Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: August 21, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1389 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,112
Mixed:
114
Negative:
163
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JonathonYAug 28, 2009
People said it was the best Tarantino film to date. I disagree, although this movie was one of the best I have seen this year. I was looking for hilarious violence and story and was not dissatisfied.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DariaGAug 28, 2009
I loved this movie. I will be going to see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TobyH.Aug 27, 2009
Simply spellbinding. Tarantino sure knows how to tell a story. Waltz was brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimLAug 27, 2009
A delicious film for any QT fan. Totally absorbing and beautifully shot, with fine acting performances. A true multi-layered masterpeice. why did so many people hate this? madness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThierryKAug 27, 2009
I've seen this movie today and wow! I did not expected i was going to see a masterpiece, the conversations, the actions ,the humour(especially when brad pitt talked italian, it whas really hilarious!). Overall, it is certainly the best I've seen this movie today and wow! I did not expected i was going to see a masterpiece, the conversations, the actions ,the humour(especially when brad pitt talked italian, it whas really hilarious!). Overall, it is certainly the best movie to date, especially with all the nobrain action movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GiaD.Aug 27, 2009
Only second to JAckie Brown in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MomoC.Aug 27, 2009
Best movie I've seen all year. Amazing dialogue all round.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
davidd.Aug 27, 2009
I notice that some people did not appreciate the brilliance of this movie. They need to get their heads checked. This is a complicated, historically intricate, audacious and intense film. And, yes, you need to be able to READ during the I notice that some people did not appreciate the brilliance of this movie. They need to get their heads checked. This is a complicated, historically intricate, audacious and intense film. And, yes, you need to be able to READ during the film. Lots. It's called "hooked on phonics," go try it. Anyways, the best movie of the year. It will make you tense, excited, laugh, cry, and cheer, and walk out with tremendous pride to be an American--because we have the freedom to produce this kind of art and be able to appreciate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BeryD.Aug 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this movie. It was no where near what I was expecting, but in a good way. Christoph Waltz deserves an oscar nomination for his impressive performance. The only complaint I have is the farmhouse and bar scenes seemed a little I really enjoyed this movie. It was no where near what I was expecting, but in a good way. Christoph Waltz deserves an oscar nomination for his impressive performance. The only complaint I have is the farmhouse and bar scenes seemed a little on the long side...but they were still engaging to watch on account of the dialogue. But everything else was awesome: the acting, carnage and story. Very impressive movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrendonF.Aug 26, 2009
Action packed, beautifully written and beyond unique. Tarantino delivers another classic. However, subtitles were far too excessive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GilY.Aug 26, 2009
Hitler getting shot in the face. What more could you ask for?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
billc.Aug 26, 2009
A 6 rating is probably more in my mind, but certain things are to be expected in a Torintino film and you shouldn't complain about it. The writing is not up to Pulp Fiction, the violence seems too grafic, but the actors did a great job. A 6 rating is probably more in my mind, but certain things are to be expected in a Torintino film and you shouldn't complain about it. The writing is not up to Pulp Fiction, the violence seems too grafic, but the actors did a great job. The premise, or plot is what weakened the film IMO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradleyT.Aug 26, 2009
Basterds is an amazing blend of gravity, absurdity, and gore. White the the violent action sequences are well-crafted and thoroughly exciting, it is the dialog that drives the movie and earns the violence. Contrary to many reviews, the Basterds is an amazing blend of gravity, absurdity, and gore. White the the violent action sequences are well-crafted and thoroughly exciting, it is the dialog that drives the movie and earns the violence. Contrary to many reviews, the non-action scenes are far from boring. Tarantino uses language to build tension in each scene. While the dialog-heavy scenes are long, each one is infused a sense that anything can happen. This plus high stakes makes every second of Basterds a thrill to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CreyosAug 26, 2009
Best movie I've ever seen. Simple.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickPAug 25, 2009
A fantastic movie from start to finish. Tarantino draws out the tension like no one else. Superb acting, twists of fate, and a blast of an ending. I will see this again, probably very soon. It's only drawn out for people with short A fantastic movie from start to finish. Tarantino draws out the tension like no one else. Superb acting, twists of fate, and a blast of an ending. I will see this again, probably very soon. It's only drawn out for people with short attention spans, and disdain for plots committed to characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TresSAug 25, 2009
I over heard a guy leaving the movie that said "what a rip off, where was the violence?" I think that's what a lot of disappointed Tarantino fans were expecting with Inglorious Basterds. But they should be praising this film for the I over heard a guy leaving the movie that said "what a rip off, where was the violence?" I think that's what a lot of disappointed Tarantino fans were expecting with Inglorious Basterds. But they should be praising this film for the superior writing, superb acting and beautiful cinematography. Also the story is much less disjointed than most of Tarantino's work. Every movie from QT will not be Pulp fiction and we shouldn't expect it to be. What we should expect is what we got with Inglorious Basterds, another fantastic story from one of Hollywood's absolute best directors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisFritzAug 25, 2009
This is Tarantino's best movie since Pulp Fiction. Great visuals and, unlike the Kill Bill's, great dialogue. For a world as visual as ours, one cannot be surprised at people being bored by the dialogue. It has great writing. IThis is Tarantino's best movie since Pulp Fiction. Great visuals and, unlike the Kill Bill's, great dialogue. For a world as visual as ours, one cannot be surprised at people being bored by the dialogue. It has great writing. I just think people expected a war movie full of action and got something different. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarkTAug 25, 2009
Most probably the best Q.T. has presented to us yet, in what I feel will be a long and glorious film career. I thought the film references were right on top as I chucked myself silly throughout the picture. It's O.K. if you didn't Most probably the best Q.T. has presented to us yet, in what I feel will be a long and glorious film career. I thought the film references were right on top as I chucked myself silly throughout the picture. It's O.K. if you didn't get them - the movie was outstanding farce anyway. For those who did not get this movie - it was because you probably because it contained everything a Taratino movie needs; great dialogue, beautiful cinematography, good acting (Colonel Landa was Brilliant!) all with the director's tongue firmly in cheek. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MannyA.Aug 25, 2009
Incredible movie, absolutely loved it from beginning to end. Great story, great characters, it's just so much fun and entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanSAug 25, 2009
Knowing what you're going into from the previews, and overall excellent film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
seajayAug 25, 2009
I expected a dumb action film like "Kill Bill" and instead got a film as suspenseful as Hitchcock's best. And I confess I found the revisionist climax strangely satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkBAug 25, 2009
This is the best QT movie ever and the best movie of the year so far. It is one of the few movies that I would consider seeing multiple times in the theater. My wife who does not usually enjoy violent movies liked it so much she wants to seeThis is the best QT movie ever and the best movie of the year so far. It is one of the few movies that I would consider seeing multiple times in the theater. My wife who does not usually enjoy violent movies liked it so much she wants to see it again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DavidV.Aug 25, 2009
Great movie. If you've seen a Tarantino movie before you'd know the acting and dialogue make the movie more than the action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaymondK.Aug 25, 2009
Spellbinding dialogue...very cleverly constructed. Didn't even need the action to succeed. 153 minutes were insufficient...didn't want it to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormG.Aug 24, 2009
Because of the dreck posing as comedies in the cinemas these days Inglourious Basterds hits you like a fresh breeze of creativity. Bet you never heard a Quentin Tarantino film thusly described. This completely fictional piece of World War II
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NedV.Aug 24, 2009
I could give this a 9 for only two reasons: 1. Eli Roth 2. I read the original script. In the original script, Chapter 3, "A German Night in Paris", was indicated at the beginning, "This section of the movie will be shot entirely in black I could give this a 9 for only two reasons: 1. Eli Roth 2. I read the original script. In the original script, Chapter 3, "A German Night in Paris", was indicated at the beginning, "This section of the movie will be shot entirely in black and white 'French New Wave' style." I'm really disappointed Tarantino didn't follow through on that. But those are quibbles. how can I not give this movie a 10??? SEE IT. (Among the surprises for me was how patriotic it was. Everyone clapped at the end, and this was in lib central (NYC). God Bless America!!!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanM.Aug 24, 2009
If you love to laugh at accents, this movie could not be any funnier. The only reason it isn't a 10 for me is the fact that I would have liked to see a few more lines out of Brad Pitt. They were careful not to overload him (which could If you love to laugh at accents, this movie could not be any funnier. The only reason it isn't a 10 for me is the fact that I would have liked to see a few more lines out of Brad Pitt. They were careful not to overload him (which could be very easy given the "strength" of his accent), but i think they may have been too frugal with his appearance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomBAug 24, 2009
Definitely Tarantino's own take on a WW2 film; Great characters and clever storyline that will keep your attention. The movie can feel somewhat slow in certain scenes and rewrites some aspects of history. Nevertheless, when it delivers Definitely Tarantino's own take on a WW2 film; Great characters and clever storyline that will keep your attention. The movie can feel somewhat slow in certain scenes and rewrites some aspects of history. Nevertheless, when it delivers it does so in a big way. The more I think about it the more I want to go see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OscarF.Aug 24, 2009
This movie shows the unearthly talent of director Quentin Tarantino. This movie is hilarious, violent, and so good that whoever misses it, would die without experiencing real filmaking. Cristopher Waltz is a great actor and deserves the This movie shows the unearthly talent of director Quentin Tarantino. This movie is hilarious, violent, and so good that whoever misses it, would die without experiencing real filmaking. Cristopher Waltz is a great actor and deserves the academy award for best supporting actor! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkD.Aug 24, 2009
Awesome experience - Tarantino takes you on a ride. I cannot stop thinking about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillySingerleAug 24, 2009
Stanley Kubrick once said "If you can describe it, I can film it." With Inglourious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino takes pretending and captures that magic on film. The exuberance with each scene is like going to the movies for the first time asStanley Kubrick once said "If you can describe it, I can film it." With Inglourious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino takes pretending and captures that magic on film. The exuberance with each scene is like going to the movies for the first time as a child, where imagination fills the screen with awe and amazement. Don't ever grow up, Quentin, your joy in making films makes films worth going to see!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeN.Aug 24, 2009
This is one in a long line of classics by Tarrantino. It is a cinematic masterpiece. I loved this movie from the begining to the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
bartons.Aug 24, 2009
Save for its subject matter, this is the most reserved and singular vision Tarantino has had since Reservoir Dogs. That
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
stuartwAug 24, 2009
They claimed it was Tarrantino back to his best but i left feling a little underwhelmed. The start of the film begins with a homage to Sergio leone's 'The good, the bad and the ugly.' It's a tense beginning, the nazis They claimed it was Tarrantino back to his best but i left feling a little underwhelmed. The start of the film begins with a homage to Sergio leone's 'The good, the bad and the ugly.' It's a tense beginning, the nazis searching a house for jews and the officer reminded me of the child catcher in Chitty, chitty bang bang. This scene sets the film up well and you feel that this is going to be a classic. Let me point out that three quarters of the film is subtitled and features long winded conversations that don't really add a lot to the plot. The acting, in particular the character of 'the jew hunter' is very good. Brad Pitt's character is at times funny but isn't the most memorable. the film looks beautiful as does every Tarrantino film. I thought Mike Myers character was very well acted and brought about an 'Ah!' factor when realising who he was. I feel that the reviews of this film have been a little generous, but that's just my opinion. A shame really, could have been so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickS.Aug 24, 2009
QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 point for letting Mike Myers near this movie. I went for a bathroom break so i didn't have to squirm in my seat. Absolute brilliance through and through. Well done Quentin, Jolly Good show old bean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
martinAug 24, 2009
Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is classic Tarantino dialogue. The three main characters are all terrific, with the lesser known stars, the Austrian Actor who plays the Nazi and the French Actress playing Shoshanna giving Oscar Worthy performances, and Brad Pitt is hilarious. This film probably deserves repeat viewings, as do all Tarantino films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexAug 24, 2009
Tarantino's best, sometimes it was long-winded, but it was hilarious suspenseful, satirical, A very enjoyable movie, going to see it once more next week.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanAug 24, 2009
Definitely the best movie I've seen this year... As for anonymous, I call his bullshit, my theatre was packed and not one person left. If they walked out I guess they really wanted to see GI Joe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewLAug 24, 2009
Best since Pulp Fiction. Typical of Tarantino movies the opening scene is so engaging you can't turn away. You people are morons and need to get back to your reality shows if you can't appreciate something original.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SimonXAug 24, 2009
This is such a great movie! Christoph Waltz is unbelievably good in the role of Landa. The audiences applaused in the end and I enjoyed every single minute of this masterpiece. By the way, I'm German.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonDAug 24, 2009
Another great Tarantino flick. Funny, violent, and utterly entertaining. There are some parts that drag a little but everything else makes up for it. Brad Pitt was outstanding as well as Christopher Waltz.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GuyGAug 24, 2009
Amazing acting and directing. Somewhat slow - But, it's Tarantino, so get used to that. The opening scene was amazingly dramatic! The main character had an amazing performance!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BenAug 24, 2009
Best movie I have seen in the cinema this year. Up there with Pulp Fiction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkSAug 24, 2009
I enjoyed this movie very much. I've been a Q.T. fan for as long as he's making movies. Although, this isn't as good as his crowning achievement, Pulp Fiction, it comes in as a close second. My friend feels that it started I enjoyed this movie very much. I've been a Q.T. fan for as long as he's making movies. Although, this isn't as good as his crowning achievement, Pulp Fiction, it comes in as a close second. My friend feels that it started slowly, and then it was awesome. I thought it was great from start to finish. The dialogue was excellent. Scenes were often funny, but extremely intense at the same time. Brad Pitt speaking Eye-Tallian almost made me spray soda out of my nose. Great acting, action, and dialogue with classic Tarantino sprinkled throughout the film. If you're a Q.T. fan, you should check out this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidAug 23, 2009
Tarantino is a genius. This movie is as great as Pulp Fiction. I've seen it twice already.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArmandoPAug 23, 2009
Tarantino's movies are always a masterpiece! he is unique, this movie is like a adrenaline explosion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Aug 23, 2009
At the gala premiere of "Nation's Pride", Fredrick Zoller(Daniel Bruhl), a Nazi war hero turned actor, reaches a point in which the gratuitous killing becomes too much for him, and has to look away. Movie mogul Joseph Goebbels(Sylvester At the gala premiere of "Nation's Pride", Fredrick Zoller(Daniel Bruhl), a Nazi war hero turned actor, reaches a point in which the gratuitous killing becomes too much for him, and has to look away. Movie mogul Joseph Goebbels(Sylvester Groth) based a movie on Zoller's exploits because Adolph Hitler's Reichminister of Propaganda loves spectacle(Zoller had gunned down over three-hundred American soldiers from a bell tower); he's described as Hollywood mogul David O. Selznick earlier in the film, so maybe this is his "Gone With the Wind". In the theater, Goebbels and the Fuhrer laugh without consciousness at the rising body count, but not Zoller, who derives no pleasure from filmic violence. The Nazi soldier's revulsion towards his own part in the massacre supports the validity of the Nuremberg Defense, which states that the man on trial was "only following orders". Moreover, Zoller is in a position of moral superiority over us, the moviegoers watching "Inglourious Basterds", who have in common with Adolph Hitler, the ability to express amusement over movie violence. The filmmaker makes us complicit. The filmmaker shows us Zoller's vulnerable side, his humanity, as Steven Spielberg did in "Schindler's List", when Amon Goethe(Ralph Fiennes) expresses his love for Helen, his personal servant, played by Embeth Davidz. Zoller's humanity leads him to the projection room where Shosanna Dreyfus(Melanie Laurent), the object of the Nazi soldier's affection, repels his charms in cold blood. While the soldier's body lies motionless near the door, Shosanna glances at the screen, at Zoller, who lives on, flickering, and looking particularly noble, and decent, in close-up. "Nation's Pride" seduces her. After all, it's a propaganda film. Like us, who responded to Goeth's romantic angst, Shosanna is made discognizant by the rhetorical world of the diegesis, and confuses the filmic Zoller for the real thing, lying in her projection room. And pays for it. This action recalls the mistake Cecilia(Mia Farrow) commits in Woody Allen's "The Purple Rose of Cairo". Like the Depression-era waitress, Shosanna falls for the wrong man; the real man, instead of the idea of the man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickKAug 23, 2009
What I love about Tarantino is his ability to take the standard cliche-filled movie genre and inject it with the action/wit/gore that only he knows. This movie blows standard WW2 movies out of the water.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabbyG.Aug 23, 2009
Tarantino didn't disappoint me he delivered as usual. Awesome movie good story line. my heart was pounding the last 20 minutes its been a while since a film has done that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamieFAug 23, 2009
Pretty good. Found that the Shosanna Dreyfus plotline was unnecessary. Aldo Raine's (Brad Pitt) scenes upstaged her, and the dark comedic effect blows the dramatic mood that she works hard to set. Her role should've been removed or Pretty good. Found that the Shosanna Dreyfus plotline was unnecessary. Aldo Raine's (Brad Pitt) scenes upstaged her, and the dark comedic effect blows the dramatic mood that she works hard to set. Her role should've been removed or minimalized for Brad Pitt's character to continue to shine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyDAug 23, 2009
Fantastic! Tarantino's made his masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregoryPAug 23, 2009
I've yet to give my opinion of a film ever online. But Quentins' WWII movie Basterds is pure film making at it's best. It is Cinema, don't be fooled by the less then stellar reviews you may see, they are just plain wrong; I've yet to give my opinion of a film ever online. But Quentins' WWII movie Basterds is pure film making at it's best. It is Cinema, don't be fooled by the less then stellar reviews you may see, they are just plain wrong; missing the point entirely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichRAug 23, 2009
Hilarious script and dialogue and acting, just what I expected. For some reason, I laughed at this movie more than anyone else in the theatre. I loved it. For all the crummy reviews, nobody left the theatre until it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonG.Aug 23, 2009
This movie is what the pleasure of movie going is all about. Not only it didn't disappoint but generously exceeded my expectations and raised the bar for future Tarantino movies. 5 big thumb-up stars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkBAug 23, 2009
A movie with fortitude.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennyHAug 23, 2009
I wasn't sure about going to this because of the violent nature of some of QT films. I don't like having to cover my eyes through large parts of movies! However, IG wasn't very bad in this regard and only a few questionable I wasn't sure about going to this because of the violent nature of some of QT films. I don't like having to cover my eyes through large parts of movies! However, IG wasn't very bad in this regard and only a few questionable scenes. Other than that, I absolutely LOVED THIS MOVIE! The theater broke out in applause...my husband who is super picky love it... It was thoroughly, thoroughly entertaining. Definitely go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyDAug 23, 2009
Incredible! Col. Landa had the best performance in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinLAug 23, 2009
Amazing movie. If this isn't Tarantino's masterpiece, I can't wait to see what is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BootieH.Aug 23, 2009
Maybe not QT's best but dang close. Can't wait to see it again in the theater and of course on DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
M.RomanAug 23, 2009
Having read the leaked screenplay, I was a bit apprehensive going into IG. On the page, the film felt mostly flat and convoluted. A few scenes bore the QT stamp of genius, but the sum total didn't seem to reach its potential. I'm Having read the leaked screenplay, I was a bit apprehensive going into IG. On the page, the film felt mostly flat and convoluted. A few scenes bore the QT stamp of genius, but the sum total didn't seem to reach its potential. I'm happy to say the film is better than the script. Tarantino is so lauded as a writer that we often forget his visual prowess, and, more importantly, his work with actors. The success of IG is due largely to some stunning performances, mostly by the European actors. Waltz is as good as the critics say: barbaric, witty, multi-dimensional. The movie is worth seeing alone for his giddy turn as Nazi opportunist. Diane Kruger's performance will likely go overlooked, but she is sizzling as German actress Bridget von Hammersmark. Brad Pitt is a weak link in the cast, but he's adequate and occasionally funny in his campy role as Lt. Raine. ((minor spoiler)) My biggest complaint is that the doubling of two key third act plots diminishes both. In what should be the most suspenseful moments of the film, there is little suspense because, in essence, we have two groups trying to achieve the same goal. One will surely succeed if the other fails. Never do the two plots (Basterds/Dreyfus) contravene, which feels like a lost opportunity. At the very least, there's a whole lot of bloody revenge and some much needed, albeit revisionist, catharis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanW.Aug 23, 2009
One of the best films I've ever seen. This is gloriously entertaining that only the magnificent Tarantino could make.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jefye.Aug 23, 2009
Awesome, beautiful photography and great moments of tension especially the first chapter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerH.Aug 23, 2009
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamRAug 23, 2009
Not quite in the same class as Pulp Fiction, but definitely his second best and funniest film to date!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DecRAug 23, 2009
If you don't get Tarantino then don't bother seeing this movie, if you do then prepare to be mind blown! The man has hit a new peak!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyS.Aug 22, 2009
This movie was absolutely Brilliant. I loved every second of it. I am glad that I didn't read any of these reviews because clearly they weren't watching the same movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobAug 22, 2009
It's about time. Glouriously entertaining. Tarantino pulls it off and potentially leaves many looking for an inner meaning very confused. Brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeAug 22, 2009
Amazing! A masterpiece! Best movie of the Decade!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Dr.GhettoblasterAug 22, 2009
The movie is absolutely brilliant. I now rank his top 3 films as such. 1. Pulp Fiction 2. Inglorious Basterds 3. Reservoir Dogs Yes, it's THAT good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigN.Aug 22, 2009
Excellent move, take a wacky fictional ww2 tale, tack on just enough action, witty dialogue and humor, lastly add that tarantino spice and your have inglorious basterds another excellent tarantino film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickC.Aug 22, 2009
QT's best. I can't wait to see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffS.Aug 22, 2009
Like Kill Bill and Pulp Fiction, this is a masterpiece; a movie to be savored and enjoyed one mesmerizing frame at a time. Both audiences I was with clapped at the end (I stayed an watched it again). Quentin's brilliance is in full Like Kill Bill and Pulp Fiction, this is a masterpiece; a movie to be savored and enjoyed one mesmerizing frame at a time. Both audiences I was with clapped at the end (I stayed an watched it again). Quentin's brilliance is in full shine in IB; his love for the craft and art of cinema is evident. The casting, the writing, the production, that acting! What a great, great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisF.Aug 22, 2009
The most creative and entertaining film I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NDLAug 22, 2009
Inglourious basterds is a QT Masterpiece Thank god I didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Aug 22, 2009
This is a work of cinematic genius. QT's writing, directing, and overall knowledge of film, has given us a work of art that is a perfect throw back to films of substance. His BEST work, hands down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeK.Aug 22, 2009
I enjoyed myself from beginning to end. I didn't go to the bathroom for 2 1/2 hours - my personal tribute to Quentin. If you're looking to be educated, go back to school. If morality is your thing, go to church. If you just want to I enjoyed myself from beginning to end. I didn't go to the bathroom for 2 1/2 hours - my personal tribute to Quentin. If you're looking to be educated, go back to school. If morality is your thing, go to church. If you just want to have a good time, go see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackF.Aug 22, 2009
An enthralling, beautifully shot movie. Tarantino has no fear using foreign languages and challenging American audiences. Well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimSteffelAug 22, 2009
Suspenseful storyline, laugh-outloud funny dialogue, and visually interesting scenes; this movie is vintage Tarentino. Great movie, loved it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JonB.Aug 22, 2009
It's good Nazi killing fun thats full of violence, shocks, and laughter. You either like Quentin Tarantino movies or you don't...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayC.Aug 22, 2009
If you're a Tarantino fan you'll love it. If not, don't even bother.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnnB.Aug 22, 2009
One of Quentin's best. I wasn't sure I'd like it, but the film had much more than action and gore. Along with other people in the audience, we had a couple of laughs. Inappropriate? Maybe, but still twistedly funny in parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UjnH.Aug 22, 2009
Classic QT! Does not disappoint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveG.Aug 22, 2009
I loved this movie, but its not for everyone. People who are put off by "gratuitous" violence will be equally put off by the film. The film is a deft combination of a spaghetti western and a WW2 mission movie. I am no huge Brad Pitt fan, but I loved this movie, but its not for everyone. People who are put off by "gratuitous" violence will be equally put off by the film. The film is a deft combination of a spaghetti western and a WW2 mission movie. I am no huge Brad Pitt fan, but his turn as Lt. Aldo Raine is fun to watch. Christophe Waltz is terrific as the villainous Nazi Jew hunter. The movie is gory at times and definitely over the top, in a similar way as was the original "Inglorious Bastards" from 1978, which Tarantino's film shares only the the title (mostly), time and location (France in WW2). But its a hell of a roller coaster ride with a wonderfully ironic ending. I loved this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JionS.Aug 22, 2009
amazing movie, best tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. I cant believe some critics are reviewing this flick poorly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanAug 22, 2009
Fantastic film all-around. Wonderfully detailed, superb acting, and a great deal of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackG.Aug 22, 2009
On a first impression... this is second only to Pulp Fiction. This is Tarantino making rules just to break them, and maybe make up new ones again. It's also one of the few films this year you'll be able to call true art. This On a first impression... this is second only to Pulp Fiction. This is Tarantino making rules just to break them, and maybe make up new ones again. It's also one of the few films this year you'll be able to call true art. This doesn't mean it will please everybody. This is definitely not a *crowdpleaser*, though I'm sure a lot of crowds will be pleased. It's about taking apart the absurd but very real atrocities of war- both the Nazis and good ol' American barbarism- and putting it all together in a movie theater. Talk about microcosm! The final line may just be hubris, or it may just be about right: it's a masterpiece; how you feel about the master is up to you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RCRAug 22, 2009
A great film for film-fans. It's no secret Tarantino is a voracious student of film and Basterds, more than any other project of his, is a love letter to the medium.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaximillianL.Aug 22, 2009
This movie was simply amazing. Tarantino works his magic once again. All of the actors and actresses gave stellar performances, especially Christopher Waltz whose acting in this film was some of the best I've seen in recent memory. This This movie was simply amazing. Tarantino works his magic once again. All of the actors and actresses gave stellar performances, especially Christopher Waltz whose acting in this film was some of the best I've seen in recent memory. This film ranks as #2b on my list of favorite Tarantino films with #1 being Jackie Brown and #2a being Pulp Fiction. Amazing story, amazing performances, amazing movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidO.Aug 22, 2009
Many of the press reviewrs have completely misjudged this. Embarrasingly so. This may be Tarantino's best film since Jackie Brown. Engrossing, enthralling, superb entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanO.Aug 22, 2009
Christoph Waltz's performance is worth the movie ticket alone. Basterds is one of the most entertaining movies of the summer. The trailer and commercials do not market the movie correctly, so I should warn action movie fans that this Christoph Waltz's performance is worth the movie ticket alone. Basterds is one of the most entertaining movies of the summer. The trailer and commercials do not market the movie correctly, so I should warn action movie fans that this isn't some display of mindless violence. However, with that being said, Quentin Tarantino has managed to create a punching bag for all of the people who get angry thinking about what the Nazis have done. If you want a great blend of humor, action, drama, and great acting...go see this movie... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Aug 22, 2009
Brilliantly executed sadism. Disturbing. The people laughing in the theater made me feel dirty and ashamed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanH.Aug 22, 2009
Quentin Tarantino outdoes himself and delivers his finest film to date.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnH.Aug 21, 2009
Fans of Tarantino's other films (particularly Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs) will like this. This isn't as good as Pulp Fiction, but it certainly beats his other stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JosephS.Aug 21, 2009
All the actors & actresses did a great job of acting. Waltz deserves an Oscar for his portrayal of the wicked,very intelligent, clever Colonel Hans Landa, Brad Pitt is absolutely highly amusing and charismatic as ever. It is a thrilling All the actors & actresses did a great job of acting. Waltz deserves an Oscar for his portrayal of the wicked,very intelligent, clever Colonel Hans Landa, Brad Pitt is absolutely highly amusing and charismatic as ever. It is a thrilling movie thanks to the greatness of Quentin Tarantino,who may very well be on his way to capture an Oscar. I am not a fan of having to read subtitles, others may feel the same that is why I am rating it a 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulL.Aug 21, 2009
This movie is Quentin's best. This movie has culture, no America f**k yea, in this one. This film is especially for those of you who are intelligent enough to speak more than one language. Key word in this though, is fiction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MauricioS.Aug 21, 2009
This is a very slow, deliberately paced movie, so if you have no attention span, go drool over GI Joe. Fans of Tarrantino and those with an eye for style will appreciate the subtle layers in the long scenes, and their payoff, the grand orgy This is a very slow, deliberately paced movie, so if you have no attention span, go drool over GI Joe. Fans of Tarrantino and those with an eye for style will appreciate the subtle layers in the long scenes, and their payoff, the grand orgy of violence that is the climax.The female lead, Shoshannah, is a deadly vixen, the sexiest woman I've ever seen in a film. Halfway through the movie you will find a Mexican standoff that is like the climax of Reservoir Dogs times 10. But one Tarrantino trademark is missing...sure, there's the obligatory close-up of a bare female foot, but where's the 'camera in the trunk of a car, looking out shot' that's in all his other movies? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleF.Aug 21, 2009
This definitely ranked up with pulp fiction in my opinion. loved the move. On a side note Dave S, most of us had relatives or someone that fought in WW2. I had 3 relatives that died on D Day and i didn't find this movie offensive in the least.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerH.Aug 21, 2009
Amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanWAug 21, 2009
Long in some parts, but overall an amazing film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeggyBAug 21, 2009
Great from beginning to end! Some gore I had to look away from but overall absolutely absorbing and entertaining.
0 of 1 users found this helpful