Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: August 21, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1342 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,072
Mixed:
113
Negative:
157
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
PeterJFeb 14, 2010
I loved pulp fiction , this movie is insensitive , ridiculous, insulting to jews and germans. Sorry quinten your time is up , this was your swan song , you have just lost a big fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimD.Feb 23, 2010
Only Christoph Watlz's excellent performance, good cinematography and a great soundtrack keep this from being a 0. It is one of the most repulsive, offensive movies I've ever seen, and the people that gave it a 10 obviously delight Only Christoph Watlz's excellent performance, good cinematography and a great soundtrack keep this from being a 0. It is one of the most repulsive, offensive movies I've ever seen, and the people that gave it a 10 obviously delight in seeing a theatre full of people being burned alive, mowed down by machine gun fire, and ultimately blown to bits by, get this, Jewish suicide bombers. That the victims are Nazis is beside the point. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful
3
StanS.Aug 21, 2009
Tarantino is the King with no clothing. Lauded by critics and film aficionados, but truth be told he is an abject failure as a storyteller. His films drag and sag and never have anything beneath them besides slapstick mayhem. The Basterds Tarantino is the King with no clothing. Lauded by critics and film aficionados, but truth be told he is an abject failure as a storyteller. His films drag and sag and never have anything beneath them besides slapstick mayhem. The Basterds are no different 2 and 1/2 hours plus ending as Eliot would put it "not a bang but a whimper." Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful
3
JamesLAug 23, 2009
I feel sorry for Brad Pitt as this is the second consecutive major bomb he has starred in. This film is simply not entertaining, funny, enjoyable, or worth your time and money. Tarantino seems to have forgotten that you need a plot, I feel sorry for Brad Pitt as this is the second consecutive major bomb he has starred in. This film is simply not entertaining, funny, enjoyable, or worth your time and money. Tarantino seems to have forgotten that you need a plot, character development, dialogue that matters, and respect for the intelligence of your audience. Once can not just throw crap on a wall and see what sticks. That appears to be his film making approach now! This was more of a cartoon, a bad cartoon, than a movie that one could appreciate in any manner. Tarantino is washed up! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DWillySep 16, 2009
Talk about your missed opportunities! Virtually all the potential good stuff is missing from the screen: Jews taking revenge (except for the goofy thing with the baseball bat), SPOILER the evil guy getting his due from the girl whose family Talk about your missed opportunities! Virtually all the potential good stuff is missing from the screen: Jews taking revenge (except for the goofy thing with the baseball bat), SPOILER the evil guy getting his due from the girl whose family he killed, the officer hating German getting set loose, and on and on). True, there's some Tarentino quirky artistry in moments, but his indulgent camp is more often cringe inducing. I feel bad for the folks all over America who go to see Brad Pitt in a bad-ass WWII movie and get this odd bit of a turd. Pitt has probably less than 30 min of screen time (and is very thin here, anyway), and two thirds of the dialog is subtitled French or German. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RalphMSep 20, 2009
Despite my actually leaving the cinema with a bad taste in my mouth, I have to concede that there were some excellent character dialogues and cinematography dotted throughout this film and I was impressed that such a high profile film could Despite my actually leaving the cinema with a bad taste in my mouth, I have to concede that there were some excellent character dialogues and cinematography dotted throughout this film and I was impressed that such a high profile film could get away with so much German and french dialogue. However all of this was tarnished by over the top ultraviolence that makes you sad to think that so many people revel in it. It made my stomach churn to think people paid to see this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KeromeJan 24, 2010
Tarantino's world-war 2 effort is a very mixed bag: although it is a cinematographic tour-de-force and wonderfully polished in its technical execution, the nihilistic story feels like a waste of some great performances by the Tarantino's world-war 2 effort is a very mixed bag: although it is a cinematographic tour-de-force and wonderfully polished in its technical execution, the nihilistic story feels like a waste of some great performances by the star-studded cast, Christopher Waltz and Diane Kruger being particularly excellent as Hans Landa and Bridget von Hammersmark. Although the violence may shock and the slick scenes may briefly hold the attention, ultimately this is as soulless and empty as Deathproof, and less likable in many ways. Pulp Fiction it is not. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful
3
RobGDec 10, 2009
Yes is so bad that many people think it's a good movie. Awful, boring and don't tell me that mr tarantino believes in all that c**p. Worse Tarantino movie, period.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AllanFDec 15, 2009
How can you call it a masterpiece without taking anything away from it. The characters never develop, Brad Pitt was definately annoying through out it. If world war 2 were fictional this may have been a decent movie. Given the subject matter How can you call it a masterpiece without taking anything away from it. The characters never develop, Brad Pitt was definately annoying through out it. If world war 2 were fictional this may have been a decent movie. Given the subject matter you must be very careful with the way you present the story, or you must give good reason for taking such a stance. Either there was so much going on that none of it seemed important, or there really wasn't much going on and they were telling us how important it was. Like the Godfather series, the first two are excellent because they make you get to know and love the characters while they drive the story along. Inglorious would be the third, a whole movie made to tell you one thing. (Either QT hates nazis or he loves blood and facism, not sure which. In Godfather threes case it was two hours two tell you, yes, one day Michael Corleone can die. Inglorious Bastards would make an excellent short story. But it was truly hard to get through... And I mean c'mon, who watches a QT movie to read it. GAH Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
lawrencealtafferAug 22, 2009
Some great acting and great lines but for a film that is 2.5 hours or maybe a little more there is almost ZERO character development. You have a Nazi Loyalist who completely flips in the period of 30 secs for no reason, and its neverSome great acting and great lines but for a film that is 2.5 hours or maybe a little more there is almost ZERO character development. You have a Nazi Loyalist who completely flips in the period of 30 secs for no reason, and its never explained.. just one of many holes. Many long boring moments with characters that could have been left out...very long and overall boring film...with a few great moments sprinkled in.. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
3
peternAug 24, 2009
I have just arrived home from watching Inglourious Basterds, and i have to say that it was a total disappointment. The movie had all of the ingredients too be something special. the performances were good, the cinematography was good. But i I have just arrived home from watching Inglourious Basterds, and i have to say that it was a total disappointment. The movie had all of the ingredients too be something special. the performances were good, the cinematography was good. But i have to say the directing let what could have been an excellent movie spiral out of control into, into a mishmash of different genres and the whole things starts too look ridiculous. What had worked for Tarantino in the past seems too be old hat these days, and unless he can come up with something new i think his day has passed. I am a fan of Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction, but this movie looked like Quentin managed too actually get down on film the exact feeling that we all have when we have so much going on in our minds we find it hard too explain or put down on paper, Quentin has however managed this and the result is that feeling of so many confused ideas actually all making it to screen. Hopefully Quentin can find something new in his bag of tricks otherwise i feel it might be time for him too hang up his hat. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ahmedk.Aug 26, 2009
Terrible movie. Terrible script, not funny. The bar scene is the most tedious scene in film history. The Italian speaking joke is terrible. Once more thing, how do three non German speaking people attending an event in the presence of Terrible movie. Terrible script, not funny. The bar scene is the most tedious scene in film history. The Italian speaking joke is terrible. Once more thing, how do three non German speaking people attending an event in the presence of Hitler, Gobbels, Gurring et al get in and not get frisked and their body checked for guns and bombs around their ankles. Poor, poor movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
QuintoT.Aug 30, 2009
I give this film a rating of three for being confused. The story line never gels. I saw QT interview the director of the original, Enzo Castellari. QT was very excited at remaking this low grade pulp film of the '70's. Having seen I give this film a rating of three for being confused. The story line never gels. I saw QT interview the director of the original, Enzo Castellari. QT was very excited at remaking this low grade pulp film of the '70's. Having seen the original, I could see how QT might enjoy camping up the screen. However, this version has almost nothing in common with the original. I don't fault QT for making a WWII film but if I were Mr. Castellari, I would have been offended by his utter disregard for the original story line. I would have asked him politely to make his own film and leave me out of it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TimCSep 14, 2009
pollution for your mind. Has some good scenes and good acting, but the violence is a bit over the top. I could of done without seeing this movie. Almost walked out of the theater!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
WadeGSep 16, 2009
This movie was waaayy over hyped. Also seems that the trailer tricks you into believing your going to see something more action packed. Not a great movie by any means really. Mostly long drawn out subtitled Tarantino jibber jabber. Yes, for This movie was waaayy over hyped. Also seems that the trailer tricks you into believing your going to see something more action packed. Not a great movie by any means really. Mostly long drawn out subtitled Tarantino jibber jabber. Yes, for anyone who didn't know nearly 80% of this American movie is subtitled. Normally subtitles don't bother me as I watch a lot of Japanese movies but the painfully long conversations in this movie were hard to keep up with because the subtitles disappeared to quickly. There were only a handful of scenes that had significant action. Mostly this movie is just a boring dialog driven story about an elite group of soldiers who only have about 20 to 30 minutes of screen time throughout the entire movie. Which that is totally ok with me if thats what im expecting to see, however they marketed this movie a action packed Nazi killing extravaganza. Overall im just disappointed because I really tried to like this movie but in the long run it was just a mind numbing experience and I found myself about halfway through not really caring about what happened anymore. The only parts of the movie that were truly great to me was the first 15 minutes and the last 15 minutes and maybe a few tiny bits of entertainment throughout. Take my opinion for what its worth but I believe your money and time would be better spent somewhere else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
NathanRAug 23, 2009
Little cinematic tricks here and there will fool the moviegoer into believing they are watching something fresh and innovative. The movie is 2.5 hrs of long, drawn-out scenes that could have been easily comprised to one hour. Tarantino tries Little cinematic tricks here and there will fool the moviegoer into believing they are watching something fresh and innovative. The movie is 2.5 hrs of long, drawn-out scenes that could have been easily comprised to one hour. Tarantino tries to relive Pulp Fiction vicariously throughout Basterds, which only succeeds in highlighting each and every way this movie comes up short. I pleaded with my group to leave but by that time there was only 30 minutes left. This movie should have been better. Tarantino has lost his touch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
chrisB.Aug 24, 2009
The marketing and advertising for this movie is extremely deceiving and I'm pi$%ed off, and feel stupid for falling for it. Basterds was advertised as an "action" and "war" movie... it was niether one!! It was a diologue movie and the The marketing and advertising for this movie is extremely deceiving and I'm pi$%ed off, and feel stupid for falling for it. Basterds was advertised as an "action" and "war" movie... it was niether one!! It was a diologue movie and the character development was so horrid that i didnt care what they were blabbering about for 2.5 hours. The saviors of the film were chris waltz and the german officer they broke out of prison (who they killed way to early)... Death-proof was so bad that i should have seen it coming. Tarantino tries to salute so many old movies, he just needs to focus on his own... its going to his head. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
dalawmanNov 3, 2010
Terrible movie!! Brad Pit can't act!! His southern accent is so bad I wanted to have all my teeth pulled while watching this to get some relief! Tarantino is the sadistic, violent, perverted psycho he always is and the people love it I guess.Terrible movie!! Brad Pit can't act!! His southern accent is so bad I wanted to have all my teeth pulled while watching this to get some relief! Tarantino is the sadistic, violent, perverted psycho he always is and the people love it I guess. What do you expect from the most violent country in the world. Movie is like a high school play, script is terrible also. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
RoeylNov 1, 2011
From this movie comes no conclusion, no morale. At the end, the only thing I felt was emptiness. The plot (if it can be called so) is simply terrible or non-existent despite the great visuals and spectacular acting (except Hitler's character,From this movie comes no conclusion, no morale. At the end, the only thing I felt was emptiness. The plot (if it can be called so) is simply terrible or non-existent despite the great visuals and spectacular acting (except Hitler's character, which was not realistic enough, too caricatural). It's just bundle of moments (often too long) patched up together and the two separate story lines have no interactions other than the final location of the story. It also holds no historic value whatsoever. The violence and gore are not justified for it does not add up any values of interest to the movie. All in all, the movie has nothing beneath it, nothing to tell, and just comes short of interest in its lengthy 2.5 h, a great disappointment. 0/10 for the plot 9.5/10 for the acting 8/10 for the visuals and 0/10 for all else. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
3
mafiousoApr 25, 2011
well it took me a while to finally watch this because i had my doubts and i was right, the movie is weak and seems to just nazi bash. there are pointless scenes that drag on that hold little use to the story. allot of the story is not evenwell it took me a while to finally watch this because i had my doubts and i was right, the movie is weak and seems to just nazi bash. there are pointless scenes that drag on that hold little use to the story. allot of the story is not even realistic to the story, for example all the leaders in one place with such little security, the jew hunter converting when he could be a hero, disregard for solders personal feeling vs doing their duty. quirks and acting was good but what can i say the movie was all over the place. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
adolfGarlicMar 22, 2013
Another revenge bore-a-thon from Tarantino, possibly the world's most overrated director. Not even a decent soundtrack for this one either. Well shot, average casting, poor soundtrack, terrible wandering cliched plot with stupid '70s'Another revenge bore-a-thon from Tarantino, possibly the world's most overrated director. Not even a decent soundtrack for this one either. Well shot, average casting, poor soundtrack, terrible wandering cliched plot with stupid '70s' moments. Don't waste 2.5 hours of your life watching this garbage. His last good film was Pulp Fiction, everything since has been abysmal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
IntroduceJun 15, 2014
The film reveals many things,
but ultimately it's egdy'ness stems
as an over compensation, embarrassingly grounding the films absurd cartoonish plot. It really was an idea better left in Tarintino's personal to-do list and would never
The film reveals many things,
but ultimately it's egdy'ness stems
as an over compensation, embarrassingly
grounding the films absurd cartoonish plot.
It really was an idea better left in Tarintino's personal
to-do list and would never have been sanctioned at any other
point in his career, ultimately lacking the cache and raw power
of his other work. 3 for effort but essentially this film is a cover up of
its early theoretical conception, I almost wish this was the film he "never got to make"
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ricosAug 30, 2009
Well, let's all lean back, shall we.. Have a drink and smoke our pipes and talk, then talk some more.. And then, just when you think we've talked enough, let's continue the conversation in french, with a german translation.. Well, let's all lean back, shall we.. Have a drink and smoke our pipes and talk, then talk some more.. And then, just when you think we've talked enough, let's continue the conversation in french, with a german translation.. Or vice versa. You choose. I don't care. When we've finished talking, someone else will take over. They too will smoke sigars, drink whiskey, maybe even milk. They'll eat cake and talk some more, some in french, then in german. This film had me leaving the theatre in pure boredom. I think I lasted about 90mins before I had worn out every imaginable sitting-position you can cram into a cinema seat. I did this for Tarantino; because I've thought he was a genius. Until now. Apparently this basterd of a movie lasts for 153mins, and something cool probably, eventually happens. But I don't care. QT has grown overconfident in his ability to produce lengthy dialogues. And here there are no "charming m*f* pigs" either.. You wait for them, of course: Those nuggets of clever conversation. But they never come.. At least not within the first 90mins. So, I didn't see the whole thing. I think if this weren't Tarantino, alot of people wouldn't. All the overrated reviews of this proves QT has reached a point where he gets a good rating by default.. I think he's developed a speech impediment. It's a damn shame. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
2
BrandonSJan 2, 2010
Overlong and boring, punctuated by periodic scenes of incredibly uncomfortable violence. It's like Tarantino's other movies, only without the charm and wit. Very disappointing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
PaulSAug 25, 2009
Not very good at all. QT is and always has been a one trick pony.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ScottYAug 27, 2009
Chad S. You are usually a decent critic. But you missed the hear. Does everyone have Tarantino goggles on when he makes a movie. Everything in here, save for a few brilliant scenes, are awkward and embarrassing to watch. It is "film student" Chad S. You are usually a decent critic. But you missed the hear. Does everyone have Tarantino goggles on when he makes a movie. Everything in here, save for a few brilliant scenes, are awkward and embarrassing to watch. It is "film student" level amateurish which is to say there is no excuse for that at this point in his career. People, his lack of film making etiquette shows through his inexperience. He has not had proper training as of yet apparently. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SheldonHOct 4, 2009
I thought had potential, but was just too violent for me (first time I've said that)... too predictable.... oh well. Had some laughs be QT is just too predictable now.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AlbertP.Aug 23, 2009
Personally, I can not believe all the good user reviews this movie has gotten. Are you all just Tarantino fanatics that will give him a 10 no matter what he throws your way? For the record, Pulp Fiction is one of my three favorite movies of Personally, I can not believe all the good user reviews this movie has gotten. Are you all just Tarantino fanatics that will give him a 10 no matter what he throws your way? For the record, Pulp Fiction is one of my three favorite movies of all time. I loved Resv. Dogs, True Romance, and Kill Bill. But with Deathproof I started to see some chinks in Quentin's armor. It was self-indulgent, way too-talky, and mediocre at best. Well, Basterds picks up where Deathproof leaves off. The funny thing is that Basterds is just as talky as Deathproof, and all of QT's other movies, but 75% of the movie is in subtitles!!! Only QT has the director capital to pull something like this off in H-town. Anyways, I did something I never thought I'd ever do - with an hour to go, I walked out of my first Quentin Tarantino movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PJWSep 12, 2009
Another piece of WWII False Heroic Exceptionalism. Most people willfully turned the other way as genocide took place and partook in more direct ways. Spare me yet another Hollywood movie creating a false hero behaving in some stylized Another piece of WWII False Heroic Exceptionalism. Most people willfully turned the other way as genocide took place and partook in more direct ways. Spare me yet another Hollywood movie creating a false hero behaving in some stylized vacuum. I'd rather have the masses see a film that showcases complacency following propaganda, re-socialization, the robotic numbing necessary to do nothing as others are killed beside you. The script lacks the humor of other QT films and the smart narrative that made you enjoy the twists of the film. Here there are so few surprises - it's an all-around disappointment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MikelSSep 24, 2009
Plotless, with no character development, and a sad attempt at dark humor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful