Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: August 21, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1359 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,087
Mixed:
113
Negative:
159
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
NathanD.Nov 10, 2009
A very gory movie that leaves nothing to the viewers imagination. The plot and action was decent and the acting was superb.But I can say that this movie is not for the weak hearted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AbhinavRNov 30, 2009
Genius, pure genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngryMNov 5, 2009
Greatest movie of the year! People who hated it put it aside and go back to watching "Dancing with the stars".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
miguelgOct 16, 2009
I liked this movie, could be a little less violent, but there are very interesting things with these movie, the most interesting is mr Waltz's performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClifCOct 17, 2009
Well... "District 9" and "Inglourious Basterds" are the best movies of the year. "Inglorious" is a masterpiece: it's mature, artsy, visually stunning (the scene with the theater screen burning, for example; that gave me shivers), Well... "District 9" and "Inglourious Basterds" are the best movies of the year. "Inglorious" is a masterpiece: it's mature, artsy, visually stunning (the scene with the theater screen burning, for example; that gave me shivers), action-packed, with exquisite dialogues, amazing actings (Waltz deserves an Academy Award for it), ... The only thing that somebody who really appreciates good films (because a lot still don't understand Quentin Tarantino's art) could regret is the lack of complexity in the film. There was no temporal "destruction" this time and no real character developpement. But in my opinion, it didn't matter, it was obvious that it was useless. Anyway... Quentin Tarantino made it again! Bravo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryJNov 9, 2009
One of the best films of 2009. Great plot, and incredibly great directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeMDec 16, 2009
Tarantino at his best, he delivers a remarkable script that is filled with suspense, humor, and action. This is a true classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristopheSDec 16, 2009
Wasnt really looking forward to watch this movie. I like Tarantino, but his last movies where not super (not bad, just not great). I also dont really like war movies that much. However this is not really a war movie. I can understand why Wasnt really looking forward to watch this movie. I like Tarantino, but his last movies where not super (not bad, just not great). I also dont really like war movies that much. However this is not really a war movie. I can understand why some people dont like the movie. Too much non-English part (many people, mostly iliterate americans, are not used to it and only love English and think everybody should only speak their language) and some scenes are sloow (too slow for their even slow mind?). Like the utterly fantastic opening scene, which is one of the best scenes of the year. Or the bar scene. man I didnt see that coming. The time Pitt spoke Italian was just bloody hilarious (ofcourse completly over the top and thus not really appreciated by everybody, especially if you are without a sense of humor). I dont want to give away too much, but to everybody who doesnt mind that the whole movie is not in Anglish, who dont mind there isnt an explosion every 5 seconds and with a sense of humor, watch this movie. You will be pleasantly suprised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SorinLDec 27, 2009
Funny how rage-filled and ass-pained are all the americans about this movie. What's the matter, pumpkins? Is one man's vision too hard for you? Is it so intolerable that you're 'manliness' is satirized and the Funny how rage-filled and ass-pained are all the americans about this movie. What's the matter, pumpkins? Is one man's vision too hard for you? Is it so intolerable that you're 'manliness' is satirized and the germans are all polyglot and gentlemen? Oh, in case you don't know, a polyglot is a person who speaks multiple languages. A little explanation for our American friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulL.Aug 21, 2009
This movie is Quentin's best. This movie has culture, no America f**k yea, in this one. This film is especially for those of you who are intelligent enough to speak more than one language. Key word in this though, is fiction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelBAug 21, 2009
Bonjourno! Inglorious Basterds is a phenominal movie that drags on, but drags on in a way that captures you, and entices you with baseball bats and nazi scalps. This movie has its funny moments, but if your expecting a full fleged comedy, Bonjourno! Inglorious Basterds is a phenominal movie that drags on, but drags on in a way that captures you, and entices you with baseball bats and nazi scalps. This movie has its funny moments, but if your expecting a full fleged comedy, then your not going to get what you want. Instead, this movie provides intense drama with multiple instances of comic relief. There is no better way to spend your Saturday night then watching this piece of art. Also, if your movie theatre catches on fire, make sure the exit doors are unlocked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JionS.Aug 22, 2009
amazing movie, best tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. I cant believe some critics are reviewing this flick poorly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UjnH.Aug 22, 2009
Classic QT! Does not disappoint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackF.Aug 22, 2009
An enthralling, beautifully shot movie. Tarantino has no fear using foreign languages and challenging American audiences. Well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NDLAug 22, 2009
Inglourious basterds is a QT Masterpiece Thank god I didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisF.Aug 22, 2009
The most creative and entertaining film I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanO.Aug 22, 2009
Christoph Waltz's performance is worth the movie ticket alone. Basterds is one of the most entertaining movies of the summer. The trailer and commercials do not market the movie correctly, so I should warn action movie fans that this Christoph Waltz's performance is worth the movie ticket alone. Basterds is one of the most entertaining movies of the summer. The trailer and commercials do not market the movie correctly, so I should warn action movie fans that this isn't some display of mindless violence. However, with that being said, Quentin Tarantino has managed to create a punching bag for all of the people who get angry thinking about what the Nazis have done. If you want a great blend of humor, action, drama, and great acting...go see this movie... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeAug 22, 2009
Amazing! A masterpiece! Best movie of the Decade!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Dr.GhettoblasterAug 22, 2009
The movie is absolutely brilliant. I now rank his top 3 films as such. 1. Pulp Fiction 2. Inglorious Basterds 3. Reservoir Dogs Yes, it's THAT good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobAug 22, 2009
It's about time. Glouriously entertaining. Tarantino pulls it off and potentially leaves many looking for an inner meaning very confused. Brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigN.Aug 22, 2009
Excellent move, take a wacky fictional ww2 tale, tack on just enough action, witty dialogue and humor, lastly add that tarantino spice and your have inglorious basterds another excellent tarantino film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidO.Aug 22, 2009
Many of the press reviewrs have completely misjudged this. Embarrasingly so. This may be Tarantino's best film since Jackie Brown. Engrossing, enthralling, superb entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaximillianL.Aug 22, 2009
This movie was simply amazing. Tarantino works his magic once again. All of the actors and actresses gave stellar performances, especially Christopher Waltz whose acting in this film was some of the best I've seen in recent memory. This This movie was simply amazing. Tarantino works his magic once again. All of the actors and actresses gave stellar performances, especially Christopher Waltz whose acting in this film was some of the best I've seen in recent memory. This film ranks as #2b on my list of favorite Tarantino films with #1 being Jackie Brown and #2a being Pulp Fiction. Amazing story, amazing performances, amazing movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RCRAug 22, 2009
A great film for film-fans. It's no secret Tarantino is a voracious student of film and Basterds, more than any other project of his, is a love letter to the medium.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanAug 22, 2009
Fantastic film all-around. Wonderfully detailed, superb acting, and a great deal of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanW.Aug 23, 2009
One of the best films I've ever seen. This is gloriously entertaining that only the magnificent Tarantino could make.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinLAug 23, 2009
Amazing movie. If this isn't Tarantino's masterpiece, I can't wait to see what is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennyHAug 23, 2009
I wasn't sure about going to this because of the violent nature of some of QT films. I don't like having to cover my eyes through large parts of movies! However, IG wasn't very bad in this regard and only a few questionable I wasn't sure about going to this because of the violent nature of some of QT films. I don't like having to cover my eyes through large parts of movies! However, IG wasn't very bad in this regard and only a few questionable scenes. Other than that, I absolutely LOVED THIS MOVIE! The theater broke out in applause...my husband who is super picky love it... It was thoroughly, thoroughly entertaining. Definitely go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkBAug 23, 2009
A movie with fortitude.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
VinnieAug 23, 2009
Half of this movie is pretty good, the rest is forgettable and boring. Brad Pitt is absolutely terrible, his accent was unconvincing to say the least and most of his jokes weren't too funny. Sadly, nearly every scene with the Basterds Half of this movie is pretty good, the rest is forgettable and boring. Brad Pitt is absolutely terrible, his accent was unconvincing to say the least and most of his jokes weren't too funny. Sadly, nearly every scene with the Basterds is pure misery. Tarantino wanted to show retribution and so these scenes show a bunch of blood thirsty and barbaric Jews, making it kind of hard to sympathize with them at all. I'm not saying the Jews deserved what happened to them but in this movie, the Nazis were definitely tame in comparison to their enemies in terms of brutality. The other half of the movie revolves around a Jewish girl in hiding. I thought her scenes were quite good. The real star of this film is the no-name actor who plays the villain Hans Landa. I actually found myself rooting for him. You know it's a messed up movie when the Nazi is more charismatic than the Allies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichRAug 23, 2009
Hilarious script and dialogue and acting, just what I expected. For some reason, I laughed at this movie more than anyone else in the theatre. I loved it. For all the crummy reviews, nobody left the theatre until it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonG.Aug 23, 2009
This movie is what the pleasure of movie going is all about. Not only it didn't disappoint but generously exceeded my expectations and raised the bar for future Tarantino movies. 5 big thumb-up stars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyDAug 23, 2009
Fantastic! Tarantino's made his masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Aug 23, 2009
At the gala premiere of "Nation's Pride", Fredrick Zoller(Daniel Bruhl), a Nazi war hero turned actor, reaches a point in which the gratuitous killing becomes too much for him, and has to look away. Movie mogul Joseph Goebbels(Sylvester At the gala premiere of "Nation's Pride", Fredrick Zoller(Daniel Bruhl), a Nazi war hero turned actor, reaches a point in which the gratuitous killing becomes too much for him, and has to look away. Movie mogul Joseph Goebbels(Sylvester Groth) based a movie on Zoller's exploits because Adolph Hitler's Reichminister of Propaganda loves spectacle(Zoller had gunned down over three-hundred American soldiers from a bell tower); he's described as Hollywood mogul David O. Selznick earlier in the film, so maybe this is his "Gone With the Wind". In the theater, Goebbels and the Fuhrer laugh without consciousness at the rising body count, but not Zoller, who derives no pleasure from filmic violence. The Nazi soldier's revulsion towards his own part in the massacre supports the validity of the Nuremberg Defense, which states that the man on trial was "only following orders". Moreover, Zoller is in a position of moral superiority over us, the moviegoers watching "Inglourious Basterds", who have in common with Adolph Hitler, the ability to express amusement over movie violence. The filmmaker makes us complicit. The filmmaker shows us Zoller's vulnerable side, his humanity, as Steven Spielberg did in "Schindler's List", when Amon Goethe(Ralph Fiennes) expresses his love for Helen, his personal servant, played by Embeth Davidz. Zoller's humanity leads him to the projection room where Shosanna Dreyfus(Melanie Laurent), the object of the Nazi soldier's affection, repels his charms in cold blood. While the soldier's body lies motionless near the door, Shosanna glances at the screen, at Zoller, who lives on, flickering, and looking particularly noble, and decent, in close-up. "Nation's Pride" seduces her. After all, it's a propaganda film. Like us, who responded to Goeth's romantic angst, Shosanna is made discognizant by the rhetorical world of the diegesis, and confuses the filmic Zoller for the real thing, lying in her projection room. And pays for it. This action recalls the mistake Cecilia(Mia Farrow) commits in Woody Allen's "The Purple Rose of Cairo". Like the Depression-era waitress, Shosanna falls for the wrong man; the real man, instead of the idea of the man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DecRAug 23, 2009
If you don't get Tarantino then don't bother seeing this movie, if you do then prepare to be mind blown! The man has hit a new peak!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerH.Aug 23, 2009
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jefye.Aug 23, 2009
Awesome, beautiful photography and great moments of tension especially the first chapter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
bartons.Aug 24, 2009
Save for its subject matter, this is the most reserved and singular vision Tarantino has had since Reservoir Dogs. That
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeN.Aug 24, 2009
This is one in a long line of classics by Tarrantino. It is a cinematic masterpiece. I loved this movie from the begining to the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DrewKAug 24, 2009
I left the theater after seeing this movie feeling rather confused. I loved Pulp Fiction and thought this would be nearly as good. Unfortuantely, this movie isn't quite sure what it wants to be. It's neither an action film nor a I left the theater after seeing this movie feeling rather confused. I loved Pulp Fiction and thought this would be nearly as good. Unfortuantely, this movie isn't quite sure what it wants to be. It's neither an action film nor a melodrama. It's satirical in some spots and incredibly serious in others. I guess that's just Tarantino's style. Whereas Pulp Fiction did these things smoothly, Inglorious Basterds felt disjointed. The actor playing Landa did, as mentioned by nearly everyone, an incredible job. I was let down by Brad Pitt and nearly all the Basterds. My girlfriend absolutely hated this movie. I would recommend renting this once it comes out. With a summer filled with movies like Star Trek and Drag Me to Hell, this movie will be lost in the fray. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomBAug 24, 2009
Definitely Tarantino's own take on a WW2 film; Great characters and clever storyline that will keep your attention. The movie can feel somewhat slow in certain scenes and rewrites some aspects of history. Nevertheless, when it delivers Definitely Tarantino's own take on a WW2 film; Great characters and clever storyline that will keep your attention. The movie can feel somewhat slow in certain scenes and rewrites some aspects of history. Nevertheless, when it delivers it does so in a big way. The more I think about it the more I want to go see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormG.Aug 24, 2009
Because of the dreck posing as comedies in the cinemas these days Inglourious Basterds hits you like a fresh breeze of creativity. Bet you never heard a Quentin Tarantino film thusly described. This completely fictional piece of World War II
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenAug 24, 2009
Best movie I have seen in the cinema this year. Up there with Pulp Fiction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonDAug 24, 2009
Another great Tarantino flick. Funny, violent, and utterly entertaining. There are some parts that drag a little but everything else makes up for it. Brad Pitt was outstanding as well as Christopher Waltz.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanAug 24, 2009
Definitely the best movie I've seen this year... As for anonymous, I call his bullshit, my theatre was packed and not one person left. If they walked out I guess they really wanted to see GI Joe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanSAug 25, 2009
Knowing what you're going into from the previews, and overall excellent film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidV.Aug 25, 2009
Great movie. If you've seen a Tarantino movie before you'd know the acting and dialogue make the movie more than the action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelM.Aug 25, 2009
Walz's Col. Landa is easily the best part of the film. Tarantino has always been a dialogue man, which I love. Normally he uses simple conversations that the audience enjoys sitting in on. Here his conversations are mostly dry. The Walz's Col. Landa is easily the best part of the film. Tarantino has always been a dialogue man, which I love. Normally he uses simple conversations that the audience enjoys sitting in on. Here his conversations are mostly dry. The usual wit and creativity (with the exception of Landa) are missing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TresSAug 25, 2009
I over heard a guy leaving the movie that said "what a rip off, where was the violence?" I think that's what a lot of disappointed Tarantino fans were expecting with Inglorious Basterds. But they should be praising this film for the I over heard a guy leaving the movie that said "what a rip off, where was the violence?" I think that's what a lot of disappointed Tarantino fans were expecting with Inglorious Basterds. But they should be praising this film for the superior writing, superb acting and beautiful cinematography. Also the story is much less disjointed than most of Tarantino's work. Every movie from QT will not be Pulp fiction and we shouldn't expect it to be. What we should expect is what we got with Inglorious Basterds, another fantastic story from one of Hollywood's absolute best directors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KHAug 25, 2009
Quite disappointing given QT's track record. This movie plain ole dragged in too numerous places and didn't capture the QT spirit and style. A let down from a big fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TimBAug 25, 2009
All I can say is a 2 1/2 hour movie, could have done it in 1 1/2 let everyone else fill in the blanks but didnt feel cheated in going to see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GilY.Aug 26, 2009
Hitler getting shot in the face. What more could you ask for?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradleyT.Aug 26, 2009
Basterds is an amazing blend of gravity, absurdity, and gore. White the the violent action sequences are well-crafted and thoroughly exciting, it is the dialog that drives the movie and earns the violence. Contrary to many reviews, the Basterds is an amazing blend of gravity, absurdity, and gore. White the the violent action sequences are well-crafted and thoroughly exciting, it is the dialog that drives the movie and earns the violence. Contrary to many reviews, the non-action scenes are far from boring. Tarantino uses language to build tension in each scene. While the dialog-heavy scenes are long, each one is infused a sense that anything can happen. This plus high stakes makes every second of Basterds a thrill to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TobyH.Aug 27, 2009
Simply spellbinding. Tarantino sure knows how to tell a story. Waltz was brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcFAug 27, 2009
Although this was a good movie to look at, i found it to be quite poor overall. Much has been made over the past decade or so regarding Tarantino's directing prowess but this movie left me wondering what's the big deal? The film Although this was a good movie to look at, i found it to be quite poor overall. Much has been made over the past decade or so regarding Tarantino's directing prowess but this movie left me wondering what's the big deal? The film was too long and the story underwhelming. It seemed to be a collection of long, plodding scenes punctuated by moments of excessive violence and some occasional good acting. This seems to be the Tarantino formula - good actors, shocking violence and good marketing - not much more. There was some strong acting in the film, Christopher Waltz's Col. Landa was well constructed and executed. My main issue with the film may have to do with hype - i haven't seen many poor reviews but i cannot see what people are cheering about. To refer to this as one of the great WWII films of all time is ridiculous, it is not even in the genre as far as I'm concerned. Brad Pitt alleged that Tarantino has closed the book on the genre - I'm sorry but this wasn't even close. Also, with this film Tarantino alleged that he was attempting to turn the traditional WWII symbolism on its head. However, in one of the (many) scenes leading to the climax he employed music from a similar point in the WWII flick "Kelly's Heroes". I found this ironic and a bit lazy, "Kelly's Heroes" is seen as one of those typical WWII films that glorify the conflict and is a bit corny - although not bad to watch on a Saturday afternoon. My main beef with this film was that it accomplished none of what Tarantino or his boosters claimed it would - it was "Kill Bill" in Nazi occupied France. If this was an attempt to close the book on this genre I'm pretty confident we can keep reading. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MomoC.Aug 27, 2009
Best movie I've seen all year. Amazing dialogue all round.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GiaD.Aug 27, 2009
Only second to JAckie Brown in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DariaGAug 28, 2009
I loved this movie. I will be going to see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradCAug 28, 2009
Subtle, beautiful, dense. One of Tarantino's best films. I was totally invested in the characters. Go and see it for yourself; you are smart enough to enjoy this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
marinaHAug 28, 2009
Well, to start I'm Jewish and I should have wanted a revenge movie but well even I felt sorry for German's. It was harsh and I am a big Tarantino fan. Overall I felt 2 1/2 hours was too short- I really wanted to know more about the Well, to start I'm Jewish and I should have wanted a revenge movie but well even I felt sorry for German's. It was harsh and I am a big Tarantino fan. Overall I felt 2 1/2 hours was too short- I really wanted to know more about the charters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidBAug 28, 2009
My favorite QT film since Pulp Fiction. Might be the best film that I've seen so far this year, as well. I didn't feel that any of the scenes were too long; the dialogue and pacing were absolutely perfect. A bit of gross violence My favorite QT film since Pulp Fiction. Might be the best film that I've seen so far this year, as well. I didn't feel that any of the scenes were too long; the dialogue and pacing were absolutely perfect. A bit of gross violence here and there, but nothing like the stylized gorefests of previous QT films. Well worth seeing on the big screen -- just be sure to hit the bathroom beforehand and buy a big bag of popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
loubAug 29, 2009
Not as clever as Pulp Fiction,but a future cult classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
danielw.Aug 29, 2009
Not perfect, but better than anything QT has done since Jackie Brown. Genre-mashing, but not incoherently so. Well-scripted set pieces, great dialogue, some great cinematography. Pitt's character jars somewhat, however, a cartoon Not perfect, but better than anything QT has done since Jackie Brown. Genre-mashing, but not incoherently so. Well-scripted set pieces, great dialogue, some great cinematography. Pitt's character jars somewhat, however, a cartoon character in a movie whose other characters are far more three-dimensional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HyperSAug 31, 2009
Bizarre story selection... but in a good unique kind of way. I was expecting a mindless Nazi killing fest, but there was actually a story in there with the Bastards, almost dare I say, just a minor backstory to a grander tale. The acting and Bizarre story selection... but in a good unique kind of way. I was expecting a mindless Nazi killing fest, but there was actually a story in there with the Bastards, almost dare I say, just a minor backstory to a grander tale. The acting and characters were great, the pace went by well, and aside from the music/rambo montage near the end involving the cinema owner (David Bowie song was it?) the film was pretty solid (for what it was.. which I'm still not sure what to make of it all other than reach the conclusion Tarantino has a weird mind). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonKAug 31, 2009
Easily his best since Pulp Fiction. I came in with serious doubts, and it still blew me away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CorinHAug 31, 2009
Very uniquely interwoven series of shorts are masterfully combined to form one of Tarantino's best. This movie explores into the realms of visceral satire that I've never before seen a director dare to go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillCAug 30, 2009
Classic Tarantino! You can see he has used all of his work to date to put together this masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveFAug 30, 2009
Wow wow wow wow wow this movie is a perfect 10! I can't stop thinking about it and I need to see it again...on Blu-ray anyway. I feel for all the negative reviewers.. they must be dead inside...no kidding everyone is entitled to their Wow wow wow wow wow this movie is a perfect 10! I can't stop thinking about it and I need to see it again...on Blu-ray anyway. I feel for all the negative reviewers.. they must be dead inside...no kidding everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartinSAug 31, 2009
I was surprised to see how many critics missed the point. This was simply a revenge fantasy and who better to bring it to us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NorbRAug 31, 2009
A lot of people sitting and talking, often with subtitles. The talking is occasionally livened up by acts of violence, many of which are familiar to the viewer from the film trailer. For some reason, the best part is the first scene, which A lot of people sitting and talking, often with subtitles. The talking is occasionally livened up by acts of violence, many of which are familiar to the viewer from the film trailer. For some reason, the best part is the first scene, which is mostly a bunch of sitting and talking, followed by a massacre. Huh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SebHSep 11, 2009
God Arch S, unless you're being ironic then you epitomise everything I hate about America. No, it's too hard to read the subtitles, who cares about experiencing beautiful languages and perhaps even learning something. That aside, God Arch S, unless you're being ironic then you epitomise everything I hate about America. No, it's too hard to read the subtitles, who cares about experiencing beautiful languages and perhaps even learning something. That aside, IB is so far my pick of 2009's blockbusters, possibly the best thing Tarantino has ever done alongside Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs (but this feels so much more coherent and cinematic than Pulp Fiction did, so it's hard to compare). It's just great cinema, everything from the characters to the violence to the humour to the soundtrack epically awesome. Nothing I have ever watched has been as satisfying as seeing Hitler's face be mashed up with machine gun bullets, and that's the genius of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoeSep 11, 2009
It was a good movie, but i was disappointed that it wasn't what i expect a war movie would be; more shooting, blood and gore, etc. very few action and too much conversation that i couldn't keep up with and the suspense was too long It was a good movie, but i was disappointed that it wasn't what i expect a war movie would be; more shooting, blood and gore, etc. very few action and too much conversation that i couldn't keep up with and the suspense was too long to actually to get to the good parts I liked. I can see how this is a good movie, good acting, etc. but i don't find that as what a good movie needs to be good. I assumed it was going to be more action than drama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulMSep 10, 2009
Fantastic. Definitely worth seeing multiple times. Don't expect a lot of action scenes or a great story. Go to see fantastic acting and cinematography. All Tarantino fans should see this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanSep 1, 2009
Many of the critics and viewers who gave this film bad reviews are missing the point. I was almost appalled to read one review by a writer that pegged the portrayal of the Jews as Nazi-esque. As an American Jew myself I know too well the Many of the critics and viewers who gave this film bad reviews are missing the point. I was almost appalled to read one review by a writer that pegged the portrayal of the Jews as Nazi-esque. As an American Jew myself I know too well the feeling of victimization and anger that came from learning of my people recent past (and my family's). The violence and gore in the movie was justified and not really overdone. That being said, the dialogue, while extensive, is excellent and I never felt bored during the film. I also felt that the style was like a mixing of spaghetti-western, WWII movie, and Shakespeare tragedy (yes, I said Shakespeare). I would recommend this movie highly to all of those open-minded folks that enjoy seeing a movie with a witty, yet gripping view of a tired and played out (and may I add mostly boring) genre of films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewZSep 12, 2009
Do not believe those reviewers who would say this film is boring. It is anything but. If you've got a handful of brain cells, it keeps you on the edge of your seat for the duration. For lovers of language and crisp dialogue, it Do not believe those reviewers who would say this film is boring. It is anything but. If you've got a handful of brain cells, it keeps you on the edge of your seat for the duration. For lovers of language and crisp dialogue, it doesn't get much better than this. All the major events in the film hang on a thin, ominous linguistic thread. Would be in a 10 if it weren't for the interruption of the clumsily-acted "Bear Jew". As bad as Eli Roth is in this role, Hans Landa is brilliant in his. If you've enjoyed past Tarantino films, I can almost guarantee you'll enjoy this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
samimSep 15, 2009
Another racist blatant pro blood revenge ridiculous movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CharlieD.Sep 2, 2009
Inglourious Basterds is a boiling pot of concepts. It has so many influences, it's almost impossible to list them all. The film is, in essence, a love letter to European cinema. This turns out to be the film's blessing and curse. Inglourious Basterds is a boiling pot of concepts. It has so many influences, it's almost impossible to list them all. The film is, in essence, a love letter to European cinema. This turns out to be the film's blessing and curse. Languid pacing, endless dialogue, brutal violence, odd camera choices, and out of era music don't add up to the eclectic sum that Tarantino had hoped for. There is some miscasting, such as Eli Roth as the "Bear Jew", who doesn't convey the menace that his role requires. However, Christoph Waltz is perfect as the clever and cruel Hans Landa. Brad Pitt does nicely as Aldo Raine, leader of the basterds. But in several instances, the all performers are weighed down by the amount of dialogue they must convey in however many languages. Ultimately, the film has too many personalities to know what it really wants to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JG.Sep 5, 2009
Really loved this movie and will pay to see it again. Beware though, you have to go in ready to accept it for what it is and not try to make it what its not. Its not Kill Bill. Its not Saving Private Ryan. Its a thing all its own and I Really loved this movie and will pay to see it again. Beware though, you have to go in ready to accept it for what it is and not try to make it what its not. Its not Kill Bill. Its not Saving Private Ryan. Its a thing all its own and I enjoyed every bit of its almost 3 hour running time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.Sep 5, 2009
I just came back from the theatre and although both of my parent loathed it, i found it just as captivating and excellent as the many other Tarintino film have seen. Keep in mind, this movie is not for the faint of heart, there are many I just came back from the theatre and although both of my parent loathed it, i found it just as captivating and excellent as the many other Tarintino film have seen. Keep in mind, this movie is not for the faint of heart, there are many graphic scenes that you would not think to be there from watching the trailer. But the violence and gore all have a more real look to it, much unlike the Kill Bill movies. all in all, i thought it was great, but not the best Tarintino movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronSep 8, 2009
Besides Brad Pitt's forced performance and his horribly exaggerated Southern accent, this is a terrific film. Tarantino has not lost his ear for great dialogue, and it comes across even in the subtitles. You may not really know what his Besides Brad Pitt's forced performance and his horribly exaggerated Southern accent, this is a terrific film. Tarantino has not lost his ear for great dialogue, and it comes across even in the subtitles. You may not really know what his point is by the end of the story, but it is nevertheless fascinating and a joy to watch. Also, props to Christoph Waltz's performance has Colonel Landa. Not only does he act in (four!) different languages, but he gives the typical, evil Nazi role a good dose of dry wit and humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlejandroFSep 8, 2009
Inglorious Bastards is one of the best movies I have seen. This movie comes with more then you expect. It is a film that is more then clever, it is brilliant, a masterpiece. The acting is extraordinaire. QT has a superb skill of Inglorious Bastards is one of the best movies I have seen. This movie comes with more then you expect. It is a film that is more then clever, it is brilliant, a masterpiece. The acting is extraordinaire. QT has a superb skill of cinematographic. He will continue making grate films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiegTSep 8, 2009
Grate film, good acting, best directing, excellent storyline. With this said, no more words are needed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
eliascSep 9, 2009
I have not been a Tarantino fan for quite a while. The promise of films like 'Reservoir Dogs' and 'Pulp Fiction' were never realized after 1994 with the exception of 'Jackie Brown. But with 'Inglorious I have not been a Tarantino fan for quite a while. The promise of films like 'Reservoir Dogs' and 'Pulp Fiction' were never realized after 1994 with the exception of 'Jackie Brown. But with 'Inglorious Basterds', Quentin Tarintino has returned. Once again he has written a film for actors, and though there is plenty of gratuitous violence to satisfy fans of blood and guts war movies, this a film about dialogue and acting at its best. Is it a war movie, a western, a fantasy? It does not matter. It is about Brad Pitts over-the-top acting as Lt Also Raine, Christoph Waltz's chillingly repugnant yet fascinating portrayal as Nazi Hans Landa, and the great performances by Melanie Laurent as French Jewish survivor Shosanna Dreyfus and Daniel Bruhl as the sniper war hero Fredrick Zoller. Thank you Quentin for giving us a movie where Jews are not victims and kill Nazis. It may not be history but your WWII fantasy brings to life the secret dreams of many an American Jewish boy growing up in the shadow of the Holocaust and bombarded by countless films of survivor guilt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackSSep 9, 2009
Inglorious Basterds is DEFINITELY one of the best movies I have seen in the past 10 years. Christoph Waltz plays an excellent role as colonol Landa and Brad Pitt also plays a very good role as Lt. Aldo Raine who, yes, made me laugh out loud Inglorious Basterds is DEFINITELY one of the best movies I have seen in the past 10 years. Christoph Waltz plays an excellent role as colonol Landa and Brad Pitt also plays a very good role as Lt. Aldo Raine who, yes, made me laugh out loud more than a few times throughout the movie. Yes, a completely twisted plot, but yet, about the most entertaining movie I have ever seen in the movie theatre. And please, give A BIG round of applause to Quentin Tarrantino who wrote and directed this breath-taking masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
odimitSep 9, 2009
Amazing Movie! Tarantino does not desappoint at all. Sad to have to read such ridiculous comments such as Arch S' who appears to be a self-centered american idiot unable to appreciatte a great film spoken in four beautiful languages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimonS.Jan 19, 2010
Masterfully executed. Its hard not to enjoy the film even if you're the type who doesn't like brutal violence in movies. It's also hard to deny the talent that is Tarentino.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.D.H.Jan 26, 2010
Simply awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TimDJan 27, 2010
This movie had its moments, but several scenes failed to maintain the tension their length demanded. The violence was entertaining, but overall, Tarantino needed to make this movie tighter. I frequently was bored waiting for the inevitable This movie had its moments, but several scenes failed to maintain the tension their length demanded. The violence was entertaining, but overall, Tarantino needed to make this movie tighter. I frequently was bored waiting for the inevitable conclusions of scenes. Not a bad movie, but a bit boring at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DudeG.Jan 27, 2010
Great Film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanG.Mar 27, 2010
Full blown awesome!!!! Tarantino returns to Hollywood with an action-packed thrill ride, with great performances, great action, and of couse, it's a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CJFJun 12, 2010
Trailers, misleading - they were funnier than the movie, Brad was great as usual, My God, The Subtitles, I am an old man, don't wanna read that much while I am trying to think! Some new stuff, the blow your jewels off triangle was great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RodrigoMNov 2, 2009
It's a good movie, but some dialogues are longer than it should be. I thought that tarantino should do more scenes with the bastards, and the scene on the bar got way to long. Brad Pitt accent is great, and Cristoph Waltz is It's a good movie, but some dialogues are longer than it should be. I thought that tarantino should do more scenes with the bastards, and the scene on the bar got way to long. Brad Pitt accent is great, and Cristoph Waltz is astonishing. If you're looking for action, don't go see the movie, but for a good story, it worth the ticket. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FilipeGNov 26, 2009
One of Tarantino's best so far! This movie wasn't made to entertain, but to feel what it shows, like a proper piece of art should. Most people don't understand this and keep on slandering it. It's full of small fancy One of Tarantino's best so far! This movie wasn't made to entertain, but to feel what it shows, like a proper piece of art should. Most people don't understand this and keep on slandering it. It's full of small fancy jokes and often destroys the idea that movies must be predictable and often amazes you with unnexpected sequences. A must-see for cinema art apreciators! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThiagoMNov 29, 2009
I agree with Clif C ! distric 9 and inglorious basterd are the best movies of a long time i might add ! not just this year ! and it shows me, once again, that i'm wasting my time checking for metacritic's scores...... this site I agree with Clif C ! distric 9 and inglorious basterd are the best movies of a long time i might add ! not just this year ! and it shows me, once again, that i'm wasting my time checking for metacritic's scores...... this site can't be useful when deciding what movie to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
mauriciolNov 6, 2009
Ok love quinton but the movie was a litle slow, sofor the second time and i went the movies again and saw it agian i twas much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RafaelL.Oct 19, 2009
Incredible, fun and extremely revolutionary. The best Tarantino's movie since "Pulp Fiction".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimHDec 21, 2009
While a bit tedious and plodding at times this film shows that Tarantino is above all else a great director. Dismiss all of the haters on here and see it for yourself to make up your own mind. A great entry movie for those wishing to see While a bit tedious and plodding at times this film shows that Tarantino is above all else a great director. Dismiss all of the haters on here and see it for yourself to make up your own mind. A great entry movie for those wishing to see more European cinema, and a fantastic Tarantino movie with great dialogue, tense scenes, great acting and an ending that makes you want to watch it again immediately. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mattfDec 20, 2009
10 of 10, 2 thumbs up tarantino has done it again, it was hilarious, people were dissapointed with it being so unrealistic, and you know what, the last time I checked its a fantasy movie and fantasy means fake. People gave it bad reviews for 10 of 10, 2 thumbs up tarantino has done it again, it was hilarious, people were dissapointed with it being so unrealistic, and you know what, the last time I checked its a fantasy movie and fantasy means fake. People gave it bad reviews for its cheesy violence that was not artistic but that is also the point. This movie has amazing acting and it was extremely funny I loved it, This movie may not have any character development on a few characters(such as Brad Pitt's) but that gives them a mystery that locks your brain in the production and you cant get out of your seat till the end, kind of like blare witch and peole love that movie even though there is no development of characters and there is almost no story, so Inglourious Basterds is one of my favorite movies, thank you Quentin Tarantino. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
douglassDec 25, 2009
Pretty standard fare for QT. I was a bit suprised where he decided to build up the tension.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AETOct 24, 2009
Average to good movie. Parts of it are great, parts of it are grotesque and the premise is offensive: Jews behaving like nazis. The sum of the parts leads to a weaker movie than it would have been if Tarantino was not so eccentric. He often Average to good movie. Parts of it are great, parts of it are grotesque and the premise is offensive: Jews behaving like nazis. The sum of the parts leads to a weaker movie than it would have been if Tarantino was not so eccentric. He often gets a pass for his style but you can't have one set of rules for all movies and another for this one. Either it is a great drama and a poor comedy or a great comedy and a poor drama. the potential Greatness of this movie was sabotaged by its own director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful