Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: August 21, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1399 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,122
Mixed:
114
Negative:
163
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DarrylF.Aug 21, 2009
This is the best Tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. It's the kind of movie that you want see again right after it ends. It was highly enjoyable...and it was better than kill bill 1 & 2 combined (although I still loved both of those This is the best Tarantino movie since Pulp Fiction. It's the kind of movie that you want see again right after it ends. It was highly enjoyable...and it was better than kill bill 1 & 2 combined (although I still loved both of those movies). Totally worth the wait. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeggyBAug 21, 2009
Great from beginning to end! Some gore I had to look away from but overall absolutely absorbing and entertaining.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SteveG.Aug 22, 2009
I loved this movie, but its not for everyone. People who are put off by "gratuitous" violence will be equally put off by the film. The film is a deft combination of a spaghetti western and a WW2 mission movie. I am no huge Brad Pitt fan, but I loved this movie, but its not for everyone. People who are put off by "gratuitous" violence will be equally put off by the film. The film is a deft combination of a spaghetti western and a WW2 mission movie. I am no huge Brad Pitt fan, but his turn as Lt. Aldo Raine is fun to watch. Christophe Waltz is terrific as the villainous Nazi Jew hunter. The movie is gory at times and definitely over the top, in a similar way as was the original "Inglorious Bastards" from 1978, which Tarantino's film shares only the the title (mostly), time and location (France in WW2). But its a hell of a roller coaster ride with a wonderfully ironic ending. I loved this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Aug 22, 2009
This is a work of cinematic genius. QT's writing, directing, and overall knowledge of film, has given us a work of art that is a perfect throw back to films of substance. His BEST work, hands down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffS.Aug 22, 2009
Like Kill Bill and Pulp Fiction, this is a masterpiece; a movie to be savored and enjoyed one mesmerizing frame at a time. Both audiences I was with clapped at the end (I stayed an watched it again). Quentin's brilliance is in full Like Kill Bill and Pulp Fiction, this is a masterpiece; a movie to be savored and enjoyed one mesmerizing frame at a time. Both audiences I was with clapped at the end (I stayed an watched it again). Quentin's brilliance is in full shine in IB; his love for the craft and art of cinema is evident. The casting, the writing, the production, that acting! What a great, great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyDAug 23, 2009
Incredible! Col. Landa had the best performance in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregoryPAug 23, 2009
I've yet to give my opinion of a film ever online. But Quentins' WWII movie Basterds is pure film making at it's best. It is Cinema, don't be fooled by the less then stellar reviews you may see, they are just plain wrong; I've yet to give my opinion of a film ever online. But Quentins' WWII movie Basterds is pure film making at it's best. It is Cinema, don't be fooled by the less then stellar reviews you may see, they are just plain wrong; missing the point entirely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabbyG.Aug 23, 2009
Tarantino didn't disappoint me he delivered as usual. Awesome movie good story line. my heart was pounding the last 20 minutes its been a while since a film has done that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArmandoPAug 23, 2009
Tarantino's movies are always a masterpiece! he is unique, this movie is like a adrenaline explosion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidAug 23, 2009
Tarantino is a genius. This movie is as great as Pulp Fiction. I've seen it twice already.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OscarF.Aug 24, 2009
This movie shows the unearthly talent of director Quentin Tarantino. This movie is hilarious, violent, and so good that whoever misses it, would die without experiencing real filmaking. Cristopher Waltz is a great actor and deserves the This movie shows the unearthly talent of director Quentin Tarantino. This movie is hilarious, violent, and so good that whoever misses it, would die without experiencing real filmaking. Cristopher Waltz is a great actor and deserves the academy award for best supporting actor! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkBAug 25, 2009
This is the best QT movie ever and the best movie of the year so far. It is one of the few movies that I would consider seeing multiple times in the theater. My wife who does not usually enjoy violent movies liked it so much she wants to seeThis is the best QT movie ever and the best movie of the year so far. It is one of the few movies that I would consider seeing multiple times in the theater. My wife who does not usually enjoy violent movies liked it so much she wants to see it again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ThierryKAug 27, 2009
I've seen this movie today and wow! I did not expected i was going to see a masterpiece, the conversations, the actions ,the humour(especially when brad pitt talked italian, it whas really hilarious!). Overall, it is certainly the best I've seen this movie today and wow! I did not expected i was going to see a masterpiece, the conversations, the actions ,the humour(especially when brad pitt talked italian, it whas really hilarious!). Overall, it is certainly the best movie to date, especially with all the nobrain action movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimLAug 27, 2009
A delicious film for any QT fan. Totally absorbing and beautifully shot, with fine acting performances. A true multi-layered masterpeice. why did so many people hate this? madness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KazKAug 29, 2009
Amazing movie. I can't believe people thought this was bad or found it "offensive". What's offensive about nazis getting killed by jews? There are no scenes with concentration camps or anything like that. If i was Jewish I would Amazing movie. I can't believe people thought this was bad or found it "offensive". What's offensive about nazis getting killed by jews? There are no scenes with concentration camps or anything like that. If i was Jewish I would like this movie even more because of how awesome the nazi killing is. You will especially dig this movie if you are a QT fan. A bit slow at times and quite long but that's how all QT movies are so if you have the taste for his stuff than this is a MUST-SEE. If you found pulp fiction or kill bill boring then this is not the movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnHAug 29, 2009
QT has matured, but still has his unique spice and style. This movie is, dare i say, his best yet. A masterpiece. Enjoyed every single minute. Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
patSep 23, 2009
One of the best films I've ever seen. The main criticisms I see seem to be that the characters are over the top or unbelievable, keep in mind Tarantino's characters do not live in the world we do, and they are often representations One of the best films I've ever seen. The main criticisms I see seem to be that the characters are over the top or unbelievable, keep in mind Tarantino's characters do not live in the world we do, and they are often representations of something else entirely. Go see it if you get the chance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolynBSep 23, 2009
I hated Pulp Fiction and haven't seen another Tarrantino film. Yet, I *LOVED* this movie. It has to be one of the best I have seen in years (There Will Be Blood and No Country for Old Men were awful in comparison to this). This movie I hated Pulp Fiction and haven't seen another Tarrantino film. Yet, I *LOVED* this movie. It has to be one of the best I have seen in years (There Will Be Blood and No Country for Old Men were awful in comparison to this). This movie should be seen for acting and the dialogue alone. The cinematography and direction is wonderful, too. Wonderful, wonderful tension filled scenes where the Nazi colonel questions resistance fighters and double agents and you wonder whether they will be found out or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TJNov 18, 2009
This Quentin's movie is very fabulous that can stuck me with fully fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelleGNov 23, 2009
Perfect cocktail of humor and gore. It completely disregards history and reminds the audience that movies are supposed to be separate from reality; historical accuracy and conventions are trivial.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickRDec 19, 2009
Brilliant film for all who love movies, whether a Tarantino fan or not. It's so compelling that one doesn't even realize how much of the movie is in German or French. It was also surprising how un-Hollywood the film was; you would Brilliant film for all who love movies, whether a Tarantino fan or not. It's so compelling that one doesn't even realize how much of the movie is in German or French. It was also surprising how un-Hollywood the film was; you would go in expecting it to focus on the big star attached to it (Brad Pitt), but he's not even the most interesting character. The plot was well-done and truly engaging in regards to how events would progress. Tarantino simply makes it work, where you can be laughing uproariously one second and be on the edge of your seat with anticipation the next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouieCDec 27, 2009
One of the best films of the year. "Inglorious" is a fun, quirky movie with an intelligent and entertaining story, clever dialogue, and great acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Delirious fun from ringmaster Tarantino. Unlike any World War II film ever made. Beautiful cinematography to go along with wicked dialogue and some great performances by Waltz and Kruger. The ending has a goofy twist and adds to theDelirious fun from ringmaster Tarantino. Unlike any World War II film ever made. Beautiful cinematography to go along with wicked dialogue and some great performances by Waltz and Kruger. The ending has a goofy twist and adds to the continuous fun, though I will say the film is very violent, maybe his most since "Kill Bill". Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
surfissAug 20, 2010
brilliant. very funny and great acting. one of the best films to have been made in the last decade. i strongly recommend all readers to see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
opixSep 10, 2010
Fantastic Christoph Waltz ! Brilliant Tarantino! Standing Ovation for Christoph Waltz A.K.A."Hans Landa" in this movie. Best Actor for the "Oscar" in my opinion.
13 of 19 users found this helpful136
All this user's reviews
10
ViniaranhaJun 3, 2011
Actually, Aldo Rayne is Quentin Tarantino for himself, saying "I think this just may be my masterpiece", being hilariously selfish and changing all the natural curse of History and WWII, in this very smart and covered of referencesActually, Aldo Rayne is Quentin Tarantino for himself, saying "I think this just may be my masterpiece", being hilariously selfish and changing all the natural curse of History and WWII, in this very smart and covered of references cinematographic vengeance against the Nazism. With a big support of Christoph Waltz, maybe Tarantino was really right about the masterpiece thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CivertsJul 18, 2011
The Best movie of 2009! And the best film by Quentin Tarantino. It's fantastic, a film for the cinema! In my opinion Inglourious Basterds has a perfect cast, ana script almost perfect, the best cinematography ever, and a brillant work ofThe Best movie of 2009! And the best film by Quentin Tarantino. It's fantastic, a film for the cinema! In my opinion Inglourious Basterds has a perfect cast, ana script almost perfect, the best cinematography ever, and a brillant work of editing and sound effects. Tarantino grewn up with this movie, that probably is going to be a cult, in some years. Christoph Waltz's Hans Landa is fantastic, and the Brad Pitt's Aldo Raine is hilarious! You must watch it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaMay 2, 2012
A bold war movie unlike no other. The film is as funny as it is thrilling. With Inglorious Basterds Tarantino has shown once again that he can make fun thrilling stylised films while adding intricusies and good writting. Not quite PulpA bold war movie unlike no other. The film is as funny as it is thrilling. With Inglorious Basterds Tarantino has shown once again that he can make fun thrilling stylised films while adding intricusies and good writting. Not quite Pulp Fiction but it is still very good. What a relief after the Kill Bill series to see Inglorious Basterds. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
islandOct 15, 2011
Loved the film, mainly because of the characters. They are lovable and adorable (if it's not weird to say this while talking about a war movie). The director (Tarantino) did a great job.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BeauDec 24, 2011
An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat, stunningly acted wow-fest, this movie delivers. Quentin Tarantino proves again why he's the best in the business and Christoph Waltz proves why foreign actors are better than American. Although it isAn action-packed, edge-of-your-seat, stunningly acted wow-fest, this movie delivers. Quentin Tarantino proves again why he's the best in the business and Christoph Waltz proves why foreign actors are better than American. Although it is certainly not the feel good movie of the year, you will find your jaw dropping multiple times as you discover how brilliant this film truly is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bram29May 17, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. every man can dream it, but only one man can do it: kill adolf hitler. i most certainly wasn't expecting Basterds to become an alternate history movie, and i know not to expect anything from quentin tarantino. i was sort of going into this movie for just the violence, but i found the dialogues to be the more interesting part. the action on tarantino's behalf is always more of the 'person A shoots person B' type, in a wa that it's not really that visually interesting, but i think that makes it more realistic. i only give tens to movies that i thought didn't have a single mistake, and i carefully consider giving any movie one of them. this time, i was a bit doubtful, thinking if the movie could have been any more perfect, but by heart went out for the golden medal, so here we are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AttackZachOct 8, 2011
The Tarantino take on World War II is far more sensible and respectful than anyone would have imagined. The genius balance between the darkest of black comedy and heart wrenching tragedy is, in a word, sublime. Even in the first twentyThe Tarantino take on World War II is far more sensible and respectful than anyone would have imagined. The genius balance between the darkest of black comedy and heart wrenching tragedy is, in a word, sublime. Even in the first twenty minutes, I found myself on the verge of tears, and then five seconds later laughing my guts out. Or my scalp off.
The tale follows an elaborate plot to kill Hitler and his cohorts, recruiting a German movie star, a delightfully murderous â
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LemonyTerrorDec 29, 2012
I will begin this review by stating that this my favorite Tarantino film to date. The movie has received flak by critics for portrayal of the Jewish American men being and reflecting the brutality of the Nazis against the German opposition.I will begin this review by stating that this my favorite Tarantino film to date. The movie has received flak by critics for portrayal of the Jewish American men being and reflecting the brutality of the Nazis against the German opposition. While I feel this is unfair and those who feel this way are missing the point of this movie entirely. The movie is a fantasy WWII movie about what people wanted to happen in the War. It is safe to say that Nazis are some the most hated group of people in the history of our planet. With hatred comes the ability for people to dehumanize the Nazi. People tend to not care how they are treated and even forget that not every, and even most Germans, were not Nazis. The Jewish-American treatment of the Germans was brutal and graphic because Tarantino wanted people to realize that they were Nazis and at the same time were still people.
The movie itself is beautifully directed with emotional dialog and no shortage of action. Those who are upset at the overly gory action and violence have apparently not watched Quentin Tarantino films before. If you dislike or despise this, then don't watch Quentin Tarantino. The two storylines in the movie were both artfully crafted with as much character development as possible when you try to split time evenly between two separate and equally as important parts. Golden movie, loved every moment. Highly recommended unless you don't like reading subtitles; there are a lot of subtitles.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFFeb 27, 2013
Quentin Tarantino has created a monster, as the marketing suggests, Brad Pitt is a Basterd, Eli Roth is a Basterd and so on, this is a film that aims so high and mighty, and hits all the marks without fail, a true masterpiece from TarantinoQuentin Tarantino has created a monster, as the marketing suggests, Brad Pitt is a Basterd, Eli Roth is a Basterd and so on, this is a film that aims so high and mighty, and hits all the marks without fail, a true masterpiece from Tarantino as he continues to exceed himself.
Set during the first year of the German occupation of France, the film tells a variety of stories, one being the tale of runaway Jew Shosanna Dreyfus (Mélanie Laurent) who escapes from the Lt. Hans Landa played by the brilliant Christophe Waltz, who is a chilling but calm character in his delivery, but it is ultimately the pacing and the shear unorthodox film-making skills of Tarantino that truly set this film off on a frantic run that just doesn't stop.
Brad Pitt puts a typically stellar performance as Lt. Aldo Raine, the leader of the Basterds, who tasks his men with killing and scalping Nazi soldiers, Shosanna, meanwhile, has now changed her name and owns a cinema in Paris, and the opportunity arises for her to exact revenge on the Nazis thanks to her owning said cinema.
This is quite an ensemble cast including Diane Kruger, Eli Roth, B.J. Novak, the multi-talented Michael Fassbender and even Mike Myers. Also look out for voiceovers by Samuel L. Jackson and Harvey Kietel The truly remarkable feat achieved by this film is that no one actor or actress entirely populates the movie, the film consistently cuts to different situations in an effort to tell a story for each character, and to truly introduce each persona as having an important role to play in the film.
The Tarantino style is told from the get-go, as just like Kill Bill, the film is told in chapters, with small snippets of his work throughout, the gore, the bizarre dialogue, but most of all, the engaging and tense long scenes which really set the tone of a thrilling film, with the viewer not being quite sure just what is going to happen next in many of the scenes, a particular one being that involving a small French tavern where Fassbenders character is meeting a double agent, this is simply the highlight of the film, it has drama, different cuts and nail-biting dialogue to suggest throughout it that something just isn't right.
The cinematography is simply excellent and thought-provokingly unique, offering various incarnations of an environment that just add to the gleaming picture.
It has all the makings to be a classic, with particularly mind-blowing performances, especially from Christophe Waltz, who is just an absolute treat to admire in his capabilities throughout the entire film.
To quote Lt. Aldo Raine, which Tarantino should now use for himself..."This just might be my masterpiece"
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4May 26, 2012
When all the story lines finally come together you realize this movie is a masterpiece. With all the cast giving breathtakingly solid performances especially Waltz and Laurent. You will be offered amazing action and wonderful cinematographyWhen all the story lines finally come together you realize this movie is a masterpiece. With all the cast giving breathtakingly solid performances especially Waltz and Laurent. You will be offered amazing action and wonderful cinematography to spare. I give the movie 98%. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
theonerandomJan 4, 2012
Christoph Waltz indeed made this film the epic that it is. It however can drag just a little bit, if it was cut 20 minutes or so shorter that would be great, but despite that it was still a great film. The movie must be seen for ChristophChristoph Waltz indeed made this film the epic that it is. It however can drag just a little bit, if it was cut 20 minutes or so shorter that would be great, but despite that it was still a great film. The movie must be seen for Christoph Waltz's portrayal of Col. Hans Landa, he was perfect in his scenes in every way. He made the movie. Also Brad Pitt had his funny moments as well, he was pretty good at his role as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
davogovernorFeb 7, 2012
this movie is so great, its one of my favourite movies of all time it deserved more oscars Christopher Waltz deserved that oscar but a few more to this movie would of been better
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Bold and fearless throughout. Tarantino has created a film without boundaries--allowing us to immerse ourselves into his unconvential, freakish and often extraordinary adventure. Christoph Waltz gives the finest performance of the year in theBold and fearless throughout. Tarantino has created a film without boundaries--allowing us to immerse ourselves into his unconvential, freakish and often extraordinary adventure. Christoph Waltz gives the finest performance of the year in the best film of the year! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Bastards is Tarantino's best movie since Pulp Fiction, and its an adrenaline fueled epic and an audacious war film that manages to sizzle with both familiarity and complete originality. He's taken World War II and made it his own.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersFeb 24, 2013
A brilliant film that's one of Tarantino's absolute best. Some of the scenes run a bit long, but the sharp screenplay moves the plot along nicely. Solid performances. One of the best of 2009!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
People say Tarantino's best is Pulp Fiction. I will have to say that Basterds was more pleasing on several levels. This WWII half spoof half seriousness pleases audiences everywhere making it a truly memorable film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyApr 5, 2013
Wow, this movie is awesome. Tarantino never disappoints me by so far. The actors are very good and the story better. This is the movie I search for over a year, with this kind of action and war. Very good film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonJul 7, 2013
Inglourious Basterds is Quentin Tarantino's best work since 1994's Pulp Fiction. It's crazy, nasty fun, and pure, unadulterated Tarantino. It's also a glorious love letter to film that goes as far as to literally use film stock as a means toInglourious Basterds is Quentin Tarantino's best work since 1994's Pulp Fiction. It's crazy, nasty fun, and pure, unadulterated Tarantino. It's also a glorious love letter to film that goes as far as to literally use film stock as a means to try and wipe out Hitler and his high command. Inglourious Basterds is an audacious movie, a World War II fantasy film in which Tarantino rewrites history by doing what every sane person on the planet would loved to have had the opportunity to do. Basterds is a long movie and one that doesn't always work, but when it does, it's absolutely mesmerizing. There's a lot going on in Inglorious Basterds, but Tarantino divides up the film into five chapters to give every character his or her due and every plotline time to develop. The first chapter introduces us to creepy Col. Hans Landa (nickname: The Jew Hunter). Landa enters a French farmhouse to interrogate dairy farmer Perrier LaPadite (Denis Menochet) and the scene that unfolds is a work of art, deserving of a second, and even third viewing. Landa asks for milk, seems as friendly as a kitten as he compliments the farmer on his delicious, nutritious product, and then, slowly, smoothly, the claws come out. Landa's evil incarnate, and he knows how to manipulate his prey without resorting to threatening behavior. Landa's after a family of Jewish farmers who've managed to elude him, and with an eerie calmness he weaves a story of hawks and rats, and turns the stalwart LaPadite into quivering prey. Other chapters introduce us to the remaining key players in the Inglourious Basterds universe. Lt Aldo Raine (Brad Pitt using a hilariously over-the-top accent) commands the Basterds, an elite group of Jewish soldiers whose sole purpose is to kill Nazis. But not just kill Nazis...no, the Basterds are out to butcher and scalp, exacting their special form of retribution on the Nazis for the horrors they inflected on Jewish men, women and children. While the Basterds joyously go about their Nazi killing mission, in Paris theater owner Shosanna (Melanie Laurent) goes about plotting her own revenge on the invading force. Pursued romantically by Nazi war hero Fredrick Zoller (Daniel Bruhl), Shosanna is presented with the opportunity to kill hundreds of Nazis in one fell swoop. Fredrick's exploits from earlier in the war have been immortalized in a movie directed by high-ranking official Joseph Goebbels (Sylvester Groth) and starring Fredrick as himself. Fredrick's wooing of Shosanna leads him to campaign for a change of venue for the premiere of Goebbels' film, Nation's Pride. Believing it will win over the French beauty, he requests Goebbels hold the event at Shosanna's theater, thus providing Shosanna with an unbelievable opportunity to wipe out Hitler and other major players in the Nazi party. Meanwhile, German's shining star of the silver screen, Bridget von Hammersmark (Diane Kruger) is also involved in a plan to end Hitler's reign of terror. Working with the Basterds, von Hammersmark is plotting to take out Hitler at the film's premiere, which leads to the main players of Inglourious Basterds finally, at long last, coming together as the film winds toward its delicious, violent, explosive final act. Inglourious Basterds presents an alternate history, one far more pleasing than reality. Yes, it's talky, loaded with references to films past, and when things get violent, Tarantino doesn't shirk from showing the gore. But every single word in Inglourious Basterds is necessary, every scene serves a specific purpose, and every one of its 152 minutes is vital to the overall story. Tarantino is doing Tarantino here, but he's also showing a more restrained and focused style we haven't seen before from the man behind Reservoir Dogs and Grindhouse: Death Proof. Tarantino wedges in just as many film references as he's done with his prior movies, but not to the point of distraction as has occurred in some of his past work. Inglourious Basterds is a twisted World War II film filled with witty dialogue, rife with colorful characters, and sure to stir up controversy over its reshaping of history. Perfectly cast and exquisitely shot and edited, this is one WWII movie in which the outcome isn't lifted from the history books. It will, however, go down in history as one of Tarantino's most intriguing and entertaining films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
njlakeJun 25, 2013
It's not historically accurate, but that's not what you should see this movie for. Why you need to see this is because of many things: Fantastic acting. Wonderful dialogue. Great story and plot. To top it all of, the movie is the type thatIt's not historically accurate, but that's not what you should see this movie for. Why you need to see this is because of many things: Fantastic acting. Wonderful dialogue. Great story and plot. To top it all of, the movie is the type that can be watched over and over again. The best Tarantino movie for sure and in my top 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Cat_TemplarSep 4, 2013
Really nice story, if you've seen game of thrones or fantasy, and have a passion for knowledge of WWII, this is one of the best films for you too watch. Loads of people are saying the plot is too slow moving, but I disagree, as it allows youReally nice story, if you've seen game of thrones or fantasy, and have a passion for knowledge of WWII, this is one of the best films for you too watch. Loads of people are saying the plot is too slow moving, but I disagree, as it allows you to take in exactly what is happening and links all the stories together.
By far one of my favorite films 10/10 would watch again
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 20, 2014
Inglourious Basterds wasn't a bad movie. It wasn't as good as Pulp Fiction or Django Unchained (the other Tarantino movies I've seen), but there was very good acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SythusRATINGSOct 21, 2014
In the first year of the German occupation of France, Shosanna Dreyfus witnesses the execution of her family at the hand of Nazi Colonel Hans Landa. Shosanna narrowly escapes and flees to Paris where she forges a new identity as the owner andIn the first year of the German occupation of France, Shosanna Dreyfus witnesses the execution of her family at the hand of Nazi Colonel Hans Landa. Shosanna narrowly escapes and flees to Paris where she forges a new identity as the owner and operator of a cinema. Elsewhere in Europe, lieutenant Aldo Raine organizes a group of Jewish American soldiers to perform swift, shocking acts of retribution. Later known to their enemy as "the basterds," Raine's squad joins German actress and undercover agent Bridget von Hammersmark on a mission to take down the leaders of the Third Reich. Fates converge under a cinema marquis, where Shosanna is poised to carry out a revenge plan of her own. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
triconnicOct 26, 2014
What a whopper of a war film. Great job QT! I definitely need to see this one again. Diane Kruger is fabulous as are all the rest the cast. You will find yourself swept up by the acting and the scenery. You can't help but cheer for Shoshanna.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
REDWOUNov 22, 2014
QUENTIN **** TARANTINO KNOCKS IT OUT OF THE PARK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FENWAY PARK ON IT'S FEET FOR QUENTIN **** MOVIE!!!!!!!! He went yardo on that one, out to **** Hollywood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
willthemoviemanNov 30, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Written and directed masterfully by Quentin Tarantino, Inglourious Basterds was a thrill ride all the way through with Christoph Waltz's brilliant Oscar winning role as Hans Landa and Brad Pitt's role as the Nazi scalping LT. Aldo Raine had me laughing all the way through. Inglourious Basterds tells the the tale of a bunch of Americans in Nazi occupied France near the end of War World 2. You can tell that this is Tarantino's take on how Hitler should have died and should have been killed, with the awesome scene near the end(Spoilers), where the Americans burn the theater with all the Nazi's in there and you see two American soldiers gun down Hitler and his accomplice. Tarantino is one of the best screenwriters/directors working today with such hits under his belt like, Kill Bill vol. 1 and 2, Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown, Django Unchained, Inglourious Basterds, and Reservir Dogs and with only one bad movie under his belt which is Death Proof. But after all that I'm going to give Inglourious Bastereds an A+. Check it out guys its worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vayden12Dec 1, 2014
I am not a Tarantino fan with the exception of Reservoir Dogs (which I cannot fully explain), but this film is something else! Seriously, Christoph Waltz is unreal and the dialogue is worth every moment, even the base conversation in theI am not a Tarantino fan with the exception of Reservoir Dogs (which I cannot fully explain), but this film is something else! Seriously, Christoph Waltz is unreal and the dialogue is worth every moment, even the base conversation in the farmhouse in the opening sequence.

I can also identify and understand it is not for everyone; however, it is undeniably unique, captivating, entertaining, twitch inducing, and during a few moments, difficult to watch, yet I only enjoy the more I see it.

Correction: This film was directed by Taratino while Eli Roth was uncredited.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukas7Apr 8, 2016
Not only Quentin Tarantino's greatest film achievement, but one of the best films of all time, it's up there with Citizen Kane, Godfather, Fight Club, Vertigo, Taxi Driver.....
Defiantly the greatest war film ever. The narrative is so clever
Not only Quentin Tarantino's greatest film achievement, but one of the best films of all time, it's up there with Citizen Kane, Godfather, Fight Club, Vertigo, Taxi Driver.....
Defiantly the greatest war film ever. The narrative is so clever and original, The Dialogue is fantastic (of course), acting is great and it's also very funny. Christoph Waltz performance is some of the greatest acting I've ever seen, very frighting and also quite funny when he is not killing people. The ending to this movie is perfect, "I think this might be my masterpiece" And It certainly is Tarantino's Masterpiece. The Score of this film is also catchy and brilliant. Any Tarantino haters are idiots, as he is by far the greatest director of the past two decades. His Film are so original, even if he may take a lot inspiration from the masters that have came before him, he is able to craft some of the best movies to ever be put on screen
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
smartmartSep 29, 2015
Yes, this film is full of painful historical inaccuracies, and is one of the least historically accurate films ever made. But, this isn't really a historical war film as much as it is a revenge story, which pays tribute to nazisploitationYes, this film is full of painful historical inaccuracies, and is one of the least historically accurate films ever made. But, this isn't really a historical war film as much as it is a revenge story, which pays tribute to nazisploitation cinema. Now, nazisploitation is never historically accurate, so there is no need for it to be.
Now, this movie is absolutely epic! The film is full of long dialogue scenes, leading up to scenes of exciting brutality and violence. The lengthy dialogue is always kept interesting with comedy and tension. The climax is probably the best part of this film. Full of shocking unexpected twists and turns, very stylistic camera work and imagery, and fast paced, exciting action, it is truly a great scene.
The film also contains a lot of great performances, especially the performance by Christoph Waltz, and has some great camerawork and filmmaking techniques. A masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TanyaMayoMay 13, 2016
I know, perhaps, I am a bit obsolete.. but till this night I had never seen that movie. And.. I've realized that it was one of the biggest mistakes of my life!

Inglourious Basterds is an outstanding movie! I even cannot tell what
I know, perhaps, I am a bit obsolete.. but till this night I had never seen that movie. And.. I've realized that it was one of the biggest mistakes of my life!

Inglourious Basterds is an outstanding movie!

I even cannot tell what exactly I liked the most. I have nothing but praise!

Above all, I must admit - Tarantino is incredibly gifted screenwriter and director! Judging by Basterds he put a lot of efforts in writing the screenplay. His holistic and meticulous approach is noticeable. It is hard to imagine how much time did he spend on writing the script.

When it comes to the cast, I am full of praise for Christoph Waltz, who was magnificent as Hans Landa. Undoubtedly, he is extremely talented actor! And no wonder that he won a lot of praises for this role. The character made by him was precise, convincing, sparkling! It was such a pleasure to see him playing despite the fact that his character was negative one.

Also, I cannot dismiss a role of Brad Pitt! It goes without saying, that he did a great job as well, however, the most striking for me was his his accent! Adorable! If I hadn't heard any American speaking, I would have thought that this is how all Americans are talking!

Of course, all the cast did an amazing job! All actors were on their places. I mean that I cannot imagine other actors in these roles. Perhaps, it is a merit of the director too, who did all right.

Generally speaking, the plot is intriguing, provoking an interest, carrying viewers with it. During the movie I was wondering – what is going to happen next? So the film captured all my attention. I even was afraid of breathing to not miss any important details. And in the end, I stood up and gave a big clap as a sign of respect to the crew, to the outstanding movie!

I was not focus on historical, moral or whatever aspect of the story. I watched it as a story which was made up by one genius.

I hope, I inspired you to see the film! Believe me, it is worth it!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RyanG.Feb 5, 2010
One of my favorite movies of the year. Nobody can write long scenes of dialogue and make it work better than Tarantino. It might have alot of subtitles but u won't even notice it after awhile. And Christoph Waltz gives the perfermance One of my favorite movies of the year. Nobody can write long scenes of dialogue and make it work better than Tarantino. It might have alot of subtitles but u won't even notice it after awhile. And Christoph Waltz gives the perfermance of the year. Definitely a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexAug 24, 2009
Tarantino's best, sometimes it was long-winded, but it was hilarious suspenseful, satirical, A very enjoyable movie, going to see it once more next week.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimothyCSep 14, 2009
Loved the movie. Great charachter concepts, killer lines delivered by Brad. My only problem with this movie was it was edited. You wanted more character backgrounds, but didn't get it. It was edited for time, but I left wanting to sit Loved the movie. Great charachter concepts, killer lines delivered by Brad. My only problem with this movie was it was edited. You wanted more character backgrounds, but didn't get it. It was edited for time, but I left wanting to sit through more. That's why it's a 9 instead of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexYJan 1, 2010
Tarantino has the power to polarize like no other director, and his bold style in pairing with the subject of Nazism will be too much for some. Before being a storyteller, Tarantino is a brilliant multimedia artist, and Basterds proves this Tarantino has the power to polarize like no other director, and his bold style in pairing with the subject of Nazism will be too much for some. Before being a storyteller, Tarantino is a brilliant multimedia artist, and Basterds proves this once and for all. This movie pulls the viewer along like a string puppet, making him feel in turn disgusted, exhilarated, devastated, amused. The pacing is absolutely brilliant: Tarantino's best since Pulp Fiction. Emotion and violence are exaggerated to the point of parody: if you can appreciate this sensability, you may be a Tarantino fan. If not, there's always Schindler's List. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennyNov 4, 2009
Back again to use all his power behind the cameras and in the folio to give us a treat as a kind of war movie never seen before. As usual the director of "Pulp Fiction" likes to mix and remix genres until what remains is really effective. Back again to use all his power behind the cameras and in the folio to give us a treat as a kind of war movie never seen before. As usual the director of "Pulp Fiction" likes to mix and remix genres until what remains is really effective. This spaghetti western in the midst of World War II with the purest ingredients Grindhouse style and his peculiar air to the engine of a Harley-Davidson, all without neglecting aesthetics over Nazi German and French. Overall the film has nowhere desperidicio, is chaos itself filled with discussions about jugosisimos in several languages, including French, English, German and even some Italian, where we discover Waltz. I have had a pipe in the two hour and a half, and even I was looking forward to seeing all that stuff he was forced to remove the final footage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewT.Oct 7, 2009
Not at all Tarantino's best film, but very good nonetheless. The acting prowess of the man playing Colonel Landa was absolutely some of the best I have seen in a Tarantino film, and his script and lines were absolutely fantastic. Not at all Tarantino's best film, but very good nonetheless. The acting prowess of the man playing Colonel Landa was absolutely some of the best I have seen in a Tarantino film, and his script and lines were absolutely fantastic. Unfortunately, the plot was a little weak, and many people will probably not like the way in which the story is presented, in a chapter format that jumps substantially between each of the chapters. That aside, this is one of the finest, most aesthetically pleasing, and daring films I have seen in the past few years. It is a must-watch for Tarantino fans, and I would hope that skeptics of this movie would appreciate it for all it has to offer, and not criticize it for its minor flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BootieH.Aug 23, 2009
Maybe not QT's best but dang close. Can't wait to see it again in the theater and of course on DVD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamRAug 23, 2009
Not quite in the same class as Pulp Fiction, but definitely his second best and funniest film to date!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
martinAug 24, 2009
Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is Not perfect, but very, very good. It is probably a better movie than the Kill Bill films, and equal, IMO to Jackie Brown and Pulp Fiction. The movie is based around 3 set pieces, at the beginning, middle, and end of the film In between is classic Tarantino dialogue. The three main characters are all terrific, with the lesser known stars, the Austrian Actor who plays the Nazi and the French Actress playing Shoshanna giving Oscar Worthy performances, and Brad Pitt is hilarious. This film probably deserves repeat viewings, as do all Tarantino films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickS.Aug 24, 2009
QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 QT takes another film genre, rips it apart, sticks in his own geekiness - gets the most amazing performance in Hans Landa. Then uses his prowess to deliver a film that made you glad you paid for premier seats instead of standard. He loses 1 point for letting Mike Myers near this movie. I went for a bathroom break so i didn't have to squirm in my seat. Absolute brilliance through and through. Well done Quentin, Jolly Good show old bean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisFritzAug 25, 2009
This is Tarantino's best movie since Pulp Fiction. Great visuals and, unlike the Kill Bill's, great dialogue. For a world as visual as ours, one cannot be surprised at people being bored by the dialogue. It has great writing. IThis is Tarantino's best movie since Pulp Fiction. Great visuals and, unlike the Kill Bill's, great dialogue. For a world as visual as ours, one cannot be surprised at people being bored by the dialogue. It has great writing. I just think people expected a war movie full of action and got something different. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RaymondK.Aug 25, 2009
Spellbinding dialogue...very cleverly constructed. Didn't even need the action to succeed. 153 minutes were insufficient...didn't want it to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BeryD.Aug 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this movie. It was no where near what I was expecting, but in a good way. Christoph Waltz deserves an oscar nomination for his impressive performance. The only complaint I have is the farmhouse and bar scenes seemed a little I really enjoyed this movie. It was no where near what I was expecting, but in a good way. Christoph Waltz deserves an oscar nomination for his impressive performance. The only complaint I have is the farmhouse and bar scenes seemed a little on the long side...but they were still engaging to watch on account of the dialogue. But everything else was awesome: the acting, carnage and story. Very impressive movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelHSep 10, 2009
The acting was some of the best I've ever seen. I've seen A LOT of movies. Colonel Landa brought smiles to my face he was so good. Like eating very fine food. I am not surprised many people didn't enjoy this film. This is high The acting was some of the best I've ever seen. I've seen A LOT of movies. Colonel Landa brought smiles to my face he was so good. Like eating very fine food. I am not surprised many people didn't enjoy this film. This is high art, this is theatre. If you were expecting a action flick you didn't do your homework. Tarantino is the x gen's genius. He's their Wells. In fact, I think, he's more talented than any living director. I can't see Scorses being this bold and confindent and that's saying a lot. Tarantino can do anything. My only critique is that he doesn't do more. So, IB gets a 9, because QT didn't close the deal. He was making a classic, another Pulp Fiction and then let the movie get away from him. The first scene of IB was perhaps the best scene ever to be put on film. The scene where all of the Nazis were being shot and burned... Not so much. In many ways there are 2 Tarantinos. The Kill Bill 1 + Kill Bill 2 Tarantino. 1 is pure fun pulp nonsense. 2 is mad dialogue drama genius. I prefer 2, but in a way it's perfect that he's both 1 and 2. That makes him Gen X. Right? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jessecSep 11, 2009
Hans with the whip cream, and when blond cinema owner walked out of prep for fire from projection room and that song playing; which i have no idea what artist it was, was classic QT and i thought movie was genius. cons-- some chapters were Hans with the whip cream, and when blond cinema owner walked out of prep for fire from projection room and that song playing; which i have no idea what artist it was, was classic QT and i thought movie was genius. cons-- some chapters were 3-5 min to long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimOSep 10, 2009
Response to Arch S and his point about "stupid languages", three votes down: Tarantino should be be commended on keeping his dialogue fresh whilst still crossing the language barrier (as a speaker of French and German I can say that it came Response to Arch S and his point about "stupid languages", three votes down: Tarantino should be be commended on keeping his dialogue fresh whilst still crossing the language barrier (as a speaker of French and German I can say that it came across excellently). These accomplished world actors do their best work in their native languages so if you don't want to watch subtitles, preferring to hear them struggling in heavy-accented English just so you don't have to read a little bit, then you don't deserve to watch this kind of film and I'm glad the effect is lost on you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcusWSep 20, 2009
After the last few misfires, QT emerges with a film which is pure unadulterated entertainment. Funny, loud and plain over the top fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradNSep 5, 2009
Great, entertaining movie. Many of the "official" critics seem to have lost the point of the movie - epic storytelling gone mad. Oh well, sucks for them, but great for those of us who, as another reviewer wrote, saw the genius in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CookieJan 12, 2010
Would be a ten except that Brad Pitt does NOT fit the role he plays. I am 100% there are other actors that could've done a better job than Pitt. Overall a great movie Christoph Waltz stole the film. I find it extremely rare when I am Would be a ten except that Brad Pitt does NOT fit the role he plays. I am 100% there are other actors that could've done a better job than Pitt. Overall a great movie Christoph Waltz stole the film. I find it extremely rare when I am watching a movie that I seriously want to see more often through out the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoanJan 29, 2010
Tarantino make it again? Hell, yes! 'Inglorious Basterds' is that kind of film that only can be made by a person like Quentin Tarantino: happy jew-hunters, happy nazi-hunters, happy Germans and happy solutions for a triangle Tarantino make it again? Hell, yes! 'Inglorious Basterds' is that kind of film that only can be made by a person like Quentin Tarantino: happy jew-hunters, happy nazi-hunters, happy Germans and happy solutions for a triangle gunfire. Okay, forget that. This can be (perfectly) the most personal film of Tarantino, and (without doubt) one of the best films of 2009. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeDFeb 10, 2010
Great fantasy WWII Movie - Pure QT multi-lingual dialogue-fest. Tense and action-filled dark comedy - I think the moaners are missing several points. Waltz was perfect - and the music was so well-used - What's not to like?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AbhinavRNov 30, 2009
Genius, pure genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristopheSDec 16, 2009
Wasnt really looking forward to watch this movie. I like Tarantino, but his last movies where not super (not bad, just not great). I also dont really like war movies that much. However this is not really a war movie. I can understand why Wasnt really looking forward to watch this movie. I like Tarantino, but his last movies where not super (not bad, just not great). I also dont really like war movies that much. However this is not really a war movie. I can understand why some people dont like the movie. Too much non-English part (many people, mostly iliterate americans, are not used to it and only love English and think everybody should only speak their language) and some scenes are sloow (too slow for their even slow mind?). Like the utterly fantastic opening scene, which is one of the best scenes of the year. Or the bar scene. man I didnt see that coming. The time Pitt spoke Italian was just bloody hilarious (ofcourse completly over the top and thus not really appreciated by everybody, especially if you are without a sense of humor). I dont want to give away too much, but to everybody who doesnt mind that the whole movie is not in Anglish, who dont mind there isnt an explosion every 5 seconds and with a sense of humor, watch this movie. You will be pleasantly suprised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelBAug 21, 2009
Bonjourno! Inglorious Basterds is a phenominal movie that drags on, but drags on in a way that captures you, and entices you with baseball bats and nazi scalps. This movie has its funny moments, but if your expecting a full fleged comedy, Bonjourno! Inglorious Basterds is a phenominal movie that drags on, but drags on in a way that captures you, and entices you with baseball bats and nazi scalps. This movie has its funny moments, but if your expecting a full fleged comedy, then your not going to get what you want. Instead, this movie provides intense drama with multiple instances of comic relief. There is no better way to spend your Saturday night then watching this piece of art. Also, if your movie theatre catches on fire, make sure the exit doors are unlocked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UjnH.Aug 22, 2009
Classic QT! Does not disappoint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Dr.GhettoblasterAug 22, 2009
The movie is absolutely brilliant. I now rank his top 3 films as such. 1. Pulp Fiction 2. Inglorious Basterds 3. Reservoir Dogs Yes, it's THAT good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidO.Aug 22, 2009
Many of the press reviewrs have completely misjudged this. Embarrasingly so. This may be Tarantino's best film since Jackie Brown. Engrossing, enthralling, superb entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaximillianL.Aug 22, 2009
This movie was simply amazing. Tarantino works his magic once again. All of the actors and actresses gave stellar performances, especially Christopher Waltz whose acting in this film was some of the best I've seen in recent memory. This This movie was simply amazing. Tarantino works his magic once again. All of the actors and actresses gave stellar performances, especially Christopher Waltz whose acting in this film was some of the best I've seen in recent memory. This film ranks as #2b on my list of favorite Tarantino films with #1 being Jackie Brown and #2a being Pulp Fiction. Amazing story, amazing performances, amazing movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichRAug 23, 2009
Hilarious script and dialogue and acting, just what I expected. For some reason, I laughed at this movie more than anyone else in the theatre. I loved it. For all the crummy reviews, nobody left the theatre until it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomBAug 24, 2009
Definitely Tarantino's own take on a WW2 film; Great characters and clever storyline that will keep your attention. The movie can feel somewhat slow in certain scenes and rewrites some aspects of history. Nevertheless, when it delivers Definitely Tarantino's own take on a WW2 film; Great characters and clever storyline that will keep your attention. The movie can feel somewhat slow in certain scenes and rewrites some aspects of history. Nevertheless, when it delivers it does so in a big way. The more I think about it the more I want to go see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkSAug 24, 2009
I enjoyed this movie very much. I've been a Q.T. fan for as long as he's making movies. Although, this isn't as good as his crowning achievement, Pulp Fiction, it comes in as a close second. My friend feels that it started I enjoyed this movie very much. I've been a Q.T. fan for as long as he's making movies. Although, this isn't as good as his crowning achievement, Pulp Fiction, it comes in as a close second. My friend feels that it started slowly, and then it was awesome. I thought it was great from start to finish. The dialogue was excellent. Scenes were often funny, but extremely intense at the same time. Brad Pitt speaking Eye-Tallian almost made me spray soda out of my nose. Great acting, action, and dialogue with classic Tarantino sprinkled throughout the film. If you're a Q.T. fan, you should check out this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NormG.Aug 24, 2009
Because of the dreck posing as comedies in the cinemas these days Inglourious Basterds hits you like a fresh breeze of creativity. Bet you never heard a Quentin Tarantino film thusly described. This completely fictional piece of World War II
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenAug 24, 2009
Best movie I have seen in the cinema this year. Up there with Pulp Fiction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GuyGAug 24, 2009
Amazing acting and directing. Somewhat slow - But, it's Tarantino, so get used to that. The opening scene was amazingly dramatic! The main character had an amazing performance!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DavidV.Aug 25, 2009
Great movie. If you've seen a Tarantino movie before you'd know the acting and dialogue make the movie more than the action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GilY.Aug 26, 2009
Hitler getting shot in the face. What more could you ask for?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TobyH.Aug 27, 2009
Simply spellbinding. Tarantino sure knows how to tell a story. Waltz was brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanSep 1, 2009
Many of the critics and viewers who gave this film bad reviews are missing the point. I was almost appalled to read one review by a writer that pegged the portrayal of the Jews as Nazi-esque. As an American Jew myself I know too well the Many of the critics and viewers who gave this film bad reviews are missing the point. I was almost appalled to read one review by a writer that pegged the portrayal of the Jews as Nazi-esque. As an American Jew myself I know too well the feeling of victimization and anger that came from learning of my people recent past (and my family's). The violence and gore in the movie was justified and not really overdone. That being said, the dialogue, while extensive, is excellent and I never felt bored during the film. I also felt that the style was like a mixing of spaghetti-western, WWII movie, and Shakespeare tragedy (yes, I said Shakespeare). I would recommend this movie highly to all of those open-minded folks that enjoy seeing a movie with a witty, yet gripping view of a tired and played out (and may I add mostly boring) genre of films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewZSep 12, 2009
Do not believe those reviewers who would say this film is boring. It is anything but. If you've got a handful of brain cells, it keeps you on the edge of your seat for the duration. For lovers of language and crisp dialogue, it Do not believe those reviewers who would say this film is boring. It is anything but. If you've got a handful of brain cells, it keeps you on the edge of your seat for the duration. For lovers of language and crisp dialogue, it doesn't get much better than this. All the major events in the film hang on a thin, ominous linguistic thread. Would be in a 10 if it weren't for the interruption of the clumsily-acted "Bear Jew". As bad as Eli Roth is in this role, Hans Landa is brilliant in his. If you've enjoyed past Tarantino films, I can almost guarantee you'll enjoy this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JG.Sep 5, 2009
Really loved this movie and will pay to see it again. Beware though, you have to go in ready to accept it for what it is and not try to make it what its not. Its not Kill Bill. Its not Saving Private Ryan. Its a thing all its own and I Really loved this movie and will pay to see it again. Beware though, you have to go in ready to accept it for what it is and not try to make it what its not. Its not Kill Bill. Its not Saving Private Ryan. Its a thing all its own and I enjoyed every bit of its almost 3 hour running time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimonS.Jan 19, 2010
Masterfully executed. Its hard not to enjoy the film even if you're the type who doesn't like brutal violence in movies. It's also hard to deny the talent that is Tarentino.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RafaelL.Oct 19, 2009
Incredible, fun and extremely revolutionary. The best Tarantino's movie since "Pulp Fiction".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimHDec 21, 2009
While a bit tedious and plodding at times this film shows that Tarantino is above all else a great director. Dismiss all of the haters on here and see it for yourself to make up your own mind. A great entry movie for those wishing to see While a bit tedious and plodding at times this film shows that Tarantino is above all else a great director. Dismiss all of the haters on here and see it for yourself to make up your own mind. A great entry movie for those wishing to see more European cinema, and a fantastic Tarantino movie with great dialogue, tense scenes, great acting and an ending that makes you want to watch it again immediately. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisNAug 21, 2009
Thrilling, graphic, hilarious, stylish, excessive, juvenile, depraved, appalling- Inglourious Basterds could be accurately referred to as all these things; but the world of cinema (and particularly my local multiplex) is far more colorful Thrilling, graphic, hilarious, stylish, excessive, juvenile, depraved, appalling- Inglourious Basterds could be accurately referred to as all these things; but the world of cinema (and particularly my local multiplex) is far more colorful with Quentin Tarantino's newest war movie. You won't be able to take the eyes off the screen, and unless you're easily offended, you'll enjoy every minute. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanWAug 21, 2009
Long in some parts, but overall an amazing film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KyleF.Aug 21, 2009
This definitely ranked up with pulp fiction in my opinion. loved the move. On a side note Dave S, most of us had relatives or someone that fought in WW2. I had 3 relatives that died on D Day and i didn't find this movie offensive in the least.
0 of 0 users found this helpful