I am no huge Brad Pitt fan, but his turn as Lt. Aldo Raine is fun to watch. Christophe Waltz is terrific as the villainous Nazi Jew hunter. The movie is gory at times and definitely I loved this movie, but its not for everyone. People who are put off by "gratuitous" violence will be equally put off by the film. The film is a deft combination of a spaghetti western and a WW2 mission movie. I am no huge Brad Pitt fan, but his turn as Lt. Aldo Raine is fun to watch. Christophe Waltz is terrific as the villainous Nazi Jew hunter. The movie is gory at times and definitely over the top, in a similar way as was the original "Inglorious Bastards" from 1978, which Tarantino's film shares only the the title (mostly), time and location (France in WW2). But its a hell of a roller coaster ride with a wonderfully ironic ending. I loved this movie. Expand
  36. UjnH.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    Classic QT! Does not disappoint.
  37. AnnB.
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    One of Quentin's best. I wasn't sure I'd like it, but the film had much more than action and gore. Along with other people in the audience, we had a couple of laughs. Inappropriate? Maybe, but still twistedly funny in parts.
  38. JayC.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    If you're a Tarantino fan you'll love it. If not, don't even bother.
  39. JonB.
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    It's good Nazi killing fun thats full of violence, shocks, and laughter. You either like Quentin Tarantino movies or you don't...
  40. ZackF.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    An enthralling, beautifully shot movie. Tarantino has no fear using foreign languages and challenging American audiences. Well done.
  41. GeorgeK.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed myself from beginning to end. I didn't go to the bathroom for 2 1/2 hours - my personal tribute to Quentin. If you're looking to be educated, go back to school. If morality is your thing, go to church. If you just want to have a good time, go see this movie.
  42. MikeD.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    This is a work of cinematic genius. QT's writing, directing, and overall knowledge of film, has given us a work of art that is a perfect throw back to films of substance. His BEST work, hands down.
  43. NDL
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Inglourious basterds is a QT Masterpiece Thank god I didn
  44. ChrisF.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    The most creative and entertaining film I've seen in a long time.
  45. JeffS.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Like Kill Bill and Pulp Fiction, this is a masterpiece; a movie to be savored and enjoyed one mesmerizing frame at a time. Both audiences I was with clapped at the end (I stayed an watched it again). Quentin's brilliance is in full shine in IB; his love for the craft and art of cinema is evident. The casting, the writing, the production, that acting! What a great, great movie.
  46. NickC.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    QT's best. I can't wait to see it again.
  47. CraigN.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Excellent move, take a wacky fictional ww2 tale, tack on just enough action, witty dialogue and humor, lastly add that tarantino spice and your have inglorious basterds another excellent tarantino film.
  48. Dr.Ghettoblaster
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    The movie is absolutely brilliant. I now rank his top 3 films as such. 1. Pulp Fiction 2. Inglorious Basterds 3. Reservoir Dogs Yes, it's THAT good.
  49. Mike
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Amazing! A masterpiece! Best movie of the Decade!
  50. Rob
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    It's about time. Glouriously entertaining. Tarantino pulls it off and potentially leaves many looking for an inner meaning very confused. Brilliant!
  51. BillyS.
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    This movie was absolutely Brilliant. I loved every second of it. I am glad that I didn't read any of these reviews because clearly they weren't watching the same movie.
  52. DecR
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    If you don't get Tarantino then don't bother seeing this movie, if you do then prepare to be mind blown! The man has hit a new peak!
  53. AdamR
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Not quite in the same class as Pulp Fiction, but definitely his second best and funniest film to date!
  54. TylerH.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Amazing.
  55. jefye.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Awesome, beautiful photography and great moments of tension especially the first chapter.
  56. Vinnie
    Aug 23, 2009
    6
    Half of this movie is pretty good, the rest is forgettable and boring. Brad Pitt is absolutely terrible, his accent was unconvincing to say the least and most of his jokes weren't too funny. Sadly, nearly every scene with the Basterds is pure misery. Tarantino wanted to show retribution and so these scenes show a bunch of blood thirsty and barbaric Jews, making it kind of hard to Half of this movie is pretty good, the rest is forgettable and boring. Brad Pitt is absolutely terrible, his accent was unconvincing to say the least and most of his jokes weren't too funny. Sadly, nearly every scene with the Basterds is pure misery. Tarantino wanted to show retribution and so these scenes show a bunch of blood thirsty and barbaric Jews, making it kind of hard to sympathize with them at all. I'm not saying the Jews deserved what happened to them but in this movie, the Nazis were definitely tame in comparison to their enemies in terms of brutality. The other half of the movie revolves around a Jewish girl in hiding. I thought her scenes were quite good. The real star of this film is the no-name actor who plays the villain Hans Landa. I actually found myself rooting for him. You know it's a messed up movie when the Nazi is more charismatic than the Allies. Expand
  57. EvanW.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    One of the best films I've ever seen. This is gloriously entertaining that only the magnificent Tarantino could make.
  58. M.Roman
    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    Having read the leaked screenplay, I was a bit apprehensive going into IG. On the page, the film felt mostly flat and convoluted. A few scenes bore the QT stamp of genius, but the sum total didn't seem to reach its potential. I'm happy to say the film is better than the script. Tarantino is so lauded as a writer that we often forget his visual prowess, and, more importantly, his Having read the leaked screenplay, I was a bit apprehensive going into IG. On the page, the film felt mostly flat and convoluted. A few scenes bore the QT stamp of genius, but the sum total didn't seem to reach its potential. I'm happy to say the film is better than the script. Tarantino is so lauded as a writer that we often forget his visual prowess, and, more importantly, his work with actors. The success of IG is due largely to some stunning performances, mostly by the European actors. Waltz is as good as the critics say: barbaric, witty, multi-dimensional. The movie is worth seeing alone for his giddy turn as Nazi opportunist. Diane Kruger's performance will likely go overlooked, but she is sizzling as German actress Bridget von Hammersmark. Brad Pitt is a weak link in the cast, but he's adequate and occasionally funny in his campy role as Lt. Raine. ((minor spoiler)) My biggest complaint is that the doubling of two key third act plots diminishes both. In what should be the most suspenseful moments of the film, there is little suspense because, in essence, we have two groups trying to achieve the same goal. One will surely succeed if the other fails. Never do the two plots (Basterds/Dreyfus) contravene, which feels like a lost opportunity. At the very least, there's a whole lot of bloody revenge and some much needed, albeit revisionist, catharis. Expand
  59. BootieH.
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Maybe not QT's best but dang close. Can't wait to see it again in the theater and of course on DVD.
  60. JustinL
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Amazing movie. If this isn't Tarantino's masterpiece, I can't wait to see what is.
  61. NancyD
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Incredible! Col. Landa had the best performance in the movie.
  62. JennyH
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    I wasn't sure about going to this because of the violent nature of some of QT films. I don't like having to cover my eyes through large parts of movies! However, IG wasn't very bad in this regard and only a few questionable scenes. Other than that, I absolutely LOVED THIS MOVIE! The theater broke out in applause...my husband who is super picky love it... It was thoroughly, I wasn't sure about going to this because of the violent nature of some of QT films. I don't like having to cover my eyes through large parts of movies! However, IG wasn't very bad in this regard and only a few questionable scenes. Other than that, I absolutely LOVED THIS MOVIE! The theater broke out in applause...my husband who is super picky love it... It was thoroughly, thoroughly entertaining. Definitely go see it! Expand
  63. MarkB
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    A movie with fortitude.
  64. SimonG.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    This movie is what the pleasure of movie going is all about. Not only it didn't disappoint but generously exceeded my expectations and raised the bar for future Tarantino movies. 5 big thumb-up stars.
  65. RichR
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Hilarious script and dialogue and acting, just what I expected. For some reason, I laughed at this movie more than anyone else in the theatre. I loved it. For all the crummy reviews, nobody left the theatre until it was over.
  66. JamesY
    Aug 23, 2009
    4
    Love T's work, but this was painful. The ONLY thing that kept us in our seats was Brad. Hope his character comes back.
  67. GregoryP
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    I've yet to give my opinion of a film ever online. But Quentins' WWII movie Basterds is pure film making at it's best. It is Cinema, don't be fooled by the less then stellar reviews you may see, they are just plain wrong; missing the point entirely.
  68. AshleyD
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Fantastic! Tarantino's made his masterpiece!
  69. JamieF
    Aug 23, 2009
    7
    Pretty good. Found that the Shosanna Dreyfus plotline was unnecessary. Aldo Raine's (Brad Pitt) scenes upstaged her, and the dark comedic effect blows the dramatic mood that she works hard to set. Her role should've been removed or minimalized for Brad Pitt's character to continue to shine.
  70. GabbyG.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Tarantino didn't disappoint me he delivered as usual. Awesome movie good story line. my heart was pounding the last 20 minutes its been a while since a film has done that.
  71. RickK
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    What I love about Tarantino is his ability to take the standard cliche-filled movie genre and inject it with the action/wit/gore that only he knows. This movie blows standard WW2 movies out of the water.
  72. ChadS.
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    At the gala premiere of "Nation's Pride", Fredrick Zoller(Daniel Bruhl), a Nazi war hero turned actor, reaches a point in which the gratuitous killing becomes too much for him, and has to look away. Movie mogul Joseph Goebbels(Sylvester Groth) based a movie on Zoller's exploits because Adolph Hitler's Reichminister of Propaganda loves spectacle(Zoller had gunned down over At the gala premiere of "Nation's Pride", Fredrick Zoller(Daniel Bruhl), a Nazi war hero turned actor, reaches a point in which the gratuitous killing becomes too much for him, and has to look away. Movie mogul Joseph Goebbels(Sylvester Groth) based a movie on Zoller's exploits because Adolph Hitler's Reichminister of Propaganda loves spectacle(Zoller had gunned down over three-hundred American soldiers from a bell tower); he's described as Hollywood mogul David O. Selznick earlier in the film, so maybe this is his "Gone With the Wind". In the theater, Goebbels and the Fuhrer laugh without consciousness at the rising body count, but not Zoller, who derives no pleasure from filmic violence. The Nazi soldier's revulsion towards his own part in the massacre supports the validity of the Nuremberg Defense, which states that the man on trial was "only following orders". Moreover, Zoller is in a position of moral superiority over us, the moviegoers watching "Inglourious Basterds", who have in common with Adolph Hitler, the ability to express amusement over movie violence. The filmmaker makes us complicit. The filmmaker shows us Zoller's vulnerable side, his humanity, as Steven Spielberg did in "Schindler's List", when Amon Goethe(Ralph Fiennes) expresses his love for Helen, his personal servant, played by Embeth Davidz. Zoller's humanity leads him to the projection room where Shosanna Dreyfus(Melanie Laurent), the object of the Nazi soldier's affection, repels his charms in cold blood. While the soldier's body lies motionless near the door, Shosanna glances at the screen, at Zoller, who lives on, flickering, and looking particularly noble, and decent, in close-up. "Nation's Pride" seduces her. After all, it's a propaganda film. Like us, who responded to Goeth's romantic angst, Shosanna is made discognizant by the rhetorical world of the diegesis, and confuses the filmic Zoller for the real thing, lying in her projection room. And pays for it. This action recalls the mistake Cecilia(Mia Farrow) commits in Woody Allen's "The Purple Rose of Cairo". Like the Depression-era waitress, Shosanna falls for the wrong man; the real man, instead of the idea of the man. Expand
  73. ArmandoP
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Tarantino's movies are always a masterpiece! he is unique, this movie is like a adrenaline explosion.
  74. David
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Tarantino is a genius. This movie is as great as Pulp Fiction. I've seen it twice already.
  75. Ben
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Best movie I have seen in the cinema this year. Up there with Pulp Fiction.
  76. GeoffR
    Aug 24, 2009
    4
    Holy boring, Batman! The movie is called the Basterds and they are in the movie for about 15-20 minutes of the 150. Can Quentin just trim a bit of time off of his "suspense build-up" dialogue and camera work? There were moments in the movie where I was wondering what the heck I was even still in the theatre; I felt it HAD to get better. To that end, the Landa character was great, Pitt was Holy boring, Batman! The movie is called the Basterds and they are in the movie for about 15-20 minutes of the 150. Can Quentin just trim a bit of time off of his "suspense build-up" dialogue and camera work? There were moments in the movie where I was wondering what the heck I was even still in the theatre; I felt it HAD to get better. To that end, the Landa character was great, Pitt was a hoot (and should have received more screen time along the other basterds), but so much of the rest was just pandering to Quentin's ego. Many of the scenes have been in other Quentin movies (almost getting routine). In short, don't bother seeing it in the theatre - wait til it's out on dvd or blu-ray. Expand
  77. JasonD
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Another great Tarantino flick. Funny, violent, and utterly entertaining. There are some parts that drag a little but everything else makes up for it. Brad Pitt was outstanding as well as Christopher Waltz.
  78. Chris
    Aug 24, 2009
    6
    Warning: SPOILER included! I LOVE Tarentino....usually, and I was wildly entertained by this movie up to the point of the assassinations of the Nazi high command & Hitler.Then, I felt the movie completely deflated for me. I know, it's Tarentino, but I thought that was just too unbelieveable considering too well known historical facts about Hitler's death. Otherwise, it could Warning: SPOILER included! I LOVE Tarentino....usually, and I was wildly entertained by this movie up to the point of the assassinations of the Nazi high command & Hitler.Then, I felt the movie completely deflated for me. I know, it's Tarentino, but I thought that was just too unbelieveable considering too well known historical facts about Hitler's death. Otherwise, it could have been a brilliant film. The whole idea of the film festval/cinema being the revenge on fascism for jews & western culture was beautiful & brilliant genius. Acting is terrific. Characters great, especially Brad Pitt as Aldo The Apache. But Quentin sabotaged it with the Hitler death thing. And the British spy dies WAY too soon. Makes his character pointless. Too silly & foolish. If you're gonna do historical fantasy, let the audiece know from the beginning, so belief can be suspended early. This was way too much deus ex machina when it happened & I couldn't buy it. Ruined the whole earlier movie for me. Nice try, QT. Unlike some others, I don't think this was on the level of Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown or either of the Kill Bill's. I think it's his WORST, actually, though a highly flawed masterpiece. Expand
  79. Sean
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Definitely the best movie I've seen this year... As for anonymous, I call his bullshit, my theatre was packed and not one person left. If they walked out I guess they really wanted to see GI Joe.
  80. Alex
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Tarantino's best, sometimes it was long-winded, but it was hilarious suspenseful, satirical, A very enjoyable movie, going to see it once more next week.
  81. martin
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is classic Tarantino dialogue. The three main characters are all terrific, with the lesser known stars, the Austrian Actor who plays the Nazi and the Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is classic Tarantino dialogue. The three main characters are all terrific, with the lesser known stars, the Austrian Actor who plays the Nazi and the French Actress playing Shoshanna giving Oscar Worthy performances, and Brad Pitt is hilarious. This film probably deserves repeat viewings, as do all Tarantino films. Expand
  82. RickS.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 point for letting Mike Myers near this movie. I went for a bathroom break so i didn't have to squirm in my seat. Absolute brilliance through and QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 point for letting Mike Myers near this movie. I went for a bathroom break so i didn't have to squirm in my seat. Absolute brilliance through and through. Well done Quentin, Jolly Good show old bean. Expand
  83. stuartw
    Aug 24, 2009
    7
    They claimed it was Tarrantino back to his best but i left feling a little underwhelmed. The start of the film begins with a homage to Sergio leone's 'The good, the bad and the ugly.' It's a tense beginning, the nazis searching a house for jews and the officer reminded me of the child catcher in Chitty, chitty bang bang. This scene sets the film up well and you feel They claimed it was Tarrantino back to his best but i left feling a little underwhelmed. The start of the film begins with a homage to Sergio leone's 'The good, the bad and the ugly.' It's a tense beginning, the nazis searching a house for jews and the officer reminded me of the child catcher in Chitty, chitty bang bang. This scene sets the film up well and you feel that this is going to be a classic. Let me point out that three quarters of the film is subtitled and features long winded conversations that don't really add a lot to the plot. The acting, in particular the character of 'the jew hunter' is very good. Brad Pitt's character is at times funny but isn't the most memorable. the film looks beautiful as does every Tarrantino film. I thought Mike Myers character was very well acted and brought about an 'Ah!' factor when realising who he was. I feel that the reviews of this film have been a little generous, but that's just my opinion. A shame really, could have been so much better. Expand
  84. bartons.
    Aug 24, 2009
    8
    Save for its subject matter, this is the most reserved and singular vision Tarantino has had since Reservoir Dogs. That
  85. MikeN.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    This is one in a long line of classics by Tarrantino. It is a cinematic masterpiece. I loved this movie from the begining to the end.
  86. DrewK
    Aug 24, 2009
    5
    I left the theater after seeing this movie feeling rather confused. I loved Pulp Fiction and thought this would be nearly as good. Unfortuantely, this movie isn't quite sure what it wants to be. It's neither an action film nor a melodrama. It's satirical in some spots and incredibly serious in others. I guess that's just Tarantino's style. Whereas Pulp Fiction did I left the theater after seeing this movie feeling rather confused. I loved Pulp Fiction and thought this would be nearly as good. Unfortuantely, this movie isn't quite sure what it wants to be. It's neither an action film nor a melodrama. It's satirical in some spots and incredibly serious in others. I guess that's just Tarantino's style. Whereas Pulp Fiction did these things smoothly, Inglorious Basterds felt disjointed. The actor playing Landa did, as mentioned by nearly everyone, an incredible job. I was let down by Brad Pitt and nearly all the Basterds. My girlfriend absolutely hated this movie. I would recommend renting this once it comes out. With a summer filled with movies like Star Trek and Drag Me to Hell, this movie will be lost in the fray. Expand
  87. MarkD.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Awesome experience - Tarantino takes you on a ride. I cannot stop thinking about it.
  88. OscarF.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    This movie shows the unearthly talent of director Quentin Tarantino. This movie is hilarious, violent, and so good that whoever misses it, would die without experiencing real filmaking. Cristopher Waltz is a great actor and deserves the academy award for best supporting actor!
  89. TomB
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Definitely Tarantino's own take on a WW2 film; Great characters and clever storyline that will keep your attention. The movie can feel somewhat slow in certain scenes and rewrites some aspects of history. Nevertheless, when it delivers it does so in a big way. The more I think about it the more I want to go see it again!
  90. RyanM.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    If you love to laugh at accents, this movie could not be any funnier. The only reason it isn't a 10 for me is the fact that I would have liked to see a few more lines out of Brad Pitt. They were careful not to overload him (which could be very easy given the "strength" of his accent), but i think they may have been too frugal with his appearance.
  91. NedV.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    I could give this a 9 for only two reasons: 1. Eli Roth 2. I read the original script. In the original script, Chapter 3, "A German Night in Paris", was indicated at the beginning, "This section of the movie will be shot entirely in black and white 'French New Wave' style." I'm really disappointed Tarantino didn't follow through on that. But those are quibbles. how can I could give this a 9 for only two reasons: 1. Eli Roth 2. I read the original script. In the original script, Chapter 3, "A German Night in Paris", was indicated at the beginning, "This section of the movie will be shot entirely in black and white 'French New Wave' style." I'm really disappointed Tarantino didn't follow through on that. But those are quibbles. how can I not give this movie a 10??? SEE IT. (Among the surprises for me was how patriotic it was. Everyone clapped at the end, and this was in lib central (NYC). God Bless America!!!) Expand
  92. NormG.
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Because of the dreck posing as comedies in the cinemas these days Inglourious Basterds hits you like a fresh breeze of creativity. Bet you never heard a Quentin Tarantino film thusly described. This completely fictional piece of World War II
  93. CaseyH.
    Aug 24, 2009
    4
    I've seen every Tarantino film in the theater except Resevoir Dogs but what I experienced tonight was something I never expected: boredom. There is a tremendous acting job in this film by Christoph Waltz and a solid performance by Til Schweiger but that's about it. If the quality of acting in this film had been the deciding factor, I'm afraid the Nazi's would have won.
  94. KH
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    Quite disappointing given QT's track record. This movie plain ole dragged in too numerous places and didn't capture the QT spirit and style. A let down from a big fan.
  95. RaymondK.
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Spellbinding dialogue...very cleverly constructed. Didn't even need the action to succeed. 153 minutes were insufficient...didn't want it to end.
  96. TimB
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    All I can say is a 2 1/2 hour movie, could have done it in 1 1/2 let everyone else fill in the blanks but didnt feel cheated in going to see it.
  97. DavidV.
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    Great movie. If you've seen a Tarantino movie before you'd know the acting and dialogue make the movie more than the action.
  98. seajay
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    I expected a dumb action film like "Kill Bill" and instead got a film as suspenseful as Hitchcock's best. And I confess I found the revisionist climax strangely satisfying.
  99. DanS
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Knowing what you're going into from the previews, and overall excellent film.
  100. Jayg
    Aug 25, 2009
    4
    Had lots of potential but failed to really go anywhere in the long-winded 2 and a half hours. More action and half an hour less of crawling would have made this one more interesting.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. The film is by no means terrible -- its two hours and 32 minutes running time races by -- but those things we think of as being Tarantino-esque, the long stretches of wickedly funny dialogue, the humor in the violence and outsized characters strutting across the screen, are largely missing.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A violent fairy tale, an increasingly entertaining fantasia in which the history of World War II is wildly reimagined so that the cinema can play the decisive role in destroying the Third Reich.
  3. In Tarantino's besotted historical reverie, real-life villains Adolf Hitler and Joseph Goebbels are played as grotesque jokes. The Basterds are played as exaggeratedly tough Jews. The women are femmes fatales.?