Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the first year of the German occupation of France, Shosanna Dreyfus witnesses the execution of her family at the hand of Nazi Colonel Hans Landa. Shosanna narrowly escapes and flees to Paris where she forges a new identity as the owner and operator of a cinema. Elsewhere in Europe,In the first year of the German occupation of France, Shosanna Dreyfus witnesses the execution of her family at the hand of Nazi Colonel Hans Landa. Shosanna narrowly escapes and flees to Paris where she forges a new identity as the owner and operator of a cinema. Elsewhere in Europe, lieutenant Aldo Raine organizes a group of Jewish American soldiers to perform swift, shocking acts of retribution. Later known to their enemy as "the basterds," Raine's squad joins German actress and undercover agent Bridget von Hammersmark on a mission to take down the leaders of the Third Reich. Fates converge under a cinema marquis, where Shosanna is poised to carry out a revenge plan of her own. (The Weinstein Company)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. 100
    With Inglourious Basterds, Quentin Tarantino has made his best movie since "Pulp Fiction." He has also made what could arguably be considered the most audacious World War II movie of all-time.
  2. It's not enough to say that Inglourious Basterds is Quentin Tarantino's best movie. It's the first movie of his artistic maturity, the film his talent has been promising for more than 15 years.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    Tarantino exercises both his obsession with vengeance and his fascination with the movies.
  4. 70
    Tarantino has already caught some flack for daring to use the Holocaust as material for another of his bloody live-action cartoons, but of course the generation that experienced it for real has mostly faded away. In that sense Inglourious Basterds is a social marker as startling as "Easy Rider" was in its day.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    67
    The film on the whole feels unusually labored and conventional by Tarantino standards. Reducing World War II to juvenilia isn't the problem; the problem is that juvenilia needs to pop.
  6. The film is by no means terrible -- its two hours and 32 minutes running time races by -- but those things we think of as being Tarantino-esque, the long stretches of wickedly funny dialogue, the humor in the violence and outsized characters strutting across the screen, are largely missing.
  7. 38
    The only hope for Inglourious Basterds is that audiences will embrace it the way the Broadway crowd did "Springtime for Hitler": because it's so bad they think it's good.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 428
  1. MikeN.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    This is one in a long line of classics by Tarrantino. It is a cinematic masterpiece. I loved this movie from the begining to the end.
  2. FilipeG
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    One of Tarantino's best so far! This movie wasn't made to entertain, but to feel what it shows, like a proper piece of art should. One of Tarantino's best so far! This movie wasn't made to entertain, but to feel what it shows, like a proper piece of art should. Most people don't understand this and keep on slandering it. It's full of small fancy jokes and often destroys the idea that movies must be predictable and often amazes you with unnexpected sequences. A must-see for cinema art apreciators! Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Fantastic Christoph Waltz ! Brilliant Tarantino! Standing Ovation for Christoph Waltz A.K.A."Hans Landa" in this movie. Best Actor for theFantastic Christoph Waltz ! Brilliant Tarantino! Standing Ovation for Christoph Waltz A.K.A."Hans Landa" in this movie. Best Actor for the "Oscar" in my opinion. Expand
  4. RichR
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Hilarious script and dialogue and acting, just what I expected. For some reason, I laughed at this movie more than anyone else in the Hilarious script and dialogue and acting, just what I expected. For some reason, I laughed at this movie more than anyone else in the theatre. I loved it. For all the crummy reviews, nobody left the theatre until it was over. Expand
  5. TresS
    Aug 25, 2009
    8
    I over heard a guy leaving the movie that said "what a rip off, where was the violence?" I think that's what a lot of disappointed I over heard a guy leaving the movie that said "what a rip off, where was the violence?" I think that's what a lot of disappointed Tarantino fans were expecting with Inglorious Basterds. But they should be praising this film for the superior writing, superb acting and beautiful cinematography. Also the story is much less disjointed than most of Tarantino's work. Every movie from QT will not be Pulp fiction and we shouldn't expect it to be. What we should expect is what we got with Inglorious Basterds, another fantastic story from one of Hollywood's absolute best directors. Expand
  6. Vinnie
    Aug 23, 2009
    6
    Half of this movie is pretty good, the rest is forgettable and boring. Brad Pitt is absolutely terrible, his accent was unconvincing to say Half of this movie is pretty good, the rest is forgettable and boring. Brad Pitt is absolutely terrible, his accent was unconvincing to say the least and most of his jokes weren't too funny. Sadly, nearly every scene with the Basterds is pure misery. Tarantino wanted to show retribution and so these scenes show a bunch of blood thirsty and barbaric Jews, making it kind of hard to sympathize with them at all. I'm not saying the Jews deserved what happened to them but in this movie, the Nazis were definitely tame in comparison to their enemies in terms of brutality. The other half of the movie revolves around a Jewish girl in hiding. I thought her scenes were quite good. The real star of this film is the no-name actor who plays the villain Hans Landa. I actually found myself rooting for him. You know it's a messed up movie when the Nazi is more charismatic than the Allies. Expand
  7. DavidS
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    Tarantino is loosing his touch. Very dull, so very dull.

See all 428 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.
  2. This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar?

    This Week in Metacritic: Did You Hear About Avatar? Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/14
  3. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.
  4. Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to "Locker"

    Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to
    Published: December 14, 2009
    The New York Film Critics Circle added to The Hurt Locker's growing list of honors, while another critic organization sided with Up in the Air.