Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: August 21, 2009
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1335 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,065
Mixed:
112
Negative:
158
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
BrianM.Jan 29, 2010
Inglourious Basterds is mostly entertaining during its 2 hour and 30 minute running time, but it seems to exist primarily so that Quentin Tarantio can remind audiences and critics of his talents. Here he reimagines the fate of Hitler, Inglourious Basterds is mostly entertaining during its 2 hour and 30 minute running time, but it seems to exist primarily so that Quentin Tarantio can remind audiences and critics of his talents. Here he reimagines the fate of Hitler, juggles separate but converging plotlines, uses German and French subtitles and creates a bloody revenge fantasy out of the Holocaust. In the end though, despite all of its virtuosity, it is a film that says nothing and means even less. An example of style over substance that, unlike Pulp Fiction, doesn't have any deeper meaning. It is best enjoyed for what it is: sheer entertainment with no real depth or substance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RickG.Feb 18, 2010
This film is almost impossible to rate. A 6 will have to do, because in a sense it's far too wonderful -- thanks to many great scenes and performances -- to give a 5 or below. Yet, as a piece of storytelling it's so wretchedly This film is almost impossible to rate. A 6 will have to do, because in a sense it's far too wonderful -- thanks to many great scenes and performances -- to give a 5 or below. Yet, as a piece of storytelling it's so wretchedly constructed, so abhorrently paced and so dizzyingly uneven, it can't possibly deserve a "positive" grade. What a frustrating experience! There's a truly great movie buried somewhere in this mess, and Waltz deserves the Oscar hands down, but Tarantino is long overdue to revisit the discipline he showed in his 1990s-era films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrandonD.Aug 22, 2009
I'm not sure if it's the way he used them, or the amount of them over the years, but these Tarantinoisms are getting dull. This movie had a lot of potential, but did not follow through. This has turned out to be my least favorite I'm not sure if it's the way he used them, or the amount of them over the years, but these Tarantinoisms are getting dull. This movie had a lot of potential, but did not follow through. This has turned out to be my least favorite film by Mr. Tarantino. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ChrisAug 24, 2009
Warning: SPOILER included! I LOVE Tarentino....usually, and I was wildly entertained by this movie up to the point of the assassinations of the Nazi high command & Hitler.Then, I felt the movie completely deflated for me. I know, it's Warning: SPOILER included! I LOVE Tarentino....usually, and I was wildly entertained by this movie up to the point of the assassinations of the Nazi high command & Hitler.Then, I felt the movie completely deflated for me. I know, it's Tarentino, but I thought that was just too unbelieveable considering too well known historical facts about Hitler's death. Otherwise, it could have been a brilliant film. The whole idea of the film festval/cinema being the revenge on fascism for jews & western culture was beautiful & brilliant genius. Acting is terrific. Characters great, especially Brad Pitt as Aldo The Apache. But Quentin sabotaged it with the Hitler death thing. And the British spy dies WAY too soon. Makes his character pointless. Too silly & foolish. If you're gonna do historical fantasy, let the audiece know from the beginning, so belief can be suspended early. This was way too much deus ex machina when it happened & I couldn't buy it. Ruined the whole earlier movie for me. Nice try, QT. Unlike some others, I don't think this was on the level of Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown or either of the Kill Bill's. I think it's his WORST, actually, though a highly flawed masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
billsAug 27, 2009
Many scenes such as the bar scene were too drawn out to be effective.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MaxAug 28, 2009
Not Tarantino's best. Most of the film was completely dialogue based and in another language, which didn't really mesh well with a film in which the central pleasures come from exciting things physically appening. I was sitting Not Tarantino's best. Most of the film was completely dialogue based and in another language, which didn't really mesh well with a film in which the central pleasures come from exciting things physically appening. I was sitting around reading, waiting for something to happen. The story was kind of boring and unbelievable. But hey, I'm sure it was better than Post Grad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidC.Sep 2, 2009
Don't believe the hype, this is a mediocre movie at best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamieBSep 8, 2009
Mostly entertaining but long and uneven. Many tension-filled moments with great dialog but subtitles slightly weaken the effect. Glad it was subtitled though, Valkyrie was ruined by lack of subtitles imo. Brad Pitt chews the scenery, as they Mostly entertaining but long and uneven. Many tension-filled moments with great dialog but subtitles slightly weaken the effect. Glad it was subtitled though, Valkyrie was ruined by lack of subtitles imo. Brad Pitt chews the scenery, as they say. You really notice him 'acting'. Hans Linda character was easily the best part of the movie, intelligent and intimidating; he's operating on a higher level than others. Although that makes his comeuppance at the end a little jarring. I did not like the soundtrack which had similar elements to Kill Bill but it just doesn't work here. Its another QT genre mashup which i guess that's all he makes going forward. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
VinnieAug 23, 2009
Half of this movie is pretty good, the rest is forgettable and boring. Brad Pitt is absolutely terrible, his accent was unconvincing to say the least and most of his jokes weren't too funny. Sadly, nearly every scene with the Basterds Half of this movie is pretty good, the rest is forgettable and boring. Brad Pitt is absolutely terrible, his accent was unconvincing to say the least and most of his jokes weren't too funny. Sadly, nearly every scene with the Basterds is pure misery. Tarantino wanted to show retribution and so these scenes show a bunch of blood thirsty and barbaric Jews, making it kind of hard to sympathize with them at all. I'm not saying the Jews deserved what happened to them but in this movie, the Nazis were definitely tame in comparison to their enemies in terms of brutality. The other half of the movie revolves around a Jewish girl in hiding. I thought her scenes were quite good. The real star of this film is the no-name actor who plays the villain Hans Landa. I actually found myself rooting for him. You know it's a messed up movie when the Nazi is more charismatic than the Allies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelM.Aug 25, 2009
Walz's Col. Landa is easily the best part of the film. Tarantino has always been a dialogue man, which I love. Normally he uses simple conversations that the audience enjoys sitting in on. Here his conversations are mostly dry. The Walz's Col. Landa is easily the best part of the film. Tarantino has always been a dialogue man, which I love. Normally he uses simple conversations that the audience enjoys sitting in on. Here his conversations are mostly dry. The usual wit and creativity (with the exception of Landa) are missing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KHAug 25, 2009
Quite disappointing given QT's track record. This movie plain ole dragged in too numerous places and didn't capture the QT spirit and style. A let down from a big fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TimBAug 25, 2009
All I can say is a 2 1/2 hour movie, could have done it in 1 1/2 let everyone else fill in the blanks but didnt feel cheated in going to see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NorbRAug 31, 2009
A lot of people sitting and talking, often with subtitles. The talking is occasionally livened up by acts of violence, many of which are familiar to the viewer from the film trailer. For some reason, the best part is the first scene, which A lot of people sitting and talking, often with subtitles. The talking is occasionally livened up by acts of violence, many of which are familiar to the viewer from the film trailer. For some reason, the best part is the first scene, which is mostly a bunch of sitting and talking, followed by a massacre. Huh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CharlieD.Sep 2, 2009
Inglourious Basterds is a boiling pot of concepts. It has so many influences, it's almost impossible to list them all. The film is, in essence, a love letter to European cinema. This turns out to be the film's blessing and curse. Inglourious Basterds is a boiling pot of concepts. It has so many influences, it's almost impossible to list them all. The film is, in essence, a love letter to European cinema. This turns out to be the film's blessing and curse. Languid pacing, endless dialogue, brutal violence, odd camera choices, and out of era music don't add up to the eclectic sum that Tarantino had hoped for. There is some miscasting, such as Eli Roth as the "Bear Jew", who doesn't convey the menace that his role requires. However, Christoph Waltz is perfect as the clever and cruel Hans Landa. Brad Pitt does nicely as Aldo Raine, leader of the basterds. But in several instances, the all performers are weighed down by the amount of dialogue they must convey in however many languages. Ultimately, the film has too many personalities to know what it really wants to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TimDJan 27, 2010
This movie had its moments, but several scenes failed to maintain the tension their length demanded. The violence was entertaining, but overall, Tarantino needed to make this movie tighter. I frequently was bored waiting for the inevitable This movie had its moments, but several scenes failed to maintain the tension their length demanded. The violence was entertaining, but overall, Tarantino needed to make this movie tighter. I frequently was bored waiting for the inevitable conclusions of scenes. Not a bad movie, but a bit boring at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CJFJun 12, 2010
Trailers, misleading - they were funnier than the movie, Brad was great as usual, My God, The Subtitles, I am an old man, don't wanna read that much while I am trying to think! Some new stuff, the blow your jewels off triangle was great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
mauriciolNov 6, 2009
Ok love quinton but the movie was a litle slow, sofor the second time and i went the movies again and saw it agian i twas much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RarrAug 26, 2009
It was good, but not great. Way to strung out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
deebbAug 29, 2009
Entertaining and beautifully filmed but overrated. Christoph Waltz steals the show. One of Tarantino's weaker outings. Slightly confused and violence for the sake of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
scottvDec 21, 2009
This movie was nothing like I expected from seeing the previews, I actually thought that it was supposed to be a comedy, kinda of like Fargo but set during world war II. The previews that I saw showed smart/witty scenes that seemed funny, This movie was nothing like I expected from seeing the previews, I actually thought that it was supposed to be a comedy, kinda of like Fargo but set during world war II. The previews that I saw showed smart/witty scenes that seemed funny, however, this movie is hardly a comedy. That said, I ultimately enjoyed the movie, the beginning was interesting, the middle seemed very long and at times boring but the ending made up for the dragging parts in the middle. There where a few light moments of comedy but mostly just alot of people dying throughout. Definetly worth seeing even with all of the subtitles (lots & lots of subtitles!) with a strong finish and a typical Tarantino style ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
lherman22Dec 4, 2010
I'm didn't care for this movie much. I really wanted to love it, Tarantino puts on a good show. Watching the first scene with Christoph Waltz in the Frenchman's farmhouse, I thought wow this is going to be good, but it just got progressivelyI'm didn't care for this movie much. I really wanted to love it, Tarantino puts on a good show. Watching the first scene with Christoph Waltz in the Frenchman's farmhouse, I thought wow this is going to be good, but it just got progressively worse. There are some other gem scenes though. The last bit just seemed like he ran out of ideas and time. Overall it is worth seeing, but it could have been so much better. I was left disappointed. I was really surprised it was nominated for best picture, because I think there were better films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
J-ShapAug 28, 2011
In spite of excellent performances and carefully crafted dialogue, Tarantino can't hide the fact that Inglourious Basterds is smug and glacially paced, feeling more like Quentin Tarantino's celebration of himself as opposed to the violent,In spite of excellent performances and carefully crafted dialogue, Tarantino can't hide the fact that Inglourious Basterds is smug and glacially paced, feeling more like Quentin Tarantino's celebration of himself as opposed to the violent, frenzied fantasies that made his early work so brilliant. That said, a good chunk of Tarantino celebrating himself is a celebration of other movies, so that does help to ease down and enjoy what's here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaAug 25, 2014
The movie starts with a very slow scene, which makes one wonder what exactly they are going to see for the duration of the film. The plot is divided to several smaller stories, it seems, but they all come together in the end.

The Basterds
The movie starts with a very slow scene, which makes one wonder what exactly they are going to see for the duration of the film. The plot is divided to several smaller stories, it seems, but they all come together in the end.

The Basterds themselves, in my opinion, didn't have nearly enough screen time to become the focus of the movie. None of them was a truly memorable personality, and like most of the characters of the movie, they remained rather hollow to the end. Bratty and violent, but hollow.

The only story and character that remained clear and true from start to finish was Mélanie Laurent's Shosanne Dreyfus. Her story was touching, and her motivation was very human, clear and powerful.

There were some funny moments, but those occurred too seldom, and the plot itself seemed to be very dialogue-driven; a lot of talk with little action. Sure, there was action, but the very first scenes gave a good indication how the future "chapters" would be structured, pretty much.

All in all I'm not sure how much I liked this movie. There was a plot, but it was too drawn out in many ways. While dividing the story into chapters worked, making sure the main plot didn't bounce all over in place and time, it also split the events a bit too far from each other, carried by too many characters.

Or maybe it's just Tarantino's style that I dislike, I don't know. I don't think I've ever seen a movie of his that I would have wholeheartedly enjoyed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
I liked the film but I am not 100% sure that I would recommend it. I think Tarantino tries too hard to re-create the magic he had with Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs but he fails to do so. The cast was good but the entire idea of the filmI liked the film but I am not 100% sure that I would recommend it. I think Tarantino tries too hard to re-create the magic he had with Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs but he fails to do so. The cast was good but the entire idea of the film was just too stupid. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Mar 26, 2012
Inglourious Basterds is a classic Tarantino film with its long dialogue and strong violence but this movie was way overdone and a little boring at times. Not bad but not his best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Apr 3, 2012
The movie would be really good if I started watching it half way though. The beginning(while important) is just slow and mindless. I could not focus on it, but the ending and the acting were top notch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DanielwWhiteNov 27, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is really not that great. The story line is very odd and not that interesting overall. The characters are done really well but the ending is terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NRidingJan 10, 2010
If not for the brilliant performance of Christoph Waltz this movie would have been a total write off.
4 of 10 users found this helpful
5
RMADDENAug 22, 2009
whoopee, politically corrected Dirty Dozen redux via Pulp Fiction, with BP as Lee Marvin. myself, I preferred Lee Marvin.
3 of 6 users found this helpful
5
JaimeCSep 2, 2009
A film that goes desperately in search of an editor and doesn't find it. Twenty mintues too long. Admittedly buzzes in parts but long and drawn out through the middle act. The opening scene holds much promise but subsequent scenes fail A film that goes desperately in search of an editor and doesn't find it. Twenty mintues too long. Admittedly buzzes in parts but long and drawn out through the middle act. The opening scene holds much promise but subsequent scenes fail to build any tension. Characters are killed off before the audience has had any chance to invest interest in them. Waltz is good throughout however. Recut the movie twenty minutes shorter, and 80% less self-indulgent and this would be excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful