Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: August 21, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1413 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,133
Mixed:
115
Negative:
165
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DarrylF.Aug 21, 2009
This is the best Tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. It's the kind of movie that you want see again right after it ends. It was highly enjoyable...and it was better than kill bill 1 & 2 combined (although I still loved both of those This is the best Tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. It's the kind of movie that you want see again right after it ends. It was highly enjoyable...and it was better than kill bill 1 & 2 combined (although I still loved both of those movies). Totally worth the wait. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeggyBAug 21, 2009
Great from beginning to end! Some gore I had to look away from but overall absolutely absorbing and entertaining.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanWAug 21, 2009
Long in some parts, but overall an amazing film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BillySingerleAug 24, 2009
Stanley Kubrick once said "If you can describe it, I can film it." With Inglourious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino takes pretending and captures that magic on film. The exuberance with each scene is like going to the movies for the first time asStanley Kubrick once said "If you can describe it, I can film it." With Inglourious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino takes pretending and captures that magic on film. The exuberance with each scene is like going to the movies for the first time as a child, where imagination fills the screen with awe and amazement. Don't ever grow up, Quentin, your joy in making films makes films worth going to see!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkBAug 25, 2009
This is the best QT movie ever and the best movie of the year so far. It is one of the few movies that I would consider seeing multiple times in the theater. My wife who does not usually enjoy violent movies liked it so much she wants to seeThis is the best QT movie ever and the best movie of the year so far. It is one of the few movies that I would consider seeing multiple times in the theater. My wife who does not usually enjoy violent movies liked it so much she wants to see it again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 22, 2011
I really liked it but I felt that the long run time resulted in some boring parts and it brought down the value of the film a bit. Also it relied far too much on violence instead of building on the fantastic cast that was hired for the film.I really liked it but I felt that the long run time resulted in some boring parts and it brought down the value of the film a bit. Also it relied far too much on violence instead of building on the fantastic cast that was hired for the film. Still, Its a great war film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Khunter4382Dec 1, 2011
Another superb Tarantino film! The performances are all top-notch and yes, Waltz is as pitch-perfect as ever in his role. The dialogue in this film is so interesting and I found myself listening intently to what every character had to say,Another superb Tarantino film! The performances are all top-notch and yes, Waltz is as pitch-perfect as ever in his role. The dialogue in this film is so interesting and I found myself listening intently to what every character had to say, which is present in every Tarantino film. The cinematography is spectacular. At several points this movie gets crazy and then it scales back into it's lighter finesse, but all the while it remains engrossing. I did feel it got a tad bogged down here and there, but overall this is a very very fine picture! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
islandOct 15, 2011
Loved the film, mainly because of the characters. They are lovable and adorable (if it's not weird to say this while talking about a war movie). The director (Tarantino) did a great job.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
LuizCCNov 15, 2011
Another brilliant movie in Tarantino's style. Showing us another point of view to the 2 World War, we get on a trip inside the Inglorious Bastards crew, jew's trained to blow up the Nazi head, and in the mind of the full-of-revenge jewAnother brilliant movie in Tarantino's style. Showing us another point of view to the 2 World War, we get on a trip inside the Inglorious Bastards crew, jew's trained to blow up the Nazi head, and in the mind of the full-of-revenge jew Shosanna Dreyfus, that wants to revenge her family, killed by the crazy SS coronel Hans Landa. With great cast (special applauses for Christoph Waltz, Daine Kruger and Melánie Laurent) and a bloody story, we get again, the best from Tarantino. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
I'll admit, this movie scared me. Quentin Tarantino never disappoints. At the start of the movie I was on the Basterd's side. Wait, did anyone noticed that bastards is spelled wrong? Doesn't matter, this is a movie not a book. I was aI'll admit, this movie scared me. Quentin Tarantino never disappoints. At the start of the movie I was on the Basterd's side. Wait, did anyone noticed that bastards is spelled wrong? Doesn't matter, this is a movie not a book. I was a semi-fan of all the violence and the blood. The scalping of the Nazi's head did disturb me at first but after the first one I was okay. Critics always say that adding action and special effects is like a gimmick to lure in audiences. But the action and blood in this movie isn't the case. If this movie was less tamed and not as graphic it still would be an awesome movie. But what I am not a fan of is adding two different story lines. They meet up at the end but there still two seprate story lines. I also found it interesting that as the plot was building up we where introduced to the morals and values that the Basterds had. I found myself routing for the Nazis. But that's how Quentin Tarantino does his movies, with a plot that doesn't introduce a villain. My favorite part was the bar scene. It was trilling because I had no idea if someone was going to fire. Overall, this film is very well written and directed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Mar 31, 2013
Quentin Tarantino is one of those people you either love or hate. It's his unique stories and methodical attention to detail that have always stood out to me. For all you haters out there, the one thing you can't deny is Tarantino's uniqueQuentin Tarantino is one of those people you either love or hate. It's his unique stories and methodical attention to detail that have always stood out to me. For all you haters out there, the one thing you can't deny is Tarantino's unique ability to bring out the best in everyone he works with, and that is why many times, the cast members of his films earn Oscar nominations. Inglourious Basterds is another uniquely strange story that just works, because of Tarantino. As has become his signature, the story is broken up into seemingly unrelated stories that all come together in a terrific ending. The story centers around a group of Jewish-American soldiers in World War II, whose assignment was to go into France, undercover, and track down and slaughter Nazis. It's a terrific cast led by Brad Pitt, but to me he wasn't so much the star of this film, that honor belongs to Christopher Waltz, who in his first major role, did win the Oscar for best supporting actor. It's a strong story and a great film, but something bothered me about it. Inglourious Basterds is of course a fictional story, so the attention to detail, such as having everyone speaking in their native languages, seemed someone unnecessary to me. That combined with subtitles that moved at the speed of light, made the story somewhat hard for me to follow. That's why I watched it a few times before reviewing it. There is no denying that this is one hell of a story with another tremendous cast, that deserved every award that it's won, however Tarantino's attention to detail, usually a strength, did take away from the film, as a whole, and did make some parts difficult to follow. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Patrick94Jan 4, 2013
Brilliant film. Probably not a "must-see" but certainly worth your money. The combination of humor and more serious elements in the film is great, I loved it. Certain parts, particularly towards the end are a little crazy, but they won't takeBrilliant film. Probably not a "must-see" but certainly worth your money. The combination of humor and more serious elements in the film is great, I loved it. Certain parts, particularly towards the end are a little crazy, but they won't take away from how good this film is Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
TanyaMayoMay 13, 2016
I know, perhaps, I am a bit obsolete.. but till this night I had never seen that movie. And.. I've realized that it was one of the biggest mistakes of my life!

Inglourious Basterds is an outstanding movie! I even cannot tell what
I know, perhaps, I am a bit obsolete.. but till this night I had never seen that movie. And.. I've realized that it was one of the biggest mistakes of my life!

Inglourious Basterds is an outstanding movie!

I even cannot tell what exactly I liked the most. I have nothing but praise!

Above all, I must admit - Tarantino is incredibly gifted screenwriter and director! Judging by Basterds he put a lot of efforts in writing the screenplay. His holistic and meticulous approach is noticeable. It is hard to imagine how much time did he spend on writing the script.

When it comes to the cast, I am full of praise for Christoph Waltz, who was magnificent as Hans Landa. Undoubtedly, he is extremely talented actor! And no wonder that he won a lot of praises for this role. The character made by him was precise, convincing, sparkling! It was such a pleasure to see him playing despite the fact that his character was negative one.

Also, I cannot dismiss a role of Brad Pitt! It goes without saying, that he did a great job as well, however, the most striking for me was his his accent! Adorable! If I hadn't heard any American speaking, I would have thought that this is how all Americans are talking!

Of course, all the cast did an amazing job! All actors were on their places. I mean that I cannot imagine other actors in these roles. Perhaps, it is a merit of the director too, who did all right.

Generally speaking, the plot is intriguing, provoking an interest, carrying viewers with it. During the movie I was wondering – what is going to happen next? So the film captured all my attention. I even was afraid of breathing to not miss any important details. And in the end, I stood up and gave a big clap as a sign of respect to the crew, to the outstanding movie!

I was not focus on historical, moral or whatever aspect of the story. I watched it as a story which was made up by one genius.

I hope, I inspired you to see the film! Believe me, it is worth it!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JunelKeanJun 26, 2017
Every Quentin Tarantino film is expected not only for its structure but also for his used trademark - combining violence and humor. And as he explores to the standpoint of history, he focuses on World War II, which is set on 1944 inEvery Quentin Tarantino film is expected not only for its structure but also for his used trademark - combining violence and humor. And as he explores to the standpoint of history, he focuses on World War II, which is set on 1944 in Nazi-occupied France.

This movie is composed of two storylines that is clashed in the finale. First is Soshanna Dreyfus (Laurènt), the only survivor in a family of refugees, after escaping from the hands of SS Kol. Hans Landa (Waltz). And second are the Inglorious Basterds, a group of American scalping soldiers that is led by Lt. Aldo Raine (Pitt) for retaliation. Inspired by a 1978 film in Italy, "The Inglorious Bastards", Tarantino polishes his filmography once again to continue the legacy of his style. It is a very well-directed close -to-masterpiece done with brutality and attentiveness.

The performances from the entire cast, especially from the three leads: Pitt, Waltz and Laurènt, approach victory in helming their roles. The first and third act are the best parts to watch for, which give an enthralling look on the historical universe that Tarantino created.

VERDICT: Inglourious Basterds rewrites the Second World War into a fairy tale and gives a solid blast on the first and third acts.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JarvisGMar 30, 2010
Best Tarantino movie ever!Very enjoyably movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackG.Aug 22, 2009
On a first impression... this is second only to Pulp Fiction. This is Tarantino making rules just to break them, and maybe make up new ones again. It's also one of the few films this year you'll be able to call true art. This On a first impression... this is second only to Pulp Fiction. This is Tarantino making rules just to break them, and maybe make up new ones again. It's also one of the few films this year you'll be able to call true art. This doesn't mean it will please everybody. This is definitely not a *crowdpleaser*, though I'm sure a lot of crowds will be pleased. It's about taking apart the absurd but very real atrocities of war- both the Nazis and good ol' American barbarism- and putting it all together in a movie theater. Talk about microcosm! The final line may just be hubris, or it may just be about right: it's a masterpiece; how you feel about the master is up to you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougTSep 6, 2009
Normally, I don't give movies a perfect score, but this is my favorite movie this year (so far). The plot is what really draws you in, and I'm into the dark comedy style, so that's probably why it gets such a high Normally, I don't give movies a perfect score, but this is my favorite movie this year (so far). The plot is what really draws you in, and I'm into the dark comedy style, so that's probably why it gets such a high recommendation from me. The acting is great, the story flows pretty well, the chapter sections make it easy to follow, and give a more "epic tale" feel to the whole movie. Lot's of hilarious moments that really make it shine- basically, it's a Quentin Tarantino movie. If you liked pulp-fiction, and aren't too easily offended, my bet is this is going to be a good movie for you. Oh, and about Brad Pitt's accent, it's not supposed to be convincing. The point of his character is to show how outrageous this movie really is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnKJan 26, 2010
This film was a masterpiece. It was Quentin Tarantino's homage to the film's he loves. The dialogue was brilliant throughout. All the actor's were brilliant caricatures of larger than life characters from movies past. It was This film was a masterpiece. It was Quentin Tarantino's homage to the film's he loves. The dialogue was brilliant throughout. All the actor's were brilliant caricatures of larger than life characters from movies past. It was comedic and dramatic and wonderful. I loved the soundtrack too. The spaghetti western music was great. Who does that? The music was so out of place yet perfect at the same time. I loved this film. On a side note, I thought Brad Pitt's over-the-top portrayal as a gung ho red neck soldier was great. Sort of reminded me of Robert Duvall's character in Apocalypse Now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanG.Feb 5, 2010
One of my favorite movies of the year. Nobody can write long scenes of dialogue and make it work better than Tarantino. It might have alot of subtitles but u won't even notice it after awhile. And Christoph Waltz gives the perfermance One of my favorite movies of the year. Nobody can write long scenes of dialogue and make it work better than Tarantino. It might have alot of subtitles but u won't even notice it after awhile. And Christoph Waltz gives the perfermance of the year. Definitely a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesHMar 21, 2010
82/100. What a great story, I was very impressed by so many of the subtle touches, particularly with Christoph Waltz's character. What a well thought out and meticulous performance. He is brilliant. I was also impressed with Melanie 82/100. What a great story, I was very impressed by so many of the subtle touches, particularly with Christoph Waltz's character. What a well thought out and meticulous performance. He is brilliant. I was also impressed with Melanie Laurent, I am surprised more attention hasn't been given to her performance. She is excellent. Also Daniel Bruhl and Diane Kruger were perfectly cast. The period detail is remarkable, the cinematography, costume design and art direction were glorious. The score was at times very inappropriate and not up with the film's high quality. I was disappointed that Quentin Tarantino had to stoop to his trademark of completely overblown as well as completely unnecessarily brand of gore and violence. It hurt the film's effect a lot, but, I do think this is his best film to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankMApr 7, 2010
What an imagination! Twists and turns and no one is assured survival. It is a Bizzaro World but one with its own rules thate you must discover on the way through its maze.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanH.Aug 22, 2009
Quentin Tarantino outdoes himself and delivers his finest film to date.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexAug 24, 2009
Tarantino's best, sometimes it was long-winded, but it was hilarious suspenseful, satirical, A very enjoyable movie, going to see it once more next week.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
seajayAug 25, 2009
I expected a dumb action film like "Kill Bill" and instead got a film as suspenseful as Hitchcock's best. And I confess I found the revisionist climax strangely satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimothyCSep 14, 2009
Loved the movie. Great charachter concepts, killer lines delivered by Brad. My only problem with this movie was it was edited. You wanted more character backgrounds, but didn't get it. It was edited for time, but I left wanting to sit Loved the movie. Great charachter concepts, killer lines delivered by Brad. My only problem with this movie was it was edited. You wanted more character backgrounds, but didn't get it. It was edited for time, but I left wanting to sit through more. That's why it's a 9 instead of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
hcarterSep 7, 2009
Maybe b/c expectations were a little lower--but I was thoroughly impressed with Inglourious Basterds. I agree with others in that I think it's Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction (and I really liked Kill BIll too). I was not bored Maybe b/c expectations were a little lower--but I was thoroughly impressed with Inglourious Basterds. I agree with others in that I think it's Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction (and I really liked Kill BIll too). I was not bored by the length--or the intentional drawn out scenes--or even how much dialogue ( a lot) there is. I don't think it was perfect--could have been tightened up for sure. But I loved the fairy-tale satire/farce that IB was---totally smart, cathartic, gross, laugh-out-loud, dramatic, war movie. So far, many of my friends are all over the map on their opinion of IB, so it's hard to say whether you'll like it based on other people's reviews. Definitely see it though if you've liked anything Tarantino has done prior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexYJan 1, 2010
Tarantino has the power to polarize like no other director, and his bold style in pairing with the subject of Nazism will be too much for some. Before being a storyteller, Tarantino is a brilliant multimedia artist, and Basterds proves this Tarantino has the power to polarize like no other director, and his bold style in pairing with the subject of Nazism will be too much for some. Before being a storyteller, Tarantino is a brilliant multimedia artist, and Basterds proves this once and for all. This movie pulls the viewer along like a string puppet, making him feel in turn disgusted, exhilarated, devastated, amused. The pacing is absolutely brilliant: Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction. Emotion and violence are exaggerated to the point of parody: if you can appreciate this sensability, you may be a Tarantino fan. If not, there's always Schindler's List. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexC.Jan 3, 2010
Quentin Tarantino's latest film, Inglourious Basterds, manages to outdo even Kill Bill in both entertainment value and thoughtfulness. The film soars due to Tarantino's exceptional ability to build suspense and excellent Quentin Tarantino's latest film, Inglourious Basterds, manages to outdo even Kill Bill in both entertainment value and thoughtfulness. The film soars due to Tarantino's exceptional ability to build suspense and excellent performances by Laurent, Waltz, and Krüger. The only thing that could make it more fun to watch is the inclusion of the 40 minutes of footage that was edited out before Cannes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShayneCJan 4, 2010
Amazing movie, although Brad Pitt's accent is a little too much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dmodmoFeb 3, 2010
I have seen all the AA nominated movies and performances...and I B was my favorite movie of 2009. Saw it 3x. Walz is fantastic and what can you say..when Tarantino gets it right (like Pulp Fiction), it's the BEST.
0 of 0 users found this helpful